Hastings – The Development

FROM HICKS KARAMU JUNCTION

TO THE ESTABLISHMENT AND DEVELOPMENT OF THE

EARLY HASTINGS TOWNSHIP

by martin beck, December 2016, 19c Baffin Gr, Kingston 6021, Wellington martyjbeck[@]yahoo.com

Index
Hastings – The first three years
Hastings 1876 – 1889 – from page 43
The Hastings Railway Reserve – from page 151
The Hastings Police Station and Courthouse – from page 154
The Hastings Post Office – from page 157
The Hastings Railway yards – from page 161
The Railway leased private sidings – from page 163
The Hastings Hop grounds – from page 167
The Frimley Canning Factory – from page 172
The H.B. Fruitgrowers’ Association – from page 174
The Hastings State School and District High School – from page 184
The Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade – from page 198
The Makirikiri creek – from page 209

Hastings – The first three years

1864, Thomas Tanner with William Rich secured a legal lease for 21 years at a rental of £1250 a year, rising to £1750 for the Heretaunga Block through a ‘Ring of Maori’ Mr Tanner realised that he needed capital to develop the block and invited others to come in with him on the venture.

In 1870 Tanner bought the area for 30/- an acre, the price being between £20,000 and £25,000, which later became a matter of dispute – Samuel Locke and Pervis [Purvis] Russell were made trustees.

In October 1875, Mr Grindell as Editor of the Waka Maori,” wrote to the “New Zealand Times – “That he received from Mr Tanner the sum of £50 not to act against him in obtaining Karaitiana Takamoana’s signature in connection with the Heretaunga block.” James Grindell had arrived in the 1840s, explorer, settler, hotel proprietor and Government Interpreter from 1848 and a registrar of dogs in Hawke’s Bay.

Henry Robert Russell was born January 1817 at Dunfermline in Fife Scotland, the son of Robert Russell, a lawyer, and his mother Elizabeth Purvis. Russell’s brother Thomas Purvis Russell had arrived in January 1843. Henry and two other brothers – John and Robert Russell followed soon after in April 1849. Henry Robert Russell married Susanna Cobham Herbert – they had one daughter. Henry Robert Russell died in April 1891 at Surrey England and Susanna Russell died at Napier in September 1910.

From the early 1870s, run holder and politician Henry Robert Russell formed an alliance with Henare Matua who formed a movement to repudiate sales and leases of land by Maori to European settlers in the Hawke’s Bay and Wairarapa districts. The movement grew out of a widespread Maori dissatisfaction with land transactions.

1873, The Hawke’s Bay Native Lands Alienation Commission was appointed and spent most of its time investigating the Heretaunga purchase.

1875 December, A monster meeting was held at Pakowhai of delegates from numerous tribes with debate on the Hawke’s Bay “Ring” of land transactions

Page 2

[Photo]

1876 February, Repudiation Party with Henare Tomoana (seated left) and Henry Robert Russell 1817-1891 seated centre and Henare Matua who was a key figure in the Repudiation movement based in Hawke’s Bay as was Karaitiana Takamoana, by Rex Nan Kivell. 1876 February, Hon. Henry Russell gave a farewell picnic before he left for England. Between four and five hundred people were present at the grand affair. Mr Sheehan conducts the whole native business during his absence.

The Evening News and Hawke’s Bay Advertiser was printed by Thomas M. Murphy and published by J. T Marryat Hornsby at Napier published two items concerning the Land Grabbers – A list of Land Grabbers and That Little List! Written in pencil at the top margin was – My 2 Letters on “Land Grabbers” – list amounting to nearly one million acres of land.

The Evening News and Hawke’s Bay Advertiser, 19th January 1888. A LIST OF LANDGRABBERS – The following is a copy of the return of certificates granted under sections 24 and 25 of the Native Land Administration Act of 1887 for the Hawke’s Bay district which was laid on the table of the House by the Government in answer to a request by Mr Geo. Hutchison, the member for Waitotara. By the Native Lands At [Act] Repeal Bill introduced by the Government last session but withdrawn, the gentlemen mentioned below – would be, enabled to complete their title land grab nearly one million acres of land. In cases where several blocks are taken – we give the total average.

J. D. Ormond purchase 19,075, G. C. Ormond son of J. D. Ormond 10,403, J. D. Ormond lease 3,071, G. E. G. Richardson brother-in-law and agent purchase 7562, For J. D. Ormond lease 16761, 22,300, 32,300. Total for the Ormond family – 111,472 acres. Thomas Tanner lease 3769, J. N. Williams purchase 15,576, lease 73839, D. Glendenning purchase 106,000, Andersen & Royse lease 153,500, J. G. Kinross purchase 2,328, lease 7,946, George Beetham purchase 6,068, lease 8,042, H. R. Russell purchase and lease, 6,333, H. Gaisford purchase 4,588, lease 12,088, William Nelson lease 6,314, Geo. Douglas Hamilton purchase, lease 30,750, R. T. Warren purchase 56,000, Duncan Guy lease 1,000, William Rathbone, lease 179,033, Thos [Thomas] Hobson, lease 2,304, J. Mackersey, lease 2,180, G. & T. Prescott 2,000, Meinertzhagen & Moore, lease 35,211, Arim [Airini] Donnelly purchase 60,009, lease 4,296, Henry Troutbeek purchase 10,908, Henry Smith lease 2,000, Hugh Campbell lease 11,046, J. H. Coleman purchase 1,085, P. & R. Dolbel lease 26,300, John Taylor lease 5,760, W. Douglas purchase 7,452, John White lease 16,671, J. S. Fleming lease 3,156, Knight & Cooper 16,045, W. F. Knight lease 9,667, Duff Brothers purchase 2,898, lease 3,345, J. P. Hamlin purchase and lease 3,377, J. C. Richter and Co lease 30,000, R. T. Warren lease 15,527, F. J. Tiffin purchase and lease 10,959. Total – 888,305 acres. SUMMARY. Total freeholds – 375,579, Total leaseholds 512,726. Thirty-eight persons and 128 blocks of land.

The Evening News and Hawke’s Bay Advertiser “For Justice” Napier. Thursday January 19, 1888. THAT LITTLE LIST. WE wish the readers of this journal to “read, mark, learn, and inwardly digest” the little list of land-grabbers which appears in our columns to-day. The return from which it is taken was laid before the House at the request of Mr George Hutchison, M.H.R. for Waitotara, and included the native land certificates of several other districts besides Hawke’s Bay. The paper was ordered to be printed and distributed in the ordinary way, but the Atkinsonian Government seem curiously dilatory in getting it out. These certificates refer to the uncompleted titles which the land-grabbers mentioned in the list have to the various blocks they are in treaty for. Under Mr Ballance’s Act such a whole-sale robbery of the lands of the colony was virtually impossible, but had the Native Land Act Repeal Bill, introduced by the Atkinson Government at the fag end of the session, been passed, nearly 900,000 acres would have rapidly passed into the hands of thirty-eight persons. Our two local contemporaries, both of whom possessed smart and energetic Parliamentary correspondents at Wellington, strangely enough have never published this list nor mentioned the facts set forth in the returns in the slightest degree. Of course they would not, and were it not that the people of Hawke’s B1⁄4ay have a steady, consistent friend to honesty and justice in the Evening News, they might never have known what a rascally job the Hawke’s Bay landgrabbers are wishing to perpetrate. No wonder the land grabbers dislike the News, no wonder they hate Mr Ballance, no wonder they would like to consign Mr W. C. Smith, our only Hawke’s Bay Liberal member, to political perdition, for their swindles, swindles is the only correct term, would then never be shown up to the light of public exposure. The Tory organs are forever howling against the depression and the way to remove it. Will it ever he dispelled if in one province alone nearly 400,000 acres of the public estate are allowed to pass into the hands of thirty-eight persons. Look at the list and see what the Ormond family alone are down for and ask yourselves whether such a state of things is not disgraceful.

Page 3

Many of the propositions of the Government’s bill were so fragrantly unjust that even their own supporter, Mr Carroll, could not be “nobbled” by their whips and spoke out against these retrogressive measures which will make the whole province a vast sheep-walk. The present Government are trying to do nothing more nor less than to entirely repeal the land legislation of the late Government, which prevented the aggrandizement of a few wealthy squatters at the expense of the whole people. If this grabbing of large – blocks be successful what will be the result? Simply this, that the future generations will have to go humbly, cap in hand to the Ormond’s, Williams, Tanners, and Russell’s, and beg and pray that they may be allowed to ren [rent] a piece of land from them. The death knell of the workers’ prosperity is sounded when such vast areas of land are allowed to pass into the hands of the greedy few. Another question! If the Government can get these Native Lauds [Lands] Bills through, thus inaugurating a new era of shameless land grabbing, what can the people do? Here is the answer. Agitate and work, work and agitate, day in and day out, never ceasing, never resisting until a land-tax can be imposed, which will so put the screw upon these thieves that they must either cut up their land and sell at a low figure or be ruined. Depend upon it, if these bills pass next session, which we pray to Heaven for the sake of the people and the country they may not, then a graduated land-tax will be the only way by which we can get farms for ourselves and our sons. The liberal party may be trusted to work tooth and nail against the bills passing when they come up again next session, and we hope and trust that the land grabbers may be once more defeated. Once again, we ask the people of Hawke’s Bay to read over the list and see for themselves how the glorious lands of this province are passing into the hands of the greedy grasping hands of the union of the Loan Companies and the Squattocracy.

PS – The Evening News and Hawke’s Bay Advertiser did not last long in publishing these sentiments, and no Land Tax never evolved!

[Photo]

Thomas Tanner

Thomas Tanner was born 31 October 1830 at Wiltshire, in 1859 he married Julia Punshon Denton at Durham and they came out to New Zealand in a charted ship around 1862 with servants etc. They had 9 children. Tanner took part in the raising the Waipawa and Hawke’s Bay Cavalry Volunteers taking his troop to Mohaka in April 1869 after the massacres. Tanner was keen on growing hops and tobacco, he was at various times a member of the Heretaunga Road Board, the Hastings Town Board and the Hastings Borough Council, and was a Hawke’s Bay county councillor between 1878 and 1893. He served on the Hawke’s Bay Provincial Council from 1867 until 1876. He was to be a keen politician and a supporter of the Atkinson Government, a member of the House of Representatives for Waipawa from 1887 to 1890. Tanner employed shepherds and boundary riders, he had the planting of large hawthorn hedges along his boundaries backed by poplars at equal distances and behind and willows – possibly how Willowpark Rd got its name, his residence was an extensive plantation of wattles and gums as a wind break and the portion of his estate where the Karamu creek backed on to was lined with pines and willows on either side. The Riverslea Homestead was noted for its lavish hospitality to rich and poor. Tanner had a Reserve portion named The Park later – Queens Park with a pine plantation where the narrow Makirikiri creek widened and was then called Te Mangapouri creek through the Reserve around the pine plantation – this area later named Beatson’s Park then Windsor Park, but he was able to be generous and sympathetic to a fault, for which he afterwards suffered for! In December 1896 his grand Riverslea homestead burnt down and he moved into Endsleigh House on Given St, Havelock North. Tanner eventually went bankrupt.

[Newspaper notice]
£5 REWARD
STRAYED from the Karamu, two CART HORSES, one black and the other brown,
Branded A/ in the shoulder; also one Bay Cart FILLY, Branded F on the shoulder.
These horses are supposed to be on the ridges between the Wakapirau and the Raukawa
bushes.
Any one delivering there horses to Mr. SCOTT, overseer at my station on the Karamu Plains, will receive the above reward.
31   THOS. TANNER.

HBH [Hawke’s Bay Herald] Adverts for Thos Tanner – 2 January 1869

Page 4

[Newspaper notices]
For Sale
Pure bred Leicester Rams.
50 RAMS
100 Ram Lambs
THOS. TANNER,
275   Karamu.

Caution.
ANY person SHOOTING on my land,
At the Karamu, after this date, will
Be prosecuted.
THOS. TANNER.
March 28, 1870.   603

HBH Adverts for Thos Tanner – 4 March 1870 and 28 March 1870

[Survey map]

1870, The Heretaunga Block was divided into 12 portions from the top – J. G. Gordon one, A. H & W. Russell one, Capt. A. H. Russell one, John Davies Ormond one, James Nelson Williams two, and Thomas Tanner taking three, John Pervis [Purvis] Russell one and James Butcher Brathwaite one.

1870, J. G. Gordon resigned as Justice of the Peace

[Newspaper notice]
Tenders.
HERETAUNGA ROAD BOARD
TENDERS will be received up to the 20th inst. [Instant] for Forming from Thirty to Forty
Chains of Road on the Mangatentere [Mangateretere] West and the Karamu Reserve.
For further particulars apply to ROBERT WILLWOOD [WELLWOOD?], or to
J. N. WILLIAMS,
147   Heretaunga.

1871 July

James Butcher Brathwaite b: 1827 West Indies married Eliza Anne Holberton 1853 and arrived in Napier 1855 opened a branch of the Union Bank of Australia in Emerson St, he travelled overseas 1875 and returned 1882, he lived in Hastings for five years from 1890 before returning to Napier where his wife died in 1910 and he died in July 1917 aged 90. Two brothers – Robert Brathwaite and H. M. Brathwaite resided in Hastings for a number of years.

Mr J. A. Williams planted many grand trees and his woolshed at Frimley was the scene of some important early public meetings in 1871 for the Karamu settlers – where the early Heretaunga Road Board held their meetings.

Page 5

Thomas Tanner raised security through the wealthy Englishman Algernon Tollemache and was able to pay off what he owed James Watt who had advanced him the capital, Tanner could now employ men to make basic drainage improvements, but he still found it difficult to sell off his Karamu land, there were no buyers due to the fear of flooding from the river reverting back to its old course and the Maori anger and Title insecurity, so between 1867 – 1868 he made an offer – to give him £3 an acre to be taken out in ploughing, one acre free for every three ploughed and was to sell it at the same price when it became Freehold. Tanner disposed of 600 acres mainly for small farmers grass and stock.

The part of which Hastings township stands comprised of some 17,000 acres which was bounded almost entirely by the old and new Ngaruroro River courses.

1869, Tanner then subdivided some his swampy Karamu lands for lease – Mr Francis Hicks, James Boyle, Guy Hamilton, Henry Chapman, Samuel Roe, Michael Groom [Groome], and Gilbert Norris acquired blocks from around 90 – 120 acres. All these tenants obtained their freehold in March 1871 after the Heretaunga purchase claim was concluded.

[Survey map showing Tanner’s shepherd’s cottage.]

Although James Boyle had acquired a central portion of the Karamu from Mr Tanner, it was not to be the initial establishment of the township

Henry Charles Chapman had a small block west of Guy Hamilton’s block, b: 1836 Sussex m: Elizabeth Lye at Ahuriri in April 1861, they had 9 children, Henry died May 1886 aged 50.

Guy Hamilton moved up to Gisborne where he was a sheep farmer at Ormond and he died in November 1879 aged 38.

Samuel Roe had a larger block which became part of Hastings Showground 1878 – then the HB [Hawke’s Bay] Jockey Club racecourse. He had 20 acres of inferior land in his block that he did not have to pay anything for. Sam was a Sawyer b: 1835 at Northumberland Eng. [England], married Bridget Ann Sullivan at Napier April 1857 they had 12 children and lived mostly at Taradale, but he did not have his Hastings block for very long and they moved up to Gisborne where he died late December 1908 aged 73.

Gilbert Honeywood Norris b: 1839 Somerset, m: Emma Wheeler [Tatham?] 1868 Gilbert they had 4 children, Gilbert sold up and move to Gisbourne [Gisborne] where he died May 1919 aged 80.

Francis Hicks was born Cornwall 1840 his father was Thomas Hicks a farmer and mother Janet Roberts. Francis worked on his father’s farm in his youth then arrived at Auckland in February 1859 on the ‘William Watson’ Not much work going, so after ten months he went to Rotorua where he earned an income as an amateur artist capturing local scenes for people, then over to Hawke’s Bay doing farm work, where he saw the use of wire fencing instead of boundary riders to contain stock and to utilise the grass more efficiently. He went to the NSW goldfields and returned for the Otago goldfields at Gabriel’s Gully, then back to Auckland to supervised prisoners of Mount Eden stockade while they broke stones for the road between Drury and Mercer and a Paymaster for the NZ Forces. He returned to Hawke’s Bay doing fencing contracts and lived at the Clive base camp for pastoral contractors. By October 1869 he had managed to save a little money, he was a farmer at Clive when he first leased 101 acres of swampy land at Karamu on the Heretaunga Block from Thomas Tanner signing a nineteen year lease with the option to buy, which he later did in 1871 at the rate of £5 per acre.

Page 6

[Photo]

Francis Hicks

The old course of the Ngaruroro River flowed near Havelock North, but changed its course from Roys Hill in the big flood of 1867 – the remaining collective streams contribute to the now called Karamu Stream (from Irongate, via Longlands, Havelock North around to Waipatu) including the Southland drain from Wilson Rd. After the 1868 earthquake there was the possibility the river would revert back to its old course which cause some reluctance in Karamu land sales.

The original main road went from Waipawa to Pakipaki where it traversed around the old Ngaruroro River to the Havelock village – (named after Sir Henry Havelock) then on to Clive across the river by ferry service and on to Napier. Between Havelock and Longlands was the Pukahu settlement with a store and Hotel.

[Survey map]

1873, The Hastings area from Napier County Map

Originally the Karamu pathways used by the Maori were single foot paths until European hor1⁄4se tracks and wheeled wagons arrived. It was not possible to cross from just anywhere straight across from Longlands to the sea because of the bog, except via the well trodden pathway. While the early Karamu pathway ran south from the original Karamu Pa at the river ford at Mangateretere to St Aubyn St intersection then on across the top of the racecourse property of Guy Hamilton’s boundary at Gascoigne St near Hooper St towards Pakipaki. The Karamu Pa was then situated on the bank of the river in the Karamu Reserve between Ruahapia Rd and Watson Rd with large cultivation fields; the Pa was washed away and re-established closer to Hastings at Waipatu in 1873. The Ngati Kahungunu tribe. The old Karamu horse track was properly formed into a road when fencing-in of the Karamu blocks for sale. Willow Pa was situated between Pakipaki and Hastings on the banks of the old Ngaruroro River near Longlands Road west before the river broke away at Roys Hill, after which Willow Pa became defunct. There was also another pa across the old river bed at Wahitapu, near the junction of the Karamu Creek and the river. From Mangateretere the pathway then continued north along Lawn Rd directly towards the beach river mouth at Clive east as did the later main sewer pipe and another part of the pathway branched off at Mangateretere and went directly towards Clive township. An old pathway ran directly west from Havelock through Tanner’s property to the Omahu Pa and C. McKenzie’s flax Mill then on to Fernhill – this old pathway ran near and partly through the now Eastbourne St from Hastings St sth [south] corner where Tanner had built a shepherd’s cottage for Watty

Page 7

Church situated on the Havelock side of the Makirikiri creek near the Methodist church – before the Havelock road was redirected from Riverslea Rd towards Hicks store. The Havelock to Omahu pathway followed the dryer high ground closely along Eastbourne St west to where Charles St became – the Heretaunga St line originally having several swamps! There was also a small Maori Pa near Tanners shepherd’s cottage the [then] on the northern side of the Makirikiri creek near the Regent Theatre. Comment – In the late1960’s I visited the occupiers of a cottage who were proud to state that the original pathway ran directly under their cottage which backed on to Odlin’s timber yard. Between old widowed Mrs Collins and the corner grocery store. Many old Hastings residents spoke proudly of any historic background to their property.

[Map – Maraekakaho Rd. and Pakowhai Rd.]

Drawing based upon the 1873 layout

[Photo]

Shows the change of angle at left edge of the original Havelock pathway that went through the later Catholic grounds directly towards Tanners shepherds cottage and on through along Eastbourne St west

Page 8

Hastings Township was established around Francis Hicks land rather than upon the best location for a township. The surrounding area was vastly empty land of toitoi, rushes, flax and swamps, with brown duck and Pukeko roaming aplenty. On the higher parts grew fern manuka tutu and yellow kowhai Thomas Tanner had earlier made some rudimentary drains for the larger lagoons.

[Map Omahu to Havelock Road.]

Drawing to show Francis Hicks 100-acre block from Karamu Rd 1873, shows Market St, Nelson St and Avenue Rd marked out, he planted 2500 forest and fruit trees

Francis Hicks dug the essential drain along his southern boundary to Boyle from west near Groom’s [Groome’s] property to Karamu Rd, turning north along his eastern boundary – this initial southern boundary drain created the foundation road on James Boyle’s land for the Omahu Road later Heretaunga St west. Francis Hicks was apparently the first in the district to use wire fencing along his boundary.

The wild pigs were killed outright, Hicks farmed the land for several years – he ploughed, grassed and planted 2500 forest and fruit trees, he grew root crops, but the land was puggy and not good for grazing or for growing root crops for fattening stock. Owing to the low prices of produce – squatters could not afford to employ labour and were offered three acres of land in return for the cultivation of one. With the introduction of a portable engine to the cornfields at Karamu where Mr Hicks’ crops were the first to be dealt with by what was then considered to be a wonderful piece of mechanism.

The four large sentinel Blue gums on the corner of Queen St east and Karamu Rd nth [north] were probably planted by Tanner.

Karamu Store – Around 1870 Hicks erected a small wooden two roomed building on the corner of the Karamu Pathway where he opened a store selling food, clothing, drapery, hardware, saddlery, seeds and stationery – the site where the later Union Bank was built.

Comment – The store location was placed at his most southern edge as close to the original Havelock Omahu Pathway, rather than at the northern fringe of the Karamu Pathway corner at Queen St where four large sentinel Blue Gums were planted. Perhaps there was some preconceived intention by Tanner towards altering the road to Omahu via a Queen St alignment?

Hicks had dug an open drain along his southern boundary (Heretaunga St) which was quite deep as it ran around the corner of the store into Karamu Rd nth where customers entering the store had to cross over wooden planking. The sides of the drain near the store were later banked-up with wooden planks and braced.

J. N. Williams built a house near Hastings for his farm manager Michael Groom [Groome] b: 1853 Shropshire and another cottage on the corner of Tomoana Rd and Queen St for his Frimley estate manager Robert Wall an Ulster man – the cottage of kauri frame, heart matai flooring and weatherboards and totara piles and totara shingle roofing – became the oldest house in Hastings.

Page 9

[Photo of Robert Wall’s home]

MORE THAN 100 YEARS OLD, this venerable Hastings building now being used as an engineering factory at the corner of Queen Street and Tomoana road, is nearing the end of its days. It was built for a manager of the old Frimley Estate, the late Robert Wall. The building is to be demolished.

1870, Tanner sold portions of his block around the Collinge Road area to John Collinge, Mr Ebbett and Robert Wellwood.

1870 March 8th Hawke’s Bay Herald – BIRTHS. TANNER – At Riverslea, on 6th instant, the wife of Thomas Tanner, Esq., of a daughter.

1870 December 30th Hawke’s Bay Herald – Scottish humour, correspondence. Sir – Will you allow me tae say a word or twa about the railway. Well, as Mr Sit-on-the-rail wid hen it, by a’ means lat it come through the maist populated districts; fat in a’ the wareld is the use o’ a railway up by the Maraekakaho tai this Province, foreby it wid tak mair siller tne mak it than the place is a’ wirth. Fea Maraekakaho tae Hampden it wid be nathing bit bridges, embankments, and culverts a’ the wae, and wid only bring doun the wull o’ twa or three bits o’ stations ance a year. The fouk o’ Hawke’s Bay wid be fare better without a railway, for theer gudes is a’ delivered up bea Te Aute an’ Wipawa. Weel, fats tai hender the railway tai gae up by Havelock; am sure ony fool cud lay aff a line that fare, and frea there, tai the Paki Paki through the a Pukahu there’s nathing more tea do bit form the line, wi’ the exception or twa or three little bits o’ culverts; besides the Government ha’s dune nathing tea that fine bit o’ land, after a’ the great hogger fu’ o’ siller they got aff it. The settlers can make their roads tea themselves, or stick there, for ony thing John Government kares. Losh maun, fat dea they mak o’ a’ the revenue an’ the siller they get for land. Dea ye na think we wid be faur better without a Government ava. But we maun return tea the railway frea the Paki Paki tea Wipawa; there’s nea grate obstikle in the way, nathing tae fin’ faut, there wid be the other road, foreby you wid tak in our principal bits o’ tounies on the route. But tack tent an’ no get the narrow gaudge for Hawke’s Bay, for if I am spared that lang I wid like a hurrel in it, tea remind me o’ bye-gone days, bit I wid nea like tea gea hilles our head at some quick turn; bit I dout all never live sea lang tea sea sick a thing. – Yours, &c, An Auld Railway Servant.

1870, Tanner sold some his land opposite the Karamu Reserve cultivations near the Mangateretere ford at £5 an acre – £2 down and balance by deferred payment at 8%. Mr J. Pilcher was one Settler while Robert Wellwood obtained 200 acres near the later Tomoana Showgrounds.

John Collinge was born Burma India 1840, he grew up in Howick and moved to Hastings where he was a Valuer, he had married Mary Jane Tucker in 1865, they had 11 children, he had purchased Karamu land from Tanner on Collinge Rd and was the Town Clerk from 1886 until he retired August 1911 – he became known as the walking encyclopaedia, he died 1925 aged 85.

1871 March, After freehold was finally established both Tanner and Williams set about having substantial main drains dug –Tanner’s drain along the eastern side Karamu Rd north as an outlet for the one thousand acres of Hicks, Boyle, Hamilton, Norris and Groom [Groome] sections. Tanner’s open drain still existed between Collinge Rd and the Showgrounds, the later main sewer pipe ran north alongside of this open drain with iron vent pipes. Mr T. Tanner then advertised he offers rich agriculture land for sale adjoining the Native Reserve and the Karamu Pa where a narrow little shingle river course ran through the sections.

New Road – The pathway from Havelock was naturally redirected from Riverslea Rd directly towards Hicks store with a new 2 mile by-road being formed early 1871 between Riverslea Rd and Tomoana Rd funded by voluntary donations though the Heretaunga Road Board. This road belonged to the Board and included a deep ditch on one side for drainage that later became putrid and unsanitary. Along the northern side of the Hastings to Havelock road were planted with gums, pines and poplars on Tanner’s land.

Page 10

1871, The Heretaunga Road Board first met at Frimley – they were the estate owners -Tanner, Williams and Russell and local farmers – Robert Wellwood, James Boyle, G. H. Norris, Michael Groome, John Collinge and J. D. Joll, later – C. A. FitzRoy, William Goodwin, W. Vickers and Thomas Foreman.

1871 May 19th Hawke’s Bay Times – PROVINCIAL COUNCIL. Bridge over Karamu Creek. Mr Maney, pursuant to notice, asked His Honour the Superintendent – Whether it is the intention of the Government to take any measures for the erection of the proposed bridge over the creek leading to the Karamu from the Papakura block. A bridge in the spot indicated was very essential. Since the Ngaruroro shifted its bed the settlers in the neighbourhood had no means of access to their land except by a most roundabout way. A sum of £300 would be sufficient to build the bridge, and the money would be well laid out. His Honour in reply stated that he was quite aware of the need of a bridge at the place indicated but it would be of little use unless a bridge was also made across another creek —one of the main tributaries of the Ngaruroro. He could hold out no hope that money would be available for this purpose but would point out that if the proposed railway scheme came into operation, it was very probable that this want would be supplied, as the line would most likely pass in that direction.

From Hicks junction store would give a commanding view of travellers coming from either four trunk directions along the roadways and across vast open space and swamps. This view remained unobstructed for several more years before the rapid development.

1871 October, all Parliamentary documents refer to Karamu Junction in the proposed Napier – Paki Paki railway line.

The Railways had already decided early on that Karamu Junction was a more direct route from Clive and be cheaper to build than going via Havelock or Meeanee and that a station would be required at Karamu for Havelock. While the government knew where the railway was going the locals were not so sure.

The new railway line would run from the Napier Spit to Tareha’s Bridge at Awatoto, then to Farndon at Clive west, through to Tomoana, Karamu and Paki Paki a distance of nearly 19 miles. The Railways envisaged a station at Karamu Junction because it would give direct access from Havelock or Omahu, but it was Francis Hicks who had the foresight to see a potential town developing around the Karamu Junction station and a great business opportunity.

Hicks was just lucky enough to own the piece of land at Karamu Junction for the proposed railway station, so he took the initiative to capitalise on that and offered the government 4 acres for their government buildings, including 1½ acres for a railway reserve area (adjacent to Station St) in order to establish the Karamu station for a new township to develop which the Government later accepted.

1872 January 18th Birth – Williams at Frimley, the wife of J. N. Williams, a Daughter.

1872, Mr George Ebbett was born in their Collinge Rd home.

1872 February, A meeting was held at Meeanee regarding the railway – not going through due to prone flooding and instead going through Karamu near Havelock. Brodgen and the new Minster of Public Works Mr John Davies Ormond and were to view the Napier – Paki Paki railway route in a few weeks.

[Newspaper notice]
WILLIAM BECK & CO.,
TAILORS & CLOTHIERS,
(Willis-st., Wellington)
Beg to inform the Gentlemen of Napier and its vicinity, that they will OPEN a BRANCH ESTABLISHMENT on MONDAY, the 19th inst., in the premises, in Hastings-street, latterly occupied by the Union Bank of Australia, and solicit a share of public patronage.
Gentlemen requiring New Garments will do well to inspect our Stock of entirely NEW and SEASONABLE GOODS, ex “Queen Bee”, “Celaeno,” &c.
All goods well shrunk.
The newest and most fashionable styles, a PERFECT FIT and the best workmanship guaranteed.
WILLIAM BECK & Co.
Napier, Feb. 14, 1872.   425

 1872 February 14th Hawke’s Bay Herald, William Beck & Co moved from Wellington

Page 11

1872, Francis Hicks now lived in a shepherd’s cottage on the site of the convent possibly rented from Thomas Tanner later used by the Marist brothers from Meeanee for Sunday Catholic services, his nephew Tobias W. Hicks was now running his Junction store at Section 3A on the corner of the Karamu Path Rd and the Havelock Rd.

Tobias William Hicks was born in Cornwall, England in 1845, and trained on his father’s farm. He married Annie Dunn in January 1871 at Cornwall and came to New Zealand in 1871 by the ship ‘Somersetshire’ and they went to Hastings where he took over running of his uncles Hastings Store. They had three sons and two daughters.

1872 January, A petition was drawn up and signed by a hundred Plains residents and sent to the Postmaster General seeking the establishment of a post office at Karamu – it was granted promptly. Mr Tobias Hicks, storekeeper at Karamu was appointed postmaster.

1872, The Post Office at Vernon in this province has been closed and a new Office has been opened at Karamu.

From the 26th February 1872 – Tobias Hicks was recorded as the Postmaster at the Karamu Post Office – named after the Karamu sheep station there. The postal mails were brought from Napier via the Havelock Post Office and delivered three times a week – Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays.

The first newspaper letter from own correspondent at Karamu –

1872 February 27th Friday – Hawke’s Bay Herald – KARAMU – From our own correspondent. About six weeks ago a petition was drawn up to be forward to the Postmaster General, in favour of the establishment of a post office at Karamu. It was signed by about a hundred individuals, all of them residents on the plains. Having been sent to Wellington, an answer was received by the Nevada on Thursday, to the effect that the payer of the petition was granted, and that Mr Tobias Hicks, storekeeper at Karamu was appointed postmaster. The Government deserves credit for the promptitude with which the appointment was made. The settlers in the district have long suffered from the inconvenience of having to go either to West Clive or Havelock for their letters and newspapers. The mail will now be delivered regularly three times a week, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays at Mr Hicks store. The settlers in this district have long been creditably distinguished by the energy and unanimity with which they have worked together in carrying out projects for the common benefit. Even before the road board system was introduced, they succeeded by means of a voluntary subscription in getting a very excellent by-road several miles in length, constructed through the centre of the plains, which since the establishment of a road board has been completed and is about shortly to be metalled. The district every one probably is aware, is unequalled in the extent of level and fertile land which it contains. What perhaps, everyone is not aware of is the degree in which settlement has progressed there already. I can remember it only five or six years ago when there was only one white person living between Pakowhai and the Ngaruroro where it bounds Mr Coleman’s run. How large the population now is, I am not in a position to state precisely, but certainly the number of names signed to the petition for the post office (100) did not represent more than half of them. The greater number are gathered in a group round the spot where the new post office is, and where it is expected that a railway station will be. The harvest has now been gathered in. Of course, as everywhere else in the colony, it was not so abundant as that of former years, however, as compared with that of other districts of the province, it stands in a very favourable light. Several of the settlers are now busy with their thrashing. I hear that owing to the rise in the price of wool, and preserved meats, cropping is going out of favour and that most of the land which was in crops this year will next year be used for breeding and grazing purposes. Now that we have a store and post office, I imagine we may expect shortly to see several of the other concomitants of every incipient township beginning to spring up among us. The inevitable public house is likely soon to follow – as well as what is much more urgently needed a blacksmiths forge. There I would believe, be a very excellent opening for a blacksmith here already. Every settler has his plough and his team and some of them have several. The necessity that at present exists for bringing the horses to West Clive or Havelock to be shod causes an immense waste of time and labour. A similar waste of time and labour frequently takes place, owing to breakages of portions of the machines used in reaping, thrashing & etc which likewise would be saved by the presence of a blacksmith. I may perhaps remind the local heads of the various religious denominations that our spiritual wants here are rather indifferently attended to. Most of us are probably not very particular as to the special shade of sectarian opinion professed by any reverend gentleman who will do us the honour to pay us a visit, but we don’t like being absolute left to spend our lives in the darkness of heathendom. I do not mean to say that we never see such a thing as a black coat and white choker, but I think I am correct in stating that since the commencement [t] of the New Year, we have only had two visits from a clergyman. A moment, I hear is being set afoot which I trust may be attended with success for the establishment of a school at an early date. It is much needed. There are at least thirty children who would attend and the number is increasing daily. I trust that these few facts and observations with regard to the wants and resources of this new and rising district may not be altogether without interest to your readers.

1872 March 5th Birth – Tanner at Riverslea Havelock, the wife of T. Tanner, a Son.

1872 April 11th Marriage – at her father’s residence by the Rev J. Townsend, Robert Wellwood of Maxwell Lea, Karamu to Annie only daughter of John Helslop [Heslop], Puketapu. Wellwood was from Ireland b: May 1836 and arrived 1859, Robert first lived at Waikoko before buying his land near Hastings he died 1927. His brother Arthur W. Wellwood built a house on Southland Rd.

Page 12

The Napier – Paki Paki Railway plans –

1872, Plans were drawn up to put the railway through the Karamu Plains from the Napier Spit to Paki Paki for the English railway construction firm of John Brogden and Sons – Alexander, Henry and James Brogden all of Queens Square, Westminster, London as part of a £50,000 contract signed in July 1873 through Hon Edward Richardson, Minister of Public Works – which included a railway station building with platform and goods shed erected close to Heretaunga St end of the Karamu Junction Reserve. Some land through the Karamu Plains was purchased from the Maori.

[Survey map]

1872, The Napier railway line ran south in red shows a narrow road or platform along the line by Mr James McMurray’s Shamrock Hotel at Tareha’s Bridge – Awatoto which had a hot saltwater baths and 20 acres, later a golf course. There was a Toll Gate – (Levis  to repay the cost of construction and maintenance of roads, the tolls were withdrawn by 1875)

[Photo]

The Shamrock Hotel, Awatoto during a flood 1897, the proprietor was J. McGlone. People standing on the veranda, a horse drawn cart parked in front and a boat left side, by G. G. Bridge.
1871 June 3rd – BDM – Mr. & Mrs J. McMurray lost twin son and daughter both stillborn

Jarrah piles from Western Australia were used for the Waitangi bridge which caused a delay in progress at that point.

[Photo]

Farndon station 1916, with building behind either side where once Faulknor’s Smithy was situated

Page 13

From Farndon, passing through Mr Pason’s near Pakowhai. The new railway flag station at Tomoana was at first named Karamu to which the local Maori took exception too – a few days after opening of the station the offending station name board was replaced with Tomoana; later William Nelson commenced his Freezing Works there with a railway siding going into the yards.

[Survey map]

Napier County Districts Map 1873 shows the vertical railway line passing through Karamu to Paki Paki

[Survey map]

The Hastings area from Napier County Map 1873 shows the vertical railway line through Karamu passing F. Hicks & Hastings Station, J. Boyle, G. Hamilton, W. Chapman, S. Roe and M. Groom, with the Karamu Road veering off to the original Karamu Pa site bottom right corner, with the formed Karamu Road as far south as Gascoigne St boundary of Guy Hamilton’s boundary, also shows Market St, King St and queen St marked out, provided by Madelon Van Zijl De Jong from the Hastings District Council archives

The Karamu Junction Railway Reserve

Page 14

[Survey map]

1872, Plan shows the horizontal railway line in red passing over the main Omahu Rd before the formation of a proper road to Havelock, Hicks store on the original Karamu Pathway and the Makirikiri creek and Road diversion at the racecourse before Southampton St evolved. Later pencilled-in left – siding applied for by Mr Williams – past the Railway Reserve from Queen St to Avenue Rd

[Survey maps]

1872, Plan shows the Karamu Pathway Road over the Makirkiri [Makirikiri] Stream spelt – Makuikui Creek, the new road diversion for the new Railway Rd with horizontal railway line in red. 14 miles from Napier to the vertical red line. And the adjoining Karamu Pathway Road from the red line to Gascoigne St.

[Survey map]

1872, Plan shows the railway line in red to end at Paki Paki with the main road to Napier going the long way round via Havelock and Clive before Railway Rd was established. Mr John Joseph Kelly of Clive ran a Hotel and General Store at Paki Paki, P Moroney took over, later Kelly had a General Store on Omahu Rd Heretaunga St west in 1878

[Newspaper notice]
ESTATE of FREDERICK HARRISON.
LAND SALE.
Monday, 13th February, 1871,
At 2 o’clock.
MR EDWARD LYNDON
Has received instructions from the Trustee in this Estate, to dispose of, at his Rooms, on the above date, the LEASE of the
PAKIPAKI HOTEL
This valuable Hotel Property, about 19 miles from Napier, is held under an unexpired term of lease of 20½ years, at a ground rent of £80 per an., and comprises 213 acres of rich LAND, including the Whenua-kura Hill. The property is subdivided into paddocks, having the Poukawa stream running through the centre. The Lease contains an improvement clause.
For further particulars, apply to
EDWARD LYNDON
Auctioneer.
January 24th, 1871.   237

Page 15

1872 October 24th Marriage – Beecroft – Burns. At St John’s Church Napier by Rev J. Townsend William Arthur Beecroft of Lowestoft England to Margaret daughter of the late Mr J. Burns of Aughtergavin Perthshire and cousin to Rev Dr Geo Stewart Burns High Church Glasgow.

1872 November 3rd Birth – Norris of Heretaunga, wife of G. H. Norris, a Daughter

1872 November – Brodgen Brothers rented a beautiful residence opposite Government House in Auckland – it was nicely fitted out and furnished.

[Newspaper notice]
HAWKE’S BAY HERALD
FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1872
Rooms have been taken, we believe, as offices, by Messrs. Bell and Davis, the members of Messrs. Brogden’s staff, who arrived in Napier by the p. s. Nevada, in the house at the bottom of Brewster-street, next door to the Empire Hotel. Mr Brogden and his head engineer, Mr. Henderson, are expected here by the C.G. p. s. Luna to-morrow. 200 Laborers, for the Hawke’s Bay railway works, are expected by the Chile due in the beginning of December next. The railway, as far as Paki Paki, there is every reason to believe, will be completed and opened considerably within the time specified in the contract. It…

1872 December 1st Birth – Williams at Mangatertere [Mangateretere] West Clive, wife of R. P. Williams, a Daughter

1872, The Auckland Acclimatisation Society transmitted starlings and carp to Hawke’s Bay province.

1873 May, Francis Hicks opened a store in Napier selling produce from his own farm at cheap prices.

1873 June, Land owner Francis Hicks offered the Minister of Public Works a desirable small parcel of his property for a Railway Reserve to secure the station at his Karamu Junction for a township where there already exists a small store and a Post Office. This reserve gift completely altered the destiny of the district, although Brodgen and the government had no intention of putting the railway through Havelock.

1873 June, It had been touted back in February 1872 that a small township, with pub, general store, church would probably evolve around a station along the Karamu railway line opposite the well established town of Havelock, but no name of this little township was mentioned. Nor was it imagined then that it would be bigger than Havelock.

The Founder of Hastings

1873 May, Immediately after Francis Hicks gifted his Railway Reserve section to the Minister of Public Works, Hicks then employed Napier surveyor firm of William Ellison & Son who were first situated opposite the Union Bank of Australia on Hastings St to draw up the layout for 144 township sections sale plan on canvas for his Karamu Junction land around the Railway Station Reserve which included reserved land for a school house, market reserve and a court house. The proposed township sections were divided into quarter, half and four acre sections.

William Ellison needed a name to apply to his plan for the proposed township section layout. Although there was a Hastings St in Napier – it was Francis Hicks who had a personal liking for and chose the name of Hastings after the first Governor General to British India – Warren Hastings.

Page 16

[Photo]

The Founder of Hastings – Francis Hicks owned the freehold land that he sold for the township, which he had named the town as Hastings!

1873 May, The envisioned township name of Hastings was chosen by Hicks after General Warren Hastings, long before it was mentioned in any subsequent conversations and there was no other person with Hicks at Ellison’s office at the time. Hicks land was still a farm of ploughed and grassed areas with 2500 forest and fruit trees and a corner store at the Junction roads so it was never a township before this time.

