Hastings to 1930

An historic image compilation of early Hastings – 1930

by martin beck, December 2016, 19c Baffin Gr, Kingston 6021, Wellington  martyjbeck[@]yahoo.com

An historic journey through images of streets and buildings of early Hastings – most of which no longer exist, and early citizans [citizens], some remnants as I recall from my childhood growing up in Hastings and fragments mentioned by old timers, compiled from the many images available. I have corrected the dates to the images where necessary plus adding a few comments of explanation.

EARLY HASTINGS EAST

1890 February 24th Hawke’s Bay Herald – The new Union Bank of Australia on Hick’s corner – Our Hastings correspondent writes under Saturday’s date I have had the pleasure of inspecting; the new Union Bank which proudly dominates Heretaunga St and the Karamu Rd like the stately ‘keep’ of some ancient castle. I think it will be equal to the occasion for many years to come. Everything having been done that could be done in the way of fancy wood, polish and plate glass. The banking chamber is 20ft by 20ft, with 12ft studs and is furnished with handsome counters and desks of kauri, as polished as the urbane manager and his staff. Adjoining is the torture chamber, otherwise known as the ‘manager’s room’ and handy for the two rooms is the strong room with one of Boggles’ doors, over which a burglar might boggle a whole night without getting in. In this room is a large Milner’s safe for coin, securities, insecurities, loans, let alone deeds, debentures, scrip, stock, and mortgages. Ascending a flight of stairs furnished with handsome banisters are the residential chambers of the High Priest of this Temple of Plautus and on the ground floor at the back are the domestic offices, replete with every convenience. The whole is highly creditable to the architect, Mr Lamb, and to the builder Mr Renouf. I can write Home to my friends and tell them that I have seen the new Hastings bank.

1890, The Napier Bus Co departed from the Union Bank bus stop on Karamu St

[Photo]

The wooden Union Bank of Australia on Hick’s corner with a gas street lantern

Page 2

[Map]

The second Union Bank of Australia on Hicks corner section 3A and built a new wooden two storied wooden Bank with Bay window, shows wooden shops adjoining the Heretaunga St section with right of way at rear in 1906. The outhouse building may have originally been Hicks store and residence.

[Advertisements]
INFANTS’ SCHOOL FOR BOYS AND GIRLS
MARKET STREET. HASTINGS.
Conducted by the Misses LEE,
Will be opened on
MONDAY, 27TH JANUARY, 1890.
For terms apply on the premises.

MISS M. LEE,
TEACHER OF PIANO AND VIOLIN,
Terms – £2 2s per quarter, in advance.
MARKET-STREET, HASTINGS.   403

TEACHERS’ CERTIFICATE EXAMINATION.
TUITION BY CORRESPONDENCE.
J. A. SMITH, B.A., Headmaster Hastings District School, will prepare Pupils by Correspondence for the Certificate Exam. (D and E) and for the University Matriculation.
Prospectus and Terms on application.   511

1890 February, Infants School For Boys and Girls Market St nth, [North] Hastings,

Misses Lee, Miss M. Lee piano teacher and J. A. Smith, Headmaster Hastings District School.

1890 ER for Hastings still lists – William Owen McLeod a Storekeeper, but the ex Hastings school teacher died in December 1891 of yellow fever at Rio Grande de sul Brazil aged 43 – an engineer. The loved husband of Mary McLeod late of Hastings Hawke’s Bay – but his NZ death notice was not until January 1894 just prior to his widow Mary McLeod who died at her mother residence on Queen St Auckland aged 43, buried at Onehunga.

1890, Francis Charles Tipping was born 1846 in Dublin Ireland and had arrived here in the 1850’s. He farmed at Kaiapoi then removed to Hastings in 1890 where he conducts business as a provision merchant.

Frank Leonard Bone took over a hardware store that was originally established by Boylan & Company in Napier, then it became Ruddick & Pryor in Napier who bought out a business in Hastings. Frank Leonard Bone was apprenticed in the ironmonger trade with Ruddick & Pryor. Then W. F. Burnett bought out the business. Burnett served as the Mayor of Hastings back in 1890 to 1891 and had a room at the Carlton Hotel, but he shot himself at the store where Frank Bone found him. In November 1893 Frank joined up with Bennett and it was Bennett & Bone. In 1898 Bennett retired and Frank was joined by a W. Charles Holroyd and the firm became Bone & Holroyd – that partnership was dissolved due to a dispute and Frank took over the business on his own account in early 1900.

1890 April, Hugh Pollok [Pollock] a cook & baker, restaurant proprietor in Hastings claimed he bought the business for £150 of [off] Mr Geddes. Pollok was charged with assaulting Mr William Macgregor in a dispute over the possession of a restaurant and boarding house business. Mr Greene bought the business of Mr Cohen. Alice Hall was in the employee of Mr Macgregor, John Wilson, George Robinson and Andrew Percy gave evidence. Case dismissed.

Page 3

[Photo]

A young Frank Leonard Bone

Frank Leonard Bone was born in July 1869 in London. His father died in November 1869 in London, they came out New Zealand when he was a six month old baby, his mother Annie Mary married Thomas Arrow of Waipawa. Frank Leonard Bone married Margaret Vaughan in July 1895 at St Mathews Church Hastings by Rev. John Hobbs. They had four children. Frank Leonard Bone died in July 1945 aged 76. Margaret Vaughan was born in 1870. She died in November 1942 in Hastings aged 72. Franks mother Anne Mary Arrow passed away in September 1914 at Hastings aged 66, his brother Henry Hancock Bone died in March 1936 at Hastings aged 76. Mrs F. L. Bone was sister to Mrs G H. Roach.

1890 November 21, Father Smyth and the Sisters in charge of the schools at Hastings organised a large picnic to the Willow pah on the 10th inst. The picnic was nominally for the children and their friends, but a wider invitation was generally availed of and about 500 people of all denominations attended, and a most enjoyable day was spent. Vehicles of every description were loaned by friends to transport the merry-makers, and the procession which left Hastings was quite imposing, and it was rendered particularly bright on the fact that nearly every child carried a flag of some sort, and handsome banners were displayed. A programme of sports was gone through.

1890 December, Mr T. A. Hayes a storekeeper near King St has constructed a new building on Station St, Railway Reserve with two shops and a large Hall used as an Auction Mart and a Theatre.

[Photo]

1890, St Matthews Church of England on King St sth [South] with gas lantern at front entrance, shows four children standing outside the wooden lych-gate  and covered way that leads into the church, by Frederick George Radcliffe

1891, Earthquake in Hawke’s Bay, damage to some chimneys in Napier and Miss Bogle’s in Hastings.

1891 August, Margaret Charlton aged 60 died at the residence of A. Trevelyan, Nelson Street, Hastings. Margaret was widow of the late Henry Charlton of Omagh, County Tyrone, Ireland.

1891 June, Ernest Tanner purchased 200 acres at Riverslea.

1891 September, Hastings Borough Council – Received from Mr T. A. Hayes about the bad and dangerous state of the footpath in Station Street. He had spent £4 himself on it. Mr Hayes asked the Council to see to it. – It was resolved to ask the Railway Department to make the footpath from the main street to Queen Street.

Page 4

1891 September 16, Marriage – Dennett-Collins at the Catholic Church Hastings by the Rev Father Symth, [Smyth] Henry Edward, eldest son of W. Y. Dennett, to Hilda Mary, second daughter of the late Thomas Collins. Henry Edward Dennett was born in October 1870 – 1952, the 5th of 12 children of William Young Dennett (1845-1928) from Hobart, Tasmania & Catherine ‘Kate’ Woods (1848-1918) from Newcastle, New South Wales. Hilda Mary Collins (1870-1917) born the day before him) – daughter of Thomas COLLINS (1844-1873, of the 65th Regiment of Foot, died aged 28 and buried in Old Napier cemetery) & Elizabeth WILLIS (1845-1908) Hilda Mary Dennett nee Collins died April 1917 aged 46 they had 5 children.

1891 November, Begley v Begley. The parties are brothers and hold adjoining sections on the Riverslea estate. The plaintiff had planted a row of willows close to the dividing fence, which defendant objected to. Defendant cut holes on his side of the trees, which would, of, course, prevent their growing. After hearing counsel, on both sides, and several witnesses, the R. M. decided that defendant was clearly acting within his legal rights.

Frank Lindsay Gordon born 1865 at Napier married 1891 Ellen Mary Tanner b: 1873 [1870] daughter of Thomas Tanner. They had two children together. They settled on the Gordon family’s Clifton sheep station from Te Awanga to Cape Kidnappers. The old red woolshed was built in 1886. Ellen Mary Gordon nee Tanner died in January 1913, at Kaukapakapa, Auckland aged 41, buried in Havelock North. Frank had married 1922 Dorothy Laidlaw Halliday and they had one son. Frank Lindsay Gordon died in June 1938 at Hastings aged 72, buried in Havelock North.

[Advertisement]
R. WELLWOOD
AUCTIONEER, STOCK & STATION AGENT,
Wool, Produce, & General Merchant,
HASTINGS.

Robert Wellwood had his sales yard on Queen St in August 1891

Edward Humphrey,
BLACKSMITH,
HASTINGS.

S. JAMES,
STOREKEEPER,
HASTINGS.

E.D. SMITH,
CHEMIST,
HASTINGS.

1891, Edward Humphrey, a Blacksmith and S. James, a Storekeeper and E. D. Smith, a Chemist, Hastings.

1891 December, The annual Picnic was held at Willow pah on Boxing Day.

[Advertisement]
ALBERT HOTEL,
HASTINGS.
STUART BROS. – – Proprietors.
EVERY CONVENIENCE TO THE TRAVELLING PUBLIC.
GOOD STABLING AND PADDOCKING.
The only House in Hastings for a GENUINE GLASS OF WHISKY.

Page 5

1892, Stuart Brothers now proprietors of the Albert Hotel

[Advertisement]
CARLTON HOTEL, HASTINGS.
THE LEADING & ONLY FIRST-CLASS HOTEL IN THE TOWN.
Possessing every Modern Convenience and Comfort.
HOT, COLD AND SHOWER BATHS. UNRIVALLED ACCOMMODATION.
Headquarters of Hastings Club.
FREE HOUSE.
Best Wines and Spirits Obtainable 
IN OPEN MARKET.
SWANS XXXX ALE.
W.Y. DENNETT, OWNER.

1892, W.Y. Dennett now owner of the Carlton Hotel, headquarters of the Hastings Club

1892 March, Hastings Town Council owned land assets – Six acres subdivision Heretaunga block @ £240 and Sections No 455, 456 of Bock [Block] 8, Riverslea @ £7.10.

1892, Carl Hans Arvedsen farmed a section on upper Lumsden Rd where the Arvedsen drain ran from Riverslea Rd to Lumsden Rd, to Norton Rd, through to the Riverslea Hop Garden.

1892 August – HASTINGS BOROUGH COUNCIL – From Messrs Carlyle and McLean, requesting the Council to take immediate steps to provide for carrying off the surface water now lying on Mr Arvedsen’s section in Lumsden-road, and alleging that the said surface water had accumulated by reason of the action of the Council in making certain roads without proper provision for carrying off the water. – Messrs Carlyle and McLean to be informed that the Council’s action in forming Park Road and Lumsden Road had not injuriously affected Mr Arvedsen’s land.

[Sale plan]

1892 March, Sale Plan of Hastings sections No 71, 72, 81, 82, 75, 154 and 155. The property of Thomas C. Williams who moved to Wellington. Land lots with area sizes are situated around Market Street, Queens Street and King Street. McIvor & Watt occupy lot 71 on the corner of Market Street and the public Main Road. The first Church minus its towers was still there until 1898.

1892 March, HASTINGS BOROUGH COUNCIL. From Mr T. Morgan calling attention to the defective state of that part of St. Aubyn-street which crosses the Makirikiri Creek and asking the Council to make a crossing over it. – The work to be done.

1892 May 20, Mary O’Neill died at Hastings, the beloved wife of James O’Neill, aged 43 years. The funeral will leave her late residence, Karamu road, for the Roman Catholic Church, Hastings.

Page 6

1892 May, Mr Eccles chemist of Hastings has taken a lease of the premises now occupied by Mrs O’Rielly [O’Reilly] and will shortly commence business there as a chemist and druggist.

1892 June, The Heretaunga Co-operative Dairy Company was formed by Michael Begley, The Directors: Messrs C. A. Fitz-Roy, Davis Canning, Thomas Percival, J. C. Main, Ambrose Wellwood, James Ebbett, A. Masters, J. Reston, J. Wall, F. Cook, Thomas Crosse, Hugh Campbell, and Sir William Russell. A creamery was established in August 1893 on the Havelock side at the corner St Georges Rd and the Havelock Rd.

1892 August, An old identity named Clark (more familiarly known as “Old Bob”) died suddenly at his house in Hastings. He was in Wellington in the “fifties” and afterwards came here, where he was much respected.

1892 August, Letter requesting the Council to take immediate steps to provide for carrying off the surface water now lying on Mr Arvedsen’s section in Lumsden Road and alleging that the said surface water had accumulated by reason of the action of the Council in making certain roads without proper provision for carrying off the water. Messrs Carlile [Carlyle] and McLean to be informed that the Council’s action in forming Park Road and Lumsden Road had not injuriously affected Mr Arvedsen’s land.

1892 August, George Pervis, a Blacksmith was in Heretaunga St, he advertised successor of C & T Doney and Mr S. Gascoigne took over the lease for the Doney Brothers blacksmith shop site.

[Newspaper notice]
J. F. BOWES & CO.
PRELIMINARY NOTICE.
At an early date the SALE OF HOUSEHOLD FURNITURE AND EFFECTS, &c.,
On the premises
WILLOWPARK ROAD,
HASTINGS.
J. F. Bowes and Co.
Have been instructed by Mr. D. CAMPBELL, who is leaving the district, to sell at an early date the whole of his superior Furniture and Effects without reserve.
DETAILS LATER.
J.F. BOWES & Co.
Auctioneers.

1892 August, J. F. Bowes & Co, household effects sale of Mr D. Campbell at Willowpark Rd Hastings

[Newspaper notice]
DR. S. HAIGH,
WHO has recently arrived from England is now in Practice at Hastings.
Hours for Consultation and Medicines – 10 a.m., 2 p.m. and 6.30 p.m.   879

Dr. S. Haigh from England in Practice at Hastings next to the swimming baths in Nelson St

[Newspaper notice]
Borough of Hastings.
ANNUAL ELECTION OF THREE COUNCILLORS
Notice is hereby given that the under-mentioned persons have been duly nominated as candidates for the office of Councillor at the present election.
BEILBY, William
CROSSE, Thomas
MURDOCH, Hunter Henry
McLEOD, Donald
A pool for the election of three of the above named candidates will be taken at the Office of the Town Clerk, Hastings, on Thursday, the 8th September, 1892.
J. COLLLINGE,
Returning Officer.
August 30th, 1892.   60

1892 August, The Borough of Hastings annual election of 3 Councillors – William Beilby, Thomas Crosse, Hunter Henry Murdock and Donald McLeod.

Page 7

1892 September 5th – Encroachment of railway fence on Dr Linney’s section, Hastings

1892 November, Hawke’s Bay Herald still mentions a creek near the Maori pa in Hastings

[Photo]

Looking west along Heretaunga St towards T. Foreman’s Butchery and the old wooden Hastings Hotel distant across the railway line before the fire, with no street gas lantern at the first Union Bank on Hicks corner, unknown what the tall wooden post is – hoist or drill? Mr P. A. Herman was the Carlton Hotel proprietor 1893, by Burton Brothers 1892

[Photo]

1893, Heretaunga Street east, looking towards the Junction on Hicks corner and Te Mata Peak from Station St before the new Catholic Church, with the Carlton Hotel and Albert Hotel on the right, with a group of men standing on footpath near the Salvation Army Citadel Protestant Hall and the Borough Council Chambers distant, by Muir & Moodie. Mr D. Moroney was the proprietor of the Albert Hotel in 1893. The first rugby ground used was further up past the Borough Council Chambers on the site of the first St Matthew’s wooden twin steeple church on Hastings St which burnt down in 1898

1893 February – the big fire destroyed the entire block of Market St to the Railway Station and a new Brick By-Law was introduced. Mr Thomas Armstrong Hayes a storekeeper and land agent petitioned against the new Brick By-Law – in the cost to business lease holders, Hayes was married in 1881 to Emma Gardiner they [and] had seven children, he died 25 May 1928.

Page 8

[Advertisement]
R. WARREN, BAKER AND CONFECTIONER,
Station Street Hastings, and at Havelock.
WEDDING AND BIRTHDAY CAKES MADE TO ORDER ON SHORTEST NOTICE.

1893, Robert Warren first started in Station St and Havelock

Robert Warren first established his Hastings bakery, pastry-cook, confectionary [confectionery]and caterer business in Station St then a tea-room and catering business on the corner of Karamu Rd and Heretaunga St east in 1898, where he employs ten persons; goods are delivered throughout the town and district. He also made a speciality of catering for race meetings, balls, and other functions. A new bakehouse was built for Mr Warren in 1906 on the corner section opposite the Union Bank. He was the first in Hastings to use machinery. There were two ovens for bread and one for small goods. He was the largest supplier of bread in the town, Mr Warren having eight delivery carts. In front of the bakehouse Mr Warren had a shop which was later destroyed by the earthquake.

Robert Warren was born 1871 at King’s Cross, London, he came to New Zealand at an early age with his parents John Warren and Johannah Tobin, he was educated at Havelock North public school, then served an apprenticeship of five years under John Cullen. In 1894 he married Alice Bee the daughter of George Bee senior (the builder of St Luke’s Church) and had three sons one daughter. 1895 Robert Nigel Warren – marred Elsie Douglas 1921, 1898 Charles Dudley Warren – married Ellen Susanna Bevan 1918, 1905 Clarence Gordon Warren – married Doreen O’Reilly, 1908 Pearle [Pearl] Mavis Warren – married Thomas Taylor. They purchased the section at 303E Queen Street where the family home was built. Nigel worked at his sister Pearls ‘Cake Kitchen’ shop in Russell Street. Robert Warren died January 1916 aged 46. Alice carried on with the tea-rooms for several years. Alice Warren died 1955 aged 85 [87].

The old bakehouse structure was later used as a woodwork joinery factory for McGlashans and was at the rear of Bon Marche Ltd shop in Heretaunga Street when it was demolished in June 1956 to make room for an extension of the shop in front.

1893 April, HASTINGS POLICE COURT – Thomas Brinson was charged with assaulting Panapa, a Maori.

1893 April, Our old townsman, Mr C. Hughes now of Masterton paid us a flying visit last week. During his stay he resigned his position as chairman of the Licensing Bench of Hastings, and arranged for the erection of a shop in Heretaunga Road near the Carlton Hotel and for a six-roomed house behind the Council Chambers.

1893 May, The Council have, by reason of a few cartloads of shingle, performed a great service to a large number of residents. The pathway in Railway road by Dr Linney’s and round the corner by Schaeffer’s boarding house, was during the recent bad weather a series of lakes, rendering the road, with all its mud, preferable.

1893 May 6th Hawke’s Bay Herald HASTINGS BOROUGH COUNCIL – From Mr Arvedsen, complaining that his land was flooded by water coming through a culvert across a public road and that it was rotting his potatoes, and requesting that a “dam” {i.e., culvert) across the Lumsden-road might be removed. – The Town Clerk explained that the culvert in question had to be placed across the road when it was formed in order to form an outlet for a natural watercourse. Resolved, “That the opinion of the borough solicitors be obtained as to the right of the Council to erect embankments on each or either side of public roads to prevent surface water flowing from such, roads on to adjoining sections.” And in April 1899, Mr E. Metherell complained about cattle straying in Lumsden Road – Mr Edwin & Drusilla Metherell.

1893 May, Riverslea Estate sales – Block 8 – Sections 303 to 318, J. Collinge, £160 – 360 and 404, J. J. Morley, £22; 370 and 423, F. Sollitt, £22; 371 and 422, M. J. Caldwell, £22; 389 to 404, J. Beatson, £144; 403 to 407 and 452 to 486, S. G. Poppelwell, £70. Block 9 – Sections 125, 126, and 127, E. Moriarty, £70; 133 and 134, B. C. List, £140, 173 to 175, J. Cullen, £26; and on account of Mr T. W. Belfour [Balfour]; sections 21, 22 and 23, to A. Masters, £60. Block 11 – Section 137, J. Hislop, £237.10s. Hop Gardens – Section 40 with buildings, O’Reilly and Masters, £404; section 45, C. Apperley,  £160. Homestead Blocks – Block 54 C. A. Loughnan, £2510; blocks 64, 65, and part 66, with buildings, C. A. Loughnan, £844 17s 6d; part block 67, about 15 acres, T. Cross [Crosse] , at £29 per acre; blocks 60, 61, 62, and 63, about 100acres, Mr Glenny, at £30 per acre.

Block 8 – Sections 446 – 451 and 498 -503 Hayes and Inglis £48 per acre; sections 45 and 46 T. Morgan £28. Block 9 – Sections – 75 A. Masters £20, section 26 Mrs Masters £10, section 135 D. Hourigan £80, section 144 R. R. Clark £130.13s.7d. Block 10 – sections  51, 52 and 59 W. A. Couper £41 per acre, section 238 C. Hammond £12, section 231, 232 and 233 M. Howard £30, sections 234 and 235 J. B. Bird £20, sections 224 to 228 T. O’Connor £50. Block 11 section 139 F. Christensen £169.14s.1d, section 135 H. Scullion £238, section 151 M. Beagley [Begley] £175, section 84, 85, 90 to 99 and 101 T. Hewetsen £420.

Block 8 – section 15, 21, 22 T. W. Balfour, 16, 17 J. V. Brown, 18, 19 J. Main, 20, P. Collins, 27, 28 R. C. Sturm, 29, 30 J. Flanders, 31 T. Hamill, 32, 33 J. Bishop, 34, 35, 36, 37 38, 39, 40 K. J. Hill, 41, 42 J. Close, 109 J. Myhill, 121 T. Mulholland, 123 W. Hamilton, 144 Mrs E. Webb, 145 146 J. Kelly, 147, 149 G. Hastings, 148 C. B. Taylor, 150 W. Ellison, 151 G. Ellis, 155 D. A. Wright, 156 157 J. F. Jardine, 158, 159 W. H. Smith, 156 R. J. Thayer. 1 C. S. Britton, 2 – 6 E. Lyndon, 7, J. Close, 8 E. Lyndon, 9 F. Douglas, 10 E. Lyndon, 11, 12 J. V. Brown, 13 – 16 E. Lyndon, 17, 18 J

Page 9

Carlile, 19 20 M. S. Bell, 21 J. S. Caro, 22 J. V. Brown, 23 J. Close, 24 H. C. Wilson, 25 M. S. Bell, 26 E. Webster, 27 M. S. Bell, 28 T. Foreman, 29 K. F. Mortensen, 30 Ruddock & Fryer, 31 J. R. Lanause, 32, 33 J. Watson, 34 M. S. Bell, 35 J. McCarthy, 36 M. S. Bell, 37, 38 E. Webster, 39 M. S. Bell, 40, 41 J. V. Brown,42 M. S. Bell, 43, 44 T. E. Ward, 45, 46 E. Webster, 47 J. Andrews, 48 M. S. Bell, 49, 50 51 K. Hill, 52 J. Close, 53 E. Lyndon, 54 W. H. Smith, 55 E. Lyndon, 56 J. Close, 57 – 62 E. Lyndon, 63 B. Stevens, 64, 65 J. W. Forgerty, 66, 67E. Smith, 68 D.  McNamara, C. Cheer, 70 E. Lyndon, 71 W. H. Smith, 72 M. S. Bell. 73 F. D. Luckie, 74 S. Smith, 75 Gen Fairthough, 76 W. H. Smith, 77 E. J. Whibley, 78 D. L. Donnelly, 79 J. F. Jardine, 80, 81 J. D. Keith, 82 E. J. Whibley, 83, 84 R. J. Thayer, 115 – 117 D. Guy, 118 W. Cheer, 120 W. Beamish, 121 Gen Fairthough, 122 M. S. Bell, 123 W. H. Smith, 124 R. T. Walker, 125 Gen Fairthough, 126 W. H. Smith, 127 – 130 T. Forman.[Foreman] Section 161 -164 T. Foreman, 165 W. Carr, 166 – 168 P. Dolbel, 169 T. Jeffares, 170 J. Corbett. Section 176 T. E. Ward, 177 M. S. Barry, 178 W. Atkin, 179 J. Hayes, 180 – 182 T. Forman. Section 238 P. Dolbel, 239 – 243 E. Lyndon, 244, 245 F. W. Williams, 253 – 259 E. Lyndon, 260, 261 W. Carr, 262 263, E. Lyndon, 264 265, W. Carr, 266 – 273 E. Lyndon, 274 – 279 W. U. Burke, 280 – 314 E. Lyndon, 342 – 347 W. U. Burke, 348 – 439 E. Lyndon, 440 – 509 J. W. Carlile. Section 598 – 600 G. H. Swan, 601, 602 A. McNeil, 603 R. G. Graham.  Block 9 – 1, 2, D. Guy.

1893 July, Riverslea Estate sale by C B. Hoadley and Co. Since our last report we have disposed of the following portions of the Riverslea estate:- Block 9, Section No. 165 – A. Apperley £178.15s. Block 11, Section No. 110 – J. Barry £115; Section No. 111 – W. Sinclair £113; Section No. 114 – C. H. Anderson £125; Section No. 148 – C. H. Anderson £260. Block 12, Section No. 14 – F. Bee £346.5s. Hop Grounds – Section No. 46 – C. Apperley £120. Homestead Blocks – Sections Nos. 50, 57, 59, and part of 58, containing 150 acres to Mr John Beatson and to Messrs E. H. Williams and F. B. O’Loughnan, Waipawa; Section No. 70 and part of section No. 71 containing 56 acres at £30 per acre. We have also sold on account of Mr Portar his small farm, Southland Road Hastings, containing 7 acres 3 roods to Mr Tatham for £425. For the information of those intending to invest in Riverslea land, we may state that there are now only 517 acres left, chiefly consisting of some of the best portions of the estate.

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE OR LEASE
That Valuable Piece of Freehold Land in Main Street, Hastings, situated between the Railway Hotel and the Billiard Saloon, being part Section No. 2, with a frontage of 35 feet.
Also for LEASE, a Corner Section (66 feet frontage Main street) for term of 20 years.
For particulars apply to W.A. BEECROFT, Hastings

1893 July, W. A. Beecroft Heretaunga St property sale between Railway Hotel and Billiard Saloon – (Pyke’s billiard and toilet rooms)

1893 July, Builders tenders for the erection of residence on Karamu Rd for Mr M. Cosgrove

1893 September, The old kerbing in the main street was removed to widen the street. Mr Curtis, who is doing the work, is the same man who put it down about fifteen years ago. And the drainage of Hastings along the Havelock road open drain was being discussed.

1893 October, Shocking Suicide at Hastings – William Fletcher Burnett an ironmonger and former mayor aged 40 years shot himself in his store with a revolver. He had a room at the Carlton Hotel and was liked by all who knew him. Financial troubles are suggested as the cause. He was found by his assistant, Mr Bone when he opened the shop at 8 o’clock. He leaves a mother and sister in Nelson, one brother in Woodville and another in Christchurch.

[Newspaper notice]
BENNETT & BONE.
GENERAL IRONMONGERS,
HOUSE AGENTS, &c.,
Hastings.
Have now opened up a new and well assorted stock of Household and Builders’ Ironmongery, Station Requisites, &c. Shacklock’s Orion Ranges 2ft 6in to 4 ft. with Copper or Cast Iron Boilers, Lawn Mowers from 40s, Firewood, Coal, &c., which will be sold at lowest possible prices.
Also, sections and Houses for sale and to let.
Sub-agents for the North British and Mercantile Insurance Company.

1893, Bone joined with old Bennett to form their own company which only lasted a few years before Bennet [Bennett] retired and Bone joined Holroyd.

1893 October, A paragraph went the rounds recently to the effect that a shipment of live fat sheep from the River Plate had been landed at Liverpool in prime condition and had grossed £2.3s per head. It will interest people in Hawke’s Bay to

Page 10

know that the pioneering of this trade was Mr Thompson, formerly manager of Mr Tanner’s Riverslea estate. He is manager of a large run in Argentina, which he is conducting on the most advanced New Zealand model. He has had the whole property fenced and sub divided – a rarity there and ploughs several thousand acres a year, growing immense quantities of Lucerne, or alfalfa as it is called in South America. With the aid of this he manages to carry about five sheep to the acre. The flock is now practically a long-wool one, and the best frozen mutton from the Argentine has been shipped from the estate. There are also a fine herd of cattle on the property. Writing to his brother in Napier, Mr Thompson expresses the opinion that the live sheep trade from the Argentine will prove a formidable competitor with the New Zealand frozen meat trade.

1893 November, Borough of Hastings – Notice that the Council of the Borough of Hastings intend to fix the permanent levels of the following streets, namely: – Willow Park Road, Princess Street, Sylvan Road, Park Road, Terrace Road, Selwood Road, St. George’s Road, Park Terrace, St. Aubyn Street, Avenue Road, Heretaunga Road, Dufferin Street, Ferguson Street, Beech Street, Lawrence Street Olive Street, Copeland Road, Elm Road, Riverslea Road, Lumsden Road, Norton Road, Ellison Street, Queen Street, Lyell Street, Outram Road, Churchill Street, Oak Road. And that a Plan of the proposed levels is now open for inspection at the Office of the Town Clerk, Hastings. And further Notice is hereby given that the aforesaid Council will hold a meeting on Wednesday 20th December 1893 for the purpose of hearing and considering; objections to the said levels. All objections must be in writing, addressed to and sent to the Council not less than ten days before the day of each meeting. J. Collinge. Town Clerk.

1893 November, Scott and Co. builders are the successful tenders for Dr Faulkner’s new buildings in Queen Street. Mr Galway manager of the Bank of New South Wales leaves here on a holiday trip. Mr Hogg of Dannevirke is his locum tencna [tenens] in the meantime. Mr Hair of the Bank of New Zealand Wellington, who has been in charge of the local bank here during the absence of Mr Killigan, who has been visiting the old country, left on November 3 for Gisborne where he will do duty in the Bank of New Zealand. On November 3 Mr A. Lean was married to Miss Tipping, the eldest and only daughter of Mr F. C. Tipping manager of Williams Kettle & Co.

1893 December, Hastings – Southampton Street is the road before the school, St Aubyn’s street is where Schaeffer’s boarding house is, Hastings Street is that leading bakery and Nelson Street is where the swimming baths are.

1893 December, Hastings – the City of the Plains with a population of about 4000 inhabitants. Standing on the railway lines running at right angles to Heretaunga-street we shall probably make a good start at the fine premises erected by Mr Higgins, popularly known as “Jull’s Hotel” Travelling westward – Smith’s watchmaking establishment is marked by a wooden clock above the shop front, which twice a day may be consulted as correct time. We pass on to Whytook’s books, cards. The only Chinaman – Sam – Sing Lee is next, then notable chemist Tyerman, the premises of the New Zealand Clothing Factory, where the celebrated Kaiapoi and Mosgiel factories contributing a large share of the materials from which the N. Z. C. Factory’s goods are made. Hannah’s boots to Hyde’s – the proprietor. Mr Bowlor has books, stationery, Christmas cards, journals, periodicals, tobaccos. Roach’s capacious premises for dress fabrics, of drapery, furnishings, Caulton’s celebrated hostelry for a tankard of Newbigin’s extra X Christmas cheer. Pilmer’s refreshment, supper rooms, and boarding house, Fuszard’s boots and repairs, Mr Thompson’s millinery, haberdashery, dresses and draperies. Bennett’s fruit and vegetables, Clarke’s tailoring establishment, a new seedsmen’s (Adkinson and Co) tried and tested seeds and selected plants, we come to Mr Roach’s grocery and hardware branch. Taking a good brisk walk of about seven minutes to Stortford Lodge host Mr Stock who is beaming behind his bar, and old Taradale friend Hatton who has recently started to dispense cheap meat. Kingswell for tinware or plumbing and Goldsborough for artistic frame making and cabinet work. Messrs. Sharp and Alford have fancy goods, stationery and articles. A local fruit store presided over by Mrs Mayo, Mr Peters a practical shoemaker. Mrs Hastings toy shop. Mouldings lollies or cakes, Maxwell’s another boarding establishment and refreshment room – wedding cakes, showing the proprietor to be Wiseman. McIvor and Wyatt butchers. Mr Darvall’s drawing, writing and artistic lettering. A saddlery establishment. The W. I. C. Merchant Tailors and Outfitters. The two new bank buildings are progressing rapidly. Maddison’s millinery and grocery. Re-crossing the railway line to the east we arrive at Eakins’ and Mr Niblett, Messrs Wilson and Co for boots under the management of Mr Thorpe. Naumann and Co cater well in groceries and refreshments. The Railway Hotel under the able management of its genial host Sam Charlton, extensive alterations have been made to his already commodious hotel. A comfortable commercial room has been added. Owing to the erection of two new shops at present unfinished, the carriage entrance to Beecroft’s equine repository – is a little township of itself, no longer accessible but a drive of five seconds to the Karamu road takes you in to it. Passing Pyke’s billiard and toilet rooms for a quiet game or a close shave. Mr James is another old identity still dispenses groceries and general stores. Messrs Bennett and Bone’s spacious premises are replete with household, farm, and garden requisites in the hardware line. Mr D. McLeod dress and saw the necessary material. The Campbell’s – tailors are here next to the new dining rooms kept by Mr Adams and Mr D. Moroney at the Albert Hotel, to the left is Mr Lys of old Standard House fame, a tailor and Herman’s. The Carlton Club Hotel – Winter Fuszard the obliging bar tender. The old-established Hastings seedsman Mr Britton has a fine show of fruit, apricots, greengages, raspberries, grapes, to Foreman’s family meat, next to Francis Bethell a saddler. Burnett’s, Mr S. Ridgway and his army of assistants under Mr King. Mr Thomas Morgan has boots, to the Hastings Toilet Saloon for pipes, tobaccos. Blythe and Co under Mr Johnston, Mr Henry William’s branch. The Misses Adams have ladies’ children’s and infants’ clothing, and lastly we come to Mr B. L. Knight’s well-known Ironmongery, coal, wood and timber stores. Warren’s for wedding and birthday cakes and quality bread, the Hawke’s Bay Herald Office. Station St – McCorkindale’s old established watch and jewellery establishment and “Town Clock ” house, then McStay’s, Mr Palmer’s establishment for herbs Mr Montague Lascelles furniture and household goods. Mr Dewsnap repairs to timepieces. Mrs Guthrie retails the fruit. The refreshment rooms by John Dale with Mr Wawn next door for geese, ducks and fowls, whilst the best fish in season may be obtained at his saloon. Messrs Vaughan and Cullen being bakers, Mr Smart of the Novelty Depot, Tong undertaker, Mr Kerahaw [Kershaw] cabinetmaking, Mrs Beale woollen garments appreciated by

Page 11

the lady Maoris. Mr Robertson the effects of the disastrous fire, watches and clocks, Messrs A. Jones and Sons’ engineering, farm machinery, and carriage building and Messrs Barry Bros branch for cartage, carriage, wood, coal.

1894 February, That the proposed drain from Norton road to the Makirikiri creek be abandoned and that in lieu thereof the old drain be opened up through Messrs Horne, Apperley and Halroyd’s sections, to the Heretaunga road and that the old line of drain through the hop gardens from Heretaunga road to the ‘wash pool’ be adopted.”

[Newspaper notice]
HAWKINS AND HOUNSON,
GROCERS, HASTINGS,
Beg to Intimate that they have taken over the Business of
MESSRS. PITT AND CO.
BEST BRAND OF GROCERIES, CREAM SEPARATOR BUTTER TEA SPECIALITY
OUR MOTTO IS SATISFACTION.
HAWKINS AND HOUNSON

1894 March, Hawkins and Hounson – grocers Hastings, taken over Pitt & Co

1894 April, The shop lately occupied by Messrs Blythe and Co. is now being transformed into a billiard saloon which will be under the management of Mr J. Power the proprietor, who for two years was well and favourably known whilst in charge of the billiard-room at the Carlton Hotel.

1894, W. T. Sabin Veterinary Surgeon had premises on Karamu Rd next to the Carlton Hotel

1894 June, Mr Henry Rawden died last night after a lingering illness. Mr Rawden had been in Hastings for many years. He did the principal cab and express business, until he sold out a short time since to Messrs Barry Bros. Prior to his coming to Hastings, he was a gold miner at the Thames, where he passed through many vicissitudes. At one time there anyone would have honoured his cheque for £500. However, his luck ran out, like that of so many others engaged in that pursuit. Since his arrival in Hastings he had been most industrious and punctual in his business as a carrier, and was noted for his integrity. Few men about Hastings are better liked than he was. So far as I know, the deceased was unmarried.

1894 August, Miss Limmer may be congratulated upon her narrow escape from serious injury yesterday afternoon. Her horse bolted with her about half a mile beyond Mr Bold’s late residence, and went at full speed towards town. After negotiating the railway crossing the animal rushed madly between two vehicles standing close to Herman and Co.’s mart. The horse received its first check at the corner of Avenue-road, when a man rushed out and attempted to catch hold of the rein. Another man followed his example at St. Aubyn’s- street, and was successful in preventing the horse from re-crossing the railway line. Schaeffer’s boarding-house was close by and the horse having been partially stopped by the wire fencing at the end of Railway Street, Miss Limmer was able to turn it into the boarding-house gate and then rolled off, fortunately unhurt. Mr Limmer informs me that other than being slightly bruised and excited from her dangerous ride, his daughter is none the worse.

1894 September, William Robert McIntyre was charge on the information of Mr Joll, nightwatchman, with being illegally in the Fire Brigade Station early this morning. Defendant said that he got in there by mistake for Hickey’s boarding-house back premises. He had had a glass of beer too much; he would plead guilty. Sergeant Mitchell said that several times there had been clear evidence that the brigade premises bad [had] been entered and property taken from them. The fire engine had been tampered with on more than one occasion. This was a serious matter, especially as for obvious reasons it was necessary to leave the promises unlocked. He did not charge the accused with these things, but the onus lay with accused of proving what he did there and he could not accept the explanation as satisfactory. The Bench said they had no opinion but to send defendant to prison. He would be sent to Napier gaol for 48 hours.

1894 October, Frederick Dennet [Dennett] was arrested in connection with the recent post office burglary at Hastings, who is well connected in the district and his arrest caused considerable surprise, as it was generally believed that some members of the bad element from Sydney were the guilty ones.

Page 12

[Advertisement]
THE RAILWAY HOTEL, HASTINGS.
Sam. Charlton, Proprietor.
None but the Best Liquors kept in Stock

1894, Sam Charlton now proprietor of the Railway Hotel, later the Carlton Hotel

[Advertisement]
C. S. BRITTON
Fruiterer & Seedsman,
HASTINGS

1894, C. S. Britton, a Fruiter [Fruiterer] & Seedman [Seedsman]

[Advertisement]
W.Y. DENNETT
AUCTIONEER & FINANCIAL AGENT
HASTINGS.

1894, W. Y. Dennett, Auctioneer & Financial Agent, premises adjoined the Post Office on Station St

[Advertisement]
J. WAWN,
Fish and Poultry Dealer
OPPOSITE RAILWAY STATION.
Oysters in Season. Table Fowls a Speciality.

1894, J. Wawn, a Fish & Poultry dealer opposite the Railway Station

[Advertisement]
A. A. GEORGE.   C. YOUNG
GEORGE AND YOUNG,
PRINTERS.
HASTINGS

1894, A. A. George & C. Young, Printers partnership, before A. A. George went alone on Karamu Rd sth

[Advertisement]
A. McCORKINDALE,
Watchmaker & Jeweller,
STATION STREET HASTINGS
AT THE SIGN OF THE CLOCK,
NEXT HAWKE’S BAY HERALD OFFICE.

Page 13

1894, A. McCorkindale, a Watchmaker & Jeweller on Station St, next to the Hawke’s Bay Herald office

[Advertisement]
HAWKE’S BAY HERALD.
HASTINGS AGENCY
STATION STREET
H.H. HUNT.
BRANCH MANAGER
Orders taken for Advertisements, Bookbinding, Printing, and Lithographing,
In All its Branches.
DINWIDDIE, WALKER AND CO., LIMITED

Hawke’s Bay Herald on Station St, branch manager Mr H.H. Hunt

1894 November, The annual Hastings School concert was held in the Princess Theatre.

[Newspaper notice]
Hastings Caledonian Society
ANNUAL CONCERT.
PRINCESS THEATRE,
FRIDAY, 30th NOVEMBER
(St Andrew’s Day)
Special Engagement of Mr. Purviss, the inimitable Scottish Vocalist and Reciter; the WILKIN BROTHERS, Dancers and Pipers. Pipers: McRae, Findlayson and others. Songs, Readings and Recitations, Dancing and Gaelic Songs. Admission, 2s 6d and 1s
Box Plan at Whytook’s.

1894 November, Hastings Caledonian Society’s concert

[Newspaper notices]
HASTINGS PROPERTIES.
TUESDAY, DECEMBER 11TH, AT  2 o’ clock.
IN THE HASTINGS SALE ROOMS.
P. A. HERMAN & Co.
Will hold an Important Sale of
HASTINGS PROPERTIES
As above.
Particulars Future Advertisement.
P A HERMAN & Co.,
Hastings.

ON SALE
IN THE HASTINGS SALE ROOMS, HASTINGS
£2000   WORTH   £2000
OF
SUPERIOR HOUSEHOLD FURNITURE AND FURNISHINGS OF ALL DESCRIPTIONS
Also
A splendid assortment of Pianos, Bedsteads, Buggies, Harness, Saddlery, Crockery E. P. Ware &c.,
N. B. – Our rooms being considerably over-stocked, we are now offering privately a lot of good and useful lines at any reasonable price. An inspection solicited.
P. A. HERMAN & CO.
Auctioneers, Hastings.

Page 14

[Newspaper notice]
AUCTIONEER’S ANNOUNCEMENT.
We are now prepared to receive in our
SALE ROOMS, HASTINGS.
All kind of GRAIN, PRODUCE AND PROVISIONS, &c.
And to make Liberal advances against same when consigned for Immediate Sale.
Account Sales promptly rendered.
Valuations made at moderate rates, and Commissions of all kinds accepted.
We have a large Stock of Superior House-hold Furniture  and Effects, New and Second-hand Pianos, consigned to us for Sale for Cash, or may be purchased on the Hire Purchase System.
Houses of Furniture purchased for Cash.
Regular Sales will be held in the Sale Rooms, Hastings, every THURSDAY.
P. A. HERMAN & CO.
AUCTIONEERS,
HASTINGS.

1894 December, P. A. Herman & Co, Auctioneer sale rooms at Hastings

[Newspaper notice]
TARADALE NURSERY.
HASTINGS AGENCY.
I have appointed Mr. A. B. G[?] my Hastings Agent. All orders entrusted to his care will be promptly and carefully executed. Samples of my Fruit, Forest, Ornamental Trees, Shrubs, Plants &c, can be inspected at the Hastings Agency, where Catalogues and every information can be had on application.
927   H. J. GILBERD

1894 December, Taradale Nursery opened an agency at Hastings

[Newspaper notice]
TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC OF HASTINGS AND SURROUNDING DISTRICTS.
A. NEWMAN
Begs to notify that he HAS TAKEN OVER THE
GROCERY and BOOT BUSINESS
Lately carried on by MR SAMUEL JAMES, and having opened up with
AN ENTIRELY NEW STOCK
And by STRICT ATTENTION TO BUSINESS AND REASONABLE PRICES hopes to receive a Fair Share of Patronage as accorded to his predecessor.
A. NEWMAN,
GROCER, BOOT & SHOE IMPORTER,
HASTINGS.

