Magazine Article 1982 – Woman grower creates a first


Mrs Barbara Brookfield (nee Maxwell) created a first among Hawke’s Bay fruitgrowers at the Annual General Meeting of the H.B. Fruitgrowers’ Association when she was elected to the Executive Committee.

President Keith Spackman said she was the first woman to stand, as far as he knew.

Mrs Brookfield, a fruitgrower at Clive, won the fourth position for election in a four-way contest.

The other successful candidates were sitting members Messrs Graeme Jones and Colin Wake, Hugh Robertson, a third-generation fruitgrower, farming a family orchard established by his grandfather, Mr A. M. Robertson, who was a Director of NZ. Fruitgrowers’ Federation for a record term from its inception in 1916 until 1945. Hugh’s father Ian continued to run the well-known ‘Bute’ Orchard in Pakowhai Road, Hastings until Hugh took over the property.

Keith Spackman was re-elected unopposed as President for a further two-year term.

The Executive Committee for the 1982-83 year is:-
President: Keith Spackman.
Vice-President: Cor Dames.
Executive Committee: Barbara Brookfield, Ray Cartwright, David Cooper, Brian D’Ath, Rex Graham, Graeme Jones, Hugh Robertson, Colin Wake.

Original digital file


Non-commercial use

Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ).


Commercial Use

Please contact us for information about using this material commercially.

Format of the original

Magazine article

Date published



  • Barbara Brookfield
  • Ray Cartwright
  • David Cooper
  • Cor Dames
  • Brian D'Ath
  • Rex Graham
  • Graeme Jones
  • A M Robertson
  • Hugh Robertson
  • Keith Spackman
  • Colin Wake

Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.