The proposed township was never referred to as ‘Tannersville, Williamstown or Hicksville’ although there was official reference to Mr Hicks township of Hastings, nor likely that Rev William Marshall suggested it – as mentioned in his obituary in 1906, but the nature of humans to perpetuate myths. No land deeds survived the 1931 Earthquake fire or the later Hope Gibbin [Gibbons] fire.

Hicks daughters stated that their father had named the township Hastings after General Warren Hastings, as did Robert Wellwood in 1920.

The Fathers of Karamu –

While Thomas Tanner, James Nelson Williams and Robert Wellwood, along with Karaitiana Takamoana and Henare Tomoana, the Russells and J. D. Ormond – can certainly be all attributed to the settling of upper Karamu on the Heretaunga Block – but it was in fact Francis Hicks who we can attribute the name Hastings to his township sections at the upper Karamu junction where his nephew Tobias Hicks family worked and lived. Not to forget William Nelson b: 1843 Warwickshire arrived at Napier in 1863, he married Sarah Newcome [Newcombe] Bicknell 1865 and set up a Boiling Down works at Tomoana 1872 – 1880, then Tomoana Freezing works around 1883 with bachelor living quarters and a settlement of workers cottages at Waipatu.

1873 June, Thomas Tanner was at this time preoccupied in the Native Lands Alienation Commission pursuing his perjury charge he laid against Henare Tomoana to an earlier case in the Native Court over the question of title in the Heretaunga Block. It was just twelve months ago Henare Tomoana was presented with a sword, a gift from the Queen, as a token of her appreciation of his loyalty.

Page 17

[Newspaper article]
NATIVE  LANDS ALIENATION COMMISSION. – In the court this morning, the report of Mr. J. C. Young’s visit to Paora Nonoi was read, the Report stated that Mr Young found the native paralysed on one side but in possession of his Senses; Paora said that Mr McLean (Native Minister) had been a father to him, and that he did not wish to dispossess him of the Ngatarewa [Ngatarawa] Land, he therefore wished that complaint to be withdrawn, but as regarded the Mangaroa and Manarau blocks he desired the complaints to be heard. It was here stated that the Hon. D. McLean had no interest in these two latter blocks. The natives, Merania, Hemi, Purei, and Pane were each other asked whether they wished their complaints withdrawn from the Gazette, in accordance with their letters published in the Gazette, they each replied that they desired the complaints to be gone on with. The Heretaunga case was then gone into, Mr Tanner’s cross examination being continued. The evidence related solely to the accounts and vouchers relating to the debts of the vendors of the Heretaunga, and as shown on the day of sale to them in Mr Cuff’s office. It appeared that the sum of £1500 had been paid the natives in excess of that agreed upon, this was accounted for by Mr A. Neil’s mortgage not having been calculated at the time. We believe that on the termination of Mr Tanner’s examination the tedious Heretaunga case will come to an end, the summing up for the opposing counsel only then remaining to finally conclude it. The Commission will then be adjourned sine die.

William Ellison was born 1816 at Selby, Yorkshire, William a Surveyor married Jane Bilton 1845. The family arrived at Napier in 1861 and went farming near Puketapu. They later moved to Lucy Road on the Napier Hill they were musically talented. Around 1870, William entered a business partnership with his son Henry operating as W. Ellison & Son Surveyors & Land Agents on Hastings St, then later with son William James on Tennyson St. His wife Jane died at Clifton Villa, Napier in October 1886 aged 66, William died at his son’s residence, Dunblane in September 1901 at Napier aged 85.

[Advertisements]
W. Ellison & Son,
LICENSED SURVEYORS,
VALUATORS & LAND AGENTS.
Also,
GOVERNMENT BROKERS,
Under the “Land Transfer Act”
HASTINGS-STREET, NAPIER.

W. ELLISON & SON
Authorised and Licensed Surveyors.
NATIVE LAND AND LAND TRANSFER SURVEYS
Made by Contract, at Special Rates.
OFFICE IN TENNYSON STREET.
OPPOSITE THE “HERALD” OFFICE.

Edward Lyndon was born Soho London and arrived at Napier 1858, he leased a plot on Shakespeare Road living in a small cottage and establishing himself as a clerk and accountant (the only one in Hawke’s Bay at that time), later as land agent and auctioneer. He was also a landscape artist. He married Mary in 1863 and had a large family and had a cottage at the Breakwater. He was a Town Councillor from 1875 – 1877 and active member of the Harbour Board. Death – Lyndon on 18 August after a few days illness, Arthur Ernest [Herbert?] youngest son of Edward and Mary Lyndon aged 4 1⁄2. Edward Lyndon died at his daughter’s residence on Bluff Hill in 1904.

[Advertisements]
EDWARD LYNDON,
AUCTIONEER,
LAND AND COMMISSION AGENT,
PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT & ARBITRATOR.
GOVERNMENT BROKER,
UNDER THE “LAND TRANSFER ACT”

EDWARD LYNDON,
AUCTIONEER,
LAND AND COMMISSION AGENT,
PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT & ARBITRATOR.
Government Broker under the “Land Transfer Act”

Page 18

[Photo]

Portrait of Edward Lyndon (1893) by G. H. Swan

HASTINGS Township

1873 May, Francis Hicks employed the auctioneer Edward Lyndon on Browning St to prepare a sale for the Hastings township sections.

1873 June, W. Ellison & Son surveyor drew up the plan for the Hastings Township sections and Edward Lyndon began to advertise with some degree of exaggeration.

[Newspaper notice]
Sales by Mr. Lyndon.
IMPORTANT LAND SALE.
TOWNSHIP OF HASTINGS
Tuesday, 8th July, 1873,
At 2 o’clock
MR EDWARD LYNDON
Has received instructions form Mr. FRANCIS HICKS to dispose of at Public Auction, on TUESDAY, the 8th day of July, that Valuable Block of AGRICULTURAL LAND at the
UPPER KARAMU
Containing One Hundred Acres, laid off in town and Suburban Allotments.
The Resident Railway Engineer, on behalf of the Minister of Public Works, has decided upon a Section for the
RAILWAY STATION
Which is situated in the very centre of the
HERETAUNGA BLOCK
At the junction of Roads, branching to all parts of the Province. The Land which is part of the richest quality, is in the highest state of cultivation as a Farm, is ploughed, grassed, and planted with about 2500 Forest and Fruit Trees, forming Avenues and Drives through the Property. An Artesian Well flows through the Homestead, and others, to any extent, can be bored at a probable cost of £25. The ground is being laid off in sections of one quarter of an acre to five acres, suitable alike for Business and Private Residences. Such a favourable opportunity for purchasing a freehold on this justly celebrated Block of Land should not be overlooked, as in all probability, with the steady and increasing prosperity of the country, this Township will, at no distant day, become the
CAPITAL OF THE PROVINCE
Estimates are now before the Council for the construction of Bridges to cross the Ngaruroro at Havelock, the Waitio at Omahu, and at the Pakowhai Pah, all of which are direct highways to the Railway Station.
Plans are being prepared, and will be published in a few days.
EDWARD LYNDON,
Auctioneer.
June 7, 1873.   582

1873 June 10th Hawke’s Bay Herald – Francis Hicks Township of Hastings important land sale being touted as ‘The Capital of the Province’ to be auctioned off at Lyndon’s sale rooms on Browning St Napier on the 8th July at 2pm

Page 19

[Newspaper article]
We publish, as a supplement to today’s issue, plans of the new township of Hastings, on the Karamu Plains, the Sections in which are to be disposed of by auction, at Mr. Lyndon’s sale-rooms, on the 8th proximo. Taking our standpoint some years in the future, when, perhaps, our hopes of possessing one of the best harbours in the colony will have been realised – when our wharves will be thronged with shipping, and the vast resources of our inland districts will be fully opened up by roads and railways, it seems to us not improbable that we may then look back to the founding of this township as one of the most important events in the history of the province. There are no plains in the colony more fertile, and few more extensive, than that in the middle of which it is situated. The land is still, it is true, for the most part in t1⁄2he hands of a few sheep-farmers, but there can be no doubt that before many years are over, these gentlemen will find it more profitable to them to split it up, and dispose of it to small holders, than to continue to occupy it merely as grazing country. One of them, indeed, we hear, contemplates doing this, with a considerable block of his land, near the new township, at a very early date. When this anticipated general subdivision takes place, Hastings will be the centre of one of the richest agricultural districts of the colony. It is so situated too, that when the road and railway system now in progress, and in contemplation, is completed, it is hardly too much to say that three-fourths of the traffic of the of the province will pass either through it, or very close to it. If a large city ever does spring up there, we may remark, it ought to be a handsome one, and an agreeable one to live in. The streets are laid out a chain wide, with the view, we hear, of having artesian water running along them besides which, trees may be planted, as is done in many of the great cities in America

1873 June 27th Hawke’s Bay Herald – Founding of this township as one of the most important events in the history of the Province!

1873 July, W. Ellison & Son surveyor’s original plans on a large canvas for the 144 township sections for the Township of Hastings which included the lettering heading – Supplement to the Hawke’s Bay Herald, Friday June 27, 1873.

[Survey map Township of Hastings]

1873 June 27th Hawke’s Bay Herald Supplement – (poss [possibly] only a one sided page flyer similar to later Horse sale flyers and not an informative 4 page supplement ) Plan of the Township of Hastings in the province of Hawke’s Bay, as laid out for Sale by Auctioned on the 8 July, 1873, at Mr Lyndon’s Sale Rooms, Napier. W. Ellison & Son, surveyors.

The plan shows F. W. Hicks section 3A marked bottom right, the Hastings Station reserve – before the Station St extension existed, the Market Reserve, the Courthouse and School reserve marked. With adjoining landowners – Rev Samuel Williams Freehold at top with Wire Fence, James Boyles Freehold at bottom with Ditch and Fence along Heretaunga St west and Michael Groom west side with Wire Fence. St Aubyn St only went as far as Nelson St.

Page 20

William Ellison & Son set the street grid pattern for the township of Hastings w1⁄4hich was suitable for Francis Hicks section, but the subsequent adjoining township land sales followed the same street grid layout to the demise of the Makirikiri creek – these later township land sales could have easily included riverside reserves along both sides of the meandering Makirikiri shingle creek, but focus was more determined upon getting the optimal outcome for the client rather than on the aesthetics of the town topography, then Thomas Tanner was instrumental in initiating the ‘filling-in’ of the Makirikiri creek in collusion with the new Town Board. A Jubilee lake at the racecourse with riverside reserves along both sides of the Makirikiri creek and a few bridges would have been far more important for the township future development than diverting it into the Southland drain. Two roads in Hastings were to be named Ellison Rd and Lyndon Rd after the Surveyor and the Auctioneer.

1873 July 8th Tuesday, Hicks paid for free coaches to bring gentlemen from Napier to view the marked Hastings sections before the auction. There was no station or buildings erected at Hastings – only two small weatherboard huts 5ft x 6ft – poss [possibly] transported there by horse and dray. Half of the sections were sold on the first auction day with surprising satisfaction in the purchases prices at an average of £46 per acre, several of the half and quarter-acre sections went off at rates varying from – £100 to £250 per acre which illustrates the effects that the impending railway has in anticipation of increasing the value of land and benefits to be derived when Hicks had bought it at £5 per acre. Mr Frederick Sutton paid £97 for his Railway Hotel site. The auction finished early due to darkness falling but would continue the following afternoon. That night after the auction Hicks offered a Champagne Party to all in sundry an event he fondly remembered where several of the sections changed hands at a profit with another Champagne Luncheon the following day.

THE SALE OF THE TOWNSHIP OF HASTINGS. … PURSUANT to notice, the sections in this township were put up for sale by public auction yesterday, at Mr Lyndon’s sale rooms. It is not going too far to say that the prices realised exceeded the any anticipations of the most sanguine. After about half of them had been disposed of, darkness coming on, rendered it necessary that the sale of the remainder should be postponed till to-day, at 2 p.m.

The following are the particulars of those disposed of: – No. 1, 1r. 19p, £97,10s; buyer, F. Sutton; No. 2, 1r, £56, F. Sutton ; No. 3, 30½p., £36, Craig ; No. 4, 36p., £36, Craig ; No. 5, 36p., £57, Craig ; Nos. 6 and 7, 1r. £33 each, Locke; No. 8, 37½p., £61, Willis ; No. 9, 38½p„ £43, W. K. McLean ; No. 10, 1r., £42, W. K. McLean ; No. 11, 1r., £38, W. K. McLean ; No. 12, 1r., £28, W. K. McLean ; No. 13, 1r., £57, Bryson ; No. 14, 1r., £30, Willis ; No. 15, 1r., £28, sc W. K. McLean ; No. 16, 1r., £28, Willis ; No. 17, 1r., £28, Willis ; No. 18, Court-house reserve ; Nos. 19 and 20, 1r., £17 each, Campbell ; No. 21, 26p., £16, Campbell ; No. 22, 31p, £23, Campbell ; Nos. 23 and 24, 39p. and 1r. 3½p, £13 each, Renouf; No. 25, 1r. £10 .10s, Sutton; Nos. 26 and 27, Ir., £11 each, Riddell; Nos. 28, 29, 30, 31 and 32, 1r., £18 each, Willis ; Nos. 33, 34, and 35, 1r., £7 .10s each, F. Sutton ; No. 36, School reserve ; No. 37, 28p., £6, Hayland ; No. 38, 32½p., £12 .10s, Locke ; Nos. 39, 40 and 41, 32p., £9 each, Kennedy ; No. 42, 1r., £9, Hayland ; No. 43, 1r., £6 10s, Willis ; No 44, 1r., £17, Bryson ; Nos. 45 and 46, 1r., £14 each, WIllis [Willis]; No. 47, 1r. 26p, £13 .10s, Joll; No. 48, 1r. 25p. £7 10s, Ellison; No. 49, 1r, £6 .10s, Ellison; No. 50, 32p., £8, Worgan ; No. 51, 1r. 11p., 8 .10s, Kennedy ; No. 52, 39p., £8 .10s, Kennedy ; No. 53, 20p., £8, Worgan ; Nos. 54 and 55, 18p. and 39p., £16 together, Kennedy ; No. 56, 30p., £13, Renouf ; No. 57, 34½p., £10 .10s, H. C. Wilson ; No. 58, 39p. £11, Hayland ; No. 59, 1r, 3½p., £16, H. C. Wilson ; No. 60, 30p., £16, Willis ; No. 61, 30p., £12 .10s, Willis ; No. 62, 1r. 9p., £12 .10s, Worgan; No. 63, 30p., £11.10s, Kennedy ; No. 61⁄44, 38p., £12, Kennedy ; No. 65, 30p., £13, Hayland , No. 66, 30p., £13.10s, Willis; No. 67, 1r. 20p. £34, F. Sutton; No. 68, 1r. 12p., £34, Craig ; No. 69, 1r. 31p., £54, Craig ; No. 70, 1r. 20p., £57, Willis ; Nos. 77, 78, 79, and 80, 1r., £9 . 10s. each, Cullen ; No. 83, 1r., £15, Ellison ; No. 84, 1r., £13 .10s., Ellison ; Nos. 85, 86, and 87, 1r., £9 10s. each, Bryson ; No. 88, 1r., £12, Willis ; No. 89, 1r., £8, Begg ; Nos. 90, 91,  and 92, 1r., £9 .10s. each, Begg ; No. 93, 1r., £13 .10s., Ellison ; No. 94, Market reserve ; Nos. 95, 96, and 105, 1r., £11, Ellison ; Nos. 97, 98, and 99, 1r., £7, Redstone ; No. 100, 1r., £10, Ellison; Nos. 101, and 102, 1r., £7 .10s. each, Cullen; Nos. 103 and 104, 1r., £8 . 10s. each, Ellison; No. 106, 1r., £17, Locke ; Nos. 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, and 116, all about 1r., £7 10s. each, Sealy; Nos. 117, 118, and 119, from 1r. 20p. to 2r. 14p. £9 .10s. each, Willis; No. 120, 3r. 22p, £18, Willis; No. 121, 1r. 21p. £8 .10s. Willis ; No. 122, 2r., £12, Webber ; Nos. 123, and 130, 2r., £12 each, Cullen ; Nos. 124, 125, 129, and 128, 2r., £10 . 10s each, Cullen; Nos. 126 and 127,1r., £7 .10s., Cullen ; No. 131, 1r., £8 .10s, Hayland ; Nos. 132, 133, 134, 135 and 136, 1r., £7 .10s, Willis ; No. 137, 1r., £11, Ramsay ; No. 138, 1r., £11 .10s, Willis ; No. 139, 1r., £7 .10s, H. C. Wilson ; Nos. 140, 141, 142, and 143, 1r., £7 . 10s each, Sealy; No. 144, 1r. £10, Willis.

The total sum realized was something above £1900, and as between 34 and 35 acres were disposed of, the price per acre, all round, was about £56.

Apart from the payment receipt for services from Ellison & Lyndon, the first official government record pertaining to the township of Hastings was the first sections sole [sold] that were certified on the 8th July 1873.

We observe by an advertisement in another column that Mr Sutton is already calling for tenders for the erection of a hotel on the valuable corner section in which he invested.

Page 21

[Newspaper notice]
TOWNSHIP OF HASTINGS
THE SALE of this township will be
RESUMED at 2 o’clock THIS DAY, July 9.
CHAMPAGNE LUNCHEON
At 1 o’clock.
EDWARD LYNDON,
188   Auctioneer.

1873 July 9th – Others would soon follow with their own section sales

[Newspaper article]
Now that a township has been laid out on the Heretaunga block, and sections have been invested in by some two or three score of purchasers, the final settlement of the question of title becomes a matter of public importance.

1873 July 10th Hawke’s Bay Herald – Question of township title in reference to Thomas Tanner’s perjury charge against Henare Tomoana at the Native Court to the Heretaunga Block – Judge Richmond dismissed the charge on the technical grounds that the witness testimony regarding the alleged perjury was from a person not competent to accurately interpret the native language – (Grindell)

1873 July, Tenders for the erection of a Railway Hotel at Hastings.

1873 July 22nd The plan layout for the Karamu Railway Reserve Station and Goods shed 44 x 25 to be erected near Heretaunga St. A plain wooden Station building without a veranda and a platform of made old rough timber sleepers – under which small boys used to climb. A small telegraph link office was also included at the end of the station building. Station St was not formed along the Reserve and therefore gave a direct view between the hotel and railway station.

 

[Map Karamu Railway Station.]

1873 July 22nd The original Karamu Station & Reserve layout in green – now shows Hastings Railway Station heading added, also shows the Station 44 x 12, Platform 80 x 12 and Goods shed 44 x 25 to be erected near Heretaunga St and Station St – not yet formed

Page 22

[Handwritten note]
Plan showing Karamu Station Reserve – The land adjoining the Station grounds has lately been cut up into small lots for the Township of Hastings, but no buildings are near the Station grounds.

Charles Liby, Napier 22/7/73

1873 July 22nd – Plan showing Karamu Station Reserve – The land adjoining the Station Grounds has lately been cut up into small lots for the township of Hastings, but no buildings are near the Station grounds – Charles Liby.

1873 July, the first Hastings Railway Station was erected near the unfenced Heretaunga St crossing, by late 1875 the station buildings were moved 100 yards further north of the Reserve to near Queen St, the Historical Calf of Hastings was killed by a train – post & railings were rushed to erect fencing, but was never fully completed, by 1881 the station and yards were completely fenced-in with gates. In November 1882 a new bigger station building and platform was erected on the same location, but encroaching over Queen St crossing with a booking office and a Post & Telegraph office while the old station still operated – it was demolished and sent to Te Aute, the Goods Shed was also moved further north at Queen St, then the new station buildings were all moved north yet again in March 1894 to opposite Avenue Rd east with a platform 600ft long.

[Survey plan]

Note – the three school sections marked in red ink at top – Sec 50 Heretaunga School at the end of Williams St, Sec 110 Hodge, Sec 36 State School and the Market Reserve on the corner of Avenue Rd and Market St nth Sec 94, the Courthouse Sec 18 and T. W. Hicks later apparently called 3A in black ink at bottom.

Note – A drainage ditch and fencing ran along the northern side of the Main Omahu Rd from Nelson St west to Hicks corner store. This was to drain water from the small swamp areas where later buildings like the Cosy Theatre and Roach’s were erected and collapsed in the 1931 Quake.

Note – Most of the roads were still Paper Roads only – they did not actually exist, apart from the Main Rd and beginnings of the Market St track!

1873 August 19th Second auction – Already the proposed Hastings township was being hailed as the ‘City on the Plains’ – likened to Christchurch and its link to Lyttelton port with plans being prepared to auction off the adjoining South Hastings sections of James Boyle with new roads named Eastbourne, Lyndon and Southampton Streets, an Artesian well and a ¼ acre Reserve for an Athenaeum on Market St sth, and possibly a site for public buildings where the later Church of England stood, but not many sections sold. It was reported then that there were only two weatherboard huts 5ft x 6ft at Hastings.

Page 23

[Newspaper notice]
Sales by Mr. Lyndon
IMPORTANT
LAND SALE
TOWNSHIP of HASTINGS
NORTH.
Tuesday, the 19th August, 1873,
At 2 o’clock.
MR . EDWARD LYNDON
Has received instructions from Mr. JAMES BOYLE to dispose of his VALUABLE FREEHOLD ESTATE
AT THE
UPPER KARAMU
Containing One Hundred acres of the richest Agricultural Land.
This Land, which has all been ploughed and cultivated, is now being surveyed and laid off in CONVENIENT SECTIONS, suitable alike for Business and Private Residences.
The Public Roads, one chain in width are in continuation of the roads laid off in Mr. Hicks’ plan, thus connecting the Two blocks, and forming a fine site for the
CAPITAL OF THE PROVINCE.
An Artesian Well, throwing a column of water eight feet in height, flows from the centre of the Block, and others to any extent can be bored at a probable cost of £25.
About 50 acres are being laid off as Paddocks, from 3 to 6 acres each.

[Newspaper notice]
THE RAILWAY STATION
Presented by Mr. Francis Hicks to the Minister of Public Works, and now the very centre of the Township, is at the junction of Four Trunk Roads, branching to all parts of the Province, and crossing bridges over the Ngaruroro to Havelock, the Waitio to Omahu and Taradale, and the Pakowhai Pa to Napier.
With “signs of prosperity all round.” To quote from the Finance Minister’s Speech, the settlers have now another favourable opportunity of purchasing a FREEHOLD in this Valuable Township, already established as
THE CITY OF THE PLAINS!
Terms: – ¼ Cash; balance at 3, 6, and 12 Months, bearing interest at 8 per cent.
Plans are being prepared, and will be published in a few days.
EDWARD LYNDON,
383.   Auctioneer.

1873 August 1st Hawke’s Bay Herald – James Boyle’s land sale – ‘Capital Of the Provence’ with ‘signs of prosperity all around’ and ‘The City of the Plains’

James Boyle of Dungroen, married Elizabeth Ann Annabell 1879, they had six children – her father was Joseph Annabell a portrait artist who later had a studio on Lyndon Rd, he died at Whanganui in August 1893 and his wife died Mary died May 1897 at the residence of James Boyle. James Boyle was brother-in-law to Mr James Reynolds. James Bolyle [Boyle] stated [started] ploughing at Hastings, he had a residence in Havelock by the Karamu Creek near Pukahu called Oatlands, he was chairman of the Havelock Road Board in 1876. After treatment at the Napier Hospital in October 1897 he died at the Napier Railway Station while waiting for a return train to Hastings. His wife Elizabeth died 1923.

[Survey map – South Hastings]

1873, The township of Hastings at top, with Norris land left side, Chapman and Guy Hamilton’s land bottom

Page 24

[Newspaper notice]
SALE OF THE TOWNSHIP OF HASTINGS SOUTH.
PURSUANT to advertisement in the Herald, the Township of Hastings South, the property of Mr. Jas. Boyle, was, yesterday afternoon, submitted to public competition by Mr. E. Lyndon, auctioneer, at his sale-rooms, Browning street. There was a moderate attendance – not so large, though, as on the occasion of the sale of Hastings proper some six weeks ago, a fact accounted for in a measure by the unprecedentedly unsettled weather experienced in Hawke’s Bay during the last fortnight or so, which we have no doubt that deterred many country settlers at any rate from being present at the sale-rooms yesterday. There was an absence, too, (except in one or two instances), of spirited bidding – The general opinion being that Mr. Boyle had not acted altogether wisely in placing his land in the market so soon after M. Hick’s property had been disposed of. Notwithstanding these drawbacks, however, the land which passed the hammer yesterday realised what may be considered on the whole fair prices. The total proceeds of the sale yesterday was £865.10s. Appended will be found a list of the sections sold, together with the area of each, the price realised, and the name of the purchasers.

[Advertised list]
When the above sections had been disposed of, Mr. Lyndon announced that on the remainder of the township there would be a reserve of £20 per acre. After this announcement, no one apparently caring to speculate, the sale came to a termination.

1873 August 20th – Boyle had not acted altogether wisely in auctioning his land in the market so soon after Mr Hicks.

Joseph Wall was next to offer his 23 – ¼ acre sections for sale.

[Newspaper notice]
HERETAUNGA DISTRICT
Chapman H., carpenter
Gordon Captain, sheepfarmer
Hicks T., postmaster and storekeeper
Russell Captain W., sheepfarmer
Russell Colonel, sheepfarmer
Williams J. N., runholder

1873, Heretaunga district residents

1873, The Heretaunga Road Board, chairman – J. N. Williams, wardens – W. R. Russell, Gilbert Norris, T. Tanner and F. Hicks.

Francis Hicks was a member of the Heretaunga Road Board for a short time only – he does not seem to have been associated with any other early Hastings groups, except perhaps attending the Marist Catholic services.

1873 August 15, Tobias Hicks applied for a liquor licence at the Havelock court sitting for Section 1 which is the Railway Hotel building site on behalf of Mr Sutton, but this was not going to be approved and the applicants name was changed to the more experienced William Goodwin manager of the Tavistock Hotel at Waipukurau.

1⁄41873 October, Access from Havelock to the new township of Hastings was a difficult track down to ford across the river. Thomas Tanner called for tenders to build the Havelock Road Bridge in order for the Havelock people to have better access to the new township and railway station to come.

Page 25

[Advertisements]
John Brogden & Sons,
RAILWAY CONTRACTORS
OFFICES – MILLAR-STREET,
NAPIER.
JAMES DUNBAR, AGENT.

John Brogden & Sons,
RAILWAY CONTRACTORS,
TENNYSON STREET.
NAPIER
JAMES DUNBAR,
AGENT.

John Brodgen & Sons James Dunbar Agent

[Newspaper notice]
TENDERS will be received until the 8th December, 1873, for the ERECTION of an ENGINE-SHED and STATION-HOUSE at Napier, on the Napier and Paki Paki Railway.
Plans and Specifications to be seen, and further information obtained, at the office of Messrs. Brogden and Son, Tennyson-street, Napier
The lowest or any tender will not necessarily be accepted.
JAS. DUNBAR.
November 28, 1873.   596

[Newspaper notice]
New Zealand Railways.
NAPIER TO WAIPUKURAU.
PAKI PAKI CONTRACT.
Public Works Office,
Wellington, Nov. 22, 1873.
FRESH TENDERS will be received at this Office up to Noon on MONDAY, 22nd December, 1873 for the CONSTRUCTION of the PAKI PAKI CONTRACT OF THE ABOVE Railway, about 14 miles. They must be addressed to the Hon. The Minister for Public Works, Wellington, and marked outside “Tenders Paki Paki Contract.”
Plans and Specifications may be seen at this office and at the Public Works Office, Napier.
Telegraphic tenders, similarly addressed and marked, will be received if presented at any telegraphic office by Noon of the same date, provided that written tenders in due form are lodged at a District Engineer’s Office by the same hour.
The lowest or any tender will not necessarily be accepted.
By command,
JOHN BLACKETT.
552   Assistant Engineer-in-Chief

Brogden’s advertising train logo with engine pushing or pulling and New Zealand Railways 14 mile Paki Paki tender

1873, The new Railway line through Hastings was laid down by Brodgen’s [Brogden’s] immigrant Navvies through Vogel’s Immigration scheme who would have arrived at Napier through John Henderson Co. Mr George Hatherell was one of the original employees who constructed the line, which was begun at Napier and all done by manual labour with horse & cart. Before coming to New Zealand Mr Hatherell was a platelayer employed by the Great Western Railway Company in England. A drain was also constructed from near Karamu Rd sth along the Railway line to connect with the Southland drainage system.

[Survey map- Hastings Railway Station]

Once the rail line was put through at a greater height than the land level – it blocked off the original Main Rd drain that Hicks had originally dug and thus caused subsequent flooding around the station Goods shed making its way towards Queen St where new drains were created to alleviate the flooding problem.

Page 26

1873 November, an artesian well was sunk at the Hastings Railway yard to a strike depth at 140ft and the first two little 15 tonne, 4 wheeled, saddle-tank, C class engines arrived via the ‘Patterson’ for Brodgen and Son – to be used to ballast the Napier – Paki Paki line under construction.

1874 January 1st The NZ Railways Dept and the Telegraph Dept documents had both adopted the new township name of Hastings – after the first Governor General to British India, Warren Hastings. The name of the Karamu Post Office at Hicks Store was also changed to Hastings on 1st January 1874 by the NZ Post Office. In October that year the Hastings Post Office opened its Money Order Savings Bank service.

1874 January, There were 50 men employed on the Napier – Paki Paki line, this number gives about three to the mile, so no surprise need be felt at the delay in the completion of the line. There is a story told of a traveller who, riding across the Karamu some months ago, and noticing one man using a spade in the middle of the plain, asked him what he was doing. The man replied, “Oh this is the railway, I have got a contract.” The traveller naturally remarked that it would be some time before the railway was finished. When the man in of injured innocence informed him that there was another fellow working about two miles off.

A new road was formed alongside the new railway line from Hastings to Paki Paki through the top of the racecourse section named Railway Road. The Station and platform were built with a railways Goods shed.

The Havelock Road had originally determined a quasi north from south of Karamu Junction and the Karamu Pathway had divided the town east from west, Hick’s store on Karamu Junction corner was the centre point of Hastings – until the railway line went through which created a new division line with a central axis in middle of the railway tracks in the middle of Heretaunga St, although the streets were laid out more accurately on compass bearings.

[Survey map – portion of Heretaunga Block]

Shows the Railway line in red passed over the original Karamu Path marked in black that went onto the racecourse section at Gascoigne towards southern Southland Rd, and the Makirikiri creek also marked in black crossing from the racecourse lake over the Railway and Karamu Rd with bridge towards Pattison St (Well St) The racecourse sections of Guy Hamilton in 1883 occupied by the HB Agricultural & Pastoral Association with the southern part of the Gas Works section was originally a portion of the Heretaunga Block with Thomas Tanner owner of the Akina sections the later Intermediate School

1874, The Heretaunga Road Board, chairman – J. N. Williams, wardens – W. R. Russell, Gilbert Norris, T. Tanner and F. Hicks was now replaced by Robert Wellwood.

1874 January, Tobias Hicks has relinquished his store at Section 3A and the Karamu Postmaster duties to Robert Somerville.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS STORE.
R. SOMERVILLE.
GOODS delivered to all parts of the district, at Napier prices.   46

Page 27

1874 January – Robert Somerville first opened his store on Heretaunga St east in Hicks old store at Section 3A, he advertised consistently for many years. Robert Somerville from Napier married Ann Northe 1872 and they had 5 children.

1874 January, the editor of the Hawke’s Bay Herald expressed Hastings was steadily expanding and progressing.

Apart from the two storied Railway Hotel being built, the first stores at Hastings were mostly cheap single storied boxes similar to Hicks store – it was not until the arrival of the immigrant tradesmen who built the grand two storied Victorian stores and large houses.

1874 February, A Company has been started for establishing a marine aquarium at Hastings – poss [possibly] Goodwin’s trout ?

1874 February 8th Marriage – Tattersall – Patterson at St John’s Church Napier by the Bishop of Waiapu – Daniel Blamey eldest son of J. Tattersall Esq of Her Majesty’s Customs, Exeter Devon to Eliza second daughter of Mr Paterson Ashford Kent.
[Note: Daniel Blaney Tattershall – Paterson]

1874 February 13th Friday, THE Hawke’s Bay Times – At a meeting of the master builders of Napier held at the Albion Hotel on the 12th February, 1874, to discuss the question of wages demanded by the carpenters of this town, viz., 12s per day from the 16th of this month, there being present R. Holt, R. Trestrail, W. Northe, J. Renouf, E. Ashton, J. Orr (by R. Holt), and R. C. Jordan (by F. George), after mature consideration, it was the unanimous opinion of the meeting that as the builders had taken contracts that would extend over four months, not anticipating any rise in wages, it would be very unfair towards them, and it would also be the means of deterring those that were about to build, and that both employers and employed would in a very short time be sufferers by it. It was therefore resolved not to concede the demand of the workmen. An advertisement in another column contains the resolution arrived at.

[Newspaper notice]
FRESH TENDERS will be received by the Messrs. BROGDEN and SONS, until MONDAY, 16th march, 1874, for the ERECTION of STATION HOUSES at Farndon, Ngaruroro, Hastings, and Paki Paki.
The lowest or any Tenders, not necessarily accepted.
815   JAS DUNBAR.

[Newspaper notice]
TENDERS will be received by the Messrs. BROGDEN AND SONS for LIGHTERING about 300 Tons of Railway Material from the ship “Invererne.”
Particulars to be had at the Railway Office, Tennyson-street.
The lowest or any tender not necessarily accepted.
936   JAS DUNBAR.

1874 March, Tenders

1874 March 20th Birth – Wellwood, at Maxwell Lea, Karamu, wife of R. Wellwood a Daughter.

1874 March 28, William Goodwin was now living in Hastings where Frederick Sutton made a deal for him to rent 6 acres of the HB Agriculture and Pastoral Society paddock at Hastings at £50 per annum plus responsibility to maintain the fences so Goodwin could provided catering services at the Show & Sale Yards. Goodwin never signed the deal made by Sutton on his behalf.

William Goodwin b: 3 rd April 1827 in Wickham Bishops, Essex. Ann Pinyon b: January 1823 in Penshurst, Kent, He married Ann Pinyon in 1853 at Whitechapel London. They had a daughter Ellen Pinyon Goodwin b: 1856 London city and son William Henry Goodwin b: 13 th October 1858, William was manager of the Tavistock Hotel at Waipukurau with hotel paddocks – in 1867 he advertised for sale 400 sheep and 1869 and he was the Pound-keeper. They made return visit to England in late 1871 were listed in the census – to early 1872 before settling in Hastings.

Page 28

[Newspaper notice]
G. GRANT’S
(Late Sydney Dyer’s)
OLD ESTABLISHED LINE OF
COACHES,
Between Napier and Havelock.
Time Table.
Leave Havelock at   8.30 a.m.
Leave Karamu Road   9 a.m.
Leave West Clive   9.30 a.m.
Leave Napier, on return 3.30 p.m.
FARES.
From Havelock to Napier   3s 6d
From Clive to Napier   2s 6d
Return tickets, available for return same day:-
From Havelock   6s 0d
From Clive   4s 0d
Booking Office, at NEWTON & IRVINE’S Store   78

1874 April, George Grant’s coaches took over late Sydney Dyer’s business and was the first to service Karamu Rd Hastings at 9 am before the Havelock Bridge was built over the old Ngaruroro river-bed.

The level at Havelock bridge is 34ft. above the sea; East Hastings at the junction of the Karamu and Havelock Roads is 39·9ft. above the sea; and West Hastings is 44 ft above the sea.

[Newspaper notice]
THE NEW STORE
AT HASTINGS
F. D. MCDONELL,
IN opening this Store, most respectively solicits a share of the public patronage, and begs to assure those who may favour him with their support that it will be his constant endeavour and greatest pleasure to make his store as attractive as possible, by keeping only really good, substantial Articles, and selling at the Lowest possible Prices, consistent with fair dealing.
The Store being situated in the most central part of the infant township, customers will find it convenient, especially as roads from its door lead to all parts of the surrounding district.
The principle that F. D. McD. will adopt in his business will be ONE PRICE and MODERATE CHARGES; and he will take from his customers the various Sorts of Grains and other natural products of the district ad valorem.
His Stock consists of Drapery, Clothing, Ironmongery, Groceries, Hardwares, and Haberdasheries.
Hastings, April 13, 1874.   533

1874 April, Mr F. D. McDonell’s New Store at Hastings opened which was previously Somerville’s first and originally Tobias Hicks old store of ½ an acre at section 3A. McDonell traded there until 1880.

[Advertisements]
HASTINGS STORE.
R. SOMERVILLE,
GROCER, DRAPER,
AND
GENERAL STOREKEEPER.
A LARGE STOCK ALWAYS ON HAND OF
GROCERY, DRAPERY, CLOTHING, ETC., ETC.,1⁄4
Delf and Crockeryware.
COLONIAL PRODUCE BOUGHT AND SOLD.
R. SOMERVILLE, HASTINGS.

HASTINGS STORE
R. SOMERVILLE
GROCER, DRAPER
AND
General Storekeeper.
An extensive Stock of Groceries, Drapery, Clothing, &c.
Delf and Crockeryware, always on Hand.1⁄2
GOODS DELIVERED IN ANY PART OF THE DISTRICT.

Page 29

[Advertisements]
HASTING STORE.
R. SOMERVILLE,
GROCER, DRAPER.
GENERAL STOREKEEPER.
A LARGE STOCK OF
GROCERY, DRAPERY,
CLOTHING &c.
DELF & CROCKERYWARE,
ALWAYS ON HAND.
COLONIAL PRODUCE BOUGHT AND SOLD.
R. SOMERVILLE,
HASTINGS.

HASTINGS STORE.
R. SOMERVILLE
GROCER, DRAPER,
AND
GENERAL STOREKEEPER.
A LARGE STOCK OF
Grocery, Drapery,
Clothing, Etc.,
China, Glass, and Earthenware,
ALWAYS ON HAND.
COLONIAL PRODUCE BOUGHT AND SOLD.
R. SOMERVILLE,
HASTINGS.

Robert Somerville’s early advertising

Robert Somerville’s second shop on Heretaunga St west was on a James Boyle section at the corner of Market St – later (D. D. Hyde corner store then Land & Heighway saddler’s site) which he still called the ‘Hastings Store’ where he sold clothing, boots, shoes, groceries, glass, earthenware and where he was still the Karamu Postmaster.

1874 April 2nd The NZ Gazette lists – Robert Somerville appointed Karamu Postmaster at Hastings.

1874 April, The Agricultural Society bought five acres of land at Hastings for the erection of a building.

1874, The Knight Brothers from Cornwall Eng were an early business to operate in Hastings – William Frederick, Arthur Cowper, Francis John, Herbert Douglas and Benjamin Leonard Knight. They were based at Big Bush in 1872 and at Clive before establishing at Hastings as timber & cartage contractors, Timber Merchants and Sheep farmers – Hicks had offered them a site by Dr William W. Linney’s in Avenue Rd west, but they settled on their site when the battle for the railway was won for Hastings and where they had their own railway siding. They were previously carting to and fro from the railway station and later 1876 erected a general store at Hastings. The five Knight Brothers ceased their business partnership in October 1886 when Benjamin Leonard Knight took over the entire Hastings timber business asset.

1874 May Mr H. J. Knight sent his tender @ 2/- per yard for earth works outside the Hastings Railway Goods shed to Mr Powdrell at Napier.

1874 May, the Railway Hotel was built for Mr Frederick Sutton, a storekeeper from Napier built by Mr John Orr of Meeanee containing 22 rooms and three suites of private apartments, with the partially crippled landlord William Goodwin from the Tavistock in Waipukurau. Sutton was also building a house at Mangateretere where some local Maori demolished the construction and threw the material over the fence. Frederick Sutton was born Cambridgeshire, and had arrived in 1857, he married Jane Gunion 1859 he was elected a member of the Provincial Council for Napier, chairman of the County Council and member of the Education Board, he died January 1906 aged 70, leaving a widow, one son, and six daughters. Jane Sutton died 1925.

[Photo]

Frederick Sutton

Page 30

[Newspaper notice]
The Railway Hotel at Hastings, it will be observed, is advertised to be open for Business on Saturday, the 9th of May. It has already been open to the public in another capacity, one of the rooms having for some weeks past been used as a place of worship. It is a handsome and commodious building. Mr. McDonald’s store, we observe, has been opened within the past week, being the second now doing business in the township. Timber is on the ground for four or five new houses. Altogether, even before the opening of the railway, Hastings is beginning to realize the predictions made about it.

[Newspaper notice]
RAILWAY HOTEL,
HASTINGS
THIS First-class HOTEL will be opened
on SATURDAY, 9th of May.
Travellers and Visitors will find the very best Accommodation
WINES, ALES, & SPIRITS
Of the Best Kinds only kept in Stock.
Roomy Stables and Good Paddocks will be provided, and no expense will be spared to make the Hotel deserve public support.
WILLIAM GOODWIN.1⁄4
444

[Photo]

William Goodwin’s Railway Hotel opened on the 9th May 1874, the second commercial business building in Hastings, shows the long fence to the hotel situated further down Heretaunga St east from Station St corner than appears, Goodwin advertised the Railway Hotel steadily for the first year along with other HB Hotels and then he stopped advertising around 1876. William Goodwin held stewardship over the developing town for the next two years. The Railway Hotel was used as a central place to take injured persons to be attended by the local doctor as well as conducting coroner’s cases and some local meetings.

