Newspaper Article 2011 – Awards promote pride in Hastings

Awards promote pride in Hastings

By Amy Shanks

Landmark features that add to the identity of Hastings were recognised at the 2011 Landmarks Trust awards on Friday.

The trust was created by former mayor, the late Jeremy Dwyer, to promote civic pride through enhancing the built and natural environment.

President Joyce Barry said the awards were an integral part of recognising those who were instrumental in enhancing the image of the community.

This year the annual awards included a new section rewarding the use of signage which is in keeping with the era and style of local architecture.

Other categories were landscape, history, public art and facade enhancement.

The awards were presented by Hastings Deputy Mayor Cynthia Bowers at a ceremony at Hawke’s Bay Opera House. Guest speakers, architect Graham Linwood and artist Jacob Scott discussed plans to save architect John Scott’s iconic visitor centre at Lake Waikaremoana.

Award recipient list:

Jeremy Dwyer supreme award: Hawke’s Bay Regional Council for the Peka Peka swamp and Pakowhai Country Park projects.

Architecture: Les Clapcott Associates, with Julie and Rob Sturch for the Sturch Home Addition.

History: Reverend Graeme Pilgrim for the St Matthew’s Anglican Church restoration.

Public Art: Keirunga Gardens Heritage Action Society for the Tui Gates at Keirunga Gardens;

William Jameson and Riks Terstappen for the steel pergola in Landmarks Square and Te Karamu Stream artistic handrail.

Facade Enhancement: Paula Gunson for the Central Buildings Facade Enhancement Scheme;

Casey Whaitiri-tapara for Te Wananga o Aotearoa.

Signage: Shelley Hickson for the Joll Road Shops.

Landscape: Hastings District Council for the Holt House refurbishment.

Photo caption – LANDMARK ACHIEVEMENT: Marilyn Dwyer, widow of former Hastings mayor Jeremy Dwyer, hands James Morgan the Jeremy Dwyer Supreme Award for the Peka Peka Wetlands and Pakowhai Country Park projects, while Hawke’s Bay Regional councillor Ewan McGregor looks on.

Original digital file


Date published

31 August 2011

Format of the original

Newspaper article


Hawke's Bay Today


Published with permission of Hawke's Bay Today


  • Joyce Barry
  • Cynthia Bowers
  • Duncan Brown
  • Les Clapcott
  • Jeremy Dwyer
  • Marilyn Dwyer
  • Paula Gunson
  • Shelley Hickson
  • Graham Linwood
  • Ewan McGregor
  • James Morgan
  • Reverend Graeme Pilgrim
  • Jacob Scott
  • Amy Shanks
  • Julie Sturch
  • Rob Sturch

Accession number


Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.