150 Years as a Village 1860-2010 – Havelock North

150 YEARS
AS A VILLAGE

1860-2010

Havelock North

heart of wine country

Our village is not ordinary,
it is quite unique!

Hawke’s Bay Today

A Hawke’s Bay Today Special Publication

[Advertisement]
Working together, Working for You!
Call Havelock North’s most successful Real Estate team
Heathe [Heather] Murphy
027 246 9733
Darryl Buckley
027 316 3259
Sarah Pinckney
021 220 5510
Rebecca Mason
021 220 5511
Bruce Evans
027 248 3169
Caron Wezel
027 284 5906
Catherine Rochester
027 449 2943
Jan Hayward
027 422 3235
Patrick Dingemans
027 230 2303
Sue Jackson
027 242 3389
Ross Morgan
027 208 3325
Donna Milburn
027 544 7190
Mark Walsh
027 450 5181

Havelock North
heart of wine country

CELEBRATING 150 YEARS OF HAVELOCK NORTH,
THE VIBRANT VILLAGE
IN THE MIDDLE OF ONE OF THE
MOST CHARMING LOCATIONS IN THE WORLD,
HAWKE’S BAY WINE COUNTRY

PO Box 8602, Havelock North 4157 P. (06) 873-7129 F: (06) 877-1099
E: a.pierce@asmartbusiness.co.nz

HAWKE’S BAY
WINE COUNTRY

Page 3

HAVELOCK NORTH TIME LINE

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1851
Havelock Hills were a landmark for the earliest Maori inhabitants.

1854
John Chambers builds a house two miles from the centre of Havelock called Te Mata.

Contents

4   Maori Land Sale
6   The Chambers family
8   The Bee family
10   The Reynold [Reynolds], Ashcroft and Danvers families
12   The Joll family
14   The Eves Brickworks
15   The Couper family
16   The Ormond family
18   The McLean family at Duart House
19   The Fulford family
20   The Tanner family
21   St Luke’s Anglican Church
22   The von Dadelszen family
24   Havelock North Borough Council
26   Brief history on the Library
27   Commemorative Envelope and Stamp
28   Havelock School
29   Iona College
30   Woodford House
31   Hereworth School
32   Havelock North Bowling Club
33   Presbyterian Social Services
34   Keirunga Gardens
37   Havelock North Post Office
38   Te Mata Estate
39   A truly iconic building
40   Mangapapa Lodge
42   Warren’s Bakery
43   Havelock North High School
43   Havelock Today
44   Havelock North Rugby Club
41   Havelock North Cricket Club
46   Nimon and Sons Ltd

Mayoral Message

Havelock North 150th Anniversary

Havelock North has a proud history founded on the hard work of a handful of New Zealand pioneer families. Now the streets of Havelock North bear the names of these families – Tanner, Joll and Chambers and more. Some of Hawke’s Bay’s most interesting history was forged in the foothills of Te Mata Peak, shown now by the many historic homes hidden in the scenic valleys of Havelock North.

Retaining that early history was threatened by the 1931 earthquake but, like the rest of Hawke’s Bay, Havelock North residents picked up their lives, rebuilt and made the town better than ever.

“The Village” is now one of Hawke’s Bay’s premiere [premier] attractions with its boutique shopping, café culture and its unique Village atmosphere.

It is the gateway to some of the best wineries New Zealand and a drive up the peak provides a stunning vista of the productive Heretaunga Plains which have made Hawke’s Bay what it is today.

Havelock North is also home to some of New Zealand’s best schools, both public and private, and there is a proud tradition of graduates returning home to Hawke’s Bay after broadening their horizons beyond our region.

As a consequence, Havelock North is the home and playground of choice for some of Hawke’s Bay’s best business brains and is quickly becoming a centre of excellence for information-based industries.

As Mayor of Hastings District, which now includes Havelock North, I wish to congratulate the leaders of “The Village” for celebrating the rich history of Havelock North and I look forward to seeing the future successes of this vibrant and unique community.

Lawrence Yule
Mayor

Acknowledgements

Hawke’s Bay Newspapers are proud to celebrate with the Havelock North region, by producing this commercial publication to celebrate 150 years of history on Havelock North.

We would like to thank the following people for their contributions to this commemorative magazine.

Hastings District Council, Mayor Lawrence Yule, Adrienne Pierce, Aimee Stewart, Jerry Hapuku, Andrew Chambers, Malcolm Eves, Laura Mathers, Jennifer Brogden, Margaret Fulford, The von Dadelszen family, Robyn Warren, Paul Corlett, Bill Nimon, John Buck, Catherine Hobbs-Turner, Gaye Roberston, Barbara Daniels, Robyn Phillips, Paul McCarthy, Shirley McKay, Jan Speers, Graeme Milne, Peggy van Asch, Peggy Higgins and Keith Richards

Hastings Public Library and Havelock North Library for the use of research material by Matthew Wright, S W Grant, Mrs M A Nolan, Ormond Wilson, P S Tait, Anglea Caughey and Rose Mannering.

Credits

Publication Manager: Jillene Seddon
Journalist: Chrys Ayley
Publication designer: Aaron Bryan
Photography supplied by Hastings District Council
Front Cover: Photographer Paul Taylor Hawke’s Bay Today and historical photo supplied by Malcom [Malcolm] Eves.

Page 4

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860–2010

1860
The town and suburban sections were subdivided for sale.

1880
John Bray owner of town section 68, opens Hotel.

Maori Land Sale

The Havelock Hills were known as Te Mata to the Maori (or The Sleeping Giant) and Karanema’s Reserve was named for a son of Te Hapuku a prominent Ngati Whatuiapiti chief.

The reserve became the site of Havelock which was legally acquired by the Hawke’s Bay provincial Government in 1858 for $800.

By 1858 the land surrounding Karanema’s Reserve had been leased to large landholders such as John Chambers, who first leased Te Mata in 1854, and Joseph Rhodes who lived on Clive Grange Station. The Tuki Tuki block sold to Allan McLean and Daniel Munn leased about 7500 acres around Mount Erin.

Te Mata region was part of a large piece of land bought by William Bernard Rhodes in 1839 but the sale, at a nominal purchase price, didn’t go through due to local protests.

In October 1853 Te Hapuku visited Donald McLean in Wellington and privately sold four blocks of Hawke’s Bay. Later, Karenema’s [Karanema’s] Reserve was separated out of the Te Mata block for Te Hapuku.

The provincial government was keen to establish a township called Havelock for a number of reasons including discouraging illegal squatting (which had happened in the Wairarapa) and making reasonably priced land available to settlers.

Photo caption – Te Hapuku, orginal owner of Karanema’s Reserve. – kindly supplied by Jerry Harpuku [Hapuku]

[Advertisement]
Hawkes Bay Refrigeration
Your Heat Pump Specialists
Hawkes Bay Refrigeration
[www].hbr.co.nz
Visit our showroom to see the full Mitsubishi Electric Heat Pump Range.
809 Warren Street
North, Hastings
Phone:
(06) 878 8002
Facsimile:
(06) 876 849
Talk to us about the EECA Grant!
New MSZ-GE60/71/80 with 7-Day Programmable Timer
[www].mitsubishi-electric.co.nz
MITSUBISHI ELECTRIC
Air Conditioning/Heat Pumps
Sshhhh They’re very, very quiet.

[Advertisement]
Since 1896
Gifford Devine has delivered trusted legal advice to families and businesses in Havelock North.
In 2010 we continue to provide real answers and sound legal acumen.
GIFFORD DEVINE
BARRISTERS & SOLICITORS
1 Havelock Road, Havelock North – 206 Queen Street East, Hastings
Tel: 60 873 0420 – [www].giffdedev.co.nz

Page 5

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1861
All 74 half an acre town and sections had been sold.

1862
Exchange Hotel opens.

In spite of territorial disputes the Maori were still keen to sell land and Te Hapuku took a leading role in the sale of Te Mata.

Land purchaser Donald McLean arranged the sale of Karanema’s Reserve to the Crown in 1858.

George Sisson Cooper: had been appointed Hawke’s Bay Land Purchase Commissioner under McLean in 1853 and soon after, in 1854, discussions on the sale of Te Mata block commenced. After lengthy negotiations a deal was brokered and a peace document signed on the same day as the deed of sale was written – 29th September 1858.

The deal was signed by George Cooper on behalf of the government, European and Maori witnesses but not Te Hapuku although it is believed that he was anxious to sell the land. When the town sections were offered for sale it is understood there were no ownership disputes.

The land consisted of about 4000 acres between the top of Havelock Hills and Ngaruroro River (old course), and was approximately two miles wide and three and a half miles deep. The Reserve was well situated, on the main route south and ideally situated to act as a service centre. The Commissioner of Crown Lands offered for sale on 13 March 1860 the town and suburban sections within the township of Havelock on the south bank of the river Plassey (Ngaruroro River) on the Ahuriri Plains.

The remaining town sections were offered for sale on June 19th 1860. By end of 1862 all suburban sections had been sold.

There were 74 large town sections, up to half an acre, which sold for £7 10 shi11ings to £14.

Photo caption – Te Heipora, Te Hapuku ’s wife. – kindly supplied by Jerry Harpuku [Hapuku]

[Advertisement]
more experience: Tremains Havelock North
Tremains has been a major part of the growth and development of Havelock North as one of the most popular niche areas of Hawke’s Bay. We moved into our premise at 28 Te Mata Road in early 1990 and purchased the site in 2002, reconfirming our long-term commitment to the village. The latest refurbishment of the office early this year has brought the office into what the village is all about – funky, stylish and fashionable.
Our team represents instantly recognisable faces who have been working with Tremains for years and years – experience that cannot be replaced. From Frank Cooper, Rachel Dailey, Alison Small, Raksha Lawrence and Janet Davidson to the newer members Tessa Chambers, John Edmonds, Jill Baddeley and Peter Bulpitt, we have an energetic team who cover all bases.
Our market share of Havelock North has consistently settled at 30% over the last 20 years, making the office one of the most successful in the Hawke’s Bay.
Tremains has been involved in the majority of all subdivisions – from the early days at Brookvale Estate, Endsleigh Drive, Rochfort and Hill Country Estate to the more recent Chambers Estate and Arataki Mews we have been there selling sections and helping people build their dream homes and start their lives in the very popular Havelock North.
Tremains loves Havelock North for its beautiful scenery, its array of architecture, its north-facing hills, its great schooling, its amazing wineries and we congratulate the people who have helped the village grow to be one of the most popular holiday destinations in New Zealand.
Glen Baker
Sales Manager
027 446 1822
Jill Baddeley
877 0906
027 452 8222
Peter Bulpitt
877 0905
027 447 0733
Tessa Chambers
877 3169
027 587 7777
Frank Cooper
877 0901
027 472 4662
Rachel Dalley
877 0903
027 487 1231
Janet Davidson
877 0902
027 443 7140
John Edmond
877 3184
027 547 8425
Raksha Lawrence
877 0919
027 281 6446
Alison Small
877 0907
027 450 9506
[www].tremains.co.nz
“You will not find a more experienced team in the Hawke’s Bay market.
Our team work together to achieve results for you. Please call one of our outstanding consultants today.”   SIMON TREMAIN Principal
TREMAINS More sales, more listings, more for you MRENZ
Tremain Real Estate Ltd Licensed Real Estate Agent REAA 2008

Page 6

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1863
A festivity of importance in Hawke’s Bay history, farming and social occurred on 14th October.

1865
John Anderson owner of the first general store.

The Chambers family

The 150th anniversary of the founding Havelock North wouldn’t be complete without mention of the Chambers family.

In 1927 the Te Mata Peak Trust Park, on the upper Havelock North hills, including the Peak, was donated to the people by Bernard, John and Mason Chambers for everyone to enjoy.

The land, approximately 240 acres, was gifted to the Town Board with the proviso it should always be used as a public park and recreation area. The park is a constant and lasting reminder of the contribution the family has made to Havelock North.

John Chambers, one of the first major pastoralists in Hawke’s Bay, arrived in Wellington in 1854 having spent several decades working in Australia.

Originally he hailed from Derbyshire in England and was born in January 1819, His parents were John Chambers, a framework knitter, and Hannah Borebank.

He was raised in a Quaker household and attended the Society of Friends School at Ackworth in Yorkshire. Later he served an apprenticeship as a blacksmith and likely had some experience in farming.

John moved to Australia and married Margaret Wills Knox, also English, near Adelaide in August 1848. The couple had five sons and three daughters.

The family moved to Victoria and John worked on the gold fields either as prospector or a blacksmith.

By 1853 he had the funds to take up farming but looked to New Zealand after an apparently unsuccessful farming venture in Australia.

The family arrived in Hawke’s Bay in June 1854 and John quickly bought substantial blocks of land including 600 acres in Tawarera [Tarawera] Bush. There was some controversy about the sale and in 1861 he was given a Crown grant for the land.

In December 1854 he bought the Mokopeka run of 6,400 acres which was good grazing land on the east bank of the Tukituki River. He had also been squatting on the Te Mata block which was the west side of the Tukituki River but was allowed to continue to occupy the land as government did not want to discourage settlers. In June 1857 when the block was open for selection he bought 1,900 acres and obtained a pastoral license on 5,000 acres next to Mokopeka which he later bought. He continued to buy land (about 18,000 acres) financed from sheep farming. Te Mata, one of the best appointed sheep runs in the province had 35,000 sheep in 1885.

John Chambers was apparently a quiet man but he contributed significantly to the community through his involvement on the Waste Lands Board in 1861, Trustee of the Havelock Mechanics Institute, the Havelock Presbyterian Church and the cemetery.

Photo captions –
Figure 1.
Original Suburban Land Map
– supplied by Surveying the Bay H.B.

Page 7

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1866
Havelock School opens with a role of 26 children.

1867
Original smithy of James Muir, c 1875 situated where the library is now.

Figure 2.
John Chambers
– supplied by the Chambers Family

Figure 3.
Margaret Chambers
– supplied by the Chambers Family

He served on the board of both Clive and Napier Schools in 1858 and 1859 and later was a member of the Napier Harbour Board.

He turned his attentions to preserving meat for export and invented a process for freezing meat but was unable to patent the invention or float a company during a four year stay in the United Kingdom.

When he returned to Hawke’s Bay in 1885 John Chambers divided all but 450 acres of his land and stock at Te Mata between his sons Johnnie, Thomas Mason and Bernard. He died at Havelock in July 1893 and Margaret died in February 1904.

Mason Chambers married Madge McLean, sister of a Napier lawyer, in 1886 and they were frequent visitors to Te Mata. Their single level homestead “Tauroa” was built on the Tukituki side of the Havelock Hills. Their children were Selwyn in 1887, Esther 1888, Dudley 1889 followed by Maurice, Helen (Nell) and John (Jack) in 1907.

The homestead was moved to the Havelock side of the hills further up from Duart House. A second level as added and the gardens were well tended, in contrast to Duart where animals were allowed to roam freely.

The homestead was burned to the ground in September 1914 and with it some fine furniture and family heirlooms. Mason Chambers wanted a replacement home less susceptible to fire and the walls of the new home were made of double brick with a cavity in between and ferro concrete pillars reinforced with steel. The home withstood the 1931 earthquake. The transformer house in the centre of the village was dedicated to T Mason Chambers in appreciation of his work as County Chairman from 1906 to 1913.

[Advertisement]
gemco
CONSTRUCTION LTD
REGISTERED MASTER BUILDERS
Proud To Support Havelock North
Wallace Development, Havelock North
Napier Girls High School
UNDERWAY: Hawke’s Bay Regional Sports Park
For large and small construction projects call us now! Ph 06 873 8756 [www].gemcogroup.com

Page 8

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1868
October fire destroys the Exchange Hotel.