1874, The first Masonic Hall was built on Section 36 at St Aubyn St opposite Williams St

1874 July, THE HASTINGS DISTRICT – ONE MEMBER. Commences at the junction of the Tutaekuri Waimate with the Ngaruroro River follows up that river to Omaomakui crossing it at that point then following along the eastern boundary of the Maraekakaho Block to the boundary between Messrs McLean’s and Mason’s runs follows along that boundary in a south-westerly direction to the
Manga-o-nuku Stream follows up that stream and along the northern boundary of G. G. Carlyon’s run to the Kereru Bush sections thence along the eastern northern and western boundaries of the Kereru Bush sections and along the boundary between Messrs Williams’ Lyon’s and Duff ’s runs to the western boundary of the Province follows along the western boundary of the Province to the Tutaekuri River at the southern boundary of the Napier Country District and along that boundary to The starting point at the junction of the Tutaekuri Waimate with the Ngaruroro River.

Many of the early Hastings Settlers came from around Somerset England

1874 August, The Havelock Bridge was completed by Mr Reynolds the contractor at £795, 218ft length, and 14ft width with 43 piles

Page 31

1874 September, The Voice of Karamu – complaints were made about the drunkenness since the Railway Hotel had opened – with loud lewd expressions from nocturnal brawlers late at night outside the hotel door.

1874, The Havelock Mounted Policeman (possibly Constable Satchwell) – who would ride into Hastings and tether his horse at the Railway Station near its Heretaunga St unfenced location opposite the Railway Hotel from where he would observe for any offenses being committed following a complaint letter to the newspaper regarding lewd language outside the Railway Hotel door. Later Constable Heffernan was stationed at Havelock.

1874 September’ The Hastings Trout – Mr Goodwin had obtained five to six thousand Scottish trout and ova landed in good condition via by the Rangatira on her last trip from Otago. He put them in a fenced pond presumable behind the hotel near the artesian well and windmill. Mr Goodwin had a local businessman build some boxes for the trout by two workmen then after the local businessman walked to the pond to view the fish with Mr Goodwin’s daughter; all the fish suddenly died which cause some tension between them. Speculation was they died from the unoxiginated [un-oxygenated] artesian water.  The two workmen were staying at the Railway Hotel, Mr Goodwin had a dispute with the businessman’s foreman and the two workers had to find alternative accommodation. Other trout were released in the high country rivers and they seem to be thriving.

1874 September 17th Karaitiana Takamoana wrote salutation to James Boyle saying he was too ill to attend meeting Re: one road cropping right in the centre, and not to listen to the natives.

1874 September 28th Letter from J. N. Williams, Frimley Havelock to Charles Weber Re: drains since railway line put through. Dear Weber, I came across the railway today on my south boundary with Wellwood and was astonished to find that no culvert had been made at that point. You may remember that the forming goes over an artesian well. From that well towards Hastings I had a drain fonce [fence], chains of which was covered up by the forming. This drain is the only outlet for about one thousand acres of land including nearly the whole of Hastings, Norris & Groom’s sections. The flax swamps in the pond of Norris and the paddocks at the back of my house on times of heavy rain there is a great wash of water completely overflowing the drains which are now as yet nearly large enough to carry away the flood water. The southern portion of Wellwood’s paddock through to which the line passes has always been under water at such times as well as the lower part of my paddock on each side of the drain. In my paddock and near to Hastings there is a large culvert which would have answered the purpose very well had it been at the point I have named. In its present position and looking at it from my point of view it is not require. Hoping you will excuse me for troubling you about this. I am yours very truly – J. N. Williams

[Newspaper article]
In a few days the long promised opening of the Railway will take place, not from Napier to Paki Paki, as it ought to have been many months ago, but for a distance, viz., from Napier to Hastings. On the principle that we ought to be thankful for small mercies, we are glad to announce the approaching opening of this small moiety [portion] of our local Railway, the prosecution of which has been hitherto terribly slow, as was admitted by the Minister of Public Works in his opening speech last session, and we may be sure that when such an admission was made in that quarter there has been good grounds for the complaints which have been made from time to time for the last twelve months as to the slow pace at which the works have advanced. No doubt the contractors have been subjected to difficulties in getting a supply of sleepers, and other material, and, so far as the line to the Spit is concerned, the “permanent” way has been altered several times, through no fault of the contractor. We hope, now that something like a “spurt” has been put on, that by the end of the present year, at all events, there will be uninterrupted communication between Port Ahuriri and Paki Paki.

1874 October

1874 October 12th – The opening of the first section of Railway from Napier to Hastings. The event was celebrated by an excursion and picnic trip for about 100 people given by Mr Henderson of Brogden and Sons. It was a windy day and numerous invitations had been issued, the Napier town band was enlisted for the occasion and played a lively tune and a

Page 32

few minutes after twelve the train consisting of an engine decorated with flags, ferns and evergreens, two passenger carriages decorated with buntings along the roof, two trucks and a break van all used by passengers for the occasion left Napier, with a stop at Farndon and Mr Williams at Tomoana, reaching the Hastings station within forty minutes. Here a tent was erected by Mr Goodwin but due to the wind the patronage took shelter in the Railway Hotel where an excellent luncheon with champagne was provided, to which the excursionists did full justice. (Poss [possibly] trout fingerlings on the menu) The Napier town band was in attendance and played popular airs. Mr Rhodes MPC proposed a toast of heath [health] to Mr Henderson, the room was cleared away for dancing with sprit [spirit]. The arrival of the train to Hastings attracted many visitors from Havelock and surrounding areas. While the trail [train] was stationed some of the Havelock children were allowed to clamber into the carriages and sit on the seats for a few minutes. When the train returned the party re-assembled on the platform where a impromptu ceremony was performed on the station platform by Miss Carlyon Herbert sister-in-law to Henry Robert Russell broke a bottle of Champagne for the christening of the engine ‘The Hastings’ among amid cheering and handkerchief waving. Some of the visitors went to see the cattle show yards (Eastbourne St west and Lyndon Rd west) The yards were being ready for a cattle show on Thursday, others inspected Mr Goodwin’s fish pond where his recent batch of trout fingerlings and ova from Otago had all died. About 3 p.m. a fierce blast stripped the galvanized roof from the unfinished railway station house and carried sheets of it completely across an extensive paddock. Several gentlemen at various times were seen engaged in a wild chase after fugitive hats, which in some instances were captured with considerable difficulty. The carriages were again filled, and a few minutes after 4 p.m. the homeward start was made, (the whole party arriving in Napier without any mishap except for an occasional stop to retrieve a hat). The trains will run regularly to and from Hastings from this day forward. The passenger accommodation is excellent, and every attention was shown by those in charge of the affair. The opening celebration, notwithstanding the somewhat unfavourable weather, was very successful.

Theodore Jackson Stanley was a passenger in the first train that ran from Napier to Hastings. He was born in Dorsetshire, England and sailed for Napier in the ship Helcyone in 1874. He engaged in his trade as a builder and joiner [joined] with Mr Ashton of Napier for several years before moving to Waipawa.

[Newspaper notice – New Zealand Railways Timetable]

Mr Charles H. Weber was the railways provincial engineer at Napier

1874 October 13th Messer Routledge Kennedy & Co held a sale at the HB Agricultural and Pastoral Society’s yards at Hastings for 108 of Dr Brown’s two year old pure Lincoln rams and 48 ram hoggets of Robert Hood.

1874 October 15th Thursday, Hastings – a thousand people attended the first HB Agricultural and Pastoral show held on the 4 acres between Eastbourne St west and Lyndon Rd west that had sales yards erected. They would have walked from the station along the newly formed Railway Rd to the show grounds. The entrance paddock was plentifully dotted with traps and horses.

Page 33

[Newspaper notice]
HAWKE’S BAY AGRICULTURAL AND PASTORAL SOCIETY.
ANNUAL SHOW.
TO BE HELD AT
Hastings, on Thursday, 15th October, 1874,
PRESIDENT:
J. D. Canning, Esq. J. P. [Justice of the Peace]
VICE-PRESIDENT:
J. N. Williams, Esq. J. P.
SECRETARY AND TREASURER:
W. Routledge, Esq. M.P.C.

[Newspaper article]
HAWKE’S BAY AGRICULTURAL AND PASTORAL SOCIETY’S SHOW.

Yesterday was a general holiday in Napier, on the occasion of the above Society’s annual Show, and a very large number of the inhabitants of the town and suburbs availed themselves of the opportunity of taking a trip to the Society’s yards at Hastings. The newly-opened railway carried a large proportion of the visitors, the noon “train” especially was liberally patronised, and it very nearly exhausted all the resources of the locomotive establishment, as at present constituted, to convey the whole of the living freight to and from the scene of action. Room, however, was found by judicious “packing” in the carriages, and the utilization of all the available trucks, for all comers, who were conveyed Hastings and back again, with safety and despatch. The weather was fine, and very suitable for a holiday excursion, except that there was a high wind and a good deal of dust, which might have been dispensed with, but the gale was nothing to that of Monday last, when a large number travelled over the same ground on the occasion of the opening of the line. The Show was a decided success as regards the quality of t1⁄4he animals exhibited, but, in respect of numbers of exhibits, it fell short of what was expected. Merinos specially being but scantily represented. There were, however, a few very fine ewes and rams in this class, and the champion of last year again drew the prize, taking double honours on this occasion. There were some good horses shown, but no cattle. A very neatly built four-wheel phaeton, Shanly and Co. was shown, which was used as a rostrum by Mr. Routledge and Mr. Miller, when selling stock after the Show. It is somewhat difficult to compute numbers accurately on these occasions, but we should judge that there was not less than a thousand people on the ground in the middle of the day. We observed His Honor the Superintendent, and most of the leading sheep farmers of the province, and businessmen of the town, at intervals during the day, in the yards, evidently taking much interest in days proceedings. There was no public dinner, but an excellent luncheon was provided for the Committee and their friends by Host Goodwin, of the Railway Hotel, and there were plenty of Refreshments at the same establishment for all comers. The Judges on this occasion were – for Merinos, Messrs. Peacock, Mackersey, and J. Nairn; for Long-wools Messrs. Owen, Peat (Wanganui), and Bryden (Christchurch); and, for Horses (draught), Messrs. Tanner, Orr, and M’Hardy; (thoroughbreds),  Messrs. Condie, Fleming, and Walker. The following prizes were adjudged:-

[Newspaper notice]
HAVELOCK – HASTINGS
GEORGE GRANT has commenced to RUN a COACH between Havelock and Hastings Railway Station.
Coaches leave in connection with arrival and departure of trains, as follows:-
HAVELOCK   HASTINGS
8.40 a.m.   9.15 a.m.
11.20 a.m.   12 noon
3.30 p.m.   4.20 p.m.
Fares, from Havelock to Hastings, 1s. [shilling]
Parcels carried at Moderate Rates.
Buggies and Saddle Horses for Hire on Moderate Terms. Horses broken to single and double harness. Good paddocking for Horses.
GEORGE GRANT
October 21, 1874.   400

Page 34

1874 October

[Newspaper notice]
TO THE INHABITANTS OF HASTINGS AND SURROUNDING DISTRICTS.
JOHN McDONALD,
BUTCHER,
HAS commenced Business in the above Township, and trusts, by supplying the Best Meat at Moderate Prices, to merit the support of the Residents.
Small Goods always on Hand.
675   JOHN McDONALD.

1874 October, John McDonald a Hawera friend of Thomas Foreman commenced a butchery business in a shed at Hastings offering the Best Meat at moderate prices. John McDonald moved to Woodville in the 1880’s where he was a farmer, but later returned to Napier, there was a John McDonald buried at Hastings in June 1925 aged 83

Thomas Foreman was born in Taranaki and saw some service during the Maori war, he married Marie Graham 1874, Thomas died July 1895 aged 49 and Marie died October 1902. Thomas Foreman also opened a butchery store at Hastings, later Foreman joined with John Hague to form the Family Butchers. John Robottom was an employee in 1878 when he was killed in a train accident.

Apparently Knight Brothers built their first 4 roomed house on Market St by the railway reserve for Thomas Foreman made from white pine milled at Big Bush – the two front rooms were taken by boundary rider and ploughman Edward (Teddy) Kirk and his young wife Frances for a short while until he bought a small section on Market St and built his own sod house were his daughter Annie was born 1875. Edward Kirk a Labourer had moved to Havelock and worked for Tanner. His wife Frances died November 1910 at their Caroline Rd home aged 66, Edward died at Hastings July 1936.

1874 November, the telegraph line installed and link office at the southern end of the Hastings railway station platform.

1874 December, G. H. Norris held a sale of his North Karamu sections which held some interest since the trains were now running daily between Napier and Hastings.

[Newspaper notice]
Sales by Mr. Lyndon.
THIS DAY.
IMPORTANT LAND SALE.
Tuesday, December 22nd, 1874,
At 2 o’clock
MR. EDWARD LYNDON
Has received instructions from G. H. NORRIS, Esq. to dispose of, by Public Auction, on the above date, the whole of his valuable estate at Karamu, consisting of –
180 ACRES of the richest Agricultural Land.
This Valuable Property, distant only half a mile from the Hastings Station, will be laid off in convenient blocks of
5, 10, 15, and 20 acres each,
in order to afford to the Residents of Napier an opportunity of purchasing sites for Villa Residences.
The Family Residence, supplied with water from an artesian well, with excellent Garden and Orchard, together with Paddocks all fenced in, offers an excellent opportunity to anyone seeking either a home or an investment.
That Hastings will soon become an important town, and in all probability, the
CAPITAL OF THE PROVINCE,
is now beyond all question, and is evidenced by the increasing demand and value of the sections in the Township, which should also bring into equal demand the Valuable Property now offered for sale by Public Auction.
Terms – Quarter cash; balance at 3, 6, and 12 months’ Promissory Notes, bearing interest at 8 per cent.
EDWARD LYNDON,
726   Auctioneer.

[Newspaper notice]
W. K. McLEAN,
ACCOUNTANT,
STOCK AND STATION,
AND
GENERAL COMMISSION AGENT,
Has for Sale,
STATION PROPERTIES in different parts of the North Island. Also, several Blocks of First-class AGRICULTURAL LAND in the TAURANGA DISTRICT.
Title from the Crown.
Store Sheep, after Shearing,
HALF-BRED WEDDERS, MERINO EWES AND WEDDERS.
In the TOWNSHIP OF HASTINGS.
Sections 9, 10, 11, 12, and 15, FRONTING the RAILWAY STATION RESERVE in the above new and flourishing Township, in the centre of the future great Agricultural District of the Province of Hawke’s Bay.
For further particulars, apply to
W. K. McLEAN,
Hastings-street,
64   Napier.

Page 35949

1874 December, Norris land sale and 1874 December, W. K. McLean selling on Sections 9, 10, 11, 12 and 15 at Hastings. Gilbert Honeywood Norris moved up to Gisbourne [Gisborne].

1874 December 9th – Letter from Mr J.N. Williams to Mr Charles H. Weber, The railways provincial engineer at Napier in the matter of railway crossings – I did not find out till just yesterday that no crossing is being made outside Guy Hamilton’s fence at the back of Hastings. There is a road thirty links wide right round Hamilton’s sections. I must therefore ask you to have a crossing made where the railway cross this road.

1874 December, Good progress is being made with the bridge over the old Ngaruroro River course between Hastings and Paki Paki, and that the engine will soon be able to run between the two places. Mr George Lines was an early settler at Hastings, b:1827 Bedfordshire, England in the year of Queen Victoria’s accession, migrated to Adelaide in 1855 with his parents, a brother and three sisters, in a Dutch ship, the Fop Smit. In 1870 he came to Hawke’s Bay, after working for some time as a farm hand he married had two sons, four daughters and built one of the first dwellings at Hastings – the fourth house in the town, on a section be had purchased for £5. Later he exchanged a horse for an adjoining section of half an acre. He lived to a hundred years.

1874, The town began to progress with Knight Brothers building cheap standard 2 or 4 roomed wooden houses with shingle roofs and brick chimneys, later more expensive villas began to appear around the town.

1874 December 18th Friday – The HB Agricultural and Pastoral Society committee meeting was held where Mr G. Peacock gave a reading.

1874 December 31st – Mr M. R. Miller auctioneer held another sheep sale at the Pastoral and Agricultural Society’s yards at Hastings

[Newspaper notice]
EXCURSION TRAINS
ON NEW YEAR’S DAY the ordinary Time Table will be SUSPENDED, And EXCURSION trains will Run as follows:-
Napier.   Dep.   9 a.m. for Spit
Napier   Dep.   9.30 a.m. for Hastings
Napier   Dep.   11.15 a.m. for Hastings
Hastings.   Dep.   4 p.m. for Spit949
Hastings   Dep.   6 p.m. for Napier
Excursion Tickets, irrespective of class, 3s each.
WILLIAM BOGLE,
989   Traffic Manager.

1875 January

1875 January, the railway line to Paki Paki was completed and opened and tenders at £12 for two 5th class Station Masters houses at Hastings and Paki Paki

1875, A contract for the construction of another longer goods engine shed for £525 was let to Mr Edward Ashton at the northern end of the Reserve where Station St was formed.

1875, The area around the Hastings Railway Station was very muddy in winter and required metalling.

1875, Hastings township consisted of the Hicks and the Boyle’s blocks, most of the roads were still paper-streets only. Hastings now possessed a small Railway Station with platform and a Goods Shed, a Hotel, Tobias Hicks store was sold to Mr McDonell, Somerville opened a new shop on Market St corner, a butcher’s shed and a few cottages were already built around Market St, a Maori Pa and Tanner’s old shepherds cottage with many outlying homesteads on the larger farm blocks who now regarded Hastings as their township.

The Makirikiri creek still flowed freely around the township of Thomas Tanner’s undeveloped block, apart from the new Railway bridge there is no mention of any street bridges within the township at this point – the

Page 36

Havelock Road into Hastings (Heretaunga St east) would have had a ford to cross just before the Hastings St corner, and the original ford at the Karamu Rd sth where the railway intersected. A drain was also constructed from near Karamu Rd sth along the Railway line to connect with the new Southland drainage system.

[Survey map]

Shows the Makirikiri creek winding its way along its original course through section 2 and 5 of the later Racecourse sections of Guy Hamilton under the railway bridge at the Karamu Road intersect to the Reserve where the bottlenecking later formed the wider Jubilee Lake on Section 5, then the Makirikiri creek meandered around Tanner’s undeveloped block towards his homestead.

1875, From April William Goodwin the Hastings Poundkeeper started advertising impounded animals to be sold – mostly horses that were probably frightened by the train whistles.

[Newspaper notices]
IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS949
By George Love, Gordon and Hill’s Station,
One bay Mare and Foal, white star on forehead, indistinct brand on off shoulder, about 15 hands high.
Will be sold this day fortnight, at noon, unless redeemed.
W. GOODWIN,
Poundkeeper.
April 28, 1875.   484

IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS
By George Love, Gordon and Hill’s Station.
Dark iron grey Filly small white spot on forehead, branded on near shoulder like I about twelve and a-half hands.
Bay Filly, white spot on forehead, branded off shoulder RK, about thirteen and a-half hands.
Grey Mare, indistinct brand on near shoulder, stiff in off foot, lock joint, about 14 hands.
Will be sold on Thursday, 5th August, at noon, unless redeemed.
W. GOODWIN,
Poundkeeper,

IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS –
By Stewart Millar, Flaxmere, July 26.
Dark bay Horse, white blaze down forehead, no brand visible, about 14½ hands high.
Will be sold Wednesday, the 11th August, unless redeemed.
W. GOODWIN,
Poundkeeper.

1875 June 21st – Letter from Robert Farmer to Superintendant  J. D. Ormond at Napier – Re: The occasional lost of his sheep due to the railway line being unfenced on the Longlands property and seeking funding from the government to undertake the 4 miles of fencing required at £80 per mile – the same terms as other runholders along the railway line. Willow Pa was at Longlands.

1875 June 30th The Annual Report – Assistant Engineer-in-Chief to the Hon. the Minister for Public Works, Wellington. The Hastings to Paki Paki – This line has been kept in very good repair and in addition to the ordinary repairs to permanent way, the banks have, in many cases, been widened. The rolling stock has been kept in good repair. The expenses on this line have been smaller than at Auckland, owing to its being nearly level the whole way, there has consequently been less wear and tear on the rolling stock, and the cost of haulage has been less but, on the other hand, coals and all stores are far higher. The result of the income and expenditure for the portion of the half-year ending 31st December, 1874, showed expenditure at 35-99 per cent, of revenue, but this satisfactory result was occasioned by the fact that the maintenance formed no portion of the expense, the contractor having to maintain the line, as usual, at his own cost. The expenditure up to 30th June, 1875, shows 65 per cent, of receipts and considering the great cost of labour and stores, and the smallness of the traffic I consider the result very satisfactory. It must be borne in mind that we carried very little wool last season, owing to the fact that during the greater portion of the wool season the line only extended to Hastings, which is two miles from the public road, without a good road leading to it; and also, in some measure, to the want of goods sheds wherein to store it. In fact, the goods sheds are not yet all complete, owing to the want of labour and timber, which latter has chiefly to be imported from Auckland. There have been no accidents on the line during the year. The traffic appears steady.

1875 July 24th – The Karamu Post Office was transferred to the small Telegraph Office at the southern end of the Hastings Railway Station building still under the command of Mr Robert Somerville a Storekeeper

1875 July, Hastings Mixed State School opened on St Aubyn St east opposite Williams St (Holt Pl)

Page 37

[Advertisements]
H. C. CHAPMAN
CARPENTER AND BUILDER
HASTINGS.
ESTIMATES FURNISHED
All Work executed with Neatness and Despatch.

H. C. CHAPMAN
CARPENTER & BUILDER
HASTINGS.

Henry Charles Chapman, a Carpenter & Builder

The first school lessons were conducted in the old Masonic Hall at Section 36 on St Aubyn St opposite Williams St (Holt Pl) later a Mixed State School was built by Mr Henry Charles Chapman 20ft x 40ft with a totara shingle roof on Section 36 St Aubyn St and opened in July 1875 with 7 pupils – 4 were Chapman children, Mr William Owen McLeod headmaster, a month after opening a further 13 reluctant pupils were added and the necessity to divide the classroom in two with a curtain in 1877, with Miss L. Chapman teacher and Miss Kate Doney was appointed in September 1878 as a pupil teacher and sewing teacher. There was no well, water tanks or porch. A teacher’s residence was later built.

[Newspaper article]
13 Hastings Mixed School.
Master, Mr. W. A. McLeod. On Roll, Boys 23, Girls 15, Total 38; average attendance 36. Inspected, Dec. 3,1875; May 22, 1876.
This is an entirely new School, having been opened within the year. The Scholars are all advancing in learning, and seem a diligent lot. I have no doubt of their getting on rapidly, they continue to be regular in their attendance. Their Teacher is both active and pains-taking.

[Photo]

Pupils and staff of the first Hastings Mixed State School and the Masters residence on School Reserve opposite first Williams St (Holt Pl) near the corner of St Aubyn St and Station St in 1879.

The NZ Loan & Mercantile Agency Co Ltd Hastings branch office building was later situated in St Aubyn St east at the old State School Reserve site opposite where Robert Holts would be, it later merged with Dalgety NZ Ltd on the same site.

William Owen McLeod was born February 1848 at Auckland, in 1869 he married Mary Grundy born October 1850 at Hawick [Howick] Auckland, they had 11 children, one child died in Auckland aged 2.

In 1880, Thomas Tanner donated 5½ acres for a new State School to be built from kauri on the corner of Karamu Rd sth and Southampton St which back onto the Makirikiri creek. Seven Chapman children attended.

Page 38

James Ebbett was born 1842 at Belturbet Cavan, Ireland, the son of Moses Ebbett and Jane Pattison, they arrived in 1865. In December 1871 James married Sarah Jane Carbett at Puketapu. Sarah was born 1845 at Tyrone, Ireland. They had seven children.

George Ebbett was born in Hawke’s Bay in October 1872, the son of James Ebbett a well-known settler of Hastings and Eliza Sarah Jane Corbett – they had married in 1871 – George attended the Hastings State School. He had four brothers and two sisters.

1875 July, August, Sections began to be advertised for lease at Hastings

[Newspaper notices]
HASTINGS.
For lease,
For a Term of Years,
SECTIONS No. 33 and 34, adjoining Norris’s Homestead, containing four acres of very rich Agricultural Land, all securely fenced in.
Apply to
EDWARD LYNDON,
286   Land and Estate Agent.

TOWNSHIP OF HASTINGS.
FOR SALE – Several SECTIONS in close proximity to the Railway Station.
Apply to W. K. McLEAN
726   Hastings-street.

[Newspaper article]
CORRESPONDENCE
The editor does not hold himself responsible for opinions expressed by correspondents.
THE PARADE OF HORSES.
SIR, – The parade of entire horses which is announced to take place to-day, at the H.B.A. and P. Society, has evidently not met with the general approval of country settlers, especially of those who reside at a distance. The sentiments expressed by Mr. Canning in the HERALD of today are, I sure, shared by many, who are of opinion that injustice will be done by Mr. Routledge having given such hurried Notice of the meeting; in consequence, Settlers who do not live near town will be virtually prevented from sending their horses for exhibition. It seems to me that Mr. Routledge has made a very improper use of his position as Secretary of the Society in this matter, and it convinces me that the Society should have some one other than a auctioneer  to be secretary. Take the present case as it stands. Mr. Routledge, an auctioneer, hears that Mr. Whiteman, another auctioneer, contemplates holding a parade of entire horses at his sale at Farndon on the 16th inst.: upon the strength of this, Mr. Routledge, in order to double-bank a rival in his line of business, calls two or three of the H.B. A. Society together, and notifies that a parade of entire horses will take place “under the auspices of the Society,” at Hastings, on the 7th inst, [instant] a week before the other show, and allowing very little time indeed for up-country farmers to send in their stock should they desire to do so. If this is not making an improper use of his position as secretary, I don’t know what is.- I am, &c.
A COUNTRY SETTLER.
Napier, 6th September.

1875 September, Letters to the editor complaining about Mr Routledge misusing his position

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE
AT HASTINGS,
A COMFORTABLE FOUR-ROOMED HOUSE, on Town Section No. 14, containing quarter of an acre, all fenced in; good well of never-failing water.
E. LYNDON,
777.   Land and Estate Agent.

1875 December 1st – First house advertised to be sold at Hastings

1875 Heretaunga district residents lists – J. Abbot farmer, J. Collinge farmer, H. Chapman carpenter, M. Groom farmer, W. Goodwin hotel keeper, T. Hicks postmaster, G. Hamilton farmer, D. Joll farmer, G. H.

Page 39

Norris farmer, Capt. W. Russell runholder, P. Ramsey farmer, S. Roe farmer, J. N. Williams runholder and Robert Wellwood farmer.

1875, Stoneycroft – a Victorian-styled colonial town-house was built for William John Birch while he farmed on his remote property – Erewhon Station’s on the Taihape Road. The original Stoneycroft property was 49 acres, but land sold by the various owners since the 1890s, meant the property now has only 2.4 hectares of land at 901 Omahu Rd.

[Survey map – part of Subdn.[Sub-division] D. HERETAUNGA, block 28.]

Stoneycroft , Plan of suburban and farm lots in Hastings. Part division D, Heretaunga block 28. The property of W. J. Birch Esq. The plan shows two land lots of 35 acres bordering Omahu Road. J. N. Williams has land adjoining lot 1, J. D. Ormond and W. J. Birch have land adjoining lot 2.

[Photo]
1875, The Stoneycroft homestead was built on Omahu Rd for William John Birch.

William John Birch was born in England in 1842, the son of W. J. Birch of Pudlicot House, Charlbury, Oxford. 1874 William married Lydia Ethedreda [Etheldreda] Larden, the daughter of the Rev. W. Larden, Vicar of Arkel, Shropshire. They came to New Zealand in 1860 by the Wild Duck and settled in Hawke’s Bay. William took an active interest in the local bodies and was a member1⁄4 of the Hawke’s Bay County Council. He was the first white settler in the Moawkanga[Moawhanga] district. With his brother – Captain Birch, they underwent all the vicissitudes of the pioneer colonists and in the Maori war – William acted as a brigade-major under Colonel McDonnell in the Te Kooti risings, he also served in other expeditions. In 1867 after several years as a cadet in Hawke’s Bay with his brother Captain Birch, they crossed the Ruahines and settled at Inland Patea, taking up with his brother a large area of land they named Erewhon. This became one of the best-known pioneer sheep stations in the Upper Rangitikei, its only communication at that time being by a track over the Ruahine ranges to Hawke’s Bay. He was the founder of the Farmers’ Union and took keen interest in it from its inception. His advice was particularly valuable to this body, a fact which is recognized by the great number of years he sat on the Advisory Board of the Union. In 1875 his Stoneycroft town house was built at Hastings. In 1880, W. J. Birch was listed as seconding in the formation of the Freezing Meat Co at Hastings. In April 1882, Letter from W. J. Birch, Honorary Secretary Acclimatisation Society (Hawke’s Bay) Hastings. Subject: That Postmaster should inform Chief Ranger of name etc of each license holder. In June 1882, Letter from W. J. Birch Hastings. Subject: Urging the constitution of Erewhon Road District [Petition]

In November 1882 – W. J. Birch of Stoneycroft was charged under a Breach of the Slaughterman’s Act – Mr W. J. Birch, of Stoneycroft, sheepfarmer, was charged, on the information of Thomas Aldridge, inspector of slaughter houses, with that the defendant did at Stoneycroft on the 18th ultimo, keep a place for slaughtering cattle intended for sale, not being an abattoir lawfully erected or provided, or a slaughter-house licensed by the council of the corporate body (to wit, the County of Hawke’s Bay) within which, the said place is situate. On further information charged the same defendant with having caused to be slaughtered four sheep at a certain place (to wit, Stoneycroft aforesaid) the same not being an

Page 40

abattoir and not being a slaughterhouse duly licensed under the provisions of the Slaughterman’s Act, 1877 Mr Cotterill appeared for the prosecution and Mr McLean for the defendant. The legal points of the case were argued at considerable length by the counsel on either side. In giving judgment His Worship said it was clear to him that the section of the Act quoted by Mr McLean in the defence was meant to apply to persons who were large runholders only, and who killed meat for their own and their employees’ use, and not to persons who made a practice of selling the meat. A nominal penalty of 10s with 7s costs, and counsel’s fee £1. 1s would be inflicted in each case. Subsequently Mr W. J. Birch intends applying for a slaughter license for Stoneycroft at Hastings.

In 1886 both Mr Birch and Mr Ormond had small hop plantations growing on their Omahu Road properties.

[Caricature]

NZ Truth caricature – Mr W J Birch, Treasure NZ Farmers Union, Marton

Mr W. J. Birch’s Stoneycroft property consisting of house and 40 acres of ornamental grounds and paddocks, situated on the Omahu road Hastings was sold to Mr N. E. Beamish for the sum of £2600 sterling in August 1890.

Around 1897 the Birch’s moved to Marton, William John Birch had been ill for a long time and died in May 1920 at Thoresby Marton aged 78, his wife Lydia Ethedreda Birch nee Larden died 1927 aged 74.

Late 1875, the Hastings Railway Station buildings were moved 100 yards further north from Heretaunga St end of the Reserve to near the Queen St east end of the Reserve. The station site was to be moved another two times.

[Survey plan – showing railway station]

Plan shows the Railway Hotel marked further east along Heretaunga St east than the photos suggest – past the Railway Reserve land. The Railway Station and Goods shed are now moved north to their second position and Station St along the Reserve still unformed

Originally there was access over the Queen St and Avenue Rd rail crossings, but not at the St Aubyn St crossing until later. The northern part of Railway St (Station St) was already formed from Queen St to Avenue Rd and on to the State School. St Aubyn St west to as far as Nelson St, then Edgeley Rd with Treacle Lane between Avenue Rd and St Aubyn St west. Edgeley Rd later became part of St Aubyn St west.

1875 December 1st – The new Hastings stationmaster – Mr David A. Wright commenced work and was the Postmaster & Telegraph. The Post Office continued to operate within the Hastings Railway Station until 1893.

Page 41

[Newspaper notice]1⁄4
NEW ZEALAND RAILWAYS.
NAPIER AND WAIPUKURAU
ON CHRISTMAS DAY, December 25, 1875,
The ordinary Time Table will be suspended, and Trains will run AS ON SUNDAYS.
ON BOXING DAY (MONDAY) December 27 [26],
The ordinary Time Table will be suspended, and Trains will run as follow: –
UP –
a.m.   a.m.   p.m.   p.m.
Napier, dep.   7.30   10.30   12.30   4.30
Farndon, dep.   7.55   10.55   12.55   4.55
Hastings, dep.   8.20 arr.   11.20   1.20   5.20
Paki Paki, arr.    8.40   –   1.40   5.40
DOWN –
Paki Paki, dep.   9.0   –    2.0   6.0
Hastings, dep.   9.20 dep.   11.30   2.20   6.20
Farndon, dep.   9.46   11.55   2.45   6.45
Napier, arr.   10.20   12.20   3.10   7.10
Trains between Napier and Spit will NOT RUN.
By order.
W. J. MILLER,
General Manager.
Napier, December 21, 1875.   1097

[Newspaper notice]
NEW ZEALAND RAILWAYS.
NAPIER AND WAIPUKURAU.
ON SATURDAY, 1st January, 1876, the ordinary Time Table will be suspended, and Trains will run as follow :-
UP –
a.m.   a.m.   p.m.   p.m.
Napier, dep.   7.30   12.30   4.0
Farndon, dep.   7.55   12.55   4.25
Hastings, dep.   8.20   1.20   4.50
Paki Paki, arr.   8.40   1.40   5.10
DOWN –
Paki Paki, dep.   9.0   2.0   5.45
Hastings, dep.   9.21   2.21   6.6
Farndon, dep.   9.46   2.46   6.31
Napier, arr.   10.11   3.11   6.56
Trains will also leave Napier for Farndon at 10.25 a.m. and 11.25 a.m. and Farndon for Napier at 4.30 p.m. and 5.30 p.m.
Trains between Napier and Spit will NOT RUN.
N. B.- Return Tickets at single fares between all Stations.
By Order.
W. J. MILLER,
General manager.
Napier, December 28, 1875.   1147

1875 December, The trains now went as far as Waipukurau with special trains put on for Christmas, Boxing and New Years day

Francis Hicks was not involved in any of the early town or church meetings or committees

[Photo]

Francis Hicks left the district

1875, The opportunistic and now wealthy Francis Hicks was not involved in any of the early town or church meetings or committees – he had made a lot of money in securing a new township that he named Hastings and now he left the district. He was probably amazed at the rapid progress of Hastings – far greater than he had ever imagined. While an earlier time at Cambridge, Hicks was deeply impressed by the bush land and held a desire to obtain a property there, so he travelled up to the Waikato to buy land.

Tobias William Hicks also left the district and also purchased a farm of 217 acres in the Waikato dairy farming and fruit growing, he died in 1923 aged 77.

AJHR [Appendix to the Journal of the House of Representatives], Royal Commission on Land Tenure in 1905 session examines Mr Francis Hicks. 179. The Chairman – Do you hold land? I hold 850 acres of freehold. 180. Is there anything you wish to bring before the Commission? I would like to draw the attention of the Commission to the spread of noxious weeds on Maori leaseholds in this neighbourhood. These leases are so insecure that the tenants do not care to tackle the noxious weeds, which are spreading to such an extent that they are ruining the whole country about here. There is one place about four miles from here practically covered with blackberry, and nothing is being done to eradicate it owing to the present unsatisfactory position of Maori lands. The occupants of these lands are simply tenants at will, and they can do nothing. If something is not done shortly a lot of the adjoining land will scarcely be worth owning. I think the Government should take the matter in hand immediately. Another block of Native land, which is also surrounded by settlers, is fast becoming covered with ragwort. Two or three years ago I did not know what ragwort was, and now there are hundreds of plants on my property and it is spreading rapidly. These Native lands are a menace to the district. 181. Have you any other matter to place before us? I would like to say that I came to this colony from England forty-five years ago to get the freehold. I saw something of the injurious effects of landlordism in England, where the tenants were simply in the hands of the landlords. Of course, I mean private landlords. I am a freeholder out and out, and I can assure you that I feel it is

Page 42

in the very best interests of the country that the freehold should be given under certain conditions. lam sure a man will work harder and make a much better settler and stand by his country better under freehold, when a man with a less secure tenure would go elsewhere. 182. Mr. Matheson – Do you think the Government should take action to deal more effectually with noxious weeds on Native lands? Most assuredly. 183. Mr. Forbes – You say you left the Old Country after seeing the evils of private landlordism, and you came to New Zealand to get the freehold Do you not think it is the duty of the State to see, by legislation, that that sort of thing does not occur in New Zealand ? I think it is the sacred duty of the State to see it does not arise here. 184. If you allow the country from end to end to become freehold might not the same evils arise here? No. I would be the first to assist in putting them down by legislating that no man shall hold more than a certain area of first- or second-class land. 185. You think that under such legislation there would not be the same chance of these evils arising here? I do not think it could do so.

[Photo]

1911, Francis Hicks standing front of horse with the Bank of New Zealand behind built in 1908 on his land. The man standing next to the buggy is a doctor. Dolan & Ferguson, Barristers and Solicitors had their office on the first floor.

[Photos]

In January 1911, after an absence of 36 years Francis Hicks visited Hastings which he had named, the block that he sold off forms one of the principal business areas of the township of Hastings and it was reported then that he had named it after Warren Hastings.

1911 February, Francis Hicks was not really aware of all the progress of Hastings – far greater than he possibly imagined since 1875 with multiple rebuilding after the major fires. Hicks wandered around the town, from one street to another, with sentimental memories of bygone days until he completely lost himself. All his old friends, with the exception of five, one being Mr Collinge the Town Clerk, have passed away in the interval, since he and they were the original pioneers of the now flourishing town. Hicks commented on the valuable gift of the Railway Reserve he had given to the town, in that he was very dissatisfied with the class of buildings erected thereon – he considered the whole block was an eyesore and blot on the town. Perhaps Hicks had imagined an English railway station village development at Hastings? Francis Hicks

Page 43

had intended returning to Hastings to move in this matter, but unfortunately he died suddenly of angina at Pukekura in February 1911 and was buried at Cambridge with intestate valued at £9000 less death duties.

Hicks was reputed to have invented a Woollen Roller, Wire Strainer and was a pioneered in the use of Fertilisers. Apparently Hicks eldest daughter aged around seven recalled the moment she was present at the occasion when her father officially signed over the railway reserve land to the government.

Both the NZ Railways Dept and the Telegraph Dept documents from 1st January 1874 state they adopted Francis Hicks new township name of Hastings – after the first Governor General to British India, Warren Hastings.

Robert Wellwood letter dated 7th December 1920 states – Francis Hicks had named the town Hastings, and the City Council Chambers has displayed a photo of Mr Hicks for many years with the inscription “Founder of Hastings”

Three of Hicks’ daughters requested recognition of their father Francis Hicks who had named the town – after the first Governor General to British India, Warren Hastings. Miss Hick’s one of the daughters of the donor of the railway reserve lands visited Hastings for the Fifty Year Celebrations of the founding of Hastings in 1923, asked that the government (Mr Coats) [Coates] be urged to erect a suitable premise on the sites and so help on the prosperity of the town as her father intended should be done.

Francis Hicks certainly named Hastings, but he was not really the father of the township – as most of the rapid development occurred after he had left the district.

Hastings 1876 – 1889

Most of the Hastings streets were ‘Paper Streets’ in name only or dusty tracks in summer and deep mud in winter and most premises and residents would have had their own ‘Long Drop’ before the introduction of a ‘Night Cart’ service in the early development of the Hastings Township and there was still no fruit growing industry established in the district. Heretaunga St was known as the “top road” and he land near where J. Wattle[Wattie] Canneries factory would be as the No. 10 paddock.

Hawke’s Bay Herald advertising for Hastings in 1876 apart from the events and section sales was mainly Grants coaches, R. Somerville’s store, Knights and Chapman’s timber.

1876 January, Births – Ebbett on January 14 at Hastings the wife of William Ebbett, of a daughter

1876 January, Births – Lyndon at Napier on the 16th January the wife of Edward Lyndon, of a daughter

[Newspaper notice]
HAWKE’S BAY
AGRICULTURAL AND PASTORAL SOCIETY.
FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 4, 1876.
ANNUAL RAM FAIR.
THE Annual Ram fair under the auspices of the above Society, will be held in the Society’s Yards. Hastings, on abve [above] date
Parties wishing to dispose of Stock at the Fair are requested to forward particulars of same to the undersigned at an early date, in order that arrangements may be made for the requisite number of pens.
All sheep for sale must be penned by 11 a.m. on the day of the Fair. Sales to commence at 1 p.m.
By order.
W. ROUTLEDGE,
231   Hon. Sec.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 1876,
At 2 p.m. sharp.
ROUTLEDGE, KENNEDY & CO.
Are instructed to sell by auction, on the above date, at the Hawke’s Bay Agricultural and Pastoral Society’s Yards, Hastings.
28 PONIES, belonging to the Estate of and bred by, the Late Major Carlyon, of Gwavas.
Included in the above is the well-known Bay Pony Entire “Allspice”
Also,
A pair of ponies, a splendid match.
The well-known qualities of the Gwavas breed of Exmoor Ponies require no recommendation.   335.

1876 February, Hastings Annual Ram Fair at the HB A & P S showgrounds between Eastbourne St and Lyndon Rd and a Pony sale

1876 February, Births – Sutton of Roysten, Big Bush on February 28 the wife of Mr F. Sutton, of a son.

1876 February, Deaths – McLean at Hastings on the 5 February, Margaret infant daughter of Donald and Jessie McLean aged 10 mths [months].

