Newspaper Article 1982 – Woman grower sets a first

Woman grower sets a first

Mrs Barbara Brookfield created a first among the district’s orchardists last night when she was elected to the executive of the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers’ Association.

President Mr Keith Spackman said she was the first woman to stand for office as far as he knew.

Mrs Brookfield, nee Maxwell, a fruitgrower at Clive, won the fourth position available for election in a four-way contest.

The other successful candidates were sitting members Messrs Graeme Jones, Colin Wake and Hugh Robertson.

The unsuccessful candidates were Messrs Ian Ivey, Martin Pike and Bruce Small.

Mr Spackman was re-elected unopposed as president for a further two-year term.

He told the 101 growers present that it would be his last term.

Mr Spackman, St Georges Rd south, was first elected to the executive in 1972 and elected president in 1974, a position he has held since.

Original digital file


Non-commercial use

Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ).


Commercial Use

Copyright on this material is owned by Hawke's Bay Today and is not available for commercial use without their consent.

Format of the original

Newspaper article

Date published

November 1982


The Hawke's Bay Herald-Tribune


Published with permission of Hawke's Bay Today


  • Barbara Brookfield
  • Ian Ivey
  • Graeme Jones
  • Martin Pike
  • Hugh Roberston
  • Bruce Small
  • Keith Spackman
  • Colin Wake

Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.