1871
First Havelock church to be built, Presbyterian Church St Columba’s.

Over at Te Mata Bernard became the proud owner of Hawke’s Bay’s first motor car – a 1902 Oldsmobile with tiller steering which was replaced with a 10 horsepower Wolsely two years later. Bernard had the English architect W J Rush design a new homestead and gardens at Te Mata which were finished in 1922. Rush designed Woodford, Iona and Heretuanga [Heretaunga] schools and several other private houses. There was considerable sadness within the family when Bernard sold Te Mata homestead to W Richmond.

John Chambers junior (or Johnnie) became owner of Mokopeka, on the eastern side of the Tukituki River, when Te Mata was divided between the boys. Mokopeka homestead was built in 1884 and John and Kate were somewhat isolated by the river which they had to cross by punt. John had a keen interest in mechanical engineering and after several years study he started a project to harness power of the Maraetotara River to provide power for Mokopeka. He succeeded and his plant, which opened in 1892, is believed to be the first of its kind in New Zealand. He also invented a pop up toaster, a walk in refrigeration unit and oil filled heaters for the homestead.

Photo caption – Bernard and Lizzie Chambers
– kindly supplied by Chambers Family

[Advertisement]
CHRISSIE MOORE
interiors
Using our interior design expertise, we can assist you in creating your unique style to suit your budget. Visit our showroom or call for an appointment, with one of our experienced consultants.
For colour schemes, curtains, blinds, upholstery, fabrics, bespoke furniture and accessories.
41 SIMLA AVE HAVELOCK NORTH
PH: 877 6020
E: cc.moore@paradise.net.co.nz
WEB: chrissiemoore.co.nz

[Advertisement]
Havelock Physiotherapy
Caring for our Community
Physiotherapists:
Anne O’Donnell
Leanne Wait
Sally Harker
Julie Foster
Beth Averill
Total of 140 years experience
Call in and see the team for all ACC injuries and Specialised services – Spinal Manipulation, Pink Pilates, Breathing Disorders, Vertigo, Women’s Health & Osteoporosis Management
HAVELOCK PHYSIOTHERAPY
p 8777 100
The Tin Shed, 18 Napier Rd, Havelock North
[www].havelockphysiotherapy.co.nz

Page 9

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1872
Thomas Gilpin becomes Headmaster of Havelock School.

1873
The first library in Havelock was established in Foresters Hall.

George and Francis Bee

The young George Bee, 15, was disappointed not to be sailing with his older brother to New Zealand but first he had to finish his carpentry apprenticeship in Nottingham, England.

It was 21 years later, in 1863 that George and his wife Mary (Née Pottinger) and four children boarded the “Rangoon” which was the first ship to sail directly from London to Napier.

It was a difficult crossing that involved a collision not far from Gravesend and many delays after the ship finally set sail. Mary had a baby girl, Eliza, during the difficult voyage.

The two brothers met again after 22 years and George bought a small plot of land and settled in Havelock.

Francis and Anne Bee had moved to Havelock and Francis managed the Havelock Hotel. Before that the family lived at Ocean Beach and leased a run – Waipuka. One of their nine children drowned which prompted the move to Havelock. Francis still worked Waipuka for a while and also bought forty acres near Havelock and grew wheat.

George and Mary had eight children and apparently their arrival increased the numbers of Bee family members in 1864 to 16 which was about half the population of Havelock!

George Bee was kept busy as a builder, several houses are still standing today but he is best known as the builder of St Luke’s Church. It is likely he also was involved in the restoration of John Chambers home about two miles from Havelock village centre.

An anecdote in a Bee family tree document relates how one day, as George was getting older, he met the Anglican Minister who said he hadn’t seen him at church recently. George replied “It takes me all my time to reach the pub these days Vicar.” In fact, the pub was a longer walk than the church.

Photo caption – George Bee, Havelock North builder who worked on many early structures, including St Luke’s Church. The Bee family were synonymous with Havelock.
– HNL811 courtesy of Hastings District Council

[Advertisement]
Congratulations
on 150 years
as a village
ART DECO
COSTUME HIDE
9 Te Aute Road, Havelock North
Phone 06 877 0010
Hours: 12.30pm to 4.30pm Mon, Tues, Wed, Fri
12.30-7.00pm Thurs, 10.00am to 12.00 noon Saturday

[Advertisement]
trade aid
Trade Aid Havelock North opened its present site on October 9, 1993.
In July 2006 the shop was given a refit, enhancing it with the colours relatable to the other 30 shops throughout country.
11 Napier Rd, Havelock Ph:877 9808

[Advertisement]
UNIO
GOLDSMITH
Fine Contemporary Jewellery
7 Village Court
Havelock North
06 877 6072
[www].unio.co.nz

[Advertisement]
Serengeti
HAIR & BEAUTY on joll
Delux Facial & Massage
+
Wash Cut & Blow Wave
$150
Back: Kirsty K, Tracy, Kirsty B,
Front: Donna, Paula, Debbie.
11 Joll Road, Havelock North
Ph 06 877 8450

Page 10

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860–2010

1874
St Luke’s church is constructed.

1874
Havelock Cricket Club, first sports club.

1875
Original smithy of James Muir, c 1875 situated where the library is now.

A rich and rewarding family history

A conversation with Laura Mathers, daughter of the late William James Cronshaw Ashcroft, is a voyage into a deeply interesting history of some of our early pioneering families.

Laura has been gathering information about her family for many years and has a veritable treasure trove of information and Photo captions that are historically significant.

Thomas Reynolds

Thomas Reynolds, his wife Sarah Ann and daughters Lauretta Sarah and Ada arrived in Wellington from Woolwich, England in 1855.

It was Thomas Reynolds, a carpenter by trade, who moved the Patanga Hotel from the river on Easthorpe side to Havelock in 1862 due to a decline in trade when the Te Aute Road opened.

The hotel was moved in sections across the river and taken by bullock wagon to Havelock where it was built on town sections 28 and 29 on the corner of Te Aute Road. The hotel was licensed under the name of the Exchange Hotel – owner Thomas Reynolds. He offered “Spacious premises, good stabling and superior beds.” The hotel was partially re-built after being damaged by fire in October 1867. Mr and Mrs. Reynolds were popular hosts and took part in many village activities from an early Hawke’s Bay Agricultural Show held on their paddock (1866) to the hotel being used as a venue for various committees.

In 1874 Thomas was engaged to oversee the construction of the Ngaruroro Bridge which was destroyed in the 1931 earthquake. Thomas Reynolds tragically drowned at Clive on March 6, 1887. His widow lived at her cottage in Napier Road and was known. as ‘Granny-Reynolds.”

Rakanui Honey

William Ashcroft, born in Southport, England 1906 arrived in New Zealand in 1910 and settled in Dunedin with his family where he lived until 1921. The family moved to Napier and the young William worked in a bike shop then took up an apprenticeship with Louis Hay, the architect. He contracted T.B. while studying towards his apprenticeship in Wellington. He recuperated at the special shelters at the hospital on Napier Hill.

William took up bee keeping as a hobby and to improve his health. In 1926 he set up “Rakanui Honey” (named after the big gum tree on his parents section) on Te Mata

[Advertisement]
All the comforts of home
St Georges Kennels & Cattery owned by Dick & Annette Waren offers cats and dogs a semi rural home away from home, located only minutes from Havelock North.
Dick Waren, who has a special affinity with all dogs, operates the modern facilities in St Georges Road, which caters for every breed from Chihuahuas to Great Danes. Each dog is housed in its own large, solar heated kennel with an adjacent two by four metre run, providing ample room for pets from the same family to be together. In addition the dogs all spend time in the large outside pens for their daily exercise – often consisting of running up and down barking at the other dogs still in their runs waiting their turn – great fun!
Daughter Cath looks after the cattery – housing and feeding cats of all ages and offering additional care for those that have individual health requirements. School holiday bookings are always heavy and there are only a few spaces left for Easter, so if you are planning to take holidays at those times, book now. Phone 877 5053 or email info@sgk.co.nz
ST. GEORGES KENNELS
656 St Georges Rd Sth, Hastings. PHONE 877 5053
OPEN 7.30-10am 4-6pm WEEKDAYS
8-10am 4-5pm WEEKENDS & PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

[Advertisement]
Grow With Us
Insight Chartered Accountants, above the Take Note Lotto Shop, overlooks the roundabout In the heart of the village. Annette von Hartitzsch has operated the business for over two years now, being joined by business services manager, Lyndsay Browne, a year ago. Lyndsay is also a qualified chartered accountant With many years’ local experience in accountancy firms.
Annette is passionate about helping her clients make their businesses more successful. “At Insight we want to help our clients grow their beans, not just count them,” she says, “so we specialise In business development, ensuring that our business clients are operating under the most effective structures for wealth creation and tax minimisation.”
Insight is a small firm, so Annette and Lyndsay, along with administration assistant, Jo, are able to provide a really personal, friendly service. At the same time, their relationship with Tax Link Hastings – Insight’s sister firm – means they can offer a full range of compliance services, including Income tax and GST returns, company registrations, and even payroll and client debtor processing, and still be able to focus on helping clients work on their businesses.
Annette and her staff will take care of all your tax and accounting needs, whether you have a large business with several employees or are an individual with a rental property or other investments. Call in to see them or phone 877 8764 to discuss just how their expertise can work for you.
Insight
CHARTED ACCOUNTANTS
BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT
SPECIALISTS
8 Te Mata Road, PO Box 8051, Havelock North
P (06) 877 8764 F (06) 877 4215
M 0274 403 125 E annette@insightca.co.nz

Page 11

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1878
J C Taylor General Store owner moves to new building cnr Middle and Te Aute Roads.

1878
Reverend Harry Woodford St Hill first resident vicar built his home in Te Mata Rd, naming it ‘Hillsbrook”.

Photo captions –

Ashcroft Family aboard ‘Ruapehu ’ on route to New Zealand Feb 1910.
– kindly supplied by Laura Mathers

“Rakanui Honey” established by William Ashcroft.
– kindly supplied by Laura Mathers

Road. He set up home at 77 Te Mata Road with his new wife, Sybil Tyers, daughter of Laura (née Danvers) and Herbert Tyers. The business changed hands but stayed in the family until it was sold to Arataki Honey in the 1990’s. William Ashcroft was mayor of Havelock North from 1965 to 1974 and was awarded the MBE by Sir Dennis Blundell in 1973.

Danvers

The brothers Boswell and Alfred Thornton Danvers arrived separately in New Zealand in the early 1850s. They both served with the Hawke’s Bay militia and saw action at Omaranui in October, 1866 for which they received medals.

They owned property in Havelock North and grew gum trees for the settlers. The large gum tree by the Presbyterian Church is believed to be one of theirs.

In 1874 Alfred Thornton Danvers married Lauretta Reynolds, eldest daughter of Thomas Reynolds, at the Exchange Hotel. The slightly unusual venue was chosen because St Luke’s Church had not yet been consecrated.

The first christening at St Luke’s took place immediately after the wedding of Ada Reynolds and George Russ Grant, a coach proprietor, on February 1, 1875. The new bride turned around after the service and became godmother to her niece Laura Danvers.

Alfred was a veterinary surgeon and secretary; and handicapper of the Napier Park Racing Club in Taradale.

[Advertisement]
Bay Environmental Bins
Supplying Hastings, Havelock North, Flaxmere, Clive,
Te Awanga, Haumoana and Napier districts
Refuse Wheelibin 240L, 140L & 120L Weekly & fortnightly collections
Green Waste Only
Wheelibin 240L, l40L & 120L Weekly & Fortnightly collections
Phone for a competitive price Darryn & Lynda McNeilly
Ph 877 7297 or 870 0486

[Advertisement]
This season beautiful Liberty fabrics from London are now available.
Classic designs and Autumn & Winter Fashion trends.
Christabel
Phone for appointment and visit Christabels showroom, at
86 Kopanga Road, Havelock North
P 06 877 6220
Fax 06 877 6396
[www].christabels.co.nz

[Advertisement]
SeniorNet Hawke’s Bay Inc 2010
Computer Classes for seniors 55 & over
Make this year count! Come and join us.
SeniorNet allows people to participate in the age in which we live.
It’s fun, it’s social, it’s educational.
Contact us at 877 5157 or 877 4138
Email: seniornet_hb@xtra.co.nz

[Advertisement]
Congratulations Havelock North on celebrating 150 years.
HADEN & CUSTANCE LTD
MATERIALS HANDLING & AUTOMATION ENGINEERS
Proud to be based in Havelock North and part of the greater Hawkes Bay Community.

Page 12

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1880
Twenty years after the first sales of land, the Village has two churches, schools and two hotels.

1880
Pigeon matches were held in Havelock.

The Joll family

John Joll had arrived in New Zealand from Cornwall in 1842, along with four siblings and his parents Samuel and Elizabeth.

He moved from Taranaki to Hawke’s Bay in the early 1860s in search of greater opportunities and built a road from Te Hapuka’s Pa at Te Hauke to Pukehou. Later he established a butcher business with stores in Havelock and Clive.

He farmed sheep and cattle to supply the shops and grew crops on a farm he had bought at Pukahu.

The family lived in a small cottage on Napier Road and moved to a larger home on the Pukahu farm early in 1870.

His wife Fanny Jane Harrison was popular with Maori folks and often tended to them when sick. Her boys got to know the local chiefs and fished for eels with the Maori boys.

John and Fanny’s family consisted of Valentine Samuel Joll, William, John Henry born in 1870, George Treliving Harley, Alfred Ernest and Robert who drowned as a baby. John Joll died in 1879 after being bed ridden for two years following a vicious attack by a bull.

His wife struggled to maintain the farm but eventually sold or leased out most of the land. She moved to Havelock, and finally settled at Joll Road and died in 1929. Valentine took over Pukahu Farm. John Henry, or Henry as he was usually known, was educated in Havelock North. In the 1880s he was an apprentice at Faulkener’s Foundry then set up a small engineering firm at Eskdale. He moved to Havelock and set up another business with his brother William but before long they sold it and worked their own block of land.

Photo caption – The Joll family in 1897
Back row, L to R: George Joll, Valentine Joll, William Joll, Alfred Joll.
front row: Evelyn Joll, (Valentine’s wife ), Fanny Joll (1846-1929), John Henry Joll, John
Stanley Joll in rocker.
– HNL 0182 courtesy of Hastings District Council

[Advertisement]
SKIN And TONIC
IPL Treatments
Laser Hair Removal
Skin Rejuvenation
Red Vein Treatment
Angela Free
International Qualified Beauty Therapist
M.A.B.T.H.NZ C.I.D.E.S.C.O. (Zuich) [(Zurich)]
Fleming Intense Pulse Light Certificate (Melbourne)
Service’s Available
Laser Tattoo Removal
Facials
Waxing
Peels
Depilation
Manicures
Pedicures
Tinting
Ear Piercing
jane airedale
THE SKIN CARE MAKEUP
ENVIRON
Call for your appointment today
on PH 8777 430
Skin & Tonic: 15 Busby Hill, Havelock North

[Advertisement]
The Havelock North Club
sleeping giant
FUNCTION & CONFERENCE CENTRE
“We offer one of Hawke’s Bays best venues for weddings and conferences because our facility is secluded and private, with the best views in the Bay, and we’re within easy walking distance of four quality motels.”
Come and see us when you’re planning your next function and see what great facilities we have on offer.
4 Campbell Street Havelock North
Telephone: (06) 877-8722 Fax: (06) 877-2049
office@villageclub.co.nz [www].villageclub.co.nz
Corporate Functions Weddings Birthday Celebrations

Page 13

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1881
W H Simpson Proprietor of the Havelock Hotel.

1892
Bernard Chambers established the first local vineyard at Te Mata.

Photo caption – Barefoot days about the turn of the century. The Blacksmith’s forge on the corner of Joll road – kindly supplied by G. Clapperton. Archive H B Newspapers.

Henry married Elizabeth Frobath in 1898 and bought a house in Havelock – the first Manse of the Presbyterian Church. Their first son Sydney was born there in May 1899 and John Mackey was born in October 1900. The family later increased to seven sons and a daughter.