Page 44

[Newspaper notice]
IMPORTANT SALE
OF
PURE LONGWOOLLED SHEEP
AT HASTINGS.
TUESDAY, 29TH FEBRUARY, 1876,
At Noon.
Owing to the destruction of food caused by the recent flood, H. Sladen, Esq., is obliged to dispose of the whole of his Flock of Longwoolled Sheep, and has instructed the undersigned to offer to the public competition the whole of the Grassmere Flock, purchased by him at high prices, and most carefully culled and improved by the introduction of pure-bred imported rams, purchased by Mr. Melville Smith, regardless of cost for and on account of Mr. H. Sladen. The Ewes were originally purchased from, the stud flock of Joseph Rhodes Esq. late of Clive Grange, at £4 each. The young Rams are particularly good, but owing to shortness of feed cannot be offered for sale at the Ram Fair. Purchasers, however, will find it most advantageous to hold them over until next year. The Flock consists of…

1876 February, Sheep sale due to flooding

[Newspaper notice]
NAPIER AND WAIPUKURAU
RIALWAY [RAILWAY]
District Engineer’s Office.
Waipukurau, April 13, 1876.
WRITTEN TENDERS will be received at this office up to noon on Saturday, the 22nd April, 1876, for work to be done and materials to be used in making Alterations and Additions to the Fourth-class Passenger Station at Hastings.
They must be addressed to the District Engineer, Waipukurau, and marked outside, “Tenders for Alterations Railway Station, Hastings.”
Plans and specifications to be seen at the Public Works Offices, Waipukurau and Napier (Mr. Bold).
The lowest or any tender no necessarily accepted.
By command.
F.H. GEISOW,
362   District Engineer.

1876 April, Tender – Fourth-class Passenger Station at Hastings

Page 45

[Survey plan – Railway Street]

Plan shows the new Railway Station and Goods shed now moved further north to its third position partly on section 63 with siding and Station Masters residence

[Newspaper notices]
MESSRS. KNIGHT BROTHERS,
in thanking the public for the liberal support they have accorded them for the last five years, beg to inform them that they intend opening a Timber and Firewood Yard at Hastings.
They have made arrangements for a regular supply of material, and are prepared to supply Sawn Timber and Posts of all descriptions at stations on the Railway. Immediately on the opening of the railway extension they will be able to supply the public at reduced rates. Coals also in stock.   620

Goods, &c., from any railway station on the line of railway booked or addressed to the care of Knight Bros [Brothers]., Hastings, will be promptly delivered.
KNIGHT BROS.,
888   Hastings.

1876 February, Knight Brothers moved to Hastings

[Newspaper notices]
HASTINGS TIMBER YARD
KNIGHT BROS.
HAVE NOW ON HAND, an Assortment of Sawn Timber – Matai do., T. and G. [Tongue and Groove]; Shingles, 3000; Matai Posts, 1000; Totara do., Totara Strainers and House Blocks, 100 Cords Matai Firewood, Hobart Town Palings, &c., &c.   133

HASTINGS TIMBER YARD
ON HAND
AND
FOR SALE.
AN ASSORTMENT OF SAWN TIMBER, Tongued and Grooved
Matai, Tongued and Grooved
3000 Matai Posts
1000 Totara posts
100 cords of Matai Firewood
Strainers, House Blocks
Shingles, and Hobartown [Hobart Town] Palings, 5 and 6 feet
Coals always on hand.
The above can be delivered to any part of the country.
30   KNIGHT BROS.

HERETAUNGA TIMBER YARD.
F. M. CHAPMAN
DESIRES to inform the Public, that he has opened an Establishment for the sale of Timber, Corn, Coals, Fencing Wire, &c. and begs to solicit orders.
50,000 feet First-class Totara on hand
Rimu, Birch, Kauri
Strainers, Blocks, and Firewood.
V. D. Palings, Rails and Posts
Oils, Paints, Wire, and Nails
&c.,   &c.,   &c.
Goods per Train stored or delivered.   230

Page 46

1876, In April the two competing Hastings timber merchants were both advertising on the front page – Mr Frederick Martin Chapman Heretaunga Timber and Hastings Timber Yard of Knight Brothers. F. M. Chapman advertised for several months and then he left the district in 1877 – Mr F. M. Chapman offered to take delivery of posts and streamers at the station. Knight Brother’s continued to advertise and went on to opened a store for groceries, drapery in connection to their Hastings Timber Yard.

[Advertisements]
KNIGHT BROTHERS,
COAL & TIMBER MERCHANTS,
HASTINGS.
SAWN TIMBER (TONGUED AND GROOVED),
FENCING POSTS, STRAINERS, HOUSE BLOCKS,
FIREWOOD AND COALS,
HAY, STRAW, CHAFF, CORN, AND CRUSHED CORN
ALWAYS ON HAND, AND FOR SALE.
The above will be Sold at Current Prices, and can be delivered to any part of the country.
ORDERS EXECUTED FOR ALL KINDS OF AGRICULTURAL MACHINERY, IMPORTED DIRECT FROM THE HOME MARKETS.
SUB-AGENT TO THE NEW ZEALAND INSURANCE Co.

KNIGHT BROTHERS,
COAL & TIMBER MERCHANTS,
HASTINGS.
SAWN TIMBER (Tongued and Grooved), FENCING POSTS, STRAINERS, HOUSE BLOCKS,
FIREWOOD and COALS, HAY, STRAW, CHAFF, CORN, and CRUSHED CORN,
LEAD, OIL, and COLORS, GENERAL IRONMONGERY,
Always on Hand, and for Sale.
THE ABOVE WILL BE SOLD AT CURRENT PRICES, AND CAN BE DELIVERED TO ANY PART OF THE COUNTRY.
Orders executed for all kinds of Agricultural Machinery, Imported direct from the Home Markets.
SUB-AGENT TO THE NEW ZEALAND INSURANCE CO.

Knight Brothers,
COAL, TIMBER, & GENERAL MERCHANTS,
HASTINGS.
Sawn Timber, T and G Boards,
FENCING POSTS, STRAINERS, HOUSE BLOCKS,
FIREWOOD AND COAL,
HOBART TOWN TIMBER AND PALINGS,
GENERAL IRONMONGERY,
LEAD, OIL, & COLOURS,
Hay, Straw, Chaff, Corn, & Crushed Corn
ALWAYS ON HAND, AND FOR SALE.
Flour, Tea, and Sugar, Wholesale.
The above will be sold at Current Prices, and can be delivered to any part of the country.
GENERAL CARRIERS.
Orders executed for all kinds of Agricultural Machinery, imported direct from the Home Markets.
SUB-AGENT TO THE NEW ZEALAND INSURANCE CO.

1876, Knight Brother’s machinery produced tongue & grooved dressed timber

[Newspaper article]

On Easter Tuesday Thos. Tanner Esq. gave a treat to the Children of Havelock, Clive and Hastings. The weather, which had been somewhat threatening in the morning, cleared up, and turned out one of those nice gray days; neither too hot nor too cold, The Children, with their friends, began to assemble in the beautiful grounds at Riverslea about 1 o’clock, and immediately set about amusing themselves with the various games provided for them. Football, cricket, croquet, each had their warm supporters; whilst a great centre of attraction appeared to be a large circular swing, or giants stride, which had been erected for the occasion. About 4 o’clock the Children sat down in two immense circles, and after singing grace, partook of a substantial repast of bread and butter, cakes, buns, and tea. After tea the children resumed their games, which were now and then interrupted by showers of lollies which their kind entertainer cast amongst them. Races of various kinds took place, and much mirth was occasioned by some of the boys bobbling for apples in a tub of water. Including grown up people, the number entertained was over four hundred. Altogether a very pleasant afternoon was spent; and many of the children will long remember Easter Tuesday at Riverslea.

1876 Easter treat, Hastings children included at the Riverslea Estate, 400 attended

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE,
HASTINGS. – Town Section 71, commanding a valuable site for a Store.
Also sections 81, 72, and 182.
Apply to
EDWARD LYNDON
590   Land and Estate Agent

Page 47

1876 April

1876 May, Fencing-in of the Hastings Railway yard began in earnest again.

[Newspaper notice]
TENDERS will be received till noon on the 15th instant for the Erection of a Cottage close to the Railway Station, Hastings.
Specifications to be seen and further information obtained, at the Napier Railway Station.   923

1876 June, Tender sought for the Hastings Railway cottage

1876, Charles Doney, Hastings blacksmith possibly operated behind where the Hastings Hotel would be built

[Newspaper notices]
MR. C. DONEY, in retiring from business as Farrier, and General Blacksmith, thanks the public for their liberal patronage, and begs to solicit for his successors, Messrs. Parker and Co, the same liberal support given to him.   189

MESSRS. PARKER AND CO. having bought the business of Mr. C. Doney, Farrier and General Blacksmith, Hastings-street, trusts by strict attention to business and good wrkmanship, [workmanship], combined with moderate charges, to merit a share of public patronage.

1876 July, Hastings Blacksmith Charles Doney retired and Parker & Co took over.

Charles Doney later set up a business partnership in Hastings with his son and brother

Charles Doney b: 1850 at Cornwall married 1885 Harriett Eliza Humbley Charles died 1896 at Hastings and Thomas Doney b:1854 Cornwall married Isabella Forsyth, 2 children Thomas died 1916 at Nelson. Sister Kate Doney was the first sewing teacher at the first State school 1875. Doney’s Blacksmith site was mentioned in the Section sale advert for the Hastings Hotel in January 1878. There was a heap of old worn horse shoes and iron junk outside the old blacksmiths shed which was demolished by September 1880 and replace by two new sheds.

[Newspaper notice]
HERETAUNGA ROAD BOARD.
THE Annual Meeting of Ratepayers will be held at the School room, Hastings, at 2 o’clock on Saturday, 15th July.
J. N. WILLIAMS,
154   Chairman

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS LOYAL ORANGE LODGE. (No. 24.)
A SUMMONS MEETING of the above Lodge will be held on TUESDAY EVENING, at 8 o’clock. Business important.
By order of the W. M. [Worshipful Master]
Hastings, December 2.   927

1876 July, Ratepayers meetings held in the Hastings school room and 1876 December – A Loyal Orange Lodge 24 was already formed at Hastings

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
MR. EDWARD LYNDON
Has on Sale,
HASTINGS – Town Sections 179, 180, 181, 184, 185, and 186,
In quarter-acre building allotments.
E. LYNDON
Land and Estate Agent.

1876 July, Hastings ¼ acre Sections for sale

Page 48

[Newspaper article]
SIR, – may I ask you to insert the following? In your issue of to-day, with regard to the Licensed Victuallers Act Amended Act, 1871, I must say that I did not know that such an Act was in force, as I was in England at the time it was made; but I should like to know what country or nation the Act is suitable to. It cannot be England, for when I was there, in 1871 and 1872, all public-houses were allowed to open for out-door and in-door trade from one o’clock to three o’clock, and again from five o’clock till eleven o’clock. I think it would be rather a difficult matter to decide who is the bona fide traveller. I would suggest to my brother hotel-keepers in town that they should call a meeting, and give timely notice to all inland who are engaged in the trade to attend, and discuss the matter over. It would be better for each and everyone in the trade to close their houses rather than lay themselves open to the present Act. Trusting the hotel-keepers in town will take the matter up is the wish of – Yours, &c.,
WILLIAM GOODWIN.
August 10, 1876.

1876 August, letter from William Goodwin

[Newspaper notices]
IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS
By John Collinge, on August 14, 1876.
Bay horse, two hind feet white; branded like P on off shoulder; about 15 hands 2in high, sore back; 10s damages.
Chestnut Colt, 2 years old; 2 hind feet white; white nose, white star on forhead; about 12 hands high; no brand visible; damages 2s 6d.
Bay yearling Foal, white star on forehead, white spot on nose; no brand visible; damage 2s 6d.
WILL BE SOLD ON Tuesday, August 29, unless redeemed.
W. GOODWIN,
52   Poundkeeper.

IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS –
On August 17 by Peneha, a native.
Black gelding, branded O M low down on off rump, and like ʆB on off shoulder; shod all round; white spot under saddle on each side; about 12 hands; 10 shillings damages.
Bay gelding, branded WX on off shoulder, about 15 hands high; 10 shillings damages
Will be sold on Saturday, the 2nd September, at Noon, unless redeemed.
WILLIAM GOODWIN,
Poundkeeper.
August 19, 1876.   697

IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS
By Robert Braithwaite, Esq. on Sept. 28,
Red-and-white Bull; no brand visible; about 12 months old; white forehead. Damages, 10s.
Red-and-white Heifer, about 8 months old; No brand visible.
Will be sold at noon on Saturday, October 14, unless redeemed.
WILLIAM GOODWIN
Poundkeeper.
September 30, 1876.   197
1876 August, Impounding by John Collinge, Peneha a native and Robert Braithwaite

Robert Ashley Warre Braithwaite an early Sheepfarmer b: 1844 m: Caroline Agnes Wilson 1874, they had 8 children, Robert died June 1933 aged 88.

Page 49

[Newspaper article]
HASTINGS.
(FROM OUR OWN CORRESPONDENT.
September 23, 1876,
Since my last there has been little worthy of notice, with the exception that the store of Mr. Somerville was broken into, and a quantity of wearing apparel stolen there from. Your leaders are already aware of the capture and committal of the person, who made the forcible entry, consequently there is no need of my saying anything further on that point, with the exception that the man who committed the offence is well known in the district as a hard-working, industrious man, but unfortunately addicted to the vice of intemperance, and there is no doubt that it was while under the influence of liquor that he was guilty of the charge for which he has to stand his trial.
The working committee of the Hawke’s Bay Agricultural and Pastoral Society are zealously putting their shoulders to the wheel with a determination of everything being in readiness for the forthcoming show, which, if the weather only prove propitious, must be a decided success, and throw all previous exhibitions of a similar character in this province far, far into shade.
Host Goodwin is determined not to be behindhand, and so far as accommodating the public upon the occasion above referred to, is doing all that might be expected for the comfort and convenience of the large body of people that may be expected to visit the show.
Messrs. Knight Bros. who are doing an extensive business in the timber trade, intend to add a general store to their already lucrative venture. They are well known and respected, and doubtless will secure a fair share of patronage.
The angry winds that have been prevailing so long have been a source of great annoyance, and although not suffering from the intolerable clouds of dust, by which you of the city are visited, still for the present we can sincerely say that we have had of wind a thorough surfeit, and could now put up with refreshing showers so as to strengthen and invigorate the grass. As I write the long-looked-for rain is beginning to descend, but I fear it will only be a small quantity.
As shearing will soon commence there will be an opening for a number of men, who, of late, have been wandering up and down the country in search of work, which will materially tend to relieve the labor market, and make business more brisk than at present.

1876 September 23, Hawke’s Bay Herald

[Newspaper notice]
KNIGHT BROTHERS,
IN thanking the public for the support they have received, and for past favors, beg to announce that they will shortly
OPEN A GENERAL STORE
Of Groceries, Drapery, etc., in connection with the
HASTINGS TIMBER YARD.
They have now on hand a good assortment of Sawn Timber, including :-
30,000 feet of good Totara
Kauri Pine, Tongued and Grooved
100 cord Matai Firewood
Matai and Totara Posts
Hobart Town Paling, 5 and 6ft.
Coals always on hand
Totara Strainers
Pine Rails
Hobart Town Potatoes
Oats and Maize
Hay, Straw, and Chaff
They are also prepared to execute orders for all kinds of Agricultural Machinery.
They have now on hand –
Howard’s Harrows and Rollers
Samuelson’s Reapers and Mowers
Hornsby’s Reapers and Mowers
Patent Knife Sharpeners
Also, To Arrive, per “Zealandia” – 2 Samuelson’s Mowers, 3 Hornsby’s Mowers
(Duplicate parts always on hand.)
COMMISSIONS EXECUTED.
KNIGHT BROTHERS.
1018

1876 September 26, Knight Brothers store opening

Page 50

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE,
SECTION No. 45, in part, ¼ acre, adjoining the residence of G. Scarfe, Esq.
Five Quarter-acre Sections, adjoining the Residence of G. E. Sainsbury, Esq. and D. Vaughan, Esq.
Sections in Hastings.
BENNETT & JOHNSON.

1876 September, section 45 adjoining G. Scarfe, G. E. Sainsbury and D. Vaughan

[Newspaper notice]
CAUTION.
NOTICE is hereby given that persons cutting the Willows growing on sections opposite Goodwin’s Hotel, Hastings will be prosecuted according to law.
T. K. NEWTON

1876 September, Willow cuttings taken from opposite Goodwin’s Hotel – these Willows were possibly on Knight’s as seen in later photos and accessed by the empty Heretaunga St east section opposite the hotel

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE
THE Hastings Store, with Half-acre of Ground attached, occupying the best business situation in the Township. Also, Goodwill of the business.
For further particulars apply on the premises, to F. D. McDONELL   28

1876 September 29, Mr F. D. McDonell already trying to sell Tobias Hicks old Hastings Store on the Karamu Rd corner while Somerville was still trading as the Hastings Store on Market St corner.

1876 October 5th Birth – Dennett wife of W. Y. Dennett, of a daughter

[Newspaper notice]crosse
FOR SALE OR LEASE
At Hastings,
6 VALUABLE BUILDING SECTIONS in the suburbs of Hastings, part of Harewood Farm, containing 4 acres each.
Terms easy.
Apply to
DAVID J. JOLL
22   On the farm, Hastings.

1876 October 13, Harewood Farm 6 x 4 acre sections for sale at Hastings

[Survey map showing sections]

1876, The HB Agriculture and Pastoral Society’s first Show & Sale Yards at Hastings

Page 51

[Newspaper notice]
THE FORTHCOMING SHOW.
W. GOODWIN wishes to give notice that he has purchased a section of land opposite the small gate leading into the Society’s show paddock, and has put up a first-class Building, 100 feet long and 20 feet wide, and intends to put a First-class Cold Collation on the table each day, and will be prepared to supply the public with all kinds of refreshments on the two show days.
W. GOODWIN,
Railway Hotel.
36   Hastings.

1876 October 18, Goodwin’s rental deal with the HB Agriculture and Pastoral Society came to a head, so Goodwin purchased the expensive section on the corner of Eastbourne St west and Market St sth opposite small entrance gate to the HB Agriculture and Pastoral Society’s Yards where he hurriedly erected a long narrow wooden hall to serve as a dining room for the upcoming October Show patrons.

[Survey map – Market Street, Eastbourne Street]

1876, Goodwin’s Hall erected on the corner of Market St and Eastbourne St west in James Boyle block. The hall was later used as a venue for meetings, sales, entertainment and a skating hall. It was sold in March 1881 to Mr C. Palmer for £270. It eventually became part of G. Faulknor’s Coach Factory until it burnt down in 1894, then the site became J. A. Pothan’s Coach Factory in 1899.

[Newspaper article]
Speaking of Hastings, Mr. Goodwin intends having a skating rink, to be opened once a week, viz., on Saturday. This will be an inducement to the dwellers in town to come and breathe the pure atmosphere of the country, and indulge in this healthful exercise.

1876 October, Goodwin’s Hall

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
THURSDAY, OCTOBER 19, 1876,
At 4 o’clock.
MR. J. J. TYE
Has been instructed by Mr. S. McGreevy, to sell by public auction,
3 SUPERIOR DRAUGHT HORSES, guaranted [guaranteed] staunch and sound.
The above are the pick of his well-known teams.
Also,
A Pair of Cream-colored Carlyon Ponies
JOSEPH J. TYE,
835   Auctioneer

Page 52

1876 October 19 Thursday – Mr J. J. Tye sale for Mr S. McGreevy

1876 October 20 & 21 Saturday – The Hastings Agriculture Show was held over two days – Edward Lyndon auction off Lincoln Rams for Mr T. and J. B. Sutton of Southland and M. R. Miller auction off stock at the show yards.

[Newspaper notices]
AGRICULTURAL SHOW.
GREEN FOOD (Chaff and Oats) will be supplied on the ground by the undersigned.
383   KNIGHT BROS.

BAZAAR
A BAZAAR will be held on FRIDAY NEXT, the 20th, at Hastings, within the Showgrounds, in aid of reducing the debt on the Havelock Manse.
Open at 10 a.m.; admission, sixpence.   380

1876 October 20, The Bazaar raised £116.

[Newspaper article]
AGRICULTURAL AND PASTORAL
SOCIETY’S EXHIBITION.
SECOND DAY.
There was a large attendance on the Society’s grounds on Friday, the number of people assembled reaching probably 1500, the weather was exceedingly favourable in the early part of the day, and though towards the afternoon there was a fall of rain, threatening the pursuit of pleasure under difficulties, it cleared up afterwards, and on the whole the day was more pleasurable than had there been a broiling sun. Pressure upon our space compels us to hold over until our next issue our remarks upon the exhibits. We append the prize list, and trust it will be found tolerably correct, though it is very possible that some errors may have crept in, especially among the special exhibits, of which it was difficult to obtain a correct account.

1876 October 20 Friday – Estimated 1500 people attended

Page 53

[Newspaper article]
HASTINGS.
(FROM OUR CORRESPONDENT.)
October 25, 1876
The excitement of the late show has passed away, and everyone has settled down to legitimate business, which, if not as great as is done in other places, is quite commensurate with the township, and doubtless will increase in proportion to the growth of this place. This, to my mind, is much better than doing a fictitious, and consequently, unprofitable trade.
There has been a strong expression of feeling with regard to the Agricultural and Pastoral Society charging. On Friday last, an extra entrance fee when a person returned to the ground after leaving. To say the least, such a proceeding appears very harsh and arbitrary, and must tend to lower the prestige of the Society in the eyes of the general public. It is to be hoped for the sake of all interested, that it will never be resorted to again. However, upon the whole, the show of 1876 must be regarded as a decided success, and doubtless visitors from other provinces will leave our shores favourably impressed, with the capabilities of Hawke’s Bay, particularly as a stock and sheep raising province.
Mr. Goodwin is making every preparation for having his skating rink in readiness at the earliest possible date; whether he will be able to have all completed by the Prince of Wales’ Birthday is questionable, as there is some difficulty in procuring the necessary timber; still, he is using every effort to push it forward, there cannot be a doubt that it will be well patronised.
The rain we had last week has greatly improved the pastures, and the country around is as green as an emerald. The grass is shooting up with a rapidity that is truly astonishing; still, a little more of the aqueous element would be attended with still more beneficial results.crosse
There is talk of a new hotel being started here, but I am inclined to look upon the rumor as a canard, got up during the excitement of the Show, and will terminate therewith.

1876 October 25

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
FOR SALE,
TOWN SECTIONS 166 and 167. These are front sections, and are eligibly situated on the Omahu-road, adjoining the property of Mr. M. E. Groom.
EDWARD LYNDON,
471   Land and Estate Agent.

1876 October 27, front sections adjoining M. E. Groom, on Heretaunga St west

[Newspaper article]
CORRESPONDENCE
The Editor does not hold himself responsible for opinions expressed by correspondents.
SIR, – The following was a proposal made in my name two years ago to rent the small paddock of not quite six acres from the Agricultural Society at Hastings;-
“Napier, March 28, 1874.
“J. N. Williams, Esq., –
“Dear Sir, – I have been requested by Mr. W. Goodwin to state that he is willing to pay to the Agricultural Society t Whe sum of £50 per annum upon the following conditions :-
“1. That the Society’s ground at Hastings is securely fenced, and that the Society erect buildings and yards which will be suitable for sales of stock.
“2. Mr. Goodwin to have full use of the buildings and ground, except on the occasions of Agricultural Shows or ram fairs, and for such times previous to those dates as will be necessary for the reception of stock, &c.
“3. Mr. Goodwin is to keep all buildings in repair which may be used by him, as well as all fences, excepting any damage which may be done to them while the are under his control. – I am, &c.
“F. SUTTON.”

1876 October 27, Sutton’s 1874 £50 rent deal for Goodwin

Page 54

Mr William Goodwin, Railway Hotel, Hastings wrote that – he never signed or accepted the above extravagant proposal made by Sutton on his behalf. Sutton had assured him that it was central for the future of all sales held at Hastings. Goodwin could not afford it or be responsible for the fences, he suggested to lessen the pressure on the hotel and the distance to walk he asked the Society if he could erect a booth inside the grounds but they demanded £25. The previous two years had been a failure due to the weather and only two sales were held. The Society then advertised the tender and disposed of it privately, so Goodwin purchased an expensive section on the corner of Eastbourne St west and Market St sth opposite the small entrance gate and erected a large long dining room. The Society then closed off the small gate operated by one man and cut a new gate opening on the other side which needed three men to tend. Goodwin advertised with large printed bills for a good dinner at 2 shillings which he sent out – he was well patronised on the October 1876 Show days, but the patrons were charged another 1 shilling to get back inside the Showgrounds without being pre-warned, although many dinners [diners] willingly paid it for a good dinner.

[Newspaper articles]
CORRESPONDENCE
The Editor does not hold himself responsible for opinions expressed by correspondents.
SIR: – In answer to my letter of 27th, one comes forth in defence of the Society at the late show in Saturdays’ Telegraph, and who signs himself a member of the Society. I consider him like an old fox – the more he stirs in the matter the more W he stinks. He brings forth a long rambling statement of trash, in which there is not one word of truth. His arguments are like himself, beneath my notice. I stated nothing but facts in my letter, which are quite true, and I am prepared to prove it. The truth may be blamed, but it cannot be shamed. “A Member” is guilty of low, mean, petty spite. The plain truth exposes his dirty actions, and he fails in his poor attempt to clear himself, or prove to me otherwise; but he and his clique have imposed upon the public, and it is nothing more than a downright swindle. But, as the poor man is ashamed to sign his name, I shall decline to enter into a paper controversy. – I am, &c.,
WILLIAM GOODWIN.
Railway Hotel, Hastings,
October 30.

HASTINGS.
(FROM OUR OWN CORRESPONDENT)
The letter of Mr. Goodwin re the Agricultural and Pastoral Society that appeared in your issue of Friday last has somewhat opened the eyes of the public to the doings of that august body, and it must be admitted that such doings will not bear the most favourable construction, and if on future occasions they resort to the contemptible trick of making visitors pay a shilling to be made prisoners within their grounds, or pay an extra admission fee if they happened to go outside the grounds, they may be assured that such an imposition will be resisted to the utmost. I have heard several gentlemen, both subscribers and exhibitors, express their opinion upon this matter, and they one and all condemn the action of the Society in the most unqualified terms. Without entering into the merits of Mr. Goodwin’s case, it [is] to be hoped that the committee, who really worked zealously and energetically to make the show what it was – a decided success – will see their way clear for the future to make one entrance fee sufficient, or if not, be good enough to notify the same to the public, which would certainly be much more honest than the course recently adopted.

1876 October 30, Response to F. Sutton – the old fox, and 1876 November 9

1876 November, Thomas Forman [Foreman] butcher was from Market St, now building a new house and two storied store on Heretaunga St.

Page 55

[Newspaper article]
HASTINGS.
(FROM OUR OWN CORRESPONDENT)
November 8, 1876.
A DELIGHTFUL and agreeable change in the weather has taken place, and to all appearances there is every probability of a continuance of fine weather for some time to come.
In order to keep pace with the times Mr. Foreman is about to erect a new butcher’s shop, together with a five roomed residence. He fully anticipates having the whole finished by Christmas, and to be in a position to supply his customers with some of the primest beef for that festive period.
The heavy rains that have fallen so recently have materially retarded the progress of shearing; still, annoying as this may be to flock owners, it is certainly counterbalanced by the immense good done to the pastures and crops, which are now looking exceedingly healthy and luxuriant.
To-morrow being the anniversary of the Prince of Wales’ Birthday, will doubtless cause many excursionists to visit this place, particularly when it is borne in mind that there is to be a grand picnic in Mr. Goodwin’s paddock, where a number of sports are to be provided for the amusement of the spectators. I understand that visitors are not to be charged an extra admission fee should they feel disposed to leave the grounds at any time during the day. What with music, sports, creature comforts, and visitors, there is every reason to believe that tomorrow will be remembered among the gala days of the season.
I heard from a gentleman who last week was fishing in the Ngaruroro river that he hooked four or five brown trout, but returned them to their natural element, giving them a chance to go forth and multiply. This fact goes to prove that the efforts of Mr. Tanner have not been in vain, which when he returns will be most gratifying to that gentleman.

1876 November 8, Forman’s new butcher’s store and 5 room residence and Goodwin’s paddock

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS
FOR SALE,
THAT desirable Section marked No. 240 on the plan of the Township of South Hastings. Adjoins the yards of the Hawke’s Bay Agricultural and Pastoral Society. Size, One-third Acre.
Also,
Sections Nos. 145, 146, and 158, Township of Hastings. These sections are situated on the main line of road between Havelock and Omahu.
Also,
Sections Nos. 132, 133, 134, 135, and 136, Township of Hastings.
For price, terms, &c., apply to
BENNETT & JOHNSON.

1876 November 24, sale of section 240 – J. Hague which adjoins the HB Agriculture and Pastoral Society yards, corner Eastbourne St west and Railway Rd near Goodwin’s Hall

Page 56

1876 November, We learn that the trout turned out last year by Mr Tanner in Ngaruroro, have been seen lately. Several fish measuring from five to six inches have been seen near the Karamu crossing, and there is every reason to believe that the previous attempts have been successful. The last lot are very healthy and none have died since hatching. Over 50 per cent of the ova were hatched.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS LOYAL ORANGE LODGE.
(No. 24.)
A SUMMONS MEETING of the above Lodge will be held on TUESDAY EVENING, at 8 o’clock. Business important.
By order or the W. M.
Hastings, December 2.   927

1876 December 2

[Newspaper notice]
Bennett and Johnson’s Notices.
HASTINGS.
FOR SALE. – Sections Nos. 145, 146, and 158 (at present in the occupation of Mr. F. Roper). The sections are fenced and are situated on the main line of road between Havelock and Omahu.
Also,
SECTIONS No. 132, 133, 134, 135, and 136.
BENNETT & JOHNSON.

1876 December 5, Hastings sections for sale occupied by Mr F. Roper

[Newspaper notice]
GOODS per Trains to Hastings addressed to the care of KNIGHT BROS., for Maraekakaho, Kereru, Havelock, Hastings, and surrounding districts will be forwarded with dispatch.
Delivery taken of Goods immediately after arrival of each Train.
KNIGHT BROS.
Hastings, December 7, 1876.   1112

1876 December 7

[Newspaper articles]
TO THE ELECTORS OF THE RIDING OF HERETAUNGA.
GENTLEMEN, – Having been requested by several of my fellow-settlers to allow myself to be nominated as a candidate for the representation of Heretaunga in the Council of the County of Hawke’s Bay, I have much pleasure in coming forward. Should you do me the honor of returning me, I shall endeavour to the best of my ability to promote your interests, and carry out your wishes.
I have the more pleasure in coming forward, as I think our Council should not be entirely composed of members who can count their acres by thousands and their sheep by tens of thousands. I am in favour of there being a sprinkling of the yeoman class, which is the bone and sinew of any country. It is this class that we may expect will act as a check to the spending proclivities of the wealthy. Economy must be our watchword in the administration of the County system.
I am in favour of the Road Boards remaining as they are, believing that each district can spend the money allotted to it more judiciously than a County Council could do.
I am, Gentlemen,
Your obedient servant,
1034   ROBERT WELLWOOD.

TO THE ELECTORS OF THE HERETAUNGA RIDING, IN THE COUNTY OF HAWKE’S BAY
GENTLEMEN, – At the particular request of several electors, I beg to offer myself as a candidate for the representation of Heretaunga in the County Council. Your past experience of my services, as Chairman of the Heretaunga Road Board, will I think be a sufficient guarantee that your interests will not suffers at my hands. I will make no election promises of economy, &c.; if you have confidence in me, you will elect me, but if you can find a better man, by all means elect him.
I am, Gentlemen,
Your obedient servant,
1070   J. N. WILLIAMS.

Page 57

1876 December, The local County Council elections – Wellwood & Williams standing

[Newspaper notice]
Returning Officer’s Office,
Heretaunga, Dec. 7th, 1876.
I HEREBY appoint Thursday, the 14th. of December instant at noon, as the day upon which, and the School House, Hastings, the place at which, the nomination of a Candidate for the Heretaunga Riding, in the Hawke’s Bay County, will take place.
The polling, if necessary, will take place on the 22nd December instant.
R. SOMERVILLE,
Returning Officer.

1876 December, R. Somerville the Returning Officer at Hastings

[Newspaper notices]
GRANT’S MAIL COACHES
LEAVE HAVELOCK FOR HASTINGS RAILWAY STATION in connection with the Train as follows :-
Havelock.   Hastings R.S.
Dep. 9.0 a.m.   Ar. 9.30 a.m.   Re. 9.35 a.m.
11.45   12.15 p.m.   12.25 p.m.
4.30 p.m.   5.0   5.5 p.m.
An open Express Waggon will leave Havelock once or twice a day, of which time of departure will be given when it is ascertained by which train the goods are dispatched from Napier.
As there is not sufficient time allowed in the Railway Time-table for one coach to meet every train, coaches can be hired to attend any train that is not met in the ordinary Time-table for one or three passengers, 3s. ; above that number, the ordinary fare of 1s for each passenger.
On and after October 1 the Sunday Coach between Havelock and Hastings will be withdrawn, there not being sufficient inducement as the train runs at present.
Fares to and from Hastings   1s
Goods and stores 8s. per ton.
Single-seated Buggies, 15s per day
Double-seated Buggies   20s per day
Ladies and Gents’ Saddle Horses, 7s 6d per day.
Horses broken to single and double harness; guaranteed in good condition and perfectly quiet when returned.
Horses bought and sold on commission.
178

GRANT’S MAIL COACHES
Leave HAVELOCK for HASTINGS RAILWAY STATION, in connection with the Train, as follows:-
HAVELOCK.   HASTINGS.
Depart   8.30 a.m.   Arrive   8.50 a.m.   Return   9.0 a.m.
11.40   12.0   12.20 p.m.
4.40 p.m.   5.0 p.m.   5.15 p.m.
FARES: ONE SHILLING EACH WAY.
Coach can be hired to meet any train that is not met in the ordinary Time-table for 3s. for one or three passengers, above three the ordinary fare of 1s each.
A Covered Express Waggon leaves Havelock daily at half-past 8 a.m., for Napier, carrying Goods and Passengers at moderate rates, returning in the afternoon. All parcels left at MR. CHARLES PALMER’S or MR. COHEN’S will be promptly forwarded. Parcels received for Clive, Havelock, Waimarama, Te Apiti, Pourere, [Pourerere] Maraekakaho, and Karamu.
Ladies’ and Gents’ Saddle Horses, 7s. 6d. per day.
Single-seated Buggies, 15s. per day.
Double-seated Buggies, 20s. per day.
Covered Carriages for Wedding Parties on hire.
Horses broken to single and double harness. Saddle Horses, Buggies, Covered Carriages and Coaches can be had to meet any train at Hastings by posting or telegraphing to
GEO. GRANT, Hastings.

1876 December Grants change of timetable for the train schedule, and the cancelation of their Sunday coach due to lack of patronage, there were also plans to run a railway line from Hastings to Havelock, but it was not feasible. George Russ Grant, b: 1851 married Ada Reynolds in 1875; George died 1896 aged 45

1877 January 7th Sunday, Sir Donald McLean died, he had arrived in Hawke’s Bay 1863

1877, The Heretaunga Road Board, chairman – J. N. Williams, wardens – Robert Wellwood, T. Tanner, Michael Groom and W. Goodwin.

[Newspaper notice]
HERETAUNGA ROAD BOARD.
NOTICE TO RATEPAYERS.
THE VALUATION LIST is now open for inspection, at the School-house, Hastings. All objections thereto must be left at the Resident Magistrate’s Court, Napier, on or before the 15th day of February next, addressed to the Assessment Court; and a copy of every such objection must be left at the resident of Mr. J. McLeod, Schoolmaster, Hastings, not less than seven days before the next sitting of the said Court.
J. N. WILLIAMS,
Chairman
January 12, 1877.   345

Page 58

1877 January, Mr J. McLeod’s residence – poss [possibly]  a printing error – should be W. O. McLeod ?

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS STORE
R. SOMERVILLE
Begs to return his thanks for the liberal support accorded him since he commenced business in Hastings. He takes this opportunity of informing the settlers of Hastings and the surrounding neighbourhood that he has erected a BAKERY, and intends to carry on the Business of Baker in connection with the Store.
THE BAKING DEPARTMENT
Will be under the efficient management of Mr. J. Blair (Late of Dunedin), who will carefully attend to the wants of the Customers.
Wedding, Birthday, and other Cakes made to order
A large supply of Small Goods always on hand.
At the Hastings Store will always be found a good assortment of Clothing, Boots, Shoes, Groceries, China, Glass, Earthenware, &c. &c.
All orders will receive prompt attention.
R. SOMERVILLE,
485   Hastings Store and Bakery.

1877 January, Robert Somerville opened a new Bakery attached to his store; he was the agent for the HB Herald. Somerville operated these Hastings Stores for the next decade.

[Advertisements]
HASTINGS STORE,
R. SOMERVILLE,
GROCER, DRAPER,
AND
GENERAL STOREKEEPER.
A LARGE STOCK OF
Grocery, Drapery, Clothing, &c.,
ALWAYS ON HAND.
HASTINGS BAKERY.
CUSTOMERS SUPPLIED DAILY.
WEDDING, BIRTHDAY,
AND
CHRISTENING CAKES,
MADE TO ORDER
SMALL GOODS ALWAYS ON HAND,
R. SOMERVILLE
HASTINGS.

HASTINGS STORE,
R. SOMERVILLE,
GROCER, DRAPER,
AND
GENERAL STOREKEEPER.
A Large Stock of
GROCERY, DRAPERY, CLOTHING, ETC.,
ALWAYS ON HAND.
HASTINGS BAKERY.
CUSTOMERS SUPPLIED DAILY.
WEDDING, BIRTHDAY,
AND
CHRISTENING CAKES,
MADE TO ORDER
SMALL GOODS ALWAYS ON HAND,
R. SOMERVILLE
Hastings.

1877 January 26th Mr W. John Graham a Bootmaker of Clive west advertised that he was opening a branch store at Hastings.

[Advertisement]

[Newspaper notice]
608 ACRES, NEAR KAIKORA.
600 acres of good Land, within 2 miles of  Kaikora. About 90 acres ploughed. Stock at valuation.
42 Acres, in Havelock (house and stable)
23 Acres in Clive
16½ Acres in Taradale
3 Sections, Township of Taradale
40 Acres at Havelock, with Gentlemen’s Residence complete
35 Acres of rich land at Hastings.
For further particulars, apply to
THOMAS BISHOP,
Stock and Station Agent.
183   Hastings

1877 January 27, Thomas Bishop of Hastings selling 35 acres

Page 59

[Calling cards]
THOS. BISHOP,
Stock and Station Agent,
HASTINGS.

Thomas Bishop,
Stock & Station Agent,
Hastings.
Stud Animals selected and forwarded to any part of New Zealand

Thomas Bishop, a Stock and Station Agent

Thomas Bishop b: 1842, m: Elizaberth [Elizabeth] Kelly 1875, they settled in Hastings where they had 7 sons, several died young, Elizabeth died March 1931 after the Quake aged 78.

1877 January 27, A meeting of the inhabitants of Hastings is convened to be held in the schoolhouse of the township tomorrow evening at 7.30. The object of the meeting is to consider the advisability of draining the township.

1877 January 31, Death – Bishop at Hastings, Arthur Gaisford eldest son of Elizabeth and Thomas aged 9 mths.

1877 January, A new church for Hastings meeting was held at the State Schoolhouse on St Aubyn St attended by Rev William Marshall and the township leaders with Mr J. N. Williams voted chairman. Messrs – Boyle, Goodwin, Kelly, Knight, William O. McLeod the teacher, Wellwood and Somerville to discuss Mr Vickers offer for a church site, or buying Mr Boyle’s land to build a new church at Hastings. Mr Henry Louis. Gallien, a builder, supervised the construction of the church.

[Newspaper article]
The new church at Hastings, under the energetic supervision of Mr. Gallien is making rapid progress. The towers already begin to make a show, and can be seen from a considerable distance. The site chosen is a very central one, and as the overflow from the railway artesian well is carried off by means of a drain, which it is contemplated to open at once, it will be one of the driest sections about. Since the culvert has been made, and a little gravel has been spread, anyone can now in the wettest weather walk from the main road to the church without soiling their shoes. The church is expected to be finished in about three months. The long continuance of fine weather has enabled the settlers about Hastings to thresh large quantity of their grain and grass seed, and on Mr. Tanner’s run the sowing of the latter has already commenced in good earnest.

1877 March

Page 60

[Photo]

St Matthew’s first wooden Church of England with two towers and shingled roof on Section 76 Heretaunga St west at the corner of King St at left edge on land of Mr Vickers and Somerville, opened April 1877 – till 1886. Mr James Reynolds had started the St Matthew’s Sunday school that was continued by Miss Percy.

[Survey map]

Shows the church marked at section 76

William Vickers senior was a Miller at Hastings, his son William was born in Havelock 1874 and educated at the main Central school at Hastings, Mr William Vickers senior b: 1841 had owned and operated an early wheel flour mill on the Napier Rd Havelock powered from the waters of the old Ngaruroro river when the Maoris’ were his main suppliers of grain, William senior died in May 1916 aged 75 and William junior died Sept 1954.

Page 61

[Newspaper notice]
SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 24, 1877,
AT HASTINGS.
MR. M. R. MILLER
Has been favored with instructions from Mr. G. P. Donnelly to dispose of, by Public Auction, on the above date, at Hastings, the whole of his
THOROUGHBRED STOCK
Comprising the well known chesnut [chestnut] Colt Otupai, 4 years, got by Pacific, dam
Valletta, and winner of the Napier and Havelock Handicap, 1876.
Tawera, br. Colt, 4 years old, got by Pacific, dam Magic, and winner of the Maiden Plate last November.
Tomatia, 3 years, bay colt, got by Pacific, dam Valletta.
The above are nominated for the Wanganui J. C. Handicap.
1 brown colt, 2 years, full brother to Otupai
1 yearling Colt by Pacific, dam Magic Valletta, got by Young Plover, dam Ada, by Æther, stinted to Papapa Magic, got by Bishop, dam Matilda, imported from Sydney to Auckland by Messrs Crunnin and Williamson, and Winner of the maiden Plate 1875. Stinted to Mute.
The Auctioneer wishes to draw special Attention to the above Thoroughbred Stock, which are for positive sale. The Young Stock are got by the well-known imported horse Pacific, out of Mares chosen by Mr. Donnelly.
M. R. MILLER,
606   Auctioneer.