[Advertisement]
A. NEWMAN
(LATE S. JAMES)
HASTINGS.
For Groceries, Crockery, and Boots and Shoes of the very best quality.

1894, Mr A. Newman took over Samuel James Grocery and Boot Business at Hastings, situated close to the Union Bank

Page 15

[Newspaper notice]
MEDICAL DISPENSARY, HASTINGS.
D. POPPELWELL, Pharmaceutical Chemist and Druggist, wishes the Public of Hawke’s Bay to know that he has purchased the Business recently carried on by Mr J. Eakins, and having greatly improved the shop and replenished the entire stock can now confidently ask for a share of Public Patronage.
Prescriptions dispensed at any hour.
Teeth carefully extracted.
Country orders by post carefully attended to
Consultation and advice free.
D. POPPELWELL,
PHARMACEUTICAL AND DISPENSING CHEMIST,
HERETAUNGA ROAD, HASTINGS.

1894 December, D. Poppelwell took over the Medical Dispensary from Mr J. Eakins on Heretaunga St [Street]

1894, Matthew Johnson – now manager of Blythe & Co. Draper, Mercer and Clothier on Heretaunga St. Mr Johnson was born in Northumberland, England in 1871, he came out to Dunedin New Zealand in 1881 and then moved up to Napier to work for Blythe & Co. He opened a branch for the firm at Hastings and after successfully conducting it for several years, went into business on his own account and eventually took over his old firm’s premises.

[Photo]

Matthew Johnson, a Draper

1894 December 26 – Boxing Day, a fire started at the Cullen bakehouse Heretaunga St east and Hastings St nth, a large number of willing helpers went in, and in the most orderly manner commenced to remove the flour and other stock to a place of safety. Luckily there had been recent rain and the large hole at the back of their property from the old Makirikiri creek had filled with water to douse the fire. Fortunately there was scarcely a breath of wind at the time, and there being a large willow tree between the house and the fire, the house was protected from it.

1894 December, With this issue will be found a plan of a portion of the Riverslea estate, which has been subdivided into building and small farm allotments for private sale. The syndicate has been induced to cut up this part of the estate owing to the continued demand for small holdings. The land which lies behind the hop grounds and adjoining the Park is some of the highest and beat drained In Hastings, and from its situation is likely to command a ready sale, the prices and terms of sale being favourable. All the sections in what are known as blocks 8, 9, and 10 have been disposed of for some considerable time, and can only be acquired second-hand at enhanced prices- It only requires a visit to the district for one to note the rapid growth that is going on ; notwithstanding the bad times, wide and well laid off streets are being formed and buildings are going up in all directions, in fact the well-known auctioneer who saw in his mind’s eye Hastings the “City of the Plains” must have been inspired by no ordinary premonition, and we shall not be surprised if the same gentleman does not someday feel called upon to retrospectively describe it as the “London of the South.” Plans and all farther particulars can be had from Messrs Carlile and McLean, solicitors, or Messrs C. B Hoadley and Co., agents for the syndicate.

The Hastings Mayors – Cecil Fitzroy 1894 – 1899, W. F. Burnett, W. Lane, W. Y. Dennett, Thomas John Thompson 1906 – ?, Horace Simson – 1911, James Garnett 1911 – 1913, William Hart, George Ebbett 1919 -1922, George Maddison 1922 – 1929 George Roach 1929 – 1931, George Maddison 1933 – 1941, Algie Rainbow 1941 – 1947, R. D. Brown early 1950s, Ed [Edwin] Bate 1953 – ? and Ron Giorgi 1959 – 1974
[HBKB – also Robert Wellwood 1886-1887, George Ellis 1887-1890, 1891-1894]

1895 February, Some few years back it was pretty generally thought that the extension of Hastings township would be in the direction of Frimley, but the result of building operations has belied this expectation, for almost weekly the growth

Page 16

manifests itself towards Napier on the Karamu road and towards Havelock. We are to have a new eight – roomed villa residence next to the Wesleyan Church, which is to be built for Mr B. L. Knight and some spacious business premises for Messrs Bennett and Bone, which are to be erected at once almost opposite to the building they at present occupy. The property at Havelock put up for sale recently, which was purchased by Mr. W. A. Beecroft, at any rate a portion of it, will be reserved by him for residential sites, and as the business portion of Hastings increases there can be little doubt that Havelock will increase alto as a residential township. Imagination may almost fill in the cheap and constant tram service between the towns. Last evening a Maori had a very narrow escape from a shocking death. He was somewhat the worse for liquor and was making his way up the railway platform as the express was coming in. Suddenly lurching towards the rails, he must, but for the presence of mind and prompt action of Mr Pim, our well-known booking-clerk, have fallen in between the carriages. As it was it was quite within possibility that both might have met the same fate. Mr Pim is to be highly commended for his plucky action. It’s not the first time, by the way, that he has been successful in rescuing persons from a similar fate.

[Photo]

1895, building next to where the new Grand Hotel on Heretaunga St east, A. King, Hair Dresser, later occupied by R. Thorp & Co Boots

John Collinge jnr [junior] was born in 1868 the son of John Collinge and Mary Jane Tucker. He married Charlotte Maria Waters Collins in May 1869 at Hastings. They had six children. He died in May 1938 at Hastings aged 70. Charlotte Maria Waters Collins was born in August 1868, the daughter of Henry and Ruth Elizabeth Collins. Charlotte died in November 1954 at Hastings, aged 86.

[Advertisement]
J. COLLINGE, JNR.,
Farrier & Blacksmith
(Next T. Foreman, Butcher),
HASTINGS.

1894, John Collinge jnr, a Farrier & Blacksmith nest [next] to T. Foreman, Butcher

Page 17

[Photo]

1895, The Carlton Hotel on the left before W. Cuthrie’s [Guthrie’s] the Fruiterer building built, later Millar & Georgi [Giorgi], with the first butcher – Thomas Foreman’s Hastings Meat Market & Family Butcher half side of two storied building on Heretaunga St east with residence behind – a telegraph pole, half of the building is empty of signage. Good Stabling – John Collinge jnr, later Apperley’s blacksmith shop and stables adjoining at right, then Frank Bethel [Bethell} saddlers whose apprentice was Alexander Horne, then Hoadley & Lyon stock agents.

[Photo]

1895, William Guthrie’s Fruiterers new store next to the Carlton Hotel on Heretaunga St east under the management of his daughter was supplied with fruit from his orchard daily – the business was established 1878, the building saved from the 1895 fire, later became Millar & Georgi[Giorgi]

William Guthrie, born Ayrshire Scotland 1843, where he learned gardening. He went to Rockhampton, Australia 1861 in the ship Persia, where he spent most of his time in the gold fields, he was the first to discover gold at Mount Morgan. In 1869 he came to Auckland where he worked at his trade, 1874 married Jane Finlayson and they settled in Havelock North and started an orchard 1875, he had two places of eighteen and eight acres respectively under cultivation, well stocked with apple trees, plum trees, lemons, oranges, grapes, red and black currants, etc opening a store in Hastings. He also went sheep farming. He also took keen interest in public affairs. 1917 November William Guthrie died at his residence on the Napier Road aged 74, He had eight children. Jane died April 1940 aged 86. The historic Guthrie Cottage, Guthrie Park and Guthrie Road in Havelock North.

Page 18

[Advertisement]
THOS. KINGSWELL,
PLUMBER.
TINSMITH AND GASFITTER.
Sheet Iron & Zinc Worker.
HOT & COLD WATER FITTER,
HASTINGS.
SHOWER HIP, SITZ, SPONGE AND OTHER BATHS.
Tanks, Portable Boilers,
AND ALL KINDS OF
DAIRY UTENSILS MADE TO ORDER
AT THE CHEAPEST RATE.
NOT TO BE EQUALLED.

1895, Thomas Kingswell, a Plumber

[Advertisement]
P.A. HERMAN & CO.,
AUCTIONEERS.
Land, Estate, & Commission Agents,
HASTINGS.
We receive in our Sale Rooms, Hastings, all kinds of
GRAIN, PRODUCE, AND PROVISIONS, &c.,
And make Liberal Advances against same when consigned for Immediate Sale.
ACCOUNT SALES PROMPTLY RENDERED.
Valuations made at Moderate Rates,
AND
COMMISSIONS OF ALL KINDS ACCEPTED.
We have a large Stock of
SUPERIOR HOUSEHOLD FURNITURE AND EFFECTS.
NEW AND SECOND-HAND PIANOS,
Consigned to us for Sale for Cash, or may be Purchased on the Hire-purchase System.
HOUSES OR FURNITURE PURCHASED FOR CASH.
REGULAR SALES will be held in the Sale Rooms, HASTINGS, every THURSDAY.
AGENTS FOR PIRI PIRI SAWMILLS.
P.A. HERMAN & CO.
AUCTIONEERS, HASTINGS.

1895, P. A. Herman, an Auctioneer on Station St, the building also housed Palmer’s Herbalist and Palmer junr [junior], Fruiterer, next to G. Dewsnaps Jewellers shop. Herman’s sale rooms burnt down the following year.

1895 May, George Hatherall [Hatherell], an old Hastings settler died.

[Photo]

1895 May, Shows the new gothic wooden Sacred Heart Catholic Church from Miller St, built through the Rev. Dean Smyth. The old church remained until the new church was built, then it was moved behind to align

Page 19

with Eastbourne St east. The original position of the old church was to the right side of the new church – where the later presbytery accommodation was built.

1895 May 12th – The officially opening of the edifice for new bigger gothic wooden Sacred Heart Church built in Hastings on a section next to the first church on additional property bought through Rev. Dean Smyth. The architects were Messrs Allan and Sollitt, the building contractors were McKenzie and Perkins at a cost of £3300. The piles and ground timbers used were of kauri, totara. The steeple is supported to the height of about 60 foot high by buttresses, and is finished with minarets at each corner. From these rise the spire, an octagonal in shape to a further height of about 50 feet. Especially strong construction has been needed, as the bell, a grand specimen of the founder’s art, from the Fountain Bell Foundry, Dublin, weighs about l0 cwt and with its bearings a total weight of I7cwt has to be supported. The bell, supplied with new patent rotary mountings, bears the following inscription: “In honorem Sancti Patrici, donabit Reverendus P. J. Smyth, A. V., 1895, Hastings, Vox domini super aquas multas Deus majestatis intonuit. Confitebor tibi in popul’s domini tecum tibi ingentibus” The bell was installed the following month and sounded an F. Sharp which was different to the B. sharp of the Hastings Fire Bell. Four beautiful stained glass windows representing Saints – Peter, Paul, John, and Luke light the sanctuary, the upper windows being glazed with tinted cathedral lights. In a canopied niche above the altar, stands a statue of the Saviour, the Sacred Heart being visible recently imported from France by the Rev. Father Smyth. Every Catholic family had donated some part of the church – the glazed stained leaded light windows, the Joinery, the Ironwork, the handrails the Statues, the gas heating incandescent burners, etc, and after the opening they continued to make endless monetary donations.

[Photo]

An early view of the new wooden gothic Sacred Heart Catholic Church in Hastings opened on the 13th May 1895, with St Patrick’s Girls School & Hall buildings behind at left 505, by Frederick George Radcliffe

1895 July, Thomas Foreman died aged 49. He had been in business in Hastings for about fourteen years. He always took a great interest in local matters, being a member of the Hastings Town Board and up to the time of his death he was a member of the Hastings Borough Council. He leaves a wife and family to mourn his loss.

1895 July, Thomas John Thompson and his brother William Thompson bought Foreman’s Family Butchers business in 1896. Thomas John Thompson was born in 1855 Londonderry, Ireland where he was educated and brought up to farm work. In 1874 he came out to New Zealand and landed at Napier, he later established himself in business in Hastings and is a senior partner in the firm of Thompson Brothers

1895 July, The most recent improvement to the block on the east of the railway line is the handsome and tastefully fitted tailor’s shop of Mr C. F. Lys, which compares favourably with any establishment of the kind in New Zealand. His original two storied Standard House building was later moved around into Station St – where there was another single story Hastings Standard newspaper office opposite the PO at Queen St

1895 July, A temporary Post Office and Telegraph Office were being leased from Mr W. Y. Dennett who premises adjoined the Post Office section on Station St while construction of the new Hastings Post Office is now well under way. The carpenters for the job were selected and Mr Louch O E at the Courthouse has received instructions and signed the agreement. Mr John Renouf was appointed clerk of works by the Public Works Department, six carpenters have been selected at present. The men subsequently selected Mr R. Sowersby as foreman and Mr E. W. Furniss as trustee.

1895 July, Jean Emily D’Emden died at Hastings aged 4, the daughter of James and Amy D’Emden (Union Bank of Australia Hastings) J. Garnett undertaker.

Page 20

1895 August, The Hastings Borough Council Road Overseer’s Report – Clauses 1, 2, 4, and 5 referred to the progress of works in connection with the Southland main drain, which it is expected will be finished at the end of August, and stated that the Railway road drain had been satisfactorily completed to Makirikiri creek. The overseer suggested that Mr Tanner be requested to drain the woollen factory reserve. He said the Riverslea drain fence, Jackson’s section, was satisfactorily completed, also the sewer man-hole at Caulton’s. A crossing had been made over the Makirikiri creek at Sellwood road at a cost of £7. 2s, The Heretaunga street and Karamu road water table contract had not been completed satisfactorily. It was decided that the work must be gone over again. The overseer also suggested that a crossing should be placed over the Makirikiri creek at Victoria Street at a cost of £4.14s.6d. – The report as a whole was adopted.

[Advertisement]
S. RIDGWAY,
HATTER, HOSIER, OUTFITTER, TAILOR,
HASTINGS.

Samuel Ridgway, Hatter, Hosier, Outfitter, Tailor, owned by C. Hughes, previously Burnett and Co

1895 September, A new concrete drainage curbing and channelling system for the town centre was commenced. The Makirikiri creek was culverted, piped and bridged over with planking for pedestrians. A 4 acre reserve was set aside for Queens Square common recreation and garden where all surrounding houses built to face the square.

1895 September, Dr Linney, for a long time in the service of the immigration Department, and who, later acted for two years surgeon on board the magnificent steamer Coptie has joined Dr Faulkner at Hastings.

1895 October, Another great fire at Hastings – Five business places were destroyed – S. Ridgway’s clothing store, Frank Bethel’s saddlery, Blythes, drapery, Eccles the chemist, Prior Horne’s bootmaker, and Charles F. Lys the tailor, with a narrow escape for Gorman’s Carlton Club Hotel. The firebell was rung at ten minutes to eight. There have been so many alarms of late, either of haystacks or chimneys on fire, that people took little notice of the bell ringing at first. The line of new buildings from B. L. Knight’s shop to the Gorman’s Carlton Club Hotel. The fire appears to have started in a small shop occupied by Prior Horne a bootmaker, which is really a portion of the shop of Mr Frank Bethel the saddler. Prior Horne’s shop adjoins the chemist’s establishment of Mr Eccles, which has been only just completed. Inspector Tong and Captain Brausche were amongst the first arrivals at the fire, the fire steam engine was at the railway crossing, with steam up in ten minutes. Very soon flames burst out in a tremendous volume from Horne’s window and as a matter of course Mr Bethel’s shop was soon in flames in the centre of the block. Next to this on the west, was Blythe & Co’s drapery, which covered the whole section from front to rear; beyond that was another new building erected for Burnett and Co, but recently sold to their manager Mr S. Ridgway. On the east side was Mr Eccles’ place already mentioned, and beyond that the recently opened shop of Mr C. Lys, tailor. All these were destroyed. On one side was Mr Morgan’s large boot and shoe store, Messrs Williams and Loughnan’s offices, Bauschenbach’s cigar divan, Messrs H. Williams and Sons’ ironmongery store and Mr B. L. Knight’s store with Mr Knight’s timber yard and workshops extended back to behind the fire. On the other side were Foreman butcher’s shop, Pitt’s fruit store, Guthrie fruit shop (just erected at great expense) and Gorman’s Hotel. The Brigade had to fight the fire at three points, on each side of the Mr Bethel’s shop, and at the back in Eastbourne St east and saved Mrs Forman’s house. Captain Brausche sent the manual engine to the Albert Hotel yard, where there is a good underground well. The sluice gates at various points were closed so that the water could be concentrated at the particular section of the sewer for water supply. The brave firemen Anderson, H. Stanley and J. Smith stuck themselves onto a ledge at the top of the building, which even in ordinary times it would be perilous to stand, with the weighted hose, played upon the seething molten mass until the roof fell in. Refreshments after the fire was extinguished were provided by Mr John Dale of the restaurant and Mr John Cullen the Baker. S. Ridgway’s clothing shop was owned by Mr C. Hughes and was insured as was Blythe & Co Drapers shop. Apperley’s two buildings – Eccles & Lys the tailor were uninsured as were Frank Bethel the saddler. Mr Prior Horne where the fire started was uninsured, being a working tradesman lost all his materials and tools.

1895 October, It was found necessary to get out the Hastings fire engine for two hours and pump a quantity of water on to the debris of the late fire, which showed signs of livening up into conflagration again. Messrs Eccles and Bethell have moved over into Mr Beecroft’s shops, opposite the ruins of the late premises. Mr Blythe has gone back to his old shop, Mr Lys has returned to his late premises in Karamu-road (Standard House) and Mr Ridgway has commenced operations at the New Zealand Clothing Factory.

Page 21

[Photo]

Mr Charles Hughes

Charles Hughes, b:1850 at Melbourne, he was brought up by his grandfather who articled him to a firm of architects, but instead entered the service of W. S. Cox a pork butcher, Bourke Street, Melbourne serving a five year apprenticeship. 1868 he arrived in New Zealand, several years at Oamaru meat preserving works. Went to Wellington and worked for Mr Gear three years, in 1883 he moved to Hastings and started a business which he sold to Nelson Brothers, he was on the Hastings Borough Council in 1886. He returned to Hastings from Masterton in 1894. He owned considerable house property in Hastings, and was re-elected to Council in 1895 and a JP. He married the daughter of John Bridgeman, of Ballingarry, Limerick, Ireland, and had one son. Charles died May 1930 aged 80.

1895 November 25, William McCarthy son of Robert & Elizabeth McCarthy died at Hastings aged 9.

1896 January 1st The new wooden Hastings Post Office opened and in 1897 the first Hastings Telephone Exchange operated – it was later extended along Station St in 1902 to include an exchange above Joe Tos Fruit shop; an all night service began in April 1907.

1896 January, Mr P. A. Herman’s Auction Mart building on Station St caught fire – possibly from an engine spark. There was inflammable stock and the wooden building including Palmers Herbalist and Palmers junr[junior]a Fruiterer under the same roof were all destroyed. The adjoining building of G. Dewsnaps Jewellers shop was also damaged.

1896 January, Three large buildings on Station Street were burnt down and one other damaged. That is where the fire finished. A large shop recently used as a saddler’s but lately untenanted. It was built and used for some time by Mr George Inglis as a produce store. It is now in the hands of Mr J. T. Blake the ground land lord. This is insured in the South British for £75. The next is a large dwelling house built by Mr D. Smart, now of Oamaru and recently enlarged and improved by Mr Blake, and a boarding-house, containing nine rooms on lease to Mr Michael Sullivan. This was insured in the North British for £240 and Mr Sullivan’s furniture and effects were insured in the Standard office for £100. The next place was a shop and dwelling; formerly used as en eating house and known as Scott’s restaurant, containing five rooms. This was recently partly rented by Mr Sullivan, and partly by Mr J. T. Blake, who used the shop as an office. The property belongs to what is known as the Warrilow estate for which Mr Lyndon, Napier is trustee. This was insured for £50 in the Manchester. The next is the store of which the well-known pictorial hoarding is the front. There was not a large amount of damage done to this building, but the advertisements are considerably injured. This was insured in the Alliance for £60. There was little or no wind, so the bell was not heard in the north-east part of the town, and it is to be hoped that the contractor for the new tower will push the work ahead and get the bell up higher. How was it that with our really efficient Brigade, our good manual engine and above all our first-class steam fire engine (certified only last week to the Boroughs Council as both being in first-class order) and practically unlimited water supply in the sewer, that so much damage was done ? A kerosene lamp was left burning, the light having been turned down low. The lamp burst, and caused a flame, from which the disaster followed; the inmates were quickly aroused, and naturally did their best to subdue the fire, so that there was a delay in calling the Brigade; in fact, the bell was at length rung by a young man named Heatley who lives in a whare at the rear of the scene of fire, and as I said before, the alarm on the bell was not sufficient, as several of the firemen did not hear it. Late as was the hour, there was still further delay in getting water at all. The manual was unable, the length of hose from the fire to the water, to send up anything like a sufficient jet to be useful, and it was not until the three houses were practically destroyed that the full force of the steamer was available, when it soon stopped the fire spreading. The distance from the crossing to the scene of the fire I cannot give exactly just now, but it would be somewhere about six chains, and to make it worse, some of the hose is not sound. It is unnecessary to state that no property was saved, it being a matter of rejoicing that no lives were lost, the inmates of Sullivan’s boarding house having some trouble in escaping from the fire. The narrowest escape was that of Mr and Mrs Sullivan and two children, who slept upstairs. When aroused, it was found that escape by the stairs was cut off by the flames, but fortunately the window led out on the roof of a lean-to, by which means they got away, but with much difficulty. Mr Sullivan will no doubt be a heavy loser, and the unfortunate lodgers will lose everything but the scanty clothing that they escaped in. Amongst other things destroyed, one of the boarders, a working man, loot £10 in cash and his watch. Passengers by the railway will remember the large advertising board nearly opposite the station, which so far from being a disfigurement, is an ornament to the town is where the fire finished.

1896 March, The dwelling house of Jeremiah Conway on Karamu Road east burnt down while he was away. Arthur Golds, a lad about twelve years lived next door and saw it burning at the farthest from the road was on fire first. He had seen swaggers in the shed, Mr John Alexander Golds father of the lad corroborated. Conway said he purchased the

Page 22

property six years ago from Patrick Collins for £120 and said that swaggers often sleep in the shed at the rear of the section the place of the fire. Insurance had to pay immediately.

1896, Thomas Tanner’s Riverslea Homestead burnt down

1896 May, Mr B. L. Knight’s coal & timber yards first sawmill & timberyard burnt down – possibly from an engine spark.

[Advertisement]
J. CASEY,
PRACTICAL BOOTMAKER,
HASTINGS

1896, J. Casey, a Bootmaker had a small shed on Heretaunga St east next to the Albert Hotel

1896 May 8th – BALLOT FOR THE RAUREKA BLOCK. A large number of people assembled to witness the ballot for sections in the Raureka settlement, Hastings, yesterday. Before the drawing took place Mr Humphries explained that 361 applications had been received for the 20 sections offered, but it must be borne in mind that many of the applicants had applied for several sections. In one instance there were nine applicants of one name and seven of another, these two families representing 110 of the 361 applications. Mr R. P. Pitt and E. J. Whitley [Whibley] were the scrutinisers, and the Ballot as follows: – Section 1; 21 acres, 3 roods, 20 perches, half-yearly rental £15.17s.6d. Twenty-five applicants. Henry Lean, Havelock. Section 2, 21 acres, 2 roods, 20 porches, half-yearly rental £18. 7s. 6d. Fourteen applicants. F. Wall, Maharahara. Section 3, 17 acres, half-yearly rental £12. 12s. Twenty-six applicants. Mrs Eliza McGill, Papakura. Section 4, 17 acres, half-yearly rental £12. 8s .6d. Seventeen applicants. John Christy, Shakespeare Road, Napier. Section 5, 16 acres, 3 roods, 16 perches, half-yearly rental £12 .11s. 6d. Twenty applicants, Jeremiah Conway, Petane. Section 6, 13 acres 2 roods 6 perches, half-yearly rental £10. 8s .6d. Twenty six applicants. A. F. Jarman, France Road, Napier. Section 7, 13 acres 3 roods 24 perches, half-yearly rental £5. 10s. Twenty applicants. Miss Rosa Madden, Napier. Section 8, 10 acres, half-yearly rental £8 .1s. 6d. Thirty-one applicants. Patrick Clarkin, Napier. Section 11, 14 acres 2 roods 33 perches, half-yearly rental £10.15s. Twenty-two applicants. H. J. Wall, Hastings. Section 12, 7 acres 1 rood, 1 perch, half yearly rental £5 .10s, Twenty-two applicants. John Wellwood, Hastings. Section 13, 8 acres, half- yearly rental £5.17s. Nineteen applicants. Mrs E. M. Cox, Hastings. Section 14, 15 acres 1 rood 33 perches, half-yearly rental £10. 3s. Thirteen applicants. Johanna Lynn, Hastings. Section 15, 8 acres, half-yearly rental £5 .13s. Nineteen applicants, Walter White, Waipawa. Section 16, 7 acres 3 roods 32 perches, half-yearly rental £5. 8s. 6d. Fifteen applicants. John Donnelly, Longlands. Section 17, 8 acres 2 roods 6 perches, half-yearly rental £5 .4s. Seventeen applicants. Jane A. T. Wellwood (wife of R. Wellwood). Section 18, 8 acres 2 roods 37 perches, half-yearly rental £1.15s. Eleven applicants. Hans Hencks, Hastings. Section 19, 37 acres 2 roads 36 perches, hair-yearly rental £15 .15s. Fifteen applicants. N. R. Wellwood, Hastings. Section 20, 40 acres 3 roods 22 perches, half-yearly rental £17.2s, Thirty-seven applicants, S. J. Wellwood, Hastings

1896 June, Fire At Hastings – A house containing four rooms situated at the corner of St. Aubyn and Warren streets, Hastings, owned and occupied by Mr George Hayes, was totally destroyed by fire this morning. The outbreak was discovered by Mrs Hayes at about 3.30 and the inmates barely escaped with their lives. Mr Brunton, a neighbour of Mr Hayes received rather severe injuries while endeavouring to remove some of the furniture. The cottage was insured for £150 In the New Zealand office, the same company holding a risk of £50 on the furniture. George Hayes contractor went bankrupt the following year.

1896 July, The residence for Mr Patterson was erected on the Maori land opposite the racecourse.

1896 August, Advance Hastings! Mr E. P. Joyce of Gisborne has decided to erect two shops, with dwelling house attached, on the vacant section between Bennett and Bone’s establishment and Mr J. Casey’s shop. The contractors commenced work thereon this morning.

1896, George Ebbett was educated at Hastings and studied law he was admitted to the bar, Barrister and Solicitor at Hastings and member of the Hastings Borough Council for four years. In 1900 he married Eliza Maud Neal Daughter of John Wainhouse Neal and Eliza Neal children – Dorothy Maud Wainhouse Rosenberg, Marjory Mary Wainhouse Ebbett and James Harold Wainhouse Ebbett.

1896, The Manor Boarding-house consisting of 28 rooms was built on the corner of Warren St sth and Lyndon Rd east

Page 23

[Photo]

1895, J. Annett Ironmonger corner of Heretaunga St east and Warren St

1896, George Russ Grant, the Hastings coachman moved to Napier and died 1896 aged only 45.

1896 September, Hastings Borough Council, The Drainage Committee’s report was read as follows: 1. With regard to the drainage of Lumsden road and the nuisance caused by stagnant water on the Loan and Mercantile Agency Company’s sections complained of by Mr Metherell, your committee recommend that the said company be allowed to take earth from Lumsden road for the purpose of filling in their sections adjoining Metherell’s, provided they form and metal the road in accordance with specifications to be prepared by the Road Overseer. 2. With regard to the drainage of Park road, your committee recommend that the matter be allowed to stand over for the present. 3. We also recommend that an additional acre of land for a quarry be purchased from the Riverslea Syndicate. With regard to clause 1 it was resolved, on the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Cr Linney that the Loan and Mercantile Company be served with notice to fill in the section.

1896 November, Building at Hastings is going on despite the bad times. Mr D. B Frame an architect, invited tenders for a cottage here. And Mr B. L. Knight is about to build four cottages in Market St. Mr Sollitt is the architect for Mr Knight’s cottages.

1896 November, Mr John Goddard the well-known local nurseryman has opened a shop in Heretaunga St opposite Bank of New Zealand for the sale of the products of his Havelock nurseries. The store was under the management of Mr W. Peens, who after receiving his training under Mr Goddard, proceeded to England to complete his knowledge of the trade, whence he has recently returned. In May 1897 Advert – BILLIARDS – Mr W. Peens, Manager of Mr Goddard’s fruit shop in Heretaunga St has opened as Fruiterer, Tobacconist and Billiard Saloon keeper in the shop leading to Blythe’s well-known Billiard saloon, opposite the Union Bank.

1896 December, We are pleased to see Mr F. Bone of the firm of Bennett and Bone about town to-day. Mr Bone shows the effect of the severe illness he has undergone, but his robust constitution has pulled him through and he is once more, his friends will be glad to learn, on the high road to recovery.

1896 December, Mr C. Hughes’ butchers shop on the corner of Heretaunga St and Warren St, H. Smith fruiterer’s shop, Mr E. Brown’s toys, fancy goods and drapery shop, Messrs Bennett and Bone’s ironmongery, Mr Wilkins saddler just opened in business in the newly erected-shop near the Albert Hotel, Messrs Webster and Stuart’s Albert Hotel – The Carlton Club, Mr Guthrie’s fruiterer’s, G. Pitt fruiterer, Messrs Thompson Bros butchers, Mr C. Lys and staff tailoring, Mr Eccles’ shop under the management of Mr Wallace, Mr F. Bethel – harness, Blythe & Co drapery, Sam Ridgway outfitters, Hyde and Co, under the management of Mr Arthur Hyde with pipe and tobacco, T. Hawkins, Roger Winsley’s ice creams & restaurant, Mr Burton photographer, Messrs Hannah & Co boots, Messrs Williams and Son’s, Carter’s boots and shoes, H. H. Hunt for the Herald and books, Messrs Tyerman & Co chemists, Mr C. Goldsmith manager of the New Zealand Clothing Factory, J. Goddard’s seed & fruit store, T. Quinlivan’s tobacco & cigars, W. H. Bowler, G. H. Roach’s drapery, Land and Heighway’s saddler, Mr Caulton of the Pacific Hotel, Mr W. G. Benson’s bakery shop in Market St, Mrs Bennett’s fruiterer’s, J. P. Thompson’s drapery, George Roach’s grocery, crockery & china, Messrs Sharp & Alford toys, W. Mouldey’s confectionery, J. Garnett furniture, J. Robertson clock, watches & jewellery, T. Wyatt s butchery, Winsley’s Cafe, Messrs Maddison and Co’s grocery and drapery, A. McCorkindale’s jewellery & watches, Mr Palmer chemist, Misses Adams ladies &

Page 24

children’s wear, A. King cigars, pipes & tobacco and a violin player, J. Annett’s Ironmongery, Symond’s carriage factory, Kershaw’s cabinet making, Sam Charlton publican, Faulkner’s carriage factory, Cullen’s bakery, The little lolly shop in Station St owned by Mrs Moore, Whitehead Bros photographers, Newbigin’s brewery, Dan O’Reiley [O’Reilly] Hastings Hotel.

Arthur Frederick Cook & Co, Agricultural Implement Makers and Importers and General Blacksmiths, Heretaunga St.

This was an early established business acquired by George Pervis. In 1903 a showroom was added which was enlarged in 1905 owing to the increasing business. The firm are agents for the Nixon mowers, rakes, discs, cultivators, and drills; the Keystone, Thomas, and Manitoba hay loaders and stackers; and for Messrs Cooper and Duncan’s various implements. Arthur Frederick Cook, b:1872 Cambridge, Eng, [England] the eldest son of Mr F. Cook – the overseer for the Hastings Borough Council. He came to New Zealand with his parents age 2. After receiving a public school education he was apprenticed to George Pervis, with whom he remained for about nine years until taking over the business on his own account. He married Christina Wemyss of Blenheim and had three sons.

1897 January, Hastings Fire – Blake’s block – the fire had originated in the back of Mrs Moores fruit and lolly shop and discovered by an employee of the Nightsoil contractor, The fire police saved property from Mr McCorkindale’s and from misses Adams ladies millinery establishment

1897 February 5 Friday – a number of the prominent citizens of Hastings assembled at the railway station to wish good-bye and Godspeed to Sergeant Mitchell, who has recently been transferred to Wellington.

1897 April, At the Catholic Church Hastings the private wedding, when Mr Nathaniel Beamish, son of Mr N. Beamish of Stoneycroft, was married to Miss Margaret Allen of Wairoa. The bride was given away by Mr G. E. Richardson of Napier. The ceremony was performed by the Rev. Father Grogan of Napier, who delivered a short but interesting address. After the wedding breakfast at Stoneycroft, the happy pair left via Napier for their honeymoon.

1897, the original Standard House was moved around to Station St.

1897 April 15, “Standard House” is to be re-opened again. This place has a history of its own, in as much as it alone escaped the flames in the three fires that have occurred in the railway block, and as it has done its turn of the proverbial three times, it is to be hoped that in future it will be exempt. Mr W. E. Beck is the proprietor of the new business. Mr Beck as man and boy has always been associated with Hastings, especially with the notable firm of Beck and Co. And has taken an active part in all matters for the good of the town, especially in the Fire Brigade. He will have a grand display of drapery on his opening night on Easter Eve, when his friends, who comprise the residents generally will no doubt give him a fair share of their custom. When lighted up on Saturdays this house used to be a special feature in the town, and its re-opening will be welcomed.

1897 April 17th the Ngaruroro River bust its embankments at Roys Hill with extensive flooding. The Rev. Dean Smyth and vicar John Hobbs St Matthews worked together devoted to one and all regardless of creed and class in canvassing for the relief of those who had suffered by the floods in Hawke’s Bay.

1897 May, Mr G. Dewsnap Watchmaker & Jeweller of Hastings has removed from his damaged premises in Station St into the larger and more centrally situated store at 47 Heretaunga St east where he will carry on his business – next to Beecroft’s Horse Repository entrance.

The postal authorities had erected a large central telegraph pole in July 1896, at the corner of Heretaunga St and Station St for distributing wires through the borough in connection with the proposed local telephone service.

1897 June, Queen Victoria’s Jubilee celebrations at Hastings – Planting of the Queen’s Oak – Shops, offices and hotels were well decorated. They marched in procession from Drill Hall. Thanks in the first place to Mr Thomas Tanner and in the second place the Riverslea Syndicate who had generously relinquished the rights they possessed under the forfeiture clause in the sale of property in Queen’s Square. The park should be named “Victoria Square.” The oak sapling was a slim but healthy specimen of three years’ growth specially selected from the nursery of Mr Goddard, of Havelock. The proceedings closed by the children singing “God Save the Queen” with a great evening Ball.

1897 July, Arvedsen’s drain on Norton road has slipped vary badly and has let Mr Collison’s fence down, which he wishes reinstated. Mr Arvedsen and the Riverslea Syndicate when Mr Ellis was Mayor some threes and a half years ago – to cut this drain to take water from their land into the Southland drain and they now refuse to maintain it – who is responsible ?

Page 25

[Photo]

1897, The Circus arrived in Hastings – (possibly Probasco’s in December 1897 at Hastings) crossing over the railway line on Central Heretaunga St east with B. L. Knight’s coal & timber yards – their first sawmill & timberyard burnt down May 1896 – possibly from an engine spark, now taken over by R. Holt sash & door factory before moving it to St Aubyn St. R. Holt’s timber mill building, built around 1881 was shifted to their King St nth Firewood & Coal site adjoining the Internal Marketing Dept. boundary around 1898 to become stables and later a truck garage which caught fire 1946. The new Russell St was extended through R. Holts around 1919, also shows corner of Hastings Hotel on right edge and the large central telegraph pole behind the tiger’s wagon – the circus considered the town viable enough to stay, once when Wriths [Worths] Circus arrived in Hastings some local horses bolted in fright from the elephants. In 1899 Mr B. L. Knight installed a Public Weigh machine in his yard for carts or vehicles loaded with bricks to get a good measurement.

[Newspaper notice]
R. HOLT,
CARPENTER & BUILDER,
HASTINGS-ST., NAPIER,
HAS ALWAYS ON HAND,
TONGUED and Grooved Seasoned Flooring, Lining, and Sealing; also, Architraves, Skirtings, Mouldings, Doors, and Sashes, manufactured on the premises at the Lowest Prices.
Orders punctually attended to.   268

R. Holt was advertising at Napier in August 1871, HBH,

Robert Holt was born in Oldham, Lancashire England in 1833 and was educated in his native town. He was apprenticed to a joiner and pattern maker, and at the age of 26 years came to New Zealand landing at Auckland. He married in 1861 [1860], a daughter of the late Mr John Marshall of Paisley, Scotland. He did five years active service as a volunteer and was engaged in the Omaranui and Petane fights. Removing to Napier in 1866 he engaged in contract work, and subsequently started a small mill in Hastings St. For many years he was a member of the old Napier Philharmonic Society. He was the father of John Holt of Hastings, and Robert and James Holt of Napier. He also had two daughters, one of them being the wife of the Rev Oliver Dean, of Napier. Robert Holt sen died 1909 aged 76 and his son John took over the Hastings business.

1897 December, Edward Cullen aged 18 died of consumption at Hastings

1898 January, On New Year’s Eve Constable Potter noticed a glare in the night sky in Queen St, the crowds in the Main St dispersed towards the scene. Mrs MacDonald’s seven roomed house being occupied by Mr James Williams a herbalist, was destroyed by the fire. Mr Williams and his wife were absent and lost everything except a small bag of medicines rescued by Constable Smith. Then the house next door of same owner has since been destroyed by fire.

Page 26

[Newspaper notice]
DISSOLUTION OF PARTNERSHIP.
MESSRS Bennett and Bone, having dissolved partnership, the business will in future be carried on by Messrs Bone and Holroyd, who hope still to receive the custom so liberally given to the late firm.
BONE & HOLROYD.

[Newspaper notice]
BONE AND HOLROYD,
DIRECT IMPORTERS OF EVERY DESCRIPTION OF HARDWARE.
JUST LANDED – A Splendid Assortment of LAMPS at from 1s to 60s [shillings].
Best Value in Hawke’s Bay.
ELECTRO-PLATED GOODS.
The Largest Stock in the District to Select from.
Quality Guaranteed for 25 years.
ENAMELLED WARE
Of every description at Lowest Prices.
CUTLERY, both Table and Pocket;
Best Makers Only.
Building and Household Ironmongery.
BOND AND HOLROYD, HASTINGS.

[Advertisement]
G. H. VICKERS & CO.,
AUCTIONEERS,
Valuators, General Commission Agents,
STATION STREET, HASTINGS.
Produce, Furniture, and general Merchandise for Sale Privately or by Auction.
A Large Assortment of Pianos Always on Hand for Sale.
REGULAR WEEKLY SALES HELD IN MART ON SATURDAYS.
Liberal Advance Made on Goods Consigned for Absolute Sale.

1898, Bone and Holroyd and George Henry Vickers & Co Auctioneers on Station St

1898, A fire occurred in the George Henry Vickers Auction House on Station St.

1898 February, Death of an old Identity – Elizabeth Hislop died aged 85, relict of the late John Hislop a sheepfarmer of Puketapu who died in September 1894 aged 82, They came to the Colony in 1856 and resided in Hawke’s Bay for over 40 years.

1898 March, Homestead erected at Riverslea section 56, 5758 by Mr Robert Sowersby contractor to the order of Mr J. Beatson of Meeanee. The house of fourteen rooms, beautiful exterior, whilst inside the rooms are lofty and the passages ample, with a spacious hall, making a home equal to any villa residence in the colony. In all Mr Sowersby’s experience as a contractor he has never done better work than in this instance. The outhouses, consisting of carriage sheds, stalls, loose boxes, are on a scale in proportion to the house, and both the architect Mr Finch and Mr Sowersby are to be congratulated.

The Poppelwell Brothers The younger Sebastian (Bastie) George Alexander Poppelwell b:1861 at Dunedin had moved to Napier by 1890 and married Margaret (Maggie) Dorothea Pearse 1891 and had 6 children. They moved to Hastings where SG was a Valuer, a Truant Officer and on the Fire Board, Margaret Dorothea died April 1933 aged 71 and SG died September 1939 aged 78. Older brother John (Jack) Poppelwell b:1852 Dunedin married Margaret McCormack 1879, they had 3 sons and 8 daughters and had arrived in Hastings around 1896 – Margaret died November 1933 aged 72 and John died December 1933 aged 80.

1898 July, An earthquake 4.2 shook Hastings

1898 September 26, Hastings Standard – THE MAKIRIKIRI CREEK. Sir, ln the interest of public morality it is durable that the facts in connection with the dispute between Mr E. Moriarty and the Borough Council in regard to the Makirikiri creek should be made public. The facts, so far as I have been able to ascertain them, are as follow —Some time ago Mr Thos. Tanner cut up that portion of his Riverslea property through which this drain is being made into small sections, the plan of such survey being submitted to the Town Board for approval and duly approved by it, though such surveys showed no Reserve of any kind on the bed of the Makirikiri creek. On the strength of these plans Moriarty, in common with many more of the general public, bought sections on the line of this creek, paid for them, and got Crown grants. Recently the Borough Council accepted tenders to construct a drain through Moriarty’s section without in any way consulting him, claiming that the Makirikiri creek being a natural watercourse is public property. Mr Moriarty being unfortunately confined to his bed with a broken leg has been unable to protect his property as he otherwise would have done, and under the threat of all kinds of pains and penalties has allowed the contractors to proceed with their work. In connection with this matter I may mention that Mr D. McLeod, while a member of the Borough Council, on several occasions endeavoured to get the Council to obtain the best legal advice procurable I on the question of this drain, but a majority of the Council were either so confident of their position or so indifferent that no action was taken. If those who are interested in this matter (and a good many are) will consult with Mr McLeod, arrangements can be made to get a reliable legal opinion on the whole question, armed with which it would be a simple matter to settle with the Council, or to obtain compensation for bad titles. J. Poppelwell. Hastings.

1898 September, A two roomed cottage in a right-of-way off Warren St caught fire, it was owned by Mr B. L. Knight and in the occupation of Mr William Nelson and family. Mrs S. Lindsay and others lived nearby and save a good portion of the furniture, the brigade’s steamer got to work and saved the buildings frame work. Mrs Nelson had been the only one there before the fire started, she attributed to a defective colonial oven that sparked.

1898 October 11, Hastings Standard – Sir, To the ordinary lay mind, it seems extraordinary that a gentleman who, like Captain Russell, opposed in every possible way the Land for Settlement Bill, should now try and gain for himself credit in advising as to how that Act should be administered but I suppose to the individual who has spent something like thirty years as a politician, nothing comes amiss. There is one fact for which Captain Russell should receive full credit, and that is, if he had had his way the labourers of Hawke’s Bay would never have had the opportunity of obtaining a piece of land, great or small, unless, indeed, they had paid for it at the will of himself or others like him. If Captain Russell were to

Page 27

devote his time to persuading the Government to acquire a few more of the estates in Hawke’s Bay, instead of obstructing the necessary business of Parliament, he would deserve the thanks of the community. As matters stand ho [he] deserves less than none. There is a matter in connection with the purchase of Frimley to which I must refer. Certain individuals have tried to claim credit in connection with the matter. Writing as I do with a full knowledge of the facts, I say that there are only two individuals who deserve any credit, and the first of these is Mr J. N. Williams, who, of his own motion, offered his place to the Government at a price at which they could purchase. The other is Mr D. McLeod, through whom Mr Williams’ offer was conveyed to the Government, and who conducted the preliminary correspondence which led to successful business. In conclusion, I would point out to the working men of Hawke’s Bay that their interests are in the strong and honest hands of Mr John McKenzie, and that every question which is likely to affect their interests will receive full consideration.            J. Poppelwell, Hastings.