Henry bought a block between Havelock North and Pukahu which he named Campbell’s Block. He owned land on both sides of Joll Road and the land where Fulford’s brickworks were built. He sold Campbell’s Block and bought the Wahaparata Block, a rye grass farm, from John Chambers. He also farmed the Te Puna Block on the Havelock North hills.

Henry sold some of his land which was suited to growing fruit and established a 500 acre farm on the Havelock hills (formerly part of the Te Mata block). He also owned Tods, a block on Joll Road and the hill sections were sold for development.

He was elected as a member of the Town Board for Havelock North in in 1912 and served until 1928. In later life he was shareholder of several companies and served on many committees associated with farming.

Henry passed away on December 8, 1950.

[Advertisement]
HORTOP & SONS LTD
A successful family business in Hawke’s Bay
Manufacturing quality “Designer Kitchens”
Family business shines through
Hortop and Son first opened as a one-man business,
F C Hortop joinery, in Tomoana Road in 1923.
Over the years the business grew, expanding to more than 20 staff and a large joinery factory in Havelock North. That factory was victim to a massive fire in 1981 but that didn’t hold IC Hortop back – the business was operating from temporary premises within a week. In 1991 FC Hortop began another phase as Hortop and Son – when grandson John took over the family firm from his father Ian. “Keeping it in the family” means Hortop and Son can look back with pride, even as the business embraces the innovations of the future.
Call in and see JOHN for a free, no obligation quote.
Donnelly St, Havelock North
Phone 877 8019 – Fax 877 0107

[Advertisement]
STILL RESHODDING YOUR MODE OF TRANSPORT…
TOTAL TYRE SOLUTIONS
In 1860 Havelock North had a local blacksmith, today, 150 years later, the local Tyre Shop provides a similar service – looking after the locals, whether car, tractor ATV, even the lawnmower.
Havelock North
TYRE & ALIGNMENT
Donnelly Street Havelock North
Phone 877 0004
Email: greg@havelocknorthtyres.co.nz

Page 14

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1903
Experimental vineyard Te Mata Station established.

1905
Samuel Eves comes from Nelson and bouth [bought] land off T. Mason Chambers to set up the second brick kiln in Havelock, known as Busby Hill.

The Eves Brickworks

Memories of Marjorie Hamilton (née Eves) and Malcolm Eves

Photo caption – [Minetta Eves wife of Samuel t [T] Eves in the entrance to the new family home. It withstood the 1931 earthquake.

– kindly supplied by the Eve’s family]

Samuel Thomas Eves was born in Wakefield, Nelson in 1877 and followed in his father’s footsteps by becoming a brick maker. Eves bricks made in Havelock North found their way to houses and businesses all over the district, including the Whakatu and Tomoana freezing works, and the administration block of Hastings Boys High School.

William Eves originally from Cranbrook in Kent, England had a large family and Samuel Eves was one of eight children. After operating a South Island saw mill with brothers Jim and Joe, Samuel moved to Hawke’s Bay and ran a small farm ‘Exmoor’ near Clive, Mangateretere.

In 1905 he married Minetta Hooper in Wakefield, the oldest daughter of James and Sarah Hooper, the general storekeepers at Wakefield.

Samuel bought five acres of land in Havelock North on a clay spur bounding Campbell Street and Fitzroy Road (now Busby Hill) in 1907. The land, originally part of the Chambers block, was purchased from H A Mossman to establish a second brickworks in the village.

Brick making was a difficult and dangerous operation and the hillside was slowly mined by pick and shovel. The clay was hauled to a platform and tipped into a crushing/mixing machine and diluted to get the right consistency. Crushed and mixed clay was discharged onto a roller in a continuous slab and bricks were cut 12 at a time.

The new bricks needed careful handling with the drying process taking several months: the sheds could contain several hundred thousand bricks at a time.

The original, single fired kiln was damaged in the 1931 earthquake so a new one was built, and it like its predecessor, had a sizeable chimney.

The family and their six children (Marjorie died of diphtheria age 8) lived in a wooden house on the brickworks site until destroyed by fire. The fire led to the creation of the Havelock North Fire Brigade.

The family moved to a new home in Fitzroy Road which was sold to a charitable trust after Samuel and Minetta died and became a Christian retirement home.

The brickworks were a prominent feature in Havelock North from 1907 until the business closed in 1960. After demolition in 1962 the land was subdivided into residential lots. Reginald Eves was responsible for the construction of nearly all the houses in what is now Shortland Place.

Photo captions –

Minetta Eve’s wife of Samuel t Eves in the entrance to the new family home. It withstood the 1931 earthquake.
kindly supplied by the Eve’s family.

Original brick yard site close to Campbell street – pre 1931. The original family home in background.
– kindly supplied by the Eve’s family

[Advertisement]
Bryan Musson
ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN LTD
Flair. Function. Finesse.
Stylish economical design solutions that work.
ADNZ
architectural designers nz
LICENSED BUILDING PRACTITIONER BUILDING CONFIDENCE
@ CONCEPTUS
23 Napier Road
PO Box 8573 Havelock North
Phone: [06] 877 1844
[www].bmarchitecturaldesign.co.nz

[Advertisement]
Te Mata Mushrooms
Mushrooms on the menu!
Brookvale Rd, Havelock North
Shop Hours
Monday-Friday 8.00am-5:00pm Saturday 8.00am-4. 00pm
Sundays – Farmer’s Market. Also from local supermarkets

Page 15

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860 – 2010

1905
Te Mata Station renamed Arataki.

1910
21 July Havelock opposes any alteration in name.

The Couper Family

William Couper was one of the earliest settlers in the area having arrived in New Zealand in 1840.

Couper was born at Latheran Wheel, Caithness in Scotland in 1801 and married his first wife Janet Hillman in 1832. They had one daughter Elizabeth, born about 1833 and both wife and daughter accompanied him to New Zealand.

Couper commanded a sailing ship and traded between Australia and New Zealand in the 1820s and 1830s. He settled in Wellington in 1837.

Janet died in the early 1840s in Wellington and Couper married Edinburgh born, Margaret Knox in 1848. She was daughter of one of Wellington’s first Doctors and the first Librarian. The couple had a large family (Five sons and five daughters) the eldest being Margaret born in Wellington in 1849 through to the youngest Frederick George Gray born in Havelock in 1868.

After farming Maori land at Porirua he headed to Hawke’s Bay in 1856 and established Kahuranaki, which he farmed for about 20 years.

It was an isolated property with no road access – The Tukituki River had to be forded and life was hard for the family who originally lived in one room.

In 1892 Couper was listed as a ratepayer, one of 105, all of whom were substantial Havelock North landowners. In 1856 he apparently owned 1400 head of sheep.

After he retired from management of his estate Couper lived in Havelock North and died in February 1879.

An article in the Hawke’s Bay Herald dated February 14 announced his death in this way:

“At Havelock House, on Feb 13, William . Couper Esq., aged 78 years. We regret to have to record the death of one of the earliest and most respected settlers; who expired yesterday at Havelock after a painful illness.”

The property was subdivided and sold and WAX Couper moved across the Tukituki to his Mount Erin property where he built Waihotoa homestead which was the Couper home for 80 years.

Miss Marjorie Couper, the last of the Couper family of Kahuranaki, who supported many charities and St Columba’s Church Havelock North, died in 1980 aged 85.

The descendants of the Couper family still live in Hawke’s Bay and are also scattered throughout New Zealand.

Photo caption  – kindly supplied Havelock North Library

[Advertisement]
hbdoulas
ANTENATAL BIRTH POSTNATAL CARE
antenatal classes
pregnancy, childbirth & early parenting information
birth support
continuous physical & emotional support during your labour and birth
postnatal care
emotional & practical support in your own home after the birth of your baby
06 8778282 or 027 6775241 – bronwyn@hbdoulas.co.nz
[www].hbdoulas.co.nz
mothering the mother

[Advertisement]
positive birth
essential skills for having a baby
birth preparation courses
positive body work
pre + post natal specialist
cranio-sacral therapy
remedial massage + acupressure
Havelock North – Hastings – Haumoana
Di Reefman 875 1175 – 027 5751610
di.reefman@xtra.co.nz

[Advertisement]
After 10 years in business the Strawberry Patch” congratulates Havelock North Village on 150 years
THE STRAWBERRY PATCH
Now open all year round with
Fresh vegetables & Fruit   Real Fruit ice cream   Frozen Berries   Coffee to go
A 76 Havelock Road, Havelock North
P 06 877 1350

Page 16

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860–2010

1910
The Village Hall designed by Rush and James, built by J. Styles.

1911
Woodford House moved from Hastings to Havelock.

The Ormond family

Gracious Wallingford Homestead is a hub and gathering place for several generations of the Ormond family. The old home is an ongoing reminder of the fascinating and detailed heritage of the Ormond family in Hawke’s Bay. Built by John Davies Ormond (1832-1017), who was known as “The Master” by his family and “The Hon. JD” by his parliamentary colleagues, the homestead is thought to be the largest single storey dwelling in the southern hemisphere.

Each nook and cranny tells a story about its occupants. Fourth generation descendent of John Davies Ormond, Johnny and his wife Jen and their children, live among the rich heritage and operate the. homestead as an accommodation and function centre.

The Master lived a rich and busy life and contributed significantly to the early development and politics of Hawke’s Bay.

The homestead bears the name of The Master’s birth place – Wallingford in Berkshire, England. Ormond befriended explorer and adventurer, Edward Eyre in Plymouth. Eyre was appointed Lieutenant Governor to the southern districts of New Zealand and appointed Ormond as private secretary.

Ormond arrived in Nelson in 1847 and was soon promoted to private secretary and clerk of the Executive Council. Here he met Donald McLean and the two went on several land purchasing expeditions. Ormond bought 500 merino ewes which were run on a Wairarapa property, Te Ore Ore. A brief foray to Australia and its goldfields didn’t suit and he returned to New Zealand and set about leasing a block “Mangarara” and moved his ewes to what was become known as Wallingford. Earlier the land had been known as Taurekaitai and Eparaima settlement. In 1864 Ormond obtained a share in the Heretaunga Block and when it was legally purchased named his property “Karamu” which became his stud farm. He also built a mansion there but because Hannah, his wife, didn’t want to leave town he built another home called “Tintagel” in Napier.

[Advertisement]
Hastings District Masonic Trust Inc
Hastings District Masonic Trust Offers affordable, secure accommodation for retired persons. Contribution units and rental flats conveniently located in Hastings, Havelock North and Waipawa.
For further information contact:
J (John) Gadsby
Accommodation Officer
Phone/Fax (06) 844 4592
B (Bryan) Baker
Accommodation Officer
Phone/Fax (06) 878 5848

[Advertisement]
Congratulations Havelock North on celebrating 150 Years
NW NEW WORLD
Havelock North
OPEN
7am-10pm 7 days
Porter Drive
Havelock North

[Advertisement]
Creatif Design
Monique Thérése
DESIGNER DIAMOND JEWELLER
Proud Supporter of Havelock North
6 Havelock Rd, Havelock North
Ph: 877 9851

Page 17

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1911
Census statistics – 501 people living in Havelock.

1911
The formation of the Town Board.

By 1873 Ormond was a significant landowner in Hawke’s Bay and had 25,345 sheep.
He was active in local affairs and often acted as spokesman between the government and settlers. By 1859 he was elected as speaker to the new Provincial Council and was heavily involved with committee work. Donald McLean became superintendent and Ormond served as deputy, eventually succeeding him in 1869. Between them they ran the province from 1863 to 1876. Ormond also held the Clive seat in the House of Representatives for 20 years (1861 to 1881) and the Napier seat from 1884 to 1890. He was appointed to the Legislative Council. By 1890 Ormond had retired from politics and concentrated on his thoroughbreds at Karamu.

The Master and Hannah (née Richardson) started their family not long after arriving at Wallingford and had six children.

Canning, who married Maraea Kiwiwharekete, was born first and started the Mahia branch of the family – the Omanas.

Fanny lived at ‘Tintagel”, Ada Mary married Hamish Wilson and Frank shared a keen interest in Karamu. The youngest, John (Jack) Davies, born in 1873, took over Wallingford.

John Davies Ormond, “The Master” died in October 1917 leaving an estate of about 35,000 acres.

Jack Davies married Emilie Mary Gladys Wilder in 1902. The couple raised 12 children at Wallingford, which by 1905 had become a prosperous sheep and cattle station. There was a small village to support the farm and the station was an important stopping off, and horse exchange point for the daily coach to Waipukurau. The house was expanded to cater for the large number of children who between them produced 52 first cousins. Sir John Davies Wilder, second eldest of the 12 children, was born in 1905. He married Judith Wall in August 1939 and became a respected and influential figure nationally. Sir John chaired a number of boards including the NZ Meat Producers Board, The Exports and Shipping Council and the New Zealand Shipping line.

Involved with farming and pastoral associations for many years his name became synonymous with the New Zealand Meat Industry for 30 years following WW2.

He served in the Second Expeditionary force during World War 2 but was excused following the death of his father in December 1942. Ormond was re-elected to the Meat Board in 1944 and later often travelled to Britain to negotiate terms of trade for New Zealand meat. In 1951 he became Chairman and negotiated several favourable contracts with the British. He took the lead in encouraging diversification of meat exports and reducing dependence on Britain for trade. Later he spearheaded the formation of New Zealand state shipping line. He was knighted in 1964 and received many awards including a DSc from Massey University.

After retiring, but not entirely closing links with his business past, he returned to Wallingford. John Ormond passed away in March 1995 and was survived by Judith and four sons.

The five children of John Davies Wilder Ormond and Judith Wall were Johnny, who now runs Wallingford, Caroline who died in 1989, George, Alistair and Michael. Johnny’s children – fifth generation Ormond’s are fortunate to be able to be surrounded by such a rich history.

Family Residents of Havelock North for over 60yrs

Photo captions –

Wallingford Homestead circa 1912.

the Wallingford Homestead of today
– kindly supplied by Johnny Ormond.

[Advertisement]
Family Residents of Havelock North for over 60yrs
Providing quality guidance and compliance work in the Chartered Accountancy Field
Alan Bartlett
Padman
Howard Padman
phone 877 3333 The Tin Shed, Napier Rd, Havelock North   emailaccountant@padman.co.nz   CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS LIMITED

Page 18

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1912
A pageant was held on 21 November, the procession must have been a magnificent affair, events such as ‘Shakesperian [Shakespearean] Games and 16th Century songs.

1912
St Luke’s church tower was removed after the 1931 earthquake.

Duart House

Work on this fine old house started in 1832 and in the following year Allan and Hannah McLean and their seven children took up residence.

Allan, a Scot, arrived in Hawke’s Bay during the 1860s and bought land on the banks of the Tuki Tuki River. He became known as “Tuki” McLean to distinguish him from other McLean’s in Hawke’s Bay. Hannah was the eldest daughter of John and Margaret Chambers of Te Mata.

The builders of Duart aren’t known for sure, but it’s possible that George Bee, the builder of St. Luke’s Church, Havelock North and Henry Liley, another of Havelock’s earliest carpenters, were involved in its construction. McLean chose the name Duart as it was the name of a castle owned by the McLean clan in Scotland. His design specification included a tower with crenellations and a flagstaff to remind him of Scotland. When Duart House stood alone on the almost treeless slopes of the Havelock Hills, its tower was a landmark which could be seen from all directions. “Tuki”, a rumbustious character, ran a stud farm for fine-bred horses and cattle and didn’t believe in cultivating gardens. He let sheep and horses to roam as close to the house as they chose. After his death in 1898 Hannah and the children created a garden on the grassy slopes around the house. Much of the garden survives including the Coronation Oak, behind the croquet lawn, which commemorates the accession to the throne of Edward VII in 1901.