1877 February, Mr M. R. Miller selling Mr G. P. Donnelly’s racehorses

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE
SECTION NO. 11, TOWNSHIP OF HASTINGS,
Apply to
W. K. McLEAN,
117   The Repository.

1877 February, Section 11 for sale

1877 February, William Goodwin filed a charge against Mr R. P. Williams of the Boiling Down plant at Clive for £1.5s as the cost of a wooden cask – Mr James Ferguson manager at the plant claimed he found it floating in the Ngaruroro river and cut it in half for water-butts, Mr Carter cask manufacture said he only made casks for Mr Goodwin, the case failed. In 1876 Mr R. P. Williams had laid a charge against William Goodwin claiming the cask was machine made by Henry Carter at Clive – the charge was dismissed.

[Newspaper article]crosse
PUBLIC POUND AT HASTINGS
A letter was read from Mr. Goodwin, applying that a certain section mentioned should be declared a public pound.
Mr Williams explained the circumstances, and moved that the section mentioned in the letter should be declared a public pound.
The motion was seconded by Mr Bennett and carried.

1877 February, William Goodwin now applied to the HB County Council to be declared the Public PounHd keeper – he was already acting as the Hastings Pound keeper since April 1875.

1877 February, Dr de Lisle of Napier advertised attendance at Hastings on Thursdays and Fridays

Page 62

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
The inhabitants of Hastings are requested to attend a meeting in the school-house on WEDNESDAY next, 28th instant, at 7.30, to take into consideration the advisability of draining the Township.
The Chairman of the Heretaunga Road Board and member of Riding requested to attend.
R. WELLWOOD
W. GOODWIN
J. J. KELLY
W. EBBETT.  Conveners.
904

1877 February, Draining the township

[Newspaper notice]
COUNTY OF HAWKE’S BAY.
APPOINTMENT OF POUNDKEEPER.
In pursuance of the provisions of “The Counties Act, 1876.”
WILLIAM GOODWIN
Has been appointed Poundkeeper for the Hastings Pound, established as a public Pound at Hastings, in the County of Hawke’s Bay, as from the First
day of March, 1877.
Dated this 10th day of March, 1877.
H. S. TIFFEN,
Chairman, C.C.H.B. [County Council Hawke’s Bay]
Clerk C. C. Hawke’s Bay.
G. T. FANNIN   1060

[Newspaper notice]
COUNTY OF HAWKE’S BAY,
ESTABLISHMENT OF PUBLIC POUND.
It is hereby notified that in pursuance of the provisions contained in the 200th Clause of “The Counties Act, 1876,” the Council of the County of Hawke’s Bay has established a Public Pound, situated in Hastings, sub-division E, bounded on the North and South by other portions of Sub-division E, measuring 499 links, respectively towards the East and West by other portions of sub-division E, 1102 links respectively, within the said County of Hawke’s Bay, by the name of “The Taradale Pound” as from the First day of March, 1877.
Dated this 10th day of March, 1877.
H. S. TIFFEN,
Chairman,
C. C. Hawke’s Bay.
Clerk C. C. Hawke’s Bay,
G. T. FANNIN.   1064

[Newspaper notice]
IMPOUNDED AT HASTINGS
By Edward Kirk, for Heretaunga Road Board, on the 18th June.
Bay Gelding, about 14 and a half hands high, branded on near shoulder H and on near rump H, and on off shoulder like G, shod all round.
Dark Bay Mare, branded R/W on near shoulder, about 15 hands high, shod all round.
Bay Gelding, no brand visible, about 13 and a half hands high.
Will be sold on Wednesday, the 4th July, at noon, unless redeemed.
WILLIAM GOODWIN,
Poundkeeper.
June 20, 1877.   1099

Impounds at Hastings in June 1877 by Edward Kirk – Tanner’s boundary fence rider, George Love, Stewart Miller, Peneha a native, John Collinge, Robert Brathwaite, F. Roper and Mr Goodwin himself also impounded stray horses.

1877 March, Drainage at Hastings – Mr Williams said at the HB County Council meeting – that a considerable part of the township of Hastings was so much lower than the rest that the surface water rested there for a month at a time and suggested placing the drainage in the hands of the Heretaunga Road Board to be declared public drains.

1877 March, The annual Children’s treat was given on Friday in the grounds of the Rev W. Marshall, over 200 children assembled together with their friends for games and ride the large circular swing, the event ending with a display of fireworks.

Page 63

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE.
HASTINGS – Town Sections 301, 302, together with a 5-Roomed House, all fenced in and planted.
For Terms apply to
EDWARD LYNDON,
1093   Land and Estate Agent.

1877 March, Sections 301 & 302 with 5 bed roomed house for sale

1877 – 1878 Directory list for Hastings HB –
Baker, Thomas, settler 
Bell, W. J. sheepfarmer  
Bishop, Thomas, commission agent
Bunning, S. settler  
Cable, James, settler  
Chapman, F. M.
Chapman, H. C. carpenter
Collinge, John, farmer
Commack, James, farmer
Crow, Thomas, farmer
Doney, Charles, blacksmith
Ebbett, Moses, farmer
Ebbett, Wm, farmer
Gallien, Henry, carpenter
Gidney, S. carpenter
Goodwin, Wm. Hotelkeeper
Griffiths, – bootmaker
Hamblin, Thomas, settler
Harris, John, settler
Harrison, John
Higgin, James, gardener
Joll, David, J. farmer
Kelly, John J. storekeeper
Knight Brothers, timber merchants
Lagor, Wm, settler
Lane, John, settler
Lincoln, Wm, settler
Lines, G. settler
Lore, George, farmer
Lynn, Josiah, settler
McDonald, James, settler
McDonell, F. D. storekeeper
McDongall [McDougall?], John, settler
McKnight, John
McLeod, W. O. schoolmaster
Mitchell, Wm, farmer
Moody, Thomas, settler
Ormond, J. D. sheepfarmer
Ramsey, Peter, farmer
Russell, A. H. sheepfarmer
Russell, W. R. sheepfarmer
Saunders and Wheat, settlers
Simmons, John
Somerville, Robert, storekeeper
Stenn, George, butcher
Styles, George, carpenter
Thomas, W. M. carpenter
Vickers, W. settlercrosse
Wall, James, settler
Wall, Robert, settler
Wall, Joseph, settler
Wellwood, Robert, farmer
White, Wm [William] . settler
Williams, J. N. sheepfarmer
Wright, D. telegraphist

1 butcher, 1 blacksmith, 1 bootmaker, 1 gardener, 1 schoolmaster, 1 timber merchant, 1 hotelkeeper, 1 commission agent, 1 telegraphist, 3 storekeepers and 5 carpenters, but mostly settlers and farmers who worked in other areas and regarded Hastings as their township.

[Newspaper notices]
W. ELLINGHAM,
GENERAL BLACKSMITH AND HORSE-SHOER,
BEGS to intimate to the inhabitants of Hastings and surrounding districts that he intends starting business as GENERAL BLACKSMITH and HORSE-SHOER, on or about the 1st of May next, when he trusts by strict attention to Business and good Workmanship to merit a fair share of support.
417

W. ELLINGHAM
GENERAL BLACKSMITH,
AND HORSE-SHOER
HASTINGS,
BEGS to intimate to the inhabitants of Hastings and surrounding Districts, that he has commenced business as above, and trusts by strict attention to business and good workmanship to merit a fair share of support.
570

1877 May, William Ellington was an early blacksmith in Hastings for a short while, then the Doney, son and brother partnership took over – George Ebbett recalls they had a shed 20 x 15, set 20ft back from the main road between wcrossehere the Hastings Hotel would be built and Somerville’s store on Market St corner with a growing heap of worn horse shoes and other iron junk, another early blacksmith was operating on the corner of Heretaunga St east near Hastings St – the Regent block. William Ellington b: 1856, m: Christina Carmichael March 1877, he died at Takapau in May 1925 aged 70.

1877 May, Goodwin’s Skating Ring is being fairly patronised and there is talk of a new second hotel being built in Hastings – not to the liking of Mr Goodwin.

1877 May, The annual ploughing match and foal show in connection with the HB Agriculture and Pastoral Society was held on Mr Wellwood’s paddock near Hastings – the train would stop opposite the paddock to set down and pick up passengers.

1877 May, The Railway Labourers were no longer allowed free travel up and down the line.

1877 May, Wesleyan Services were now being held in the school house on St Aubyn St, Hastings.

Page 64

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE AT HASTINGS,
THAT HOUSE now in the occupation of Mr. F. M. Chapman, containing six rooms, with kitchen, store-room, and other conveniences.
There is an acre of ground attached, planted with shrubs and fruit trees.
The above property is within five minutes walk of the Railway Station, is pleasantly situated, and combines the conveniences of a town, with many comforts of a country home.
Apply to
270   F.M. CHAPMAN.

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE, AT HASTINGS,
THAT Central and Excellent Site for business, No. 73.
Also, sections 145, 146, and 158, in one block, fenced in, with cottage thereon.
Numbers 68 and 69, adjoining the Railway Station, having over a chain frontage to Queen-street and two chains to the main road are offered for lease.
The above lots all front the principal street, and include the most valuable sites in the township.
Apply to
312   F. M. CHAPMAN.

1877, Mr F. M. Chapman six roomed house and one acre for sale and Section 68 & 69 for lease – later Beck’s store and Mill sections.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
10 TOWN SECTIONS, 107 TO 116.
FOR SALE
A PADDOCK, the property of Mr H.B. Sealy, containing 2¾ acres of rich land, securely fenced in, ploughed and grassed.
This valuable block, within three minutes walk of the Railway Station, with the advantage of a road on three sides, is admirably suited for a private residence. Open for one month.
Terms, ¼ cash; balance in 6 and 12 months. After which, the sections, if not sold, will be open for selection.
EDWARD LYNDON,
214   Land and Estate Agent.

1877 June, Hastings town sections and Mr H. B. Sealy paddock for sale

[Advertisement]
HENRY WILLIAMS & SONS
LIMITED.
Wholesale and Retail
IRONMONGERS,
NAPIER AND HASTINGS.
Importers of English, German, and American Hardware.
The Singer System
Silent Sewing Machine.
In Beautiful Walnut Cabinet. Price now reduced from £4 10s. to £4 NETT CASH.
The above Machine is replete with all the latest Improvements, and is the best Value ever offered to the Public.
HENRY WILLIAMS & SONS,
LIMITED.
IRONMONGERS.

1877, Henry Williams & Sons Ltd, Ironmongers and Hardware store opened in Heretaunga St east beside Knight’s.

Page 65

[Advertisements]
W. G. FAULKNOR & CO.,
MARKET STREET, HASTINGS.
MAKERS OF ALL DESCRIPTIONS OF CARRIAGES, DOG-CARTS, PHAETONS, CARTS, WAGONS, VANS, &c.
HASTINGS COACH FACTORYcrosse
AND WAGON WORKS.
REPAIRING, PAINTING, TRIMMING, and all other work executed with promptitude, and defies competition for quality, durability, and economy.

W. G. FAULKNOR & CO.,
MARKET STREET, HASTINGS.
Makers of all Descriptions of Carriages
Dog-Carts, Phaetons, Carts Wagons, Vans, &c.
HASTINGS COACH FACTORY
AND WAGON WORKS.

Hastings Coach Factory,
MARKET STREET.
W. G. FAULKNOR,
COACHBUILDER, WHEELWRIGHT, & GENERAL BLACKSMITH.
CARRIAGES MADE FROM THE NEWEST DESIGNS, BEST MATERIAL ONLY USED.
DIRECT IMPORTER OF CARRIAGE WARE.
Painting, Trimming, and every description of Repairs Expeditiously Attended to.
TRAPS EXCHANGED.

1877, The Hastings Coach Factory and Wagon Works was established by W. George Faulknor on Market St, it later burnt down in 1894. William George Faulknor b: 1860 at Napier, d: 1942 Wellington.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
FOR SALE,
SECTIONS Nos. 244, 245, and 246, in part, Nos. 297, and 299, South Hastings.
ALSO, Nos. 145, 146, and 158, North Hastings.
BENNETT & JOHNSON.

1877 August South & North Hastings sections for sale

[Newspaper notice]
HERETAUNGA ROAD BOARD DISTRICT.
TO THE RATEPAYERS OF THE ABOVE DISTRICT.
TAKE NOTICE, that it is the intention of the Board to hold a meeting in the School-room, Hastings, on SATURDAY, the 1st September, 1877, at noon, for the purpose of making a rate of Fourpence in the Pound, for the period commencing July 1, 1877 and ending June 30, 1878; payable in one sum on the 15th December, 1877; and that the rate-book is open for inspection at the School-house, Hastings.
ROBERT WELLWOOD,
Chairman
Heretaunga Road Board.
August 10, 1877.   738

1877 August, Heretaunga Road Board

[Newspaper notice]
MARRIAGE.
WRIGHT – GOODWIN. – At Hastings, on the 12th instant, at the residence of the bride, by the Rev.
W. Marshall, D. A. Wright, youngest son of the late Henry Wright, of New Plymouth, to Ellen Pinyon Goodwin, eldest daughter of W. Goodwin, of Hastings.

Page 66

1877 July, Goodwin’s eldest daughter Ellen Pinyon Goodwin married the Hastings Railway Station Master – David Aitken Wright b: 1843, they had a son 1888, they possibly lived in the Station Guards house opposite till around 1887. David was to be an active member of Hastings committees and cricket club, they moved up to Helensville North Auckland, Ellen died 1895 and David a Farmer died 1907

[Newspaper notice]
DEATH
Goodwin. –  At the Railway Hotel, Hastings, at 8.40 p.m. on Saturday, October 21, Anne, the beloved wife of William Goodwin, aged 54 years – Kent and Essex papers please copy.
The funeral will leave Mr Goodwin’s residence for Havelock Cemetery at 2 o’clock to-morrow. Friends will please accept this intimation to attend.

William Goodwin’s wife Anne Pinyon died at the Railway Hotel at 8.40pm on Saturday 21st October 1877 aged 54, she was buried in Havelock North. William Goodwin returned to England and was a Retired Farmer in 1891 at 21 Rollestone Rd, Croydon Surrey where he lived off his own means with his new wife Martha 45 and where he died 9th February 1895 aged 67 years – late of Waipukurau, Hawke’s Bay. William Henry Goodwin a Ploughman eldest son of William Goodwin of Croydon, Surrey and late of Hawke’s Bay married Isabella Brenkley, daughter of John Brenkley of Burnett Farm, Norsewood. They were married at the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Norsewood on February 27th 1895 by the Rev. W. H. Randerson. William Henry Goodwin died 19th June 1907 at Wairoa aged 48. Sidenote – Isabella Brenkley was the younger half-sister to our Fanny Patricia Price – Robinson/Hammond/McLeod.

[Advertisements]
RAILWAY HOTEL,
HASTINGS
W. Goodwin, Proprietor.
The above HOTEL is situated close to the Railway Station, and will be found REPLETE with
Every Comfort & Accommodation
FOR TRAVELLERS AND VISITORS.
NO EXPENSE HAS BEEN SPARED BY THE PROPRIETOR TO MAKE THIS HOTEL COMFORTABLE AND DESERVING OF PUBLIC SUPPORT.
Excursionists by the Trains will find every Convenience.
Good Paddocks and Stabling for Travelling Stock.
Wines, Spirits, and Malt Liquors
OF THE BEST BRANDS KEPT.
PRIVATE ROOMS FOR FAMILIES.
W. GOODWIN.

RAILWAY HOTEL,
HASTINGS
W. Goodwin, Proprietor.
The above HOTEL is situated close to the
RAILWAY STATION,
And will be found REPLETE with
EVERY COMFORT & ACCOMMODATION
For TRAVELLERS and VISITORS.
No expense has been spared by the Proprietor to make this Hotel comfortable and deserving of public support.
EXCURSIONISTS BY THE TRAINS
Will find every convenience.
GOOD PADDOCKS AND STABLING
for Travelling Stock.
Wines, Spirits, and Malt Liquors,crosse
Of the best Brands kept.
PRIVATE ROOMS FOR FAMILIES.
W. GOODWIN.

Widower William Goodwin sold the Railway Hotel, he was no longer mentioned at Hastings, he possibly travelled to England, but maybe returned in September 1888 when a lease was made between him with his son-in-law David Aitken Wright, and Williams & Kettle Ltd for the fourteen perches of Section 9 on the corner of Railway and Queen Streets, Hastings – later the second Hastings Standard Office site and Telephone Exchange site opposite the Post Office.

[Photo]

Page 67

1877, Beecroft’s Railway Hotel looking towards Hicks corner from the railway line – The Railway Hotel is situated further down Heretaunga St east than it seems. Now shows adjoined building at left edge behind the front empty Railway Reserve properties. There was also the local pound in the rear yards. Shows – Pike’s Billiard Rooms behind and possibly the Union Bank distant left. Goodwin’s Hall on Eastbourne St west and the Hastings Poundkeeper duty’s also came under Beecroft’s control

In 1877 William Arthur Beecroft moved to Hastings with his wife Margaret Adelaide Beecroft and purchased the Railway Hotel where he extended the horse stables and conducted one of the largest and most complete livery stables. William Arthur Beecroft, born at Lowestoft, England, came to New Zealand 1865 by the ship Liverpool to Auckland. He went gum-digging, then from around 1868 worked as salesman at Napier for eight years. Birth – At Hastings on the 30th June 1876, the wife of W. A. Beecroft, of a daughter. Birth – At Hastings on the 17th July 1879, the wife of W. A. Beecroft, of a son, and at Hastings on September 24th 1882, the wife of W. A. Beecroft of a son. Beecroft owned the Lucknow estate at Havelock, on which he built a residence known as “Dilkhoosha.” He took part in all matters associated with the advancement of Hastings, he was a member of the Heretaunga Road Board until the district was taken over by the County Council, and was a member of the Hastings Borough Council in 1894.

[Photo]

W. A. Beecroft took over the stewardship of the developing town

[Advertisements]
RAILWAY HOTEL,
HASTINGS
W. A. BEECROFT,
Proprietor.
The above HOTEL is situated close to the Railway Station, and will be found REPLETE with
EVERY COMFORT & ACCOMMODATION
For Travellers and Visitors.
No expense has been spared by the Proprietor to make this Hotel comfortable and deserving of public support.
EXCURSIONISTS BY THE TRAINS WILL FIND EVERY CONVENIENCE.
GOOD PADDOCKS AND STABLING
FOR TRAVELLING STOCK.
SADDLE HORSES ON HIRE.
WINES, SPIRITS, & MALT LIQUORS
Of the Best Brands Kept.
PRIVATE ROOMS FOR FAMILIES.
W. A. BEECROFT.

RAILWAY HOTEL,
HASTINGS.
W. A. BEECROFT, PROPRIETOR.
This Hotel has recently been enlarged and improved, making it one of the most commodious houses in the Province.
It is situated twelve miles from Napier, in a most salubrious locality, near the Railway Station. Anyone out for a day’s pleasure will find it a most enjoyable ride or drive; and they may rely on their comfort being studied by the Proprietor.
TWENTY MINUTES IS PERMITTED AT LUNCH TIME.
The most approved brands of
WINES, SPIRITS, and MALT LIQUORS
Kept on hand.
ENGLISH ALES ALWAYS ON DRAUGHT.
A SPACIOUS BILLIARD ROOM
Furnished with one of Thurston’s first-class Tables.
BUGGY & SADDLE HORSES ALWAYS ON HIRE.
GOOD STABLING
AND PADDOCK ACCOMMODATION
Also Sale Yards attached, with every convenience for holding Sales of Stock, &c.
Sufficient time is allowed by the railway authorities for thirsty souls to refresh the inner man.
PRIVATE ROOMS FOR EXCURSIONISTS AND FAMILIES.

In April 1878, Impounded at Hastings on April 15, 1878. Bay Mare, Star on forehead about 14 hands high branded P on near cheek, and like W H on near shoulder. Will be sold this day fortnight unless re-deemed. W. A. Beecroft, Pound keeper.

In April 1878, We notice that extensive additions are about to be made to the Railway Hotel, Hastings. Tenders for the work are advertised for by Mr Thomas R. Cooper, architect.

In December 1878, Mary Ann Rundle – a City Of Auckland arrival was a servant 4 weeks at Railway Hotel Hastings when she had a still born in her room. Anne Lucas mother of Mary Ann Rundle said she was married the previous year, her husband did not come out. Mrs Tomazine Lane wife of William Lane who was in the employ of Mr Beecroft and resides at Hastings. Laura Trigilgas a milliner residing at Hastings.

Page 68

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS RAILWAY HOTEL,
J. TUCK, Proprietor.
The Best Colonial Beer.   First-class Spirits & Wines.
CIGARS OF OWN IMPORTATION.
Beecroft’s Horse Repository and Stables attached.
GOOD PADDOCKS WELL WATERED.
SADDLE HORSES AND BUGGIES ON HIRE.
BILLIARDS TABLE BY THURSTON.

In March 1883, The Heretaunga Licensing Committee, Railway Hotel, Hastings – The application of Mr W. A. Beecroft for the transfer of his license to Mr J. Tuck was laid before the committee and confirmed, there being no opposition. There were four windmills seen in early Central Hastings – Beecroft’s advertised a fine water supply at its stables behind the Railway Hotel – the windmill was still visible till 1912 and another two windmills were visible in 1908 along Warren St sth and one behind State Central School.

[Newspaper notice]
TANNER. – At Norton House, Stoketon-on-Tees, Co. Durham, on October 1, the wife of Thomas Tanner of a daughter.

1877 October, Tanner’s wife had returned home to England where she gave birth

[Newspaper notice]
A BAZAAR, in aid of the Hastings Church Building Fund, will be held on the 10th and 11th October, in the grounds of the Hawke’s Bay Agricultural Society.
The following ladies will be glad to receive donations of needle-work :-
MRS RUSSELL
MRS CHAPMAN
MRS WELLWOOD
MRS BURNETT
MRS BRANDON
MRS MARSHALL.   1039

1877 October

1877 October, The Hastings Agriculture Show was held over two days – the train took 50 minutes from leaving Napier at a speed of 14mph. Hastings was described as a scattered hamlet of agricultural & pastoral type with plenty of grass growing and many Pukeko roaming, the town boasts of a double tower church with gravel on the railway approaches, the showgrounds were fully fenced-in with a grand attendance, hordes of Maori a-foot and on horseback arrived very orderly, the event was behaved very soberly – would have please[d] Father Matthew ?

1877 October, The Hawke’s Bay boiling-down works have closed for the season; the last lot of sheep boiled down were from Riverslea – Thomas Tanner, consisting of 2,430 sheep, which yielded the splendid return of tallow.

1877 October, Mr John Renouf Napier Hastings builder advertised he had moved to Kaikora, but he returned later.

1877 December 15, Birth – Renouf, the wife of John Renouf, of a daughter

1877 December 25, Birth – Joll at Harewood, Hastings on the 25th December, the wife of Mr D. J. Joll, of a daughter.

Page 69

[Newspaper notices]
FREEHOLD PROPERTY FOR SALE.
HASTINGS.
MR EDWARD LYNDON has received instructions from F. M. Chapman, Esq., who has left the Province, to offer for private sale the undermentioned valuable properties at Hastings –
HASTINGS – Town Sections 265, 266, 267, 268, together with a Family Residence thereon.
HASTINGS – Town Sections 68, and 69, sheds to be taken at a valuation.
EDWARD LYNDON,
250   Land and Estate Agent.

FOR SALE.
HASTINGS. – Town Sections 215, 216, 217, 218, 219. This block is bounded on three sides by a public road.
Apply to
EDWARD LYNDON,
522   Land and Estate Agent.

LAND FOR SALE.
HASTINGS.
TWO SECTIONS in the above Township, Nos. 50 and 53.
BENNETT & BROOKING.

1878 January, F. M. Chapman left and his property is for sale, plus town sections, 68 & 69 with sheds – later E. Beck and sections 50 & 53

1878 January 15, Mr H. R. Holder of Napier advertised he was opening a Branch Saddlery store in Hastings, but then he decided to retire and sold his businesses to Alf M. Otton & F. S. Western, so the Hastings store may never eventuated. A year later Holder resumed the business.

[Newspaper notice]
HERETAUNGA ROAD DISTRICT.
TAKE NOTICE. –  The Valuation List for the Heretaunga District for the year 1878, is now open for Inspection at the  Hastings School-house. All objections thereto must be left at the Resident Magistrate’s Court, Napier, on or before the 15th day of February, addressed to the Assessment Court, and a copy of every such objection must be left at my house not less than seven days before the next sitting of the said Court.
WILLIAM O. McLEOD,
Clerk, Heretaunga Road Board,
Hastings, January 14, 1878   431

[Newspaper notice]
NOTICE.
RATES due to the Hawke’s Bay County Council must be paid at the Residence of the undersigned, near Hastings, on or before the 11th February next, after which date all unpaid rates will be sued for without further notice.
JOHN COLLINGE,
Collector.
January 28, 1878.   623

1878 January 14, The Heretaunga Road District valuations and Rates notice, by John Collinge

1878 January 31, Education – the Hastings School Committee were elected – Captain W. R. Russell, J. N. Williams voted to chair, John Collinge, Vickers, Gallien, Robert Somerville and D. J. Joll. Hastings now had a roll of 38 pupils.

[Newspaper notice]
NOTICE
ALL Fences obstructing the thorough-fare of roads in the Hastings Township must be removed within fourteen days or legal proceedings will be taken.
By order of the Chairman.
WILLIAM O. McLEOD,
Clerk Heretaunga Road Board.
Hastings, Feb. 1, 1878.   639

1878 February, illegal road fences, William O. McLeod clerk Heretaunga Road Board

1878 February 7 Thursday – The annual Ram Fair of Routledge Kennedy & Co sale was held at Hastings

1878 February 8 Friday – Robert Wellwood is leaving for England and has leased his property Maxwell Lea at Hastings. Routledge Kennedy & Co auction of all his stock, farm implements and household chattels, Mr. W. J. Miller arranged with the Railway to stop the midday train at Wellwood’s property so buyers could alight and be picked up by the last train from Hastings.

1878 February 9, Death – Bishop of Waipu [Waiapu], Rev William Williams died at his residence in Napier aged 78

1878, Another butcher operating in Hastings was George Stenn for a short time as did George Edgar Sluice trade as a butcher in Hastings in 1881 – George had married Mary O’Connell in February 1877.

Page 70

1878 February, Death notice – Chapman – at Hastings on February 25th Elsie youngest daughter of Henry C. and Elizabeth Chapman, aged 1 year.

1878 February 20, Birth – Sutton at Royden, wife of F. Sutton, of a daughter

1878 March, Death notice – Kelly at Hastings on 12th March Louisa third and beloved daughter of John Joseph and Louisa Ann Kelly, aged 18 years.

1878 March, Francis Hicks bought land at Cambridge for a large Dairy Farm where he was reputed to be the first man in the Waikato to introduce the system of home separation of milk. Hicks married local school teacher Mary Allan in 1883, they had 13 children. Apparently Hicks eldest daughter aged around seven was present at the occasion when her father officially handed over the railway reserve land and she recalled the moment.

1878 March 13, A farewell dinner was given to Robert Wellwood at the Railway Hotel Hastings on leaving for their home country, but they returned to Hastings several years later.

1878 March, A farewell was given by 50 residents to the Rev William Marshall and his wife who was leaving the district due to ill health.

1878 March, A petition was raised with 47 signatures for a second Hastings Hotel.

1878 March, Birth notice – McLeod at Hastings on April 17th the wife of William O. McLeod, a daughter.

1878 March, Death notice – Hackett – at Hastings on March 26th , the infant child of Robert and Mary Hackett, aged 9 mths.

1878 March, Saturday, The current proprietors of the Hawke’s Bay Herald celebrated their 7th Anniversary and put on a Special Train from Napier to Hastings for their friends and employees picnic – a game of cricket was played on the Agriculture Society’s paddock near the railway line where a tent was pitched, a dinner was later provided by Mr Beecroft in Goodwin’s Hall. Later the Hawke’s Bay Herald set up an office in Hastings.

1878 April, The drought was effecting the artesian wells – no longer flows around Hastings south and Paki Paki where pumping out was required.

1878 April, Extensive additions to the Railway Hotel at Hastings are being tendered for by Thomas R. Cooper Architect

[Newspaper notice]
FENCING NOTICE.
To J. Pocock, J. M’Kenzie, W. Ebbett, and Walters, or others, the owners of rural sections Nos. 20, 22, 24, and 27 on the Plan of the Arlington Estate.
IN pursuance of the “Fencing Act, 1874,” I hereby give you notice that I, the undersigned William Goodwin, the owner of rural sections numbered 21 and 23 on the above plan, require you to assist in making in equal proportions, a dividing fence between the above-mentioned sections belonging to me and the above-mentioned sections belonging to you, and that in default of your doing so I shall proceed to make the whole of the said dividing fence and call upon you to pay one-half the cost of making the same.
Dated this 29th April, 1978.
596   WILLIAM GOODWIN.

1878 April, William Goodwin’s fencing

Page 71

[Newspaper notice]
SKATING RINK.
HASTINGS.
GOODWIN’S HALL will be Opened for Rinking every MONDAY, WEDNESDAY, and FRIDAY EVENING, from 6.30 to 9.30 p.m. during the months of June and July, or at any time during the day for Private parties.
W. A. BEECROFT,
Proprietor
May 30, 1878.   928

1878 May, Skating was popular at Napier, Waipawa, Waipukurau and Hastings – Goodwin’s Hall was fairly patronised now under the proprietor of Mr Beecroft.

[Advertisements]
KNIGHT BROTHERS,
COAL AND TIMBER MERCHANTS,
HASTINGS.
SAWN TIMBER (TONGUED AND GROOVED),
Fencing Posts, Strainers, House Blocks,
FIREWOOD AND COALS,
Hay, Straw, Chaff, Corn and Crushed Corn,
ALWAYS ON HAND AND FOR SALE.
The above will be Sold at Current Prices, and can be delivered to any part of the country.
Orders executed for all kinds of Agricultural Machinery, imported direct from the Home Markets.

KNIGHT BROTHERS,
COAL AND TIMBER MERCHANTS,
HASTINGS.
SAWN TIMBER (tongued and Grooved), FENCING POSTS, STRAINERS, HOUSE BLOCKS, FIREWOOD AND COALS, HAY STRAW, CHAFF, CORN, AND CRUSHED CORN.
Always on Hand, and for Sale.
The above will be sold at current Prices, and can be delivered to any part of the Country.
Orders executed for all kinds of Agricultural Machinery, Imported direct from the Home Markets.
SUB-AGENT TO THE NEW ZEALAND INSURANCE CO.

1878, Knight Brother’s machinery produced tongue & grooved dressed timber

1878 May, Donald McDonald married Mary McDonald eldest daughter of James McDonald ay [at] Pukahu by the Rev Alexander Shepherd. But sadly Mary died nine months later in January 1879, Donald McDonald died 1939.

1878 June, Birth notice – Ebbett at Hastings on the 24th June the wife of Mr Wm. Ebbett, a son.

1878 July, A petition was raised to abolish the Hawke’s Bay Toll Gates at Tareha’s Bridge – Awatoto and the new Taradale Road.

1878 August, Mr Brathwaite moved at the H.B. County Council meeting that the portion of Lyndon Rd bounded on the east by Railway Rd and on the west by Market St in the township of Hastings be closed subject to the conditions imposed by the Ratepayers recent meeting.

1878 September, A meeting was held in the Hastings Hotel to form a local cricket club to be called the County Districts Cricket Club with 30 members

1878 September, Mr and Mrs Thomas Tanner of Riverslea and family returned to Napier yesterday by the Wanaka, after an absence in England of about two years. A large number of Mr Tanner’s friends were on the wharf waiting his arrival. People were anxious hoping that when he arrives back he will be enabled to start his contemplated woollen factory – see January 1888.

1878 October, A meeting was held at Mr Beecrofts hotel to form a Hastings chapter of the Oddfellows Order – called the Loyal Hastings Lodge.

1878 October, The Hastings to Havelock road was petitioned by the ratepayers to be taken over by the Council, as there were two large lagoons along the Hastings to Havelock road to negotiate in winter – one outside Ralph Paynter’s orchard and another at St Andrews Rd. Thomas Tanner had planted a line of poplar and fir trees along the northern side of this road.

Page 72

[Photos]

Sam T. Tong Builders Cabinetmaker & Undertakers on Karamu Rd nth, a Painter & Paperhanger business to the left with another old building behind. Mr Samuel Thomas Tong was born at Falmouth England, arrived in Hastings 1878 and founded the Hastings Volunteer Fire Brigade in early 1886, being captain for 12 yr

[Advertisements]
S. T. TONG,
Builder, Contractor, Cabinetmaker, and Undertaker,
KARAMU ROAD, HASTINGS.
JOBBING IN ALL ITS BRANCHES PROMPTLY ATTENDED TO.

S. T. TONG,
Builder, Cabinetmaker, and Undertaker,
KARAMU ROAD, HASTINGS.
All Kinds of Furniture Made to Order, & Jobbing promptly attended to.

SAMUEL T. TONG
CARPENTER, JOINER, CABINET MAKER
AND UNDERTAKER
KARAMU ROAD, HASTINGS.
Estimates given and Contracts taken.
Jobbing promptly attended to in all its Branches.

SAMUEL T. TONG
Carpenter, Joiner,
AND
UNDERTAKER
KARAMU ROAD, HASTINGS
Jobbing in all its Branches promptly attended to.

[Advertisement]
T. FOREMAN
Family Butcher,
HASTINGS AND HAVELOCK.
T. F. takes this opportunity to thank his numerous Customers for the very liberal support accorded him for the last three years, and assures them that nothing shall be wanting on his part to merit a continuance of their favors.
SMALL GOODS OF EVERY DESCRIPTION ALWAYS ON HAND.

1878 November, John Robottom an employee of Thomas Foreman the butcher died when he fell from the carriage on the siding at Farndon and was struck by the passing train. He was a member of the Artillery Volunteer Band.

1878 November, The Hawke’s Bay Agricultural & Pastoral Association purchased 80 acres from Mr Thomas Tanner, Knight Brother’s and Mr Chapman for a new Showgrounds – the estimated cost for the grandstand and course £700, the cricket ground £60, removal of old yards etc £400, fencing £200, artesian well £60, and contingencies £150. The sale of the previous grounds aprox [approximately] £1000. It later became just the HB Jockey Club racecourse while land at Tomoana was purchased from Mr Nelson for the new Showgrounds.

Page 73

[Survey map – Agricultural and Pastoral Society Show Ground and Race Course]

Shows the Makirikiri creek still winding its way along its original course through section 2 and 5 of the Agriculture and Pastoral Society’s second Show Ground and Race Course towards the new culvert and bridge over the railway and road to the Reserve which later caused a bottleneck on Section 5 to form the wider Jubilee Lake that was later banked and planted with a few Willows

1878 November, Michael E. Groom had returned to Hastings and held a sale of his sections.

1878, Peter Thorpe died at Hastings aged 38

1879 January, Marriage – Boyle – Annabell, by the Rev A. Shepherd on 25 January, James Boyle of Oatlands Havelock to Lizzie, second daughter of Mr Annabell, Hastings.

1879 February 2, Deaths – Layor, At Hastings, William Henry late of Cornwall England, aged 44.

1879 August, John Joseph Kelly died suddenly. Mrs Kelly had given him some brandy containing a few drops of laudanum as she had been directed to do on a previous occasion by Dr. Gibbes. William Bibby said he had known Mr Kelly for nineteen years, as did William O. McLeod, teacher of the Board School, Hastings.

1879, Thomas Armstrong Hayes opened a store near King St – he was frequently charged with drunkenness and for deliberately keeping a pig in the town, he later had a store in Station St. His brother George Hayes a contractor was convicted 10 times – known as a champion for free-grazing along Hastings Streets for his horses, his fines were far less than paddock grazing rentals.

1879, Hastings now possessed 4 general stores, two boot makers, one saddler, butchers, bakers, blacksmiths, timber yard and machine depot together with all the amenities of a thriving township. One hotel, a church, substantial buildings and cottages scattered in every direction with cultivated gardens.

1879, Tenders were being called for new school, teachers residence and a grandstand for the racecourse.

1879 September, Advertisements seeking persons interested in commencing a Beetroot Sugar Manufactory on the 3½ acres of Reserve land situated close to the railway line.

Page 74

[Advertisements]
C. TAYLOR
BOOT AND SHOEMAKER,
HASTINGS.
Every description of Boots and Shoes made to order, best material and workmanship; hand-sewn waterproof shooting Boots made to order. On hand, a first-class stock of watertight and elastic-side boots, our own make.
C. T. takes this opportunity to thank his friends and the public for the liberal support they have given him during the four years he has been in business in Havelock, and still respectfully solicits the favour of their patronage.
C. TAYLOR,
OPPOSITE J. J. KELLY’S GENERAL STORE,
HASTINGS.

C. TAYLOR
BOOT AND SHOEMAKER,
HASTINGS.
Every description of Boots and Shoes made to order, best material and workmanship; hand-sewn Waterproof Shooting Boots made to order. On hand, a first-class stock of Watertight and Elastic-side Boots, our own make.
C. T. takes this opportunity to thank his friends and the public for the liberal support they have given him during the four years he has been in business in Havelock, and still respectfully solicits the favour of their patronage.

C. TAYLOR
BOOT & SHOE MAKER
HASTINGS.
Every Description of Boots and Shoes made to Order.
BEST MATERIAL AND WORKMANSHIP.
A PERFECT FIT GUARANTEED.
A FIRST-CLASS STOCK OF WATERTIGHTS AND ELASTIC-SIDE BOOTS ALWAYS ON HAND.

C. TAYLOR
BOOT & SHOE MAKER,
HASTINGS.
Every description of Boots and Shoes made to Order.
BEST MATERIAL AND WORKMANSHIP.
A PERFECT FIT GUARANTEED.
A First-class Stock of WATERTIGHTS and ELASTIC-SIDE BOOTS always on Hand.

C. R. TAYLOR
BOOT AND SHOE WAREHOUSE
HASTINGS.
One of the Largest and Best Assortments of
BOOTS & SHOES IN HAWKE’S BAY,
including the celebrated
CROWN AND ZEALANDIA BOOTS.
Always on hand, a Good Stock of Watertights and Elastic Side Boots, MY OWN MAKE, sold at very moderate Prices.

1879, Two new business opened in Hastings – Charles Robert Taylor a Boot & Shoemaker opposite J. J. Kelly Heretaunga St west. Charles Robert Taylor married Prudence Tuckwell of Napier in 1880, but he died in 1887 aged 40. Prudence Taylor died 1895 aged 34.

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS NURSERY.
R. C. STURM,
NURSERY AND SEEDSMAN,
HAS ON HAND,
A LARGE AND CHOICE SELECTION OF
FRUIT & ORNAMENTAL TREES & SHRUBS.
VEGETABLE & FLOWER SEEDS,
ROOTS AND PLANTS.
ALSO,
NEW ZEALAND TREE AND SHRUB SEEDS, FERNS AND FERN TREES FOR EXPORTATION.

R. C. Sturm opened a Hastings Nursery

Rudolph Charles Sturm born January 1848, the son of Frederich Wilhelm Sturm – he was born about 1809 in Austria, and married Hinerakau Pakapuka Tiarere in Wairoa They had five children. Frederich died in May 1896 at Clive aged 87. Rudolph Charles Sturm married Jane Bosher in 1875. They had nine children. In 1896 Rudolph Charles Sturm a Nurseryman owned Sec 27, 28 of Block IX Riverslea. He died in July 1939 at Wairoa aged 91.

The Hastings Police Station

1879, Police Superintendant Shearman of Wellington sent voucher for £100.00 Re: section at Hastings purchased as site for Police Station.

Page 75

[Photo]

1879 July, The first Hastings Police Station buildings were opened on Railway Rd, the station was later moved to the rear of the police section when a new sergeant’s house with office was built on the police section. Constable Lawless from Wellington was sent to relieve Constable Raymond at Hastings and he ended up staying. There was a pathway from the Hastings Police Station section on Railway Rd sth which gave them quick direct access to Eastbourne St west. The obsolete Havelock Police station was closed and property to be let to a tenant on a yearly basis.

[Survey map]

The Hastings Police Station Reserve in red on Railway Rd sth and the adjoining section 240 in yellow later purchased from Mr Cohen in exchange for the Courthouse Section 18 on Avenue Rd east, shows the old red dividing lines along Havelock Rd and Karamu Rd where the drains ran along

Francis Hicks had originally reserved Section 18 on Avenue Rd east for a Courthouse, but in the sale of the Hastings sections on the 8 July 1873 by Mr Lyndon on behalf of Mr Hicks – Section 18 was sold off to Mr Thomas Bishop, so no title was conveyed to the Crown, when Bishop died it was conveyed to his trustees – Mr J. N. Williams and Mr W. H. Smith who could only sell it back to the Govt at a reduced price of £90.

Most of the Hastings court cases were sent over to Napier, the early Hastings Court sessions began in the Town Hall under Robert Wellwood from 1884, then at the new Hastings Athenaeum reading room of James Boyle’s on his ¼ acre Market St sth property which was unsuitable and required regular cleaning and chair repairs – the Borough Council later took over the Athenaeum for public use and built a new Carnegie Library.