1898 October, A fire started at the back between Kershaw’s and Mr Garnett’s business premises opposite Mr H. O. Caulton’s Pacific Hotel and spread to Mr Robertson’s jewellery shop and a co-worker’s store formerly occupied by Mr Thompson but recently taken over by Mr Garnett. The brigade put efforts onto saving the three shops on Heretaunga St west.

1898, Thomas John Thompson was a member of the Borough Council; he was chairman of the Havelock School Committee and a member of the Hastings Lodge of Freemasons.

1898 October 31, The funeral of Mrs Annie Caulton – the popular proprietors’ wife of the Pacific Hotel took place on Sunday afternoon when hundreds of settlers paid a last tribute to the memory of one, who, by her kindly disposition, had endeared herself to all with whom she came in contact. The funeral left the late residence of the deceased at 8 o’clock for St. Matthew’s Church, where Hilmore’s appropriate and solemn service was held, at the conclusion of which the choir rendered the funeral hymn, Days and Moments.” The cortege, which comprised over eighty vehicles and seventy horsemen, besides hundreds of mourners on foot, then wended its way slowly to the Hastings cemetery. Mr W. A. Beecroft’s large new hearse, in which was displayed a beautiful rimu coffin, with kauri facings covered with wreaths and a valuable kiwi mat sent by Mrs J. Taiaroa, was followed by an ambulance containing hundreds of wreaths and crosses, and a cavalcade of vehicles, horsemen, and pedestrians nearly a mile in length. It is said that never before has such a funeral been seen in Hastings. Harry Oakley Caulton spent his youth in Victoria then settled in Hawke’s Bay in the 1860’s where he fought in the Maori Wars of te Kooti, he married Annie McNeil in 1882, they had 2 sons one daughter and resided in Hastings for 20years, Harry died January 1905 aged 62.

[Newspaper notices]
NOTICE
JOSEPH WYATT, Butcher, Hastings, begs to notify his many patrons and friends that he has sold out his business to Mr. Edmund W. R. Bousefield, and while thanking customers for their generous support, he would solicit a continuance of same on behal [behalf] of his successor.
JOSEPH WYATT.
Hastings, November 15th, 1898.

EDMUND W. R. BOUSEFIELD desires to intimate to the inhabitants of Hastings that he has purchased from Mr. Joseph Wyatt his old-established Butchering Business, and hopes by strict attention to customers, and only by keeping the best quality of Meat, that he will continue to receive the support so long accorded to his predecessor.
E. W. R. BOUSEFIELD.
Hastings, November 15th, 1898.   645

1898 November Joseph Wyatt sold his butchery business to Edmund W. R. Bousefield

[Photo]

Page 28

1898, rebuilt buildings of J. Hawkins grocer on Heretaunga St east with A. Hyde & Co left and Blythe & Co Draper on right after the 1895 fire.

1899 January, The Havelock side of the railway line is daily growing in more importance. One of the great attractions there is Messrs Bone and Holroyd’s establishment.

1899 February, The death, at a comparatively early age of Mr W. Edwards, well known throughout New Zealand as horse trainer to Captain Russell M H.E. Mr Edwards held that position for several years and was highly respected in his profession. He was equally respected as a private resident of Hastings of which he was an old identity. He was brought into Hastings from Flaxmere, suffering from typhoid fever from which he died this morning. Deceased was a widower, and leaves one daughter, who is prostrated with the same malady, but it is hoped that she will recover. Capt Russell has arranged a funeral and burial at Havelock Cemetery.

In September 1878, Richard Tucker fifth son of Mr Edward Tucker married Maria Harris third daughter of Mr John Harris at St. Mark’s Church, West Clive

[Advertisement]
R. TUCKER,
HERETAUNGA FELLMONGERY
And
WOOL-SCOURING ESTABLISHMENT.
HASTINGS, HAVELOCK ROAD, NEAR HAVELOCK BRIDGE.

1896 April

[Advertisement]
RICHARD TUCKER,
FELLMONGER AND WOOL SCOURER,
HAVELOCK ROAD HASTINGS.
Wool Scoured and Skins Fellmongered at Cheapest Rates.

March 1896

[Newspaper notice]
To Sheep Farmers.
RICHARD TUCKER, Wool-scourer, Heretaunga Works, Hastings. Having the most up-to-date appliances, I am in a position to do all scouring at a minimum rate, while the Quality of the Work will ensure satisfaction. All wool consigned to me at the Hastings station will receive prompt attention.

and October 1900

1896 September, The County road overseer has reported in the case of the disgraceful state of the Havelock road outside of the Hastings borough boundary, and has evidently tried to put the blame upon the householders. As Mr R. Tucker is the only person whose drain there runs into the main channel he naturally objects to the overseer not going to the cause of the overflow, which Mr Tucker maintains is the blocking of the pipes near the river. If these were kept clear there would be no trouble whatever. If the present condition of things is allowed to continue the County Council will be threatened with further law proceedings.

In October 1904, Messrs R. Tucker and Co, notify that they have purchased Mr S. H. Knight’s well-known wool-scouring and fellmongery works at Whakatu beside the river. As the new firm are thoroughly practical men, they will no doubt receive a fair share of support.

Richard Tucker’s plant was near the Havelock Bridge which would have drained directly into the Karamu creek – this plant may have had access from an old Tanner track with an entrance off the Havelock Road. It was very close to Alfred Weaver Riverslea Wool Scouring Works off St Georges Rd nth down Miller Rd.

Page 29

[Map]

Miller Rd and an old pathway near the Havelock bridge at section 1 poss [possibly]where Richard Tucker was.

[Newspaper notice]
NOTICE.
SHEEPFARMERS and others intending to Scour their Wool this season will do well to confide it to A. WEAVER, Hastings where the latest appliances in Scouring are in use. None but experts are employed, so first class work is guaranteed.
773   A. WEAVER,
Riverslea, Hastings.

1899, Alfred Weaver a Fellmonger, had a boiling down plant at Clive before removing to Hastings to take over the Riverslea Wool scouring plant on St Georges Rd – by the end of the Hop Gardens, he was married to Elizabeth Matilda Masters and had six children, several died young. Alfred had a brother Edward Weaver who was killed in 1901 at Napier.

1899 January, Marriage – BOSHER-WEAVER. At St. Luke’s Church, Havelock North by the Rev. Canon St. Hill, Henry Bosher of Makino second son of the late Henry Bosher, Surrey, England, to Phoebe Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Alfred Weaver, Riverslea, Hastings, and formerly of Feilding and Wanganui.

1899 February, Marriage – WEAVER-WHELAN At the Sacred Heart Church Hastings on February 8th by the Rev. Father Smythe, William Alfred Weaver eldest son of A. Wearer,[Weaver]Riverslea, Hastings, to Honora Florence Whelan, youngest daughter of SI. Whelan, Lawrence, Otago. William Alfred died at his residence Warren street Hastings in August 1920 aged 47, beloved husband of Florence Honora Weaver, and eldest son of Alfred Weaver Riverslea. The deceased after a couple of months’ illness, ensuing on a breakdown of his health was employed as an engineer in the Municipal power house, very popular with his fellow employees, as well as with his outside acquaintances.

Page 30

[Photo]

Alfred Weaver’s Riverslea Wool Scouring Works off St Georges Rd nth down Miller Rd 1905c between the Havelock Rd and Crosses Rd down the end of the pathway past the house later named Miller Road with a drain at the back of the works flowing into the Karamu Creek and Havelock township behind with Te Mata Peak distance. The Karamu creek must have been quite polluted at times.

[Newspaper notice]
VISITING Riverslea Wool Works the other day, said, after examining my process and its results;-
“The way you class and scour the wool is certainly far ahead of anything we have seen in New Zealand. That wool is just as we want it for the London market”
That is because all wool entrusted to me is treated with my own patented process.
Let me demonstrate with yours this year.  I know I shall not need to ask you for it next year.
JUST CONSIGN TO –
ALFRED WEAVER,
WOOL WORKS,
HASTINGS.

Marriage – WEAVER-HOLMES. A pretty wedding was solemnised at the Havelock Church in September 1909 by the Rev A. Gardiner. The contracting parties were Mr Owen M. Weaver, second son of Mr and Mrs Alfred Weaver of Hastings, and Miss Janet Holmes, eldest daughter of Mr and Mrs James Holmes, of Havelock road.

Death – April 1912 at Riverslea Hastings, Elizabeth Matilda beloved wife of Alfred Weaver died aged 60 and Alfred Weaver died in May 1944 aged 93.

1899 February, MAHORA ESTATE. This consists of two portions of Frimley adjoining the town of Hastings. One portion has an area of 640 acres which will be divided into about 19 sections; the other, an area of 500 acres will probably be cut up into 16 section. This land is exceptionally good for agricultural purposes and will be open for selection at a yearly rental of about 30s per acre in areas of from 10 acres to 50 acres.

1899 June, Mr D. T. Murfitt an old identity in Hastings has taken over the well-known livery stables attached to the Hastings Hotel. Mr Murfitt’s skill in the management of horses is too well known to need comment and the public can safely depend on the proprietor supplying nothing but reliable horses.

1899 July, Mrs Bowen and Mr John Walden are each having a house erected on their sections lately acquired from the Frimley estate, and the successful contractors are Messrs Brausche and Sowersby.

1899 July, The late Mr Thomas Burke, who was removed from Mrs Schaeffer’s boarding house to the Napier hospital on Thursday, and died there the same day, was apparently a strong and healthy man in the prime of life. He was well known in Hastings.

1899, Harry Arthur Symonds established “The Byko” Cycle & Motor Car Depot on in Queen St, before moving to Station St in 1902. The premises were large and contain a showroom in which was displayed a varied stock of bicycles, “F. N.” Motor cycles, and accessories. A large workshop thoroughly equipped with all necessary plant and machinery and a garage where three men were employed repairing. Harry Arthur Symonds b:1871 at Kaipara, second son of William Symonds. He first work in conjunction with his father’s Coach Factory for about ten years. Was a member of the Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade and in the Hastings Town Band.

[Photo]

Harry Arthur Symonds

Page 31

1900 April, The death of an old Hastings settler – Mr John Gardiner died 29th April in Napier hospital from pleurisy on Saturday evening aged 66. Deceased was a Crimean veteran, Pte. 57th Regiment and was a familiar figure in Hastings wearing his medals and clasps with reasonable pride.

[Photo]

1900’s, Shows the new gothic wooden Sacred Heart Church in Hastings A new convent built 1901 with original upper balcony and other earlier buildings at left of St Patrick’s School built 1888 with a separate entrance off Willowpark Rd sth was now for Girls while the old church on Eastbourne St east was for Boys. A new separate St Patrick’s parochial Hall was built June 1909 70ft x 30ft @ £900 with frontage on Eastbourne St east and supported by the Irish National League and Hibernian Society. This St Patrick’s school for girls later demolished and became the grassed playground for older standard boys of St Joseph’s, also shows the old church steeple seen directly behind, wooden fencing along the frontage, taken from Miller St.

[Photo]

The church building Messrs Allan and Sollitt, architects, contractors were McKenzie and Perkins May 1895, the bell weighed 1300lbs, the tower is 60 foot high and was built to house a peal of bells and topped by a 50 foot slender spire. St Josephs School was opened in 1888 – the old smaller church – the steeple of the little old church seen behind became a class room for boys. In March 1886 Mr Higgins advertised plans for Rev Father Smythe’s residence on Heretaunga St east.

Page 32

[Photo]

1902 July, the new gothic Sacred Heart Church

[Photos]

Henry Seymour Bone and his first grand two storied Imperial Café established in 1901 on Heretaunga St east opposite Gorman’s Carlton Hotel, near the Union Bank, by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia. The café catered for 80 downstairs in a dining room and 26 upstairs for morning and afternoon teas. A head baker was employed to make pastry goods and about twelve persons are constantly employed, a large cloak room, lavatory for ladies until June 1905 when the business moved to smaller premises on Heretaunga St west. Perhaps the Zealandia Fish Café took over the building later advertised opposite Gorman’s for a short time. Wooden buildings were often burnt down, replaced or moved on within a short very period.

Henry Seymour Bone was born in July 1876, he married Margaret Moore in April 1904 at Hastings. They had five children. Henry Seymour Bone died in April 1932 at Hastings aged 55, Margaret Moore was born 1880 in Canterbury, she died on April 1955 at Hastings aged 75.

Page 32

[Photo]

1900c [about 1900], Heretaunga St east shows – Roger Winsley’s Pastry-cook, Caterer & Confectioner new cafe building next to the Union Bank on Hick’s corner

1900, Naumanns Boarding House in Hastings – G. & Lizzy Naumann.

[Advertisement]
R. WINSLEY,
CATERER AND CONFECTIONER,
HASTINGS.
Caterer for Hawke’s Bay Jockey Club, Napier Park Racing Club, Hawke’s Bay A. and P. Society, and all the Best Functions in Hawke’s Bay.
LARGE and Small Parties, Balls, Picnics, &c. Catered for at Shortest Notice and on Reasonable Terms.
WEDDING AND BIRTHDAY CAKES MADE TO ORDER.
MEALS AT ALL HOURS
AFTERNOON TEA A SPECIALTY.
Letters and Telegrams Promptly Attended to.

1900, Roger Winsley, Caterer

[Advertisement]
GEORGE GOLDSBOROUGH,
CABINETMAKER & CONTRACTOR
(Opposite Railway Station)
HASTINGS.
PICTURE FRAMES A SPECIALTY.
ALL SIZES AND MOULDS OF FRAMING KEPT IN STOCK.
LOWEST CHARGES.

[Advertisement]
A. LEIPST.
ENGINEER & WELL-BORER,
HASTINGS.
CONTRACTOR TO N.Z. RAILWAY DEPARTMENT & NAPIER BOROUGH COUNCIL.
ESTIMATES GIVEN FOR WELL-BORING IN ANY PART OF THE COLONY.
ALL SIZES OF PIPING KEPT IN STOCK.

1900, George Goldsborough was opposite the Railway Station and A. Leipst well-borer

1900 December, Mr R. Sowersby, lately manager for the Hastings branch of the Hawke’s Bay Farmer’s Co-operative Association, severs his connection with that firm to-day, and goes south for a short holiday, after which he is taking over the auction business of Mr W.Y. Dennett.

Page 34

[Advertisement]
BOOTH, MACDONALD & CO.’S
GALVANIZED STEEL
STAR WINDMILLS
TOWERS and PUMPS
SOLE AGENT for HAWKE’S BAY.
F. L. BONE
IRONMONGER,
HERETAUNGA STREET, HASTINGS.

1900, F.L. Bone Ironmonger 

1900 December, many shops that were empty last Christmas are now tenanted and the town is brighter. Mr Bowler – the Al book bookseller an emporium and arcade of intellectual wealth, Mr Adam King, Jones and Koko, grocers and bargains in crockery, cutlery, and nicknacks.
H. Williams and Sons, Maddison and Co drapery and grocery, S. Tong – answerable for more buildings in Hastings than any builder. Roger Winsley’s shop confectionery and cakes, R. Warren confectioner, F. L. Bone lately Bone and Holroyd) C. Hughes for “Roast Beef of Old England” Mr Fail’s cooperage next to A. Jones and Sons’ engineering and implement works. G. F. Roach large store of china, glassware, and general stock. W. Mouldie a lolly manufacturer, John Tickner wine maker of Willowpark Rd, Mr & Mrs D. O’Reilly of the Hastings Hotel with Speight’s Dunedin the only draught beer, A. McCorkindale ten years at Hastings, The Cordial factory of E. Newbigin with adjoining Burton Brewery. Jounnax and Co (lately W. G. Benson) bakers in Market St, Arthur Hyde’s saloon. Thompson Bros.’ butcher’s shop front completely enclosed by gauze wire netting, J. A. Pothan, coachmaker, John Cullen – baker, Mr Dugald Thomson new licensee of the Railway Hotel, Mr Sydney Knight of Whakatu, The tallow export trade has developed.

1900 December, Edward Robert Collison married Mary Hannah Irving at Hastings and had four children. Edward was born in December 1865 at Tikokino, the son of Edward Dalby Collison and Sarah Carver. Mary was born in December 1875 at Cumberland Eng. Edward Robert Collison died in May 1920 aged 54, Mary Hannah Collison nee Irving died in December 1963 at Napier aged 88.

[Newspaper notice]
Carlton Club Hotel,
HASTINGS, H. B.
P. GORMAN – PROPRIETOR
TELEPHONE NO. 188
P. GORMAN desires to intimate that this hotel is now replete with every requirement for the comfort and convenience of Tourists and the Travelling Public, and to draw attention to his many years’ experience and successful catering as an evidence that nothing will be wanting to ensure the carrying on of this Hotel on First-class lines.
The Hotel has been thoroughly renovated, the appointments are complete, and the quality of the Cuisine not to be excelled, whilst
ALL ALES, WINES, SPIRITS, &c. SUPPLIED ARE OF THE BEST BRANDS AVAILABLE.
LADIES’ DRAWING ROOM, PRIVATE SITTING ROOMS.
EXCELLENT BEDROOMS AND SAMPLE ROOMS.
HOT, COLD AND SHOWER BATHS
Handsome Billiard Room.
Fitted with Wright’s Best Table and Furniture.
COMMODIOUS STABLING ACCOMMODATION. HORSE BOXES AND PADDOCKING.
P. GORMAN.
CARLTON CLUB HOTEL, HASTINGS.

1900, Patrick Gorman’s Carlton Club Hotel

Page 35

[Photo]

The Carlton Club was renamed Gorman’s Carlton Club Hotel by Patrick Gorman from 1896 – 1906 on the corner Karamu Rd and Heretaunga St east, shows large gas lantern above the corner door and the Gazebo tower added which ended up in a Hastings garden as an Aviary. This made it the tallest building in town until the Grand Hotel was built. Another tall roof structure seen behind by Eastbourne St – possibly a vent for J. Garnett or Milburn cabinetmaking factory, with W. Cuthrie’s Fruiterers building right edge later Millar & Georgi[Giorgi]. 1906, the Carlton Club business moved into large new building on Market St sth to become the  Hastings Gentleman’s Club. Samuel Charlton was proprietor 1910 who lived in Warren St.

1900 December, Mr P. Gorman of the Carlton Club Hotel writes in support for a Hastings Hospital and offers to start the ball rolling with £25, provided £475 is added to it as a nucleus for a Hastings hospital fund.

1901, A special meeting of the Hastings Borough Council was held in the Council Chambers last evening to consider Dr Finch’s report on the nuisance arising from the drain opposite the Meat Company’s Slaughterhouse. It was decided to continue the opening up of the Mangapouri Creek to the Makirikiri Creek in accordance with the plans and specifications in the hands of the Council in order to abate the nuisance, tenders to be called for at once. It was resolved to write to the Government Inspector of Slaughterhouses, asking him to examine the Hastings Meat. Company’s slaughtering premises and report to the Council. It was also decided to give Mr Banner 11 days’ notice to remove the dilapidated house on the corner of Lyndon and Karamu Roads.

1901 March Mr P. Gorman has acquired the property lately occupied by Mr Guthrie, adjoining the Carlton Club Hotel, and proposes making further additions to the hotel.

1901 May, the gates at the Frederick Street railway crossing were removed and cattle stops provided to convert it for public road access.

1901 August, Tenders were called for grading 50 chains of the Mangapouri creek close at the Borough Council offices at noon on Wednesday, September 4th. Mr L. Leeves’ tender for grading fifty chains of the Mangapouri creek at 6s 6d per chain was accepted in September 1901.

1901 September, Mr Nelson was willing to allow the Mangapouri creek drain to pass through his property

1901 October, The Council took over the Athenaeum as a public library and E. J. Barton was appointed first Librarian and Caretaker

1901 October, John Hislop railway engine driver at Hastings when starting the engine his left foot slipped and was caught by the flywheel crushing his foot.

1901 November, Mr J. D. Rivers takes over the Carlton Club Hotel; Mr Rivers is at present licensee of the Albert Hotel, and this being a popular business, several people were clients for it. The successful applicant is an old neighbour, Mr J. Warren, of the Taradale Hotel, but formerly of the Havelock and Farndon Hotels. It is hoped that both will have good luck in their new ventures.

1902 January, Coffee is planted, 400 trees to the acre and the yield is a pound a tree. Mr R. O’Kane’s tender was accepted for the extension of the Mangapouri creek to the Makirikiri creek.

1902 May, Mr Thos. Brinson, Horse Repository, Heretaunga St, Hastings.

Page 36

1902 February, FIRE AT HASTINGS – An unoccupied home at Hastings owned by R. McGaffin, was destroyed by fire. Insurance, £300 in the New Zealand Office.

[Photo]

1902 July, Heretaunga St east looking west towards the Albert and Gorman’s Carlton Club hotels left

1902 April, Mr R. Sowersby will sell on account of Mrs Metherell, on the premises Norton road on Tuesday 15th inst., her household furniture, also live stock, including five dairy cows.

1908 July, Mr D. McLeod has disposed of his old established saw milling timber and coal business in Hastings to Messrs Milburn Bros.

[Newspaper notices]
MILBURN BROS.,
TIMBER MERCHANTS,
HASTINGS
BEG to inform the Public that they have taken over the TIMBER, COAL and FIREWOOD Business lately carried on by Mr. D. McLEOD, and beg to solicit a continuance of your favours.   589

D. McLEOD begs to announce that he has disposed of his Timber, Coal and Firewood Business To Messrs MILBURN BROS., as from to-day’s date, and trust they may be favored with your future orders.
D. McLEOD
Hastings, 1st August, 1902.   588

1902 July, Milburn Bros Timber Merchants Eastboure [Eastbourne] St east, Joseph Milburn from Napier was renown for his prize winning Honey, 1908 they purchased land at Paki Paki where they operated a clay tile and pipe manufactory near the rail line. Joseph was the main Hastings business brother until it was sold 1913.

Joseph Milburn was born about 1870 at Marlborough, Wiltshire son of Joseph and Phoebe. He had three brothers and two sisters. Richard Howse Milburn born 1873, he married Ethel Hughes in 1923 at Havelock. They had one child. Richard died in 1960 in Auckland aged 87 Herbert Granville Milburn born 1878, in 1911 he lived on Outram Road a Clerk, he married 1919 Amy Bertha Edith, Herbert died 1960 at Auckland. Their widowed mother Phoebe Howse Milburn came out and she died 1929 at Havelock aged 82. In 1904 Joseph Milburn married Annie Violet Hope they lived at Havelock had several children, in 1911 Joseph & Richard lived on Heretaunga St, then Joseph was married to Alice Lambert, Joseph Milburn died in September 1943 aged 73.

1903, Mr Arvedsen sold his Lumsden Rd dairy farm and equipment and Mrs A. Hollies lived on Lumsden Rd. In 1906 Lumsden Rd was metalled, 1912 September Mr & Mrs John Brien lived in Omah Cottage on Lumsden Rd, 1915 the sewer from Park Rd pump was installed along Lumsden Rd to the Havelock Rd and 1916 the water main was put though Lumsden Rd. In 1918 Mr A. E. Wake lived at 301 Lumsden Rd.

1903 January, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A four roomed cottage owned and occupied by a family named Murphy, was burned down at Hastings to-night, making three successive evenings on which fires have occurred there.

Page 37

[Map of town plan]

1903 February, The sale of Mr J. C. Williams business & residential sections by C. B. Hoadley & Co around Warren St nth, Karamu Rd nth, Queen St, Willow Park Rd and Havelock Rd, shows Queen’s Square and Railway Station opposite Avenue Rd

[Map]

1903 July, Land lots 114 – 125 to be sold at auction by C. B. Hoadley & Co, instructed by Wiki Te Ua. In 1879 Peni Te Ua had bought Lots 114 to 125 for £20 from Thomas Tanner. At the bottom shows the Carlton and Albert Hotels opposite each other on the corner of Karamu Rd and Havelock Road. The Protestant Hall and Municipal Chambers on Havelock Road near Hastings St, the Railway Station still opposite Queen St

1903 August, Napier Borough Council – Letter from John Beatson and others asking to have part off Grove Road formed – the overseer was instructed to prepare an estimate of the cost of the work.

1904 August, Hastings Fire – Messrs Milburn Bros sawmilling and timber working shed facing Eastbourne St east at the rear of their premises on Heretaunga Street. It appears the fire was first discovered by a young man named Taylor employed by Messrs Russell and Chesterman, who when going to work a little after 4 o’clock noticed fire issuing from the shed. He at once rang the fire bell, and the Fire Brigade with the steamer turned out under Captain Brausche. The fire had by this time a good hold. Many of the firemen did not hear the bell and when those that responded arrived at the ground with the plant, some ten minutes’ delay was experienced in getting the water to play, as the sewer flood gate had to be dropped, and some time must elapse the water backs up sufficiently for use by the engine. As there was a strong wind blowing every minute’s delay was of consequence, but, once the brigade got going, Captain Brausche had three jets, involving some 900 ft of hose, playing on the outbreak. The morning was intensely raw and the firemen had a very unpleasant experience, especially as their operations were conducted in the teeth of a high wind, which rendered the work of extinguishing the fire more difficult. Milburn Bros premises extend back the full depth of the block, the shed in question being in Eastbourne St and fortunately isolated from the surrounding dwellings, otherwise the destruction would probably be much greater. The shed, containing valuable machinery, including an engine, planer, wood saw, small and large band saws, circular saws, printing machine, boring machine, tools, firewood and timber stacked for planing, was completely burned down and its contents destroyed. The building and machinery were insured for £450 in the Northern Company, but this amount does not nearly represent the loss suffered.

1904 February 25, The death of Mrs John Cullen, Hastings whose unexpected demise came as a shock to all her friends The late Mrs Cullen was for many years a resident of Hastings where she was highly respected and being a most practical and fervent Catholic, she was always foremost in helping in all movements in connection with the Church. The funeral took place on Saturday February 27 and the large cortege demonstrated the respect in which the deceased was held. The remains were first taken to the church where Very Rev Dean Smyth referred to the many good qualities of the deceased. The Very Rev. Dean also officiated at the graveside.

1904 March, Obituary – Mrs Vaughan, the wife of Mr R. Vaughan, of Tahaenui died yesterday. Mr Vaughan had a bakery business for many years in Hastings previous to his residing at Tahaenui. Mrs R. Vaughan was mother of Mrs G. F. Roach and Mrs F. L. Bone of this town and was a resident of Hastings for some 20 years. About seven years ago she removed to Wairoa.

Page 38

[Photo]

The Havelock North to Hastings Coach approaching at right. There was an avenue of well grown trees on the left side drain from Hastings on the Havelock Road of Tanner’s old Riverslea Estate before it was subdivided into sections for sale.

[Photo]

Heretaunga St east 1907 with the Albert Hotel and Carlton Club and at right with the Borough Council office further up with trees along the old Makirikiri creek course behind, the old wooden Union Bank left on Hicks corner, and W. Turner Cash Draper across the road, shows near-deserted streets – suggest it is a weekend with unsealed, but the footpaths are kerbed, for NZ Cyclopaedia.

Page 39

[Photo]

1904, Heretaunga St east on a rainy day taken from an elevated position from across the railway line looking towards Havelock and Catholic Church steeple with Railway fence and gates, H. J. Webber chemist & druggist on left side on Railway Reserve leased section, Beecroft’s sign to an impressive arched entrance- way to their stables behind further down where the Railway Hotel once stood and the Imperial Café. Roof signage at right for H. Williams and Sons (ironmonger) on Henry Williams Hardware & Brushware building, with R. Holt sash & door factory, with the new buildings after the 1895 fire – R. Hannah & Co (bootseller) Gillespie, Call’s sign, with A. Hyde & Co sign, Gorman’s Hotel and the Albert Hotel further down The railway line crosses Heretaunga Street in the foreground, and H. Williams had presented the fire bell for the tall tower, postcard by Sorrell – a commercial photographer of Napier, later his son Percy Sorrell.

1904, The Railway Hotel lost its licence and was demolished, a larger new four storied brick Grand Hotel with penthouse and basement was built in its place designed by Napier architect C. A. Vautier, with bricks from J. Fulford’s brickworks in Havelock North opened in 1908.

1904 July, The Napier Brewery Company have purchased from Mr J. T. Blake the section immediately opposite the Hastings railway station buildings and intend to erect an up-to-date hotel thereon. The company have also purchased a section fronting Queen-street, and will run a right-of-way from it to the back of the new hotel. The old Railway Hotel will be dismantled, and replaced by a row of shops.

[Photo]

1904, August 18th AWN [Auckland Weekly News] supplement – Station St from Hastings central looking nth towards all the telegraph wires going across to the old wooden Post Office with tall flag pole and the Hastings Standard newspaper office building across the road, the Railway Station distant, and original Standard House next to L. C. Whitehead and A. McCorkindale Jewellery had a plate-glass window

Page 40

[Photo]

1904, A hand coloured photographic postcard showing Station St in Central Hastings, the original Standard House behind the gas lantern on cast iron post – one of six initially installed, L. C. Whitehead photography studio on the right with McCorkindale Jewellery below former entrance to Beecroft’s repository and the old wooden Post Office far left with the old Hastings Standard newspaper office building still across the road

The four sentinel Blue gums

[Photo]

Looking east along Queen St shows the tall sentinel Blue gum trees at the corner Karamu Rd in August 1902, possibly planted by Tanner.

1904 August 4, An old Hastings landmark, one of the four sentinel blue gum trees, standing at the junction of Karamu Road and Queen Street is no more, the stately old tree about 100ft high, being felled to the ground in order to make room for an extension of Messrs Tipping and Sons business premises. The companion tree will be cut down immediately, thus clearing the section and the sister trees on the opposite side of the street will meet a similar fate as time goes on.

1904 August 8, The second blue gum tree on the corner of Queen Street and Karamu Road was felled this morning, a large number of people assembling to see the giant fail.

1904 September, At about 5 p.m. on Tuesday, an attempt was made with an explosive to split the stump of a large bluegum tree that lately stood on Mr Beecroft’s section at the corner of Karamu Road and Queen Street. Through some error of judgment, too strong a charge was used. As a result pieces of timber were thrown as far as Station Street. The buildings and roof of the stable about 130ft distant were penetrated in several places, one hole made in the iron roof being quite 2ft in diameter. Mr Tipping’s store on the other side of the street was also penetrated in several places, and timber fell on to the roof.

Page 41

1904 September, An Alarming Occurrence – Shortly after five o’clock last evening a loud explosion startled the inhabitants of Hastings and immediately a rush was made in the direction of the sound in order to ascertain the cause. It appears that some men were engaged to blast a blue gum stump on Mr W. A. Beecroft’s section on the corner of Karamu road and Queen street and the stump being decayed in parts – the charge of gelignite instead of breaking up the timber, took the course of least resistance and blew out the rotting portion with the result that splinters and junks of wood, of sizes up to two pounds weight were flung high in the air and in all directions. Several pieces were carried right over the block falling in Station Street and the back premises of the houses facing the railway line. One piece of wood, blown across the road, pierced the side of Messrs Tipping and Son’s store like a cannon shot, leaving a hole to mark its passage through the timber and another fell on the roof, causing an break in the iron. Mr Beecroft’s adjoining the scene of the explosion, also suffered, the corrugated iron rooting being broken through by one of the flying projectiles. Happily, beyond the damage to property and the natural shock sustained by people in the vicinity, no personal injury was suffered, which, all things considered, must be looked upon as very fortunate.

[Advertisement]

CHARLES Z. BROUSCHE
BUILDER, &c
Begs to remind the public of Hawke’s Bay that he is the original Contractor for the
Removal of Houses
In the Country, and having a more Extensive and Complete Plant than any other house removable contractor, he is in a position to do this class of work more Promptly and Economically.
Estimates given on Application for this and any other Class of Work.
A good supply of Seasoned Timber of the First Quality always on Hand.
CHARLES Z. BROUSCHE,
HASTINGS, HAWKE’S BAY.

1905, Charles Z. Brousche / Brausche, Builder & Removal

[Advertisement]
E. NEWBIGIN,
BURTON BREWERY, HASTINGS.
These Ales are admitted to be the best obtainable, and have been Awarded
FIRST PRIZE
WHEREVER SHEWN.
BREWER
LATEST AWARDS:
FIRST
FOR BOTH ALES AND STOUT
AT
Hawke’s Bay & Manawatu A. & P. Shows.
WINE AND SPIRIT MERCHANT.
BOTTLER & AERATED WATER MANUFACTURER.
Agent for Celebrated TE AROHA WATER, Invaluable for its Medicinal Properties.
B. GLASS, UNION HOTEL, NAPIER, SOLE AGENT.
1st Prize Stock Ales, Bottled Ales & Stout a Speciality.

E. Newbigin, had agency for Te Aroha mineral water before the later Lemon & Paeroa

[Photo]

1902 January, looking south at HB Agricultural & Pastoral Society’s Show held at the Hastings Racecourse, AWN

Page 42

[Photo]

1904 October 23, looking south east towards the railway tree line distant at HB Agricultural & Pastoral Society’s Show held at the Hastings Racecourse, by Sorrell, AWN. Shows many windmills on display. The HB Agricultural & Pastoral Society sheared [shared] this site until 1911 when they purchased the Tomoana grounds from Mr Nelson.

[Photo]

HB Agricultural & Pastoral Society’s racecourse grandstand, by R. Chadwick, Clapham Series

[Photo]

1904 October 23, looking east towards the railway tree line distant shows the Grand Parade at HB Agricultural & Pastoral Society’s Show held at the Hastings Racecourse, by Sorrell, AWN

Page 43

[Photo]

1905 Spring Show held at the Hawke’s Bay Jockey Club racecourse

1904 November, Alfred James McGlashan was born 1874 at Farndon where he was educated, an Auctioneer, Land, Estate, and General Commission Agent, and House Furnisher – he had taken over the business from Robert Sowersby who had taken it over from W. Y. Dennett Auctions in December 1900. His auction mart in Queen St east was a wooden building, eighty feet square, public sales held regularly on Saturdays and as required.

[Photo]

A. J. McGlashan

1905 April, Francis Charles Tipping became a member of the Borough Council

Page 44

[Photo]

1905 June, Queen St east taken from Station St shows William Arthur Beecroft’s two-storied residence being shifted towards Station St by two traction engines – signage for A. McGlashan his first business on left before he moved around to the brick building on Station St and the Hastings Standard office is left on corner, also shows the Post Office edge at right, the wooden building behind pole is seen on the 1902 decorated PO for King Edward VII Coronation celebrations photo above. The Factory signage behind – W. Symonds Coach Factory & Cycle Depot on Queen St east, later burnt down and became McCullock [McCulloch], Butler and Spence. Beecroft’s building had come from behind 113 Queen St – later Kelly McNeill’s business

[Photo]

1905 June, Queen St east looking west to the railway line shows Beecroft’s two-storied residence being shifted around into Station St –
A. McGlashan first Stock Property business on right opposite the Post Office before he moved into the brick building on Station St, the Hastings Standard office also at right on corner

Page 45

[Photo]

1905 June, Station St looking north towards the Railway Station late afternoon shadow shows Beecroft’s two-storied residence being shifted from Queen St to Avenue Rd, with the old wooden Post Office on right and the old Hastings Standard office building behind, the new rebuilt Trocadero Tea Rooms forefront established 1904 Mr Frederick Ferdinand Christensen before the second fire, the Railway Station and water tank at distant left. Tickner’s set-back further up.

[Photo]

1905 June, Station St north looking south shows the two Beecroft’s two-storied residence being shifted by two traction engines along Station St towards 101 Avenue Rd east to become a boarding house – later named Kensington House next to the later H B Motor Bus Co Ltd on Russell St nth. It survived the 31 quake and was demolished in 1971. The Hastings Standard office and Laundry buildings are seen on left with the new Grand Hotel nearly completed in background and the Hastings Hotel on distant right

1905 June, The building site of the new Railway Hotel attracts a number of spectators who are in interested in the speed of the building. There are many bricklayers very busy at work and some parts of the Hotel should be opened before the end of the year.

1905 October, Messrs Cresswell and Gleeson barristers and solicitors have commenced practice in Hastings in the office lately used by Mr Beecroft in Queen St.

[Advertisement]
J. W. WHITE,
TAILOR AND MERCER
HERETAUNGA STREET, HASTINGS.
‘PHONE 258.

1905 December, John William White, a Mercer and Tailor opened on Heretaunga St east near the Grand Hotel. The premises consist of two tailoring departments and a general shop with a handsome plate-glass show-window with five constantly employed, including a first class tailor. Mr White was born in Hastings in 1879, educated at the local District

Page 46

High School and then entered the employment of H. K. Thompson. He subsequently worked for Messrs Burnett &Co and later on for Mr Ridgway. He was first assistant and traveller to Mr Matthew Johnson before starting his own business.

Anthony[Antonio] Joseph Vidal b: 1866 Barcelona Spain, arrived here in 1888 aged 22 with his uncle (Mr Soler) of Wanganui, he went into the wine-making business. He subsequently removed to Wellington and after a time established a business in Palmerston North, where he remained for a number of years. In 1907 he transferred his activities to Hastings. He was married to Josephine (Caroline Mary Joseph
[Josephine nee Maney]) Vidal. In June 1892 and was running a wire mattress manufactory in

Napier, then the H B Fish Market in Market St Hastings.

[Newspaper notice]
OYSTERS! OYSTERS! First of the Season.
Just arrived, a splendid sample.
A. J. Vidal, H. B.
Fish Market, Market street, Hastings.
Telephone 390

[Newspaper notice]
PURCHASE OF BUSINESS
MESSRS DOUGLAS BROS., Strand Cafe, Hastings, announce that they have purchased the
Fresh Fish Business
of Mr A. J. VIDAL, of Market street, and during the building of an up-to-date
Fresh Fish Depot
in Station street, will carry on the Business at their premises in Heretaunga street.
Customers will kindly note that the Delivery Carts will wait upon them as usual, when it is hoped that the hearty support accorded Mr. Vidal will be extended to his successors.
DOUGLAS BROS.
Strand Cafe, Hastings.
‘Phone 313.

1908 February, A. J. Vidal sold his HB Fish Market to Douglas brothers of the Strand Cafe Hastings and the Fresh Fish Depot on Station St and Heretaunga St

[Advertisement]
STEINMETZ’S
NEW ZEALAND WINES
MANUFACTURED from the prime Juice of the Grape.
MADEIRA, PORT & BURGUNDY.
A. J. VIDAL,
HASTINGS.
HAWKE’S BAY REPRESENTATIVE.

1910 May, A. J. Vidal now advertising wines and

[Photo]

A. J. Vidal & Sons Wine Vaults Hastings purchased this site in 1907 at 912 Avenue Rd east and converted the existing stables into a cellar and planted grapevines at Havelock

Page 47

[Newspaper notice]
VIDAL’S WINES
WE BEG TO ANNOUNCE that we now hold large stocks of FULLY MATURED WINES, comprising:-
Port (extra special).  Port (special vintage).  Port (invalid).  Madeira.  Sherry.  Claret. Hock.
Also CHOICE CIGARS from the best Havana leaves always in stock.
Ring for Quotations or call at the Cellars, AVENUE ROAD EAST.
‘Phone 1227.   P. O. Box 48
A. J. VIDAL & SONS,
HASTINGS.

[Newspaper notice]
Wanted to sell: 200 Empty Casks.  Apply A. J. Vidal and Sons. ‘Phone 1227, Hastings.

1920 April, A. J. Vidal & Sons.

They resided at 913 St Aubyn St east, Anthony Joseph Vidal died in May 1933 aged 67 and Josephine died in September 1962 aged 92.

1906 February, The Council was considering to shift the cabstand from outside the Carlton Club Hotel due to bad language complaints from hotel guests above.

1906, A leading bakery business in Hastings has been sold to a Masterton resident through the agency of W. B. Chennells. The freehold is a valuable one, being in the centre of Hastings township.

[Photo]

1906 March 17th Tug of War during the HB Athletics & Swimming Sports held at Tomoana

1906, April, The Hastings Mayor was Thomas John Thompson, he has been a member of the Borough Council since the year 1898.

Page 48

[Map]

1906 September, 34 Villa sections for sale at Hastings of Lots 115 and 116 bordering the railway line by C. B. Hoadley & Son with R. Sowersby owner of lots 114 and 117.

[Photo]

1906, Troops columns parade past the Grand Hotel construction site left on Heretaunga St east with arms reversed in respect for deceased PM Richard J. Seddon, with candy striped barber posts of A. Hyde & Co, with Albert & Carlton Club Hotels distant

Page 49

[Photo]

Brathwaite & Tipping Insurance Agent and Grain & Produce Store on Queen St east 1900c, opposite W. A. Beecroft’s horse repository before F. C. Tipping & Son took over, about where Stickland & Bryant were later. Mr R. Braithwaite [Brathwaite] with bicycle and Mr F. C. Tipping, this first building was later vastly extended to the right and became F. C. Tipping & Son

[Photo]

1906 December, AWN – Queen St looking north east from an elevated position shows a disastrous fire had occurred in Queen St east between Station St and Karamu Rd in the early morning starting in the paint shop of W. Symonds Coach Factory & Cycle Depot destroying Paterson, Mossman & Co (agents) Booth MacDonald & Co (implement manufacturers) John Thomas Blake and David Scannell premise (solicitor) a large livery stable in course of erection, Kents and Styles (builders) lose £300 The F. C. Tipping & Son General Merchants Insurance Agents building is at right, by Brown & Ross. The wind dropped after the fire had got a good hold, otherwise the block from the ‘Standard’ printing office to Tipping’s stores would have gone. The insurances were £2055. It is believed that there are no insurances on Booth and McDonald’s stock valued at £600. All new buildings will have to be of brick.

In 1908, the Dominion Building was built for Mrs Russell on Queen St to replace these lost and F. Cassin land & estate agent new brick building was built on the corner of Station St and Queen St opposite the Post Office which replaced the Hastings Standard office and McGlashan’s first shop

1906 December 28, Death – Henry Carr, McCormick at his residence Victoria St Hastings, a contractor (late of Dunedin) beloved husband of Margaret McCormick, aged 79.

Page 50

[Photo]

1907, Alfred McGlashan – The Hastings Auction Mart new two-storied brick building on Station St, opposite the Railway Station, written on back was Russell St 1904 -1908. Later McGlashan opened a furniture shop opposite F. L. Bone on Heretaunga St east, then below the Piccadilly Cafe building opposite the Hastings Hotel on Heretaunga St west. Lundon, Stewart & Co took over his old premises on Station St.

[Advertisement]
(Established 1888.)
TELEPHONE 162.   P.O. BOX 109.
The Hastings Auction Mart.
Lundon, Stewart & Co.
(LATE A. McGLASHAN)
AUCTIONEERS, LAND, STOCK and PRODUCE AGENTS,
Opposite the Railway Station, Hastings.
BANKERS – BANK NEW SOUTH WALES
Regular Weekly sales every Saturday of Stock, Pigs, Poultry, Produce, and Furniture, etc.
Clearing Sales conducted in Town and Country.
The oldest established business in Hastings.
We have a Choice Selection of Farm Properties of all sizes For Sale throughout Hawke’s Bay.
Lundon, Stewart & Co.
(late A. McGlashan)
The Hastings Auction Mart.

Lundon, Stewart & Co, The Hastings Auction Mart on Station St – late A. McGlashan

1907 September, Petition raised to the Governor from John Beatson of Hastings seeking connection to Hastings sewer – We the undersigned are electors of the Borough of Hastings, residents having freehold or leasehold estates lying to the south-east of Norton Road of Block 9. Land transfer Plan Number 362. Entirely farming land residents who drive no benefit from the Borough sewer system.