After Hannah’s death, Duart House was leased by Mr and Mrs Crompton Smith, who established St. George’s, a co-educational primary school, in 1915. It was about this time the word “House” was added to the name. The school moved to another location in 1921. The property was then leased in 1926 to Roger Greenwood and his family who farmed Kahuranaki Station. The couple eventually bought the property in 1936 and added a new kitchen but otherwise the house remained as it was built. It withstood the 1931 earthquake very well, only losing its chimneys.

In 1972 after the deaths of Mr and Mrs Greenwood the Havelock North Borough Council accepted a generous offer from the family to use Duart House for the people of Havelock North at a nominal price. The Council accepted this generous offer and has since maintained the house and gardens.

In 1985 the Duart House Society was formed to care for the property along the lines adopted by the New Zealand Historic Places Trust.

Photo caption – Duart House, surrounded by gardens.
– kindly supplied by Chambers family.

[Advertisement]
Celebrate 150 years for Havelock North with 2010 Winter Fashion.
Arriving daily:
Knitwear
Tunics
Straight Trousers
Trelise Cooper
Oyl
Women
Verge
Isakelle
Treat yourself & celebrate!
DIAHANN
BOUTIQUE
Havelock North 06 877 5327
Waipukurau 06 858 8675

[Advertisement]
DUART HOUSE
Gracious Historical House and Gardens
51 Duart Road Havelock North
06 877 6334
duarthouse@xtra.co.nz
[www].duarthouse.org.nz
Available for:
Weddings
Luncheons
Workshops & Seminars
Concerts
Morning and Afternoon Teas
Museum Tours by arrangement
Catering Available

Page 19

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1913
‘Whare Ra’, was built and stands at the head of Duart Road.

1913
Hereworth School built and officially opened by the Bishop of Waiapu.

Huelin Vernon Fulford

Early New Zealand Potter and orchardist

Huelin Fulford, was born in Havelock North in 1892, the youngest son of 12 children born to John and Fanny (Rowe) Fulford. Huelin, like his brothers, had helped in the family brickworks in Joll Road from an early age. He was taught the pottery craft by his father, and the occupation of potter and brick-maker can be traced back generations in his forebears. Heulin is classed as a pioneer in the history of New Zealand studio pottery. He played an important part in the establishment of this movement in New Zealand.

During world War 1 he was wounded in the battle of the Somme and recuperated in Salisbury, England where he met his wife Nellie Bailey. Nellie, 19, travelled out alone to marry Huelin in 1921.

Huelin was also involved with some of his brothers in the orchard block in Te Mata Road, opposite the school. The Orchard was pulled out in 1958 and the ground used for cropping and poultry farming. The land is now a housing estate.

Heulin was one of the few craftsmen in New Zealand who could throw a pot on a wheel.

In 1923 he started up Te Mata potteries, where he produced handmade garden ware and vases, birdbaths, urns and flower pots. In 1945 the pottery began operating on a machine run basis with machinery designed and made by Huelin and his oldest son Vernon. Over the years his four sons were all employed in the pottery and orchard. Te Mata Potteries produced earthenware flower pots as its main line and supplied 15,000 pots a week to nurseries nation-wide at its peak. Heulin’s hand thrown vases are characterised by their form and colour – a rich red-brown colour with subtle flecks of brown, black or green which were often clear glazed to enhance the natural earth tones. In later years other colours were used, but mainly blues and yellows.

The demand for earthenware pots declined in the 60s and the main pottery was discontinued. Huelin continued to throw garden pots and glazed earthenware as health permitted. He died in 1970. His youngest son David ran the smaller hand-thrown pottery until 1974 when it was shut down.
Jennifer (Fulford) Brogden

Photo caption – kindly supplied by Jennifer (Fulford) Brogden

[Advertisement]
Furniture Manufacturing alive and well in the Village!
A thriving furniture manufacturing business still operates in the Village and has done since the end of World War 11. Hawke’s Bay Bay Furniture in Martin Place continues to manufacture fine quality furniture in the manner
E J Treacher Ltd started 64 years ago.
Back in 1933, Ted Treacher commenced an apprenticeship in furniture manufacturing and after the war, started making furniture from his mother-in-law’s washhouse! The business grew with returned servicemen wanting to furnish their homes so the factory moved. First near the Havelock North bridge then to the Forester’s Lodge Hall in the Village centre and later a retail shop was opened in the old Havelock North Trading Company.
By 1991 the company employed a manufacturing staff of 14 with a total of 20 employees overall.
By 2002 the factory was on the move again to Martin Place with Myles Treacher retaining the Napier Road shop.
By 2005 Hawke’s Bay Furniture, owned and operated by Andrew Dodd (who trained under Ted), was ready to take up the challenge and since then has continued to make furniture to the same high quality that Ted Treacher demanded from his cabinetmakers 61 years ago.
Hawke’s Bay Furniture remains Havelock North’s sole furniture manufacturer and retains all the patterns and beautiful timber that made furniture from E J Treacher Ltd known country wide.
Come and talk to the people who know quality furniture.
E.J. Treacher Ltd
QUALITY FURNISHERS
HAWKE’S BAY
FURNITURE
DESIGN + MANUFACTURING + JOINERY
Showroom Open 7.30am Monday to Friday
Martin Place, Havelock North

Page 20

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1913
Early subdivisions, Glenross and Simla Estates subdivided.

1914
Editors disapproved of carrying advertisements, but later permitted advertisements to grace their pages.

Thomas Tanner and The Apostles

Thomas Tanner, along with John Chambers, is regarded as one of the founding fathers of Havelock North.

Tanner, born in Wiltshire, England in about 1830 first came to New Zealand in 1849 aboard the Larkins. He’d briefly studied medicine but took a cadetship on a sheep run in Wanganui and earned the name Tanera. He learned much about Maori culture at this time.

In 1853 Tanner established a large run, Milbourne, on the Ruataniwha Plains and promoted horse racing. He selected the course at Clive for Hawke’s Bay’s first formal race meeting in 1856.

On a return trip to England he married Julia Denton at Durham in 1859 then returned to New Zealand laden with servants, books, furniture and other essential goods. It was Tanner who obtained an illegal lease on a swampy block of land known as Heretaunga block in 1864 and subdivided it into 12 shares. He kept four shares for himself and shared the rest among six associates: J N Williams, A H Russell, T E Gordon, J D Ormond, J Braithwaite and T P Russell, collectively known as The Apostles.

1867 a Crown grant was issued on Hereutanga [Heretaunga] in the name of 10 Maori owners and Tanner gained a legal lease. He eventually obtained freehold title, using his strong persuasive ability, but it was not without opposition.

There was a commission of inquiry in 1873, regarding the purchase of the Heretaunga block, which became freehold in 1870, but fraud charges were not proved.

Tanner established Riverslea, a 22-roomed mansion, on his share of the block (5332 acres) and established himself as a dominant figure in local affairs. The couple had a large family and often entertained in a grand manner.

After obtaining freehold land in 1871 he sold sections at Karamu and farmers sub-divided their land into town sections. It was from Karamu settlement that Hastings developed.

By the late 1870s Tanner was having financial problems and had to sell substantial portions of Riverslea. He turned his attentions to several horticultural exploits including tobacco, hops, sugar beet and a woollen mill but none were successful.

Prominent in public affairs Tanner helped found the Hawke’s Bay AP and I Association and belonged to various and social organisations. He was active in politics too – the Hastings Borough Council, Hawke’s Bay county and provincial councils and a member of the House of Representatives for Waipawa from 1887 to 1890.

Tanner, an Anglican, was the principal benefactor of St Luke’s Church and planted many of the trees in Havelock North including the tree outside St Luke’s which known as Tanner’s Oak. He died on July 22, 1918.

Photo caption – Mr and Mrs Tanner
-kindly supplied by Havelock North Public Library.

[Advertisement]
Congratulations
Havelock North on 150 Years as a Village
Call into your local Health 2000 store for a huge range of dietary supplements, natural skin care, sports nutrition, essential oils and more.
HEALTH 2000 NAPIER   245 Emerson St.
HEALTH 2000 TARADALE   227 Gloucester St.
HEALTH 2000 HASTINGS   235 Heretaunga St. West
HEALTH 2000 HAVELOCK NORTH   11 Joll Rd.
[www].health2000.co.nz
Health2000
Naturally good health stores

[Advertisement]
AURUM
Coffee Kiosk
H B Award winning coffee in the Village
EARLY BIRD SPECIAL!!
50C OFF 7.30am-9.00am
COFFEE HAPPY HOUR
$1 OFF 12pm-1pm
Congratulations Havelock North
OPEN 7.30am – 1pm Mon-Fri
In the Foyer Cnr Porter Dr & Napier Rd., Havelock North
06 877 8288
[www].aurumcoffee.co.nz

Page 21

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1915
The Post Office was built.

1915
St George’s School in Duart House.

St Luke’s Anglican Church

It was the generosity and financial support of Thomas Tanner, a staunch Anglican, that enabled the first St Luke’s Church to be constructed. Tanner signed the contract for its construction at a cost of £530 and local builder George Bee was engaged to build the church, on town sections 16 and 19, in six months. The church was consecrated in the same year on September 20, 1874 and the first Bishop of Waiapu consecrated the building and named it St Luke’s.

Thomas Tanner’s fortunes waned in later years but he was always a strong financial supporter of the church. In 1882 Thomas Tanner ordered and paid for a school house for the parish Sunday School which later became St Luke’s School. Shortly before his death he donated a car to the church.

A chancel and vestry were added to cater for is larger numbers attending services and the work was finished in April, 1881.

The congregation steadily increased and the church was expanded several times just after the turn of the century. The headmistress of Woodford House apparently requested more space and the parish agreed after the school offered three shillings a week per girl for the Vicar’s stipend, and a little extra!

The church bell tower suffered structural damage during the 1931 earthquake and had to be demolished. The village hall was built on church property funded jointly by the community and the church, but over the years its condition deteriorated and demolition was first discussed in the 1980s. The hall was demolished in 1997 and the supper room was moved to a new site and used by the local Baptists. The school room was moved to the front of the property. The sale of some land to be used for villas for the elderly raised sufficient funds to construct several new facilities for the church.

Photo caption – St, Luke’s C1912
– kindly supplied by G. Clapperton
Archives H B Newspapers

[Advertisement]
VILLAGE BAPTIST CHURCH
147 Te Aute Road
Havelock North
Ph 877 4606
[www].villagebaptist.org.nz
Serving the Havelock Community since 1985 with a Sunday service and children’s programme every week at 9.30 a.m, as well as a variety of weekly programmes.

[Advertisement]
STRAWBERRIES!
STRAWBERRIES!
Still plenty of strawberries available and a good time to get jam berries now
Daily fresh picked Raspberries & Peacherines
New Season Apples, Peacherines
Also some salad lines
SCOTT’S
STRAWBERRY
FARM
286 Te Aute Road
Open Mon – Sat 9am-5.30pm

[Advertisement]
St Luke’s Anglican Church
Proud to have been at the heart of the Village since 1874
Ph 877 7366 Email office@stlukeshn.org.nz
[www].stlukeshn.org.nz

Page 22

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1915
T. Mason Chambers the Town board’s first chairman resigns and his place taken by J.H Joll.

1918
Influenza epidemic occurs and emergency hospital is set up at the Hastings Racecourse.

The von Dadelszen family

The first von Dadelszen connection with Havelock North was the enrolment of Herman as a pupil at Heretaunga School and later Te Aute College.

Herman returned to Hastings to manage the National Bank in late 1913, and in 1918 started business as a Land Agent and Accountant. In 1920 the family moved to 123 Te Mata Road, and electricity soon became available from the Town Board’s own Maraetotara power station.

About 1922, Herman became secretary of the Heretaunga Co-operative Dairy Company, the Heretaunga Plains being largely occupied by dairy farmers. He was first elected to the Town Board in 1928 and was chairman from 1930 to 1944, during both the depression and the Hawke’s Bay Earthquake. Matthew Wright’s “The History of a Village” gives a vivid account of Herman’s tenacious advocacy for Havelock with the Government after the earthquake.

Like his father, John von Dadelszen, the eldest of Herman’s family, went to Heretaunga School. Having qualified as a barrister and solicitor, he joined Ralph Bannister in purchasing a Hastings legal practice in 1939. Later that year he married Michael Gardiner, daughter of Reginald and Ruth Gardiner. Reginald was the prime mover behind the “Havelock Work”.

In June 1942, when his elder son, Paul was a year old, John joined the army, subsequently serving in the Pacific. In June 1944 he was repatriated and “manpowered” to the Hawke’s Bay Farmers’ Meat Company’s office before returning to legal practice in late 1945.

Following Herman’s death, John was elected as a member of the Havelock North Town Board in 1947 and served a year as mayor before retiring in 1960. From 1972 to 1983 he served as chancellor of the Anglican Diocese of Waiapu, was succeeded by his elder son, Paul, and was the Hastings coroner from 1977 until 1985.

Both of John’s sons, Paul and Mark became lawyers and partners in the Hastings legal firm of Bannister & von Dadelszen. Paul was a member of the Hawke’s Bay Hospital Board from 1980-1987 and became a Court Judge in 1987.

Mark was a third generation local body councillor who served on the Havelock North Borough Council from 1980-1986. John’s daughter-in-law Eileen has been Hawke’s Bay Regional Councillor since 1995.

Photo caption – The wedding on 25 August 1939 at St Luke’s Church, Havelock North, of John von Dadelszen to Michael Gardiner, with Herman and Pattie von Dadelszen on the left, and Ruth and Reginald Gardiner on the right. John and Michael returned from their honeymoon the day World War 2 was declared.
– kindly supplied by Mark and Eileen Von Dadelszen

[Advertisement]
Darrel Cook Paving Ltd
Paving
Flag Stones
Cobblestones
Concrete
Locally owned and operated in
Havelock North for 20 years
Creativity, flair and experience to produce
the lasting look you seek
06 877 6857 027 443 2576

[Advertisement]
Dentures @
St Georges
Complete Denture Service including extractions
Rex Bartlett
Ph 877 4826
Repairs, replacements and alterations.
Congratulations Havelock North on 150 years

FREE KINDERGARTEN
IN VILLAGE SINCE 1954

THEN

The Havelock North Free Kindergarten Association was established on a wintry night in 1952, when around 40 Havelock North women gathered in the town hall.

The Hastings Kindergarten Association (now known as the Heretaunga Kindergarten Association) found it difficult enough to find premises in Hastings, but Havelock North would prove to be impossible due to the small size of the village.

Kindergarten in Havelock North started in the newly erected Scout hall in the same year, this venue unfortunately didn’t remain an option for long, but good news was received in April 1954 when the council offered land in Napier road for £225. The Havelock North Central Kindergarten opened on this site in 1957.

The search for a suitable section to site the second Havelock North kindergarten began in 1960. After a long pursuit land became available in the McDuff block in 1962. Lucknow Kindergarten in Lipscombe Crescent was opened in 1967.

Te Mata Kindergarten was built in 1973 in the fast growing Te Mata area of Havelock North.

NOW

In the year 2010 the three Havelock North kindergartens are still strongly supported by the families in the village. Quality education is still the heart of kindergarten. All children receive individually tailored education programmes which will be the foundation of their educational journey.

The 3 kindergartens all offer unique and slightly different options for the modern family. The best way for families to see which kindergarten might suit their child’s needs is to pop into the kindergarten for a visit or to look at their individual pages on the web site

[www].heretaungakindergartens.co.nz

Excerpts of this article have been taken from “A Proud Heritage 1928-2008” by Michael Fowler

Copies of this book are available to purchase through the Association.

HERETAUNGA KINDERGARTEN ASSOCIATION
Te Putahi Kura O Teretaunga

Page 24

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1919
Peace celebrations held in the Village.

1928
George Nelson, a member of the well known Hawke’s Bay family purchase ‘Keirunga’ and set about planting it.

Havelock North Borough Council

Havelock North was first settled in 1860 and was named to commemorate Major General Havelock, who was famous at that the time for his connection with the “Indian Mutiny”.