In December 1871, H M Gaol, Napier. Report extract from the Visiting Justices on the wooden cells – The Gaoler having reported to us that prisoner named John Symonds under sentence of Penal servitude for four years for Burglary. We visited the cell and found that by aid of a broken table knife and a file, the prisoner had succeed in making an opening in the lining boards and weather board nearly large enough to permit his egress. We saw in the present state of many of the cells a prisoner in possession of any sharp or pointed instrument could easily manage to escape, also recommended that a Nightwatchman be appointed at the Napier Gaol.

1879, H. R. Holder of Napier opened a Saddlers branch store at Hastings

Page 76

[Advertisements]
HORSELYDOWN STORE,
HASTINGS
(ADJOINING THE RAILWAY HOTEL)
TO THE RESIDENTS of HASTINGS
AND
SURROUNDING DISTRICTS.
A. E. WARMAN
Begs to state that he has opened the Premises lately occupied by Mr. F. D. McDonald, and trusts that by selling FIRST-RATE ARTICLES, combined with courtesy and attention to business, to merit a share of your Patronage.
ALL GOODS AT NAPIER PRICES.
SUB-AGENT NATIONAL INSURANCE CO.

HORSELYDOWN STORE,
HASTINGS
(ADJOINING THE RAILWAY HOTEL)
A. E. WARMAN,
GENERAL STOREKEEPER.
SUB-AGENT TO THE NATIONAL INSURANCE CO.

A. E. WARMAN,
GENERAL STOREKEEPER
HASTINGS.
(ADJOINING THE RAILWAY HOTEL)
SUB-AGENT TO THE
NATIONAL INSURANCE CO.

The Horselydown Store adjoining the Railway Hotel then just W. A. Warman

1879, Mr F. D. McDonell’s The New Store at Hastings – previously Tobias Hicks old store – now became the ‘Horselydown Store’ under A. E. Warman – George Ebbett recalled as a boy customers entered the store over wooden planks over a fair-sized wooden banked drain overgrown with blue periwinkles harbouring rats. Alfred Edward Warman a storekeeper b: 1853, married 1877 Eliza Margaret Laffoley, they had one son, The old store may have been moved west from the Hicks section as seen in Tanner’s sale plan below as it shows the entire frontage along Karamu Rd nth was a stock Sales Yard. Alfred Warman had it till 1884 when it was up for sale, later the Union Bank of Australia obtained Hicks corner section 3A. The old Hicks store and residence was possibly moved again to the rear of the section 3A when the new wooden Union Bank of Australia was built in 1890.

[Survey map – South Hastings]

1879 September, From the Williams estate left – shows the Station building moved north, the Sales Yards over the complete section on Karamu Rd – poss [possibly] Hicks store was moved closer to the Hotel when the Sale Yards were installed, the Railway Hotel and a store building nearby with Knight’s Timber Yard and the Makirkiri [Makirikiri] stream crossing Railway and Karamu Roads

Page 77

Thomas Tanner endeavoured to dispose of his land at £5 an acre or less, he offered Riverslea block of 610 acres (in its entirety) extending on one side from the corner or which the present Union Bank stands to the Havelock bridge and on the other side along the Karamu Road to the site now occupied by the late Mr C. A. Fitzroy’s residence at £4 an acre, but could not get a buyer.

[Survey map – Riverslea sub-division]

1879 September, Thomas Tanner’s Riverslea subdivided land section sale was held with Reserves set aside for a School, Athenaeum, Town Hall a Woollen and Beet manufacturing site with the Makirikiri creek.

Page 78

[Survey map]

The Makirikiri creek still flowed freely around Thomas Tanner’s Hastings east block from the railway line skirting the low pan Reserve that was set aside for a Beet Root Sugar Manufacturary and the adjoining Woollen Factory section which neither eventuated later became the back of Central school, from there it headed northwards towards the Methodist church but then it curved around through Section 158 & 153 to cross Heretaunga St at 3 – although the course markings wrongly show it closer to Warren St. Directly across Heretaunga St from 153 to section 124, below section 118 Queen St where the Maori Pa was situated, the creek then crossed Hastings St nth to the Queen St east corner and on towards Tanner’s Park later – Beatson’s park.

1879, Up to this point there was no need for any bridging in the Hastings township, some foot planking across the creek was initially installed by the new eastern settlers, then rudimentary wooden bridges later built for access across some of the newly formed roads.

Page 79

[Survey plan – Plan of the TOWNSHIP of EAST HASTINGS]

1879 September, Thomas Tanner’s auction sale of East Hastings sections around Miller St, Karamu Rd, Willowpark Rd, Southampton Rd by M. R. Miller, shows Albert Hotel site marked and 2 rear section between Queen St east and Avenue Rd east and three sections at Hastings St nth and Avenue Rd east, the Makirikiri creek did not extend west of the Municipal buildings site but to the east of it. After this Hastings east sale saw a rapid population and business growth.

The following is a list of the lots sold : Town Sections, per lot – Section Nos. 1 and 2 £31 each – J. Linergren. Nos. 6 and 7, £30 – T. Wheat. Nos. 35 and 36 £32 – A. McKay. Nos. 40 and 41 £35 – J. O’Neill. Nos. 69 and 70 £34 – W. Ericksen, Nos. 74 and 75 £37, 103 £46 – J. N. Williams. No. 104 £55 – S. Tong. Nos. 108 and 109 £66 – J. N. Williams. No. 110 £80 – J. Gilligan. No. 111 £70 – Renata. No. 112  £60 – J. N. Williams. No. 113 £60 – J. W. Carlile.  No. 120 £65, 121 and 124 £45, 125 £50 – J. N. Williams. No. 1crosse32 £45, 134 £40 – T. Watt. No. 135 £38,136 £38, 137 £38 – J. N. Williams. Nos. 130 and 131 £23 – J. Bicknell. Nos. 129 and 128 £17 – E. Foley. Nos. 19, 18, and 17 £20 – T. Wheat. Nos.107 and 106 £42 – B. W. Knowles. No. 105 £39 – Renata. No. 28 £17, 27 £17 – Pulford. No. 26 £16 – Waterworth. No. 23 £15 -Colledge. No. 16, 15 and 14 £19 – Cattor. Nos. 13, 12, and 11 £19 – T. Wheat. Nos. 34 and 33 £14 – Tuxford. No. 30 and 29 £l9 – Taylor. Nos. 22, 21, and 20 £17 – Cattor. Nos. 19, 18, and 17 £20, 10, 9, and 8, £22 – T. Wheat. No.62 £17 – M. R. Miller. Nos. 61 and 60 £11 – McArthur. No. 59 £13 – E. W. Knowles. No. 58 £14 – Hamill.  No. 57 £17 – E. W. Knowles. Nos. 50,49, and 48 £17 – J. Hallassey. No. 45 £20 – M. Lyndon. Nos. 39, 38, and 37 £21, McKay. No. 68 £14 – M. R. Miller. No. 65 £14 – McBride. No. 64 £15 – W. Chambers. No.63 £19 – A. Bishop. Nos. 56, 55 and 54 £20 – J. Gilligan. Nos. 51, 52 and 53 £24 – Rev. D. Sidey. Nos. 42, 43 and 44 £25 – J. Collinge. Nos. 94, 95 and 96 £13 – A. Bishop. Nos. 91, 92 and 93 £21 – Rev. J. Campbell. Nos 82, 83 and 84 £21 – J. R. Elliott. Nos. 81, 80 and 79 £26 – D. P. Balfour. Nos. 73 and 72 £34 – W. Beagley. No. 71 £34 – J. Lyon. No. 102 £20 – W. Sharp. Nos. 101 and 100 £16 – A. Bishop. No. 99 £17 – J. N. Williams. No. 98 and 97 £24 – J. Lyon. No. 87 £31- J. Murphy. Nos. 84and 85 £31- T. McArthur. Nos. 78 and 77 £29 – B. L. Knight. No. 76 £25 – J. Lyon. Nos. 131 and 130 £23 – J. Bicknell. Nos.129 and 128 £17 – E. Foley. No. 126 £19 – Renata. Nos. 119, 118 and 117 £21 – J. N. Williams. Nos.107 and 106 £42 – E. W. Knowles. No. 105 £39 – Renata. Nos. 137, 136 and 135 £38 – J. N. Williams. Nos. 134 £40, 133 and 132 £45 -T. Watt. Nos. 125 £50, 124 and 121 £45, 120 £05 – J. N. Williams. No. 113 £60 – J. W. Carlile. No. 112 £60 – J. N. Williams. No. 111 £70 – Renata. No. 110 £80 – J. Gilligan. No. 162 £42 – B. L. Knight. No. 154 £65 – J. N. Williams. No. 153 £52.10s -Sistersen. No. 150 £42 – E. W. Knowles. Nos. 149 £95, 143 £105 – Bank of New Zealand. Nos. 142 £84, 141 £90 – Pulford. Nos. 140 £125, 138 and 139 £100 – Tuxford. A Suburban Sections, per acre. Section Nos. 18 £70, 17 £55 – J. C. Cullen. No. 16 £52 -Thos. Foreman. No. 15 £55 – C. B. Hoadley.

Mr M. E. Miller’s land sale will be continued this morning at 11 o’clock in the Theatre Royal. The prices realised yesterday caused general surprise, for the sale conclusively proved that there was more money ready for investment than most people supposed. Mr Tanner’s friends will heartily congratulate him on the success of the sale.

Mr Miller concluded yesterday the sale of the land cut up by Mr Tanner. The following is a list of the lots sold : – Town sections Nos. 144 £85, 145 £90 – E. Lyndon. No. 146 £50 – H. Williams. No. 147 £45 – Knowles. No. 148 £65 – Sweetapple. No. 155 £50 – E. Tuke. No. 168, 169 £22 each – K. Macrae. No. 170 £26 – Gilpin. No. 1 £100 – Banner. No. 2 £130 – Knowles. No. 3 £60 – H. Banner. No. 4 £65 – Thos. Home. No. 5, 6 £60 each – McArthur. No. 7, 8 £50 each – K. Hill. No. 199, 200 £22 each – C. Palmer. No. 197, 198 £21 each – Dixon. Nos. 195 £22,188, 187, 186 £25 – Collison. Nos. 185, 184£25, 183 £20 – J. N. Wilson. Nos. 177, 176, 175 £36 each – H. Williams. No. 173 £85 – H. Williams. No. 174 £65 – C. Hortop. No. 178 £55 – J. N. Williams. Nos. 179 £55, 180, 181, 182 £38 each – Habberley. Nos. 189 £26, 190, 191 £22 each – J. N. Williams. Nos. 192, 193, 194 £25, 201 £18 – Collison. Nos. 203,204 £15 each – Dixon. Nos. 205 £16 – Knight. No. 207 £50 – Bowman. No. 108, £4O – M. R. Miller. No. 206 £16 – Knight. Nos. 9, 10 £55 each – A. M. Newman. Nos. 11, 12 £50 each – Miller. Nos. 234, 233, 232, 231 £18 each – J. Dixon. Nos. 222, 221 £24 each – W. Broughton. Nos. 220, 219, upset, Cornford. Nos. 218 £21, 217 £26 – Rev. J. Eccles. Nos. 211 £27, 210, 209 £27 .10s each – J. Gemmell. No. 207 £50 – Bowman. No. 208 £40 – Miller. Nos. 212£40, 213 £50, 214 £28 – E. Carter. Nos. 215, 2l6 £28 each – Sidey. Nos. 223 £28, 224 £26 – Donnelly or Mason. No. 225 £26 – Mason. No. 226 £22 -Tareha. No. 227 £22 – S. Miller. No. 225 £17 – T. Bishop. Nos. 235, 236, 237

Page 80

£14 – F. Knight. No. 238 £26 – Reed. Nos. 239, 240 £26 each – Dixon. No. 14 £85 – Close. No. 13 £90 – S. Miller. Nos, 247, 248, 249 £30 each – Anderson. No. 243 £35 – Hill. No. 13 £90 – T. Milne. No. 14 £85 – Close. Nos. 11, 12, 13 £57 each – J. Fritchley. No. 164 £42 – T. Gilpin. D. P. Balfour – Lot 78 to 81 – £26. Peni Te Ua – Lot 114 to 125 – £20. Rev J. Campbell – Lot 91 to 93 – £23.

[Survey plan – PLAN of SUBURBAN AND FARM LOTS, HASTINGS]

1879 September, Thomas Tanner’s auction sale of Suburban and Farm lots by M. R. Miller, boundary lines are shown around the Agricultural & Pastoral Society show grounds, the old Ngaruroro River bed right edge, Railway Rd to Pakipaki centre, Murdock & Tollemache Rd between Riverslea Rd to Southland Rd with several council lots marked out. James N. Williams has adjoining property at bottom, Thomas Tanner has property top adjoining Riverslea Rd. Bishop Redwood

Farm and Suburban Lands per acre – Section No. 77 £22, 78 £21, 79 £22, 80 £21 – J. N. Williams. No. 57 £23, 58 £24 – E. Collison. No. 59, £21, 60 £21 – R. Wellwood. No 73 £22 – James Lyon. No. 74 £23 – James Ebley. No. 75 £24, 76 £24 – Dr Hitchings. No. 72 £26 -Thomas Bishop. No. 71 £26 – D. Joll. No. 61 £26 – Capt. Gascoigne. No. 62 £25 – C. C. Murray. No. 63 £29 – Hirika. No. 64 £36 – E. Carter. No. 65 £27 – D. P. Balfour. No. 66, £22,67 £23 – W. J. Birch. No. 68 £27 – Jas. Ebbett. No. 69 £28, 70 £26 – Tareha. No. 41 £36 – Wm. Keith. No. 42 £29 – T. Ward. No. 43 £25 – Wm. McConnell. No. 44 £25 -Thos. Foreman. No. 45 £32 – John Collinge. No. 46 £25 – Carr. No. 47 £28 – Bader. No. 48 £27 – Carr. No. 49 £29 – C. Sanders. No. 50 £27 – T. Ward. No. 51 £27, 52 £28 – H. Williams. No. 53 £25 – E. D. Collisson. No. 54 £25 – E. Bold. No. 55 £24 – J. Bicknell. No. 56 £26 – W. Proctor. No. 25£36 – E. W. Knowles. No. 24 £30 – Wm. Clark. No. 28 £35 – E. W. Knowles. No 27£29 – M. Ebbett. No. 26 £49 – Renata. No. 31 £34 – E. W. Knowles. No. 30 £31 – E. Lyndon. No. 29 £45 – Renata. No. 34 £33 – R. Wellwood. No. 33 £31 – M. Davidson. No. 32 £35 – H. H. Bridge. No. 37 £33 – J. McQuillan. No. 36 £34 – J. J. Power. No. 35 £24 – C. Palmer. No 40 £30 – S. Brunning. No. 32 £34 – J. Sistersen. No. 38 £35 – Symons. Lot 1 – £100 per acre, Dr Hitchings Lots 75, 76 – £25 per acre, E. W. Knowles Lots 31 to 34 – £34 per acre.

Second Hastings Hotel

[Photo]

John Higgins

John Higgins was born 1841 Ireland, he arrived at Napier 1862 and opened a butcher store and a farm at Clive, he married Bridget Mary Jeffares at Napier 1874 they had 2 children, he married again – four sons and four daughters. John died at Napier in February 1916 aged 75.

Page 81

John Higgins bought a quarter acre corner section for £350 near the Doney’s blacksmiths shed on Railway Rd in January 1878 with a view to having a new hotel erected at Hastings – with increasing growth there was sufficient need for a second hotel, he was offered £600 for his section soon after. 1878 March Mr John Higgins applied for a second hotel licence at Hastings, but he was declined. A petition was raised with 47 signatures for a second hotel. In June 1878 Mr W. Black had applied for a second hotel at Hastings. In June 1880, Mr McKay was contracted to build Mr Higgins new wooden hotel in 3 mths on the corner of Railway Rd and Heretaunga St west – it was designed by Mr W. A Dugleby of Napier and to be named the Hastings Hotel facing the railway line with 17 rooms of which 10 are bedrooms and has stabling attached. Mr Higgins intends to acquire Mr John Kelly of the Imperial Hotel at Waipawa to apply for the licence.

John Higgin’s poss [possibly] had brothers at Napier – Edward Higgins a butcher in partnership with Thompson. Apparently John Higgins was annoyed at being unfairly declined a licence for his new second hotel so he wrote several complaint letters to the Council regarding the unhealthy practice of the Hastings slaughterhouses, then he built two new Butchers shops at Hastings in September 1882 – one for Mr Baldwin & McIvor in Heretaunga St west and one opposite Mr Beecroft’s Hotel – to create competition to the opponents of his hotel licence. In March 1886 Mr Higgins advertised plans for Rev Father Smyth’s residence on Heretaunga St east. 1893 Mr Daniel O’Reilly, and 1896 Mr Thomas Surman was proprietor.

1880 January, Dr Cole from Dunedin arrived in Hastings as a resident.

[Advertisements]
BALDWIN & McIVOR
BUTCHERS
AWATOTO AND HASTINGS.

BALDWIN & McIVOR,
FAMILY BUTCHERS,
HASTINGS AND AWATOTO.
SMALL GOODS ALWAYS ON HAND.
CUSTOMERS WAITED ON DAILY.

Michael Baldwin a Butcher b: 1839 Canada, m: Mary Jackson Hague 1869 NZ, they had a daughter. Michael died 4th December 1885 aged 43. James Emmett McIvor a Butcher b:1856, married to Rosenor Matilda James died April 1935 aged 79. The butchery partnership business with McIvor was wound up and Thompson and Higgins took over early 1886. Mr Thomas John Thompson, a butcher and his brother William Thompson eventually bought Foreman’s Family Butchers business in 1896 after Forman [Foreman] died. Formed partnership with his brother, they had a Piggery in 1903 Frederick St for awhile. Thomas John Thompson b: 1855 Ireland, married Elizabeth Aitken Dempster in 1884, had 5 sons, Thomas died September 1938 aged 82 and Elizabeth Aitken Thompson died December 1950 aged 87. In 1886 McIvor formed a partnership with Joseph Wyatt.

1880 March, At the quarterly Licensing Court at Havelock to-morrow an application will be made by Mr R. Somerville for a license or, rather, the promise of a license for a large new hotel he purposes building at Hastings. A numerously signed petition in favour of the application will be presented, and, as far as we know, there will be no opposition. Hastings is now passing from the proportions of a small country village to those of an inland town of some importance, and there is room for increased hotel accommodation. Mr Beecroft has done his best to supply the wants of the district, but at certain periods of the year, when as the agricultural show, ram fair, or races are being held, the need for another hotel is apparent. The new house will be named the Criterion, and will be after the style of the Criterion in Napier, though smaller. The plans, which will be laid before the Commissioners to-morrow, show commodious premises, with lofty rooms and every modern convenience. – This did not eventuate for Somerville!

1880 September, Licensing Court at Havelock, The Hastings Hotel. Mr Lee appeared in support of an application made by John Kelly for a license for a new hotel at Hastings, to be called the Hastings Hotel. He said that the house was well built and most commodiously arranged. Mr Kelly was well known in the district and had been a hotelkeeper for a considerable time. He submitted that one house in Hastings was not sufficient for the ordinary requirements, and on special occasions it was altogether inadequate. The house would be a great acquisition to the neighbourhood. There was no opposition, and the license was granted.

Page 82

[Photo]

The second wooden Hastings Hotel built early 1880’s on corner of Railway Rd and Heretaunga St west, under proprietor John Kelly from Waipawa, by the National Photographic Company, R. A. Byte, manager.

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS HOTEL,
(Close to the Hastings Railway Station)
John Kelly, Proprietor.
This Hotel is situated in the very centre of the Township of Hastings, within a stone’s throw of the Railway Station, the Agricultural Society’s Show Grounds, the Race Course and County Cricket Ground.
THERE IS EVERY
Accommodation for Boarders & Visitors,
A GOOD TABLE IS KEPT,
AND ALL LIQUORS SUPPLIED ARE OF FIRST-CLASS QUALITY.
LARGE COMMERCIAL ROOM.
Sitting Rooms for Ladies & Gentlemen.
A 6-STALLED STABLE, LOOSE BOXES, & COACH-HOUSE.
JOHN KELLY.

Mr Moran, better known to old Hastings identities as George, who in the old days had charge of Kelly’s billiard room, which before the time of gas lamps, was the rendezvous of every Hastings resident, whether players or not. If you wanted to see anyone on business in those days – it was likely you would find him there. Old D. T. Murfitt took over the Hastings Hotel’s Livery Stables in June 1899.

1880 January 31st – A case of robbery was reported to the police yesterday as having occurred at Hastings. Mrs Leggart, a widow who keeps an accommodation-house at Hastings, placed last Thursday evening two watches on the mantel-piece in the front room and yesterday morning they were both missing. A man was arrested last evening on suspicion of having committed the robbery.

1880, Robert Somerville was now the Postmaster and Telegraph at the Hastings Railway Station while David Wright was the Station Master.

1880, The Doney women started up a milliners and dressmaking business in Hastings.

1880, Mr Theodore Jackson Stanley, a ship’s carpenter/ builder removed from Waipawa to settle in Hastings for several years – he was a passenger in the first train that ran from Napier to Hastings and he was an early settler at Hastings. At that time Heretaunga Street was practically a swamp and only about a dozen houses marked the township of Hastings.

1880 February, A new State school and teachers residence was built on Southampton St at Karamu Rd Sth on land Thomas Tanner donated. The old school was put up for tender in October 1879.

1880 February 11, Free entertainment was given in the schoolroom to celebrate the opening of the new Hastings school.

Page 83

[Photo]

Hastings State School with two rooms and bell and first part of teacher’s residence on the corner of Southampton St and Karamu Rd sth

[Photo]

1880 June, the two new classes of the Hastings State School, built of kauri with 16ft stud by Mr S. T. Tong for £709 on 5½ acres donated by Tanner on the corner of Southampton St and Karamu Rd sth which back onto the Makirikiri creek. Mr William Owen McLeod far left remained headmaster till 1883, then Mr John A. Smith.

[Photo]

Page 84

1880 June, younger pupils of the new kauri constructed Hastings State School on Southampton St, the Hastings Infant school was built on the Karamu Rd side in 1897

[Photo]

Hastings primary school for boys & girls with strengthened telegraph pole, and belfry, from the Hastings District Council archives

In January 1883 there were 87 boys and 74 girls – an increase of 34% – the committee were Captain Russell Messrs J. Reynolds,
J. Collinge, C. A. FitzRoy, R. Wellwood, S. T. Tong and D. J. Joll.

The Hastings district school committee met in February 1887 – Captain Russell chairman, C. A. FitzRoy, J. Collinge and D. A. Wright. The tender of Mr G. Naumann of £34 to sink a well at the school was accepted and a vote for Messrs Sidey, Harding and White to the Education Board.

A new Mahora Hastings Nth school was built on Frederick St in 1903 with 52 pupils under Mr W. T. Chaplin as schoolmaster near Thomson Broth’s piggery and rendering works which caused nasty smells and another Mahora Hastings Sth school was built on 4½ acres between Gordon Rd and Oliphant Rd in 1913 – later named Raureka School. During the Autumn Hop picking season saw a drop in local pupil attendance.

1880 March, The new grand-stand on the Hastings racecourse will afford accommodation which will be appreciated by visitors to the Jockey Club’s races. It is a thoroughly substantial structure, and from it a perfect view of the whole course can be obtained. It will comfortably seat 500 persons, but many more could be accommodated. All the seats have solid backs, so that ladies will not have their dresses and their tempers spoiled by dirty boots protruding from the seat above, and catching them just between the shoulders. There is a substantial roof over the stand, affording shelter from sun or rain. Below are luncheon-rooms, two bars, store-room, committee-room, as well as a large room and other accommodation for ladies. One of the bars will open only on the lawn, but the larger opens on the course. Mr Renouf, who is making a thoroughly workmanlike job of it, has the contract, and will finish the work very shortly. We hope that before the carpenters leave the stewards will direct the contractor to rail-off a small portion of the stand for the exclusive use of the Press.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
SATURDAY, 1ST MAY,
HOADLEY & LYON
Will offer by Public Auction at their Stores, immediately after the Produce sale –
SECTION 46, containing 1 quarter-acre, with 2-roomed cottage, good garden, &c.; situate on the Napier-road, being part of the old Hastings Township, and now in the occupation of the owner, Mr. W. Lane.
Also, on account of
MR JOSEPH SMITH,
SECTION 15, containing 1 quarter-acre, old township of Hastings, and adjoining Ford’s Boarding-house.
HOADLEY & LYON,
420   Auctioneers.

1880 April, William Lane wanting to sell his property on Karamu Rd

Page 85

and Mr Joseph Smith adjoining Ford’s Boarding House

[Advertisements]
MRS. M. LAGOR,
BOARDING-HOUSE KEEPER
HASTINGS.

David Carswell
BREAD AND BISCUIT BAKER
PASTRY COOK AND CONFECTIONER
HASTINGS.
CUSTOMERS WAITED ON DAILY.
Wedding, Christening and Birthday Cakes.
MADE ON SHORTEST NOTICE.

1880 June, Mrs M. Lagor Boarding House Keeper and David Carswell a Baker

[Newspaper notice]
OPENING NOTICE
MESSRS BALMFORH [BALMFORTH] AND CLUNIE
Beg to inform the public of Hastings and the surrounding neighbourhood that they have leased the BAKEHOUSE belonging to Mr Somerville, and that they will be prepared to Supply Storekeepers with BISCUITS, &c., cheaper than they can be imported.
A SUPPLY OF SMALL GOODS ALWAYS ON HAND.
ORDERS PROMPTLY ATTENDED TO.
323

1880 July, Balmforth & Clunie leased Somerville’s bakehouse. Somerville was in debt and under his trustees; the wind-up of Robert Somerville’s estate was published in 1881. The Hastings Stores then became D. D. Hyde & Co branch tobacconist & barbers and burnt down in the 1893 fire, the site replaced with the wooden Land & Heighway (saddler) store. In January 1898 Robert Somerville was reported to have been kicked in the leg by a horse smashing the bone on the station of Mr J. Anderson at Kereru. Dr Nairn of Hastings was sent for and Somerville was progressing favourably.

[Advertisements]
BALMFORTH & CLUNIE,
Fancy Bread and Biscuits Bakers,
HASTINGS.
WEDDING, CHRISTENING, AND BIRTHDAY CAKES
made to Order.

D. CLUNIE
Fancy Bread and Biscuit Baker
HASTINGS
WEDDING, CHRISTENING, AND BIRTHDAY CAKES
MADE TO ORDER.

Balmforth & Clunie the [then] only D. Clunie advertising in 1884

1880 July, The annual meeting of ratepayers of the Hastings Road District was held yesterday at Goodwin’s Hall. There were about 50 ratepayers present. Mr C. A. FitzRoy was elected chairman. Mr Beilby read the balance-sheet of the last meeting, from which it appeared that at the expiration of last year there was to the credit of the Board £861 10s 6d, the Government subsidy received was £205 6s 10d, and the rates collected amounted to £135 9s 1d. The balance to the credit of the Board at the bank was £774 7s Id. The outstanding accounts for rates was only £3 11s 9d. The following ratepayers were nominated as members of the Board :- Messrs P. Ramsay, Vickers, T. Tanner, R. Wellwood, G. N. Williams, G. Hayes, C. A. FitzRoy, Reynolds, Wheat, H. C. Chapman, C. Saunders, Joel, C. Doney, and R. C. Sturm. Messrs F. Tuxford and Gilpin were elected scrutineers.

1880 July, A third Pacific Hotel was reassembled on the corner of Heretaunga St west at Market St.

Mr Gilmore applied to transfer the licence of Mr Henry Richard Clist’s newly acquired Pacific Hotel at Havelock North to Hastings for S. A. Snelling – the wooden hotel recently refurbished was dismantled into three parts and shifted to Hastings in July 1880 where it was reassembled and became known as the first Pacific Hotel. The building was now in a most satisfactory condition in fact, in a much better condition than

Page 86

when the license was granted. There was extensive stabling in course of erection. Constable Raymond stated that the house was finished, it was clean, in good order, and fit for occupation. Mr Lascelles, on behalf of Mr Somerville and a number of the inhabitants of Hastings, supported the application. The transfer was granted September 1880. Bartlett Stevens was proprietor 1882, then Harry Oakley Caulton 1886, Mr Shattky was mentioned in December 1899 and Mr A. J. Ellingham 1901.

[Advertisements]
PACIFIC HOTEL,
HASTINGS
S. A. SNELLING,
PROPRIETOR.
S. A. SNELLING begs to announce that he has opened this
Handsome and Commodious Hotel,
And hopes, by attention to the wants of his Customers, to merit a share of their patronage.
This is the most convenient and commodious Hotel in Hastings. It is close to the Railway Station, the Agricultural and Pastoral Society’s Show Grounds, the Race Course, and the Cricket Ground.
ALL LIQUORS OF THE BEST QUALITIES.
LADIES’ SITTING ROOMS.
A LARGE BILLIARD ROOM,
With a First-Class Table, by THURSTON.
Extensive Stabling Accommodation.

PACIFIC HOTEL,
HASTINGS.
B. STEVENS, Proprietor
B. STEVENS begs to announce that he has opened this
HANDSOME AND COMMODIOUS HOTEL,
And hopes, by attention to the wants of his Customers, to merit a share of their patronage.
This is the most convenient and commodious Hotel in Hastings. It is close to the Railway Station, the Agricultural and Pastoral Society’s Show Grounds, the Race Course, and the Cricket Ground.
All Liquors of the Best Qualities.
LADIES’ SITTING ROOMS.
A LARGE BILLIARD ROOM,
WITH A FIRST-CLASS TABLE, BY THURSTON.
Extensive Stabling Accommodation.

Pacific Hotel first with S. A. Snelling and then Bartlett Stevens

[Photo]

Heretaunga St west between Railway Rd and Market St shows – A. J. McEwan draper left in the “Hastings House” the old first Town Hall frontage, and D. D. Hyde & Co branch tobacconist and barbers poles where George Turner assistant hairdresser lived Somerville’s old Hastings Stores and the old wooden first Pacific Hotel with veranda and Gas light on the corner of Market St, by Burton Brothers

Arthur Hyde b:1870 Blenheim had come up to Hastings with his parents William Henry and Jane Hyde, Arthur was a hairdresser and manager for D. D. Hyde with a store in Heretaunga St west, then east, he married Helen (Ellen) Katherine Kavenagh in January 1895, they had three children. Arthur and family later moved to Napier where he died 1941 aged 70.

Page 87

[Newspaper notice]
SAMUEL GASKIN
(LATE OF BEECROFT’S),
Having leased the new Stables attached to the Hastings Hotel, begs to assure his old patrons that they will receive every attention at the new premises, at which there is a
6 Stalled Stable
2 Horse Boxes, and Buggy House Complete.
Good paddock, with artesian well.
Saddle Horses on hire.   31

1880 September, Samuel Gaskin took over the lease for the Doney Bros new blacksmith shop with livery & stables on Railway Rd, then Mr George Smith in 1884.

1880 September, A serious accident occurred at the Railway Hotel, Hastings, on Monday evening to a man named crosseDan Slade, a painter working in Hastings. It appears that Slade was in the billiard-room of the hotel engaged in larking with another man. Slade rose hurriedly from his seat, and forgetting the platform running round the room, fell with one of his legs doubled under him; the leg was broken just above the ankle. Mr Beecroft and Mr Rawden succeeded in setting and bandaging the broken limb, and Dr de Lisle was in attendance early yesterday morning. Under his advice the man was conveyed to the Napier Hospital.

1880, Robert Wellwood set up an auction and commission business on Station St

[Advertisements]
R. WELLWOOD,
Auctioneer, Stock & Station Agent,
HASTINGS.

R. WELLWOOD,
AUCTIONEER, STOCK AND STATION AGENT,
Wool, Produce, & General Merchant,
HASTINGS.

1880, Mr James Church Watts born in Wellington 1848 the son of William Watts. James had arrived in Hawke’s Bay in 1873, he was an early Hastings sheep farmer on his own account with 132 acres of rich agricultural land and a member of the Agricultural and Pastoral Society for many years.

[Photo]

James Church Watts

1880, Richard Green Vaughan opened a bakery in opposition to Balmforth & Clunie, he provided catering and confectionary at the shows and races along with Beecroft, Richard married Gertrude Cullen 1905, they later moved up near Gisborne farming, Gertrude died 1932 and Richard died November 1938.

1880, William E. Woods opened a chemist druggist store on Heretaunga St west with Mr H. O. Johnson as manager then took over on his own, also a HB Herald newspaper agent.

Page 88

[Advertisements]
H. O. JOHNSON,
PHARMACEUTICAL CHEMIST,
HASTINGS.
PATENT, HOMOEOPATHIC, AND VETERINARY
MEDICINES.
PROPRIETARY ARTICLES AND
TOILET REQUISITES.
A VARIED ASSORTMENT OF
STATIONERY, FANCY GOODS, BOOKS,
AND
School Necessaries
AGENT FOR
H. B. HERALD, COURIER,
&c., &c., &c.

FRANCIS BETHELL,
Saddle and Harnessmaker,
HASTINGS.
ALL KINDS OF
RIDING AND PACK SADDLES,
HARNESS, &c., &c.,
ON HAND, OR MADE TO ORDER
ON THE SHORTEST NOTICE.
REPAIRS DONE AT MODERATE CHARGES.

FRANCIS BETHELL,
Saddle and Harnessmaker,
HASTINGS.

H. O. Johnson Chemist and Francis Bethell a Saddle & Harnessmaker

Railway Rd outside the Hastings Hotel has always been used for Mardi Gras Fair Ground amusements since the 1880’s – then later on the new extended Railway Rd in the 1950’s.

1880, Peter S. Macdonald, a Tailor at Hastings in Somerville’s first store – Hicks old store.

[Newspaper notice]
NOTICE TO HASTINGS SUBSCRIBERS.
MR P. S. MACDONALD, Tailor and Clothier, will in future act as Agent for the HAWKE’S BAY HERALD and WEEKLY COURIER for the Hastings district. Subscribers will therefore in future kindly call at Mr Macdonald’s for their papers. Extra copies on sale.

April 1881, he also advertised for a Tailor Journeyman

Peter Samuel Macdonald b: 1852, married Martha Brown, three children. Later in March 1883 and October 1884 his Hastings assets were sold off and he went farming near Napier, Peter died 1925 aged 72, his wife Martha died 1952 aged 73.

1880 November 10, A gift auction in aid of the Church of England at Hastings took place on the Fete ground yesterday. Mr Routledge officiated as auctioneer and obtained fairly satisfactory prices for the articles put up which comprised ducks, geese, books etc

[Advertisements]
W. BEILBY
COMMISSION AGENT AND ACCOUNTANT
HASTINGS
Agent for New Zealand Insurance Co.

WILLIAM BEILBY
ACCOUNTANT
COMMISSION AND LAND AGENT
HASTINGS.
Agent for the North British Insurance Company.

Page 89

[Advertisements]
William Beilby
ACCOUNTANT
COMMISSION AND LAND AGENT
HASTINGS.

W. BEILBY,
Commission Agent & Accountant,
HASTINGS.
BUILDING & FENCING TIMBER & DRAIN PIPES
FOR SALE
Agent for North British Insurance Company.

William Beilby an Accountant, Commission and Land Agent and for building & fencing timber & drain pipes

1880 December, At the Heretaunga Freemasons Hastings the following officers were installed – WM Bro – W. Beilby; SW Bro D. Aitkin Wright; JW Bro R. Wellwood Treasurer; Bro H. C. Chapman Secretary; Bro W. A. Beecroft; SD Bro Peter Ramsay; JD Bro James Charles Taylor; IG Bro William Vickers. A banquet and toasts was later held at Bro Beecroft’s Railway Hotel.

Peter Ramsay was the proprietor of the Fernhill Hotel, he arrived in 1863 wife Isabella, four children and William Vickers and family of Oliphant Road.

[Newspaper notice]
DISSOLUTION OF PARTNERSHIP
The partnership hitherto existing between MRS CROWLEY and MISS BOGLE has been dissolved by mutual consent.
Napier, 17th December, 1880
In connection with above, MISS BOGLE begs to intimate to her friends and to parents and guardians generally, that having made arrangements for the building of commodious premises at Hastings (within an easy distance of the Railway Station) she will be prepared after the 1st April to receive young Lady Pupils, (Day Scholars and Boarders).
Prospectuses at an early date.   1003

1880 December, Miss Elizabeth Turnbull Bogle from Melbourne opens a Ladies School at Section 2, Hastings west with her sister Jane

[Newspaper notices]
Educational
LADIES’ BOARDING AND DAY SCHOOLS.
HASTINGS.
Conducted by MISS BOGLE and MRS GRIMWOOD.
The Third Quarter of the above School will commence on the 11th JULY.
Circulars to be had on application to MISS BOGLE, Stonebyres, Hastings.   920

Educational
LADIES’ SCHOOL, HASTINGS.
THE above Day and Boarding School, conducted by Miss Bogle, will Open on the 4th of April.
Prospectuses to be had on application to Miss Bogle, Hastings.   933

1881 February, Miss Bogle and Mrs Grimwood’s Ladies Boarding & Day School at Stonebyres in Hastings west. A cook and housemaid were advertised for in January 1883. The school chimney suffered damage in the August 1891 earthquake, Mrs Wm Bogle advertised for gentlemen boarders at Stonebyres in 1895 and a 12 room house contents at Stonebyres on Heretaunga St west was auctioned in June 1895.

Miss Elizabeth Turnbull Bogle b: 1841 Scotland trained in Paris, her parents William and Jane Bogle also lived in Hastings, Elizabeth was the only woman with a Freehold section in Hastings, she died September 1925

1881, both the Bank of New Zealand and the Bank of New South Wales opened branches in temporary premises at Hastings.

Page 90

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS BAKERY,
R. J. THAYER,
FANCY BREAD & BISCUIT BAKER,
HASTINGS
Wedding, Christening, & Birthday Cakes made to order.
FRUIT ALWAYS ON HAND.
CUSTOMERS WAITED ON DAILY FOR ORDERS.

1881, Robert J. Thayer’s Hastings Bakery was one of two shops next to the first Bank of New South Wales

Cecil Augustus FitzRoy b: 1844 at Norfolk, educated at Eton and Cambridge. He went to Australia in 1867, then came to New Zealand and took up land in Canterbury where he was sheep-farming for twelve years several years and represented Selwyn in the House of Representatives. Then he moved to Hastings, a sheepfarmer of 25 acres named, “Ringstead,” and was sheep inspector, he married 1887 Susannah Beetham from Hutt, with two sons and two daughters, in 1880 he proposed the building of a Town Hall, he was a JP and became the Mayor 1894 till 1899 when the surface drainage, involving an expenditure of £5,000 was undertaken. Cecil died in 1917 aged 73, Susanna died 1940 aged 92.

1881, A cemetery was established at Stortford and was extended late 1918 following the Influenza epidemic.

1881 March 17, After the Agricultural Society sale of sections, Mr Routledge offered for sale Goodwin’s Hall and the freehold section which it stands, Mr C. Palmer purchased it for £270

The Hastings Town Hall Company was established in February 1881 with C. A. FitzRoy chairman and William Beilby secretary, Reg at his residence. Meetings were held in Goodwin’s Hall in April 1881 for the election of directors – Captain W. R. Russell, J. N. Williams, R. Williams, W. Vickers, E. Beck, and T. Bishop, W. O. McLeod, D. A. Wright were appointed auditors. Mr James Boyle had offered a half acre site for £100 next to Somerville’s store. The hall was built on the south side of Heretaunga St west between King and Nelson Streets; the company was wound up and later sold.

[Photo]

1881, The spacious Hastings Town Hall on Heretaunga St west was finished, between King and Nelson Streets, later George Ellis renamed it the Princess Theatre 1892

Page 91

1881 June, Tenders closed for the erection of store for Mr Beck

1881 July, Mr James Reynolds advertised a number of Hastings sections for sale with money to lend on mortgage

[Survey plan – HASTINGS STATION GROUND]

1881 October, The new Hastings Railway Station plan and layout overlapping the old station & platform, now shows north end of the extended station over Station/Queen St east, the unformed southern part of Station St, with the goods shed opposite with red diagonal area for its future northern move. The boundary fences completely surrounding the Railway Reserve with Tank tower and poss [possibly] Bell tower near Heretaunga St entrance with two gates

[Survey plan]

1881 October, The Hastings Railway Station 5th Class Station overlapping the old station & platform with new privies & urinals, an emergency platform formed of old sleepers with ramps at ends and a small Post & Telegraph Office attached south end of station building. Two other buildings between the Station and the

Page 92

Station Masters residence, the goods shed 60 x 30, the first Station Masters residence on the later PO site and an adjoining garage shed – poss [possibly] the later Mr A. Tickner and his little wooden Land Agent, Daily Telegraph & Insurance store

[Photo]

Originally built by the Railways dept [department] when they were building the Hastings Railway Station in the 1870’s, in the 1950’s it became the Greater Hastings Office till 1965, then it was moved around Flaxmere and burnt down in May 1979.

[Survey plan]

1881 October, Shows the new Goods Engine shed location near Avenue Rd and red outline for the old Goods shed to be moved onto Queen St and G. E. Sainsbury Sec 63 and Sec 64 – The Timber Yard was in occupation of J. Scholes and the Cattle Yard at Sec 62 with road access still over Avenue Rd and the Two stall Engine shed marked to be moved over boundary fence.

