Newspaper Article – 17 wins for HB oarsmen

17 wins for HB oarsmen

Hawke’s Bay oarsman scooped the pool at the Wairoa regatta last Saturday, winning 16 races outright and dead-heating in one other.

Above is the Karamu High School crew which won the school fours and the youth fours for the Hawke’s Bay Rowing Club. They are from left: M. Pearce, W. Tibbles, I. Thorbin and P. Holmes.

Sixteen boys from Karamu and another four from the Napier Boys’ High School took part in the regatta and they should provide a solid nucleus for the Hawke’s Bay club in a few years.

The club, too, has responded this injection of new blood and club spirit has greatly improved along with better coaching and harder training.

Tony Bone, club captain, is largely responsible for the new enthusiasm in Hawke’s  Bay rowing. He is pictured below receiving the LVA Shield which was the principal trophy at last Saturday’s regatta which was organised by the East Coast Rowing Association. Presenting the shield is Mr Jack Gemmell, president of the Wairoa club.

This Saturday Hawke’s Bay crews will take part in the Jury Cup regatta in Wanganui.

Original digital file


Non-commercial use

Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ).


Commercial Use

Please contact us for information about using this material commercially.


Format of the original

Newspaper article


  • Tony Bone
  • Jack Gemmell
  • P Holmes
  • M Pearce
  • I Thorbin
  • W Tibbles

Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.