It was originally governed by the Wellington Provincial Government and later the Hawke’s Bay County Council.

The early days of the town’s development were occupied with roading and access problems and a Roads Board was elected in 1871, becoming the Havelock North Roads Board in 1874 and remaining in office until 1894.

Main access to and from Napier was originally through Havelock North but with the opening of the railway through Hastings the roading was re-routed in that direction. The result being Te Aute and Napier Roads were left with extremely wide road reserves to accommodate the rail as well as road traffic as originally planned.

For some time after the dissolution of the Roads Board the town was administered as part of Hawke’s Bay County until in 1912 the Havelock North town Board was formed under the Municipal Act.

The largest project undertaken in this was the introduction of a power supply negotiated to tap into the Hastings supply.

After years of frustration and power shortages the Town Board made the gutsy but successful move to develop their own power supply scheme and the Maraetotara power scheme was born.

Photo caption – At the opening ceremony in May1922.
Left to right: Back row: W.H. Complin (first Clerk to Board), J.H. ]oll, (Town Board member), unknown, P.J. Sefton (Headmaster of Havelock School and Town Board member), Mr E.F. Leicester (Board’s Engineer).
Middle Row: Mr Vickerman, Mr R.H. Climie (Engineer), J.J. Nimon (Town Board member), The Rev. Waugh (Minister of St Columba’s), Mr E.C. Clarkson (Chairman of the Havelock North Town Board), unknown.
Front Row: Mr J.J. Phillips (Town Board member), unknown, Mr H.A. Mossman (Town Board member), Mr L.T. Cooper (Town Board member).
Supplied by Hastings District Council

[Advertisement]
Havelock North
Gateway to the adventure playground of Hastings District
[www].visothastings.co.nz
HASTINGS
HEART OF HAWKE’S BAY

Page 25

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1938
Official opening the the Havelock Domain Pavilion, designed by H. Eric Phillips, built at little cost to the Town Board.

1945
Census figures show that Havelock had grown, 1,485 people were living in the Village.

Havelock North’s close community spirit was evident in the amount achieved by the Board but it had difficulty recovering financially from the 1931 earthquake. Herman Ronald von Dadelszen, board chairman from 1930-44, was paramount in guiding the village through the Depression.

The Havelock North Town Board organised winter relief and rallied those able to their neighbours in need.

The Town Board continued working for Havelock North during the hard postwar years, pushing for state housing to be made available and dealing with labour relations and the establishment of unions.

In Havelock North was granted borough status in 1952.

The Havelock North Borough Council flourished and Havelock North continued to grow while still retaining its village identity. The first rumours of a merger with Hastings came from the Borough Council itself. This was resoundingly rejected by ratepayers and after much discussion by the borough and Hastings City Council the idea was dismissed in February 1963.

The village grew and by the 1960’s the borough experienced a multitude of growing pains. The water supply, with old wells, old pipes and potential quality problems was inadequate for the consumption of the growing population. The borough needed to finance a new water system as well as a new sewer system while contending with the ongoing, heated debate over fluoride in the water supply.

Other issues it was faced with were the pressure to replace the under-resourced library without effecting rates and a proposed ring road. W J Ashcroft won the mayoral race by a three vote margin in 1965 when he called for ‘progress within the limits of sound finance’. Under Ashcroft, the borough sought new solutions but could not avoid a rise in rates to provide necessities for the growing community. Amalgamation was raised again in 1979 but was outvoted in favour of retaining the borough and its local government autonomy. The next hint of change to village life came in 1985 with the Labour Government local body reforms.

A number of proposals were suggested and considered. The structure that emerged was shaped by Central Government, which at the time favoured district arrangements. These were applied across the entire country. As a consequence of those reforms the Hastings District was formed by an amalgamation of Hawke’s Bay County Council, Hastings City and the borough council. This change came into effect in November 1989. In a final newsletter the then Mayor of Havelock North, Harry Romanes said, “No one knows what (the future) will hold for our village but one thing is certain, the change in local government will not alter the attitude and strength of our community and we will always be Havelock North people at heart.” (History of Hastings – Matthew Wright)

Despite some people’s fears, the amalgamation did not mean the end of Havelock North as a unique village and under the umbrella of the Hastings District Council Havelock North continues its history as a creative and engaged community.

[Advertisement]
Doing it all for over 30 years
All aspects of landscaping and building undertaken by a certified builder.
Phone Mike now for a free consultation and quote.
Now also growing and selling BUXUS l-2 year old plants with excellent root systems.
Only $1.60 each. Ideal for hedges, mazes and knot gardens.
Mike Hicks
Building & Landscaping Ltd
Ph 021 477 249 or 877 2088

[Advertisement]
Memories in Motion
Preserve Your History
Nothing is more important than family memories. Memories in Motion can take those memories and help you tell your history. With music and special transitions your photos come alive, creating a personal documentary of your special event on DVD. This special keepsake makes a great personal gift for birthdays, anniversaries, or for your own enjoyment. No project is too big or too small and with pricing starting from only $35 it is very affordable. Call now to order your Memory In Motion.
Mike 021 477 249 Sam 878 3805, 027 759 5505 A/H Mike or Lisa 877 2088

Page 26

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1952
J.J. Nimon, first Mayor of Havelock North.

1956
Nelson gives Keirunga Gardens to the Havelock North Borough Council for the use of the public.

Havelock North Library a brief history

The first Havelock North library was opened in 1873 by members of the Mechanics Institute, in the Foresters’ Lodge on Te Mata Road, a well known entertainment venue. The (HB) Herald commented “it was hoped the facilities would result in lower attendance at the hotels and a consequent improved, attendance at the institute”.

The library was available to subscribers for a small annual fee and had an income from issues and donations.

In 1938, the Foresters’ Lodge passed to the Town Board in trust, to be administered at the discretion of the Town Board. In 1955, the Hastings City Council began providing the library service for which the Havelock North Borough Council paid £175 per annum.

The library moved to the Borough Council’s Municipal Building at the corner of Middle Road and Porter Drive on 5 April 1961.

Sole charge Librarian, Miss B Nott, joined up 790 members in the first month. Open 29 hours each week, the tiny 640 sq foot area held 1,400 items that were issued a whopping 50,800 times in the first year. Havelock North folk were, and still are, passionate library users!

Various proposals were put forward over the years for new library facilities to replace the woefully inadequate space but not until 23 July 1969 did the Council enter into a lease agreement with the Air Force Association and the library was moved from the Council offices to the Air Force Hall.

In 1974 it was proposed to purchase the old Havelock North school site in Te Mata Road and erect a library building. The stone wall along the street boundary of the present library is all that remains of the old school. Residents were opposed to the idea of loan finance and so a library fundraising committee was established. After only six months they had raised $168,000.

The huge fundraising exercise included a swimathon which raised $4500; a garden party at the home of the then mayor of Havelock North, Mr Jeff Whittaker; $5000 donation from Mrs Gwen Charitable Trust; and a grant from the Zealand Lottery Commission.

The support of the community and Borough Council enabled a purpose-built library to be opened on 6 September 1980.

Facilities and services included a hospital library service, holiday and education programmes and a music section which provided cassettes, records and performance space.

Local body amalgamation in 1989 saw the merger of the Havelock North borough council, the Hastings City Council and the Hawkes Bay County Council and in 1991 the Havelock North Library together with the Hastings Library and Flaxmere Library were rebranded as the Hastings District Libraries.

[Advertisement]
New enrolments welcome for full time & part time care
20 ECE Hours for 3-5 year olds
20 ECE hours are FREE – No optional fees charged
Napier Centre:
Phone 843 1031
24 Leyland Street, Onekawa
Te Mata Road Centre:
Phone 877 1613
144 Te Mata Road, Havelock North
Village Kids
Childcare Centre
The Early Learning Experience for your child
[www].villagekids.co.nz

[Advertisement]
Havelock North Library
Your library
your place
since 1873
Where tradition and technology goes hand in hand. Great reads, great range, great service.
Meet Relax Learn Grow
Te Mata Road Havelock North
Ph 8777878
[www].hastingslibrary.co.nz

Page 27

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1959
The new water supply scheme was well under way, with the Department of Health pushing to fluoridate it.

1962
August marked the anniversary of the first Town Board meeting.

Philatelic keepsake

Publicity officer for the Hastings Philatelic Society Keith Richards wanted to create a permanent memento to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the founding of Havelock North and has been working hard since January working on making his idea a reality. Keith, a keen stamp collector since he was ten-years-old, felt that a commemorative envelope, similar to a first day cover, with a special stamp was a fitting gesture.

“There are plenty of events but nothing for people to hang onto apart from newspaper articles,” he says.

Keith has concentrated on organising the final design and dealing with administration and says it’s a big project for the club. The cover and stamp, will feature the iconic Visitor Information Centre, public conveniences, in Havelock North. Te Mata Peak and the club’s logo will also feature in the design.

The covers will be printed locally and will be sold in Havelock North Public Library on March 13. Each cover will have a Havelock North post mark and cost $4 each.

The stamps (or Customer Advertising Labels) will be produced by NZ Post and will retail for $2, Keith says. Advertising flyers have been sent to every philatelic society in the country as demand is usually very high, he says. There will be limited supplies of covers and stamps produced. The Hastings Stamp Collectors Club, with some 80 or so members, is very active with meetings every month, interesting guest speakers and a regular magazine. Keith, a former Havelock North resident, thoroughly enjoys his hobby and is keen to produce more commemorative covers in the future.

Photo captions –
Foresters Lodge
– kindly supplied by Havelock North Library

Havelock North 150th Anniversary 1860-2010
Hastings Stamp Collectors Club

[Advertisement]
AnimalCare
“Proven Excellence in Veterinary Care”
Proud to be part of Havelock North.
Thanking all our clients for their custom.
BEST PRACTICE
New Zealand Veterinary Association
Ph 877 8156
45 Havelock Rd,
Havelock North
(Opp Mobile Station)

[Advertisement]
PEAK PCs
COMPUTER SALES & SERVICE
& Internet Cafe
Ph: (06) 877-9111
Fax: (060 877-9222

[Advertisement]
LIFE IS FOR LIVING
COUNSELLING & PSYCHOTHERAPY
MAXINE ANDERSEN JP, B. Couns, Dip Tchg, MNZAC, ACC, Reg. Available for ACC self referrals and doctor’s referrals.
I am a fully qualified counsellor with 25 years experience.
I can help you with a wide variety of problems which inevitably affect your wellbeing. l have affordable fees with no extra charge for ACC.
Matters I can discuss include those relating to:
Personal issues
Depression, anxiety, stress
Traumatic events, past & present
Child and adolescent difficulties
Couples relationships
Supervision and mentoring
Grief and loss
Family issues
Older person’s issues
Relationships with others
Workplace, industry issues
Many other issues
Let me help you to find the resources within yourself so that you can reach wellbeing.
MAXINE ANDERSEN
68 Te Mata Road, Havelock North
Ph: 06 877 5777 Fax: 06 877 2197
Txt: 027 2036330 Email:anda@xtra.co.nz

Page 28

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1962
Duart Presbyterian Hospital opened a 32 bed wing for the elderly.

1962
A free village newspaper was launched by G E G Rogers, who used the paper to promote Havelock North’s interests.

Havelock School

John Chambers engaged a tutor J Reynolds to teach his children, and several others, at his Te Mata Estate and it was Chambers that pushed for the establishment of the first school in Havelock North.

In fact there had been a very small private school briefly established in Middle Row, in 1863 by a Mr H C Teusch Hecker, late of Radley College, Oxford. He advertised places for three boarders but little else is known and it is presumed he returned to England.

In 1864 Chambers set up a school trustee board with several other prominent members of the village including William Couper.

The school, with accommodation for the Headmaster, opened in 1865 with J Reynolds as the first headmaster at Havelock School.

In an early report from May 1865 there were 15 boys and 11 girls enrolled. Several well known surnames appear on the roll such as the Bees, Coupers, Chambers, Garrys, McKenzie and a Milne. There was a mixture of private and government pupils and the roll varied considerably from one year a to the next.

Reynolds took up the post as headmaster of Te Aute College and Henry Godwin took his place in 1865.

Thomas Gilpin, by all accounts somewhat of a local celebrity in his day, was headmaster from 1872 to 1875. He had a farm near Havelock and was Chairman of the school committee – just one of several offices he held, including the Road Board and Cemetery Trustee.

Education became compulsory in 1877 and a new school board was elected soon after with Thomas Tanner and W R Couper elected.

The number of children enrolled at the school had increased to 90 by 1887. As their years passed increasing numbers of students reached standard six and gained scholarships to Napier High School. By 1913 the numbers had increased to 205.

The current Principal of Havelock North Primary School Paul Bremer is proud of the history of the school and says there aren’t many schools in New Zealand as old as Havelock North. Staff and pupils are looking forward to celebrating its 125th jubilee in 2013.

Photo caption – kindly supplied by jack and Ethel Henry’s family

[Advertisement]
Havelock North Primary School
Congratulations Havelock North on your 150 year Anniversary
ASPIRE & EXCEL
Providing 147 years of Quality education in Havelock North
9 Campbell Street, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand.
Phone: (06) 877-8788 Fax: (06) 877-8276
Email: admin@hnps.school.nz, or principal@hnps.school.nz
[www].hnps.school.nz

[Advertisement]
THORPS
of Havelock North
NEW
WINTER STOCK
ARRIVING
DAILY!
12 Te Mata Road Havelock North
Phone 877 8347

Page 29

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1963
North Primary School celebrated its centenary.

1966
The Borough Council, under Ashcroft sought new solutions to the problem of traffic congestion in the village shopping centre.

Iona College

Miss Fraser suggested the name Iona – the first place in Scotland where St Columba preached Christianity.

Iona was founded due to the unwavering support and vision of Hugh Campbell, the Reverend Alexander Whyte and Miss Isabel Fraser.

Campbell offered the Presbyterian Church eight acres of land. The Reverend Whyte, Minister of St Columba’s Church, saw the need for a Presbyterian girl’s school and Principal of Wanganui Girl’s College, Ms Fraser, was keen to establish Christian education facilities for girls. She offered services to the church should a girl’s boarding school ever be established.

In 1911 the Presbyterian Church considered setting up a college for girls and Mr Mason Chambers donated more land. Fund raising began and Miss Fraser travelled to Britain for research purposes.

In late 1912 the Presbyterian Church Committee agreed to go ahead with the project and appointed Miss Fraser as headmistress: she offered her services free for five years. Rush and James were commissioned as architects and Smith and Smith the builders.

The foundation stone was laid by Hugh Campbell on May 14, 1913. The building was officially opened by the Prime Minister, the Right Hon W F Massey in February 1914 with 48 students enrolled.

The school roll expanded rapidly in the first decade and staff cottages and a swimming pool were built. St Oran’s, intended to be a separate hospital, was used as accommodation for boarders. In 1918 the roll had increased to 125 boarders.

The college experienced financial problems in the 1920s and primary and commercial departments were added. The earthquake hit Hawke’s Bay in 1931 damaging the college so badly it had to close for a year. In 1958 St Martin’s Chapel was opened after many years of fundraising. Day students returned to Iona in 1988.

Iona was integrated into the state education sector as a Special Character School in 1999.

Photo caption – Iona College c1915
– kindly supplied by H B Newspapers Archives

[Advertisement]
IONA COLLEGE
HAVELOCK NORTH – HAWKE’S BAY
Pursuing Personal Best
Iona College has been an official part of the Havelock North landscape since its opening in 1914. Then, a purpose-built boarding school for some 50 girls, today Iona is home to 250 boarders and daygirls from Years 7 to 13.
Iona offers a broad, well balanced, academic curriculum together with a wide range of cultural and sporting activities and a supportive environment in which students live, learn and achieve.
Iona College is proud to be part of this unique community and wishes Havelock North a happy 150th birthday.
Private Bag 1000, Havelock North 4157   06 877 8149   office@iona.school.nz

Page 30

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1967
An amended plan for the new shopping centre was announced.