[Newspaper notice]
Business Notices
RAILWAY TIMBER YARD, HASTINGS
J. SCHOLES, having taken the above yard on his own account, is prepared to Sell all kinds of
TIMBER, FIREWOOD, ETC., AT THE LOWEST MARKET RATES.
Shingles, Posts, Strainers, House Blocks, &c, kept in stock.   648

1881 February, John Scholes was in a timber supply partnership with Mr Chappell at the Napier Railway yards with a depot at Hastings, the partnership dissolved in February and John Scholes took over the Hastings yard owned by solicitor and poultry farmer Mr G. E. Sainsbury.

Francis Hicks was previously living at Clive as was Eldred Beck who had a store near Walter J. Caulton’s Hotel. Clive was on the main Waipawa road between Napier and Havelock. The prime section where Beck &

Page 93

Co were situated was for sale in late 1873 for £54.

[Survey plan – E. Beck & Co.]

1881 October, Shows E. Beck & Co Sections 68 & 69 Store & Flour Mill adjacent to the Goods Shed 60 x 30, with small bell or tank tower top right, later became Williams and Kettle’s Flour Mill which was demolished in February 1908.

[Photo]

The wooden Hastings Hotel 1880’s on left of John Kelly at the corner of Heretaunga St west and Railway Rd, with a large gas lantern over the bar entrance and a group of men and a horse drawn carriage wait outside the bar. The name Kelly now appears above the door. Beck & Co large store with veranda signage (general merchants and drapers of Hastings & Clive) across the road, also shows – A. T. Haultain and Co (stock and station agents) a tailor and a bakery are among the businesses that are visible. 1881 December, the BNZ bought that small part of Beck and Co’s section occupied by Mr Fuszard. Mr George MacKillian, BNZ manager. St Matthew’s Church is visible further down on the corner of King Street built in wood with two front towers. The first service was held at the church in 1877.

Page 94

[Advertisements]
E. BECK & CO.,
Millers & General Merchants.
HASTINGS AND CLIVE.

E. BECK & Co.
IMPORTERS, MILLERS
AND
GENERAL MERCHANTS.
CLIVE AND HASTINGS.

We are not connected to the Eldred Beck – bapt [baptised] 6 June 1837 at Piddlehinton, Dorset England, f – William Beck, m – Grace. Dorset is in southern England near Southampton. William died before 1841 and Grace is listed 1851 as Widow Farmer aged 50 b: Tincleton Dorset. Eldred went to the Channel Islands 1861 and was Farmer aged 23 married to Lucy Mary Harriett aged 30, they arrived at Hawke’s Bay aprox 1862 and had a freehold store and house at section 59 Clive west in 1875, then in Hastings he had a company store on Heretaunga St west between Market St and King St – an importer, miller and general merchant. 1881 August 1st, Messrs E. Beck and Co new premises at Hastings opened. By September 1881 they had built a large flour-mill. 1882 March, they added 60ft to their store, as they found themselves too cramped for room now that the grain was coming in. In November 1884 the store was robbed by Alfred Lebst charged with breaking a window of Beck and Co. Arthur Finn deposed to seeing the prisoner standing on the step of the door of Becks’ at 4.30 in the morning. Winter Fuszard deposed to seeing the prisoner at a quarter to five on Becks’ doorstep. Constable Lawless recovered the money of £4 13s 3d. 1885 January, Tenders are invited by Messrs E. Beck and Co, Hastings for the erection of a cottage at Mangateretere, West Clive. In 1885 Eldred Beck was charged with being foul mouthed, in 1887 army drill meetings were held in Beck’s store on Tuesday and Fridays. 1892 September, Mr W. H. Cooper, auctioneer Dannevirke, holds auction soles [sales] of the stock of E. Beck and Co., Hastings at the Dannevirke Town Hall. The goods to be offered consist of drapery, boots, glassware, etc., as contained in the firm’s well-known Hastings store. Special attention is drawn to the boots to be offered, which the vendors state are from one of the best known makers. As it is necessary that the goods should be disposed of the sale will be entirely unreserved. After about 14 years in business the Beck & Co site was bought by merchant Mr Kettle in June 1892 who erected a railway siding along the Reserve in September 1892 – later Williams & Kettle Ltd. 1900 November, Mr W. Y. Dennett will sell the balance of Messrs W. E. Beck and Co’s stock, composing men’s and boys’ clothing, drapery, &c.
Eldred Beck died 17 th July 1909 aged 74 and Lucy Mary Harriett died 16 th July 1913 aged 83.

The Hastings Flour Mills – Beck and Co. February 1891. Although most people about the district are aware that for many years there has been a flourmill in Hastings, very few of them are acquainted with the extent of that important local industry, or its modus operandi. Thinking it might interest your Hastings, and perhaps some other, readers to learn a few facts about it, I made the suggestion to the courteous manager of the firm, who cordially invited me to inspect the mill throughout, which I did. The motive power of the mills – for there are two – is supplied by a multi-tubular boiler horizontal engine of twenty horse power. This machine was especially selected in England by Mr Wickham, the miller in charge, who informs me that it gives entire satisfaction, being the best he has ever worked with! It is by Holborow of Stroud in England. Our own bush contributes its share to it, for the engine is supported by an enormous block of heart of totara two feet six inches square. The water supply is of course an important consideration. This is supplied by a well of about twenty thousand gallons; which the ravenous engine consumes during the day, but the well is full again next morning, its source being a single artesian of a two-inch pipe. Its more solid food consists of two trucks of firewood per week, which means that it burns a cord of wood every day, the furnace taking four-feet logs. When the wheat arrives at the mill, the first process to-which it is submitted is that of cleaning” Our ancestors used to dispense with this, and those who ate most bread had to eat most dirt. There is an old adage at home – You must eat a peck of dirt before you die, and any one taking a look at the cellar to which the refuse descends would know that; the proverb was bound to come true in the case of those whose wheat went straight through the mill. The refuse consists chiefly of fine fluffy dust and loose husks. I asked Mr Wickham if the cleaner would remove the excrescence or disease known as “smut” in wheat. He said that it would if the balls of fungus were unbroken. The operation of cleaning is an elaborate one, and requires complex mechanism, which once obtained, seems almost automatic. The raw ears of wheat are emptied from the sacks into a large bin on the basement, whence it is rapidly conveyed to the top (or fourth storey) by a series of scoops fastened to an endless band. The rapidity with which the grain is conveyed to the top of the building by this ingenious elevator is most interesting to see. Arrived at its destination, the wheat rushes through, a shute [chute] into a cavity. Down it pours in a torrent to the basement again. On its way down it has no peace of its life. It is banged from side to side, chucked from hopper to hopper, racked and sifted, until it finally arrives on the ground floor again, clean as the proverbial new pin or the marble boy after the application of Pear’s Soap. The next process is the actual grinding of the grain to powder. The elevator carries the clean wheat again to the top of the building, where it is poured into the actual mills. Those used here are of stone, and; about the same kind as have been used from, time immemorial. The stones are about: five feet in diameter, and horizontal. The lower stone is fixed, the upper revolves and the wheat falls into a hole in the centre of the upper stone; the flour then is seen rushing out at a furious rate from a shute to the regions below. I was asked to take up a handful of flour as it came from the shute, and to my surprise found it was quite hot as hot as the hand could bear. But it is by no means yet fit for [the] It is in its present state a compound of four articles, and is a somewhat coarse powder, in colour a whitey brown. A descent now had to be made to a lower floor, where the flour is coming down from the mills.

Page 95

The flour is now placed into a revolving machine, which contains the separators and refiners. These consist of various compartments, on which is stretched silk of various textures, From the last of them issues the finished article, ready for the baker, the pastry cook, and the “gude [good] wife.” The other products of it are the meal, for brown bread; the sharps, for feeding pigs; and, lastly, the bran, all of which have a ready sale. It will be seen that there, is no more in a lb of wheat, than there is in an oyster. Before leaving the mill, Mr Cooper explained to me that a portion of the Bur surplus energy of the steam, engine was devoted to distillation. The resulting liquid is much used by the staff, and is considered an unequalled remedy for indigestion, and better than that dispensed at the licensed places. This is, however, in confidence. The warehouses through which we had to pass to reach the offices are piled tier after tier with grain waiting its turn. At the office Mr Cooper obliged me with all the information I asked for, relative to the mill. It is kept going for a season of about, seven months in each year, and would keep on all the year if sufficient wheat was grown in Hawke’s Bay. Except in very wet seasons, Hawke’s Bay is said, by experts to be one of the best the wheat growing districts in New Zealand, but for some reason the holders of land have only cultivated a very limited area in wheat. In proof of its richness, I mention the fact that at the Karamu a portion of land has been used for wheat continuously for thirty years. In spite of the drought, the yield this season is expected to be fully up to the average. A gentleman not far from here has a crop of forty acres growing, the expected yield of which is forty-five bushels to the acre. The kind of wheat most in favour is pearl and tuscan there are only six European wheat growers or any extent about here, whose, names and amount of produce the manager could not give me permission to publish without their sanction. A large number of the native bring wheat to the mill to be ground. The average output from this important local establishment is eighteen tons of flour per week, of which Messrs Beck and Co. never have any surplus. The flour from the south may be a shade whiter, owing to its being passed through rollers, but I have been told that the flour such as described is much more rich in nutriment than the rolled. A usual plan with the local bakers is to use it for bread in equal quantities with the rolled flour. Of course, Hawke’s Bay, with the monopoly of attention the wool and mutton industry demands, cannot attempt to rival the Canterbury plains, where wheat growing and flour milling has become a science of itself, but that it may be made an important item in our industries. I hope I have succeeded in showing. I will not conclude, however, without thanking Mr Wickham, the miller, for his information on the matter, of which the above is only a faint outline; and Mr Cooper, for the courteous manner in which he placed himself at my service for the purpose of the sketch.

[Photo]

1908 February, Williams and Kettle’s old Hastings Flour Mill was demolished

1881 September, There was another flour-mill belonging to Edwin Metherell on Karamu Rd nth which had been operating for the past six weeks with over a thousand acres in wheat planted.

[Newspaper notice]
FOR SALE
PROPERTY IN THE KARAMU ROAD,
HASTINGS
QUARTER-ACRE SECTION, with 3-roomed House and Flour Mill. The Mill has Plant all complete.
Price – £950. Terms on application to –
J. R. LANAUZE,
Auctioneer.
ROBERT DOBSON,
Agent.

House, Flour Mill & Plant for sale on Karamu Rd in June 1886

1881 September, Two new shops were built next to Mr McDonell’s – a chemist’s shop, a barber and a branch of the New Zealand Bank opened.

Page 96

[Photo]

1880’s, Heretaunga St west from Railway line – with Hastings Hotel left next to the wooden two storied building where G. H. Roach started ‘Heretaunga House’ drapery and Beck’s store on right by railway siding with faded veranda signage for general merchants and drapers. All building’s on both sides of this block burnt down in February 1893

[Survey plan – Knight Brothers]

1881 October, shows Knight Brothers Timber Yards with siding and a Sheep & Cattle yard with temporary sheep pen directly opposite the wooden Hastings Hotel and Eastbourne St east – to the railway line

1881 October 3, Free rail passes for Volunteers attending drills at Hastings.

1881 October 13, Rifle Volunteers drill at Hastings.

1881, Edward Newbigin from Napier bought the Hastings Brewery on the corner section 16 in Ellison Road, which was originally owned by Mr George Ellis, it had a good artesian water. Newbigin established the Burton Brewery and rapid development of Hastings soon followed. He also continued with his Napier Branch.

1881 June, William H. Sutherland aged 35 was the Mail carrier between Havelock and Waimarama, he fell off his horse after visiting a hotel and he died leaving a wife Jamima Grace nee Grant and seven of his 11 children. The constable visited the family and found the children in a most destitute condition, poorly clad and badly fed. Their bedding consisted of a straw mattress, two bundles of rags, and three rugs. They would probably have been starving but for the kindness of Mrs Beecroft in supplying them with food. The mother being in the Napier hospital, the children, including a baby five month old, were left to the care of the oldest girl, herself but a child of eleven years. Inspector Scully and Sergeant Mahon sent up eight blankets and three mattresses and necessaries, and some kind Samaritans have already done something towards relieving the pressing wants of the unhappy children. Through the generosity of the Hastings ladies and community. Mr Sutherland owned a new house of four rooms and a quarter acre section, all of which I am informed

Page 97

is on deferred payment, and the unfortunate man seems to have been in debt all over the place. The house was across the swamp at the back of the Municipal Library – Eastbourne St east. The Makirikiri creek was crossed by a small bridge there close to the Municipal buildings. The kiddies used to go there to catch eels and to bathe with the Maori children and with the Sutherland’s on Saturdays and holidays. There was a small Maori Pa on its bank not far from the junction of Warren and Heretaunga Streets.

The Hastings Catholic history – The first Catholic Mission building was situated 1850 at Pakowhai by the Chesterhope Bridge. Land along the Havelock Road – Heretaunga St east in Hastings was apparently acquired in 1877 by Fr E. Reigner for a catholic church to be built.

The Rev. Father Reigner aged seventy in November 1880 – while driving into town this morning to the convent was thrown out of his buggy. He struck his head against the stone wall of the convent and was injured to such an extent that he is not expected to recover. The greatest anxiety prevails in the town, as the old gentleman was universally beloved.

The first Catholic services at Hastings were held in the Shepherds cottage of Francis Hicks by Marists who walked from Meeanee Mission. Francis Hicks had purchased the land from Thomas Tanner.

[Photo]

An early photo of the first Sacred Heart Church in Hastings before School and Presbytery on vast empty Tanner’s land, Fr Dean P. S. Smyth and Fr Le Menant des Chanais had arrived and the first Catholic Church at Hastings was built in 1881 of timber construction with a shingle roof; the main entrance is located on the left side of the photograph, it was used between 1882 and the mid 1890s. The first church site later became the first convent site for the 4 sisters of Samaria. A small fire occurred in June 1893, but was quickly averted. Later it was moved further back on Eastbourne St east to become a St Patrick [St Patrick’s] School for Boys when the new church was built in. In March 1886 Mr Higgins advertised plans for Rev Father Smyth’s residence on Heretaunga St east. The position of this church was to the right side facing the new church – where the later presbytery accommodation was built.

[Photo]

A young Rev Father Smyth SM

1882, Heretaunga Private School for boys was started by William Rainbow down the short street first named Williams St now (Holt Pl) Mr John A. Fraser was headmaster in 1896, this school closed early in the

Page 98

century and the school buildings were moved to Havelock North in late 1912 which later merged with the Hurworth School in Whanganui to form the new Hereworth School in 1927.

John A. Fraser was born in Tunbridge England, educated at Haileybury College Hertford, he arrived at Timaru 1886 and to Hastings in 1890 where he assisted in the school of Mrs Rainbow until taking it over in 1892 on his own account. He later disposed of the school to Mr W. Gray and entered into business as an accountant.

[Photo]

John A. Fraser

[Newspaper notices]
HERETAUNGA SCHOOL,
HASTINGS, HAWKE’S BAY.
PRINCIPALS:
JOHN A. FRASER AND W. A. ROBINSON.
ASSISTANT:
MR. H. BRATHWAITE, JUNE.
FRENCH MASTER:
MONSIEUR AUJARD.
DRILL INSTRUCTOR:
STAFF SERGEANT-MAJOR HUDDLESTONE.
PREPARATION for Higher Schools and Universities. Special attention to Physical Education, Gymnastics, Cricket and Football, Tennis, Swimming, and Carpentry.
Extras – Music, French, and Dancing.
French Conversation Class for Adults held by MONSIEUR AUJARD, of Paris.
Half Term commences on July 13th, at 9.30 a.m.
TERMS ON APPLICATION.

HERETAUNGA SCHOOL,
HASTINGS, HAWKE’S BAY.
BOARDING AND DAY SCHOOL FOR BOYS.
Pupils prepared for Matriculation and Civil Service Examinations.
Terms and Prospectus on application to
JOHN A. FRASER,
Headmaster.
Next term commences on September 22nd, 1899
Boarders return September 21st.

1893 July and September 1899

[Photo]

Shows the Hastings Tennis Club first open tournament in progress at Heretaunga School December 1901, became Nelson Park with many trees growing the background

Page 99

[Photo]

Heretaunga School cricket 1903, with Karamu Rd behind line of trees

[Photo]

Heretaunga School play time 1908

[Photo]

William Nelson with his dog

Nelson Park – was originally the private school grounds of the old Heretaunga School. Nelson Park was preserved for the sole purpose of physical recreation and came under the Hastings Borough Council loan of £5,800 through the estate of Mr William Nelson a sheepfarmer of Tomoana and his second wife Emma Caroline Nelson nee Williams. Mrs Emma Nelson died 1921 and William Nelson died November 1932 at Hastings aged 89.

1882 January, Knight Brothers sought half the cost from the County Council for mettaling [metalling] the road in front of their section at Hastings.

1882, The deep ditch on one side of Heretaunga St east belonging to the Heretaunga Road Board had now became putrid and unsanitary with complaints for filling-in.

1882 March, Two large and handsome shops built by Mr J. C. Cullen are just finished; they have commodious dwellings attached, and are a decided improvement on the architectural ugliness of most of the buildings in the main street. (Prob [Probably] the Bakery shops – corner of Hastings St and Havelock Road)

1882 March, two large shops were built by Mr John Crowhurst Cullen with dwellings attached.

Page 100

[Newspaper notice]
CORRESPONDENCE
The Editor does not hold himself responsible for opinions expressed by Correspondents.
A CASE OF DISTRESS.
SIR, – I should like to enlist the sympathy of your subscribers for a sad case that occurred in our township – the death of Francis Wells, hairdresser. I learn that he has left a wife and family totally unprovided for. He was not a member of any friendly society. For the last three years his life was a struggle to make ends meet, and when at last he was making a comfortable living he was striken [stricken] down and died. His poor wife expects shortly to be confined, which makes matters worse, but I hope she will have some help before then. – I am &c.
P. S. MACDONALD.
Hastings, May 2, 1882.

Thomas Francis Botchett Wells b: 1854 married Florence C. Collins they had three children from Waipawa was in business at Napier 1879, Francis died 1st May 1882 at Hastings aged 28.

1882 May, A performance was given by the Black Diamond Minstrels at the Hastings Town Hall last Tuesday proved very successful and they were able to hand over £13.10s to the widow of Mr F. Wells, hairdresser of Hastings in whose behalf the entertainment was given

[Advertisements]
HENRY COLLINS,
BRICKLAYER,
HASTINGS.
ESTIMATES GIVEN
FOR ANY KIND OF
BRICK & CEMENT WORK.
BRICKS AND LIME ON HAND.

HERETAUNGA BRICK YARD,
HASTINGS
HENRY COLLINS,
PROPRIETOR

HENRY COLLINS,
BRICKLAYER,
HASTINGS
Estimates given for every kind of Brick and Cement work.
Bricks and Lime on hand.

Henry Collins, a Bricklayer, Heretaunga Brick Yard, he was married to Winifred and they moved to Wellington where Henry Collins died 1913 aged 57

[Advertisement]
DONALD SINCLAIR,
PAINTER, GLAZIER, PAPERHANGER, & SIGN-WRITER,
HASTINGS.
Interior Decorating, Painting, Distempering, Imitation Woods, Marble, &c.
On hand and for Sale – White Lead, Oils, Colours, Varnishes, Paperhangings, and Brushware of every description.
Plate, Sheet, Stained, and Figured Glass furnished and set.
Estimates promptly made.
DONALD SINCLAIR.

Donald Sinclair a Painter Glazier Sign-writer

1882 May, Plans were drawn up for the new Hastings Railway Station

Page 101

[Plans Railway Station]

1882 November, The new Hastings Railway Station was erected near the same location, but closer to Queen St with a sumptuous booking office and a department Post & Telegraph office wherein the citizens of Hastings could pour out their feelings all at once. The new station was erected while the old station still operated, which when demolished – the new waiting room was completed in its place, the lumber from the old station was sent to Te Aute to provide a new railway station or a hermitage for their railway officials.

1882 August, Heretaunga Road Board wants all the Highway land within the Hastings district to be proclaimed a township, William O. McLeod, clerk.

Page 102

[Newspaper notice]
Notices
NOTICE is hereby given that the Partnership existing between the undersigned as General Blacksmiths at Hastings, under the style of “CHARLES DONEY & SONS,” has been dissolved as and from the 8th day of September last, and the business will in future be carried on under the style of “DONEY BROTHERS” by Charles Doney, junior, and Thomas Doney, to whom all debts due to the late firm should be paid.
Dated this 28th day of October, 1882.
CHARLES DONEY,
CHARLES DONEY, JUNR [JUNIOR].
THOMAS DONEY.
Witness to signatures of
Charles Doney, Charles Doney, Junr. and Thos. Doney.
A. LASCELLES,
Solicitor, Napier.   496

1882 October, The Doney Brothers partnership dissolved [HBKB – established]

[Advertisement]
C. & T. DONEY,
Blacksmiths, Farriers, Wheelwrights, Machinists, & Agricultural Implement Makers.
HASTINGS.
Any general work entrusted to us we guarantee to do in a first-class, workmanlike manner.
Our successes at the A. and P. Society’s Shows, and the District Ploughing Matches, are sufficient guarantee of the quality of our Implements.
Machines and Implements of any description, by other makers, repaired and put in first-class working order.
A good stock of Implement and Machine Fittings always kept on hand.
Horses shod on the most successful of modern principles, which have proved to be a sure prevention of Corns, Quittors, Contracted Heels, Navicular Disease, Laminitis, Thrush, and other ills that befall the horse through bad shoeing; and secures that freeness of action and ease to the horse so much prized by horsemen.
Our motto is, “Lowest Charge consistent with Best Work.”
Our terms are strict Three-monthly Settlements.

The business was carried on by Charles Doney jun [junior] and his uncle Thomas Doney where Dave Plimer had a livery & stables.

Charles John Apperley and his brother Alfred William Apperley were blacksmith on Heretaunga St east – between the Carlton Hotel and Knight’s – Alfred went out on his own in Wheelwright and Charles continued with blacksmith, later two new shops were built on their site for Eccles & Lys the tailor in 1896 which burnt down soon after.

[Advertisements]
C. & A. APPERLEY,
GENERAL BLACKSMITHS,
Wheelwrights, &c.,
CLOSE TO RAILWAY STATION,
HASTINGS.

C. APPERLEY,
GENERAL BLACKSMITH,
FARRIER, &C.,
CLOSE TO RAILWAY STATION,
HASTINGS.

Page 103

[Advertisements]
C. APPERLEY,
GENERAL BLACKSMITH, FARRIER, &c., HASTINGS.
HORSES SHOD WITH THE GREATEST CARE AND DESPATCH.
All Kinds of General Smiths’ Work and Repairs
DONE at the SHORTEST NOTICE & at REASONABLE PRICES.

SHOEING EXECUTED WITH DESPATCH
C. APPERLEY
FARRIER AND GENERAL BLACKSMITH
(Opposite Beecroft’s)
HASTINGS.

Charles Apperley a Ferrier and general Blacksmith on Heretaunga St east by the Hastings Hotel, opposite Beecroft’s entrance

Charles Apperley b: 1853 Herefordshire, married Catherine (Kate) Emily Phair 1884, they had 14 children and lived on the Havelock Road past Norton Rd, Charles died 1950 aged 97, a younger brother Alfred William Apperley a Wheelwright b: 1855 Herefordshire married 1880 his second wife Elizabeth, Alfred died 1918 aged 63.

[Advertisements]
J. D. BROWNE,
Saddle & Harnessmaker,
HASTINGS.
ON HAND, A LARGE ASSORTMENT OF
Riding and Pack Saddles,
HARNESS, &c. &c.
ALL KINDS OF SADDLERY
MADE TO ORDER ON THE SHORTEST NOTICE.
Repairs executed with Despatch, & Charges Moderate.

GEORGE SMITH’S
Railway Hotel Livery Stables,
HASTINGS.
SADDLE HORSES, BUGGIES, AND HORSES
FOR HIRE.
Horses Broken to Saddle & Harness.
HORSES BOUGHT AND SOLD
ON COMMISSION.
Every care taken of Horses left in Charge, Customers served with civility and attention.
CHARGES MODERATE.

1882, J. D. Browne, saddle & harnessmaker and George Smith ran the Railway Hotel livery stables

1882, Charles Z. Brausche b: 1861 Germany arrived in Hastings 1882, later he was captain of the HVFB

1882 October, James Boyle offered to convey without any restrictions the valuable section adjoining the Pacific hotel for the Athenaeum.

1882 November, Birth – Boyle – At Oatlands, Havelock on 6th November, the wife of Mr James Boyle, of a son.

1882, Thomas and Hannah Sands travelled from Lyttleton [Lyttelton] to settle at Hastings, they had five sons and four daughters.

Page 104

[Advertisements]
JOSEPH ANNABELL
ARTIST
HASTINGS
Has made arrangements with MR CARNELL to take Enlarged Photographs on Canvas. A sight of the person to be painted is desirable. Portraits of ANIMALS painted from life. Old paintings cleaned and restored. The Artist would meet by appointment at Mr. Carnell’s Studio.

JOSEPH ANNABELL,
PORTRAIT & ANIMAL PAINTER,
HASTINGS.
Persons leaving their Photos at Mr. Carnell’s Studio can have a Life-like Copy in Oil Painting, any size.
OLD PAINTINGS COPIED.
OLD PAINTINGS CLEANED AND RESTORED.
FAMILY GROUPS, PET ANIMALS, & LANDSCAPE BACKGROUNDS
FROM EMPLOYERS’ ESTATES, IF REQUIRED.

JOSEPH ANNABELL,
PORTRAIT & ANIMAL PAINTER,
HASTINGS.
Persons leaving their Photos at Mr. Carnell’s Studio can have a Life-like copy in Oil Painting, any size.
Oil Paintings Copied. Oil Paintings Cleaned & Restored.
FAMILY GROUPS, PET ANIMALS, & LANDSCAPE BACKGROUNDS,
FROM EMPLOYERS’ ESTATES, IF REQUIRED.

Joseph Annabell an Artist had a studio on Lyndon Rd – his daughter Mrs Boyle, Mr Carnell was a photographer at Napier

[Advertisement]
ESTABLISHED 7 YEARS.
CHAS. F. LYS,
TAILOR,
HASTINGS.
HAVING had a varied and long experience in some of the principal London firms, both City and West End, can insure [ensure] Ladies or Gentlemen, however fastidious,
A Perfect Fitting Garment.
Every Garment equal in style and finish to Home make, at prices that will bear comparison with any other house.
A large and choice stock of all descriptions of Goods to select from equal to any in the Province.
ALL GOODS THOROUGHLY SHRUNK.
HASTINGS.

1883, Charles F. Lys a taylor [tailor] had been established 7 years, situated on the southern part of the Carlton Hotel site on Karamu Rd sth.

Page 105

[Advertisements]
J. BENNETT,
BUILDER, CONTRACTOR, ETC.
HASTINGS.
Estimates furnished for all kinds of Work.
Sub-Agent, North British and Mercantile Insurance Companies.

GEORGE HASTINGS,
PLUMBER, PAINTER,
AND
General House Decorator,
HASTINGS.
The following Goods can always be had at Napier Prices:-
White Lead
Red Lead
Whiting
Raw Oil
Boiled Oil
Varnish
Dryers
Scrim
Turpentine
Tacks, Paint Brushes
100 to 300-gallon Tanks Made to Order
Pumps Fixed, Sold, and Repaired
O. G. Spouting Zinc
Glass Cut to any Size
And a good assortment of Paperhangings will always be kept in Stock.
And Paints of every Description.
PIPES AND FITTINGS FOR HOT OR COLD WATER DONE.

Joshua Bennett, building a contractor and George Hastings a plumber & painter

[Advertisement]
J. T. WOOD,
LAND & COMMISSION AGENT,
HASTINGS.
Sub-Agent for the National Insurance Co.

1882, Joseph Thomas Wood Land commission agent at Hastings, he died 1921 aged 70

[Advertisement]
McEWAN & MURRAY,
DRAPERS AND OUTFITTERS,
HASTINGS.

[Advertisements]
A. J. McEWAN
HASTINGS HOUSE,
Draper and Outfitter.
HASTINGS
A.J. McEWAN

A.J. McEWAN.
HASTINGS HOUSE,
Draper & Outfitter
HASTINGS.
A. J.McEWAN.

Page 106

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS HOUSE.
A. J. McEWAN
General Draper and Outfitter
HASTINGS.

McEwan & Murray drapers and outfitters partnership before A. J. McEwan went on his own at Hastings House

Arthur John McEwan a Draper married Annie Garry in 1883, they had 5 children. Later Arthur went bankrupt after the big fire 1893, then he disappeared, his widow wife lived in Havelock North 1911.

1883, Dr Joseph Faulkner surgeon arrived in Hastings to settle with his wife Antionette [Antoinette] and family in Market St. They had a daughter born 5th February 1885 at Hastings. Sadly Mrs Antionette Lilian Faulkner died on 16th September 1885 and Joseph died 16th April 1897, buried at Hastings cemetery. [HBKB – daughter Antoinette Lilian died 1885, Fanny Antoinette Giesen de Morny died 1890]

[Photo]

The first St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church on Market St Sth

1883 February, the first St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church was opened on Market St sth, later the Presbyterians Scots had began the first Caledonian Society Athletic Sports in 1889 to raise funds for the Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade.

1883 February, The finder of a collie dog named “Snap” lost in Hastings on the 14th instant, will be rewarded on bringing same to Mrs Ford’s boarding house at Hastings.

1883 March, The Heretaunga Licensing Committee – Railway Hotel, Hastings – The application of Mr W. A. Beecroft for the transfer of his license to Mr J. Tuck was laid before the committee and confirmed, there being no opposition. Mr Beecroft went into the Horse Repository business on Queen St east behind the Railway Hotel.

1883 April, The Railways first acquired the 3 acres on the corner of Station St and Queen St east – later PO site – Gazetted.

1883 May, Tenders were called for the 12 mth [month] lease of the Hastings Town Hall – W. B. Beilby

1883, alterations were made to the Hastings Railway Passengers Station veranda, and there was a No Smoking rule on or about the Hasting Railway Station platform in 1884 which was strictly enforced with court cases.

Frederick Cook was born in May 1849 at Hertfordshire England where he was educated at the public schools, and afterwards learned gardening. He subsequently followed his trade at Cambridge, Waltham Abbey and various other places before emigrating to New Zealand. He settled in Hastings and started in business on his own account as a builder. He accepted the position of overseer for the Hastings Borough

Page 107

Council in 1893. Mr Cook has been secretary of the Hastings Public School for fourteen years, and for six years was a member of the school committee. He was secretary of the Hastings Horticultural Society and chairman of the Heretaunga Fruitgrowers’ Union, Hastings, being the proprietor of one of the most up to date fruit farms in Hawke’s Bay.

[Photo]

Frederick Cook

1883 June, Mr D. McLeod is building a shop next to Mr Foreman’s for the New Zealand Clothing Factory. Close to the railway station a two-roomed building is being constructed by Mr Tong for Mr General. A billiards and hairdressing saloon is being built by Mr Cooke.

[Photo]

Mr D. McLeod

Donald McLeod, b: 1843 at Cape Bretón, Nova Scotia. 1860 he arrived with his family on the barque “Ellen Lewis” to Auckland where he worked for nearly fourteen years in carpentry, bridge and ship-building, bush-felling and pit-sawing. He had moved to Hastings by 1883, he started his timber merchant business in 1893, and purchased the Makotuku saw-mill, which was burnt down early in 1896. Mr McLeod was elected to the first Hastings Borough Council in 1887, he retired in 1888, but was re-elected in 1892, and retired in 1895 and was a J.P. In 1878 he married Isabella Coghill of Caithness, Scotland and had one son.

1883 August, Mr H. H. Murdock of Hastings in his spare time is painting the stage scenery for the Town Hall

1883 July, Hastings CBD – A subcommittee was appointed to fix the area and boundaries of the proposed district advised as follows – that the railway crossing at Heretaunga St be the centre of such district, and that it should extend 64 chains on each side of the railway east and west, and 50 chains north and south of the said crossing. This would give an area of 1288 acres. The valuation committee reported that the rateable value in the proposed CBD district was £182,000.

[Advertisement]
NEW ZEALAND CLOTHING
FACTORY NOTICE,
OPENING HASTINGS BRANCH
July 28th.
Next to Mr. Foremen’s Butchery.

1883 July 28th Saturday, New Zealand Clothing Factory branch opened at Hastings first situated next to Mr Forman’s [Foreman’s] Butchery Heretaunga St east then later near the Hastings Hotel Heretaunga St west. Mr M. G. Benjamin was manager at Hastings in 1891. The New Zealand Clothing Factory (Messrs Bendix Hallenstein & Brothers Ltd, proprietors, Head office, Dunedin) The Napier branch was established in the 1870’s.

1883 July, Mr Thomas Tanner has been able to obtain sufficient sets of hop plants to plant seven acres, for which he is now preparing the land. Mr Ormond is also making a move in the same direction. What say ye to this ye advocates of local hoption? My impression is that it will greatly add to the prosperity of Hawke’s Bay. If the hops be too bitter for the abstainers they must c’en grin and beer it!

Page 108

1883 July, Tenders were called for the erection of a new Bank of New Zealand building premises at Hastings – Mr W. T. Balfour, Manager, designed by W. A. Dudley, Napier architect.

1883 July, Hastings Athenaeum Opening. A concert will be held in the Town Hall Hastings, in celebration of the Opening and for the Augmentation of the Funds of the Athenaeum. Tickets may be had of E. Beck and Co., A. J. M’Ewan, J. A. Hayes and from H. O. Johnson, Hon. Sec.

[Newspaper notice]
FOR PRIVATE SALE.
HASTINGS, – That Valuable CORNER SECTION, opposite the Horseleydown [Horselydown] Store, and having a frontage of 33 feet to the Havelock Road by 100 feet to the Karamu Road. This is undoubtedly one of the best business sites in the township. We have also for sale several SECTIONS adjoining the above, with frontage to the Karamu Road.
HOADLEY, LYON & Co.,
704   Land and Estate Agents.

1883 August, the site for Harry J. Thompson’s Carlton Hotel with reference to The Horselydown Store of Alfred Warman, once Tobias Hicks old store and section.

1883 August, Mr Henry Selig formerly of Napier opened a jeweller’s shop in the main street nearly opposite Mr McEwan’s drapery warehouse. Mr Selig is prepared to execute orders in any department of the trade.

[Advertisement]
HENRY SELIG,
WATCHMAKER & JEWELLER,
HASTINGS.

1883 August, Hastings is still extending. The latest in buildings is a fine horse bazaar and stables, now being erected by Mr Beecroft. The ground covered by the main building is 100 ft by 66ft and room still remains for extension. When completed this bazaar will be second to none in Hawke’s Bay.

[Photo]

William Arthur Beecroft’s Repository with roof skylights built 1883 on Queen St east near Karamu Rd to 1900, this business had an arched entrance way from Heretaunga St east

Page 109

[Photo – BEECROFTS REPOSITORY]

Queen St east near Karamu Rd shows William Arthur Beecroft’s Repository and his two-storied residence behind.

[Advertisement]
WM. ARTHUR BEECROFT,
PROPRIETOR,
HASTINGS & HAVELOCK NORTH.
HASTINGS – P.O. BOX 35

WM. ARTHUR BEECROFT.
Horses Bought and Sold on Commission.
Weddings and Funerals attended by Careful Drivers.
ORDERS PROMPTLY EXECUTED AT THE REPOSITORY
QUEEN ST., HASTINGS.
HE WHO HESITATES IS LOST!
RING UP! RING UP! 208!
And when you go to HASTINGS if it does rain – why, just HAIL Hansom No 17, and John will drive you to
BEECROFT’S REPOSITORY
Where you can order your Choice of Carriages with Pairs to Match; then make your calls, which are payable only on returns,
All Orders for Gigs, Buggies, or Saddle Horses Promptly Executed.
Weddings and Funerals attended by Careful Drivers.
W. A. BEECROFT,
BOX 35, HASTINGS.

1883 October, HERETAUNGA ROAD BOARD. The regular monthly meeting of the above Board was held in the Hastings Town Hall yesterday. Present: – Messrs Campbell, Chapman, Foreman, and Wellwood (chairman.) The following correspondence was received: – From Dr Hamilton, complaining of a bad smell which arises from the main drain, and requesting the Board to take steps to abate the nuisance. The clerk was instructed to inform Dr Hamilton that the drain is now being seen to. From the residents of Market Street, requesting the Board to continue the road formation as far as Williams’ boundary fence. – Work authorised. From residents of Upper Karamu road requesting the Board to continue formation to their properties. The chairman was instructed to employ a surfaceman for the necessary work. Moved by Mr Foreman and seconded by Mr Campbell. “That a suitable culvert be erected over the main drain on Murdoch’s road, and that the necessary repairs be done to Sandies road, work to be let by contract. – Carried. Moved by Mr Foreman and seconded by Mr Chapman “That the Railway road from the river to Willow Pa road be formed, gradient from bridge metalled, and Willow Pa road repaired where necessary – Carried. Moved by Mr Campbell and seconded by Mr Chapman, “That Mr Groom’s application for grant-in-aid for work required on road leading to his property be entertained, and that the Board subsidise the work to the amount of the sum received from the district.”- Carried. The

Page 110

Chairman was authorised to have the following works seen to, culverts over creek on road leading out to Marakakaho [Maraekakaho] road, also culvert on Willow Pa road. The month’s accounts having been passed, the Board adjourned.

1883 November, HERETAUNGA ROAD BOARD. The general meeting of the Heretaunga Road Board was held yesterday at -1 p.m. in the Town Hall. Present: Messrs Campbell, Foreman and Wellwood (chairman) Mr Foreman moved, and Mr Campbell seconded, “That an open bridge culvert be placed across main drain on Murdoch’s road.” Carried. Proposed by Mr Wellwood, and seconded by Mr Foreman, “That the upper portion of Karamu road be formed, and that tenders be at once advertised for the Work.” Carried. Proposed by Mr Foreman, and seconded by Mr Campbell, “That Queen Street, Avenue Road, and St Aubyn Street on the eastern side of Karamu road be formed. Work to be done at once.” Carried. Proposed by Mr Campbell, and seconded by Mr Foreman, “That the chairman be authorised to employ tho necessary labour to carry out any work required in the [Te] Onepu district.” Carried. Proposed by Mr Foreman, and seconded by Mr Wellwood, “That the clerk be instructed to take legal proceedings against till ratepayers who are in default after the 30th instant.” – Carried. Proposed by Mr Wellwood and seconded by Mr Campbell “That the clerk be instructed to write to the chairman of the County Council calling his attention to the injury done to the Karamu and Longlands roads caused by the heavy traffic of the county metal carts upon them, and request the county to grant a bonus for their repair, as the ordinary traffic should not have caused so much injury in twelve months.” Carried. Proposed by Mr Foreman, seconded by Mr Campbell and carried “That a bonus of £10 be voted to the clerk for his services as engineer to the Board.” After the month’s accounts were passed the Board adjourned.

1883 November, Sarah Newcome Nelson nee Bicknell died aged 39 – first wife of William Nelson of Tomoana, 1884 William married Emma Caroline Williams.

1883 November 22, F. Sutton MHR, Royston Napier sent Petition for the constitution of Hastings Town District.

1883 December 4, F. Sutton MHR, Napier – sent Statutory declaration to the number of resident householders in proposed Hastings Town District. 1884 January 2, The Governor constituted the Town District of Hastings and appointed Returning Officer to make arrangements for 1st elections and Meeting of Board.

Blacksmith and Farriers at Hastings

[Advertisements]
W. ROBERTSON,
Farrier & General Blacksmith,
HASTINGS

THOS. BADDELEY,
BLACKSMITH, FARRIER.
T. BADDELEY,
GENERAL BLACKSMITH, FARRIER, &c.,
HASTINGS.
Horses Shod with the Greatest Care and Despatch.
ALL KINDS OF GENERAL SMITHS’ WORK & REPAIRS.
Done at the Shortest Notice and at Reasonable Prices.

JOHN McILROY,
GENERAL BLACKSMITH & FARRIER,
HASTINGS AND CLIVE.
EVERY DESCRIPTION OF IRON WORK MADE TO ORDER.
Horse Shoeing and Blacksmith’s Work executed with despatch.

JOHN DRUMMOND,
BLACKSMITH AND FARRIER,
HASTINGS.

Mr William Robertson and Thomas Braddeley [Baddeley] were another blacksmith and farrier at Hastings in 1884.
John L. McIlroy and John Drummond from 1885.

1884 January, The Hawke’s Bay Herald – Board and residence close to the Hastings railway station can be had on application to Mrs Stevens, Market Villa, Hastings. A Mr Bartlett Stevens was an early settler at Hastings.

Through the indomitable courage they faced hardships and overcame sickness, obstacles and dangers, some with brain others with brawn, all helped to build the flourishing town and transform the wider area into highly productive fields and orchards.

1884 February, Hastings was proclaimed a district town with a population of 617 and a Town Board formed with the first municipal election of representatives. The first elected Board was – T. Tanner, W. R. Russell, C. Donney [Doney], F. D. Luckie and F. Forman. Both Russell and Tanner gave grandiose speeches proclaiming to be the ‘Farther of Hastings’ and the Godfather of Hastings! The original southern town boundary ran along Gordon Rd through the Racecourse above Murdock Rd towards Copeland Rd.

Page 111

1884 February, Four shops about to be built on the section nearly opposite Mr Baldwin’s shop. A man named Lips was gaoled for robbing Beck’s, a concert was sought to raise funds for Mrs Lips who was ill and nearly blind with two children.

1884 March, Mr Charlie Donny was knocked unconscious when a runaway horse knocked him down in a Hastings street.

[Advertisement]
FURNISS
Boarding House,
MARKET STREET,
HASTINGS.
Single & Double Bedrooms.
SITTING AND BATH ROOMS.
Terms Moderate.