1907 September, Mrs Collinge died at Hastings. Wife of Mr John Collinge the Town Clerk. Mary Jane Collinge nee Tucker had been a resident of Hastings for over 40 years and her quiet kindly disposition won her many friends. A family of four sons and two daughters are left to mourn her loss.

1907 July, Thomas Teague died at Hastings. Another old identity who had kept a Billiard Saloon in Karamu Road for many years. He had been in indifferent health for some time past, but he continued the management of his business up to the last.

Page 51

[Map]

1907 September, Rochfort & Son surveyors shows the Albert Hotel & Stables site on Karamu Rd sth, with Richard Sorenson, his Premier Coach Factory on the corner of Eastbourne St east and D. C. Thorley the Right of Way entrance and the Carlton Hotel. David Charles Thorley – later site of Thorley’s Hall above his engineering workshop building

[Photo]

A new carriage built by advertised signage Ross & Dysart in Karamu Rd sth, with the Albert Stables behind under the ownership of H. N. Eagle, after electric power supply, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Map]

1907 September, C. B. Hoadley & Sons shows the 5 Hastings Business Sections for sale on the corner of Karamu Rd sth and Eastbourne St east with W. P. Thompson pencilled in on section 4 at £10, a rear section

Page 52

Private Way behind the later Woman Rest Rooms in Civic Square, where A. A. George printing and the Kings Theatre were. David Charles Thorley – later site of Thorley’s Hall above his engineering workshop building

[Advertisement]
Richard Sorenson
Premier Coachbuilder, Hastings, Hawke’s Bay.
Maker of the Famous Duchess Bradley.
Letters Patent for Princess Bradley and Roadsters.
THE UP-TO-DATE COACHBUILDER for all high-class work. Motor cars painted by men of the highest possible quality. A competent draftsman kept for the work I undertake. No guesswork, with the smallest of jobs. The public are requested to make a note of the address, and write for any information required. Promptness and civility at all times from
R. SORENSON,
THE High-class Coachbuilder, HASTINGS
‘PHONE 302.

[Photo]

The premises and staff of the Premier Coach Factory at 125 Karamu Rd sth on the corner of Eastbourne St east in 1913, opposite Albert Stables. This factory was opened by Richard Sorenson in the early 1900’s, later became Sullivan Ross & Co builders, the coach located to the left of the factory building has signage for D. C. Thorley, the large willows behind are in Knights yard. This building was destroyed in December 1930 after a benzene explosion to J. E. Peach premises.

[Photo]

Allan Owen Bishop’s early motor garage 1905, on the corner of 223 Karamu Rd nth and Avenue Rd with gas lantern, later taken over by Charles Hawkins & Tom Rome of Napier

Page 53

[Advertisement]
HAWKINS & ROME.
9 h. p. SIZAIRE et NAUDIN
The Car that does not feel the unevenness of the roads.
The following are some of its famous successes 1906 and 1907:-
1906 Winner Coupe des Velturettes.
Ostend Meeting, July 1905 – Five Firsts.
Coupe d’Auvergne – First
Dourdan (Flying [?]) – First and Second.
Gaillen Hill Climb – First and Second
1907 – Winner and Second Coupe de Velturettes.
Targa Florio – First.
Provence Meeting – Two Firsts.
Mont Ventieux – First and Second.
Chateau Thierry – First and Second.
Marseille Meeting – First and Second.
Bordeaux Meeting – First.
The Car for the Country.
PRICE, ONLY £275.
Full particulars and demonstration on application.
HAWKINS & ROME,
Hawke’s Bay Motor Garage.
Napier Telephone 288.   Hastings Telephone 141.
Waipukurau Telephone 11.

Charles Hawkins & Tom Rome at Hastings

[Advertisement]
WELLINGTON HOUSE
HASTINGS.
In order to place OUR BABY LINEN Department within the reach of all, we offer
Two Special Baby Outfits.
Parcels are sent Post Free to any part of the Dominion.
THESE PARCELS are made up from our new stock, and the value we offer cannot be surpassed in New Zealand.
Money returned if goods do not open to your satisfaction.
No. 1.
3 Shirts
3 Night Gowns
3 Day Gowns
3 Long Flannels
2 Binders
1 dozen Flannelette for Napkins
2 Swathes
1 Puff, Box and Powder
1 Nice Robe
£2 the lot, carriage paid.
No. 2.
3 Shirts
3 Wool Vests
3 Day Gowns (trimmed)
3 Night Gowns (trimmed)
2 Swathes
2 Binders
1 Wool Jacket
3 Long Flannels
Half-dozen Turkish Squares
1 Waterproof Square
Puff, Box and Powder
1 Handsome Robe
£3 the lot, carriage paid.
W. TURNER
Wellington House, HASTINGS.

[Advertisement]
The READY CASH
DRAPER and MILLINER.
W. Turner,
DIRECT IMPORTER,
Wellington House, Hastings.
Feathers Cleaned & Curled.

W. Turner, Wellington House, corner of Karamu Rd nth and Heretaunga St east

[Photo]

1907, Heretaunga St east – a rise in the road can still be seen at Hastings St intersection where the old bank of the Makirikiri creek ran across the main road – just past the carriage on Warren St and past the Salvation Army Citadel Protestant Hall and Borough Council Chambers on right before Heretaunga St was levelled out. Buildings on left: old Union Bank on Hick’s corner, W. Turner cash draper, McGlashan for furniture, Kershaw

Page 54

house furnisher, Kershaw’s furniture arcade with the Catholic Church distant, F. L. Bone and Albert Hotel with gas lantern, possibly taken from near the Imperial Café

[Photo]

1907, The new four storied brick Grand Hotel with penthouse and basement on Heretaunga St east with leaf decoration – now partly opened under new licence for Mr G. B. MacKay from Wellington, shows Chemist H. Webber Pharmacist Optician till 1910 and Thorp’s for Boots, J. W. White a Tailor & Mercer, Hulbery – up to date Clothier, and a horse rider. The Grand Hotel licensee was later under Mr T. Cotter 1912 and Mr T. Webb 1922.

[Advertisement]
GRAND HOTEL,
HASTINGS
These new and commodious brick premises (consisting of 150 rooms) are undoubtedly the
FINEST AND MOST UP-TO-DATE
of any inland town in the Dominion of New Zealand
ABSOLUTELY FIREPROOF.
TERMS MODERATE
Well-lighted Sample-rooms.   
Commercial Travellers Catered for.
G. B. MACKAY – Proprietor.

Fireproof Grand Hotel, G. B. MacKay

1907 November, Messrs Weniey [Wenley] and Lanauze in conjunction with Messrs Hartshorn and Wellwood will sell on behalf of Mr W. A. Beecroft the valuable business site at the corner of Heretaunga Street and Karamu Road; also Mr D. C. Thorley’s property adjoining the Carlton Club Hotel; and also on behalf of other vendors some most valuable town sections. David Charles Thorley – Thorley’s Hall.

Page 55

[Photo]

The rear extended additions to the Carlton Club Hotel to the left, taken 1906c from behind gas street lantern on cast iron post by the Union Bank on Hick’s corner by Brown and Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia.

[Advertisement]
HARTSHORN AND WELLWOOD,
Station Street, Hastings.
Property Salesmen, Sharebrokers, Accountants, Insurance and General Commission Agents.
HASTINGS LAND AGENCY.
We have one of the most complete Property Lists in Hawke’s Bay, and will be pleased to answer all bona fide inquiries and give all assistance in our power to intending purchasers.
HASTINGS LABOUR AGENCY.
Wants of Farmers Supplied at Shortest Notice. None but the best of men sent out.
AGENTS FOR
Alliance Assurance Co. (Fire.)
Yorkshire Insurance Co. (Accident.)
Mutual Life Association of Australasia.
Huddart-Parker Line of Steamers.
Wenley & Lanauze, Ltd. (Stock and Wool Brokers.)
A. Simmonds & Co. (Seed Merchants.)
W. Webb (Cornwall Nurseries.)
SECRETARYSHIPS.
Heretaunga Co-operative Dairy Co.
Hastings Chamber of Commerce.
Farm Produce of all description Brought and Sold on Commission.

[Advertisement]
P. O. Box 58.   Telephone 127.
F.C. HARTSHORN
Station Street, Hastings.
Land, Insurance, Labour, & General Commission Agent.
LAND AGENCY
My List of Properties is very complete, and I can supply your wants from a quarter-acre section to a 20,000-acre sheep run. I also handle large sums of trust moneys and can generally arrange what finance is needed.
INSURANCE AGENCY.
Being Agent for the Alliance Assurance Fire and Marine Office, and the Queensland Coy. [Company] Accidental Branch, I can undertake all insurances at the usual tariff rates.
LABOUR AGENCY.
From the handy position of my office, I can secure men at a minute’s notice, and always make it a practice only to send out men who can do their work properly.
AGENCIES.
Alliance Fire Assurance Co.
Queensland Accident Insurance.
Wenley & Lanauze, Ltd. (Stock and Station Agent)
Huddart-Parker Line of Steamers.
Cook Tourist Agency.
Webb, W. (Cornwall Nurseries.)
Secretary to
Heretaunga Cooperative Dairy Co. Lid.
Hastings Chamber of Commerce.
Hastings Branch N. Z. Farmers’ Union.
Loans Negotiated.   Rents Collected.
F.C. HARTSHORN, Commission Agent.

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS LAND AGENCY.
HASTINGS LABOUR AGENCY.
Wellwood & Wellwood
Station St., Hastings.
Land, Labour and General Commission Agents.
Houses and Sections in all Parts of Hastings.  Dairy and Fruit Farms, Sheep Runs, and all classes of  Real Estate for Sale in all parts of the Dominion.
LICENSED SHAREBROKERS.
WRITE FOR OUR PROPERTY LIST.

E. C. Hartshorn & Wellwood then F. C. Hartshorn and Wellwood & Wellwood on Station St, either side of the Fish Mart

[Advertisement]
FRUIT & CONFECTIONERY DEPOT
Small Goods Fresh Every Day.
All Fruits in Season.
Catering Done in Town or Country done.
Telephone 127.
MRS. M. BECK, Proprietress
STATION STREET, HASTINGS.

[Advertisement]
Brown and Ross,
The Elite Studio
Station Street,
HASTINGS.
Do everything PHOTOGRAPHIC.
Artistic Portraiture and Rembrandt Lighting in all Processes.
OUT-DOOR WORK PROMPTLY ATTENDED TO.
Distance no object.
Enlarging, Copying, Tinting, etc.
‘Satisfaction’
our Motto,
The old Stand:
Near WEBBER, Chemist.

Mrs. M. Beck Fruit & Confectioner Depot on Station St and Brown & Ross, The Elete [Elite]Studio upstairs on Station St

Page 56

[Photo]

1907, afternoon along Station St Hastings looking north with gas street lantern on cast iron posts left, a motor car attracting attention, with Brown & Ross Elete Studio at right, A. Charles Fruiterer & Confectioner, E. R. Lowe Draper & Clothier, The Economic Cash Drapery Store, Reynolds Cycle Store, Hartshorn & Wellwood Hastings Land Agents, the rebuilt restaurant buildings Fish Mart, and the old wooden Post Office with tall flag pole, with F. Cassin distant, taken from Central Heretaunga St east intersection, by Brown & Ross for Auckland Star

Thorley’s Hall

1908 January, During the progress of a New Years dance in Thorley’s Hall Hastings were marred by an accident which befell a man named Jack Feld aged about 25 years. He was a visitor from Gisborne and attended the New Year’s dance in Thorley’s rooms, situated above Thorley’s engineering works in Karamu Road. In addition to a dancing room, there are supper and dressing rooms; besides a room used by Thorley for storage purposes, and to which goods are hoisted through a door opening on to the rear of the premises. Being a stranger, the young man evidently got confused regarding the rooms, and he found his way into the storeroom, where he removed the barricade from the door mentioned in order to proceed further, and stepped into space, falling a distance of 10 feet to the concrete below. Dr. Copland was called in and attended to the man’s injuries, which were sufficiently serious to necessitate his removal to the Napier hospital, when it was found he was suffering from a fractured hip.

[Photo]

1908 January, Station St – fire at M. Johnson’s Silver Grid restaurant taken from the railway reserve with workmen still on the new four story brick Grand Hotel with penthouse and basement behind and cycle signage on building at right burnt-out businesses were temporally leased out on the railway reserve opposite while rebuilding. In a 2 year period no less than 5 buildings on station St were destroyed by fire, one property burnt down three times, by Brown & Ross

Page 57

1908 February, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A six- roomed cottage on Southland road, owned by Patrick Heeney, and occupied by Frank Hay, was burned to the ground last night. Nothing was saved. Insurance: £150 on the furniture in the Standard and £150 on the building in the State.

1908 February, Messrs Williams and Kettle’s old Hastings Flour Mill is now being demolished.

1908 April, A contract has been let for the erection of a large two-storey 6 bed-room residence at the Premier nurseries, near Hastings for Thos. Horton, Esq., the well-known nurseryman. Architect – C. Tilleard Natusch, contractor – P. Renwick, Napier.

1908 May, A contract has been let for the erection of a residence at Flaxmere, Hastings for Mr H. Gaisford. Price £1350. Architects – Rush and James; contractors – J. Winlove. Also a start has been made with the erection of a two storey warehouse in brick for Messrs F. C. Tipping and Son, at Hastings. Architects – Rush and James, contractors – W. Hay and Son. A large block of buildings in brickwork is nearing completion at Hastings for Mr. M. Mason, consisting of shops, offices, and tea rooms. Contract price £4900. Architects – Rush and James; contractors – Grant and Flowers.

1908 May, FIRE AT HASTINGS – BREWERY DESTROYED – Mr E. Newbigin’s Burton brewery, an old two-storey wooden building was demolished by fire at daybreak. Mr Newbigin went through the building at 1a.m, and everything then appeared to be safe. He surmises that some coal stacked alongside the boiler caught fire. Only the books were saved. The fire brigade formed a bucket brigade, owing to there being no water available for the steamer. Insurances: Stock, £400 in the Alliance; building, £850 in the National. The cellars and stores were heavily stocked. It is estimated that the loss is fully £2000 over the insurances.

The Dominion Skating Rink

1908 June, Mr E. J. Baldwin from Bathurst Australia will open his skating rink in Thorley’s Buildings on Karamu Road, this evening and will remain in Hastings during the winter months. He has 150 pairs of skates on hand, and they are the famous “Winslow” brand. The rink opens at 7 p.m.

At the Dominion Skating Rink, one room was to be set apart for beginners, who will have the assistance of two instructors. The floor is being specially prepared and the room will be decorated in an artistic manner. A refreshment room for ladies will be in the hands of Messrs Lucas Bros, while Mr Ninness will have charge of the musical department. The management will be in the hands of Mr R. T. Bickerton of Christchurch. Mr Baldwin who has managed some of the biggest rinks in New South Wales is determined to conduct his business on the best lines. A cloak room will be provided. The rink will be open each morning for beginners, and in the afternoon and evenings for proficient skaters. The doors will be open at 7 o’clock this evening.

1908, Thorley Tramway – David Charles Thorley proposed to the Hastings Borough Council a Tramway from Frimley to Havelock – but the proposal was eventually declined.

1908 July, Auction offered on account of Mrs S. Bone her desirable 5-roomed house on the corner of Queen and Warren Streets, together with a 6-acre, more or less. Mr James Collins provided seats for the rotunda at Queens Square.

1908 July, Andrew Percy died at Hastings. An old identity Mr “Andy” Percy was respected by the large circle of friends in which he moved. He was at one time a keen enthusiast in all athletic games, having successfully contested in several walking matches. In years gone by, when theatres and operas were unknown in Hastings, he by his singing and acting added in no small way to the amusement. He was for many years a permanent member of the Fire Brigade and held the five-year service medal: Mr Percy was also one supporters of the local Foresters’ Lodge of which he remained a staunch member up to the time of his death. One touching incident of his last illness was his desire to see three or four of his old friends before passing away and they came some considerable distance to gratify his dying wish. He leaves a wife and grown up family to mourn his loss. He will be accorded a Foresters’ funeral.

1908 August, Mr George Hayes, brother of Mr Thomas Hayes and husband of Mrs Florence Hayes of Hastings died yesterday at his residence in St. Aubyn Street after a prolonged and painful illness. Deceased was 52 years of age. He had resided in Hastings for about 30 years and for some time carried on business as contractor. The funeral will leave for the Hastings cemetery.

Page 58

[Photo]

1908 c, Now the Carlton Club Hotel on the corner Karamu Rd and Heretaunga St opposite the Albert Hotel, with Millar & Georgi [Giorgi], the Grand Hotel and the new larger Union Bank on Hick’s corner with a gas street lantern at right – was moved in 1914

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS PLUMBING WORKS
Telegraphic Address:  “Tonkin.”
Telephone 326.
TONKIN, EDDY & CO.
Plumbers, Tinsmiths, Gasfitters, & Sanitary Engineers.
ALL COUNTRY WORK PROMPTLY ATTENDED TO.
Correspondence Invited.
Estimates Free.
All Work Guaranteed.
SOLE AGENTS FOR LUKE’S RANGES & CASTINGS,
THE “AERMOTOR” WINDMILL.

[Advertisement]
TELEPHONE 210.   P.O. BOX 27.
F. CASSIN
Land, Estate, General Commission Agent and Valuer.
Farms for Sale in all parts of N.Z.
WAIKATO DISTRICT PROPERTIES A SPECIALTY.
SEND FOR LIST.
A Large Selection of Town and Suburban Properties, Orchards, etc.
In and around Hastings and Havelock North.
AGENCIES:
Citizens’ Life Insurance Company.
Fire, Accident, Marine, and Fidelity Guarantee Insurance.
Mortgages Arranged.   Money to Lend.
RELIABLE CORRESPONDENTS IN ALL PARTS OF NEW ZEALAND.
F. CASSIN   NEAR POST OFFICE, Hastings, H. B.

Tonkin, Eddy & Co Hastings Plumbing Works and F. Cassin opened new brick premises in 1908 on Station St corner opposite the PO

1908 December, FIRE AT HASTINGS – Two cottages in Ellison road were demolished last night. One was occupied by Mrs Hastings, who was spending the evening with friends. It was owned by Mrs Fitzgerald of Petone. In this house nothing was saved. The fire spread to the next cottage owned by J. Gibbs and occupied by Archibald McDonald who saved his belongings. The brigade with great difficulty saved a third house by using wet blankets. There was no water supply for the engine. The insurance on Fitzgerald’s building was £300.

[Advertisement]
RITCHIE & CO.
Sanitary Plumbers
Gasfitters, Etc.
Heretaunga Street, HASTINGS
Windmills and Hydraulic Rams a Speciality. Hot and Cold Water Fitters. Acetylene Gas Plants installed in any part of the Country.
COME AND SEE OUR NEW PATENT TANK FITTER, CAN BE FITTED TO ANY TANK
ABSOLUTELY GUARANTEED TO PURIFY THE WATER.
RITCHIE & Co.

Page 59

1908 December, Richie [Ritchie] & Co Heretaunga St

[Photo]

1909, The Ranfurly Private Hotel on Warren St sth under Henry Seymour Bone.

Previously Mrs A. I. Reeves, with Walter De Frete Painter & Paperhanger adjoining section

EARLY HASTINGS WEST

1890 October, The extension of the Pacific Hotel has been carried out about forty feet along the Market St side. The extension gives to the hotel two sitting rooms, one of which is furnished with a full suit handsomely upholstered with brown morocco. Upstairs are two roomy single bedrooms, looking temptingly comfortable with their brass mounted bedsteads. At the end of the new premises is a family suite of rooms, the sitting room fitted up as that already mentioned. All provision that is possible is made against fire, there being besides the usual ropes, two staircases. Going down one of these you soon find yourself in the now spacious billiard room, which is supplied with one of Alcock’s best billiard tables, and all the newest appliances, It is also supplied with a well-known, and popular billiard-maker, Mr Moran, better known to old Hastings identities as George, who in the old days had charge of Kelly’s billiard room, which before the time of gas lamps, was the rendezvous of, every Hastings resident, whether players or not. If you wanted to see anyone on business in those days it was pound to a gooseberry that you would find him there. Mr Moran will do his best to attract his old patrons to the click of the bewitching balls. It speaks well of the attention of Mr and Mrs Caulton at this addition is necessary and it is hoped that the enterprise will repay itself.

[Photo]

Page 60

1890, Central Heretaunga St west before the fire taken from Station St – showing J. Kelly’s Hastings Hotel left with G. H. Roach ‘Hastings House’ drapery in the wooden two storied store, R. T. Smyth Stationer, and the old wooden first Pacific Hotel with veranda further down, Beck’s store on right without veranda signage – later sold to Williams & Kettle seed store also shows earlier small fire bell tower with stop sign and cat below, G. H. Roach ‘Hastings House’ drapery first began 1884 in a wooden two storied store left side, all building’s on both sides of this block burnt down in February 1893, by Burton Brother’s.

The old small tower Fire Bell was up for sale in January 1896, Mr H. Williams had presented a fire bell for the new tall tower.

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS HOTEL,
HASTINGS.
H. L. JULL – PROPRIETOR
This well-known house is replete with every modern convenience for
TRAVELLERS AND VISITORS,
AND IS
SITUATED CLOSE TO THE RAILWAY STATION.
GOOD STABLING & PADDOCKING ACCOMMODATION
AND
COMMODIOUS LOOSE BOXES.
Only the best brands of Ales, Wines, and Spirits in Stock.

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS HOTEL
H. L. JULL
PROPRIETOR.
Every Convenience and Accommodation
FOR
TRAVELLERS AND VISITORS.

1891, Henry Lewis Jull, now proprietor of the Hastings Hotel

[Photo]

1890, Heretaunga St west between Railway Rd and Market St shows – A. J. McEwan draper left in the old first Town Hall frontage where the fire started, Hyde & Co first tobacconist & barbers store with poles next door once Somerville’s store and the old wooden first Pacific Hotel with veranda and Gas light on the corner of Market St. The Boot & Shoe Warehouse, BNZ and a Café at right, by Burton Brothers

Page 61

[Photo]

1890, Heretaunga St west taken from Market St looking east towards the railway line – showing corner of J. Kelly’s Hastings Hotel on right, G. H. Roach ‘Hastings House’ drapery in the wooden two storied store, R. T. Smyth Stationer, A. J. McEwan drapier where the fire started, and Hyde & Co first tobacconist & barbers with poles, on the left is Maxwell’s Café, BNZ, The Boot & Shoe warehouse to Beck’s store, by Burton Brothers.  All building’s on both sides of this block burnt down in February 1893 and the left side burnt down again in 1907

[Photo]

1890’s, Hastings looking southwest at tall shed in Knight Brothers timber yard with trees and Railway Rd other side of Railway line. Knight Brothers had their own railway siding where Mr D. White an employee was injured in December 1890. No Goodwin’s Hall visible. Eastbourne St now continues through the rear of this tall shed in timber yard – with the Police station hidden behind, Russell St now runs through, washing is on (Newman’s Corner) opposite later Courthouse, the Presbyterian Church on left, by Burton Brothers

Page 62

[Photo]

1890’s, Hastings Central looking west across Knight Brothers timber yard had their own railway siding, with trees across railway line to the Hastings Hotel – Henry Lewis Jull is proprietor in 1891, with old Beck’s store opposite, also shows Doney Bros first blacksmiths shed and where Dave Plimer [Plimmer?] had a livery and bate stables directly across on Railway Rd behind the Hastings Hotel. Russell St now runs through this timber yard, by Burton Brothers. In May 1896, B. L. Knight saw & planing mill premises near the railway crossing Hastings were destroyed by fire and they were not insured. The old St Matthew’s Church towers dismantled 1886

[Advertisement]
W. J. TYERMAN,
PHARMACEUTICAL
CHEMIST,
HASTINGS.

1891, W. J. Tyerman, a Chemist shop opposite the BNZ, later taken over by Joe W. Bates

[Advertisement]
J. ROBERTSON,
WATCHMAKER AND JEWELLER,
HASTINGS.
All Branches of the Trade in the REPAIRING of WATCHES, CLOCKS and JEWELLERY, carefully and CHEAPLY EXECUTED.
J. ROBERTSON.
Being a thoroughly practical man can guarantee to give complete satisfaction to those who may entrust him with their work.

1892, J. Robertson, a Watchmaker & Jeweller near the Bank of N. S. W, burnt down in 1893, moved premises opposite Pacific Hotel and burnt down 1898.

Page 63

[Photo]

Nathaniel Evanson Beamish of Stoneycroft

Nathaniel Evanson Beamish was born 1827 in County Cork Ireland; he came to New Zealand in the Lady Nugent in the year 1850 and lived at Lyttelton for several years before any house was built at Christchurch. He settled at Marton then removed with his family to Hastings where he became manager of the Okawa estate for his brother-in-law the late Mr T. Lowry for 20 years, and settled down at Stoneycroft in the 1890’s.

[Map – HOADLEY LYON & Co, Auctioneers]

Stoneycroft, 1890’s Plan of suburban and farm lots in Hastings. Part division D, Heretaunga block 28. The property of W. J. Birch Esq. The plan shows two land lots of 35 acres bordering Ōmāhu Road. J. N. Williams has land adjoining lot 1, J. D. Ormond and W. J. Birch have land adjoining lot 2. Hoadley, Lyon & Co are to be the auctioneers – poss [possibly] when Mr N. E. Beamish purchased Stoneycroft.

Nathaniel E. Beamish was an old colonist with fifty years’ standing in Hastings; he took an interest in public matters and a member of various local bodies and J.P. [Justice of the Peace] in 1892. Nathaniel Evanson Beamish had married Elizabeth Couper in August 1854 at Porirua Wellington, she was born in 1833. They had three daughters and four sons. Nathaniel E. Beamish owned Whana Whana station which was managed by his son George. Elizabeth Beamish nee Couper died in February 1912 at Hastings aged 79 and Nathaniel died in March 1919 at his Stoneycroft residence Hastings aged 92.

In the 1930’s Stoneycroft was shrouded in ivy and roses and was owned by Dr Penrose J. Barcroft and his wife Fanny (Beamish) They held a Garden Fête and raised about £400 towards the Hawke’s Bay ambulances. Then the Edmonds family. One of the last private owners of Stoneycroft was our family GP – Dr Diamond A. Ballantyne who purchased the property in 1954, after joining the Hawke’s Bay Hospital Board in 1953. That same year, his wife Joyce, was the first woman to be elected onto the then Hastings Borough Council. Joyce Ballantyne outlived her husband – who died in 1984, by nearly 20 years. Before she passed away in 2003, Joyce wanted to make sure the property would have adequate safeguards from alteration. While Stoneycroft had received a Category II status from the New Zealand Historic Places Trust in 1993, Joyce felt Stoneycroft needed more protection, so Joyce entered into a covenant in 1995 with the Trust, which would protect the originality of the property. Comment – (and our firm Ted Laxon did some restrictive but minimal exterior maintenance on the house in the late 1970’s. It is now the site of Knowledge Bank)

1892 February, Mr B. L. Knight has plans for his new buildings. Mr Knight’s timber yard is one of the oldest landmarks in the township, but it will soon be hidden from the public view by a handsome two-storey building. It will contain two large shops, one of which will be used by the firm, while the other is already let. Messrs Furness and Hooper are the successful tender. If half the rumours of work for the builders is true, the gaps in the main street will soon cease to exist.

Page 64

1892 March, Marriage – Jamieson – Beamish. At St Matthew’s Church, Hastings on the 3rd inst. by the Rev John Hobbs, assisted by the Rev C. L. Tuke – John, eldest son of William Jamieson, Esq., of Glasgow merchant, to Harriet Elizabeth, second daughter of N. E. Beamish, J.P., of Stoneycroft.

1892 April, An extensive boarding house is being prepared in Market-street on the premises formerly the Working Men’s Club. Travellers will be more interested in the restaurant now nearly ready close to the railway station, so that if you leave Napier without your dinner you can find a remedy at Hastings on arrival.

1892 May, A pretty sight can be seen under the verandah of Hickey’s boarding house in Market Street, where there is an aviary of large size containing an interesting collection of canaries and goldfinches. Mr Hickey invited me to look through his boarding house, which is nicely arranged for the comfort of boarders. There is room for twenty-six boarders, and the full number is often present. Behind are well laid-out and extensive pleasure grounds.

1892, W. C. Maddison was manager for W. E. Beck & Co when this business closed so he went into partnership with W. B. Beilby the company book keeper and they took over the business as Maddison & Co, Drapiers and General Store.

William Charles Maddison b:1852 Lincolnshire had arrived with his parents around, 1873 married Mary Maria Thomas. William Bateman Beilby had arrived in 1855 at Northland in the Josephine E. Willis, he moved to Hawke’s Bay and then to Hastings in 1880 as a commission and insurance agent, he married Emma Louisa Kelly in 1885. He became a member of the Hastings Borough Council in 1895.

[Advertisement]
MADDISON AND CO.,
GROCERS & DRAPERS,
HERETAUNGA ROAD,
HASTINGS.

Maddison & Co Grocers & Drapier opposite the Hastings Hotel

[Advertisement]
Hastings Choral and Orchestral Society.
CONDUCTOR – MR. B. HUNT.
FIRST CONCERT OF THE SEASON,
ON TUESDAY, 30TH AUGUST,
IN ST. MATTHEW’S SCHOOLROOM.
Admission, 3s and 2s.
36   A. A. GEORGE, Secretary.

1892 August, Hastings Choral and Orchestral Society with the assistance of Mr & Mrs Spackman

1892 June, Plane trees were planted along both sides of Market St.

1893 Mr Tanner visited England, he had resigned from all his public, offices, except his seat on the Education Board.

1893 January, Hastings now had a night-watchman – Mr John Niblett and Annie Price was a librarian at the Athenaeum. Mr J. H. Vautier was an insurance agent in Hastings and Henry Downes was employed in the New Zealand Government Insurance Department and resided in Hastings.

1893 January, A. J. McEwan shop – James Gibson was a draper assistant. Adelina Langley a dressmaker and a boy were also employed in McEwan’s shop.

1893 February, Arthur John McEwan had gone to Wairoa when a fire started in a storeroom of A. J. McEwan’s shop and first noticed by the Hastings night-watchman Mr John Niblett patrolling the streets at half-past 2 o’clock. He at once ran to the fire-bell and rang out an alarm. Sergeant Pickering appears to have been the first to hear the bell and to get to the scene of the fire followed by William White and Henry Lewis Jull, landlord of the Hastings Hotel who broke into Hydes to awaken George Turner the hairdresser’s assistant sleeping upstairs of the tobacco shop next to M’Ewan’s [McEwan’s] – Turner said he had earlier heard footsteps at the rear of the building and falling glass. The whole of the back portion of McEwan’s shop was ablaze. It quickly spread to the Hastings Hotel which was consumed within 20 minutes, and then it leapt across the road and devoured Maddison & Beilby, W & K, the BNZ and Maxwell’s restaurant. Night-watchman John Niblett said there was a passage between McEwan’s and Mr Roach’s place. He had sometimes seen people about the place late at night and he had turned swaggers out from there before.

Page 65

[Photo]

1893 February, Heretaunga St west an elevated view from the old Pacific Hotel balcony at Market St of the block fire scene looking east with a steam fire fighting engine promptly brought from Napier by rail foreground left, the site of old Beck’s store, the Boot & Shoe warehouse, BNZ, a Café, Bank of NSW. Mr Hayes buildings on Station St in background the Trocadero tea rooms building and the two storied corner building H. Webber Chemist shows the carriage access way to Beecroft’s equine Repository – closed off later that year and shops opened with a new Beecroft’s access off Karamu Rd nth, the Railway Station at its second site with Railway Guards house behind are visible through haze on left side. Also shows the large Bluegums on Queen St east that Hicks possibly planted.

[Photo]

1893 February fire, an elevated view from the fire bell tower looking sth west shows the remains of J. H. Jull’s Hastings Hotel, with old Presbyterian Church distant left, the fire had started in A. J. McEwan shop – the second standing chimney to the right, with many school girls among the crowd

Page 66

[Photo]

1893 February, an elevated view from the fire bell tower looking west along Heretaunga St west shows the block fire scene, the remains of the Hastings Hotel left and the old wooden Pacific Hotel distant left. The Napier steam fire fighting engine soon proved its worth and a meeting was immediately held on the street early that morning towards purchasing a new steam fire fighting engine for Hastings.

South side of the Main Street –
Jull’s Hastings Hotel
Wickett, draper
Chong Kee, grocer
Tyerman and Broad, chemists.
New Zealand Clothing Factory
Hannah’s boot shop
Hyde and Co., tobacconists
A. J. McEwan, draper
G. H. Roach, draper
R. T. Smythe, stationer

North Side –
Williams and Kettle’s store
Maddison and Co., drapers and grocers
A large partially erected shop next door
Bank of New Zealand
Maxwell’s restaurant
W. Y. Dennett’s office
Bank of New South Wales
Mayo, fruiterer
Sir W. Wasteney’s office
Simpson’s shooting gallery
Robertson, watchmaker
A. B. Greene’s office

[Photo]

1893 February, Heretaunga St west taken later from past Market St looking east towards the railway line and smaller fire bell tower distant after the block fire that started in A. J. McEwan shop on right, old Beck’s Williams & Kettle store was on far left side. Shows Mr A Stuart’s tailoring store veranda on left.

Sommerville’s old Hastings Stores were on right corner destroyed, behind the three men. Corner building distant on Station St – H. Webber Chemist, Mr Sam Charlton now ran the Railway Hotel after alterations with 32 rooms seen directly behind tall Bell Tower, with H. Williams & Sons (ironmonger) signage on building roof right side.

Most of the business quickly set up in temporary premises – R. Hannah & Co went to Bowes sale rooms opposite the Railway Station, R. T. Smythe were next to the Daily Telegraph Agency premises, Tyerman & Co set up in Caulton’s Hotel, Maddison & Co were at the Exchange Buildings – Station St, Bank of NSW were housed at S. T. Tong’s on

Page 67

Karamu Rd, James Mayo was at Peter’s Boot Shop, Hellenstein [Hallenstein] Brother’s NZ Clothing Factory of E. S. Goldsmith manager. W. H. Simpson reapplied to the Borough Council to operate his Shooting Gallery for events.

1893 August, The first concrete kerbings were laid in Hastings, in October Pakowhai Road was formed and in 1894 Williams St was declared a public road.

1893 November, Messrs Nelson Bros Works at Tomoana will start freezing next week. There is an immense number of sheep ready to be sent to the works. The two candidates that will eventually contest the Hawke’s Bay seat – Mr T. Tanner (Liberal) and Captain Russell (Conservative) are actively canvassing the district.

1893 October, The new Bank of New South Wales to be rebuilt on the corner previously occupied by Sir W. Wasteney’s office, Simpson’s shooting gallery and James Mayo’s fruit shop. The two storied building will stand slightly back with 36ft frontage to the Main St and much longer along Market St. Messrs Cooper and Finch are the architects from Napier, the principal ground floor banking room 26ft x 20ft and managers room 14ft x 6ft.6in with fire proof strong room. A lavatory, a dining room 18ft x 14ft, kitchen and scullery and servants bedroom with 13ft stud ground floor and 12ft stud upstairs where a drawing room, bathroom, 4 bedrooms. On Market St a vestibule and hall 8ft wide, Mr S. T. Tong was the successful tender.

1894, G. Faulknor’s Coach Factory in Market St burnt down – son of W. G. Faulknor of Napier

[Advertisement]
Mrs. HASTINGS,
FANCY GOODS AND TOY EMPORIUM
HERETAUNGA ROAD,
HASTINGS.

[Advertisement]
W. G. BENSON,
BAKER & CONFECTIONER,
Opposite the Athenaeum,
MARKET STREET,
HASTINGS.

1894, Mrs Hastings, Fancy Goods and Toys on Heretaunga St west and W. G. Benson, a Baker & Confectioner on Market St sth, opposite the Athenaeum

[Advertisement]
T. STEWART,
BLACKSMITH AND FARRIER,
Begs to inform the inhabitants of Hastings and surrounding Districts that he has Commenced Business in Market Street, Hastings, and Customers can rely
ON FIRST-CLASS SHOEING.   5

[Advertisement]
T. STEWART,
BLACKSMITH,
MARKET STREET, HASTINGS.
HORSES SHOD IN FIRST-CLASS STYLE.
1894 November, Mr T. Stewart was a Blacksmith and Farrier in Market St, Hastings.

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS.
JOHN HICKEY,
BOARDING HOUSE,
MARKET STREET.
Borod [Board] and Lodging, 16s per week. Bath Room. Paddocking for horses, 2s per week
419

1894 November, John Hickey 14 roomed Boarding House on Market St, Hastings, next to Mr Russell’s house, it later burnt down.

[Newspaper notice]
W. STOCK, STORTFORD LODGE, Hastings, has on hand a lot of first-class Buggy Horses, and Ladies’ and Gentlemen’s Hacks. Superior Dog-cart Horse and Child’s Pony for Sale.

1894 November, William Stock, Stortford Lodge

Page 68

[Newspaper notices]
Impounding Notices.
IMPOUNDED at Hastings, on November 6th by the Ranger –
Bay Light Draught Gelding, branded KT near shoulder, three white feet, blaze down face.
If not claimed and expenses paid will be sold on SATURDAY, November 24th, at 12 o’clock, noon.
WM. STOCK,
Poundkeeper.

IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS.
By the Ranger, on November 17th –
Dark bay Mare, branded like AR (AR conjoined) on near shoulder, blaze down face, shod all round.
If not claimed and expenses paid will be Sold on December 4th, at 12 o’clock, Noon
W. STOCK
Poundkeeper.

1894 December, William Stock of the Stortford Lodge was also Poundkeeper

1894 November, Charles Saunders died aged 81. The funeral of the late Mr Charles Saunders took place. After a short and very impressive service in St Matthew’s Church conducted by the Rev. J. Hobbs the body was taken to the Hastings cemetery, being borne to its final resting place by several of the deceased’s old friends, of whom a very large number were present. The funeral arrangements were under the direction of Mr S. Tong.

In 1894, The Heretaunga Co-operative Dairy Co Ltd took over the original dairy factory from William Stock at Stortford Lodge. A large wooden building fitted out with an efficient and up to date factory with three freezing chambers, one churning and butter making room, two separating rooms, and the engine room with a nine horse-power Tangye engine, and a twenty horse-power boiler. The plant is efficient and up to date in every respect. In November 1899, The Heretaunga Dairy Factory Co Ltd held the animal[annual?] meeting of shareholders at the Borough Council Chambers, Hastings. Mr Thomas Crosse, managing director, presiding. Messrs H. Campbell, J. Ebbett, W. Evison, D. Joll, M’Quillan [McQuillan], Boston, and A. Wellwood were present.

[Photo]

Heretaunga Co-operative Dairy factory at Stortford Lodge

Page 69

[Newspaper notice]
W. E. MAXWELL’S
DINING AND SUPPER ROOMS
(Next Bank of New South Wales), HASTINGS.
W. E. M. Wishes to Inform his many Friends and former Customers that he has now Made a Fresh
Start in Business in the premises formerly occupied by Mr. Peters, Bootmaker. Although Accommodation is somewhat
limited still customers can rely upon Comfort and Attention, combined with a Good Meal at a Moderate Cost.
ALL MEALS 1/-
W. E. MAXWELL,
HASTINGS.

[Newspaper notice]
STOP AND READ.
SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT,
J. BISHOP,
OF NAPIER
Begs to inform the Inhabitants and Surrounding Districts of HASTINGS
that he has decided to Open a Shop consisting of Every Description of
LADIES’, GENTLEMEN’S AND CHILDREN’S
BOOTS AND SHOES
IN TAN AND BLACK
FOR EVENING AND DAY WEAR AT THE LOWEST NAPIER PRICES.
Located in your midst I believe you want a First-Class Article for the least Possible Money.
ON THIS LINE
I intend to Secure your Patronage.
The Public (that’s you) are invited to get acquainted with J. BISHOP (that’s me).
Every pair marked in Plain Figures, no two prices.
If you have a Little to Spend and want a Lot For it – Good Quality at a Low Price –
come to J. BISHOP, and you will get it.
The Stock will be Unpacked and Ready for Sale on
SATURDAY, OCTOBER 13th
J. BISHOP,
CHALLENGE BOOT DEPOT,
NEXT PACIFIC HOTEL
HASTINGS.

1894 December, W. E. Maxwell took over Mr Peter’s bootmaker store next to the Bank of NSW to make a fresh start in his Dining and Supper Rooms and Mr J. Bishop of Napier opened his Boot & Shoe store next to the Pacific Hotel.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS BOOK ARCADE.
NEW BOOKS, MUSIC, FANCY GOODS.
Inkstands, Writing Valises, Ladies’ Bags, Toys, Pocket Books, Purses, &c, &c.
CHRISTMAS CARDS!
CHRISTMAS CARDS!
D. Whytock & Co.
Are now offering their New Goods for the Coming Season. Christmas Cards, very choice, in Endless Variety and Latest Designs. All Prices, from 1d to 5s each.
COME AND SEE
A Fine Selection of Hand-painted Cards of
NEW ZEALAND FLOWERS AND SCENERY
For sending to Friends at Home.
SPECIAL – The Vest Pocket Library, a Book for Everybody, 7 Books Handsomely Bound in One Volume, suitable for the vest pocket containing knowledge on all subjects. Invaluable to business people. – Sole Agents.
DIARIES FOR 1895.

[Advertisement]
FOR BOOKS, PERIODICALS,
FOR BIRTHDAY AND WEDDING PRESENTS,
FOR STATIONERY,
GO TO
The Hastings Arcade
(Two Doors from Jull’s Hotel).
D. WHYTOCK & CO.

1894 December, D. Whytock & Co, Hastings Book Arcade

[Newspaper notice]
Hastings Fire Brigade.
ANNUAL SPORTS
NEW YEAR’S DAY, JANUARY 1st, 1895.

1894 December, Hastings Fire Brigade

1895, Two new banks were rebuilt across the street from the Hastings Hotel and Roach Brothers Drapery was rebuilt by their original site

Page 70

[Photo]

The new Hastings Hotel erected by Higgins with telephone connection to Napier, by NZ Cyclopaedia.

1895 January, The Hastings Hotel, which has had a prosperous career under the able management of Harry Jull, its popular landlord and Joe Rivers who has ably assisted in the management of the house is in the process of changing hands – the tenancy having been taken over by Mr Daniel O’Reilly, an old Hastings citizen. The valuators, Messrs Cohen for Mr Jull and Herman for Mr O’Reilly, who will no doubt keep up the traditions of the house as a well arranged, comfortable hostelry. Daniel O’Reilly was still listed as proprietor in 1910.

[Photo]

Mr D. O’Reilly seated comfortably beside a bar table with his dog

1895 February, Edward Cracknell an old identity of the district passed away at Paki Paki, he had been in bad health for some months past. He was one of the Europeans who threw in his lot with the Maori, having married a native. He was a farmer and although living with his family at Paki Paki he was well known in Hastings.

[Advertisement]
W. A. CARTER,
THE OLD ESTABLISHED
BOOT AND SHOE IMPORTER
(Next Whytock and Co.)
HASTINGS.
Repairs Neatly Executed.

[Advertisement]
HENRY COLLINS,
Bricklayer and Drainage Contractor.
ALL DESCRIPTION OF
DRAINPIPES IN STOCK.
Residence: MARKET ST,
Yard: QUEEN ST,
HASTINGS.