1970
Havelock North’s third Presbyterian Church was completed.

Woodford House

Miss Mabel Annie Hodge, from Cheltenham, England established Woodford House in Hastings in 1894. She started the school with 18 day girls and four boarders.

As the number of pupils increased she realised it would be advantageous to relocate the school to larger premises and the hills of Havelock North appealed to her.

Accordingly she set about her task and sought the opinions of parents and enlisted help from locals including William Nelson, Thomas Mason of Tauroa, Winifred Beetham and Nelson and Thomas Crosse who formed the Woodford House Company in 1909.

The buildings were designed by W J Rush and T H R Gardiner helped with the practicalities. Bishop Averill blessed the new school which opened with 60 boarders and six staff in February 1911. The chapel, dedicated to St Francis of Assisi, was consecrated and officially opened in 1928. It suffered some damage (as did other parts of the school) in the Hawke’s Bay Earthquake of 1931, but by the end of the year was fully restored. The chapel was extended in 1968 and rededicated in time for the 75th Anniversary in 1969. Today the chapel is the centre of the school and is used for school services, memorial services, baptisms and weddings.

The site was quite barren at the outset but over the years landscaping and tree planting to retain the views have turned the grounds into an established landscape. The beautiful 22 hectare site overlooks Heretaunga Plains with its orchards, vineyards and views to the western ranges.

The present hall and dining room are part of the original building but many facilities have been added over the years.

Today, Woodford House is and integrated school for boarding and day girls from Years 7 to 13 and has a close affiliation with the Anglican Church under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Waiapu.

The school still identifies with its historic past and has a reputation for excellence and encouraging independence and confidence in young women.

The current principal, Mrs Jackie Barron, has over 25 years experience as an educator and was previously deputy head principal at Gore High School.

[Advertisement]
Craig Foss
Your MP for Tukituki
Proud to be backing Havelock Norths 150 years Celebrations
National
[www].national.org.nz
Las Palmas Buildings
Cnr King and Queen Street
Ph (06) 870 3480
CraigFoss@BackingTheBay.co.nz
Office hours Monday-Friday 9.00-4.30pm

Page 31

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1971
Local body elections returned Ashcroft to the mayoralty.

1972
Havelock North Borough Council bought Duart House.

Hereworth School

Three private boarding schools were built in Havelock North in quick succession – Havelock, Woodford 1911, Heretuanga [Heretaunga] (Hereworth) in 1913 and Iona College in 1914.

Heretuanga School was established in Hastings in 1882 thanks to William Nelson (founder of Hawke’s Bay Freezing works) who provided funds and William Rainbow who ran the school. The school was built at the top end Nelson Park. WilliaBISTRO RESTAURANTm Rainbow drowned in 1889 and J A Fraser took over running the school. After turn of the century there was gathering support for moving the school out to Havelock which it subsequently did. The new school opened in May 1913 with about 55 pupils, most of them boarders.

William Gray was headmaster from 1903 until 1927 when H E Sturge, formerly of Hurworth School, Wanganui took over. The Heretuanga school Company, owners of the school negotiated to amalgamate Heretuanga with Hurworth School, Wanganui. In 1927 the school became Hereworth School (a combination of both names). The interests of the school were then managed by a board of trustees elected by a committee of the synod of the diocese of Waiapu. Hereworth is an Anglican school catering for boys at primary and intermediate levels. Its pupils are both day students and boarders. Since its foundation the school has maintained a reputation for excellence and is recognised as one of New. Zealand’s leading private independent schools.

Photo captions –

Woodford House – kindly supplied by Gaye Robertson

Hereworth School- kindly supplied H B Newspapers Archives.

[Advertisement]
Community Centre
HAVELOCK NORTH
“Where People Meet & Greet”
A relative newcomer (1998), the Community Centre stands in the heart of the village as the perfect location for:
Community Events
Family Celebrations & Reunions
Weddings & Funerals
Concerts & Exhibitions
Conferences & Seminars
Recreational Classes
In fact, the question often asked is “What did we do before we had the Community Centre?”
Proudly supported by the
HASTINGS DISTRICT COUNCIL
30 Te Mata Rd
Ph: 877 3470
hncc@xtra.org.nz
[www].havelocknorthcommunitycentre.org.nz

[Advertisement]
Property
Business
Wills
Trusts
John Baker
Solicitor & Notary Public
Supporting Havelock North since 1976
B.H
BATE HALLETT LAWYERS
Level 1, Bate Hallett Building,
6 Havelock Road, Havelock North, Phone 872 7002

Page 32

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1979
The Havelock North School site was bought for the purpose of a new library, the design of the building was carried out by Hastings architects Hoogerburg and Magdalinos.

1980
A scale model railway was built in Keirunga Gardens.

Havelock North Bowling Club

At the AGM in 1963 it was agreed men could wear shorts to play bowls at the club.

The Havelock North Bowling Club almost got underway in 1909 after the Havelock North Sports Association acquired 8 acres of Lucknow Estate for use as a recreation area including a bowling green.BISTRO RESTAURANT

However, it wasn’t until 1916 when J H Joll sold the current site at Porter Drive at 8 per cent interest that the club, as well as tennis and croquet, finally got underway. Several types of grass were trialled over the years – brown Top and Chewings, Dicondra, Mazus and Cotula. Water was taken from a nearby creek and members used pitch forks to aerate the ground as mechanical machines didn’t go far enough. In 1973 a water diviner discovered a supply near the greens and a well was sunk.

The ladies club was established in 1944 and very strict etiquette was enforced with white frocks being worn at a certain length and measured regularly. Colours were not allowed nor was jewellery or mixed play.

The ladies managed their own club activities and competitions.

The club rooms were expanded in 1972 with more lockers and a bar plus extra space for the ladies lounge. In 1977 the foundations for a new pavilion foundation were poured. Havelock North was the first club in Hawke’s Bay to introduce Astrograss in 1986. Forty club members helped the contractor dig drains and lay the carpet. Today the club has two world standard Dale carpet greens.

In 1999 the male and female clubs amalgamated and a new club uniform was designed. The club has hosted the Astrograss national Winter Bowls and NZ Blind Bowls competitions. In February every year 32 local businesses compete in the Business House Competition which is held over six weeks.

The club has a membership of over 200 and is in the top four per cent in New Zealand with similar numbers. It can also claim to have the longest continuous playing record of all Havelock North sporting teams dating back to 1904.

Havelock North Bowling Club is a vibrant and friendly club which is very much part of the community. The club is fortunate to have the support of local businesses and are working with schools to encourage young people to play bowls.

Photo caption – Havelock North Bowling Club
– kindly supplied by Robyn Phillips

[Advertisement]
BLUE MOON COLLECTION
“Once in a lifetime eclectic treasures for your home”
Vintage Furniture &
Chandeliers
Pots
Water Features
Architectural Pieces
Call in to see us for those special pieces
Phone: 06 877 7365
Mobile: 021 301198
3 Donnelly Street
Havelock North
[www].bluemooncollection.co.nz
bluemoon1@paradise.net.nz

[Advertisement]
DIVA
bistro & bar
in the heart of the village
Superb food, great service and a friendly bar makes Diva an exciting local experience serving lunch, dinner, bar platters and now brunch on Sundays.
Shop 1, Village Court
10 Napier Road,
Havelock North
Ph. 877 5149
lunch every day except saturday
dinner mon-sat
brunch on sundays from 10am

Page 33

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1980
Havelock North’s independence seemed threatened by radical changes to local government.

1985
First hint of change to village independence came.

Presbyterian Social Services

In early 1946 the Hawke’s Bay branch of Presbyterian Social Services was established. Later that year PSSA, (now known as Presbyterian Support East Coast) took the opportunity to purchase Hillsbrook Guest House, once the home of Canon St Hill in Te Mata Rd bordering the areas now known as Lennon Grove and Hillsbrook Place. It was a 2 storey wooden building set in 4 acres of ground with many mature trees.

The building was modified and opened as Hillsbrook Children’s Home in May 1947 with accommodation for about 20 children as there were inadequate numbers of child care beds available in the area and proposals from the Welfare Department that children might be sent to Wellington where more facilities existed.

Children came to Hillsbrook from all over the region – some for a week some for many years. They came because of a family crisis, a parent or parents too sick to look after them, a death in the family – the reasons as varied as the children.

Hillsbrook was spacious enough to take even a big family so that brothers and sisters could still be together. The aim was to provide a secure, caring home environment for however long they stayed.

By 1969 the 80-year-old building was due for replacement. The new Hillsbrook Home was officially opened by Sir John Marshall on 28 July 1975.

The Havelock North community and St Columba’s Parish involvement with Hillsbrook continued in the new building:

In the 1970s worldwide changes in the philosophy of child care encouraged N Z Social Welfare towards foster care and away from institutional care in homes like Hillsbrook. As a result the number of children coming to Hillsbrook steadily declined and in 1985 one bedroom wing was closed as there were only 10 young people in residence. By 1986 the numbers had reduced to five and Hillsbrook was operating as a family home. Finally in January 1988 Hillsbrook closed its doors as a children’s home.

In 1989 the vacant laundry, kitchen and storeroom became the new Support Catering Division (now Quality Fresh) which supplies meals to Aged Care homes and hospitals in Hawkes Bay. Hillsbrook was converted to offices and the then existing administration block (now Te Mata clinic) together with surplus land (now residential) sold and the proceeds used to finance child and family (now Family Works) in other locations. The building was retained as Head office for PSEC’s Operations and now houses the CEO, Executive, Admin and Fundraising personal [personnel] as well as Quality Fresh, and Enliven staff.

Over the years PSEC have greatly expanded its social service programme to include Cranford Hospice, Realpeople disability services, Family Works, Enliven positive aging [ageing] services, and Quality Fresh.

Hillsbrook has been home to more than 500 children between 1946 and 1988.

Photo caption – Hillsbrook – kindly supplied by Presbyterian Support

[Advertisement]
Family
Works
HAWKES BAY
OUTCOMES IN H B AS A RESULT OF OUR INTERVENTIONS;
75% of families showed a decrease in risk in their family situation
77% of client families had improved safety for their children
62% of client familiers had improved stability for the lives of their children
72% of client families had improved care for their children’s
At the Nikau Centre;
77% of truant kids involved over the past 4 years successfully reintegrated back into mainstream schools
At HIPPY;
HIPPY children score better on measures of literacy, numeracy and understanding appropriate school behaviour compared to their non HIPPY peers
Whanau Whakatipu
Parentline H B
Awhinatia Nga Tamariki
HIPPY
FLAXMERE NEW ZEALAND
NIKAU CENTRE

Page 34

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1988
Havelock Borough council reluctantly opened discussions with the Hastings City Council and the Hawke’s Bay County Council on the prospect.

1989
Dr A W Reeve remarked he was strongly opposed to the amalgamation.

Keirunga Gardens Arts And Crafts Society Inc.

George Nelson’s vision realized

The formation of Keirunga Gardens Arts & Crafts Society Inc is only a small part of Keirunga history which dates back to 1854 when John Chambers purchased the Te Mata block. Mason T Chambers sold the block (part of Tauroa Station) in 1906.

George Nelson, a founder of the Hawke’s Bay Herald Tribune, and director of J J Nimon & Co, purchased Keirunga in 1929. He planned to develop the property into a parkland. His wife, Elizabeth had her friends over in the afternoons, they took garden walks, it was a meeting place for ‘serious talk’, and she painted water colours in the gardens. A work of hers is displayed in the Homestead.

In 1956 the property except for the Homestead, Chalet and homestead grounds was offered to the Havelock North Borough Council with special conditions. The gift was accepted and taken over in 1957. Mr Nelson died aged 93 in 1964 and left Keirunga Homestead and the surrounding 2½ acres to Havelock North Borough Council at a nominal sum. It was his wish that Keirunga become a park and recreation area. While the Havelock North Borough Council deliberated what to do with the property it deteriorated and the grounds became overgrown.

In 1965 the idea of developing Keirunga as a cultural centre gained momentum as the Havelock North Pottery Club had to move out of their cowshed quarters. Lead by Frank Bacon, and Beryl Blackmore, as public meeting was held to progress the idea and form a Society to administer Keirunga as a cultural centre.

Photo caption – Keirunga house and gardens became one of Havelock North’s best known public assets.
– kindly supplied by Matthew Wright

[Advertisement]
ROSE & SHAMROCK
Village Inn
AUTHENTIC ENGLISH/IRISH VILLAGE PUB
“Your local”
– Est 1996 –
Winners of the best
‘Outstanding Traditional Pub award’
Hawke’s Bay 2008 & 2009
Open 10.30am
Lunch 12.00 pm-2.00 pm
Dinner 5.30 pm-9.30 pm
Cnr Napier Road & Porter Drive, Havelock North, New Zealand Phone (06) 877 2999
Email: info@roseandshamrock.co.nz   Web: [www].roseandshamrock.co.nz

Page 35

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860–2010

1990
Complimentary medicines produced by Weleda.

It was a well fought battle with many obstacles and negative attitudes to overcome. The first groups to move in were the potters, the Drama Club and the painters.

The gardens were cleared, with help from many people in the community and the Keirunga Garden Circle was formed, headed by Cr Margaret Hursthouse.

The main aim stated in the new constitution was “To develop Keirunga as a Community Asset.”

The Havelock North Borough Council took over the grounds and gave support, but with the growing number of groups and members the space soon became inadequate.

In 1976 the Nelson Room was constructed and the Havelock North Rotary Club commemorative garden was laid out which is used for family groups, children’s parties, and weddings or simply just relaxing.

In 1985 the ‘new’ wing annexed to the Nelson Room was added and provided a pottery, artists’ studio, a caretaker’s flat, drama meeting room and toilet facilities.

John Kingsford, who designed the Nelson Room, was again the Architect.

In 1987, the central courtyard enclosed by the three buildings and a sheltering garden was laid down, completing the complex as envisaged many years before.

In 1992 the Keirunga Park Miniature Railway opened its tracks to the public. The Railway is a wonderful community asset enjoyed by all.

Currently the Society is administered by a central committee and there are 13 affiliated groups.

[Advertisement]
STANTON
Print
Fifth Generation Family Printing Firm
Supporting Hawke’s Bay businesses since 1918 with quality commercial printing
Letterheads
Business Cards
Job Cards
Tax Invoice Books
Digital Colour Copying
Phone 878 8004
106-112 Karamu Road North, Hasting 4156
Email: stanton.print@xtra.co.nz
Locally owned and operated

[Advertisement]
Summerset warmly congratulates
Havelock North on its 150 years!
We look forward to being with you for the next 150.
[www].summerset.co.nz   Summerset in the Vines Welcome home

Hawke’s Bay Region

Girl Guiding
New Zealand
Tuki Tuki District

Guides began in New Zealand in 1908, organized by Colonel Cossgrove, a friend of the world’s founder, Baden Powell. He called the older girls Peace Scouts and the younger ones Fairy Scouts. Girl Guides, Havelock North (Tuki Tuki District) started in 1924 and continues on today, 2009 saw us celebrate 85 years. Havelock North was the first district in Hawkes Bay to begin guiding so our groups were originally called the 1st Hawkes Bay Guide Unit and the 1st Hawkes Bay Brownie Pack. National office was first set up in Havelock North moving to Hastings then to today’s location of Christchurch. The location in Bennelong Place of the original hut, moved from Middle Road by Hugh Lattey in the early 1950’s is still used by our girls today. We have 1 brownie, 1 Guide and 1 pippin units that meet weekly to further there life skills and have fun.

