Newspaper Article 1984 – Mr Cartwright wins fruitgrowers’ No. 2 spot

Mr Cartwright wins fruitgrowers’ No. 2 spot

Mr Ray Cartwight [Cartwright] was elected as vice-president of the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers’ Association at its annual meeting last night.

The election was the only one for the two top jobs.

Mr Colin Wake was confirmed as president after being the only nominee.

Mr Cartwright, Havelock Rd, won in the election from Mr David Mardon.

Six people were elected to the eight-man executive committee following the promotions of Mr Wake and Mr Cartwright.

The successful candidates were Mrs Barbara Brookfield, Messrs Phillip Cranswick, John D’Ath, Steward Horn, Graeme Jones and Bruce Small.

The unsuccessful candidates were Messrs Nigel Kirkman, David Mardon and Martin Pike.

Original digital file


Non-commercial use

Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ).


Commercial Use

Please contact us for information about using this material commercially.

Can you help?

The Hawke's Bay Knowledge Bank relies on donations to make this material available. Please consider making a donation towards preserving our local history.

Visit our donations page for more information.

Format of the original

Newspaper article

Date published



  • Barbara Brookfield
  • Ray Cartwright
  • Phillip Cranswick
  • John D'Ath
  • Stewart Horn
  • Graeme Jones
  • Nigel Kirkman
  • David Mardon
  • Martin Pike
  • Bruce Small
  • Colin Wake

Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.