1895, W. A. Carter, Boot & Shoe Importer next to Whytock & Co and Henry Collins, a Bricklayer & Drainage on Queen St

Page 71

[Advertisement]
J. GARNETT,
(OPPOSITE CAULTON’S HOTEL)
HASTINGS,
PAINTER, PAPERHANGER,
AND GLAZIER.
PICTURE MOULDINGS, MOUNTS & GLASS IN GREAT VARIETY.

1895, James Garnett, a Painter & Paperhanger Glazier opposite Mr Caulton’s Pacific Hotel

[Advertisement]
G. F. ROACH,
SUB-AGENT,
Imperial Fire Insurance Company.

[Advertisement]
SHARP & ALFORD,
DIRECT IMPORTERS
OF
BOOKS, STATIONERY, & FANCY GOODS.
Opposite Roach’s Grocery Store,
Heretaunga Road, Hastings.

1895, G. F. Roach, an Insurance sub-agent and Sharp & Alford, Books Stationary on Heretaunga St west opposite Roach’s Grocery Store

1896 October, Peter Ramsay died at Fernhill Hotel aged 60. He was well-known throughout Hawke’s Bay and of a kindly disposition that endeared him to all with whom he came in contact, and very many were the acts of charity performed by “Old Peter” during his lifetime. He arrived from Scotland 33 years ago and has resided all that time in the district. No one was more popular with either pakeha or Maori, and the latter are cengregated [congregated] to-day at Fernhill in scores to carry out a tangi. Deceased leaves a wife and four children, all married. The funeral will leave for the Havelock cemetery when Masonic honours will be accorded the departed brother. His wife Isabella Ramsay died in January 1900 at her residence in Twyford aged 67.

1896 June, Dr Faulkner left the district

1897 January, Windows blown in, Great destruction of trees and Railway disrupted. We have for a long time been bemoaning the want of rain and now it has come in quantities to satisfy the most ardent, and brought the wind with it. Last night was the roughest night for many years. It blew great guns, and the heavy rain filled the tanks rapidly, this at last to the great satisfaction of the owners. The roads are strewn with great branches, blown from the trees, especially along Havelock and Karamu roads and in many cases’ the trees themselves were broken. The actual extent of the damage cannot at present be estimated, but it will be very great, chiefly to the grain crops and the fruit trees. This is serious from a business point of view, but sad havoc has been done in the flower gardens, most of the contents of which are levelled to the ground. About 9 o’clock this morning, the shop window of Mr Robertson, watchmaker of Market street was blown in and had to be boarded up. Mrs Roberts’s three-storey boarding house suffered severely. It is in rather an exposed position and several of the windows were blown in. Naturally early enquiries were made at the post office when it was found that Hastings was absolutely cut off from telegraphic communication – for the first time in my recollection.

1897 February, Hastings Fire – Mr J. Hickey’s two-story Boarding House in Market St containing 14 rooms was destroyed by fire, the 5 – 6 boarders were able to save most of their effects. Mr Hickey and their children were away and Mrs Hickey had discovered the fire that started in the kitchen. Mr Russell’s house was next door, but only Mr Thomas Russell’s yard shed was damaged. Captain Brausche brought three jets into action to no avail, the piano was insured £50.

1897 April, Dr Joseph Faulkner died at Hastings, 14 years in Hastings, buried at Hastings cemetery.

1897 April, Mrs Susan Evans who has taken over that hue[huge?] commodious building known as the Clarendon Boarding House, intimated in another column that she has vacancies for lady and gentlemen boarders. The 14 room boarding house is healthily situated, airy, replete with a very home comfort, and charges are most reasonable. By November 1897 the Deputy Official Assignee, Mr M. Lascelles attended the Courthouse yesterday to preside at the meeting of the creditors of Mrs Evans boarding house keeper, went bankrupt.

1897 December, An alarm of fire was sounded upon the Hastings fire bell this afternoon. The cause of the alarm was a fire at the residence of Mr M. Barry, which was extinguished in its incipiency. The Fire Brigade turned out promptly.

1898 February, The fire-bell rang out an alarm at 2.55 this afternoon. The outbreak proved to be in the back yard of Mr William White’s boarding house, Market Street.

1898 August, An old identity of Hastings named Sing Lee, better known as “Sam, the gardener” was found dead in a cottage in which he had been living in Lyndon road, Hastings, at one o’clock this afternoon. At that hour Mr A. Taylor, to whom the house belongs, went to see ” Sam” on business. As he got no response to his knock at the door Mr Taylor went inside and found the Chinaman lying dead on his bed. Sir [Mr] Taylor immediately reported the matter to the police, and

Page 72

Dr Tosswill was summoned. The doctor pronounced that life had been extinct for some hours. The cause of death is as yet unknown, but an inquest will be held to-morrow. Sing Lee, who was an elderly man, had been cooking at several of the Hastings hotels, but of late years had been following the occupation of a market gardener. The deceased, who was an abstemious man, lived by himself. He was about the town at an early hour this morning, and at that time nothing appeared to be wrong with him.

1898, Hastings Borough Council acquired 21 acre gift from J. N. Williams for the Cornwall Park – facilities were planed[planned] and officially opened in November 1904, but a small part of the undeveloped park was later used for grazing – a bullock fattening paddock

1899 January, Mr James Garnett is having erected on the site of the late fire in Hastings, a substantial brick building, which will be used for workshops, etc. Further additions in brick are contemplated.

1899 February, A wedding at St Matthew’s Church where Mr L. Baker formerly of Wairoa and now of Tomoana was married to Misa [Miss] Lucy Wells, a young lady of Hastings, where she has been brought up and educated. She is the stepdaughter of Mr G. Hayes, contractor, an old identity of Hastings who gave her away at the ceremony. The bridesmaids were Misses Fanny Hayes and Ada Morgan, The best man was Mr T. Wells, the bride’s brother. ‘The wedding is what the ladies call a sunflower wedding. The bride and bridegroom each carried small sunflowers and the costumes were all in harmony with them.’ The Rev. John Hobbs officiated.

[Advertisement]
A. JONES & SONS,
LIMITED.
Agricultural Engineers,
Implement Makers, Waggon and Dray Builders,
and General Ironmongers.
Market, Queen & Heretaunga Streets,
HASTINGS.
Agents for International Harvester Co’s McCormick Binders and Mowers, Andrew & Beaven’s Chaffcutters, and Wolseley Shearing Machines.
Full Lines of Farmers’ Requisites
in stock.
Gigs, Buggies, and Motor Cars, Repainted and Trimmed in the Best Style.
Estimates Furnished on Application.
Builders’ Ironwork A Speciality.
Consult us before buying elsewhere.
Workmanship and Material Guaranteed.
TELEPHONE NO. 13.   P.O. BOX 86.

A. Jones & Sons Ltd, Agriculture Engineers at Market St, Queen St and Heretaunga St west, next to Mr Fail’s cooperage

1899 July, Moses Ebbett and his wife Jane Pattison 82 both died at Hastings

1899 September, A wedding was solemnised at St. Matthew’s Church, when Mr Sydney Pattison, manager of Messrs Williams and Kettle’s Hastings branch, was married to Miss Julia Margaret Tosswill, eldest daughter of J. N. Tosswill, Esq late of Canterbury. The ceremony was performed by Dean Hovel, of Waiapu, assisted by the Rev. J. Hobbs. The church, which had been tastefully decorated by Miss Beamish, was crowded with spectators, and a full choir sang two appropriate hymns, Miss Kelly presiding at the organ. The bride, who was given away by her father, was attended at the altar by Misses G. Pattison and Violet Tosswill as bridesmaids. Mr E. H. Williams officiated as best man. After the ceremony the guests were entertained at Dr Tosswill’s.

1900, Joe W. Bates a Chemist & Optician took over the business from W. J. Tyerman & Co, a large two storied wooden building on Heretaunga St with four employees, glass display cases and photographic products & processing. Joseph William Bates born 2nd April 1872 at Akaroa, Canterbury, educated at Christchurch Boys’ High School, he first married Isabella Ellen Shirriths [Shirriffs] 1902 NSW she died at Hastings in October 1905 and later married Maxwell Forfar Hutton nee Moodie in 1913 at Hastings and had two children – they had a house at 204 King St sth, 2nd house from Eastbourne St next to St Andrew’s Church, after the 1931 quake Joe dispensed from his home until more permanent premises. He was president of the Hastings Photographic Society and a member of the Hastings Bowling Club; he died in September 1945 at Hastings aged 72 and Maxwell Forfar Hutton Bates nee Moodie died in June 1976 aged 100.

Page 73

[Photo]

Joe W. Bates, Chemist, by Brown & Ross

1900 May The Hawke’s’ Bay, Farmers’ Cooperative Association lately added an extension to the building of their Hastings branch, and with an eye to future requirements they have purchased the ground and building of White’s boarding house in Market street.

1900 October, Mrs W. Atkins has made special provision for the attention of ladies at her house, lately known as Roberts’ boarding house, Hastings.

1900 December, Mr Edward Robert Collison eldest son of E. D. Collison, Claremont Hastings, married to Mary Hannah Irving, eldest daughter of J. Irving, Northumberland, England by the Rev. J. Wrigley at the Wesleyan Church, Hastings,

1900 December, Mr Alfred Horne of Hastings married Miss Ada Love at St. Matthew’s Church by the Rev. Mr Hobbs
The bride (who was given away by Mr George Love) Arthur Horne bestman

1900 December, Mr E. Y [V]. Hudson, son of Mr G. G. Hudson of Christchurch married Miss G. L. Roach, third daughter of Mr G. H. Roach at St. Matthew’s Church by the Rev. J. Hobbs. Miss Roach (Wellington) cousin of the bride, and Miss J. V. Brown (Napier) were Bridesmaids and Mr C. H. Wilkie and Mr V. Roach acted as best man and groomsman.

Hastings Bowling Club

[Photo]

1901, October, A group portrait at the opening of the new Green extension for the Hastings Bowling Club & Tennis Court on the corner of Lyndon Rd and Railway Rd next to the Police Station, Mr W. W. Adams was the Caretaker. The Hastings Bowling Club had opened in January 1893. AWN by L. C. Whitehead

Page 74

[Photos]

The Hastings Bowling Club in January 1906 on the corner of Lyndon Rd and Railway Rd, now sporting a pavilion, twin water tanks and tea rooms, and a later photo by Henry Norford Whitehead

The Hastings Bowling Club remained at this Lyndon Rd west site until 1954 when it moved to King St nth location, later bought by Woolworths in 1977 for their new supermarket. The Heretaunga Bowling Club was on Heretaunga St west where the Morman [Mormon] Church was built.

1901 October, Mr Sydney Tucker Davies Pattison died aged 40 – the manager of Messrs Williams and Kettle’s Hastings branch.

1902 January, HASTINGS FIRE – A dwelling in the Omahu Road, Hastings owned by Mr Vaughan and occupied by Mr S. Spence, was totally destroyed by fire. The insurances were – On the buildings £150 in the New Zealand Office, and on the furniture £40 in the South British Office.

1902 January, William Bateman Beilby died aged 62. Hastings business stores were immediately draped and flags flown half-mast for Mr Beilby who had recently returned from a trip to the Old Country and appeared to be in the best of health. He had arrived at Hastings in 1880 as a commission and insurance agent, he later accepted an appointment as book-keeper with W. E. Beck and Co and when it closed he joined the manager William Charles Maddison in partnership and they took over the business. At different times Mr Beilby had been secretary to the Hastings Building Society and Hawke’s Bay Agricultural and Pastoral Society. He was a prominent Borough Councillor for many years and as a Justice of the Peace was always at the service of the local Court-house. He was clerk of the scales for the Hawke’s Bay Jockey Club. As a Mason he gained the proud position of Grand District Superintendent. He was married to Emma Louisa, she died November 1923. William Charles Maddison continued on with the business in his own account, but he suffered after the second 1907 fire.

[Advertisement]
P.O. BOX 6.   TELEPHONE 6
MADDISON & CO.
Grocers, Drapers, Outfitters,
AND
Importers of General Merchandise.
Agents Atlas Fire office,
HERETAUNGA STREET, HASTINGS.

Maddison & Co, Grocers, Drapier, Outfitters on Heretaunga St west opposite the Hastings Hotel

Relief of Mafeking

Page 75

[Photos]

1902 May 31st Saturday, Central Heretaunga St west early afternoon shadow, the Hastings Peace Day celebrations for the 3 returning Troopers from Transvaal, the Mayor was to present Trooper Heap with a war medal, shows the crowd and Volunteers who had marched from Drill Hall with the town band to the end of Railway Rd with the Fire Brigade and Captain E. Newbigin’s 10-ton cannon, the bells pealed and speeches were made from a lectern on Maddison’s veranda roof to the Williams & Kettle’s building seen at right behind the fire bell tower, opposite Daniel O’Reilly’s new Hastings Hotel and the Hawke’s Bay Herald offices. The Mayor W. Y. Dennett then rang the fire bell and announced that the war had ended – the Relief of Mafeking, fireworks were later lit from a platform near the fire bell tower, taken by Burton. This event coincided with Mr & Mrs J. Garnett celebrating their Silver wedding anniversary at St Matthew’s Hall on the 31 st May with 150 guests

On June 26th 1902 there was a greater display of town & business decorations, also severe flooding in Hawke’s Bay

[Photo]

1902 July, Heretaunga St west from the railway, shows the Hastings Hotel left Hawke’s Bay Herald and the Pacific Hotel with balcony further down

Page 76

[Photo]

1902 July, Heretaunga St

[Photo]

1902 July, The original Presbyterian St Andrew’s Church on Market St sth, near Joe W. Bates the chemist residence

[Photos]

1902 July, St Matthew’s Anglican Church with wooden lych-gate and covered way on King St sth, shows a gas lantern now inside on right side of entrance

Mr William White, who has been verger at St Matthew’s Church for twenty-eight years, has resigned the position in October 1903. A resolution was passed at the last meeting of the vestry, expressing deep regret at losing Mr White’s services and also recognising the faithful manner in which he had performed the duties of verger.

Page 77

[Photo]

1902 August afternoon shadow, preparations for King Edward VII Coronation celebrations – shows an Arch erected with flags between old wooden Pacific Hotel – A. J. Ellingham proprietor and Garnett’s Complete Furnishing Warehouse after fire the previous year with ladder and strengthening scaffolding, possibly a replica cannon on the roof with displays of plant decorations on business premises, looking towards a Café, Maddison & Co and the tall fire bell tower distant, with Land & Heighway (saddler) right. Although published in 1964 DT Napier as Relief of Mafeking 1900, but no flags across road

Alfred James Ellingham had married Emily Britten in 1888, she died November 1918 and Alfred died September 1940.

1902 August 9th Saturday – King Edward VII Coronation – nearly all business premises displayed decorations again, buntings, flags, lanterns and green-stuff the Post Office and McCorkindales on station St were exceptional. The Coronation celebrations at Hastings commenced at 9 am with one officer and 45 Volunteers of the HB Mounted Rifles and two officers and 41 men of the Hastings Rifles with returned troopers, veterans, cadets and the Church Lads Brigade fired a fen-de-joie [fe-de-joie] in front Drill Hall with the town Band assisting. They all marched to the end of railway Rd where a united religious service was held on the railway siding alongside Williams & Kettles premises the King’s message was read out from the Hawke’s Bay Herald. The school children were all presented with flags, Maoris from Te Aute arrived with a large canoe by the 9.15 am train and others from Omahu came on three large trailers drawn by a traction engine. Shortly after midday a procession headed by the band marched to the racecourse where a large crowd pack the stands and lawn, children’s sports races and a merry-go-round with entertainment from a Maori contingent dressed in traditional style and patriotic colours performed several hakas and poi dances and sang war canoe songs and gave a representation of a mimic battle from war canoes on the Jockey Club grounds lake. Afternoon proceedings ceased at the sound of the town fire bell and everyone marched back to the town centre. In the evening a torchlight procession with the town band, Mounted Infantry, Volunteers, Fire Brigade, friendly societies, tableaux, decorated bicycles and carts and two parties of Maoris with their canoes drawn by traction engines and tableaux. The procession proceeded twice round the main blocks of the town ending back at the railway crossing where speeches were made from the balcony of Daniel O’Reilly’s Hastings Hotel, after which Urupene Pahara who fought for the British in the Native troubles in 1868 was presented with a duplicate NZ war medal by the mayor to replace the one presented in 1886 lost in a fire. The town was well illuminated and a display of fireworks from the fire bell tower followed.

1903, Albert Garnett married Linda Eleanor Hollies.

1904, Mr H. C. Gallien built the Frimley Cannery factory.

1904 October, Andrew Carnegie gave the Council £2,000 for a free Hastings Public Library building.

Page 78

[Photo]

1907, A hand coloured photographic postcard showing Central Heretaunga St, the railway line with Hastings Hotel far left, William’s & Kettle seed store behind tall telegraph pole and Madisons & Co far right before the fire, Hannah & Co, Westerman’s and A. H. Wilson & Harvey Silverwear, Hardwear, Cutlery 1912 near left corner later demolished for Russell St to go through and H. Webber (Pharmacist Optician) near right, by Muir & Moodie

[Photo]

1904 August, AWN supplement – Heretaunga St west looking towards the railway line with tall fire bell tower and the telegraph pole opposite, roof signage for H. Williams and Sons (ironmonger) and Hardware & Brushware, and the Hastings Hotel distant right, with a Café, BNZ and Maddison & Co left

[Photo – towards Havelock North]

Page 79

1905, Heretaunga St west from Market St before the fire looking towards the railway line with H. Williams and Sons (ironmonger) distant roof signage right with the new Hastings Hotel and wooden building Land & Heighway (saddler) George Land & Simon Heighway previous Somerville’s store site, the Bank New South Wales is left, a Café, the BNZ and Maddison & Co – note the ladder against the gas street lantern on cast iron post with man working and two men further up standing on the middle of the railway line, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Advertisement]
ROACH BROS.,
The Largest and most Up-to-date Stock of
Drapery, Mercery, etc., in Hastings
FIRST CLASS MILLINERY.
DRESSMAKING DEPARTMENT UNDER THE MANAGEMENT OF EXCELLENT MODISTE.
ROACH BROS.   HASTINGS.

[Advertisement]
TELEPHONE 67.
Saddlery of All Kinds
MADE TO ORDER.
Trotting Gear a Speciality
LAND AND HEIGHWAY,
Saddlers, Harness, and Collar Makers.
Corner of Heretaunga and Market Streets, Hastings.
ALL SORTS HORSE BOOTS MADE TO ORDER.

Roach Brothers, on Heretaunga St west and Land & Heighway, Saddlers corner Heretaunga St west and Market St sth

[Photo]

1906, A photographic postcard showing Heretaunga St west from Market St looking towards the Bank New South Wales left, Harry Bones Imperial Café now opposite H. K. Thomson Draper, with the BNZ and Maddison & Co, the railway line with tall fire bell tower with the new Hastings Hotel at right, also shows the Grand Hotel distant left side being erected, by Muir & Moodie

Henry Seymour Bone’s Imperial Café moved to smaller single story premises on Heretaunga St west in June 1905, until the fire May 1907 after which he ran the Ranfurly Private Hotel in Warren St, while Frank Findley ran the new Café on this site

Page 80

[Photo]

1906, A hand coloured photographic postcard showing Heretaunga St west from Market St looking towards the Bank New South Wales left, Harry Bones Imperial Café now opposite H. K. Thomson Draper, BNZ and Maddison & Co, the railway line with tall fire bell tower with the new Hastings Hotel at right, by Muir & Moodie

[Photo]

1906, Central Heretaunga St west showing the Hastings Hotel, Roach Bothers, and the old wooden Pacific Hotel with veranda just before it was rebuilt, Williams & Kettle is at right on Becks corner before the fire, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Page 81

[Advertisement]
BOX 34.   ‘PHONE 199
ESTABLISHED 1892.
MANSON & CO.
LIMITED.
Corner Market Street and Avenue Road,
HASTINGS.
SAW AND PLANING MILLS, TIKOKINO, H. B.
And TE KINGA, WESTLAND.
Large Stocks of Seasoned Timber
Including Totara, Matai, Rimu, White Pine, Kauri, etc.
Also a Large Stock of Mouldings, including
Pressed Mouldings,
SASHES, DOORS, etc.
Importers of Australian Timber
In any quantities.
Posts, Strainers, and House Blocks.
Timber not in stock procured at the shortest notice from our own Mills.
The whole being under our own personal supervision we guarantee both Town and Country Clients every satisfaction.

[Advertisement]
BUSINESS NOTICE.
To the General Public.
W. M. HAY & SON,
Builders & Contractors,
HASTINGS
SOLICIT A SHARE OF YOUR SUPPORT.
GOOD WORKMANSHIP GUARANTEED.
SHOP FRONTS AND FITTINGS A SPECIALITY.
Good Workmen sent to any part of the District.
ESTIMATES GIVEN FOR ALL KIND OF WORK.
Workshops: Market Street.
TELEPHONE 284

Manson & Co Ltd, Timber merchant, corner of Market St nth and Avenue Rd west and W. M. Hay & Son, Building Contractor on Market St

1906 October, A new St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church opened with a 105 ft spire on Market St west, built of wood on a cement base, the old St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church was used as a Hall.

[Photo]

The Andrew Carnegie Hastings Public Library building in Market St south constructed of brick in Queen Anne style, opened September 1907 with hitching post on the old 1⁄4 acre site of James Boyle’s Hastings Athenaeum reading room, which the Borough Council took over for public use in 1901, and the adjoining Gentleman’s Club. Both the Club & Library were designed by Napier architect Mr C. A. Vautier

Page 82

[Photos]

The Andrew Carnegie Hastings Public Library building in Market St south, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Advertisement]
BOOTH, MACDONALD & CO., Hastings,
Efficiency, Economy, Easy Starting, Reliability, Durability, Easy Running.
THE “WHITE” OIL ENGINE, Excels Alll Others for
SIMPLICITY!   SAFETY!   SATISFACTION!

Booth, MacDonold [MacDonald] & Co, Market St sth, The White Oil Engine

[Photo]

Charles Hart over Tattersall’s on Market Street sth opposite the old Presbyterian Church Hall, photo possibly taken soon after James Heron took over the business in 1905, shows man and a small child in a horse drawn carriage and staff in front of the building with young tree. A Mr Alex C. Lean was previously listed at Tattersall’s 1896.

Page 83

[Photo]

1906, Charles Hart’s Tattersall’s extended stables premises on Market St sth, with avenue of larger trees

[Photo]

1907c, Charles Hart’s Tattersall’s extended stables on Market St sth, with avenue of large trees.

Shows Mr Guy Shaw and family leaving for Ngamatia [Ngamatea] Station in land [Inland] Patea – coach driver H. Painter. Later this became Graham & Gebbie Livery Stables

1906 July, Poss [Possibly] C. McKenzie’s Flax Mill at Omahu, by O. R. Bostock

[Photo]

Oak Avenue grew from sack of Acorns. Around 1871, a merchant in London received an order from the Colony of New Zealand that included two sacks of Acorns – which were duly dispatched by sailing ship. One sack was delivered to Canterbury and the other to Hawke’s Bay. The last Superintendent – Mr J. D. Ormond was responsible for planting of the scenic carriage way called Oak Avenue with 300 English Oak seedlings two miles from Hastings leading to the two-storied Ormond weekend residence called the ‘Karamu Homestead’ – as they spent most of their time in Wellington or Napier. Mr Ormond took a keen interest in the grounds and obtained many plants and trees from around the world. He planted Wisteria around the Homestead. The Oak Avenue canopy provides a refreshing shaded archway in the summer

Page 84

heat. In 1924, Karamu was subdivided for closer settlement and Oak Avenue was declared a public road and dedicated to the Hawke’s Bay County with a legal undertaking that the tress would never be cut. The other renowned Poplar Avenue in Hastings which ran along Pakowhai Rd from Elwood Rd to the Pakowhai Bridge was demolished due to the extreme growth and demise of the Poplar’s.

[Plan – UNRESERVED PROPERTY SALE, HASTINGS]

1906 May “The Nest” property for sale on the corner of King St sth and Eastbourne St west shows Lots 1 2 3, a large dwelling, stables and shed.

1906 October, A new Presbyterian church with a lofty spire of 96ft. is nearing completion at Hastings, the architect – C. Tilleard Natusch.

THE FOLLOWING ARIAL [AERIAL] VIEWS OF HASTINGS TAKEN LATE 1906 FROM THE NEW TALL PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH STEEPLE UNDER CONSTRUCTION AT THE TIME

[Photo]

Page 85

1906, Market St sth at right corner with an avenue of trees looking north/west over Eastbourne St west towards Mahora with the Gentlemen’s club, the Princes Theatre at top left on Heretaunga St west, the large tree centre near King St sth – note the scaffolding timber sticking out at left with Tattersall’s Stables below, by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

[Photo]

1906, Market St sth, looking north over an avenue of trees, by Brown & Ross

[Photo]

1906, Market St sth, Hastings an avenue of trees looking north down on the old Presbyterian Church Hall foreground J. A. Pothan Coachbuilder’s depot at Eastbourne St west corner, the Gentleman’s Club and the new Carnegie Library, the old wooden Pacific Hotel on left side – note BNZ and Williams & Kettle seed store frontage on Heretaunga St before it burnt down in May 1907, the Hastings Hotel and washing on line opposite Holts timber yard mid left, taken from the Presbyterian Church steeple, by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

Page 86

[Photo]

1906, Hastings looking east over Railway Road towards Knight Brothers timber yard, with Eastbourne St west, the Murdock and Cohen houses – Courthouse and first Police Station with enclosed jail, horse trough and outhouse centre buildings in foreground, next to the Hastings Bowling Club & Tennis Court with flag pole on the corner of Lyndon Rd and Railway Rd, Eastbourne St east now runs through rear of the tall white mill shed in timber yard on the other side of the railway line and the land to the right is now part of Civic Square with possibly the Albert Livery & Bait Stables behind on Karamu Path Rd South and Ross Dysart building and Alfred A. George’s printing at 211 Karamu Rd before Kings Theatre was built, the Grand Hotel under construction is to the top left, taken from the Presbyterian Church steeple by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

[Photo]

1906, Hastings looking east along Lyndon Rd, across Railway Rd and Railway line and Karamu Path Rd, with Bernard McCormick’s residence at 207 Lyndon Rd east, now HDC, a large two-storied possibly a boarding-house behind on Warren St, the Catholic Church and old Church boys classroom in distant left, with the Hastings Bowling Club & Tennis Court pavilion roof left, on the corner of Lyndon Rd and Railway Rd next to the Police Station, taken from the Presbyterian Church steeple by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

Page 87

[Photo]

1906, Hastings looking south east over Railway line and Railway Rd with Drill Hall built 1902 (but later had 1903 date added) left side along Southampton St, with the old Central State Schools, the teacher’s residence on the corner of Karamu Rd and the wooden Hastings District High School buildings opposite the gas works (established 1887) the large white building is possibly Williams & Kettle Grain Store. The new Karamu Path Rd was later extended south past the now Hastings Boys High School to Murdock Rd in 1920, taken from the Presbyterian Church steeple by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

[Photo]

1906, Hastings Knight Brothers timber yard – no trees in yard, looking southwest across the railway line to the later Courthouse corner and Police station on Railway Rd and Eastbourne St west corner toward the Presbyterian Church steeple by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

Page 88

[Plan]

1906 December, D. C. Thorley’s Duke Street sections 4 & 5 for sale shows E. H. Williams, G. Rochfort and J. Morrison sections

1907 March, The contract has been let for Mr Scott’s new residence at Hastings at £1250. With the exception of a recreation room on the first floor the house is a ground-floor one, with a flat garden roof accessible from the recreation room and surrounded with embattled parapets. The Architect – R. [C[ Tilleard Natusch and contractor – S. Tong.

[Photo]

1907 May, The catastrophic blaze which broke out in the Williams & Kettle block, shows this train stopped – earlier the firemen had to reel in hoses they had laid across the line to let the mail express through delaying fire-fighting efforts and causing wider destruction, shows a crowd lined along track near the embers, with the old Beecroft windmill spinning southwards, by York Studios, Brown & Ross, AWN

Page 89

[Photo]

1907 May, Scene of Williams & Kettle fire. The new Straker steam fire fighting engine was used, Williams & Kettle, Maddison & Co store was owned by Mr little, the BNZ and Bones Imperial Cafe were all destroyed by York Studios taken from the Grand Hotel shows the old Beecroft windmill in front with F. L. Bone agent on windtail. Note – the new Pacific Hotel still not completed, by York Studios, Brown & Ross, AWN

[Photo]

1907 May, Central Hastings – scene of Williams & Kettle fire taken from the tall telegraph pole Heretaunga St by Brown & Ross. Williams & Kettle, Maddison & Co store owned by Mr little, J. W. Gower’s Cafe, E. H. Leigh’s chemist were all destroyed, while the BNZ facade standing to left and the Imperial Cafe were gutted, by Brown & Ross

Page 90

[Photo]

1907, A photographic postcard looking down Heretaunga St west, the Hastings Hotel left on the corner of Railway Rd and Heretaunga St west. Further along the street on the left is NZ Clothing Factory (Hallensteins Brothers) Roach Brothers and the new Pacific Hotel, rebuilding the Cafe, BNZ and Piccadilly Tea Rooms; McGlashan’s building after the May 1907 fire at right

[Photo]

1907, The Bank of New South Wales on Heretaunga St west and Market St with Gas lantern on cast iron post, and rebuilding the Cafe building and Bank of New Zealand after the May 1907 fire

The building recently erected in Heretaunga Street, Hastings for the Bank of New Zealand is one of the finest of its kind we are assured. The architect was Mr D. B. Frame of Napier and the builders were Messrs Bull Bros., of Napier, the cost was £5000.

Page 91

[Photo]

A later view of the corner at Heretaunga St west and Market St still with Gas lantern, The Bank of New South Wales, the Cafe with name painted over, the Bank of New Zealand, to Jones Cycles, looking towards the Dainticure Pork Butchery and the Grand Hotel completed distant, by Frederick George Radcliffe

1907 August, One of the most impressive services held in St. Matthew’s Church for a long time was at the funeral of Henry James Fairbrother, who died from the effects of his horse falling with him while riding in the Trentham races. His body was brought to Hastings by two fellow riders and buried on Sunday August 18th. Everything in racing is on a large scale and the cortege consisted of over fifty carriages besides horsemen and walkers. The church itself was crowded with men, horsey men, so quiet and so reverent in their demeanour, touched with the accident. Fairbrother was not a member of our Communion, but the desire to be brought into St Matthew’s was recognition of kindly feeling towards the vicar, a compliment which he very much appreciated.

October 1907 Mr A. McGlashan will sell at his auction rooms on account of Mrs H. P. Cohen, the property having a frontage to Heretaunga and Southland streets, being sections 7, 8, and 9 on the plan of Hastings. Hyman Phinieas [Phineas] Cohen of Napier died in September 1907 aged 70.

1907 December, St Matthew’s (Anglican) Church, Hastings – The marriage of Mr Barton Hobbs and Miss Nellie Caulton caused more than usual interest here. Both young people have spent most of their lives in Hastings and both in a way have been prominent. Mr Hobbs was an enthusiastic volunteer, working his way from private to lieutenant and taking several prizes, notably the North Island silver medal. Miss Caulton has been leading soprano in our choir for many years and most liberal in lending her talent for a good cause. Hastings friends were lavish in their kindness to them, showing them hospitality, bestowing wedding gifts, decorating the church most tastefully, the choir rendering the service with the greatest care and the large congregation joining heartily in the service and offering we trust prayers for their future welfare. The Vicar desires to record his deep gratitude for the very warm feeling shown on this occasion of the first marriage in his family.

1908 January, St Matthew’s (Anglican) Church, Hastings is being completely renovated. The Clergy: Vicar Rev John Hobbs and the Rev J. L. A. Kayll. Two days after Christmas we travelled by traction engine and trolleys to Riverslea (kindly placed at our disposal by Mr Flanders) which proved an ideal place for the Sunday school picnic. A gentleman connected with racing had given £300 to build a club room for church youths. Plans of a building would be prepared and a meeting called shortly to consider them. We hope to have the room ready by the winter. St Matthews church is being completely renovated fortunately the schoolroom makes a fairly comfortable temporary church, as the steamer which is bringing our organ is not due in Napier till the end of February, and it will be well on in March before we can again use the Church again. The Rev John Hobbs left in July 1910.

Page 92

[Advertisement]
H. G. P. MORTENSEN
Practical
Watchmaker & Jeweller,
Heretaunga Street,
HASTINGS.
Telephone 357.
P.O. Box 115.
Has opened in the premises adjoining G. F. Roach’s Store in Hastings, with a large Stock of
Watches, Clocks, Jewellery,
and
E. P. Ware.
Stock consisting of Ladies and Gent’s Gold and Silver Watches, Gem Rings, Band and Wedding Rings, Gem Bracelets and Bangles,
Gem, Pearl and Plain Gold Brooches, Muff Chains, Gent’s Gold Alberts and a large selection of Silver Goods.
Work of every description will be done on the Premises and Guaranteed.
H. G. P. MORTENSEN

[Advertisement]
Super-grade Sewing Machines
Manufactured in One Quality Only – THE BEST
THE Beale TORPEDO
Duplicate Parts Always Procurable.   Liberal Allowances for Old Machines,
Catalogues on Application.   Easy Terms of Payment.
Sole Importer for Hawke’s Bay,
CHAS. G. CUNNOLD, Heretaunga Street, HASTINGS
Agents for London and Berlin Pianos and Organs.

1908, H. C. P Mortensen, Watchmaker opened next to G. F. Roach, Heretaunga St west near King St and Beale Torpedo, Charles G. Cunnold, Heretaunga St

[Photo]

1908, Central Heretaunga St west shows the new Piccadilly Tea Rooms and McGlashan’s Auctioneers Ltd signage after the 1907 Williams & Kettle fire with the tall fire bell tower, the Hastings Hotel, Roach Bthrs [Brothers], the new Pacific Hotel, with a gathering outside the Princess Theatre distant left and tall old telegraph pole southside of railway track with lamp and multiple wires crossing, horse carriage traffic driving all over the road

The Piccadilly Tearooms closed around 1912, later became the Club Tearooms. The Dept. of Agriculture and Rabbit Board occupied offices in the building as did dentist Francis James O’Keefe and Mrs Mabel Mardon ran tearooms. John Edward Jones opened his cycle shop in the building – his father Richard Wm. Jones had a motor engine and garage which opened into the alleyway into the centre off the Heretaunga St frontage, many other tenants in the building were – Jim Lamberton & Co furniture shop was downstairs in 1910, G & H Thompson Furnishings 1923, Jno A Miller Land Agent, Misses G A & K Sweetman tea rooms, a violin teacher called Madam Leleivre [Le Lievre] and Theosophical Society.

Page 93

[Photo]

1909, Heretaunga St west, McGlashan’s Hastings Auction Mart & furniture shop, Piccadilly Tea Rooms, further along Mrs Harding Lady Hairdresser can promise ladies a shampoo, massage and manicure, with the Bank of New Zealand and Cafe, there is large roof signage above in the next block – Tombs & Grubb, Undertakers, by Wilson’s Real Photographers

[Advertisement]
We are MANUFACTURERS of every
Description of Furniture.
TOMBS & GRUBB
Corner of Heretaunga & Market Streets,
Hastings.
UNDERTAKERS.
Sole Manufacturers of The “PERFECT” Lounges & Settees.

[Advertisement]
We are MANUFACTURERS of every
Description of Furniture.
TOMBS & GRUBB
Corner Heretaunga & Market Streets
Hastings..
SOLE MANUFACTURERS OF
The “PERFECT” Lounges and Settees.
Tombs & Grubb, Undertakers, corner of Heretaunga St west and Market St nth

[Photo]

1909, Central Heretaunga St west shows the Piccadilly Tea Rooms and McGlashan’s signage after the 1907 Williams & Kettle fire with the removal of the tall fire bell tower to the new Fire Station on Market St. The tall old telegraph pole south side of railway track left with Hastings Hotel behind, Roach Bothers, the new brick Pacific Hotel and Princess Theatre in distant

1908 February, Williams and Kettle’s old Hastings Flour Mill was demolished.

Page 94

1908 August, Edward John Lonergan died aged 36 [29] at Hastings from the effects of drinking “Tarmonia” manufactured from coal tar by heating which contains a large quantity of carbolic acid. Dr Penrose Barcroft deposed that he saw the deceased on the 3rd inst. [instance] who was suffering from a heavy cold. Had indulged rather freely in liquor through the death of his father – William Lonergan died earlier in August 1908. Must have drunk about the third of a bottle, which held about a pint and a half, quite sufficient to kill him. He was unconscious, breathing badly and he could scarcely detect his pulse. Dr McKibbin was then sent for. Sergeant Smart said that Mr Gillespie chemist had supplied him with the following. William Kershaw undertaker Hastings said John Collins applied to him for a bottle of disinfectant. The “Tarmonia” he procured from F. L. Bone ironmonger. Mrs Ellen England and Mary Curry were sisters of deceased and Peter Lonergan, brother.

1908 August, FIRE AT HASTINGS – RATS AND MATCHES. Rats proved directly responsible for all outbreak of fire in the two-storied residence of Mr Morris Mason. Smoke was noticed issuing from a cupboard under the stairs at 1 o’clock last night, and the fire was promptly subdued. Under the lumber was discovered a rat’s nest in which was an ignited box of wax vestas bearing marks of rats’ teeth.

[Advertisement]
T. L. Burden & Co.
Painters & Decorators,
A Full Range of Painters’ Materials Always on Hand.
NOTE THE ADDRESS
NEAR PRINCESS THEATRE,
HASTINGS.

T. L. Burden & Co, Painter & Decorator near the Princess Theatre Heretaunga St west

[Advertisement]
Phillips, Wright & Co.
Art Furnishers,
Upholsterers, Builders and Joiners
TELEPHONE NO. 122
Heretaunga Street, Hastings.

[Advertisement.]
Telephone 122
PHILLIPS, WRIGHT & CO.,
Heretaunga Street, Hastings.
ART FURNISHERS, UPHOLSTERS, BUILDERS, AND JOINERS
Picture Framing a Speciality.

Phillips, Wright & Co, Art Furnisher on Heretaunga St west, later beside Everybody’s Theatre

1909 April, FIRE AT HASTINGS – At midnight a fire was discovered in Phillips and Wright’s furniture factory. In 30 minutes the place was in ruins. The fire spread to Hallinan’s (blacksmith) cottage and the inmates were rescued by the police. The insurances on the factory not unavailable but cover less than half the loss, which is considerable. Hallinan’s cottage was insured for £150 in the Phoenix and the furniture for £75 in the Standard. The total insurances for Phillips and Wright’s building, stock, and machinery are £1000 in the North Queensland office. The loss is estimated at £2000.

[Newspaper notice]

J. GARNETT’S
SAWING, PLANING, MOULDING SASH & DOOR FACTORY.
J. GARNETT has much pleasure in informing the Residents of Hawke’s Bay that he has supplied a long felt want by importing the Latest Wood-Working Machinery, and is now prepared to execute all orders for any wood work with despatch.
A LARGE STOCK OF WELL-SEASONED TIMBER ALWAYS ON HAND.
WESTPORT AND NEWCASTLE COAL IN STOCK.
Dry Matai and Mairi[Maire] Firewood – A Large Stock – Many Lengths.

1909, J. Garnett’s sash & door factory in Eastbourne St east – later Women’s Rest site

1909, FIRE AT HASTINGS – Garnett’s sash & door factory caught fire, but his timber yard in Eastbourne St east between Karamu Rd and the Railway line was saved. James Garnett was elected on to the Borough Council in April.

Page 95

1909, Ernest Whyte Garnett married Emily May McAuslin.

[Photo]

Ernest Whyte Garnett

1910 March, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A residence owned by E. Stevenson and occupied by T. Walsh was totally destroyed last night. Insurances: House £250 in the State Office, furniture £l50 in the New Zealand Office. Walsh lost everything, including about £30 in cash.

1910 March, weddings – Mr H. Kemp, of Hastings and Miss Emily Tucker, third daughter of Mr R. Tucker, of Havelock at the Presbyterian Church by the Rev. P. Ramsay of Hastings, assisted by the Rev. Carter of Otago. And Mr G. F. Wilson of Willesden London, and Miss Harman, eldest daughter of Mr E. J. Harman ” The Acacias” Quarry Road, Hastings by Rev J. Hobbs at St Matthew’s Church.

1910 August, Mrs Hulda [Huldah] Francis Elizabeth Price died aged 51, born Herefordshire England, she arrived with her husband John James Price to Napier in the ship Potosia 28 years ago and came to Hastings. Twenty one years ago she was appointed librarian at the old Hastings Library – the Athenaeum, she was a member of St Matthew’s choir, the Hastings Amateur Operatic Society and the Harmonic Society. She leaves two sons, aged 18 and 21 years, a sister Mrs Locke, Dannevirke and a brother in England. – Unknown if they were related to William McLeod’s second wife 1910 Fanny Price, Brinkley’s older brother?

[Photo]

1910, Heretaunga St west from Market St looking towards the railway line, along the right hand side of the street – Hastings Hotel, the HB Clothing Company, J. W. Bates (chemist) Herbert Knight, chemist’s assistant, in the employ of J. W. Bates 1912. Hughes dentist, a saddler, Roach Brothers (drapery, millinery and clothing outfitter) a bookseller and stationer, Thomson (clothier and draper), Foster Brook, new signage for Plumbers and Timber on the A. H. Wilson & Harvey building and the Grand Hotel distant left, by F. G. Radcliffe.

Page 96

[Photo]

1910, Heretaunga St west from King St looking east, shows the Novelty Depot and a hairdresser and old Roach’s in next block on right

[Photo]

Graham Brothers – large Premier Stables at 351 Heretaunga St west, next to Thompson’s Butchery old site before Gebbie joined

Page 97

[Photo]

1910, Premier Stables Graham & Gebbie at 351 Heretaunga St west, with Motor Car for Hire. Text on building: Royal Mail Coach Leaves for Sherenden, Tuanui [Tunanui], Glenross…. Mrs Jones Art Needlework & Fancy Goods was next to the later London Pie Shop opposite Roach’s. Graham & Gebbie later acquired Tattersall’s stables in Market St sth near the old Fire Station

[Photo]

1912 c, Heretaunga St west at King St with Gallagher’s & Co Provisional Produce at old Thompson Broths Butchers building near left with Premier Stables Graham & Gebbie at 351 and John Fells London Pie Shop further down and the Grand Hotel distant, with G. F. Roach old department store at near right, there is a delivery trike/trolly near the car on right and the Novelty Depot further down, by Frederick George Radcliffe

Page 98

[Photo]

1910 flooding in Nelson St Hastings

[Photo]

1909, The Masonic Hall & Oddfellows Hall looking south from St Aubyn St looking along Market St nth lined with an avenue of trees

[Advertisement]
P. W. SAMPSON
AND COMPANY,
COUNTY GARAGE.
Hastings.
Waipukurau.
MOTOR CAR ENGINEERS.
Agents for
“FIAT,” “STAR,” “VAUXHALL.” And “ENFIELD” Motor Cars. Indent Agents for all Makes.
Write for Particulars before buying your new car.
Write for List of Second Hand Cars for Sale
Large Selection of Motor Accessories always on hand.
All sizes Dunlop Bar Tread Covers always in stock.
All sizes Dunlop Tubes always in Stock.
We specialize On Repairs.
Our Staff of Workmen are thoroughly Competent: They are quick at detecting what is wrong and are capable of quickly putting right what is wrong.
Telephones: Hastings, No. 434; Waipukurau No. 28.