Photo captions –

Havelock North (Tuki Tuki)
Pippins @ Teddy Bears’ Picnic
25th Feb 2010

1925/26 Havelock North Girl Guides arriving at camp

Anzac Day 1966 @ Havelock North

1st Havelock North Brownie Pack – taken outside hall still in use today

1925/1926 Havelock North Girl Guides arriving at camp

Original Girl Guide biscuit packet

Girl Guide Biscuits will be sold around Hawke’s Bay during March 2010

Hawke’s Bay Region Districts
Tuki Tuki Heretaunga Taradale Tamatea Waipukurau Woodville

GirlGuiding gives girls and young women the skills and self confidence to embrace life’s challenges.
Join girl guides Hawke’s Bay Pippins 5-6 yrs, Brownies 7-9½ yrs, Guides 9½-13yrs, Rangers 13-18 yrs.

Guides
HAWKES BAY

Join an international sisterhood of 10 million voices as ‘together we can change the world’

Ph: 0800 22 22 92
Email: info@girlguidingnz.org.nz

Page 37

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1991
First Community Traffic Officer Ray Kirkby appointed.

1992
Substantial funding earmarked for new Community Centre.

Havelock North Post Office

Before the railway was routed through Hastings in 1874 Havelock North was an important staging post on the mail route between Napier and Waipukurau.

There were a number of postal stops established between 1855 and 1862 on rural blocks owned by early pioneers such as John Joll and the Chambers family.

Havelock North Post Office, situated within in a general store, opened on July 1, 1862 and the first postmaster was John Bray.

When the railway opened mail was sent by train to Hastings and by coach to Havelock. It was after the introduction of the railway that the fortunes of the village waned.

In between 1879 and 1995 the mail service was increased from once to three times daily.

Telegraph facilities were added in 1884 and in 1885 the name changed from Havelock to Havelock North to differentiate it from Havelock in Marlborough. Later a money order department and a telephone bureau was set up.

In 1905, with business on the increase, Miss Driscoll was appointed as non-classified postmistress. The office itself was in a separate area in the general store, and in 1908 she was made a permanent employee and given a small office and home.

In 1914 a new post office was built at a cost of £1441 with the work finishing on June 25, 1914.

The post office closed down in 1997 and postal services were moved to Whittaker’s Pharmacy on the corner of Columba Way and Napier Road. The building was leased to St Luke’s Anglican Church and used as an op shop.

The building was then relocated to Havelock Road with the back half relocated to the side of the building.

It now operates as The Post Restaurant with original matai floors, skirting boards and some windows retained. The decor is sympathetic to the original theme and displays many relics of early New Zealand postal history.

Photo captions –

The Post Office as it appeared in 1914.
– kindly supplied by Robyn Warren

2010 The Post Restaurant.
– kindly supplied by Paul Corlett

A TRIBUTE TO LEON CASH

(founder Lee James Footwear)

Shirley Cash has no doubt that her husband, and best friend, Leon Cash would have been keen to support this special publication but sadly he passed away on January 22, 2010.

Leon founded Lee James Footwear in 1979 and ran the business for almost 31 years. Lee Aison Shoes in Joll Road was also established by Leon.

Ill health prompted Leon to sell the business recently and the new owners took over on March 1.

Born in Hastings Leon took an after school job as a parcel boy at Hannahs which eventually led him on a career path specialising in footwear. Leon moved to Hannahs head office in Wellington and was the youngest manager ever appointed. He then became the footwear buyer for Hannahs New Zealand wide.

The couple returned to the Hawke’s Bay in 1978 and established Lee James Footwear in a new development in Middle Road. Many people mistakenly called Leon Mr James but he took it in his stride. in fact, Lee was short for Leon and James was a family name!

Throughout the years Leon got to know several generations of families including pupils at Iona and Woodford who returned many years later with their children.

Leon also established Shirley Shoes (named after his wife) in Havelock and later sold the name to his brother who transferred the store to Taupo.

He was an active member of the Havelock North Business Association for many years and helped promote the Village. He loved sports and completed the Coast to Coast, many marathons and a half Iron Man. Fishing at Lake Taupo was another favourite hobby of Leon’s.

Leon Cash is survived by his wife Shirley, son Darren, daughter Janine and three grand children.

[Advertisement]
HAVELOCK NORTH
THE POST NZ
BISTRO RESTAURANT
by the Village Roundabout
2 Havelock Road
HAVELOCK NORTH
06 877 1714
Superb ambience, food & wine
Mains from $20
Open for dinner 5.30pm until late
Closed Sundays

[Advertisement]
ASKERNE
Award winning wines hand crafted in Havelock North
OPEN 7 DAYS 10.00AM TO 5.00PM UNTIL EASTER
Celebrate our 15th vintage and 150 years of Havelock North with a 15% discount off your wine purchases. Does not include wines already at discount prices. To qualify please bring in a copy of this ad.
267 Te Mata Mangateretere Road, HAVELOCK NORTH
PH 877 2089 [www].askerne.co.nz

Page 38

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1993
Sam and Libby new women’s fashion shop opens.

1994
A new look and Dispensary to Denton’s Pharmacy.

Te Mata Estate Winery

Te Mata station, a pastoral block of land, was established by the English settler John Chambers in 1854

John Chambers divided The Te Mata block between three of his sons and Bernard became owner of 1,960 hectares of land and a large homestead. It was Bernard who had the vision to establish a vineyard on the north facing slopes bordering Havelock North after encouragement from a French guest at the Te Mata homestead.

Bernard thoroughly researched viticulture in California, France and Australia and returned to convert a brick stable into a cellar. His first planting of Pinot Noir came from St Mary’s Mission vineyards.

The vineyard was originally called Mamelon, a reference to the breast shaped hill the vineyard was established on.

By 1898 he had successfully produced Claret and Chablis and was extremely pleased with the end result. Within a decade Te Mata vineyards was the largest producer in the country with 15 hectares of land producing 55,000 litres of wine. The first vines, Pinots and Black Hamburgs were planted on the hill at the end of Fulford Avenue. Skilled workers were imported from Europe and plantings included Cabernet Sauvignon and Verdello.

Bernard’s fortunes waned in 1914 as he faced a bad frost, the war in Europe, cheap imports from Australia and prohibition. In 1817 He sold the winery to Reginald Collins Limited, and most of the estate, keeping just 50 hectares for himself where he built a home.

Aside from his business interests Bernard actively contributed to the community and was a director of Williams and Kettle from 1931, a shareholder in Hereutanga [Heretaunga] School Limited, on the council of Iona College and the board of Te Aute College. He was a Freemason and a founding member of the Hawkes Bay Polo Club.

In 1929 TMV wines took over the business and made sherry for 30 years.

The current owners, the Buck and Morris families, bought the business in 1978. The new owners started a 20 year development programme which began with restoration and re-equipping the original building. More land was bought, leased and put under management contract and the vineyards were all re-planted.

In 1984 Peter Cowley joined as winemaker and he is now technical director with the company. He directs and monitors the wine making techniques to ensure consistency of quality.

The quality of grapes arriving at the crusher is monitored by a viticulturist, and he is overseeing the move towards sustainable viticulture. Sixty per cent of the 35,000 cases of wine produced annually are red.

The architecture at Te Mata Estate incorporates the original winery and modern buildings using local materials and limewash colours designed by Wellington architect Ian Athfield who also designed the Buck family home, Coleraine, across the road from the winery.

The original vineyards Bernard Chambers established now produce the wines Coleraine, Awatea and Elston and are some of the finest wines Produced in New Zealand today.

Photo caption – Te Mata Homestead completed 1876 – H B Newspapers Archives.

[Advertisement]
Agricultural Lime
Reduce soil acidity for optimum pasture and crop growth.
Stimulate bacterial activity to boost uptake of nutrients and minerals.
Enrich pasture with calcium for increased growth.
Improve fertiliser efficiency.
Improve soil structure.
Now available a high performance organic carbon humate.
Trace Element Mixing now available.
Feltmark
HYDRATED LIME CO.
HAVELOCK NORTH
PHONE
WEBSTERS
877 7617
Producers OF Hydrated, Burnt lime and Limestone Products
641 MIDDLE ROD, HAVELOCK NORTH
PHONE 877 7617 FAX 877 7509 [www].whlc.co.nz

[Advertisement]
BREADALBANE FORESTRY LTD
Forest Consultancy and Management
(23 years of experience in Hawke’s Bay, East Coast and Wairarapa)
Services include:
Organisation and management of forestry operations, including logging and marketing
Forestry insurance advice
Project insurance studies
Forest and farm woodlot valuations
Tony Watt Director
31 Breadalbane Road, Havelock North
m 0275 371 260 p (06) 877 6238 f (06) 877 6224

Page 39

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1995
Happy Tav land purchased for the new development of the New Havelock North Motor Lodge.

1997
Open Day at Havelock North Rugby Club to mark 103 years.

Transformer House and Clock Tower

The hub of the village is occupied by a truly iconic building which is a landmark to locals and tourists alike but not many people know the site was first used as a dog pound in about 1860.

The site upon which the village public loo centre now sits was first by purchased by William Colenso, the famous Zealand explorer, missionary and writer.

After the establishment of public houses in the area it became the place to tie dogs while their owners frequented the pub.

The arrival of electricity necessitated a building to hold an electrical transformer. The Havelock North Town Board called for for the new building and in August formally accepted a Chapman-Taylor design. William J Rush a Havelock North architect and painter also submitted a design that his daughter Sybil claimed was the design used for the Transformer House, which was completed in 1915.

The Transformer House, as it was first known, became a tribute to the work of T. Mason Chambers and the Hawke’s Bay County Council.

The 1931 earthquake caused some damage in the village and the bell on top of the village transformer was damaged. In 1937 a bracket clock was bought from the Hastings Borough Council and installed on top of the Transformer House. Mr & Mrs Baird contributed half the cost.

By the 1960s the Transformer House had become the village toilet but the exact date is unclear. A 1981 report refers to electrical equipment still being housed at the back of the public toilets.

By early 2005 local resident Bart Thompson opened the successful village info business in the refurbished transformer house. The centre, still a local landmark, acts as a magnet for tourists and offers a range. of tourist services, products and brochures.

The rear of the building still houses a modern, sophisticated public loo.

Photo captions –

The Transformer House 1860
– kindly supplied by Keith Richards

Today as the Havelock North Visitor Info Centre
– kindly supplied by HB Newspapers Archives

[Advertisement]
It’s not what we say about ourselves, but what our clients say about us that counts.
“…a breath of fresh air… ”
“…pulls useful business information from the numbers… ”
“…removed my headache and hours of my staff’s time… ”
“…reliable and innovative financial support… ”
MIDDELBERG
CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS
adding meaning to the numbers in your business
National Bank Building, Porter Drive, Havelock North
p. 06 877 6895 f. 06 877 6887 e. info@middelbergca.co.nz
[www].middelbergca.co.nz

[Advertisement]
To be a light on a hill,
helping people to seek,
serve and follow Christ.
Arohanui Christian Centre
& Family Village
81 Middle Road
Havelock North
Phone: 877 4191
[www].arohanuicc.org.nz

Page 40

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

1998
That old house on the roundabout, Dot and Albert Lehmann turn their back on developers dollar.

1999
Comprehensive Medical Centre proposed for village.

Mangapapa Lodge

One of Hawke’s Bay’s most historic properties is 125 years old.

Mangapapa homestead was built in 1885 by William Nelson, founder of the Tomoana Freezing Works in Hastings.

Nelson had six beautiful homesteads built in similar style, one for each of his five daughters and his manager, but only Ormlie in Napier and Mangapapa remain.

In 1886, George Langdale Sutherland, a retired Navy Officer, who had immigrated to New Zealand with his family in his early 20s, took up residence. Sunderland first settled in the Bay of Plenty in 1876 and worked for Nelson Brothers as head stock buyer at the Taraheru Freezing Works in Gisborne. He was promoted to Manager at the Tomoana Freezing Works in 1896.

Gladys Sunderland their daughter later married Oswald Nelson, who owned lands adjoining Mangapapa. After his retirement from the Freezing works in 1914, George Sunderland and his wife Dorothy went to live at the Masonic Hotel in Napier. Oswald and Gladys moved into Mangapapa. The homestead remained in the Nelson family, until after World War 2. Damage from the 1931 earthquake was limited to the loss of chimney pots and verandas.

Photo caption – Mangapapa Lodge 1946
– kindly supplied by Catherine Hobbs-Turner.

[Advertisement]
Havelock North
Lions Club
Your local Lions Club operating since November 1967
Fundraising projects include:
Lions BBQ at Keirunga Gardens
– 3rd Sunday of every month
Kindling wood projects
Street Collections
We meet on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of every month with a meal.
To become a Lion, contact
Daphne or Ivor on 876 2992
We certainly need your assistance, without which we could not help the deserving people in your community

[Advertisement]
PUSSYFOOT
boarding cattery
EST. 2001
Louise Nixon
(06) 875 00404
021 797 223
395 Tuki Tuki Road, RD2, HASTINGS
pussyfoot@xtra.co.nz
MAF accredited cattery
Outside runs
All nutritional needs catered for
4 star accommodation
Pick-up and delivery services
Long term & multi cat discounts
All cuddles are free including some for owners
Inspections welcome
Current Health and Vaccination Certificate required

[Advertisement]
How Confident are you?
Are you able to express your thoughts and ideas?
Can you convince your boss that you need a raise?
Learn how to:
Improve self confidence
Control nerves
Practice speaking in front of groups
Visit a Havelock North Toastmasters meeting and see what Toastmasters can do for you!
For information, visit –
http://havelocknorth/freetoasthost.ws
Phone (06) 877 6057
Ben Keet President
TOASTMASTERS
INTERNATIONAL

Page 41

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

2000
Two big residential subdivisions planned side-by-side off Brookvale Road.

2000
Boutique Visitor Accommodation ‘The Woolshed Apartments’ are opened.

In 1946 Sir James Wattie purchased the homestead and its land to grow fruit and vegetables for his cannery business. The property was modernized, verandahs removed and a portico in 1950.

James and his wife, Gladys, moved into Mangapapa in 1950. It was the No. 1 Farm, known to the locals as “Watties Place”, although it retained the name Mangapapa.

Sir James died in June 1974 and Lady Wattie moved into bungalow on the adjoining section that they had built with retirement in mind. Their son Gordon and his wife lived at Mangapapa for a while. They added the tennis court and swimming pool, before moving with the cannery business up to Gisborne. In the late 80’s, Mangapapa was sold as part of the Goodman, Fielder, Wattie assets when it merged with Heinz.

The property was bought by European business emigrants to develop as a restaurant and luxury hotel in December 1993 and renovations commenced in 1994.

Mangapapa changed hands again in May 1999 and now operates as the Mangapapa Petit Hotel.

[Advertisement]
MANGAPAPA
PETIT HOTEL
Imagine arriving to a bottle of chilled bubbly, handcrafted chocolates and elegant accommodation. Visit our spa retreat for a soak in the jacuzzi, a sauna or our unique waterfall feature overflowing spa. In the evening join us in our lounge for pre dinner drinks and canapes followed by a five course Degustation Meal complete with wines matched by a Master of Wine, before retiring for the evening in the comfort of Damask linen.
A late check out enables you to have a leisurely Mangapapa breakfast in the conservatory overlooking our manicured gardens.
466 Napier Road, Havelock North, Hawke’s Bay
Tel: (06) 878 3234   Fax: (06) 878 1214   [www].mangapapa.co.nz

[Advertisement]
B.P. Millward Motors Ltd
Roger Millward served his apprenticeship with Tourist Motors and Farming Co.
He was employed as a mechanic for Johnson Motors for 10 years before purchasing the family business from Rob and Lenore Johnson.
He spent six years operating as Millward Motors in Te Mata Road. In 1990 Millward Motors purchased the site in Karanema Drive formerly Havelock North Brough [Borough] Dog Dosing Strip. He then had plans drawn up for the new BP Service Station and Workshop. The new premises took eight weeks to complete and is as you see it today.
BP now employ 7 full time staff and 3 part time staff which includes two fully qualified mechanics (Dean Winton) and 1 apprentice in the workshop.
Roger still works in the workshop as required, Carol still does the accounts and daily reconciliation for the business.
We may be a new business but “We still offer old fashioned service”
Locally owned and operated and very proud of it.
Karanema Drive, Havelock North.
Phone 877 7469
bp

Page 42

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

2002
Hawke’s Bay rowing superstars Georgina and Caroline Evers-Swindell world silver medalists in rowing.

2003
Rev Brian Dawson has been appointed as the new parish priest for St Luke’s Anglican Church

Warren’s Bakery

A family affair that started in Havelock North.

