Newspaper Article 1979 – Seven Awarded QSMs

Seven awarded QSMs

Seven Hawke’s Bay people have received the Queen’s Service Medal (QSM) for public or community service.

They are Mrs Audree Clarice Larraine [Lorraine] Curtis, Pukahu; Miss Joan Phyllis Irvine, Dannevirke; Mr Warren John Ellis, Taupo; Mr Michael Lawrence Maloney, Hastings; Mrs Rita Henry, Wairoa; Peter James Hurley, Kotemaori; and Mrs Elsie Grieve, Dannevirke.

Mrs Curtis is a life member and patron of the Hawke’s Bay Car-Club, and has been a member for the past 28 years. She was also president for four years.

When the international motor rallies passed through Hawke’s Bay in 1975 and 1976, the club agreed to give, on Mrs Curtis’s suggestion, any profits to the Crippled Children Society, from when the cars were parked for public viewing in Napier.

Mrs Curtis was also involved in organising the club’s 25th and 30th anniversary celebrations.

Photo caption – Mrs Curtis

Original digital file


Non-commercial use

Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ).


Commercial Use

The donor of this material does not allow commercial use.

Format of the original

Newspaper article

Date published

June 1979


Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.