P. W. Sampson & Co, Motor Car Engineers at Hastings for a short while

Page 99

[Photo]

1910, D. E. Davis & S. Boyd’s wooden show room & country garage poss [possibly] at 128 Market St nth looking up Avenue Rd west where they first operated, they were also listed at 300 Queen St next to Stubbs & Beck Co Coachbuilders, roof signage for previous tenant P. W. Sampson – Percy Wallace Sampson a Commercial Traveller from Waipukurau. The building was purchased by HB Farmers Co, so Davis & Boyd erected a new building on Station St nth

[Photo]

1909 March, Market St sth, one of the leading Hastings streets with an avenue and the new and old Presbyterian Churches, AWN by Whalley & Co

Page 100

A later view of Market St Sth Avenue and the new Presbyterian Church, by P.C. & F. G. Radcliffe

1911 February, Mrs Elizabeth Cleaver an old resident died aged 80 at the residence of her daughter, Mrs. C. Harrison, in Market St.
Dr. Barcroft was sent for, Dr. De Lisle had attended the deceased some twelve months ago, she leaves a husband, one daughter.

[Photo]

Heretaunga St west past Market St looking east shows new brick Land & Heighway building with coach right outside the Pacific Hotel

[Photo]

1912c, A postcard with a view of Market St looking south taken from Heretaunga St west – shows the new St Andrew’s Church tall steeple distant left with an avenue of trees, the Gentlemen’s Club, Carnegie Library and the new Pacific Hotel at right with signage for George Land & Simeon Heighway’s saddle and harness maker’s new brick building near left and the Ngaturi Luncheon & Tea Rooms, and J. A. Pothan Coachbuilder’s depot former Faulknor 1899 at Eastbourne St west corner, by W. H. Bowler

[Photo]

Page 101

J. A. Pothan, Hastings Coach Factory depot on Market St sth and Eastbourne St west corner – he bought out W. G. Faulknor’s coach factory

[Photo]

J. A. Pothan & staff of the Hastings Coach Factory depot on Market St sth and Eastbourne St west corner

The Hastings Coach Factory was established by the late W. George Faulknor in 1877 on Market St and was acquired by Mr. J. A. Pothan in 1899. At the rear of the main building there is a large show-room, twenty feet by thirty-two feet, and considerable yard accommodation. The manufacturing plant is modern and up to date in every respect, and is driven by a powerful gas engine. The workshop contains five forges and anvils, and, in addition to coach-building, a large amount of implement making and repairing, horse-shoeing, and general blacksmithing work is executed. Wagons, drays, lorries, dog-carts, buggies, sulkies, and bradlies are turned out in large numbers, and coaches and brakes are also built. Mr. Pothan is sole agent for the Massey-Harris farm implements, twine, and oil.

[Photo]

Market St sth, looking towards Eastbourne St west intersection, shows the new St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church with its magnificent 105 ft spire and the old St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church Hall without a steeple, empty section where Goodwin’s Hall and G. Faulknor Coach builder and J. A. Pothan were.

[Photo]

Pge 102

1910, Central Heretaunga St west on a wet day showing the new Piccadilly Tea Rooms and David Whyte & Co House Furnisher, the tall old telegraph pole south side of railway track left with Hastings Hotel and Daniel O’Reilly still listed as proprietor but shows (s) where Diamond’s name was? Roach Bothers, the new Pacific Hotel, the Library in Market St and Princess Theatre in distant

[Photo]

1910, A hand coloured photographic postcard showing Heretaunga St west, with the new Piccadilly Tea Rooms and David Whyte & Co, House Furnisher after the 1907 Williams & Kettle fire. The tall old telegraph pole south side of railway track left with Hastings Hotel behind with part of brick Library at left, Roach Bthrs and Princess Theatre distant, by Clapham series

[Advertisement]
For Artistic Jewellery
Everything in the line of Presents!
Go to –
C. S. DUNNINGHAM
WATCHMAKER & JEWELLER
HERETAUNGA STREET
HASTINGS
Watches, Clocks, Wedding and Engagement Rings, Bangles, etc., in all styles and at all prices. Repairs by Skilled Workmen.

1911 September

1912 January, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A five-roomed house owned and occupied by Thos. Mulholland, was destroyed by fire at Terrace Road at 12.15 this morning. Very little was saved. The insurances on the house were £200 and on the furniture £50, both in the Standard Fire Office.

1912 January, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A cottage was destroyed by fire in Omahu road Hastings, in the vicinity of the Frimley Canning Factory, contained three rooms, and was only built some twelve months ago. The fire broke out in the kitchen and had obtained a good hold before it was detected. A bucket brigade endeavoured to subdue the flames, but then efforts were nullified owing to the inadequacy of the water supply and the house was burnt to the ground. Most of the furniture was saved, but many valuable documents were lost in the flames. Mr and Mrs Neilson and family owned and occupied the house which was insured for £150 in the Alliance Office. The same office held a risk of £175 over the furniture. Mr Neilson states that he is a heavy loser over and above the insurance.

1912 May, Charles King who took an overdose of sleeping-draught at Stortford Lodge and was removed to Nurse O’Callaghan’s private hospital where he died .

1912 May, E. Arthur Grenside was licensee of the Stortford Lodge Hotel, and Lily Gell a housemaid and Margaret Ruddick a cook were employed at the Stortford Lodge Hotel

Page 103

1913 May, Mayor James William Garnett resident of Market St sth died at Nurse O’Callaghan’s Private Hospital in Hastings aged 57. Early on Friday evening April 25th Mr Garnett was taken suddenly ill and was removed to the private hospital, where he underwent an operation for appendicitis and peritonitis. His condition at once became grave, but with medical skill and constant attention he made satisfactory improvement until Sunday when he suffered a severe relapse. He was elected to the Hastings Borough Council and 2 yrs later to the Mayoralty in 1911. His wife Hannah Garnett nee Wilson died May 1942 at Hastings aged 85.

1913 May, Mr and Mrs Edward D. Collison of Claremont, Longlands celebrated their golden wedding. They were married in May 1863 at St John’s Church, Leicester before Mr Collison left for NZ with shipmate Mr W. L. England, Mrs Collision [Collison] followed two months later. They have two sons Edward and William both residents of Hastings and four daughters.

1913 October, C. H. Wilson and Co give a final reminder of the auction sale they are holding in their land salesroom. Station Street, Hastings, re the estate of the late Mr James Garnett. They will offer valuable town sections and houses. Sections in Hastings are becoming very scarce and the sale being in one of the most progressive parts of the town will be eagerly sought after.

[Photo]

1912, Heretaunga St west showing the Hastings Hotel left and Piccadilly Tea Rooms and David Whyte & Co, House Furnisher right, by AWN

[Photo]

Page 104

1914c, Heretaunga St west looking west from the railway towards Market St, shows roadwork reconstruction using Shell Rock poss [possibly] sourced from Fernhill, with traction engine outside David White House Furnisher and Jones cycles and the Cafe

1914 April, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A 60-h.p. Napier motor car owned by Messrs Graham and Gebbie, livery stable keepers, caught fire on the road near Pakipaki last night through the friction of the foot brake igniting the benzene. Only the driver was aboard. The car was completely destroyed. It was insured for £400.

1914 April, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A fire occurred in the centre of the town at an early hour this morning resulting in a shop occupied by Mr L. G. Forster (fruiterer) and Mr John Fells London Pie Shop being gutted. The buildings were owned by Mr C. F. Roach and were insured for £375. Mr Forster’s stock was insured for £250 and Mr Fells had no insurance.

[Photos]

1914, St Matthew’s new concrete Anglican Church extension taken from Lyndon Rd west and 1920’s covered with ivy, taken from Lyndon Rd west, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

1920’s, shows flag and large trees growing along Lyndon Rd side from King St sth corner with cars parked, Clapham Series

In 1926 when the Rev Hobbs returned to Hastings where he was instrumental in getting a new Anglican Church Mission Hall built at Parkvale called St Barnabus [Barnabas] which was used for services and Sunday school. In May 1935 they planted trees and shrubs around the Mission Hall boundary to mark Royal Jubilee. In 1965 St Barnabus was moved to Ada St and St Peter’s.

Sidenote – large shading trees grew along this Lyndon Rd west boundary fence in the late 1950’s and possible another wooden lych-gate was erected with concrete path to the side entrance , the lych-gate may have been removed in the late 1960’s due to the dark, damp and moss laden causing wet rot or a storm tree branch falling causing damage. There was also St Matthew’s Sunday School Hall behind on Eastbourne St west.

1915 February, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A fire last night damaged beyond repair shops owned by Messrs Kilford and Ebbett and occupied by Mr Tustin (painter) and Mr Moore (second-hand furniture dealer). The stocks were ruined. An adjoining shop owned by the same firm, and occupied by Yon Lee, silk mercer, was scorched and the stock damaged by water. The fire had a good hold when it was discovered, but the brigade had it quickly under control. Insurance:- Building, £1000, Tustin’s stock £600. Mr Moore estimates his loss at £30 above the insurance.

Page 105

1915 March, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A six-roomed house owned and occupied by C. D. Anderson was destroyed by fire yesterday. The insurances on the house were £350 in the National Office, and on the furniture £100 in the London and Lancashire Office.

[Photo]

1915 November, Roach Brothers new Mission style ferro-concrete department store opened with plate-glass frontage of 100 feet on the corner of Heretaunga Street west and King St opened taken 1920c from the side of the Cosy De Luxe Theatre, by Steffano Webb

Roach Brothers big new departmental store, which comprises Drapery, Mercery, Ladies’ Tailoring, Dressmaking, Millinery, Carpets, Linoleums, Furnishings, Ironmongery, and Groceries. The four entrances from Heretaunga St open into a 10 ft. wide corridor, which extends the whole frontage of the building. From this corridor approach to the several departments is given by 6 ft. wide sub-corridors, which are again crossed by two 6 ft. wide-corridors, parallel to the main corridor, thus dividing the whole ground floor space departments into numerous fitments, giving customers an opportunity of moving from one to another. From the centre of the china department a very wide and handsome staircase leads to a landing and then to the right and left on to the front floor. On the southern side (top floor) are the ironmongery and fancy departments. The central portion, facing Heretaunga St., is occupied by china and crockery. Electric light and power for working a passenger lift and cash delivery service. The passenger lift is to be of the latest automatic type operated by the pressure of a small push button and rendered entirely safe by the simple fact that so long as any of the gates remain open the lift cannot possibly move.

HASTINGS EAST

1909 January, A peculiar accident befell Mr Thomas Brinson snr this morning. Mr Brinson left his home in Avenue Road and when turning into the Tomoana road saw a cow charging towards him. He leant against a fence to allow the infuriated animal to pass, but she charged at him and tossed him over the fence, in doing so one of her horns struck him on the forehead inflicting a nasty gash. Mr Charles Brausche who was proceeding along the road on his bicycle noticed the animal making its way towards a child which had wandered on to the road. He immediately made off towards the little one and luckily was in time to place it inside a fence for safety. He then mounted his machine and with the cow in hot pursuit, put sufficient distance between them to make matters safe for him. Mr Brinson, who fortunately escaped serious injury, was attended by Dr Copland.

1909 February, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A lire [fire] last night, destroyed a six roomed house owned by J. G. Hill and occupied by Mrs H. Christian. The insurance on the building amounts to £300 and on the furniture to £100. It is stated that the furniture was removed from the house yesterday. The origin of the fire is a mystery. No one was in the house when the fire started.

1909 March, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A fire last night started in the stables at the rear of and adjoining a block of shops fronting Station Street. The back portions of the shops ignited, but the brigade succeeded in beating back the flames. The fire spread from shed to shed and cleared a lot of old buildings which were a menace to the town. The stables were owned by a syndicate and insured for £400 in the Commercial Union. Fitzpatrick’s billiard saloon (damage, £90 only) was insured for £400 in the London and Lancashire.

Page 106

1909 March, Wedding – Mr Edward [Edwin] Fischer, son of Mr F. A. Fischer electrical engineer of Napier, to Miss Nellie Brinson, only daughter of Mr Thomas Brinson of Hastings at the Wesley Church yesterday afternoon by the Rev W. Tinsley.

1909 May, FIRE AT HASTINGS – Messrs W. L. England and Son’ grain store in Queen Street, containing a large quantity of hay, grain, and seeds, has been burning since 10.30 tonight.

1909 November, Mr Joseph Gigg of Hastings aged 27 died at the Napier Hospital. During the past two years Mr Gigg has worked as carter for Messrs Milburn Bros and while he was unloading timber at the railway yards he strained his heart. A week later he took to his bed and it was not until the first of this month that it was found necessary to have him removed to the Napier Hospital where he died.

1909 November, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A nine-roomed house in Maraekakaho road, the owner of which was Mrs Geo.[George] Smith and the occupier Mr William Sinclair, was destroyed by fire at two o’clock this morning. The origin of the fire is unknown. The building was insured for £250 in the North British and the furniture for £120 in the Queensland office.

[Photo]

1909, AWN Panoramic view of Station St and Heretaunga St east shows woman passenger descending the Havelock Bus at H. Webber Optician & Chemist with Brown & Ross Studio above and Beecroft’s old windmill behind, new rebuilt restaurant building Fish Mart, the new brick PO yet to be built and F. Cassin new brick building distant left, the Grand Hotel and cycles with Iron on Henry Williams Hardware & Brushware building at right, by Whalley & Co

Ernest Albert Shattky b: 1892 Victoria had arrived with his parents as an Infant, was educated at Hastings, began his apprenticeship with H. J. Webber Chemist in 1906, he qualified and became a partner, 1930 he went to London for further studies and was in Melbourne when the 1931 Quake struck, he returned to rebuild the business and was joined by two of his sons, he died 1962.

[Photo]

1909 June, Heretaunga St east looking east, before Westerman’s, shows H. Williams Hardware Plumbers & Gasfitters (built on later Russell St) with Ian H. Weber Chemist and the Grand Hotel, by Muir Moodie

Page 107

[Photo]

1909, Heretaunga St east, shows H. Williams Hardware Plumbers & Gasfitters (built on later Russell St) with Westerman’s and Hall’s Book Store to the Carlton and Albert Hotels. Note the new telegraph pole and the alleyway between the Westerman’s and Williams buildings, by Frederick George Radcliffe

[Photo]

1908 c, A postcard printed photo of Station St looking north towards the intersection of Queen St east with the Post Office at right before it was moved around to Queen St, with the new F. Cassin land & estate agent brick building across the road replaced the wooden Hastings Standard office and McGlashan’s Hastings Auction Mart brick building visible further down.

Page 108

[Photo]

The old wooden Post Office ready to be moved along Queen St east to its new site early 1909, with A. B. Hansen Stables – corner gas lamp post and late McCormick’s visible on distant left

1909 January, Joseph Ward laid the foundation stone for the new Hastings Post Office

[Photo]

1909, The new Post Office built by contractor Mr J. Renouf of Napier, shows tower without its clock installed on the corner Station St and Queen St east, with telegraph poles and wires going to the new exchange, the rebuilt restaurant building Fish Mart at right, to Henry Williams and Sons (ironmonger) Hardware & Brushware building at the end of street and F. Cassin left, by William Archer Price

[Photo]

1910 January 24th Station St – Sir Joseph Ward PM opening the new Post Office on without the memorial clock as it had not arrived in time for the opening. Also shows – F. Cassin building at left, E. C. Hartshorn,

Page 109

the Fish Mart and Wellwood Land Agents right, and The Hastings Auction Mart building of McGlashan’s far left, AWN by F. W. Young

[Photo]

1910 January 24th Station St Sir Joseph Ward PM opening the new Post Office with a memorial clock face added in by hand 3.30pm, by Clapham Mr E. H. Williams presented the bells for the clock chime – bells later used in the Town Clock 1934.

A sharp earthquake was felt in Hawke’s Bay on the 5th October 1911 stopping the new Post Office clock at 7.07 pm and striking the chimes – perhaps a precursor to the 1931

[Photo]

1910 c, corner of Queen St east and Station St shows two views of the mail carriages outside the new Post Office without telegraph pole on corner

Page 110

[Photo]

1910 c, corner of Queen St east and Station St shows two views of the mail carriages outside the new Post Office without telegraph pole on corner, the rebuilt Fish Mart at right

[Photo]

1910 c, from the Railway shows the new Post Office with telegraph pole heavy with cables

Page 111

[Photo]

1910 c, The new Post Office from the corner Queen St and Station St shows the rebuilt Fish Mart at right and looking towards Beecroft corner and the Herald Tribune on Karamu Rd with Cassin Agent left

[Photo]

1910, Station St and the Hastings Railway Station on right at its second position before being moved further north 1961 and before the Davis & Boyd’s new concrete country garage built left on the corner of Avenue Rd, the Christian Association (Y.M.C.A.) left on Avenue Rd east corner, the new Post Office with clock tower and Henry Williams Hardware & Brushware building distant, by Clapham

Page 112

[Postcard]

Postcard of Hastings, by R. Chadwick

Mr Clapham – the originator of the Hastings ” house numbering system ” centred from the railway intersection with Heretaunga St.

[Photo]

1910 March, the Fire fighters National Conference was held in Hastings, shows a parade of Fire-fighters with the band heading westwards along Heretaunga St east at Karamu Rd from the Albert Hotel, also shows Warrens sign at left, AWN

Page 113

[Photo]

1910 c, Heretaunga St east – shows the Albert Hotel before front gardens and footpath with J. Casey Bootmaker – small store next to Pheasant Cycle & Motor Works, with Thomas Ritchie & Co and F. L. Bone right, Reardon & Wright Ltd left, by Frederick George Radcliffe

[Advertisement]
THE PHEASANT
BICYCLE and –
MOTOR WORKS
Heretaunga Street, Hastings
(Next to ALBERT HOTEL)
GRAND DISPLAY.
Bikes for the Ladies.
Bikes for the Gents.
Bikes for the Children.
The Stock is new and up-to-date, representing 20 of the Leading Makers. A Large Stock of Sundries on hand. The Workshop is fitted out with the most up-to-date Machinery in Hawke’s Bay, which is in charge of the experienced Motor Engineer and Electrician, W. EDGE, who will always be in attendance.
J. H. FARRELLY, Proprietor.

[Advertisement]
THOS. RITCHIE & CO.
HASTINGS,
General Plumbers, Gas, Hot and Cold Water Fitters.
‘Phones – 279, 341, 381.   P.O. Box 108.
All kinds of SANITARY WORK Executed by Certificated Workmen.
Estimates Given for Town or Country Work.
Windmill and Hydraulic Ram Experts.
ACETYLENE GAS PLANT a Speciality.
Sole Agents for the most perfect Acetylene Generator on the Market.
THOS. RITCHIE AND CO.

The Pheasant Bicycle & Motor Works of J. H. Farrelly, and Thomas Ritchie & Co, Plumbers Heretaunga St east near the Albert Hotel

Page 114

[Photo]

1910, Heretaunga St east – shows empty section by McGlashans poss [possibly]where Robert Warren had his bakehouse left opposite the Albert Hotel before front gardens and footpath, Reardon & Wright, Kershaw, and C. R. Wilson’s left and with Pheasant Cycle & Motor Works right, for Auckland Star

[Advertisement]
The
Rembrandt Studio
Poll and Rackham,
Karamu Road, Hastings.
This Studio, 40 feet long, is the largest and best equipped in Hawke’s Bay.
In 200 square feet of show cases we give a fair sample of our work.
A comfortable reception room and large dressing room are well fitted for the convenience of our clients.
We specialise in Tinting, Rembrandt Lighting, and Children’s Portraits.
Also Outdoor Work, Wedding Groups, Copying, Enlarging and Framing.
Mr. Poll has many years’ experience in English studios, and holds several South Kensington certificates.
Poll and Rackham.

[Advertisement]
TELEPHONE 277
de Pelichet, McLeod
and Co.
Hastings and Port Ahuriri.
Auctioneers, Stock, Station and General
Commission Agents.
Wool Brokers.
Advances Made on Wool and Other Produce.
For Sale.
Station and Farm Supplies of All Kinds.
Agents for
Fison’s Powder and Fluid Sheep Dip.
New Zealand Shipping Company.
British Dominion Assurance Company.
The Federal-Houlder-Shire Line.

Rembrandt Studio, Poll & Rackham on Karamu Rd nth near the Herald Tribune and de Pelichet, McLeod & Co opened at Hastings

[Newspaper notice]
[A CARD.]
BERNARD S. STORY, M.D., F.R.C.S.
Has Commenced the Practice of his Profession in the Residence at the Corner of Karamu road and St. Aubyn street, Hastings, Hawke’s Bay.
Hours: 9 to 10 a.m., 2 to 3 p.m., 6.30 to 8 p.m.
Telephone 464.

1910 March 31, Dr Bernard S. Story commenced practice at the corner of Karamu Rd and St Aubyn St.

1910 March, Wedding – Mr John J. Cassin, third son of Mr John T. Cassin, of Hastings and Miss Miriam C. Poppelwell fourth daughter of Mr John Poppelwell of Hastings at the Catholic Church yesterday by the Very Rev Father Keogh.

1910 March, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A 13 roomed house owned and occupied by Mrs E. Bamforth was totally destroyed by fire yesterday afternoon. The cause of the outbreak is unknown. Mrs Bamforth was absent in Wellington and the remainder of the family were away at the time. A quantity of furniture was saved. The insurances on the building were £250 in the National office and on the furniture £200 in the Alliance.

1910 April, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A fire occurred in a two-storey wooden building known as Webber’s Corner, which did considerable damage to the premises of Plummer tobacconist (where it started) Innis, photographer; Charles fruiterer; Webber chemist; and M’Goldrick [McGoldrick] and Farquhar clothiers. The insurances total £2300.

Page 115

1910 July, FIRE AT HASTINGS – The efficacy of the chemical fire engine was fully demonstrated last, night. An outbreak occurred in an old two-storey black of buildings next, to the Grand Hotel. The fire had burned through from the ground to the upstairs rooms. The doors and windows were kept closed, and chemicals quickly extinguished the flames. Had it failed, the whole block must have gone.

1910 August, John Duncan Matthews died at Station St, Hastings aged 3, the youngest and dearly loved son of Joseph and Julia Matthews.

1910 September 23, Death – Thomas Frederick Horton died at Selwood road Hastings, aged 78 years. TOMBS & GRUBB, Undertakers.

1911 February 10, DEATH – Cosmos Michael Lee Ryan, died at Lyttelton (the result of an accident slipped, fell on Steamer hitting head) The youngest son of Martin and Katherine Ryan of Heretaunga street, Hastings.

1911 February, Enterprising Hastings businessmen – Messrs. R. H. and H. G. Milburn have recently purchased over 2000 acres of Kawau Island, the lovely island home of the late Sir George Grey. They intend farming at the island includes about 16 miles of coast line containing some of the finest oyster beds of the district.

1911 April, Wedding – Beatson – Gaisford , George Beatson son of Mr & Mrs John Beatson of Riverslea Hastings to Muriel Gaisford only daughter of Mr Henry Gaisford of Oringi, Dannevirke.

1911, The H. B. A. & P. Society purchased the Nelsons land at Tomoana.

1911 August, land was taken for the Karamu Road extension for Sec 26 & 27, owners – J. N. Williams, W. Nelson, Nelson Brothers Ltd, Mabel Ellison, Margaret Sowersby wife of Robert Sowersby a farmer, G. F. Roach signed on behalf of the Native owners, later owners 1957 Hastings Asparagus Ltd. Thorley’s Hall opposite the Albert Stables had its licence cancelled – so David Charles Thorley sold the property.

1911 September, To cope with their expanding trade – Messrs Lundon, Stewart and Co were compelled to seek more accommodation – the site of what was previously known as Thorley’s Hall in Karamu Road. The main entrance is in Karamu road and leads by a short corridor to the auction mart and show room 75ft. by 120 ft., providing a space of over 7000 square feet. This room, which in well lighted and airy, will be used for the display and selling of furniture and general merchandise. A short stair cafe from the ground floor leads to two commodious rooms set apart for the storing of grain. The back entrance is from Eastborne [Eastbourne] Street and gives access to the yards where pigs and poultry will be Auctioned, and to the dairy and farm produce section of the main building. Twelve substantial pig pens have been erected under a separate roof. The facilities for the selling and handling of poultry are second to none in the Dominion and comprise over 100 pens of the latest design and sheltered under an iron roof. The whole yard is paved in concrete and presents a very smart appearance. The company’s offices, which adjoin the main entrance, consist of a secretary’s room, a room for the managing director, and a special office for the land department.

1911 October, An old age pensioner named William Jones, aged 76 years, residing in Selwood road Hastings was found dead in a water-race at the back of his house at about 7 o’clock last evening with a bucket on his arm when he went to fetch water. Deceased was a resident of Hastings of many years’ standing and leaves a widow and grown-up family. A daughter Mary. An inquest will be held at the morgue at 9 a.m. to-morrow.

1911 October, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A five-roomed house on the Gordon Road owned and occupied by Harry Hickey, was totally destroyed by lire[fire] early this afternoon while the occupants were at the Napier Park races. It is thought that the fire originated through a defect in the chimney caused by the recent earthquake.

1911 October, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A five-roomed cottage on the Karamu Road was destroyed by fire at 11 o’clock this morning. The owner, Mr Thomas Ryan who was smoking in bed set fire to the bedclothes and he had a narrow escape. Only a little clothing was saved. The house and contents were insured in the Standard office for £390.

1911 October, FIRE AT HASTINGS – An incipient fire at the residence of Mr Charles Cress in Arvedsen Street was responsible for the alarm given by the Hastings fire bell at 8.15 this morning. The fire occurred in a petition[partition] between a kitchen and a washhouse and is said to have been caused through a defect in the chimney. The Fire Brigade and Fire Police were quickly on the spot, but the outbreak had been subdued before they arrived. Slight damage was done by water.

1911, Arthur Frederick & Sadie – Sarah June Tearle – children Fred and Frank of 24 Arvedsen St. Arthur got a job to deliver a car for the Hawke’s Bay Fruit growers Association. He was a driver/mechanic for the company until he died November 1916 aged 41. Sadie then ran a guest house in Hastings and later purchased a small section in Hyla St, Haumoana where a house was built converted from an existing shed, farmed with strawberries and a well was dug with her son Frederick Arthur Tearle who later settled on Beach Rd Haumoana – my workmate Lesie [Leslie] A. Tearle’s father. Sarah died 1973 aged 98.

1911 December, An old resident – William James Scullin died at his residence in Norton Rd, a native of Northern Ireland, he landed in Hawke’s Bay over 30 years ago.

Page 116

[Advertisement]
J. A. GRANT   J. BALL
Grant & Ball
Architects
Heretaunga & Station Sts.,
Hastings

1912 February, J. A. Grant & J. Ball Architects, corner Heretaunga and Station St

1912 February, The half-acre section at the corner of Heretaunga and Nelson streets, Hastings (adjoining the Princess Theatre) has been sold by Mr John Beatson. The section has a frontage to Heretaunga Street of 132 feet and to Nelson Street of 156 feet. The price paid was in the vicinity at £4000, which works out at about £30. 5s per foot on the Heretaunga street frontage.

1912 March, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A five-roomed house owned by Mr J. Hill and occupied by Mr Gavin Allan (union secretary) was destroyed by fire last evening. Owing to the absence of water everything was destroyed. Mr Allan’s sons aged five and eight years, were the only occupants at the time and had a narrow escape, being rescued just in time by a passer-by. Mr Allan was away at a meeting and Mrs Allan was nursing in the country.

1912 March, A property in Hastings known as Beecroft’s Block, sub-divided into twenty-three business sites with frontages to Queen Street and Karamu Road, was offered at auction. Twelve sites sold at £60 per-foot; two at £50 per-foot; and one at £52.12s per-foot.

1912 June, Mr W. H. Cook of Petone was appointed Town Clerk and Engineer.

1912 September 20 the Borough of Hastings purchase from John D. Beatson Riverslea land containing thirty-eight acres three roods thirty-four perches more or less, comprising part of Lot 176 of Block IX for a total amount of £4,560. The Te Mangapouri creek still flowing through the lot to a large lagoon with a pine plantation planted by Thomas Tanner’s men. It was referred to as Beatson’s Park from 1912. In November 1919 while cutting down trees in Beatson’s Park a cow ran under and was killed by the felled tree. It was opened to the public in 1926 as Beatson’s Park later named Windsor Park in 1935 to mark the silver jubilee of King George V. It became a Relief camp after the 1931 earthquake. It featured a swimming pool and boating lake with a stream crossed by a number of attractive arched bridges built from demolition materials from the 1931 earthquake rubble which Richard Burns worked on the lagoon creek walling – the Relief workers went on strike due to an unfair foreman – Mr J. McGill. It was the home for the Parkvale Tennis Clubs and the Windsor Park Camping Ground. Mr & Mrs Beatson remained at their St Georges Rd homestead until the mid 1920’s when their married son took over residence. A son John Wesley Beatson died WW1 at Walton on Thames hospital in February 1918.

1912 December, FIRE AT HASTINGS – RACE HORSE BURNED. The training stables and whare occupied by Mr Leslie Carrick trainer for Rangi Kerehoma were destroyed by fire last evening. Four horses which were in the loose-boxes, were let out, but the two year-old Bungebah, by Stronghold – The Brat, ran back into the burning building and was burnt to death. The contents of the whare and considerable feed were lost. There was no insurance on the horse or building. The cause of the fire is unknown.

1912, a new Gothic style Wesleyan Methodist Church was built on Hastings St sth designed by Albert Garnett, built by Thomas Styles, who sublet the brickwork out to Duncan & Abbott. The old wooden church building was used for Sunday school room and later in 1917 for Cubs.

1912, Electric street lighting

[Photo]

1912, The Edwardian Neo-Classic Municipal Electricity Power & Pumping Station building on Eastbourne St east built on the old Fire Station site behind the Borough Council chambers, Electricity was now being generated by diesel oil engines and the Council had established a water reservoir on Chambers site in Havelock and pumped reticulated artesian water through to most of the Hastings Borough which proved

Page 117

more satisfactory for fire fighting supply than the previously used drainage water, especially during the later 1931 earthquake, fluoride was added from 1954 at the new pump station on the corner of Havelock Rd and St Georges Rd. 1924 it was renamed the H. B. Electric Power Board and started supplying electricity in 1925

William Alfred Weaver was an engineer at the Municipal power house, in 1920 he died at his residence in Warren street aged 47.

[Photo]

Eastbourne St east shows a recent view of the Electric Power Board buildings. Mr Charles Z. Brausche timber yards were opposite the first fire station at 301 in 1913, children going to school would cross through ‘Circus Paddock’ near Hastings St.

Hastings Private Hospital

There was no public hospital in Hastings – doctors treated the Hastings patients at home, only the serious cases were sent over to Napier. In December 1900 Mr P. Gorman of the Carlton Club Hotel started a fund for a Hastings Hospital in offering £25, provided £475 was added to it as a nucleus.

1910 April, a new private hospital was to be opened in Hastings by Miss M. G. Hayward, lately matron of the Westport Hospital. Miss Hayward also had experience in the Christchurch Hospital.

1911 March, Nurse O’Callaghan has commenced her duties as Plunket Nurse at Hastings.

1912 January, Nurse O’Callaghan is leaving after a year of work, intends opening a private hospital at Hastings. Nurse O’Callaghan was very sorry indeed to leave her people at Uruiti, to whom she had found most kind and appreciative. She had many trying experiences, but will always remember her year among the back-blocks settlers with the greatest satisfaction.

Miss Annie O’Callaghan was a Registered Nurse born in Victoria Australia and arrived in NZ aprox 1908, and with her younger sister (Nellie) Miss Ellen Monica O’Callaghan they established a private hospital at Hastings, another sister was Miss Mary O’Callaghan.

Page 118

[Photo]

Hastings Private Hospital – 711 Avenue Rd east near Riverslea Rd, Twenty beds, fully equipped with every convenience, taken in January 1918 when put up for sale as a going concern by Christchurch owners Stringer Bridge of Cathedral Square. This may have been Dr Tosswell’s [Tosswill] property on Avenue Rd which was once the Harris family home and became the first Royston Private hospital.

1919 July, Advert – Wanted for Private Hospital, a GOOD SURGICAL NURSE. Apply this month to – Miss A. O’Callaghan, 711 Avenue Road, E, Hastings, Hawke’s Bay.

1920 Miss Annie O’Callaghan left the district for Northland, she died at her home “The Pines” Parua Bay in June 1924 aged 59, following an unsuccessful operation six months prior. She leaves a younger sister Nellie, who was her partner in the farm at Parua Bay, a brother at Hikurangi, a sister in Hastings and three sisters in Australia. Miss Mary O’Callaghan died at Hastings in 1933 aged 65.

1920 October, Nurse Beatrice McLean intends doing private nursing at Hastings.

In 1921, The Royston Private hospital was named after a village in Kent opened – some sheep farmers and their daughters purchased Dr Tosswell’s property on Avenue Rd including his medical equipment and they opened it as a private hospital, but most ailing Hastings citizens could not afford it. April 1921, Nurses MacLellan and Walker have given up their private hospital at Hastings and for the present intend to do private nursing. These nurses recently returned from a year’s trip to England where they had a delightful holiday. In April 1927 nurses Kendall and McWilliam who have successfully run the Royston Private Hospital in Hastings for several years are giving up their profession on account of marriage. Nurse Alberta Sugden trained at Napier Hospital and Nurse R. S. Williams of Christchurch Hospital have taken over.

[Photo]

Page 119

1912 c, Close to where the Makirikiri creek once crossed Heretaunga St, on right is the Salvation Army Citadel Protestant Hall & Borough Council Chambers – later Power Board premises and Farrelly’s boot store at 205, 207 Heretaunga St east at Warren St intersection with empty corner section where the Municipal buildings will be built and houses past Hastings St, with possibly Farrelly’s Bicycle Agents shop at 313 before the Catholic Sacred Heart Church

[Photo]

1913, A photographic postcard of Heretaunga St east looking towards Farrelly’s Milliner & Goods, with a new building adjoining, the Salvation Army Citadel Protestant Hall and Borough Council Chambers with empty corner section where the Municipal buildings will be built and house past Hastings St with possibly Farrelly’s Bicycle Agents shop at 313 before the Catholic Sacred Heart Church, by Clapham

[Photo]

1912, Heretaunga St east at Karamu Rd intersection – The Havelock to Hastings coach passing the Albert Hotel on right with Pheasant Cycle & Motor works; Ritchie & Co Plumbing; F. L. Bone.

Page 120

[Photo]

1912 December AWN – looking southeast over Karamu Rd south – old Hicks Junction, shows the old Union Bank buildings with trees and the Albert & Carlton Club Hotels across the road before the Municipal Buildings with the Ranfurly Private Hotel on Warren St the Municipal Electricity Power & Pumping Station generator building at the old Fire Station site on Eastbourne St east and the new Gothic Wesleyan Methodist Church on the corner of Eastbourne St east, taken from the Grand Hotel

[Photo]

1913, A hand coloured photographic postcard looking east towards Te Mata Peak (the sleeping giant) shows the Carlton Club Hotel at right and the Albert Hotel on Heretaunga St east before telephone box on the corner of Karamu Road, Birmingham Cycle & Motor Co signage, the Ranfurly Private Hotel and the green roof Municipal Electricity Power & Pumping Station generator building at the old Fire Station site on Eastbourne St east, the new Wesleyan Methodist Gothic Church on Hastings Street before the Municipal Theatre and the Sacred Heart Catholic Church with spire, Clapham series taken from the Grand Hotel

Page 121

[Photo]

W. A. Beecroft’s horse paddock sale yards forefront on Karamu Rd nth which previously went as far as Hicks Store before the Chinese Laundry was built, later the site of the National Bank. This was also where the four tall sentinel Bluegum trees grew and a Maori whare further along. Taken before the Tribune building right with F. C. Tipping & Son General Merchants Insurance Agents on Queen St east left, and Williams & Kettles Horse sale rostrum yards diagonal later Public Trust Office site, in 1895 Williams & Kettle advertised their horse sale auctions at Beecroft’s repository, taken from the Grand Hotel 1905c

[Photo]

1912 December AWN – looking northeast over Karamu Rd north shows the Tribune building 1911 and S. T. Tong Builders & Furnishers with the Chinese Laundry roof forefront, the Windsor Private Hotel on Queen St distant, the McCormick Stables former W. A. Beecroft’s horse repository horse sale yards bottom left, Williams & Kettles old sale yards diagonal now empty, overgrown, taken from the Grand Hotel

Page 122

[Photo]

1912 c, Looking north along Karamu Rd with Queen St east shows McCormick Stables roof forefront – former W. A. Beecroft’s horse repository and horse sale yards bottom right, with Mrs Russell’s new Dominion Building after the 1906 fire, and F. C. Tipping & Son General Merchants Insurance Agents across the road

[Photo]

W. A. Beecroft’s horse repository built 1885 on Queen St east sth side near Karamu Rd to 1900 – HBH Sup image, this business had an arched entrance way from Heretaunga St east, later McCormick’s Stables. Note the roof skylights

[Photo]

1915, Late McCormick’s Stables, Queen St east on the sth side shows Albert B. Hansen Stables, built 1885 and occupied by W. A. Beecroft which had an arched entrance way from Heretaunga St east, later the site between the National Bank and Clifton Building

Page 123

[Photo]

1912 c, Queen St east (Shark Street) from the new Post Office on Station St at right with hitching rail, a tall ferro concrete building, the old wooden Post Office and former W. A. Beecroft’s horse repository and horse sale yards site distant – now McCormick’s Stables with shortened building and empty yard still on Karamu Rd corner, with the Tribune building distant

[Photo]

1912, Queen St east from Karamu Rd where Tanner’s four sentinel Bluegum trees grew on each side with the brick Post Office and Railway line distant, David Whyte Auctions, the Dominion Building, F. C. Tipping & Son General Merchants Insurance Agents right. At left shows W. L. England & Sons, Seed and Grain Produce Store, previously Beecroft’s, McCormick Stables and horse yard England’s Seed & Grain store had caught fire in 1909. Note – Beecroft’s old windmill still there. The National Bank will later build their new bank in 1914 on the vacant corner

[Newspaper notice]
W. L. England & Son
QUEEN STREET, HASTINGS.
Seed, Grain & Produce Merchants.
We have always Stocks of Superior Fodder on Hand, including Canterbury and Local Hay, Bales Straw, Dun, Garton, and Sparrow Bill Oats, Oaten Sheaf and Straw Chaff, Wheat, Maize, Barley, Peas, Beans, Pollard, and Bran. All Kinds Poultry Foods, Calfs food, Pigs Food, etc. Agricultural and Roche Lime.
We have  ample Storage Accommodation for all Kinds of Goods at Reasonable Rates.
GRAIN OF EVERY KIND, CRUSHED OR KIBBLED AT THE SHORTEST NOTICE.
‘PHONE 184   P.O. BOX 87

 W. L. England & Son, Queen St, Mr W. L England left the district to retire in Tauranga

Page 124

1913 February, Thomas Horne died at Hastings aged 72, he was born in June 1840 at New South Wales, he had one daughter with Eliza Horne in July 1875. Eliza Horne was born in January 1849 at Somerset, she died in February 1911 at Hastings aged 62.

1913 February, FIRE AT HASTINGS – The Hastings Sash and Door Factory was burned this afternoon. A heavy stock of timber in an adjoining yard was saved by a good water supply. The insurances amounted to £753, and the loss is estimated at £200

1913 September, ALLEGED ARSON. The hearing was concluded at the court to-day before Mr S. E. McCarthy, S. M., of a case in which Patrick MacNamara was charged and remand (1) with committing arson by setting fire to a dwelling-house situated in Treacle Lane, Hastings, on August 11; and (2) with making a false declaration relating to certain goods, the, property of himself and insured in the New Zealand State Fire Insurance Office for £100, and partly damaged by fire, by declaring (a) that there was no other insurance on or extending to the property or any part of it at the time of the fire; (b) that certain furniture and personal effects set out in the schedule were destroyed and damaged by fire; (c) that the value of the goods destroyed and damaged was £143.12s, immediately before the fire, knowing, the same to be false, in conjunction with Nellie Wells MacNamara was also charged with, on or about August 5, at Hastings, conspiring to defraud the Guardian Insurance Company in effecting an insurance against loss by fire in respect of certain household goods, furniture, personal effects and other goods, alleged to be the property of Nellie Wells. Twenty-one witnesses were called for the prosecution. The charge of conspiring was dismissed. On the other charges MacNamara was committed for trial at the Supreme Court, Napier. Bail was allowed.

1913 October, A serious Taxicab motor accident occurred near the intersection of Karamu Road and Southampton Street this morning. A taxi, driven by Thomas Connelly in endeavouring to avoid collision with another car approaching at right angles, crashed into a telegraph pole. The taxi was completely wrecked, and Connelly sustained serious internal injuries.

1913, AT HASTINGS – Patrick MacNamara aged 50 years is alleged to have attempted to commit suicide this afternoon by drinking poison. He now lies in a private hospital, but his condition is not serious. On Saturday MacNamara was committed for trial on charges of arson and making a false declaration in connection with goods destroyed in a recent fire.

1913 November, A very old resident of Hastings in the person of Mrs Florence Elizabeth Hayes, relict of the late George Hayes, passed away at her residence in St. Aubyn Street on Saturday last at the age of 54 years. Deceased leaves a grown-up family of two daughters and one son. Rev. J. B. Brocklehurst officiating at the graveside.

1913 December, FIRE AT HASTINGS – CONSTABLE SAVES FOUR LIVES. A fire at 2.30 o’clock this morning, starting in a Chinese restaurant in the main street, spread to the adjoining premise of Messrs Little and Fairey (butchers) William Kirchner (confectioner) and Mrs Ingram (draper) The flames had a good hold when the fire was discovered and the shops were gutted, nothing being saved. The insurances are not available. The prompt action of Constable Connor saved the lives of Mr and Mrs Kirchner and two children who were sleeping in the upstairs portion of the premises.

[Photo]

1913, Heretaunga St east at Karamu Rd intersection – W. Turner, cash drapery and Reardon & Wright Ltd with a new building left, with the Albert Hotel and Pheasant Cycle & Motor Works signage on right.

Page 125

[Photo]

1913, Postcard view of Heretaunga St east from the Albert Hotel now shows Clapham’s books & stationary, Reardon & Wright Ltd tailors & outfitters, a bakery, with the new Sydney Cash Market building left, the Pheasant Cycle & Motor Works, and Ritchie & Co, Plumbing

1914 January, Master Colin McCorkindale died at Nurse O’Callaghan’s private hospital following a serious operation aged 20, the youngest son of Mr and Mrs Alan McCorkindale of Hastings. Colin worked at Paki Paki freezing works.

1914 January, COTTAGE DESTROYED AT HASTINGS. NO WATER AVAILABLE. The Hastings fire brigade received a call at about 3 o’clock this morning to an outbreak of fire in a five roomed dwelling in Terrace road, near Beatson’s Park, owned by Mr George Tucker (an employee of Mr H. Hitchcock, baker), and occupied by Mr George Davidson, carrier. Mr Davidson retired to bed at about 11 p.m., and about 3 a.m. was awakened by a crackling noise in the room opposite to the one in which he was sleeping. On opening his bedroom door the flames rushed in and he barely had time to seize his clothes and escape through a window. He communicated with the fire station from a neighbour’s telephone and the brigade were quickly on the scene with the chemical engine, the hose reel not being taken owing to the absence of water. The house was doomed when the firemen arrived, but with the aid of the chemical engine they did excellent service in preventing the flames spreading to a shed at the rear and the adjoining residence. Mr Tucker’s house was burned to the ground and Mr Davidson lost the whole of his furniture and effects and £10 in notes. The building was insured in the State office for £250 and the contents for £75 in the South British. Mr Davidson estimates his loss at about £80 above the insurance.

