Newspaper Articles 1966 – British Women’s Overseas Club

[March 1966]

British women’s club officers

A new president, secretary and two new committee members were appointed at the annual meeting of the British Women’s Overseas Club, held in St Matthew’s Guild Room, Hastings.

Mrs J. F. Massie presided. Mrs J. Sunley showed coloured slides of her world trip.

A competition was won by Mrs R. P. Thrum. Mrs T. Stuart held the lucky seat and Mrs B. Burn held the lucky cup.

Officers elected were: – president Mrs M. Sowman; vice-president Mrs Massie; secretary Mrs Sunley; treasurer Mrs E. Isaacson; committee, Mesdames W. Bannister, N. C. Dagg, A. Mayberry, N. Mundie, W. Neilson, R. A. Smith, and Miss E. Bannister and Miss M. Horne.

[April 1966]

Overseas club birthday party

More than 50 members attended the 20th birthday party of the British Women’s Overseas Club. It was held at the St Matthew’s Guild Room.

The birthday cake was cut by a foundation member, Mrs W. Powell.

The president, Mrs M. Sowman, made presentations to the retiring president, Mrs J. F. Massie, and the retiring secretary, Mrs S. Taylor.

Sprays were presented to the retiring committee members Mrs M. Smith, and Mrs A. Bennett and the hospital visitor Mrs J. MacLean.

Mrs P. H. Beere sang two songs accompanied by Mrs B. Wright, who also gave two piano solos.

Competitions were won by Mrs F. H. Hayes and Mrs R. M. Thelwell. Mrs H. T. Tuckwell held the lucky seat and Miss M. Horne the lucky cup.

[June 1966]

Talk given on hair colouring

A talk on hair colouring was given by Mr M. Upton at the Hastings British Women’s Overseas Club meeting in the St Matthew’s Guild Room.

Miss Marie Hooper demonstrated the application of colouring.

Mrs M. Sowman presided.

A cake stall was held and a competition was won by Mrs E. Moscrop.

The lucky seat prize went to Mrs J. MacLean and Mrs W. Powell held the lucky cup.

[August 1966]

40 children at overseas club meeting

More than 40 children and grandchildren of members of the British Women’s Overseas Club were entertained at the August meeting.

Items were given by Misses Robin and Trixie Bewley, Suzanne and Kim Evans, and Beverley Moscrop.

Competitions were won by Jane Irvine and Gordon Sutherland.

Mrs J. McLean won both the lucky cup and the lucky seat prizes and Mrs E. Moscrop was the winner of a competition.

[September 1966]

Overseas club hold social

Members of the British Women’s Overseas Club, held a social evening in St Matthew’s guild room, Hastings.

Mrs T. Whitehouse conducted community singing, which featured songs from parts of the British Isles. Lancashire monologues were presented by Mesdames H. W. Wilson and S. Taylor.

A sketch entitled “the Old House”, was presented by Mesdames J. Frew and S. Charlesworth.

Competitions were won by Mesdames N. C. Dagg and Whitehouse and a game by Mrs A. Sutherland. The lucky seat and cup prizes were won by Mrs J. McLean.

[November 1966]

Presents from Mother Christmas

Gifts were distributed by a red-robed “Mother Christmas,” (Mrs M. Sowman), assisted by two “fairies,” (Misses E. Bannister and M. Horne), at the Christmas party of the British Women’s Overseas Club, Hastings.

Members were welcomed by the president Mrs Sowman. The Christmas cake, made by Mrs J. Malloy, was cut by a foundation member, Mrs W. Bannister.

A competition was won by Miss E. Wilson, the lucky cup seat was held by Mrs J. Walker and the lucky cup went to Mrs P. O’Neil [O’Neill].

Members sung carols by candlelight accompanied by Mrs T. Whitehouse.

Original digital file


Business / Organisation

British Women's Overseas Club

Date published


Format of the original

Newspaper articles


  • Miss E [Edith] Bannister
  • Mrs W Bannister
  • Mrs P H Beere
  • Mrs A [Agnes] Bennett
  • Miss Robin Bewley
  • Miss Trixie Bewley
  • Mrs B Burn
  • Mrs S [Joyce] Charlesworth
  • Mrs N [Nena] C Dagg
  • Miss Kim Evans
  • Miss Suzanne Evans
  • Mrs J Frew
  • Mrs F [M] H Hayes
  • Miss Marie Hooper
  • Miss M Horne
  • Jane Irvine
  • Mrs E [Betty] Isaacson
  • Mrs J [S] Malloy
  • Mrs J [Margaret] F Massie
  • Mrs A Mayberry
  • Mrs J McLean
  • Miss Beverley Moscrop
  • Mrs E Moscrop
  • Mrs N [Nellie] Mundie
  • Mrs W [Maud] Neilson
  • Mrs P [Christine] O'Neill
  • Mrs W [H] Powell
  • Mrs M Smith
  • Mrs R A Smith
  • Mrs M [Joyce] Sowman
  • Mrs A Sutherland
  • Gordon Sutherland
  • Mrs J [Noel] Sunley
  • Mrs S [Joan] Taylor
  • Mrs R M Thelwell
  • Mrs R P Thrum
  • Mrs H T Tuckwell
  • M Upton
  • Mrs J Walker
  • Mrs T Whitehouse
  • Miss E Wilson
  • Mrs H W Wilson
  • Mrs B Wright

Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.