Sven [Seven] young boys arrived from Devonshire, England with their parents John and Johannah Warren in 1872 and settled in the small village of Havelock, as it was known back then. The couple had four more children, three girls then another boy.

John Warren was fully employed building roads in the new settlement and died at Havelock North, aged 71, in 1897. At his funeral service, tribute was paid to John Warren’s honesty, integrity and unassuming manner. Johannah died in 1906 and is buried alongside her husband at the Havelock North cemetery.

Robert Warren, the youngest the seven boys, who was only 11 months old when he arrived in New Zealand, completed his five year journeyman’s apprenticeship with a Napier baker.

Robert married Alice Bee, daughter of George Bee senior, (the builder of St Luke’s Church), in 1892.

On his wedding day Robert purchased a section in Napier Road, Havelock, for £65, next to St Columba’s Presbyterian Church. He set up a small shop in the front room of his two storied house and the bake house was at the back.

The bakery was on the site, (now the Post Shop), until at least the 1930s, when it was sold and re-named Warnes’ [Warren’s] Bakery.

Robert Warren began businesses in Hastings from 1898, a large bake house at the corner of St Aubyn Street and Karamu Road, as well as several other locations in the township where he expanded to tearooms and shops.

Catering was a significant part of Robert Warren’s business and he supplied elaborate multi-tiered wedding cakes, and catered at local race meetings, balls and weddings. After his death in l916 Alice, his widow, continued the businesses with the help of the family.

The baking tradition continued from one generation to the next starting with Pearl the youngest child of Robert and Alice, then Velma Brannigan their granddaughter, and more recently Malcolm, their great grandson and his wife Robyn.

Sadly, Malcolm and Robyn who took over the Hastings based business in 1987, have Warren’s Bakery up for sale, ending an important part of Hawke’s Bay history.

A suitable purchaser has yet to be found, so for Warren’s, it’s business as usual, and the history lives on.

Photo caption – Ray Clapperton in Napier Road, outside Warrens bakery.
– kindly supplied by Robyn Warren.

[Advertisement]
Make Up By:
Elizabeth Arden   Almay
Revlon   Satin
Perfumes By:
Chanel   Givenchy
Dolce & Gabbana   Nina Ricci
Elizabeth Arden   Lanvin   Versace
Skincare By:
Elizabeth Arden   Revlon
Almay   Dr Le Winn’s   L’Oreal
Unichem
Flybuys
Unichem
Jeff Whittaker Pharmacy
10 Napier Road, Havelock North
Ph: 877 7848

[Advertisement]
WARRENS BAKERY
A SLICE OF HAWKE’S BAY HISTORY
Congratulations Havelock North on 150 Years.
Havelock North, The Birthplace of Warrens Bakery (Since 1891)
Now 123 Russell Street, Hastings
p. (06) 878 7476

[Advertisement]
Age Concern
Havelock North
He Manaakitanga
Kaumatua
Serving the needs of older people
Corner Te Mata Road/Columba Way,
Havelock North, PO Box 8733
Phone. (06) 877 6488 Fax (06)877 6498
Email. ageconcernhb@xtra.co.nz
Staff at Havelock North L-R Jenny Pearce & Ria Kersjes.

Page 43

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

2004
New maternity franchise ‘The Egg’ opens in Havelock North.

2005
Rates rebate for Village seniors.

Havelock North High School

Havelock North High School is proud to be part of the 150th celebrations of the Village. Our community high school was established in 1975. For the past thirty-five years, Havelock North High has answered the educational needs of the village and its rural hinterland. Over those years, our community high school has established itself as the most successful academic school in the region. Our scholarship and examination results are second to none. The school encourages achievers and recognises success at every level. We are fortunate to be part of the supportive Havelock North community, which has a clear understanding of the value of an excellent and well-rounded education. Our pupils are also able to take part in wide range of sporting and cultural activities. Over the years, our successes at national level in both sport and culture have created a-very proud tradition of excellence. Havelock North High School is a school which pupils are proud to belong to and in which parents and the community can have every confidence.

Havelock Today and into the Future

Havelock North has continued to grow from a small town under the feet of Te Mata to a vibrant village of with a unique atmosphere and a strong sense of community. People still come here for the same reasons they came 1860 – the beautiful landscape, the fertile plains, the rivers, the ocean, the lifestyle and for the various business opportunities the district provides.

While it was pastoral influences which guided Havelock North during its early years and continues to be one of the key business sectors, the growth of village has ensured that fresh thinking and corporate businesses are being attracted to the district. The climate and the short commute to work continues to attract many city dwellers which shape the future of the Village.

Havelock North prides itself as a café capital of the Bay and is seen as the retail hub of the region. A strong presence in healthcare and education sectors and a fast growing business services industry including finance and real estate all help to round out a cross-section of the economy. The growth in the wine industry, coupled with the climate and abundance of outdoor and recreational opportunities in the district has provided significant growth for the districts tourism industry. Nationally and Internationally recognised businesses such as Black Barn, Craggy Range, Elephant Hill, and The Farm at Cape Kidnappers continue to attract both tourists and people seeking: employment to region.

The future of the Village is exciting. Havelock North is unique and will continue to grow through its strong sense of community, successful business networks and distinct identity.

[Advertisement]
HAVELOCK NORTH HIGH SCHOOL
CREATING A STRONGER FUTURE FOR HAVELOCK NORTH THROUGH EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION
HAVELOCK NORTH
HIGH SCHOOL
Foundation
Aim to excel
Whaia te iti kahurangi
TE MATA ROAD, PO BOX 8476, HAVELOCK NORTH p (06) 877-8129 f. (06) 877 4079   [www].hnhs.school.nz

Page 44

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

2005
Arataki Honey Visitors Centre underwent major redevelopment in focus of education, letting people know how important the honeybee is to the human population.

2006
Public Car Park for Havelock with no time limit.

2007
After 91 years a new sundial is installed on Tauroa Homestead.

Rugby and Cricket Club

In the year 1894, Rugby was first played in Havelock North and in 1994 the Havelock North Rugby Club celebrated 100 years of the Havelock North Rugby Club’s existence.

In 2009 the Havelock North Rugby Club is one of the leading clubs in the Hawke’s Bay Club Rugby competition. Havelock North plays in the Hawke’s Bay Rugby competition which provides representatives to the Kelt Capital Magpies, NZ Juniors and NZ All Blacks.

A large part of the clubs success can be attributed to the loyalty displayed from its player base. In many instances these players have have originated from the junior ranks of the club whose own numbers are at record highs.]

The club has two All Black’s on the national scene, Bryn: Evans and Hika Elliott together with a number of Super 14 and Magpie representatives.

The club has grown beyond recognition since it was originally called The Havelock Harriers at the turn of the century. It soon became known as Havelock or The Villagers. In1910 Havelock won the senior grade champions in the Napier-Hastings competition. From 1914 to 1918 the game went into decline as it did during the World War 2 but the game was revived in the 1920s and again after 1945.

The Cricket Club has the distinction of being able to claim it was the first sports club established in Havelock North. Mention is first made in a document dated 1874 which refers to the club and mentions T Gilpin, headmaster of Havelock North School as its secretary.

Interest in cricket declined until the turn of the century but revived 1909 when the team played in the Hawke’ s Bay Cricket Association’s second grade.

It was much later in 1931 that the club finally became established. Regular matches between Havelock North School and Hereworth School also took place with a greater emphasis being placed on sports in schools than previously. The club played on the Domain with members volunteering their time to keep the pitches in good condition.

[Advertisement]
Havelock North Rugby Club
Proud to be part of the village for 116 years
Anderson Park, 22 Te Aute Road, Havelock North
Contact: Tony Waites 027 210 7694

[Advertisement]
“Is your concrete 150 years old?”
“We have all the solutions you need”
Specialists in Decorative Concrete
ANGUS MCMILLAN
Concrete
SLATEX
an art form in concrete
Farmlands MCPA (06) 873 4428
Call today for a FREE Measure and Quote [www].concreteserviceshb.co.nz

[Advertisement]
MR TEXTURE LTD
Phone for Unlimited Textures
(06) 873 4458 OR (027) 698 7550
Decorative overlays for concrete surfaces
Come and see our showroom 402 Victoria Street, Hastings.
[www].concreteserviceshb.co.nz

[Advertisement]
TROWEL TRADES SUPA-CENTRE
BIG BRANDS
BEST VALUE
FOR ALL YOUR D.I.Y. NEEDS
402 Victoria Street, Mayfair, Hastings
Ph: 878 8968
GIB
Farmlands

[Advertisement]
Serving Hawke’s Bay since 1962 Cancer Society
Te Kahui Matepukupuku o Aotearoa
Cancer Society of New Zealand, Hawke’s Bay Centre Inc
207 Nelson Street South, PO Box 1014, Hastings 4156
Our Services include: –
Support and Information for people will all types of cancer
Health Promotion resources – Smokefree; Sunsmart; LiveSmart
Retail Shop – Sunscreen; sun glasses; self tan; hats; ‘Elements’ skincare products; gift cards; serviettes; Daffodil merchandise – Barbeque aprons, jewellery, scarves
Tel: 06 876 7638 Fax: 06 876 5046 Email: admin@cancerhb.org.nz

Page 45

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

2008 Beaumont retires after 40 years of teaching youngsters to swim and training squads at his indoor swimming pool.

[Advertisement]
DURHAMS
AUCTIONS
Congratulations
Havelock North on celebrating 150 years
Hawke’s Bay only Auction House with online catalogue.
[www].durhams.co.nz
DURHAMS AUCTIONS GENERAL AND ESTATE AUCTIONS
5 DONNELLY ST, HAVELOCK NORTH
PHONE 06 8777353

[Advertisement]
ORTON
CATERING
BB BLACK BARN
BISTRO
Our company has been at the forefront of the hospitality industry in Hawke’s Bay and surrounding regions for over 25 years.
We are the largest privately owned catering company in this area enjoying a reputation for excellence throughout Hawke’s Bay and the Central North Island.
At Black Barn we lease and operate the Black Barn Bistro what has established an international reputation as a “must visit” when in Hawke’s Bay. At Sileni Estates we have recently established out splendid Estate Marquee as a permanent feature on the Sileni Landscape, for functions only.
We cater for a wide variety of events at Black Barn, Sileni Estates, at a venue of your choice, or at a selection of other venues we recommend.
Weddings are our speciality – from the first point of contact to those tense days pre-wedding to the day itself. We are renowned for delivering the complete hospitality package.
Our expertise and knowledge has also led to a reputation for excellence in catering for large events, whether they be conferences, sporting events, outdoor concerts or school reunions. We are a well known and respected company, a leader in food trends and renowned for enhancing the popularity of events we are contracted to cater for.
[www].ortoncatering.co.nz

[Advertisement]
Custom curtains tailor made for your home
Choose from the latest in designer fabrics and styles for perfect custom made curtains in your home
To book your in-home consultation today with:
Desiree
Phone
021 810076 or
06 8788668
freedom decorator TM
Freedom Hastings Cnr Heretaunga & Townsend Sts
Phone 06 878 8668   [www].freedomfurniture.co.nz

Page 46

150 YEARS AS A VILLAGE
1860-2010

2009
Havelock North Te Mata Cheese Company receives a gold medal award for Te Mata Bay View Blue Cheese at the Cuisine NZ Champions of Cheese.

2010
Havelock North celebrates 150 years.

Nimon and Sons Limited

Transporting the community for 105 years.

Nimon and Sons Ltd is believed to be the oldest surviving passenger service operation under continuous private ownership in New Zealand.

This Havelock North based company was founded in 1905 when John (Jack as he was commonly known) Giles Nimon bought the company from William Arthur Beecroft. Jack was a bullock driver who worked for the Donnelly family driving wagons loaded with wool from inland Patea to Napier port. He met his future wife, Edith née Ridd, a seamstress who also worked for the Donnelly family about this time. Jack and Edith’s surviving children were John Joseph generally known as Joe, William Arthur, Edward Cecil, Edith and the youngest, Richard Alexander. In 1895 Jack worked for William Beecroft a livery stable owner operating in Havelock and Hastings. William supplied most modes of transport (all Horse driven of course) including taxis and hearses. In 1905 Jack bought the Havelock North side of the business. The original horse drawn buses operated by Jack, Advance and Relief, were named after battles of Lucknow in India. The old depot, used by the company until the early 1950s, called Lucknow Lodge, is still standing today and is a private house. With the invention of the motor vehicle the company expanded and bought a Studebaker eight seater bus, which was later converted to a 10 seater. An old Photo caption survives from 1916 which shows the vehicle transporting girls from Iona College on a school outing. Bill and Joe went overseas to fight in WW1 and Edith, her daughter and the two youngest boys helped with the business. Their father died in 1914. Motor buses were added to the fleet in 1910 and in 1923 the first full sized bus, a Thornycroft with pneumatic tyres, believed to be a first for the district, was purchased. Edith lived until 1955, surviving her son Bill who died of a heart attack while doing war work at Napier Wharf in 1943.

Joe’s son, John Rodney Nimon took over as managing director in 1963 and Bill Nimon took over 2003 when his father John died. The bus fleet grew to 11 buses in 1967. John had also started a refrigerated trucking company called Road Air in 1956.

In the late 1980s they took over some school runs from Mt Cook and Newmans Coach services. In 1990 the company took on more Ministry of Education runs and in 1991 took over Railway Road Services in Napier and Hastings and the fleet expanded considerably. Nimons ran the Havelock North to Hastings run continuously for 105 years until 2009 when the runs were lost to tender but they picked up significant school tenders and doubled the number of runs.

This year Nimons won all the Taupo school services from February 1 and now have a fleet of more than 95 vehicles. Many family members are still actively involved with the company today including the fifth generation.

Photo captions –

Before 1914 Joe Nimon has the reins.

Nimons 1954, Morris commercial.

[Advertisement]
Hoogerbrug Architects|
John Hoogerbrug NZCAD. B ARCH. NZIA
P.O. Box 8512, Havelock North 4157
hoogarch@xtra.co.nz. Ph – 0272 877 179
NEW ZEALAND INSTITUTE OF
ARCHITECTS
INCORPORATED

[Advertisement]
the
DUTCH
shop
Continental Delicacies & Souvenirs
475 St. Georges Rd South, ph. 877 3921
Open: Tues-Fri 9am-5pm, Sat 9am-3pm

[Advertisement]
Let us take you there
Planning a Tour, Sports Function, Wedding, or Social event?
We have the transport solution to meet your needs!
Locally owned and operated for over 100 years
NIMON
HAWKE’S BAY EST. 1905
Free quotes for your bus or coach travel
Phone (06) 877 8133
or email
buses@nimons.co.nz
[www].nimons.co.nz
qualmark
Endorsed
visitor transport

Havelock North

heart of wine country

HAVELOCK NORTH BUSINESS ASSOCIATION

Creating a vibrant village where you can really live and work

PO Box 8602, Havelock North 4157   P. (06) 873-7129   F: (06) 877-1099   E: a.pierce@asmartbusiness.co.nz

Original digital file

MoodyM530_150YearsasaVillage-1.pdf

Tags

Date published

2010

Format of the original

Newspaper supplement

Publisher

Hawke's Bay Today

Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.