1914 January, It has been arranged to hold the auction sale of Mr Fred Howard’s ‘Parkvale’ property in the King’s Theatre. The roads are now being formed and the sections are pegged. The sale is attracting considerable attention throughout the district, as the estate comprises the most valuable and desirable sections in the suburbs of Hastings. Auctioneers, Messrs. C. B. Hoadley and Son, Ltd. Queen Street, or from Mr John T. Blake. For the convenience of those wishing to inspect the property, guide signs have been placed at the junctions of Havelock and Sellwood roads and Havelock and St. George’s roads. Anyone wishing to be accompanied over the property is requested to apply to the agents.

1914 February, Mr Edward D. Collison died at Hastings following being thrown from his horse, and although he sustained a sever shacking[shaking?], no serious consequences were anticipated and his recovery was considered only a matter of a few weeks rest. However, his condition became grave and despite the aid of the best medical skill he passed away at his residence in this district. He was engaged in sheepfarming at which he was largely successful. He was nominated by J. Garnett for the Mayoralty. He leaves a widow, two sons – Messrs. William and Edward Collison, and three daughters – Mrs. B. Proctor (Hastings), Mrs. T. Holden (Gisborne and Miss R. Collison (Hastings), besides eighteen grandchildren. Mr. and Mrs. Collison celebrated their golden wedding on May 6th of last year. Mrs Sarah Collison died in June 1915 at Quon Lodge, Marine Parade, Napier aged 73, relict of the late E. D. Collison of Hastings.

1914 February, The Hawke’s Bay Fruit Canning Company, which was formed at Hastings recently to take up the industry of jam-making and fruit-canning, which seem likely to go out of existence owing to the Frimley works having closed down, is now an established fact (says the Tribune), and operations are in full swing. A satisfactory lease has been acquired of premises in Karamu Road, and preserving is being carried on with despatch. It is hoped that the efforts to conserve this important industry will meet with success.

1914 April, WEDDING BELLS – McCarthy – Sullivan. The wedding was celebrated at the Sacred Heart Church by the Very Rev. Father Keogh, assisted by the Rev. Father Mahony, when Miss Margaret Sullivan, daughter of Mr Sullivan of Riverslea Road and Mr Robert McCarthy the son of Mr R. McCarthy of Wall Road, Hastings. Mr. J. McCarthy and Mr Clune acted as groomsman.

Page 126

1914 June, PROPOSED PARKVALE SCHOOL. Settlers residing east of Riverslea and Havelock roads Hastings who are interested in the erection of a school on the Parkvale estate are requested to attend a meeting to be held at Mr T. Miller’s residence, St George’s Road.

1914 June, About twenty householders attended a meeting for the erection of a side school on the Parkvale Estate, Riverslea, Mr Miller was voted to the chair. The secretary of the Hawke’s Bay Education Board (Mr G. Crawshaw) was also in attendance and an apology was received from Mr G. H. Roach. The chairman explained that an acre of land for a school site had been presented by Mr Fred Howard, but an additional two acres would be required before a school could be erected. After some discussion, Messrs J. Beatson jnr and T. Miller were appointed a committee to wait upon the owner of the sections adjoining the area given by Mr Fred Howard to ascertain the terms on which these could be acquired. When this information is forthcoming, it is understood the Education Board will place the matter before the Government for favourable consideration. A canvass which was recently made of the area which the proposed new school would serve shows that there are 163 children of school age and 115 under that age and the house holders therefore consider they have a strong case to lay before the Department.

1914 July, A petition for bankruptcy was filed by Thomas Henry Brinson jnr a carpenter of Hastings.

1914 November, Death – Mr Martin Bradshaw Ryan a very old and esteemed resident of Hawke’s Bay passed away at his residence Heretaunga Street at the age of 75 years. The deceased had been ailing for a long time, and the end was not unexpected. The late Mr Ryan was a native of Limerick and arrived in the Dominion in 1865. He had been a resident of Hastings for the past six years and resided in Napier for thirty years, being at one time proprietor of the Criterion Hotel in that city. The late Mr Ryan was of a quiet and unassuming disposition, and his death will be regretted by a large circle of friends. He leaves a widow and two sons, Messrs. Richard and Joseph Ryan, and one daughter Mrs T. Lindsay of Waipawa, who will have the sympathy of the whole community in their sad bereavement. A son of the deceased (Mr J. L. Ryan) predeceased his father only two months ago. The body was taken to the Sacred Heart Church the following evening.

[Photo]

1914, Heretaunga St east, Bristol Piano Co Ltd, Mrs L. Nalder agent and F. L. Bone shows horse and cart with crates of comforts for troops serving in the 1914-1918 War packed by Miss M. J. Luckie and helpers

Page 127

[Photo]

1914, Heretaunga St east road repairs now shows Birmingham Cycle & Motor Co, A. Simmonds, F. L. Bone, and Farrelly’s boot store, with possibly Farrelly’s Bicycle Agents shop at 313 distant before the Catholic Church

[Photo]

1914, Heretaunga St east road repairs outside the Grand Hotel using Shell Rock poss [possibly] sourced from Fernhill, by Clapham

Page 128

[Photo]

1909, The Grand Hotel on Heretaunga St east – Mr G. B. MacKay was still proprietor, with H. Webber Pharmacist Optician till 1910 and Thorp’s for Boots, J. W. White, by Muir & Moodie

[Photo]

A postcard photo of Heretaunga St east, shows the Grand Hotel with Webber Pharmacist Optician till 1910 and Thorps for Boots, J. W. White Taylor & Mercer, Hulbert Up to Date Clothier, and McGlashan

[Advertisement]
Heretaunga Street, HASTINGS.
‘Phone No. 258.
THE KASH
(Late J. W. White)
TAILORS
Costumiers, Hatters, Mercers

The Kash, Tailors, Heretaunga St east, previously J. W. White

Page 129

[Photo]

Heretaunga St looking east shows the Grand Hotel left with Thorp & Co Boot Manufacturers, Solway Tea Rooms, Carlson & McGoldrick, Clothiers and Mercers, further down W. Turner & Son, Reardon & Wright Ltd, by Radcliffe

[Photo]

Day Coaches loaded with passengers outside the Grand Hotel and R. Thorps & Co for Boots

Page 130

[Photo]

1910, The Grand Hotel on Heretaunga St east ground floor painted white, with Thorp’s for Boots and Solway Tea Rooms, with Horse & cart and motorcar

[Photo]

1912, Heretaunga St east, now shows the Dainticure Pork Butchery left with Thorps for Boots, the Grand Hotel and Westerman’s at right with horse & cart and motorcar

Page 131

[Photo]

1910 c, The Grand Hotel on Heretaunga St east, shows a motorcar. Signage for the J. E. Jones Dominion Cycle Works and J. C. Scott, dentist, with Thorp’s for Boots building left

[Photo]

1910, Heretaunga St east looking west from Warren St intersection shows F. L. Bone, Albert Hotel, Carlton Club Hotel on right, with the Grand Hotel distant left, by Clapham

Page 132

[Photo]

1913, A hand coloured photographic postcard showing Heretaunga St east looking west shows – the premises of Reardon & Wright Ltd tailors, and Clapham’s Books & Stationery and T. Pickett Quality Outfitters can be seen on the right. The old Union Bank corner of Karamu Rd moved 1914 and the Grand Hotel, by Clapham series

[Photo]

1914, The second wooden Union Bank being moved in sections to another site on the corner of Willowpark Rd and Heretaunga St east, one section got stuck on Queen St east when a water main collapsed just past the Herald Tribune office and McCormack’s left with Simpson & Bate Barristers & Solicitors on Karamu Rd nth on right, by S. Clapham

Page 133

[Photo]

A photographic postcard of Heretaunga St from Karamu Rd corner looking west shows the Grand Hotel, H B Knight chemist, the new concrete & brick Union Bank 1914 right and the Carlton Club Hotel is left, by Frank Duncan & Company

[Photo]

1913, Heretaunga St east looking west from Warren St looking towards the Grand Hotel distant right, by Frederick George Radcliffe. Economic building at right was previously J. Annett, Ironmonger in 1895

Station Street –

Page 134

[Photo]

1912, A hand coloured photographic postcard showing Station St north, the new Post Office, Cycles, R. B. the original Standard House, Whitehead photography and Dainticure Pork Butchery and large Beecroft’s windmill above. Dainticure Bacon Co under management of Walter Henry Kessell

[Photo]

1912 c, Station St north to the new Post Office, Cycles, R. B. Whitehead photography and Dainticure Pork Butchery with large Beecroft’s windmill above.

[Photo]

Page 135

1914 c, A postcard of Station St north showing the Barcham Studio, Webber’s Chemist shop in the original Standard House behind telegraph pole, W. H. Plummer Tobacconist and the new Post Office and motor car distant

[Photo]

1914 c, A postcard view of Station St north shows painters on rooftop and motor car, Webber’s chemist and pharmacy original Standard House right edge, Cassidy (land agent), Farquhar and Company (tailors) T. M. Robertson (confectioner), a cycle shop, and a seed depot and the new Post Office, possibly by F. G. Radcliffe

[Photo]

1914, Station St show the original Standard House for Cassidy & Co land agents, Farquhar & Co tailors, Webber chemist since their April 1910 fire, next to Fruiterer “all one price” with the top of the new Grand Hotel visible behind

Page 136

[Photo]

The Standard House, built pre 1883 was on Karamu Rd sth[south] where C. F. Lys a Taylor [tailor] occupied it until 1895 when it was moved around to Station St and part become Webber’s Chemist.

[Photo]

1914, Station St looking south, roadwork reconstruction using Shell Rock poss [possibly] sourced from Fernhill – shows new A. H. Wilson & Harvey, Silverware, Hardware, Cutlery building before the Russell St extension after WW1 in 1920, R. Holts Timber yard has already gone

[Photo]

Page 137

1914, Station St looking south, roadwork reconstruction shows Westerman’s Gents Outfitters and sale sign and new A. H. Wilson & Harvey, Silverware, Hardware, Cutlery building before the Russell St extension after WW1 in 1920

[Photo]

1914, Station St looking east at the Queen’s Chambers on the corner of Queen St east previously F. Cassin, land & estate agent building shows soldiers on parade towing a field cannon [Howitzer] with Red Cross nursing core floats behind a nurse in white holding an infant with signage – French Orphans, Saturday – Baby No 13 with people looking on, the Daily Telegraph office and Gill Brothers building further down, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1914 August, Crowds at the Hastings Railway Station platform prior to seeing off the Volunteer soldiers leaving for Awapuni Central Camp at Palmerston North, looking south down Station St and the new PO with the A. H. Wilson & Harvey, Silverware, Hardware, Cutlery building distant, by A. I. Rainbow

Page 138

[Photo]

1914 August, Volunteer soldiers at Hastings Railway Station platform leaving for Awapuni Central Camp at Palmerston North, with McGlashan’s old Hastings Auction Mart brick building behind left edge on Station St, and the new PO on right, by A. I. Rainbow

[Photo]

1914 August, Volunteer soldiers at Hastings Railway Station platform with Gas Lantern leaving for Awapuni Central Camp at Palmerston North, with McGlashan’s old Hastings Auction Mart brick building behind left edge on Station St now shows H. N. Blight of Fitzroy Avenue, House Designer & Builder and Cassin’s brick building on right, by A. I. Rainbow

Mr Herbert Noah Blight a Carpenter of Arvedsen St 1911, he was b1884 Whanganui married May Violet Hanham 1908 they were separated and he went to N S W Aus [Australia]. remarried and died 1978 aged 94

Page 139

[Photo]

1914, Station St looking south – The mail train leaving Hastings Railway Station with new Williams & Kettle Ltd concrete seed cleaning and grain and produce stores and the Piccadilly Tea Rooms with the Hastings Hotel distant left, a Clapham photo series

[Photo]

1914 December, waiting at the Hastings Railway Station with horse and two story brick Christian Association (Y.M.C.A.) building behind on Avenue Rd east corner, by Leslie Adkin

1915 April, Wedding – Beatson – Newbigin at St Matthew’s Church Hastings by Rev J. B. Brocklehurst – Mr Norman H. Beatson youngest son of Mr & Mrs J. Beatson of Hastings married Elsie Newbigin daughter of Mr & Mrs E. Newbigin Hastings. Bridesmaids – Miss West of Wellington and Miss Dorothy Smith of Napier – cousins to bride. Miss Dorothy Newbigin and Miss Gwen Halse, Nellie Stewart. Arthur Martin was bestman, John Beatson jnr groomsman.

1915 April, Station St Fatality – An inquest was held at the residence of the parents, Havelock Road, Hastings before Mr H. Brathwaite, deputy coroner concerning the death of the late George John MeKeesick[McKeesick], who met his death in Station Street, Hastings by coming into collision with an express driven by Mr Joseph McIntyre. After evidence had been heard a verdict of “Accidental Death ” was returned, no blame being attachable to the driver of the express.

1915 May, PROPOSED PARKVALE SCHOOL. MR ROACH ON THE WARPATH. At the H. B. Education Board meeting, Mr G. F. Roach asked the chairman what had been done in regard to the Parkvale School since the Minister’s visit. The Chairman: We have sent in an application. Mr Roach said that when the Minister was here he was satisfied with the situation of the site, but the size was wanting. He (Mr Roach) had made inquiries and had found a neighbour who was prepared to allow the board to have almost an acre of land for £160. Like most Hastings people, said Mr Roach, he is quite prepared to assist in any educational matters. Land in that locality was worth about £300 an acre. Several members of the board expressed the opinion that the offer was a very reasonable one and it was decided to forward the information to the department.

1915 October, A portion of land taken for railways that was owned by Mrs Eliza Hastings Blake wife of John Thomas Blake – Native Interpreter of Hastings. John T. Blake died 1940 aged 87 and Eliza died same year aged 80.

Page 140

[Photo]

1916, D. E. Davis & S. Boyd’s new concrete country garage on the corner of now Station St and Avenue Rd east opposite the Hastings Railway Station, where they installed their first bowser

1916 January, William Vickers died at the Napier Hospital aged 75 after a long illness. Mr William Vickers a Milliner of Oliphant Rd Hastings was one of Hawke’s Bay’s earliest settlers; he took a great interest in local affairs and was a prominent Mason fellow. He leaves a widow and grown up family to mourn their loss. Private F. L. Vickers, who is among the missing at the Dardanelles, was a son. The remains will be interred in the Havelock North Cemetery.

[Photo]

The Municipal Theatre designed by Henry Eli White and noted as being one of the earliest examples of Spanish Mission style architecture in New Zealand, with a lavish Art Nouveau interior, opened in October 1915, taken from Hastings St sth, before exterior men’s toilets down alley to old Makirikiri creek bed, shows cabbage tree and the shop attached at left, by Clapham

In March 1916, the Council purchased the biograph and plant of Mr V. P. McCormick in the Municipal Theatre and entered into the picture showing business.

1916 June, Wedding – MASTERS – CARTER. At St Matthew’s Church, Hastings, a very pretty wedding was solemnized, when the Rev. J. B. Brocklehurst joined in holy wedlock, Emily Evelyn, youngest daughter of the late John Carter and of Mrs. Carter, Leicester, England, to Sydney Masters eldest son of Mr and Mrs Alfred Masters, Selwood road, Hastings. The bride looked charming in a cream cloth costume with silk hat to match. The bride’s attendants were Miss Dorothy Ward niece of the bride and Miss Alma Masters sister of the bridegroom. The bride was given away by Mr W. A. Meads, whilst Mr A. J. Burge officiated as best man. The wedding breakfast was afterwards held at the residence of the bride’s sister Mrs Ward.

Page 141

1916 June, Thomas Sands died aged 91 at the residence of his daughter (Mrs Joseph Siddle, Fenwick Street, Hastings, one of the oldest citizens of Hastings and the beloved husband of the late Hannah Sands. Thomas was born at Somercotes, Lincolnshire in July 1825. Two of his children having preceded him in coming to New Zealand, Mr Sands, with his late wife (who predeceased him sixteen years) and the remaining members of the family, arrived in this country by the ship Crusader which landed at Lyttelton in 1882. They came on at once to Hastings, where the family has ever since resided. Mr Sands was a devoted worker in the local Methodist Church of which he was one of the oldest members. He leaves a family of five sons and four daughters. They are Messrs Robert, Thomas, George, William and Private Fred Sands (who has only recently returned from active service) and Mesdames J. Paterson (Napier) C. Farmery, J. Siddle (Hastings) and Mrs J. Scott (formerly Mrs Pepper) of Twyford.

1916 June, William Black a Drover died at Hastings aged 67. He was very popular in stock circles, being of a genial disposition. He was held in the highest esteem throughout the district, known as a capable and conscientious drover.

1916 September, John Sharp of Tomoana Works died at the Napier Hospital – a well known old identity who was better known by the name of “Charlie” was one of the strongest personalities in Hastings and Tomoana where he had worked for over 34 years. A Londoner by birth, he was full of those stories which pass many an hour in conversation. Not as polished perhaps, as some of the rising generation, he was as true as steel, both as a friend, husband and father, and the memory of his name will live long. He leaves two daughters to mourn their loss.

1916 September, Re-naming of some Hastings streets – Quarry road to Townsend street, Arvedson street to French street, Station street to Russell street (named after Brigadier-General Russell) Gascoigne and Agnew street to Gascoigne street, Park Terrace road from its junction with Park road at the entrance to Beatson’s Park to Heretaunga street (or Havelock road) to Terrace road, Terrace road leading off Park Terrace road on the southern side of Beatson’s Park to Lake road, Caroline road for its whole length to Williams street.

1916 October Deaths – MASTERS at Napier Hospital, Alfred Edward, dearly beloved youngest son of Alfred and Alice Masters of Selwood road, Hastings; aged 14 years. The Funeral will leave St. Matthew’s Church for the Hastings Cemetery.

1916 October, John Maggi[Maggin] died at Nurse O’Callaghan private hospital following another serious shunting accident at the Hastings Railway Yards. John Maggin was the son of Patrick Maggin. Mr J. E. King was driving the shunting engine. John Hanning was the Railway Stationmaster and John Hislop an Engine Driver was in charge of the shunting at Hastings. Dr Ernest Boxer. John Hislop was involved in an earlier fatal train accident at a Napier crossing.

[Photo]

1916 February 10, The foundation stone was laid for the Hastings Municipal Buildings plan

1916, The old wooden Borough Chambers Building from 1888 was transported to the council’s property in Southampton Street, in September 1920 the question of dismantling the old Borough Council office building or turning it into housing was once again considered at a meeting of the Hastings Borough Council, but it was dismantled in December 1920 for the council sheds to be built in the yard.

1916 April, Messrs. Stanley Bros, builders are making good progress with the erection of the new municipal buildings, Hastings.

Page 142

[Photo]

1917 April, The Modern Renaissance Hastings Municipal Buildings were officially opened, by Barcham Studios

[Photo]

1918, Heretaunga St east shows the new Hastings Municipal Buildings with shops

[Photos]

Early photos of the Hastings Municipal Theatre left and right the Council Chambers on Hastings St and the Town Hall on Heretaunga St east 1917, pictures were shown at the Municipal Theatre left after the Princess Theatre closed, also shows Laurel Kerosene sign on side of next building further up to Warren St, by Sydney Charles Smith

Page 143

[Photo]

Heretaunga St east enlargement – the Municipal Buildings at right with signage for Laurel Kerosene, Kirk & Marks, W. Sturrock to Warren St, the Grand Hotel further left, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

1917 c, Heretaunga St east from near Salvation Army Citadel looking west with Laurel Kerosene signage and Kirk & Marks, with Arthur Wade plumbing at right 200 Heretaunga St east

[Photo]

From the State Central School grounds 1909 shows a windmill behind a two-storied building on Warren St sth, possibly the Manor Boarding House and the distant Catholic Church steeple.

1917 August, Mrs. Horton wife of Mr Thos.[Thomas] Horton of Pakowhai road died at Nurse O’Callaghan’s private hospital aged 48. She leaves a husband and family of nine, six boys and three girls. The second son is serving his King and country in France and left New Zealand with the Main Body.

1918 February, FIRE AT HASTINGS – The Manor Boarding-house consisting of 28 rooms owned by Mr W. H. Compton and occupied by Messrs Murray and Spalding was totally destroyed by fire at 1 o’clock this morning. Nothing was saved, all the occupants escaping in scanty apparel. Insurances: On the building, £750 in the State office; on the furniture £400 in the Northern office. The building was a wooden one, erected 22 years ago.

1918 July 22, Thomas Tanner died at his residence Endsleigh in Given St, Havelock North aged 87

1918, Kate – Catherine Dennett nee Woods died and her husband William Young Dennett died in 1928.

Page 144

[Photo]

1918 Endsleigh in Given St, Havelock North, with insert of Thomas Tanner, his wife Julia Punshon Tanner nee Denton died 4 July 1923 aged 85

In July 1920, two memorial tablets were given to St. Luke’s Church, Havelock North, one to the memory of Mr Thomas Tanner by his family and the other to the memory of Charles Emil Carr, who fell in the war. The three tablets to the memory of men who fell in the war were placed in the Sanctuary the small chapel, which in time will be a War Memorial Chapel.

1918 September, plans to extend Russell St to Lyndon Rd.

1918 November, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A fire early this morning gutted a two storey building in Heretaunga street owned by Knight Bros., Dannevirke, and occupied by Hyde (a tobacconist), Hinde (a confectioner), and the upstairs portion by Wolf (tailor). It was an old wooden structure, and burnt like tinder. In a few minutes the next building belonging to the same owners, and occupied by Armstrong (jeweller) and the Wilson Shoe Company was ablaze. The brigade made a partial save of the latter building, but the stocks were badly damaged by smoke and water. The insurances are £1200.

[Photo]

1918, A hand coloured photographic postcard showing the Hastings Post Office on Station St taken from the railway line with the Grand Hotel behind at right, flags flying on many roofs, possibly Armistice Day celebrations after WW1, by Clapham series

Page 145

[Photo]

Checker busses [buses] on Russel [Russell] St outside the Hastings Post Office

[Photo]

1919, The Hastings Post Office, AWN

Parkvale Temporary School Opened

1919 February, After a year of almost continuous effort on the part of the committee, elected by the residents of Hastings East, to further the interests of a school for that district, a side-school was opened temporarily in Mr Master’s hop kiln Hall last Tuesday. Thirty-nine children were enrolled the first morning, and the attendance is creeping up day by day, though only children up to Standard I. are being admitted. In celebration of the opening, a picnic was hastily organised, by the parents of the scholars and held on Friday in Beatson’s Park. It was a day of glorious sunshine, and general rejoicing that the school was actually an accomplished fact and parents and children vied with each other in extracting the last atom of fun out of the proceedings. Friends and sympathisers were most generous and though the notice was so short, gifts of all kinds were placed at the disposal of the committee to add to the happiness of the children. The Mayor of Hastings, and the chairman of the District High School Committee had lunch with the children and in a short speech, the Mayor expressed his pleasure at being present. During the afternoon Mr Pegler, headmaster of the school, and Mr Hall, helped to organise the races. Prizes for these were donated by the Mayor, Messrs Miller, Hall, Finlay, E. Pratt and Hay. A beautiful tea concluded a thoroughly enjoyable function.

1919, Parkvale primers were being taught in the old Hop drying kiln building under Miss Annie Anderson with Miss May Castles as assistant.

Page 146

1919 July, The social and dance to be held in Master’s Hop Kiln on Friday evening is for the purpose of raising sufficient funds to purchase suitable flags for peace celebrations. The committee hope to see a good attendance.

1919 July, [The] A very large and enthusiastic meeting of householders attended the Hop Kiln on Monday evening, to elect a committee for the school, to be erected at Parkvale.

1919 November, Carl Hans Arvedsen died at Grove Rd aged 75.

PARKVALE SCHOOL

Mr Fred Howard had gifted in 1913 from his Parkvale property 1 acre for a Parkvale School to be built, the H B E B [Hawke’s Bay Education Board] purchased additional land at a later sale. Section 33 Selwood Rd was made access for Howard St entrance.

[Photo]

1920 February, The new Parkvale School 4 class rooms was built and officially opened with 204 pupils, Mr F. A. Garry headmaster. Built on 1 acre that Mr Fred Howard gifted in 1914 from his Parkvale estate property, the H B E B purchased additional land at a later sale.

1920 February, PARKVALE SCHOOL. This school is the outcome of an agitation organized to relieve the over-crowding of the Main school of Hastings and it is hoped that the roll on the first day will be a long one. The appointment of Mr F. A. Garry as headmaster is a popular one among the parents. Though a young man, Mr Garry has had experience of teaching in both primary and secondary schools in the town and country, and a man with the high educational ideals that he is possessed of cannot fail to impress his pupils, both intellectually and spiritually. Parkvale, or Hastings East, the name by which an unromantic and practical Education Board has decreed the school is to be henceforth known, will open its doors. Few schools in the Dominion have begun their careers under more auspicious circumstances. The building, which stands in a large five-acre playground, part of which is fenced for a horse paddock, is able to accommodate two hundred and fifty pupils. The four class rooms are large, lofty and airy, and equipped with the latest methods of ventilation. Though outside the borough boundary, the Hastings Council has connected the school, with its lighting and drainage system, and electricity will be available for heating the school in the winter. Concreted shelter sheds have been built for both boys and girls. A number of drinking taps, apart from the washing conveniences, are supplied. The lavatory arrangements are in every detail sanitary and in line with the latest hygienic methods. The staff will, of course, depend on the attendance, but at present the teachers will consist of the headmaster and two lady assistants, of whom Miss E. Sinclair has been appointed to the charge of the infant department. The appointment of the other teacher has not yet been made. There is no doubt that pupils starting or continuing their schooling at this school will work under the most modern conditions, both physically and mentally, and parents can send their children with confidence and feel assured that they will have the best opportunities.

1920 March, A public meeting of parents and relatives of Hastings East district will be held in the Parkvale School to discuss details in connection with opening a ‘school shop’ and to raise funds for asphalting part of the playground. PS – Mrs Betty Bell ran the shop opposite the school gate in the 1960’s.

1920 March, A plan of, the proposed beautifying and asphalting of the Parkvale School grounds is now on view at the school, and is the design of Mr F. A. Garry headmaster. The area of the playground is about 1½ acres, and the intention is to plant shrubs and flowers and lay down lawns in portions and asphalt the playing areas and pathways. At the entrance to the grounds from Howard Street there will be a lawn on each side, bordered with shrubs and flowers. In the left hand corner is the garden and orchard reserve and all round the school will be asphalted and gardens laid out. When completed, the improvements will, while considerably adding to the attractiveness of the school, at the same, time serve as a splendid example of the progressive spirit of the residents of the Parkvale district.

Page 147

1920, a request for an additional ¼ acre land purchase to give the school access from the Main Road – this was possibly the original Hop Garden entrance from the Havelock road opposite Norton Rd, fencing the school grounds boundary and the front entrance gateway on Howard St

1920 April, Hastings District High School. – The school thus being very much over-crowded, the Education Board was approached and after a deal of trouble the King’s Theatre and Masters Hop Kiln Hall were hired in which to accommodate the sixth standard and the junior scholars in the Parkvale district. These buildings have since been given up, as the Parkvale (Hastings east) school has been opened, and the curtailment of the school boundaries in other directions has had the effect of still further reducing our roll, with the pleasing result that we now have ample.

Headmaster Mr F. A. Garry was replaced by Mr A. E. Day in 1924 and Mr W. B. Roe [Wroe] in 1933.

HASTINGS WEST

[Photo]

1917 April 27th After the fire at the Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Company depot on King St nth shows two men standing on the small platform right side, by Cliff & Co

[Photo]

1917 April 27th After the fire at the Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Company depot on King St nth by Barcharm [Barcham], AWN. Messrs Apsey, White and Co. had between £1000 and £2000 worth of fruit in the cool chambers. The bulk of the fruit has been damaged by fire, smoke and steam, by Cliff & Co. A new company arose after the fire called – The Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Limited

1919 March, FIRE AT HASTINGS – The Elms, a 12 roomed two-storey residence, owned and occupied by Mr Joseph Truman was reduced to ashes at 3 o’clock this morning. The building was 30 years old and the flames spread with alarming rapidity, barely affording time for Mr Truman and his wife and two children, who were in their night attire, to  escape from an upstairs bedroom. The fire is supposed to have been started by a spark from the sitting room grate. The furniture and contents are a total loss.

1918, Harold Wilson Garnett married Muriel Lansdown.

1918 December, A meeting of business men and 3 employees was held in the Hastings Borough Council Chambers, to form committees to assist in fighting the influenza epidemic. The Hastings hotels were re-opened after being closed

Page 148

down during the epidemic, the same hours as previously, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. being observed. The influenza main news the war news has taken a secondary place. A good few families have been affected but they have all recovered.

1918 December, Mrs McIvor nee Macdonald died at Hastings at the great age of 90. A very old identity has resided in the district for 50 years. She was a typical Scotch woman. She has two brothers living, James Macdonald of Mangatarata, Waipukurau and Donald Macdonald of Havelock North.

1918 December, Private Stanley Joll eldest son of Mr and Mrs T. S. Joll, arrived home from the front. He enlisted in the early stages of the war and has seen two or three years of active service. Some months ago he was gassed, but is now making good progress towards recovery.

1919 June, Mr. Percy Martin, an old and highly esteemed resident of Hastings died suddenly at his residence aged 67 he was exceptionally well-known throughout the Hawke’s Bay district, in which he had resided for forty years. He was a horse trainer for many years, and 14 years ago took over the Hastings Railway Hotel to 1904. Later he became licensee of the Criterion Hotel, Napier and then went farming in the Wairoa. Two years ago he returned to Hastings, where he continued to reside until his death.

1919 July, Mr Frank Burge, builder of Hastings, fell from a roof whilst engaged in dismantling the buildings in Station Street, Hastings recently sold for removal. He was on the roof in the act of removing the iron, when he slipped on the steeply inclined and frosty surface and. having nothing to lay hold of, fell to the ground, some fifteen feet below. He was conveyed to Nurse O’Callaghan’s Hospital and although it is feared that one of his legs was fractured. It is hoped that his injuries are not as serious as first anticipated.

1919 July, Thomas Joll died aged 74. An old and respected resident of this district, he was night-watchman in Hastings for a considerable number of years, retiring some time ago. He was born in the Taranaki distinct[district], and arrived in Hawke’s Bay about 30 years ago where he has resided ever since. He leaves a widow and a family by his first wife, of two daughters and four sons, as follow: Mrs W. Cecil Prime and Mrs Stanley Prime (Napier) Messrs T. M. Joll (Cambridge) L. Joll (Auckland) L. L. Joll (Taihape) and Trooper E. Joll who is at present on his way home from the front.

1919 July, Mrs J. A. Pothan of Havelock North died at Hastings aged 33. She was a daughter of Mr and Mrs J. Hickey of Hastings and sister of Mrs H. H. Powdrell of Hastings. The deepest sympathy is expressed with her husband, parents and family. The funeral will leave the Catholic Church for the Hastings cemetery.

Peace Day parade

On Saturday 19 July 1919 Saturday, at noon the Church bells will be tolled and bugles sounded on the Racecourse for the purpose of paying a solemn tribute to the dead. All proceedings will cease for five minutes and the public are particularly requested to recognize this solemn event. The hotels will be closed from 11am to 3pm.

1919 July 22, Three days have been set aside by the Government for the celebrations, viz., Sunday, Monday and Tuesday after the signing of the treaty. The Mayor Mr. G. H. Ebbett. Fireworks displays on the Monday and Tuesday nights under the direction of Supt. Keith and the Hastings Fire Brigade will be of a character to excel anything of the kind ever held in Hastings. The Hastings Band will be engaged throughout the whole celebrations and this should add considerably to the success of this historic event. The succession of decorated cars, equestrians and equestriennes, cycles and vehicles of every description. The band headed the procession after which two dainty little maids on horseback attired as heralds and carrying silver trumpets, led the march, applauded by the eager crowds as the show passed through the street. The procession left Victoria Square for the Racecourse at 10am, sharp. Queen St – Hastings Band and military section, Borough Councillors and Fire Brigade. East side. The various Patriotic Committees and Friendly Societies and Maoris.

Page 149

[Photo]

1919 July 19 Saturday, Decorated vehicles for Peace Day procession celebrations along Heretaunga St west, AWN by C. E. Scot, published August 7th

[Photo]

1919 July 19 Saturday, Decorated vehicles for Peace Day procession celebrations along Heretaunga St west taken from Market St corner looking towards the Railway line and the Grand Hotel with the Bank N S W left, Hastings loan Office and Piccadilly Tea House, published August 7th

Page 150

[Photo]

1919 July 19 Saturday, Decorated vehicles for Peace Day procession celebrations along Heretaunga St west taken from Market St corner looking towards the Railway line and the Grand Hotel with the Bank N S W left, Hastings Loan Office and Piccadilly Tea House, published August 7th

The Children’s Peace Day Celebrations

1919 July 21 Monday, HASTINGS. Tuesday was “The Children’s Day” and the proceedings arranged for this particular day were the most important part of the celebrations. The school teachers have been busy engaged arranging a programme of very high merit, in the procession the gaily decorated lorries representing the Allies will be a conspicuous feature. Woodford House School will represent Britannia. Hastings West School will represent Italy. District High School will represent United States. Hastings North School will represent France. Havelock North School will represent Belgium.

After the herald – the schools, under the control of their teachers, defiled in the following order :- Woodford House Lorry and pupils : Iona College “France Lorry” : Hastings N. (4 – 6) Belgium: Havelock N. (4 – 6) Italy: Hastings W. (4 – 6) United States : H. D.H.S. ( 4 – 6) : Maori Lorry (Opapa School) : Convent (4 – 6) : Twyford School : M. A. C. Band: D.H.S. (1 – 3) : Fernhill Lorry : Hastings N. (1 – 3) : St. Patrick’s Schools (1 – 3) : Hastings W. (1 – 3) : Havelock N. (1 – 3) : other schools: infants in lorries and cars and innumerable decorated vehicles of every kind.

Assemble 11.30 a.m. at Municipal Corner. Procession – Moves off at 12 noon for Racecourse, via Heretaunga and Market streets. Arriving at Racecourse, the pupils will be marshalled on the course proper in front of the stand erected by the Saturday Committee. The decorated lorries will form the outer arc while infants will dismount from their cars at the head of the “straight” land walk to the parade ground. The public will be excluded from the course-proper. The concourse assembled there will follow the National Anthem (2 verses) short speeches (to be arranged for by Mr. G. F. Roach) and Rule Britannia” (2 verses) Then follows the dissembling. Each division under its teacher will march off to a depot where every child will receive a small packet of lollies and biscuits.

Page 151

[Photo]

1919 July 21 Monday, St Patrick’s School Hastings Children’s Peace Day parade truck with 16 children in costumes and a woman, poss [possibly] taken outside the school gates on Heretaunga St east with a macrocarpa tree behind. There seems to be a decorated Christmas tree left edge. The banner – “Peace on earth to men of good will” Don’t forget ! We helped to win the War, by Henry Norford Whitehead. St Patrick’s catholic girls & boys school before St Josephs was established.

1919 September, McLeod & Gardener’s Timber yards were in front of the Railway Station.

1919 November, The extension of Station Street to Lyndon Road and the acquisition of Mrs Garnett’s property for a Mothers Rest. The necessity for opening of the new street to Eastbourne Street crossing to relieve the congestion of traffic which already exists at Heretaunga Street and to assure the public safety at that crossing in the future. Knight Bros – the owners of the block fronting Heretaunga Street and abutting on the railway line have agreed to convey to the municipality, without any money consideration, the land that is required for carrying Station Street through as far as Eastbourne Street. Beyond this, an arrangement has been reached with Mrs Garnett the owner of the block which lies between Eastbourne Street and Lyndon Street, and which also abuts on the railway line, to sell the same to the Council outright. The site for the erection of a “Mothers’ Rest Rooms” and perhaps also of a memorial to the soldiers who have so gallantly fought and died for their country. The Railway Department has consented to permit a crossing of the railway line to be made so that Eastbourne Street may run continuously over it, thus affording relief to the congested traffic- that is now crowded onto the Heretaunga Street crossing. The present blind section of Eastbourne Street lying between Karamu road and this new crossing is to be properly formed and provided with the customary footpaths. A. H. Wilson & Harvey and Westerman’s are to remove their buildings. Many of the main street buildings were seen as a blot on Hastings. They were a huge series of ugly wooden shacks, and the last thing to regret would be a big fire on a roaring windy night which would leave them a heap of blackened ruins. When this Station Street extension is carried through, the improvement will surely stand in amazement at the beauty of it.

[Photo]

1919 November, Hawke’s Bay Agricultural Show at Tomoana showing the grounds and grandstand with parked cars, AWN

Page 152

[Photo]

1919 December, Railway Rd looking over Hastings sth west shows Diamond’s on the Hastings Hotel  – Charles Diamond was the proprietor of the Hastings Hotel before going to the Albert Hotel when taken over by Edward Perkis, with Sample Rooms behind, by AWN

[Photo]

1919, Heretaunga St west, with a Telephone Box and weigh machine, the Club Tea Rooms, Jones Cycles right, with the Hastings Hotel and Baird & Co towards the Pacific Hotel left

[Photo]

Page 153

1919 December, Heretaunga St west, with the Club Tea Rooms, AWN

1919 December, FIRE AT HASTINGS – A fire started in Garnett’s timber yards at 1.30 this  morning. The factory, contents and machinery completely destroyed, and the offices were practically gutted. The origin of the outbreak is unknown. The insurance on the buildings and machinery was £500.

1920 May, Mr Edward Collison jnr died at Sydney. He was a son of the late Mr E. D. Collison of Claremont Hastings, born at Tikokino in December 1865 and well-known throughout Hastings. Mr Collison left Hastings with his wife and family about two weeks ago for an extended tour of the Old Country, when he appeared to be in good health. It therefore came as a great surprise to his brother Mr A. W. Collison of Riverslea Road, Hastings when he received a cablegram stating that he had passed away. He went farming at Longlands, where he sold out about 12 months ago owing to failing, health in order to go into retirement and take up his residence at Clive Grange. He leaves a wife and three daughters and one son, and three sisters (Mrs R. T. Proctor, Hastings; Mrs T. Holden, Gisborne; and Miss F. R. Collison, Marine Parade, Napier) and one brother (Mr A. W. Collison, Hastings) Feeling reference to the death was made by the Rev. A. McBean at the Hastings Methodist Clinch[church] yesterday. The remains will be brought from Sydney for burial in Hastings.

1920 June, Following licenses were granted. Publicans – A. J. Ellingham Pacific Hotel, Hastings; W. E. Grant Stortford Lodge Hotel, Hastings; J. D. Rivers Carlton Club Hotel, Hastings; Frank A. Kennedy, Hastings Hotel, Ernest Odium Albert Hotel, Hastings; Claud [Claude] J. Nelson Grand Hotel. Hastings. The Pacific Hotel license was extended to September for confirmation, to enable some necessary work to be carried out, the responsibility for which is in dispute between the owner and the lessee. Wholesale Licenses – George Hartshorn, Thomas Morgan de Pelichet McLeod and Co; Edward Newbigin. New Applications for wine shop licences – Messrs A. J. Vidal & Son and J. A. Gallagher grocer and general merchant each applied for a wholesale licence. Both applications were refused.

1920 September, At a meeting of the Hastings Borough Council, once again the question of dismantling the old Borough Council office building or turning it into housing, it had been removed from Heretaunga St east and placed on the council’s property in Southampton St.

1920 September, Thomas Elijah Penny died at his residence in Fitzroy Avenue after a rather long illness. He was a gardener by occupation, an old identity of Hastings for some 40 years and deeply respected. He leaves a widow to mourn him, but he had no family.

1920 October, The body of Henry William Gosling a native of London and a lighterman by trade was subject to fits of melancholy was found hanging in a lavatory in Warren Street. Previous attempts two years prior. Arthur Joseph White a labourer of Warren Street said deceased had resided in a whare next door. Tried artificial respiration, but without success. Mrs Donovan and Constable Henry found that James William Baddiley a labourer of Warren street Hastings had removed the deceased to outside the w.c. Sergeant Hogan conducted the case for the police. Thomas Coughlan, carrier Hastings deposed to identifying the body. Bernard Storey a medical practitioner said he examined deceased in the Hastings morgue, knew him to be mentally unbalanced.

[Photo]

1920’s, Heretaunga St west at King St shows the Douglas Buildings built 1914c later became the Everybody’s Picture Theatre and then became The Cosy De Luxe Theatre, shows people and bicycles on the corner and two men on top of the building, the adjoining white building of Phillip & Wright & Co on left, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Page 154

[Photo]

1920’s, Heretaunga St west now shows the Douglas Buildings next to Phillip & Wright & Co Builders, Cabinet-makers at 411 – Jos[Joseph] Phillip and P. Wright, with people waiting out front dressed in their finery late afternoon, NZ flags and an arch light pole, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photos]

Heretaunga St west looking east with Tomoana Rd at left, road surface being renewed for the increasing demands of the motorcar, James Kitt and George Leslie driving the horse team grader with the steam roller and Council men standing behind, with schoolboy left with bag in gutter and child on footpath at right,

Page 155

Edward Matthews furniture manufacturer at 534 seen distant right at Charles St, horse & cart and man with shovel, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photos]

Heretaunga St west looking east, road surface being renewed for the increasing demands of the motorcar, with James Kitt and George Leslie driving the horse team grader with a steam roller and with schoolboy left, Tomoana Rd at left shows Smith & McHutchon, Blacksmiths, Wheelwrights & Coachbuilders at 111 Tomoana Rd, who later built the bodywork for the new Dennis fire engine for the Hastings Fire Board, side wall signage – Coach & Motor Body Builders, business partnership established after Charles Ferguson McHutchon had returned from WW1, shows schoolboy left, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Page 156

[Photos]

Heretaunga Street west looking west, Council workmen working on the road surface. In the foreground, two men operate a machine pulled by four horses. The men are identified on the back of the photograph as James Kitt and George Leslie driving the horse team with the steam roller and truck in the background. A street sign for Lovedale Rd is visible under arch electric light along the left side of the road, by H. N. Whitehead

[Photo]

Heretaunga St road workers and boys with trucks afternoon sun, by H. N. Whitehead

HASTINGS EAST

Page 157

[Photo]

An early image of the Olympia Cabaret and skating rink building on Karamu Rd sth, and corner of Lyndon Rd east looking towards Eastbourne St east, the small centre building with Bulletin was A. A. George Printers and Publisher Est. 1887 of the Weekly Bulletin at 211 Karamu Rd next to King’s Theatre built 1910 with Pictures Evening at 8, painted on the roof

[Photo]

Possibly part of 1919 Peace Day celebrations – which included a street procession of decorated vehicles and an evening Masked Ball at the Olympia, a preclude to the Jubilee celebrations, shows children and some adults gathered around a decorated truck at the now unnamed Olympia Cabaret and skating rink building with flags on new porch, situated on the corner of Karamu Rd sth and Lyndon Rd east looking north with A. A. George Printers and Publishers of the Weekly Bulletin at 211 Karamu Rd next to King’s Theatre with faded Pictures Evening at 8 painted on the roof. Note – the Olympia burnt down in 1923, but an ad in the Hawke’s Bay Herald September 1926 states – Olympia Skating Rink with Full Band – D. Cincotta & Co proprietors – perhaps at a new venue.

