Newspaper Article 1984 – Regional contest winner found

Regional contest winner found

The East Coast Region’s young orchardist of the year is Mr Geoffrey Thorpe, 27, a Gisborne nurseryman and kiwifruit grower.

He was a clear winner from a field of 12 in a competition which began yesterday morning at the DSIR research orchard, Havelock North, and ended last night with a quiz and public speaking show at the DB Mata [Te Mata] hotel.

Mr Thorpe’s prize was a $200 power drill. He will also be one of five regional competitors in a further competition to find the New Zealand young orchardist of the year at the national horticultural field days at Te Puke from the end of next month.

In winning last night he showed a sharp mind and an ability to express himself clearly, said Mr Keith Rose, the Hawke’s Bay trading manager for the sponsors, Wrightson-NMA Ltd.

The runner up was the other Gisborne entrant, Mr Colin Alder, 27, who was also second last year.

Mr Alder is an owner of a vineyard and a kiwifruit, citrus and persimmon orchard.

Top of the 10 Hawke’s Bay competitors was Mr Grant Spackman, 27, an orchardist in partnership with his father Mr Keith Spackman, the immediate past president of the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers’ Association.

Mr Grant Spackman has taken an active role in the establishment of the Hastings YMCA‘s orchard and market gardens at Maraekakaho.

The winner and two competitors had either degrees or diplomas in horticulture.

The judges for last night‘s show were Hastings orchardists Mr Phillip Cranswick and Mr Graeme Jones with Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries advisory officer Mr Richard Hill. The compere was Mr Heugh Chappell.

Original digital file


Non-commercial use

Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand (CC BY-NC 3.0 NZ).


Commercial Use

Please contact us for information about using this material commercially.

Format of the original

Newspaper article

Date published

September 1984


  • Colin Alder
  • Heugh Chappell
  • Graeme Jones
  • Phillip Cranswick
  • Richard Hill
  • Keith Rose
  • Grant Spackman
  • Keith Spackman
  • Geoffrey Thorpe

Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.