Page 158

[Photo]

King’s Theatre on Karamu Rd sth was used as an emergency grocery food store after the earthquake shows a Red Cross truck parked outside with possibly A. A. George premises further down

The wooden Kings Theatre was built 1910 opposite where the new library in Karamu Rd (Civic Square) and survived the earthquake. The Kings Theatre was the first to show pictures in Hastings, there was a fire at the rear of the theatre on Friday 21st February 1913 due to an employee disconnecting one of the live electric mains and throwing it on to the roof of a shed when some carpenters were making some alterations. The King’s Theatre cinema is photographed being renovated below for temporary usage under the name of Cosy Theatre which was destroyed 1931, shows painters above the shop painting the top frontage. Two vehicles parked outside the theatre and several bicycles. The Kings Theatre was later moved to the Hastings Boys High School around 1939 to become their Assembly Hall, along with carved oak seating, lectern and gramophone and records, it was the last property to be acquired by Borough for the Civic Square where an Oak tree was planted behind on Coronation Day.

[Photo]

King’s Theatre on Karamu Rd sth after the earthquake with Cosy Theatre canvas posters, by Dave Williams

Page 159

[Photo]

1922 c, Body Work by Ross, Dysart & McLean on corner of Karamu Rd sth and Eastbourne St east, the porch of the Olympia Cabaret and skating rink building on the corner of Karamu Rd sth and Lyndon Rd east is visible on right with the Gas Works tank distant, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

Body Work by Ross, Dysart & McLean on corner of Karamu Rd sth, the porch of the Olympia Cabaret and skating rink building with roof sign on the corner of Lyndon Rd east with A. A. George Printers and Publishers of the Weekly Bulletin at 211 Karamu Rd behind King’s Theatre porch on right, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

Body Work by Ross, Dysart & McLean looking along Eastbourne St east on corner of Karamu Rd sth, a house on Warren St corner and the Power Board generating building behind distant, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Page 160

[Photo]

Body Work by Ross, Dysart & McLean on Eastbourne St east on corner of Karamu Rd Sth,[South] the Municipal Theatre with ‘pictures’ roof sign and the Ranfurly Private Hotel behind at left in Warren St, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

Corner of Eastbourne St east and Russell St – Woman’s Rest Rooms built 1921, section given by Mrs J. Garnett in 1921 on condition of open space, later the Hastings Plunket Rooms with beautiful surroundings of brilliant Portulaca’s nearby, the Kings Theatre roof seen directly behind with the roof of the Olympia at right and possibly the Oak tree planted behind A. A. George printing, with a cottage at left on Karamu Rd, part of Frederick George Radcliffe Col.

1921 October, New Zealand Tablet Obituary – Sister M. Anthony CASSIN – With regret I have to record the death of Sister M. Anthony of the Order of Sisters of Compassion, which occurred at the Home of Compassion, Island Bay, on Friday, the 9th ult. The deceased Sister who was only 43 years of age, was a daughter of Mr John Cassin of Hastings, and entered the Order of Compassion twenty years ago, being the last religious of that Order to complete her novitiate at the House of the Order at Jerusalem, on the Wangariui [Wanganui] river. Although not enjoying good (health during her religious life the late Sister Anthony never spared herself, and was indefatigable in her efforts to relieve the poor, nurse the sick, and perform the many other charitable works which her Order is noted for. She was successively stationed at the various Houses of the Order, and was in charge of the Auckland House for a period when the Sisters were established there. At the Home for Incurables, Buckle Street, Wellington, and the Home of Compassion, Island Bay, Sister Anthony was well known and revered by all who came in contact with her. Many sufferers have good cause to remember the kind, gentle and consoling attentions of the departed Sister. Her health not being equal to the strain of her efforts she was forced to relinquish duty some ten weeks ago. During her last illness, with exemplary fortitude she cheerfully and patiently bore the intense pain which her malady caused, and prepared herself to meet her Lord and Master to whose service she devoted herself during her life. Fearless of death her passing away was most happy and peaceful. The interment took place on Monday, the 12th ult., at the Karori cemetery, prior to which solemn Requiem Mass was offered at the chapel of the Home of Compassion.

1921 December – LIST OF WORKING ASSOCIATES. Hastings churches.
Deaconess Esther Brand, Hastings Presiding Associate.
Mrs Anderson, 404 Knight Street, Treasurer.
Mrs Fannin, 305 Nelson Street North.

Mrs Geo.[George] Ebbett, Southland Road.

Page 161

Miss George, Karamu Road South.
Miss G. Gray, Havelock Road.
Miss Hodgson, Southampton Street West.
Miss Rainbow, Lyndon Road West.
Miss Smith, Rodney Street.
Miss Sanders, c/o Deaconess Esther Brand.
Mrs Tindall, Ellison Road.
Miss M. Watts, Willow Park Road, Joint Secretary
Miss Wright, Lascelles Street, Joint Secretary.

HASTINGS WEST

1922 July, Sarah Jane Ebbett nee Corbett died at Hastings aged 77 wife of James Ebbett who died July 1930 aged 88 the parents of George Ebbett Mayor of Hastings 1919 – 1922.

[Photo]

Possibly the 1922 Show Week celebration procession along Heretaunga St west – R F C, the West End arch – shows the Cosy De Luxe Theatre, The London Pie Shop right, with Thomas Ritchie next to Roach’s left

[Photo]

1923 January, Heretaunga St west at Market St during a torrential downpour sheltering at James Daniel Donovan’s hairdressing shop at 306 next to Ellington’s Pacific Hotel, shows advertising signage for Goodrich Tyres at Pidgeon & Co Motor Importers and Barley Bros Ltd, Tailors & Mercers across the road, with the Bank of NSW and BNZ further along, AWN, by H. J. Lovell-Smith

1923 October, The Hastings Progress League’s 50th Anniversary ‘Advance Hastings’ Jubilee Carnival celebrations with these specifically erected arches on Heretaunga St – not to be confused with the later post- earthquake Carnival Week with thin white wooden arches in 1932 that displayed – ‘Welcome to Hastings’

Page 162

[Photo]

Heretaunga St is dressed in flags and arches during the carnival, shows corner wooden buildings Westerman’s on Russell St

[Photos]

1923 October, AWN – The Hastings Jubilee procession along Heretaunga St east with the Fire Brigade passing F. L. Bone and Simmonds, then returning along Heretaunga St west passing the Hastings Hotel, Edward Perkis proprietor 1923, crossing over the railway turning into Russell St north. The Club Tea Rooms building behind.

[Photo]

1923 October 15th A group portrait of Early Settlers during the Hastings Jubilee Carnival. The twenty five men pictured have been arranged in three rows. The front row is seated. The sitters are identified on the mount as follows: Back Row (left to right) – J. Harris, T. H. Anderson, G. MacKay M P, G. A. Maddison (Mayor), H. W. C. Baird (Pres[President] Progress League), F. W. Cook (Deputy Mayor) Centre – G. Neale, A. A. George, R. A. Braithwaite, J. Pilcher, T. Brinson, F. Cook, W. Heslop, T. Powell, W. Y. Dennett, W. Dickson, F. Harrison, Whahupango. Front seated – W. Griffith, T. Myers, E. W. Furniss, J. McCarthy, R. D. D. MacLean, R. Wellwood (1st Mayor of Hastings) W. Sharp, Mohi Te Atekahoia, by Hubert John Lovell-Smith.

Page 163

1923 December 1 Saturday afternoon – The opening ceremony for the new Hastings Girls’ Friendly Society’s Lodge established by the Anglican Church committee.

[Photo]

The new Hastings Police Station on Railway Rd in February 1931, by Frank L. Moodie

[Photo]

Looking south down Railway Rd towards Eastbourne St west corner 1935 – the Courthouse with lawn and hedging and second Police Station at rear, with Bowling Club behind to Lyndon St west

In November 1924, Sections 126, 127 of D P 83 on the corner of Hastings St nth and Queen St east were purchased from G. R. Beamish, H. E. Beamish and F. L. Barcroft for a new Hastings Courthouse, but in 1928 the old courthouse on Railway Rd was extensively renovated with additions, removing fireplace & chimneys, relocating water tank and stand to boundary, new strongroom, porch windows etc. In May 1937 it was suggested the empty sections on the corner of Hastings St nth and Queen St east should be sold, but they were not sold off until 1950 – Lot 1 & 2 to Anderson & Hansen Ltd and Lot 3 to Miss Norma Giorgi.

[Plan – Hastings St. Queen St.]

This land where a Maori Pa was and the Makirikiri creek once flowed though was never used to build a courthouse and remained empty. Previous owners – T. Tanner, George Baillie, M. A. Baillie, W. M. Broughton, John Cullen, A. P. Pattison, Jane Cullen, Ellison & Duncan Ltd, T. J. Cullen, D. F. Scannell, and A. Cullen.

Page 164

There was once a small Maori pa settlement on this corner Queen Street section situated by the then deep Makirikiri creek that flowed from under the current Municipal Theatre and Civic Buildings are across Heretaunga St then across Hastings St and Queen St.

[Photo]

The small Maori Pa on the bank of the Makirikiri creek behind the Regent block celebrated Queen Victoria’s Jubilee 3rd June 1897 in cooking a bullock in a hungi[hangi] for the large gathering of Maori visitors staying there.

[Photo]

The small renovated historic Hastings Police station hut built 1879 – without its chimney, by Don Task

HASTINGS EAST

1924 April, HASTINGS – A series of private recitals by Mr Sydney Francis Hoben, well known for his operatic interpretations on the piano, is being given in Hastings under the auspices of local hostesses. The first was at Frimley the charming home of Miss Elsie Williams, while Mrs R. Nairn, Mrs W. Richmond and Mrs T. Crosse are to conduct afternoon recitals in the course of the next week or two. Mr & Mrs E. Newbigin of Karamu Road Hastings accompanied by their younger daughter Doreen and their son Dudley, are leaving for England and the Continent. Miss Rona Woodward of Duke St Hastings is spending a holiday at Eketahuna. The Hastings Orchestral Society has been a great musical influence in Hastings for a good many years, and promises to extend that influence for many years to come. With the departure of Mr. Don from Hastings, but Mr Parkin, a new arrival from the Old Country came to Hastings and stepped into the breach. Mr. Parkin has had a great deal of orchestral experience in the best of company in the Old Land, and should be of great use to the Hastings Society. A well-attended and very jolly flannel dance was held in the Olympia Cabaret.

Page 165

[Photo]

1924 September 17th Destructive fire at Hastings, Mr H. Ian Gunson’s garage where two valuable cars were destroyed, firemen dampening down watched by school boys, by H. J. Lovell-Smith AWN

1924, Oak Avenue was declared a public road.

[Photo]

1924 c, H. Z. Chapman and The Economic at old wooden Webber corner store left with the bus, Thorps for Boots, The Grand Hotel and the Cut Rate Store distant with Westerman’s Men’s & Boys Outfitters, with centre road Traffic light/pole and Russell St now through at right

Page 166

[Photo]

1925 April, AWN a prosperous Heretaunga St east with the Grand Hotel left with Thompson’s and Cut-Rate Store, the Carlton Club Hotel and Albert Hotel J. F. Le Sueur proprietor, G. Davies, F. L. Bone and Municipal Buildings distant right, still a few horses, by Barcham Studios

1925, Mr W. A. Williamson sought the right to sell Confectionary & Fruit in the Bookstall at the Hastings Railway Station.

In 1926 Te Mata Peak (the sleeping giant) was gifted to the Province by the Chamber’s family and the first campers at Beatson’s Park.

[Photo]

1929, traffic with the old wooden Webber corner store and the Grand Hotel left with Westerman’s Outfitters right

Page 167

[Photo]

1920’s, looking north along renamed Russell St by the old PO clock tower at 2 pm looking towards the old Hastings Railway Station with Wellwood & Co and the Dominion Fish Coy and Wellwood & co at near right, then Cassin, Gill Bthrs  and McGlashan’s old store further down, pre earthquake, small Billboards on Railway at left, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

1920’s, looking north along renamed Russell St looking towards the Railway Station and St Aubyn St distant with F. Cassin, Gill Bthrs and McGlashan’s old brick store on right further down, by Sydney Charles Smith

1921 January 19th – a bicycle being ridden by man named Maurice Begley rode into a passing train No. 928 (Hastings- Napier mixed) at the Frederick Street crossing Hastings, Begley was injured.

Page 168

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, Hastings Post Office on Russell St with a new Art Deco building adjoining at right designed by Albert Garnett Architect and built by T. Hill, shows – Seedman, A. W. Kummer & Co, Florists, by T. J. Paul, Coll

[Photo]

1927 October, shows crowd gathered around smashed car that collided with train on the Heretaunga St crossing, three people were injured, Russell St nth Poppelwell building behind and shows scaffolding on the Post Office, by H. J. Lovell-Smith for AWN

1927 January, FIRE AT HASTINGS – Last night a large brick building in Russell St owned by John Blake of Hastings and occupied by A. E. Bullen & Co auctioneers was burnt to a shell. A brick wall prevented the fire connecting with Joe Tos’ grocery shop next door. It appears that Mr Bullen went into the incubating room to trim the lamps, the match was burning his fingers so he threw it away, which caught the coconut matting aflame. In trying to put this out with a sack he upset an incubator lamp, which set fire to flax, coconut matting and other inflammable material, the outbreak spreading swiftly. Mr Bullen then made a hasty escape. The contents valued at about £500 were destroyed, besides goods awaiting sale and owned by clients. The upper floor was occupied by the National Service Club as a social hall, and this was also destroyed, with furniture and fittings valued at about £200. Bullen’s insurance totals £500 in the General Assurance Corporation on the stock, and £250 in the same office on the incubators and accessories. The Australian

Page 168

Alliance had a risk of £1500 on the buildings. The National Service Club loss is covered in the Royal Exchange.

[Photos]

Shows White Star left side

In March 1928 the NZ PO acquired the lease to part of lot 5 from Mr F. P. Kelly

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, looking south down extended Russell St to de Pelichet McLeod’s new building taken from the Hastings Railway Station, with Austin garage, Gill Brothers -Tom and Harry’s building left, the Daily

Page 170

Telegraph office and the Post Office now with new Art Deco building adjoining sth, also shows the large new Bill board hoardings along railway at right opposite Queen St which was sorely complained of!

In March 1920 Hastings Council – a publicity committee of three persons to be appointed with power to incur expenditure up to £50 on advertising, hoardings and poster. There were three small bill boards with ads for tourist attention to Entertainment; Accommodation etc erected on the railway land opposite Queen St east in 1910 when the new PO opened. These were replace with three larger Hoardings – maybe erected around 1923? That is when the complaints of eye sore to the council and letters to the editor. In June 1924 – plans to plant creepers etc to beautify them – to obscure the view that the town was built around a railway yard.

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, The new larger billboard fencing along the railway on Russell St nth opposite Queen St east that caused some complaint, shows theatre advertisements for movies currently showing ‘The American Venus’ and ‘Lovers in Quarantine’ with wooden ladder at bottom, by Henry Norford Whitehead

There were only three nights of screenings in September 1926 starting Wednesday 15, 16 and 17 for The American Venus, but no Lovers in Quarantine at the Cosy De Luxe as the posters indicate? So this may mean there was a later screening around 1927 where both these films were shown simultaneously? Lovers in Quarantine was filmed in 1925 and good films usually did a second time around the country cinemas.

The large Hoardings survived the earthquake and were dismantled around 1959 when the Railway yards were moved north and Railway Road extended and the two Queen Sts joined.

1926 November 27 – an ad in the Hawke’s Bay Herald for the De Luxe Tourist Information Bureau in Russell St Hastings in conjunction with De Luxe Motor Services Co Ltd – for bookings by bus or rail or boat

[Photo]

Page 171

1920’s, looking south down extended Russell St, poss [possibly] before the large hoardings erected, taken from the Hastings Railway Station and water tanks at Avenue Rd with PO clock tower distant at 9.15 am, pre earthquake, with Davis & Boyd’s country garage at left, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, from Karamu Rd corner Queen St east, Beecroft’s corner the National Bank left looking west towards Clifton Chambers, E. S. Cliff & Co Bookbinders and the old wooden PO and the new PO with clock at 2.10 pm with the railway line at the end before the large Bill boarding obscured the view, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

Ernest Sherman Cliff & Co on Queen St east, Bookbinders, established yesterday! Bright Prompt Printers

Page 172

[Photo]

1920’s, Herald Tribune and Public Trust building on corner of Karamu Rd nth, Queen St east with an adjoining building

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, The Herald Tribune building from Queen St east, looking west towards the National Bank left on Beecroft’s corner with the new PO clock tower distant pre-earthquake, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

Page 173

1917 c, Karamu Rd looking south towards the Gas Works tank distant from Queen St intersection, Beecroft’s corner with the Tribune building left and the National Bank right, the Carlton Club Hotel distant, poss [possibly] a Plume Motor Spirit signage

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, Karamu Rd, Queen St east, Beecroft’s corner, the Tribune building 1911 left looking south towards S. T. Tong building and the Albert Hotel, with the National Bank right, pre earthquake, by Sydney Charles Smith

Late 1920’s, Karamu Rd, Queen St east intersection, Beecroft’s corner, looking south towards pre earthquake to the Public Trust and Tribune building left and the National Bank right, with an omnibus

Page 174

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, Herald Tribune and Public Trust building on Karamu Rd nth, by Henry Norford Whitehead

1926 February, FIRE AT HASTINGS. BOARDING HOUSE DESTROYED. This morning a seven-roomed house owned by Mr C. J. Tipping and occupied by Mrs Lawton as a boarding house in the commercial centre of the town, was burnt to a shell. The flames had a good hold when discovered and the occupants escaped in what they stood up in. When the brigade arrived the flames bad full charge, but they confined the outbreak to the area of the origin and made a fine ‘save” of Poll’s photographic studio and Lambert’s engineering shop on either side. The insurances on the furniture and effects were £150 in the Alliance” and for the house £600 in the National.

[Photo]

1926c, The Municipal Theatre during Paramount week showing The Sheik with costume horseman, also shows dip down the alley which filled with rainwater where once the Makirikiri creek ran

Page 175

[Photo]

1927c, the Town Hall and shops on Heretaunga St east also shows neon sign – ‘pictures’ on the Municipal Theatre roof.

1927 June, John Hislop a retired Railway engine driver died at Hastings aged 62 his wife Mary Green Hislop nee Pickett died in June 1951 aged 86.

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, Hastings looking east towards Te Mata Peak (the sleeping giant) The Windsor Private Hotel on Queen St left and Queens Square rotunda distant and the Willow trees that once lined the Makirikiri (stony) creek behind the Cullen Bakery on Hastings St with S. T. Tong Builders & Furnishers on Karamu Rd Nth in foreground who constructed many of the buildings and were also undertakers and Dewson & Wilmshurst Cabinet Makers & Shop Fitters at 111 Karamu Rd, Sutherland & Mitchell at 105, taken from the Grand Hotel roof with the new Bank of Australasia slate roof foreground on Hick’s corner, pre-earthquake by Sydney Charles Smith

Page 176

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, looking east towards the white steeple catholic church, the Council Chambers and Municipal Theatre with seven rear windows and roof Pictures sign, trees behind that once lined the Makirikiri (stony) creek, the Albert Hotel at right along Heretaunga St east signage – Sunshine Dunedin Ales on tap, J. F. Le Sueur Proprietor to 1927 also T. Pickett & Co Quality Outfitters opposite F. L. Bone and Griffiths Ranfurly Private Hotel at 116 Warren St and the extended Municipal Electricity Power & Pumping Station generator building on the old Fire Station site – Hastings was now connected to the National Grid, taken from the Grand Hotel roof pre-earthquake with the new Bank of Australasian slate roof foreground on Hick’s corner, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, looking southeast with the Hastings Timber & Joinery Co Ltd yard distant left on Warren St later Council yards with the Albert Hotel left and Carlton Club Hotel with Arthur Wade plumber a Labour member who left in 1926 due to bankruptcy, P. Burton Second-hand dealers off Karamu Rd Sth and Ross Dysart McLean Motor Car Painters & Upholsters on the corner of Karamu Rd and Eastbourne St taken from the Grand Hotel roof pre-earthquake by Sydney Charles Smith

Page 177

[Photo]

1920’s, The staff wearing long leather aprons at the Charles Brausche – Hastings Timber & Joinery Co Ltd on the corner of Warren St and 301 Eastbourne St east, later Council yards , with a residence at left.

HASTINGS WEST

1921 February, St. Matthew’s, Hastings – Vicar: Rev E. T. Hall. Assistant Curate: Rev O. Gibson.

Presentation was made to Mr Tombs in recognition of his devoted work at St Matthew’s Church for the last 14 years. Mr E. Rackley 503 Nelson street has been appointed treasurer and will acknowledge subscriptions. The Sunday school picnic will not take place at Tomoana as previously arranged. Most of our readers will understand the reason. We are very grateful to Mr Nelson for allowing us the use of his grounds for so long.

[Maps Block No. 8 Heretaunga and Blocks No. 7 & 8]

1925 Hastings west from Roach’s to the Hastings Hotel and the Library

Page 178

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, looking southwest (Newman’s corner) over Railway Rd with tall railway signal pole, Eastbourne St west corner left to the Courthouse and Police Station and the racecourse in distance with Market St – Presbyterian Church steeple and Hall, the Fire Brigade Station hose tower corner of Market St and Lyndon Rd, Graham & Gebbie Livery Stables and Booth MacDonald Co Ltd and St Matthew’s bell tower, the corner of The Hastings Hotel at right, the later drive-in bottle store was built where the adjoining wooden building is opposite, poss [possibly] taken from behind Russell St building pre-earthquake, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

1920, Heretaunga Street west from Railway Rd shows on right Dick Austen hairdresser & tobacconist; Baird’s drapers; Jones Cycles; and Allen & Harris Ltd furnishers left with horse, by Sydney Charles Smith

Page 179

[Photo]

1920, Heretaunga Street west enlargement – shows signage for Griffiths Boot & Shoe, Barley Bros Ltd Tailors & Mercers at Market St and The London Pie Shop, by Sydney Charles Smith

[Photo]

Late 1920’s, Central Heretaunga St west from the Grand Hotel looking down to the railway line with telephone box and weigh machine and Club Tea Rooms, the fire bell tower removed and the tall old telegraph pole south side of track, the Hastings Hotel with the old Hastings Library behind in Market St top left, Baird’s, Club Tea Rooms, note the traffic centre post of road at Russell St pre-earthquake The old Hastings Carnegie Public Library can be seen behind in Market St just south of the Pacific Hotel, by Sydney Charles Smith

Page 180

[Photo]

1929, Two photos of Central Heretaunga St west pre-earthquake – no Club Tea Room signage

[Photo]

1929, Central Heretaunga St west pre-earthquake showing the railway crossing minus the tall telegraph pole on south side of track with telephone box and penny weigh machine also shows old Library behind and Roach’s new building distant, the Hastings Hotel, D. H. McLeod proprietor with bicycles against the wall which was later demolished for the Woolworths new building.

A new drive-in bottle store was built at the south end of the Hastings Hotel late 1960’s where I recall first getting served under aged with a half dozen Lion Brown which I placed on the carrier of my bicycle. I also worked on the refurbishment of the Pacific Hotel in 1969 down the next block when they removed the old lounge bar there were numerous old coins found underneath which were traded in for a big feed of fish & chips for all the workers lunch.

[Newspaper notice]
MISS M. D. GILES
HAS OPENED A TYPEWRITING OFFICE
At 5 H. B. Farmers’ Meat Co.’s Offices,
KARAMU ROAD, HASTINGS.
And would be glad of support. All Work strictly confidential.
Lessons in Typing and Script Short-hand also given.
TERMS ON APPLICATION.

1929 February

Page 181

[Photo]

1920 c, A photographic postcard of Heretaunga St west at King St with Roach’s new department store at the right and train passing through distant, taken near the Cosy De Luxe Theatre left, by Frank Duncan & Co

[Photo]

1922, The Douglas Cosy Buildings on Heretaunga St west at King St – Cosy De Luxe Theatre (W. R. Kemball Theatres Ltd) with large high neon sign and advertising for The Paramont [Paramount] Pictures, The Best Show in Town with posters over windows and crosses between. Shows costume nurses and others around a truck possibly advertising The Cosy De Luxe Nurse Marjorie – the Red Cross film version with Mary Miles Minter of the stage comedy by Englishman Israel Zangwill that was being shown around New Zealand.

Page 182

[Photo]

Late 1920’s Heretaunga St west at King St now shows a basic Douglas Cosy Buildings – Cosy De Luxe Theatre (W. R. Kemball Theatres Ltd) with wooden window shades and surround lights with a low neon sign and high arch light pole, now shows a new two storied building where Phillip & Wright & Co were on left. This building was completely destroyed in the quake

[Photo]

1920 c, Heretaunga St west at King St with Roach’s new department store at the right and The London Pie Shop further down left, with the Cosy De Luxe Theatre near left

Page 183

1930, Prosperous Heretaunga St west before the Earthquake looking towards the Roach’s Ltd right on King St intersection, Cosy De Luxe Theatre left with Allan & Harris Linoleums signage. Flags, street green stuff possibly October 1930 when the street was decorated for Excellencies Lord and Lady Bledisloe, taken from near the Cosy De Luxe Theatre at left, by H. L [J]. Lovell-Smith

[Photo]

1928, Heretaunga St west, Miss Emma Wade’s building on the corner of Nelson St before adjoining James Kirks Villa D’ Este building was erected 1929 on right, Arthur Redgrave built his store 1924 – shows men in costumes with instruments around an old truck advertising a fundraising event for orphans at the Assembly Hall with Paramount Pictures logo and drum – want a Nurse – Follow Joyfull Crowd for Joy. The premises of Electric Battery Service Station with AV brand flag above next to Cycle & Sports Depot and Lewis & Sands Butcher on right, by Henry Norford Whitehead. This building was completely destroyed in the quake

Page 184

[Photo]

1926, Rush Munro’s first Ice Cream shop in Heretaunga St

[Photo]

1930’s, Heretaunga St west at Southland Rd on right, dusk looking east towards Havelock, by Dave Williams

1928, Mr J. N. Williams had mooted the need for a Soldiers Hospital for Hastings many years prior

Page 185

[Photo]

1928 ANZAC Day, the Hastings Fallen Soldiers Memorial Hospital was built and opened on 18 acres of land along Omahu Rd known as the “Ridge” where the first soccer games were played, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Sister Owen, who has been on the staff of the Napier Hospital for the last five years, has been appointed Sister in Charge of the Hastings Memorial Hospital. The first baby was born in this hospital on August 5. An ante-natal clinic is to be erected at the Hastings Hospital, a donation of £56 having been received from the Misses McHardy, which, with the Government subsidy, will be sufficient for the clinic.

[Photo]

1928 ANZAC Day, the opening of the Hastings Fallen Soldiers Memorial Hospital, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Page 186

[Photo]

1929, The Carnegie Public Library in Market St sth and the wooden Hastings Gentlemen’s social Club on the corner of Market St and Eastbourne St west, both the Club & Library were designed by Napier architect Mr C. A. Vautier

[Photo]

1930, Graham & Gebbie Livery & Bait Stables on Market St sth, previously C. Hart, Tattersall’s looking north shows three sheep trucks and the Library distant, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

Page 187

1930, Graham & Gebbie Livery & Bait Stables staff & trucks on Market St sth, shows three sheep trucks and the two storied brick Fire Brigade station further down with hose tower behind, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1930, Graham & Gebbie Livery & Bait Stables staff & trucks on Market St sth, shows six sheep trucks and the two storied brick Fire Brigade station further down with hose tower behind, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1927, an elevated view of Hastings from St Matthew’s concrete Church of England between Lyndon Rd west and Eastbourne St west below, looking north towards the rear of the Hawke’s Bay Farmers’ Co-op Garage. The Garage is shown in the upper portion of the photograph near the centreline. The barrel-vaulted roof and the false shop front can be made out, with the rear of Carnegie Library at left edge and Pacific Hotel and Bank NSW behind, Davis & Boyd building seen upper left corner on Russell St and King St nth at upper right corner, by Robert Percy Moore

[Photo]

Page 188

1929 January, following the fire at H B Farmers Cooperative Associations large store on the corner of Market St nth and Queen St west – built 1899, looking south east shows William’s & Kettle across the road, and men rummaging through the debris with the rear of Bank NSW behind on Heretaunga St and St Matthew’s Church visible top right corner, by Lovell-Smith

1929, The Great Depression had begun

1929 George Ebbett made a gift of Ebbett Park, an area of seven acres to the borough of Hastings.

[Photo]

1930, The new rebuilt concrete H B Farmers Cooperative new building on Market St nth – the first building to have floating foundations and the Hawke’s Bay Farmers Co operative Associations Buick Sales & Service garage at 206 Queen St west, by Henry Norford Whitehead

This H B Farmers Cooperative building survived the 1931 earthquake and had a lift installed for the cafeteria that I recall as schoolkids 1960’s we were sternly discouraged from using, the lift was accessed from the Queen St entrance near parked car

[Photo]

1930, Queen St west looking east to the Tourist Motors Co at left with signage for Free Crank Case Service and the rear of Tourist Motors Co garage on the corner on Market St shows damaged roof and is demolished  soon after, taken from Hawke’s Bay Farmers Co operative Associations Buick Sales & Service, by James Henry Daroux

Page 189

[Photo]

1930, Queen St west looking towards the Market St and the railway shows the newly rebuilt concrete H B Farmers Cooperative building with William’s & Kettle across the road on Market St nth, and the Hawke’s Bay Farmers Co operative Associations Buick Sales & Service garage forefront at 206 Queen St west built 1925, run by Bill Greer, by Dave Williams

[Photo]

An early photo of the corrugated iron The Hector Jones Electrical Co, electrical engineers and radiotricians building on the corner of King St nth and Queen St west, with staff – one boy, four men and two women. George B. Russell second from left with the firm and the wooden Excelsior House right edge. William Hector Jones an Electrical engineer was married to Ethel May Jones of 706 Tomoana Rd. (Unconfirmed if the two female Hector Jones staff died in the 1931 Quake when the building below collapsed)

[Photo]

Page 190

1930, the concrete & brick facade of The Hector Jones Electrical Co, electrical engineers at the corner from Queen St west Looking sth east towards the HB Farmers Co operative Associations roofs Buick Chevrolet signage and roofs distant left edge, with the wooden Excelsior House adjoining right side on King St nth under Mrs Ethel Cook widow of coach proprietor William George Cook.

[Photo]

1930, Queen St west looking sth east with the HB Farmers Co operative Associations roofs distant left shows five men around cars outside The Hector Jones Electrical Co, electrical engineers concrete & brick facade behind, George B. Russell on left served 7 years with the firm.

[Photo]

1930, shows five staff outside The Hector Jones Electrical Co, electrical engineers on Queen St west

Oak Avenue grew from sack of Acorns. Around 1871, a merchant in London received an order from the Colony of New Zealand that included two sacks of Acorns – which were duly dispatched by sailing ship. One sack was delivered to Canterbury and the other to Hawke’s Bay. The last Superintendent – Mr J. D. Ormond was responsible for planting of the scenic carriage way called Oak Avenue with 300 English Oak seedlings two miles from Hastings leading to the two- storied Ormond weekend residence called the ‘Karamu Homestead’ – as they spent most of their time in Wellington or Napier. Mr Ormond took a keen interest in the grounds and obtained many plants and trees from around the world. He planted Wisteria around the Homestead. The Oak Avenue canopy provides a refreshing shaded archway in the summer heat. In 1924, Karamu was subdivided for closer settlement and Oak Avenue was declared a public road and dedicated to the Hawke’s Bay County with a legal undertaking that the tress would never be cut.

Page 191

[Photo]

The other renowned Poplar Avenue in Hastings which ran along Pakowhai Rd from Elwood Rd to the Pakowhai Bridge was demolished due to the extreme growth and demise of the Poplar’s.

HASTINGS EAST

1930 c, The Albert Hotel, Heretaunga St east and Karamu Rd built 1882 for Tasmanian Mr W. Y. Dennett shows public telephone box pre-earthquake. In 1904 Napier Brewery’s Co owned it and put managers in – 1916 Margaret O’Donohue [O’Donoghue] was listed as proprietor, 1921 Walter Oliver, then Ernest Odlum and James Frederick Le Sueur to March 1928, Mrs A. McConnell was proprietor advertised in 1929, and S. R. Standing before he went to the Pacific Hotel after the earthquake, by Henry Norford Whitehead

1926 March 28, Ernest Whyte Garnett a carpenter and barman at the Albert Hotel was assault by Horace Ian Simson and Albert Garnett architect and Ernest’s brother. Ernest Whyte Garnett recently thrashed his daughter where the neighbours called the police and was married to Emily Garnett, Simson a former Mayor of Hastings and member of several local bodies and a recent Bankrupt visited Ernest Garnetts house at midnight with Albert Garnett and awoke Ernest and his wife, Simson demand rent of £4 10s then dragged Ernest out of his bed threatening him with a knife. As questioned to Simson in court – that you are the Mussolini of, Hastings? – I used to be. I don’t know what you mean. You know all right. You said you used to be. Have you boasted about what you did on this occasion? – No. Did you boast in the bar of an hotel that you pulled a man out of bed, took him to Clive, stripped and tarred him and then left him to walk- home? – No. Did you boast of horsewhipping a man? – I have done so on several occasions when they have spoken about women and coupled my name with them. My breed have always done this. Magistrate Dyer gave Horace Ian Simson one months gaol with hard labour

Page 192

[Photo]

1930 c, the Carlton Club Hotel, power and telegraph pole with round red fire alarm and Ford garage signage down Karamu Rd sth at Eastbourne St east -– J. E. Peach. In 1914 Samuel Charlton was listed as proprietor and 1916 Joseph Truman. The old Carlton Club Hotel was demolished in the 1970’s to become the Lion Tavern.

As an under aged drinker, I recall going to the old Carlton Hotel once, but I preferred the Albert. There was usually a fight going on in either the Carlton or across the road at the Albert, so the Police were kept busy. I did not frequent the new Lion Tavern.

[Photo]

1930, Russell St sth looking north shows the WW1 Memorial in Queens Square at right, by Dave Williams

[Photo]

1930’s, Hastings bus parked outside the Woman’s Rest rooms on Russell St sth

Page 193

[Photo]

1929, Municipal Theatre on Hastings St sth

[Plan]

1929 Block 14 – from Warren St sth to Hastings St sth between Eastbourne St east and Heretaunga St east, still shows the 2 old houses by the Power House

Page 194

[Photo]

1930, C. H. Slater Ltd building on St Aubyn St near Karamu Rd intersection with new horse truck

[Photos]

Burton Brewery brick buildings on Ellison Rd, after the two storied wooden building was destroyed by fire in May 1908, signage – Newbigin’s Burton Brewery’s Leopard brand Ale & Aerated Waters & Cordials, Wine & Spirits, by Henry Norford Whitehead and later Burton Brewery, advert Leopard brand ale. Newbigin owned it till 1956 when it was bought out and renamed Leopard Brewery’s – by James Henry Daroux

1928 ER for Hastings lists – John Beatson a Retired Farmer and Mary Beatson at St Aubyn’s St Hastings.

Page 195

[Photo]

1930 December 5, two-stored J. E. Peach and Co motor garage near the corner of Karamu Rd sth and Eastbourne St was gutted by fire at Hastings where 30 motor cars were destroyed following a violent explosion early morning apparently caused by benzene [benzine].

The fire was one of the fiercest during recent years and in ten minutes had effected the destruction. The flames lit up the whole neighbourhood so vividly that it seemed at first as though even the buildings across the street were ablaze. The brigade was quickly on the scene and did magnificent work against heavy odds. The main part of the garage in which a very large number of cars were stored was separated from the annexe by a thick brick wall and it was not affected except by smoke and water. The annexe was an old building at one time known as Richard Sorenson’s Building. While it lasted the fire was an awe-inspiring spectacle, and the heat from the blazing buildings was intense. The explosions shook the police station, which is about 150 yards away. It is fortunate that there is a thick brick wall between the two buildings, otherwise the damage would have been more extensive.

1930 October, OBITUARY Hastings reports the death of Mr Alfred Amory George, J.P. journalist and printer, at the age of 70. He was born in London and arrived in New Zealand with his parents in 1861, landing at Dunedin, where he studied at the school conducted by the late Sir Robert Stout. He was one of the first mounted volunteers to enlist for service at the time of the Parihaka affair. He visited the Dunstan and Gabriel’s Gully diggings in 1876 and conveyed in a dray the printing plant for the establishment of the “Courier” at Tapanui, Otago. He came to Hastings in 1885 and setting up as a printer, issued the first daily newspaper in the town in 1887. In 1894 he was in partnership with C. Young, Printers. He took a keen interest in local body affairs, being at one time a borough councillor and Deputy Mayor. He founded the Hastings Fire Board and was secretary of the Heretaunga Squadron of Frontiersmen, lion, secretary and trumpeter of the Hawke’s Bay branch of the Maori War veterans, life member of the Auckland Garrison Band, and foundation life member of the Dunedin Garrison Band, and an officer of several local sports associations.

THE END

To contribute photos, send to – martyjbeck[@]yahoo.com

Page 196

[Photos]

1934, An early aerial view of Hastings from the air, shows rapid recovery following the earthquake before Queen St went across the Railway line, the new PO is center, and HBF forefront, before the new Town Clock was built with the white Kings Theatre still behind the Woman’s Rest Rooms

Page 197

[Map]

1935, survey may shows Mrs Annie Ellen McCormack’s residence at No 2 – 207 Lyndon Rd east and shed buildings along the Buffalo Hall section behind on Warren St.

[Photo]

207 Lyndon Rd east, possibly owned by Mr Dysart, once residence of Bernard Charles McCormick of the Albert Stables. One of his sons Graham William Bernard McCormick was born here 1902, he went to Central School and Hastings High School, he was elected to the Hastings City Council 1929 -1950 and died in July 1966. Taken by martin beck in November 1971 – it was a private family rental & boarding house run by Mrs Cecilia Manson – shows Findlay’s bread truck and the Rover, the Orange Hall, Buffaloes Hall (RAOB) behind, all demolished for the new District Council Civic Buildings

Page 198

[Photo]

2014 Google street view, now shows Baptist Hall beside old 207 east Lyndon Rd

[Photo]

The old Robert Wall residence on the corner of Queen St west and Tomoana Rd Hastings demolished June 1964

[Photos]

Two sides of the oldest house in Hastings, by Charles Fearnley

Page 199

[Newspaper cuttings]

Hasting’s oldest house is doomed.

Heretaunga street as the “top road,” and the land near the J. Wattie Canneries factory as No 10 paddock – these are among the recollections of a Hastings man whose first home, at the corner of Queen street and Tomoana road, is shortly to be pulled down.

He is Mr. Leslie Wall (70), of 500 Avenue road  west, the youngest son of the man for whom the house was built more than 100 years ago – the late Mr Robert Wall, an Ulster man who managed the Frimley Estate for the late Mr J. N. Williams.

It passed into the ownership of Mr L. Wall many years ago and was sold to an old couple on the understanding that if they in turn sold it, the Wall family would have the right to repurchase it.

Mr Wall told a Daily Telegraph reported [reporter] that the undertaking was not acted upon and the property passed out of the family’s hands. It was being used a piston reconditioning factory, and was to be pulled down.

HASTINGS’ OLDEST.

The house is the oldest in Hastings. It is built of kauri frame with heart-matai flooring and weatherboarding which still defy hammer and nails. The roofing is of two-foot-long totara shingles, which overlap three-quarters of their length and have kept the house weatherproof for 100 years.

Mr Wall said his father had bought an area of land surrounding the house from the late Mr Williams and this occupied now much of the area west of Railway road. He said he remembered cows grazing on the land where his own house and the old Wall estate homestead now stands.

He recalled the day when his mother, returning by horseback from Napier, got lost after crossing the karamu Stream near Cornwall Park and Tomoana, in heavy scrub on an area between the present Cornwall Park and Tomoana. “That shows what early Hastings was like, and contrasts with the built-up area that greets the eye today,” Mr Wall said, “I remember it all in my lifetime”

Photo caption – MORE THAN 100 YEARS OLD, this venerable Hastings Building now being used as an engineering factory at the corner of Queen street and Tomoana road, is nearing the end of its days. It was built for a manager of the old Frimley estate, the late Mr Robert Wall. The building is to be demolished.

The Wall cottage, kauri frame, heart matai weatherboards, totara piles.

THE DAILY TELEGRAPH, FRIDAY, JUNE 28, 1964

Council’s interest in Hastings’ oldest house

The Hastings City Council decided last night to seek clarification of a verbal offer of a gift to the city of a single-tiled house at the corner of Queen Street and Tomoana Road – believed to be the oldest building at Hastings.

The mayor, Mr. R. V. Giorgi, told a meeting of the City Council last night that the council hoped the building could be saved for prosperity – the suggestion was that it be transferred to Frimley Park.

Mr Giorgi said that the historical section of the Royal Society was interested and there was a strong chance of getting the society’s backing.

Cr. A. Kirkpatrick said the building would be quite a curiosity among future generations.

The Mayor said the owner had offered to give the house free to the council. There was no reason why it could not be made most attractive after a certain amount of renovation to the interior and the fireplaces.

Cr. R. Ammundsen: I am prepared to move that we accept the offer.

The mayor: I don’t think there is any need for a motion. I’ve told the owner that we would be pleased to receive his offer and that we were considering it.

Cr. H. A. A. Baird: I think a most gracious acceptance offer is in keeping with the owner’s suggestion surely.

ORAL PROMISE.

Cr. J. G. Seton said he would not favour acceptance until the council received something more concrete than an oral promise.

Cr. Ammundsen’s motion was accepted, and when put to the meeting was declared lost on the voices.

In the following discussion Cr. P. T. Gifford moved that clarification of the verbal offer be sought, and this was agreed to.

The house was built for the first manager of the Frimley Estate, the late Mr. Robert Wall. It is 100 years old. It has changed hands only twice in its history. After it had been lived in by the Wall family, a large one, it was sold on the understanding that the family should be given the opportunity to repossess it should the then purchaser decide to sell. That obligation was overlooked, and the building in recent years has fallen into disrepair, being used for commercial purposes.

The present owner, it is understood, intends to build on the section. Rather than destroy the building, he has offered it to the City Council.

[Newspaper photo]

Two storied Cullen’s Bakery Store demolished August 1964 and adjoining house removed at corner of Hastings St and Heretaunga St east for new supermarket.

Page 200

[Newspaper cutting]

Work is underway on the demolition of the Hawke’s Bay Farmers Co-operative Association’s old seed and grain store on the corner of Queen Street and Market Streets in Hastings

The wood and corrugated iron building, known as the “old green shed,” is more than 63 years old, but has been owned by the Farmers since 1910. Hot in the summer and cold in the winter, it was once crammed with seed and gas- driven machinery.

When Farmers’ main shop and offices burned down just before the Second World War, it was used as the company’s showroom, store and offices. In the 1931 earthquake the two-storey section split away from the single-storey section and the two were drawn together again with No. 8 wire. The building is being pulled down “before it falls down,” but the company has no immediate plans for the site.

Hawke’s Bay Farmers Co-Operative Associations seed & grain store since 1910 and known as the “old green shed” on the corner of Market St nth and Queen St west was demolished January 1977

[Photo]

Williams & Kettle’s Grain & Seed Store on Railway Rd was being demolished in December 1978 to create 60 carparks when it caught fire; it was said to be built in 1893 after the company established in Hawke’s Bay, around the same time in December 1978 the 110-120 year old Frimley oak tree on the corner of Frimley Rd and Pakowhai Rd was felled.

Some items kindly provided by Madelon Van Zijl De Jong

Original digital file

BeckMJ1636_EarlyHastingsImageHistory.pdf

Date published

December 2016

Format of the original

pdf

Creator / Author

  • Martin James Beck

Accession number

1636/1928/42760

Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.