1884, Mr & Mrs Edward William Furniss, Boarding House on Market St

The new Town Board obtained a tender for road mettalling at 9d a yard some of the early metal for the Hastings streets was obtained from a pit close to the Waikoko Homestead at Tomoana where the showgrounds lake was formed, later metal came from the council quarry at the back of St Leonard’s park.

1884 September, A farewell was held at Kelly’s Hastings Hotel for Mr C. Gallien clerk at the BNZ was transferring to a Wellington BNZ – Mr Gallien worked earlier alongside Mr D. A. Wright at the Railways dept, a purse of sovereigns was given to Mr Gallien.

1884, Railway list record that the Hastings Station facilities now has a “2nd Class” station building and passenger platform a “cart road” thereto, a loading bank, and a 100ft by 30ft goods shed. It was also a locomotive coal and watering station, but there were complaints made concerning the shunting of trains across the Main Road. The railway department still did not agree to provision of railway crossing at Eastbourne St, but provide one at Lyndon Rd.

[Photo]

The Protestant Hall was built in 1884, later became the Salvation Army Citadel

1884 November, Birth – Boyle – On November 7, At Oatlands, Havelock, the wife of Mr James Boyle, of a daughter.

1884 November, Mr Edward R. Vickerman was appointed manager of the Hastings branch of the Union Bank of Australia opened in temporary premises for six years – possibly near H. O. Johnson’s chemist store on Heretaunga St west. 1884 December, Mr William Ulick Burke was manager of the Bank of New South Wales.

Page 112

[Advertisement]
HERETAUNGA STORE,
HASTINGS
G. H. ROACH.
GENERAL STOREKEEPER.
ACCOUNTS RENDERED MONTHLY.

1884, Mr G. H. Roach began business with the ‘Heretaunga House’ drapery in a wooden two storied store on Heretaunga St west between the Hastings Hotel and Market St. Mr G. H. Roach, b:1839 at Richmond, England, 1861 married Hannah O’Connell, they had 4 sons and three daughters.

[Photo]

G. H. Roach

1884, A forth [fourth] Stortford Lodge Hotel was opened by William Stock on the corner of Heretaunga St west at the Maraekakaho Rd corner – named after his birthplace, later he built a Store and House by the Hotel.

[Map of sewer]

1885, The proposed sewer, drainage scheme pipe 30 x 20 in blue from the Hastings Railway Station’s artesian well overflow along the Reserve to the Tomoana railway station at the Karamu Reserve where it crossed under the line to the west for a distance before recrossing under the line again to the east to cross the old Ngaruroro River bed and connect to the main sewer.

1884 December, Hastings Fire Brigade – here was also some discussion as to the formation of a fire brigade for Hastings. It is of course very desirable, but whether it is at present feasible is another matter. There is always the chance of volunteer enthusiasm waxing cold unless there is a fire now and then to warm it up, and fires here are, I am happy to say, few and far between. Long may they be so! It is the intention of the majority of the Town Board to introduce a scheme for raising the necessary subsidy to buy the plant for an efficient brigade.

1885 January, A woollen factory is being proposed as most of our leading settlers have signified their willingness to support the project, and before long a prospectus will be issued and shares canvassed for. Mr Rochfort has commenced taking levels for the drainage scheme, which when carried out will provide Hastings with thorough drainage as there is plenty of fall. There has been a good deal of discussion as to the feasibility of having our town lighted with gas, and the starting of a local newspaper. The opening of a road from here to Pakowhai has often been spoken of Mr G. Rymer and others have promised to use their influence in the County Council to get the road opened, and the creeks bridged, when this is done the road will be much used, and a coach run from here to Napier via Taradale daily, this will add greatly to the convenience of the public. There is another project in trying to obtain a piece of land near the town, for the purpose of a public park. It would be a great boon and blessing to the district should this be obtained, and would materially add to

Page 113

its prosperity. A new Church of England is to be built over the site of the present one, which is to be shifted and turned into a Sunday schoolroom.

Thomas Tanner had set aside 44 acres of Riverslea land to the end of Grove Rd where the narrow Makirikiri creek still flowed through to a large lagoon called the Te Mangapouri creek where he had his men plant pine trees; it also had a well, this area was referred to as – The Park or Queens Park – later became Beatson’s Park. Selwood Rd only went as far as Park Terrace, but there was a wooden bridge further along crossing over the Te Mangapouri creek – from near that point it was called the Makirikiri creek again.

[Photo – bales of wool]

1885 February, the first load of wool aprox 70 bales to be transported from Raukawa to the Hastings Railway at 8mph, towing provision carriage. Thomas Tanner was the first to import a steam traction engine into Hawke’s Bay.

1885 February, Mr Reynolds, Hastings, invites tenders (labour only) for the erection of a seven roomed house in Market-street.

1885 February, Death – Duddy, At Hastings on the 26th instant, Frank Arthur Duddy infant son of Arthur and Blanche Duddy of Hastings, aged 7 mths

1885 March, Hastings Fire Brigade -The recent fire here has provoked the remark in various quarters that “Hastings ought to have a fire brigade.” I think I have heard this remark before in connection with other little fires. Yes, Hastings ought to have a fire brigade just as New Zealand “ought to have” defences. In either case it is mainly a question of cash. If the colony could afford it she might have plenty of 100—ton guns in a very short time, and if the citizens of Hastings will subscribe money enough they may easily get a fire engine” with all the appliances and means to boot.” Only, when the colony has got its guns and our town has got its engine another consideration will come in. We shall have to find men willing to learn how to work them effectually, and to be always on the spot when wanted. I do not make these remarks with any wish to throw cold water upon a project for throwing cold water on burning buildings. The example of the Napier and Spit brigades should encourage those who wish to establish a similar institution here, but we must bear in mind that Hastings is as yet – (bear with me, fellow – citizens; I only say “as yet”) – a smaller town than Napier, and therefore, before we buy our engine, it may be advisable to provisionally enrol the men. As a beginning, the purchase of a fire- escape and a few ladders would be a step in the right direction, and might save life and property which would otherwise be lost. Hitherto our fires have been on a small scale, but at any moment a fire might break out in a large building – say one of the hotels – and we might have to lament the loss of lives which could have been saved by the simple precautions to which I have referred.

Page 114

[Photo]

1885, Hastings Commission Agent – Mr Arthur Tickner store on Station St next to the site where the new wooden Post Office was built 1896 opposite the Railway Station, shows Mr Arthur Tickner standing in front of window, upper signage – The Daily Telegraph local agency. Agent for – Alliance Fire & Marine Assurance Coy established 1884, also, Wenley & Lanauze, Cranby & Prebble, Hawke’s Bay Timber Coy. Note the adjoining tall building with fence basement – poss [possibly] the Building Society’s building that housed lodgers and burnt down June 1896 – Tickner was away at the time –  his store was considerably heat damaged, but survived.

[Photo]

Station St – the opening of the new brick PO 1910 January 24th shows adjoining F. C. Hartshorn Agent, the Fish Mart and Wellwood & Wellwood Hastings Land Agent – poss [possibly] the original Tickner store without his upper signage that was probably fire damaged 1896!

Arthur Tickner’s business was near the Post Office next to the Permanent Building Investment Society’s building est. 1885 with Burton’s booksellers on the other side. The Building Society’s building housed lodgers and burnt down June 1896 – Tickner was away at the time – his store was considerably heat damaged, but survived. In 1897 the Post Office block on Station St caught fire again – the entire line of houses from Mr Tickner’s Office to Miss Adams Drapers shop have almost all been burnt down at one time or another. In June 1895 he sought permission to dispose of a thrashing plant through an Art Union raffle. 1890, Arthur married Agnes Taylor – son Harold William Tickner, daughters – Elsie, Ruby, and Mary Rita. In April 1907 Tickner sold his Commission and General Agents business to Mr Frederick Charles Hartshorn and Norman Wellwood. Tickner died later that month 28th April 1907 aged 46. Agnes Tickner died 5/5/1949 aged 83. The Permanent Building Investment Society later had a building in Market St.

1885, Robert Wellwood opened a new store and stock sales yard on Hastings St sth between Eastbourne St and Lyndon Rd – the old fire station site with a grand sit down spread catered by Richard Vaughan the baker.

Page 115

[Advertisement]
W. F. BURNETT,
GENERAL
IRONMONGER,
HASTINGS.

1885, William Fletcher Burnett opened his Ironmonger business in Hastings he was later joined by Bone and he became Mayor

1885, A. A. George arrived at Hastings and set up a printing press and the Hastings Star in 1887 in Karamu Rd sth, he was also a member of the Hastings Volunteer Fire Brigade.

[Photo]

Alfred Amory George b: 1854 England

1885 March, Sale plans of Hastings town sections – being the whole of block 4, West Hastings on the Omahu-road. The land is the property of Mr Arch. McLean and will be sold by public auction on Wednesday next, at the Hawke’s Bay Wool Stores, Napier by Messrs C. B. Hoadley and Co. This will be the most important sale of town sections since Mr Tanner’s were disposed of in 1879, and will be one of the best possible tests of the surprising increase in value of property since that date. It will be seen by the plan that liberality has been observed in laying off the roads, with a view to the convenience of the daily increase of traffic. The Tomoana road is the direct road to the Tomoana Works and when Mr J. N. Williams opens up his land intervening, it will be one of the most important thoroughfares in the district, and have the effect of still more centralising the property to be offered. The situation of the land, which is high, dry, and rich, makes it now most desirable for residential purposes, and ultimately for business sites, and the sections will doubtless be eagerly sought after if the present pressing demand for sites of this kind is any criterion to be guided by, especially as the terms of payment are so favourable to the purchaser. The sections are pegged off and numbered, and can now be viewed for further particulars we refer our readers to our advertising columns.

1885 March, Heretaunga Road Board – plans for a bridge on Karamu Rd over the old Ngaruroro river course – (the Mangateretere Ford) and for the metalling of Southland Rd.

1885 April, Hastings township has continued to make rapid strides and the sections have been increasing in value. At no time since the first sections were sold, and the first building erected, has the town made such a stir in the building line as it is doing at present. Go in what direction you will and there you will hear the sound of the carpenter’s saw and hammer, and see new buildings in the course of erection. Tenders have been taken for several large buildings, and several more are contemplated. Within the next twelve months our town will present a very different appearance to what it does to-day. Amongst other buildings for which tenders have been (or are about to be) taken are two large hotels, to be built at the corners near the junction of the Havelock and Karamu roads. A large billiard-room between Mr McIlroy’s forge and Mr Beecroft’s hotel, opposite which Mr Wellwood intends to erect a large grain store, then Knight Brothers are going to build a business place for themselves on the site where their iron store stood. The store having been shifted closer alongside of Hoadley and Co’s auction rooms on the other side of the line. Mr Kelly is going to have two fine shops built on the piece of land next to the hotel, one of which I hear has already been let to Mr Welsman (chemist of Napier) and several applications have been received for the other. The two shops next to Mr Robert Thayer’s (baker) are being altered into a bank building for the Bank of New South Wales, and numerous other buildings are spoken of as likely soon to be commenced.

Page 116

[Advertisements]
HASTINGS TIMBER YARD.
KNIGHT BROTHERS
COAL & TIMBER MERCHANTS
HASTINGS.
SAWN TIMBER (TONGUED AND GROOVED),
POSTS, STRAINERS, AND HOUSEBLOCKS.
Firewood and Coal.
HAY, STRAW, CHAFF, CORN AND CRUSHED CORN
AT CURRENT PRICES
AND DELIVERED TO ANY PART OF THE COUNTRY.
ORDERS EXECUTED FOR ALL KINDS OF
Agricultural Machinery
Imported Direct from the Home Market.

HASTINGS TIMBER YARD.
KNIGHT BROTHERS
TIMBER MERCHANTS
IRONMONGERS
AND
GENERAL IMPORTERS
HASTINGS.
GENERAL PLUMBING AND GUNSMITHS’ WORK
UNDERTAKEN AT SHORTEST NOTICE.
Tin and Galvanized Iron Ware, Tanks, Wool-cradles,
BOILER AND STENCIL PLATES
MANUFACTURED ON THE PREMISES.
SAWN TIMBER (TONGUED & GROOVED) POSTS, STRAINERS, & HOUSEBLOCKS
Firewood and Coal.
HAY, STRAW, CHAFF, CORN AND CRUSHED CORN.
AT CURRENT PRICES,
AND DELIVERED TO ANY PART OF THE COUNTRY.
ORDERS EXECUTED FOR ALL KINDS OF
AGRICULTURAL MACHINERY.
Sub-Agents for South British Insurance Company.

HASTINGS TIMBER YARD.
KNIGHT BROTHERS
TIMBER MERCHANTS
AND
IRONMONGERS.
HASTINGS.
SAWN TIMBER (TONGUED & GROOVED)
POSTS, STRAINERS, & HOUSEBLOCKS
Firewood and Coal
HAY, STRAW, CHAFF, CORN, AND CRUSHED CORN
AT CURRENT PRICES,
AND DELIVERED TO ANY PART OF THE COUNTRY.
ORDERS EXECUTED FOR ALL KINDS OF
AGRICULTURAL MACHINERY
Imported direct from the Home Market.
Sub-Agents for New Zealand Insurance Company.

Knight Brothers Timber Merchants and General Ironmongers

[Advertisement]
TATTERSALL’S
BILLIARD & REFRESHMENT ROOMS,
Close to Railway Station,
HASTINGS.
REFRESHMENTS AT ALL HOURS.
PRIVATE ROOMS FOR LADIES.
F. N. DILLON   PROPRIETOR.

Tattersall’s billiard & refreshment rooms F. N. Dillon

[Newspaper notice]
NEW FURNITURE WAREHOUSE, HASTINGS,
Just Arrived and Arriving Monthly.
AMERICAN AND ENGLISH CHAIRS, FURNITURE, &c.
Venetian Blinds manufactured on the premises.
All descriptions of Furniture made and Repaired.
FUNERALS FURNISHED.
ESTIMATES GIVEN.
D. SIMON,
Cabinetmaker, Upholsterer and Undertaker,
NEW FURNITURE WAREHOUSE,
HASTINGS.

[Advertisement]
BEDSTEADS AND BEDDING
NEW FURNITURE WAREHOUSE
All orders entrusted to the care of D. C. S. will receive prompt attention.
GENERAL FURNISHER AND IMPORTER,
Omahu Road, HASTINGS.
CARPETS AND VENETIAN BLINDS.
REPAIRS EXECUTED WITH DESPATCH.

1885 April, D. Simon cabinetmaker opened on Omahu Rd, Hastings

Page 117

[Map – Town Plan]

1885 June, 8 Town Sections on Eastbourne St west auction for the subdivision of sections 240, 241.

The Railway Station and Railway Hotel at top with Knight Brothers and C. B. Hoadley & Co premises opposite, Knight Brothers proposed store site at section 205 on the corner of Eastbourne St and Railway line, the Police Station is on Railway Rd, R. Jons has adjoining property and C. B. Hoadley & Co stock yards are situated on Lyndon Road – later part of Bowling Club corner. Kelly’s Hotel is on the Heretaunga St to Havelock and the Railway Rd corner with many shops along Heretaunga St except the empty plot next to Kelly’s Hotel that gave access to the Blacksmith behind. The Pacific Hotel on Heretaunga St west and Market St corner and the Athenaeum on Market St sth.

1885 June, John Cullen, b: 1847 Ireland, a Baker in Havelock North and from there he use to serve Hastings residents twice a week. Hastings began to expand with the railway being put through – it was decided to move the business into Hastings. About half-a-dozen other Havelock businessmen shifted their quarters to Hastings. So the services of the late Mr J. Liley, who was then a builder and contactor at Havelock North, were engaged. By June 1885, Mr Liley had built the present two-story wooden building which stands on the corner of Heretaunga St east and Hastings Street nth, and the single-story corrugated iron structure behind. The two-story building was then used as the Cullen home, with a bakery and grocery store fronting Heretaunga Street conducted by the family on the ground floor and the other building was used as a bakehouse. The Cullen buildings stood on their own, skirting a Maori pa (Queen St) which extended over the area known as the old courthouse site and the Regent Theatre block. A deep running creek (Makirikiri) flowed across the site now occupied by the Municipal Buildings Mr Cullen recalled having swum and fished in the creek as a boy. (1892 November 5th Hawke’s Bay Herald still mentions a creek near the Maori pa at Hastings) The next building was on the corner of Heretaunga and Warren streets and there was not another then until the Union Bank was reached. Mr Tim Cullen recalled to-day that it was a steeplechase meeting day when the family moved in from Havelock North and he and his brothers were sent to the races while the moving was accomplished. Though the buildings have been long since outmoded they were in the late part of the last century most fashionable. The heart timber, mainly totara and rimu is as sound to-day as the day the building was erected and the heavy corrugate iron though it has weathered the storms of 60 years without so much a coat of paint still shows no evidence of rust. Mr Cullen’s premises consist of a nice corner shop, with dwelling attached, a bakehouse, and flour store in Hastings Street. Boxing Day 1894, a fire started at the bakehouse, a large number of willing helpers went in, and in the most orderly manner commenced to remove the flour and other stock to a place of safety. Luckily there had been recent rain and the large hole at the back of their property from the old Makirikiri creek had filled with water to douse the fire. Fortunately there was scarcely a breath of wind at the time, and there being a large willow tree between the house and the fire, the house was protected from it. The insurance upon the building and the stock come to £150, the risk being taken by the Phoenix. John Cullen conducted a successful bakery business until he retired in 1904 after which the business was carried on by members of the family until 1930 when they sold out to Mr Cook. Mr Cullen was for three years a member of the Hastings Borough Council, and has been through all the chairs in connection with the Hastings Lodge of Foresters. He was married, with two sons and one daughter. Cliff Press built a new printing office factory at 103 Hastings St nth around 1960. Ms Annie Cullen resided in a two-storied home at 406 Heretaunga St east, both building roofs can be seen in some photos. Information on the early history of the building was sought from Mr Tim Cullen, 312 Avenue Road, for whose father the late Mr John Cullen it was originally constructed. The old iron constructed corner building at 101 Hastings St nth (opposite the old Lilac Cafeteria, now New World carpark) and recently occupied by Mr Cyril Adolph Cook, electrical engineer – was demolished in November 1945.

Page 118

[Photo]

John Cullen, by Ross & Brown

1885 July It has been decided to alter the site of the Church of England St Matthew’s, two acres of land have been purchased where Mr James Reynolds is now living. The block of land being bounded by King-Street, Lyndon Rd and Eastbourne St west, the site will be in every way preferable to the present one. Mr Holt, who has the contract for building the new church, has already commenced work. When finished the church will be a fine large handsome building. The old church is to be moved for a Sunday schoolroom.

1885, A new wooden Wesleyan Methodist Church was built on Hastings St sth to seat 120 at a cost of £300 under Rev. T. F. Jones. The first Methodist services were held in 1877 in the school house on St Aubyn St, then at the Town Hall and at Goodwin’s Hall in the 1880s under the Rev J. J. Mathers the first minister appointed to Hastings. They had purchase a ¼ acre site for a church on Hastings St sth in 1878 and 2 years later bought the adjoining site. The land extended from Heretaunga St east to Eastbourne St east. The part near the latter street was for years an obstinate swamp where the old Makirikiri creek ran, but by the energy of the managers and the liberality of the congregation, turned it into a fine level section – possibly the site for a minister’s residence. The Christian Endeavour Society. Later the Rev. O. Dean 1886, the Rev. C. E. Beecroft 1888, Rev. W. Sinclair 1891 and the young Rev. W. J. Elliot.

1885 July, There are three important movements on foot for the benefit of Hastings, which are likely to be commenced this coming spring – the sewage scheme, gas works, and the new road to Taradale. As soon as the Town Board has made arrangements for borrowing the money required, and the weather gets a little dryer, the sewage scheme will be commenced. If the Gas Company’s Bill passes the House, in all probability the Napier Company will lose no time in commencing work. The bill is now before the committee. In taking evidence in favour of the bill, Dr Fell stated that in his opinion the children attending the school at Hastings would not suffer through the site being near the school. The bill will be before the committee to-morrow, when evidence against the bill will be heard. I hear that Mr Wellwood, who is the strongest opponent in Hastings to the bill, has gone to Wellington to give his evidence.

1885 July, Amongst the numerous buildings that have lately been erected in Hastings is a fine billiard saloon belonging to Mr J. Young. The billiard room is superior to any in Hawke’s Bay. It is 44ft x 20ft, and is fitted up with two first-class tables and all requisite appliances. Connected with this is a hairdresser’s saloon, very roomy, and handsomely fitted up, and a tobacconist’s shop.

1885 August, Plans by Jacobsen and Peez’s for the enlargement of Mr McEwan’s shop Hastings. It will be more than double its present size, have a glass veranda with a pavement of ornamental tiles in front, thick plate glass windows and upstairs fitting-rooms, a skylight surmounted by a lantern. Altogether the building when finished will be an ornament to our main street.

1885 August, the Town Board gave notice for a 12ft wide footpath along both sides of Market St; later Plane trees were planted in 1892. And the Borough engineer John Rochfort recommended a drainage scheme for the town.

1885 September, Dr Faulkner’s wife Antionette[Antoinette] Lilian Faulkner died at Hastings.

Page 119

[Advertisement]
A. T. DANVERS,
VETERINARY SURGEON,
HASTINGS
GOOD STABLING AND PADDOCK ACCOMMODATION
FOR ALL STOCK LEFT IN MY CARE

Alfred T. Danvers was a Vet Surgeon

1885, The people of Hastings purchased their own manual fire-engine for £60 – it was the residents pride & joy.

[Survey plan – Sections in East Hastings]

1885 October 7th Wednesday, Plan of sections 61 & 63, East Hastings adjoining the racecourse to be sold by auction at Hastings by R. Wellwood, Auctioneer. Mr Danvers is an adjoining property owner and shows Gascoigne St from Southland Rd went around into Murdock Rd later Freyberg St and not to Railway Rd.

[Newspaper notices]
TO THE INHABITANTS OF HASTINGS AND ITS VICINITY.
JOHN MYHILL, nearly seven years in the employ of Newton & Co., Hastings-street, Napier, begs to inform the public of Hastings and the surrounding districts, that he intends re-opening on the 19th SEPTEMBER the old and well-known Store, corner of Karamu and Havelock roads, Hastings, with an entirely new and well-selected Stock of Groceries and Crockeryware, and respectfully solicits a share of public patronage and support.
The Goods being all new, J. M. can with confidence recommend them to the judgment of a discerning public.
Families waited upon daily and all orders promptly delivered.
Now on hand, Prime Oats and Fowl-feed, cheap.
J. MYHILL,
12   HASTINGS.

TO BUILDERS.
TENDERS are invited for the Erection of Additions and Alterations to Mr Myhill’s, Hastings.
Plans &c., to be seen at our Office until THURSDAY, the 4th March, after which date they may be send at Mr. Myhill’s, Hastings.
Tenders to be sent to our Office on or before MARCH 10th at NOON.
The lowest or any Tender not necessarily accepted.
JACOBSEN AND PEEZ,
Architects & Engineers.jottings 13

1885 October John Myhill reopening grocery & crockery poss [possibly] Tobias Hicks old Hastings store and extensions made in February 1886

1885 November, Mr F. W. Williams & Kettle opened a branch on the corner of Eastbourne St and Railway Rd Hastings – later premises for H. P. Cohen auction sales – Mr Hyman Phinieas Cohen of Napier.

Page 120

1885 November 16, The appointment of William Owen McLeod as Justice of the Peace Hastings.

[Advertisement]
W. D. IRELAND
AGENT,
HASTINGS.

William D. Ireland was an Agent at Hastings

[Advertisement]
S. L. CHANDLER,
ENGINEER AND MILLWRIGHT,
HASTINGS.
ALL KINDS OF MACHINE & TURNED WORK,
Steam and Water Fitting.
All kinds of Agricultural & other Machinery repaired.
MACHINE KNIVES AND CUTTERS MADE.
Emery Grinders, suitable for Saws, Tools, or Reaper Knives.
SAW SPINDLES.jottings 13
SAWMILL SITES LAID OUT AND MACHINERY ERECTED.

S. L. Chandler, Engineer & Millwright at Hastings

Samuel Livingstone Chandler b: 1850 Glasgow, m: Ellen Bowden in March 1878 at Hastings, they moved down to Otago where he died 1946

1885 November 26th Thursday – C. B. Hoadley & Co Auctioneers have been instructed by Thomas Tanner to offer by public auction on above date Important sale of Hastings land consisting of 1000 freehold acres of his magnificent Riverslea Estate into town and suburban allotments, varying from one rood to twenty five acres, to be sold in sections adjoining East Hastings and extending from Longlands towards Havelock, rich soil and splendid supply of artesian water and approached by good roads one chain wide. Actioned [auctioned] at Bell’s large store opposite the railway station.

1885 November, Riverslea Estate sale, Section – 80 Keith; 81 Stevens; 82 Whibley; 81, 83 McPhayer; 115, 116, 117 McDougall; 118, 119 Chen; 121 J. E. Ward; 170 Corbett; 177 E. Jefferey; 167, 168,169 Dolbel; 165 W. Clark; 160, 163, 162, 161, 127, 128, 129, 130 T. Foreman; 177 M. Barry; 178 W. Atkins, 179 J. Hayes.

[Survey map]

Page 121

Another subdivision plan near Havelock shows the bottom of the Karamu Reserve at top – with sections 8. A. Spears, 101. A. Wellwood, 60. J. Beatson – St George Rd shows sections 1. 2. & 3 with the Makirikiri creek, Cottage, Homestead, Well and Bridge, 58. J. Bird and E. H. Williams orchard.

1889, John D. Beatson b: 1843 a Wool Merchant and Fell monger at Meeanee owned a large block of land from Grove Rd to St Georges Rd, in 1898 he had homestead built at his Riverslea property on St Georges Rd Hastings a sheep farmer. 1877 February, John Beatson married Mary Jane Harvey, they 3 or 4 sons – one died 1886 and another in 1908 and 1918 WW1. John was a brother-in-law to Mr Ormond. In 1912 John D. Beatson sold some Riverslea land to the Hastings Borough Council, the Makirikiri creek still flowed through it to a large lagoon, a pine plantation planted by Thomas Tanner men. It was opened to the public in 1926 as Beatson’s Park, later named Windsor Park 1935. John D. Beatson died 23 December 1931 aged 88 and Mary Jane Beatson nee Harvey died 11 August 1934 aged 87.

John Bird was born in the Old Country in 1838 and landed with his parents in 1842 by the ship Clifton at Wellington where he received his education. He married Mary Nelson in 1881 sister of Sergeant-Major Nelson of Napier. He holds a valuable little farm of seventy-two acres at Riverslea; he was a member of the Hastings Farmers’ Union and the Agricultural and Pastoral Society.

[Photo]

John Bird

1885 November, Ruddock & Fryer from Napier opened premises in Hastings – they bought section 65 block 8, Riverslea land sale. William Owen McLeod was manager.

[Survey map]

1886c, Plan of the unsold Riverslea Estate paddocks for sale. Areas from 10 to 500 acres. Shows land lots, area sizes around Havelock Road and the old bed of the Ngaruroro River. Ernest D. Tanner Esq and T. Crosse Esq are neighbours who adjoin land lots for sale at the West end of the area. J. C. Main owns lot 68 and 69. McIvor & Wyatt have lot 53. From Selwood Rd Hastings to St Georges Rd are the Hop Grounds with the Riverslea drain.

Thomas Ezekeil Crosse of Crosses Road Riverslea, he derived from Porangahau – the first white child born there in 1855, he married Susan Barker in 1886, she died in 1887, he remarried Davidann Thompson Barker in 1889, they had 5 children and removed to Hastings. 1918 March, Thomas E. Crosse, sheepfarmer, Hastings,

Page 122

had been chairman of the H.B. County Council since 1901. Davidann Thompson Crosse nee Barker died 1943 aged 74 and Thomas Ezekeil Crosse died in 1952 aged 93. [HBKB David Ann Thompson Crosse]

[Photo]

Standard House built pre 1883, Shows the staff of D. O’Reilly’s Draper & Clothier store on Karamu Rd sth. Possibly shows the Willow trees behind in Knights yard. The two storied Standard House was moved across the road to the Albert Stables corner in May 1885 to make room for Mr Harry J. Thompson’s new Carlton Hotel and where C. F. Lys a Taylor occupied it until 1895. Maybe they shared the building or D. O’Reilly had another store in Hastings.

Mr Daniel O’Reilly was from Cork Ireland; married to Julia O’Neill, they had 2 children. After being wrecked at Otaki beach in 1878, Daniel moved up to Napier, he opened a Boot store business in Hastings which he sold 3yrs later, then he opened a Drapery store for 3yrs, he acquired interests in the Hastings Hotel in 1895 and became proprietor after the big fire.

[Advertisements]
C.F. LYS,
TAILOR AND HABITMAKER,
STANDARD HOUSE,
HASTINGS, H. B.
ESTABLISHED 1875
HAVING one of the Largest and Best-assorted Stocks in the Province to select from – comprising –
WEST OF ENGLAND COATINGS AND SADDLE TWEEDS,
ALSO,
SCOTCH AND COLONIAL GOODS
of the very best quality in great variety, every Garment equal in Fit, Style, and Finish to Home make, at prices that will bear comparison with any other house, C. F. L. is enabled to
EXECUTE ORDERS AT A VERY SHORT NOTICE,
employing a Large Staff of First-class Workmen.
All Goods Thoroughly Shrunk.

CHARLES F. LYS,
TAILOR & HABITMAKER
THE ORIGINAL STANDARD HOUSE,
KARAMU ROAD, HASTINGS.

1885, Charles F. Lys a tailor & habitmaker at the original Standard House on Karamu Rd sth as there was another single storied Hastings Standard newspaper office on Station St opposite the PO. The original

Page 123

Standard House was moved again around to Station St in 1897, but it was no longer called the original Standard House. It became Webber’s Chemist after their corner store burnt down in April 1910

In 1895, Mr Charles F. Lys a tailor of the old Standard House moved from his old premise on Karamu Rd to Heretaunga St east with Mr Eccles a chemist, near the Carlton Hotel, but their building caught fire in October 1895. Mr Lys returned to his old Standard house premises until he moved into another new shop on Heretaunga St east.

Many of the early wooden buildings were erected around the old swamps of Hastings that were eventually filled-in, many of the early wooden buildings caught fire or were easily moved around the town by traction engine.

The Hastings Standard newspaper was started by Mr A. Cushing as manager and Mrs W. D. Arndt as editor; it was beset by problems and change of ownership. Mr W. Hart a printer was taken over by Mr Whitlock and Mr Cairncross, it eventually became the Hawke’s Bay Herald Tribune under Mr W. A. Whitlock.

There was a swamp on Karamu Path Rd opposite the Albert Hotel with raupo ten feet high and a little clear water in the middle where duck shooting was good before they built the Carlton Hotel on the site and further south along Karamu Rd there was a lagoon which was later filled-in when Civic Square was established and a big lagoon between Avenue Rd and Queen St near Powdrell’s. Opposite the Carlton was the Union Bank building where Francis Hicks store was.

1885, The Albert Hotel was built for Mr William Young Dennett although the Albert Hotel may not have been granted a licence until June 1886 so only provided tea & coffees and accommodation. It was possibly named as a nod to Queen Victoria’s husband Prince Albert who had died in 1861 – 21 years before the pub was built. The Hotel’s veranda’s Union Jack infill balustrade also suggests the hotel was indeed one of a long line of New Zealand pubs with royal signatures.

[Photo]

William Young Dennett

William Young Dennett b: 1845 at Hobart, Tasmania, he arrived at the Otago gold rush diggings early 1860’s and then joined the Colonial Defence Force and then the Napier Militia, he married Catherine Woods in 1866. Mr Dennett ran a Cab service in Napier and was a publican at the Albion Hotel Napier which caught fire, and then he was at the old house – Exchange Hotel in Havelock North which also caught fire. Tenders to erect new stables at the Albert Hotel in July 1886. Unfortunately the new Cook at the Albert Hotel suddenly died in February 1887. He was proprietor at both the Albert and Carlton Hotels before opening the Hastings Auction Bazaar, a financial, insurance, land and general commission agent. He also had a cycle shop and defeated the friendly carter – Mr William Lane to become mayor 1899 -1904, he died at Hastings May 1928 aged 82. His wife was Mrs Tomazine Lane.

1886 March, The new Albert Hotel for Mr W. Dennett was opened. The hotel, which is a large one, is without exception the most conveniently planned one of the sort. The idea of the house, which was Mr Dennett’s, has been cleverly carried out by Mr T. R. Cooper, who was the architect of the building, which has been be designed as to supply the greatest amount of comfort and convenience with as little labour attached to the carrying on of the business as possible. Down stairs, attached to a spacious bar, are two parlours, which can be served from the bar, a commercial room, and a large dining-room measuring 36 x 26 feet, a novelty for Hawke’s Bay. In the dining-room will be that instead of one large public table the room will be supplied with a number of small tables capable of seating six persons. Upstairs there is a private sitting-room, 29 bedrooms containing 40 beds, two bath-rooms supplied with hot and cold water, and other conveniences. On the top of the house is a large tank, capable of holding 3000 of water, which is supplied by an artesian well; a hose will be attached from this tank, which, at a moment’s notice (in case of fire), can be run to any part of the house. On the balcony, which runs along two sides of the house will be two win [wing?] ladders which can be used as means of escape should a fire occur. Mr Dennett, who has suffered from fire before, has taken every precaution to reduce a like occurrence again to a minimum. Hastings should not now want for hotel accommodation. We have now no less than five large hotels (containing about 160 beds) besides accommodation houses.

Page 124

[Advertisements]
ALBERT HOTEL,
HASTINGS.
FIRST CLASS ACCOMMODATION
AT MODERATE RATES.
W. Y. DENNETT – PROPRIETOR.

ALBERT HOTEL,
HASTINGS.
THE
NEWEST AND BEST APPOINTED HOTEL
IN HASTINGS,
MEALS AT ALL HOURS, 1/6.
HOT AND COLD BATHS.
FIRST-CLASS ACCOMMODATION
AT MODERATE RATES
W. Y. DENNETT,
PROPRIETOR.

1886 April, A small fire occurred at Dennett’s Albert Hotel. Although this was a trifling fire early in the evening, it would have been much worse had assistance not been at hand.

[Photo]

Heretaunga St east shows the 3rd Albert Hotel and 4th Carlton Hotel Mr J. D. Rivers owned the Albert Hotel for a short while.

Page 125

[Advertisement]
CARLTON HOTEL
HASTINGS.
THIS NEWLY-BUILT, COMMODIOUS AND
WELL APPOINTED HOTEL,
Is Now Open to the Public,
AND IS CONDUCTED BY
MR. H. J. BAKER,
SO WELL KNOWN IN HAWKE’S BAY.
NEITHER PAINS NOR EXPENSE
HAS BEEN SPARED.
In Furnishing and Fitting up this Hotel according to the
Latest Improvements.
And the Proprietor believes that his name will be sufficient guarantee that the Hotel will be conducted in a first-class style.
H. J. BAKER,
HASTINGS.

1885 November, The Carlton Hotel was opened for Mr Henry (Harry) James Thompson on the old Karamu Path Junction designed by Mr T. R. Cooper and erected by Mr James Greig and Mr William McColl who had a factory. The hotel with its own large gas lantern was first leased out to Mr Harry J. Baker until May 1887. Harry J. Thompson was Mr Tanners Riverslea Station manager. Mr Thompson was slow with his progress payments to Greig who went bankrupt, Greig also built the new addition to Mr A. J. McEwan’s shop. Harry J. Thompson was Tanners former Riverslea Station Overseer in 1880, he went overseas to River Plate and visited Buenos Ayres. In November 1901 Mr J. D. Rivers had sold the Albert Hotel and took over running the Carlton Club Hotel with his wife.

1885 December, Thomas Morgan took over the Railway Hotel from W. A. Beecroft who concentrated on his transport business.

[Newspaper notice]
RAILWAY HOTEL, HASTINGS.
T. MORGAN,
PROPRIETOR.
THIS Old-established and Favorite Hostelry is too well known to need special pleading – “Good wine needs no bush” – and T. Morgan still keeps on draught Swan’s renowned XXXX Ales, and only the Very Best Spirituous Liquors and Cordials are dispensed. The Railway Hotel was the first public establishment in Hastings, has progressed with the district, and T. M. intends to go right straight ahead, for Hastings must be “The City of the Plains.”
RAILWAY HOTEL, HASTINGS,
T. MORGAN, PROPRIETOR.   50

Page 126

[Advertisement]
RAILWAY HOTEL, HASTINGS
T. MORGAN, Proprietor.
HASTINGS WILL BE THE CITY OF THE PLAINS!

[Photo]

Heretaunga St east 1890’s, looking towards Hicks corner – the old Junction Path, shows the Railway Hotel situated further down Heretaunga St east than it seems. It opened on the 9th May 1874 and was the local pound. Shows – Pike’s Billiard Rooms behind and possibly the Union Bank distant left, taken from near the railway line. A corner store left edge on the Railway Reserve. At right shows the Waterman’s building with Knight Brothers advertising beside the empty section where A. H. Wilson & Harvey building would later be built, the Carlton Hotel and Albert Hotel veranda distant right. The Waterman’s building at right later became Westerman’s.

Later proprietors of the Railway Hotel were – Mr Sam Charlton to 1893, then Charles Henry Shattky to P. T. Spillane 1899, to Mrs Catherine Kenny and her husband D. J. Kenny in February 1900, to Dugald Thompson and finally to Mr Percy Martin – 1904 when the Railway Hotel licence was declined on fire safety grounds. 1904 July, The Napier Brewery Company have purchased from Mr J. T. Blake the section and intend to erect an up-to-date hotel there. The company have also purchased a section fronting Queen-street, and will run a right-of-way from it to the back of the new hotel. The old Railway Hotel will be dismantled, and replaced by a row of shops. Station St did not extend through Knight Brother’s timber yard until after WW1 when Westerman’s and the A. H. Wilson & Harvey buildings were removed to extend Station Street – renamed Russell St 1919.

Charles Henry Shattky b: 1866 married Margaret Elizabeth Spicer 1883 Victoria, they had 3 children and arrived in Hastings around 1893, Charles died December 1936 aged 70 and Margaret died May 1937 aged 76 their married daughter Doris died at Perth 1920.

1885 December, The three new shops built by Mr J. Kelly next to his hotel were no sooner finished than they were occupied. One is occupied by Mr Welsman as a branch establishment of his Napier business. The counter and all the inside fitting, which are exceedingly handsome, were made by Mr D. Simon, who has lately started here as cabinet maker and upholsterer. The work which is all of New Zealand wood is a very creditable exhibition of workmanship. Mr H. Apsell occupies the next shop, and has started in the fancy

Page 127

goods line, He has the shop very tastefully arranged with goods of all sorts and descriptions in the fancy line, and has made a very brilliant display of articles suitable for Christmas and New Year’s gifts. The third shop has been taken by Mr N. O’Neil, for a watchmaker’s and jeweller’s shop, as a branch to his Napier business. This block presents a very different appearance now; to what it did a few months back, when it was a vacant gap and an eyesore to the place. The alterations to Mr McEwan’s shop are nearly finished. This will be one of the best and most spacious shops of the kind in Hawke’s Bay. It is evidently the intention of the Hastings business people to leave the settlers no excuse to go beyond to town to spend their money, and obtain what they require Amongst others who have lately started in a now line is Mr Kessell, who has opened a fruiterer’s, greengrocer’s and general produce shop, where fresh vegetables, &c, can always be obtained.

The Hastings Fire Brigade formed

1885 September, The fires that have occurred in the neighbourhood lately have made some of our settlers anxious for the arrival of the fire engine which has been purchased in Wellington for this town, and to see a fire brigade organized and up to their work.
letter- It occurred to me the other day that it would be a good idea to have a few hand grenades placed in different parts of the town in lockers, so that the night-watchman or constable could get them readily in case of fire breaking out; in fact, he might go about with a couple slung on his belt. These might be the means of stopping a fire before it had done much damage. The cost would be but little, and the benefit to be derived might be great.

1885 December, The Hastings Town Board – It was resolved to accept the offer of the Napier Fire Brigade for the supply of hose for their engine at 9d per foot and couplings at 15s per set. Moved by Mr Ellis, “That Mr Tong be appointed to take charge of the fire-engine and appurtenances, and form a Fire Brigade as soon as possible.” – Carried.

[Photo]

A young Mr Samuel T. Tong in his Fire Brigade uniform

1886, The Hastings Fire Brigade first met in a small hut in Caulton’s yard behind the Pacific Hotel on King St sth where there was a large watertank available filled from two artesian wells, with Mr S. T. Tong was the first captain, then they were stationed in a two-storeyed wooden building in Eastbourne St east behind the Borough Council Chambers – where the Municipal Electricity Power Pumping Station was later built.

There were the official Firemen, The Volunteers, The Branchmen, The Fire Police; the service was later named the Hastings Volunteer Brigade, then the Hastings Fire Board.

1886 January, HASTINGS TOWN BOARD. From hon. sec. Hastings Fire Brigade, asking the Board to take such steps as be necessary towards procuring a water supply for the use of the Brigade in case of fire: also asking the Board to grant one load of limestone sand to be used as a top dressing for engine-shed. Resolved – that the Board form a committee to take steps for the erection of a tank as recommended by Mr Rochfort in connection with his drainage scheme for a flushing drain, such tank to be constructed so as to be capable of being used, in case of fire, by the Fire Brigade. The load of limestone was granted.

1886 January, One of the first things our town authorities should see to is getting a proper supply of water for the fire-engine in case of fire. We have now a fire-engine and a Fire Brigade, but both are useless until we get a supply of water that can be used in case of necessity. It has been proposed to erect a large reservoir on the Athenaeum reserve (Market St) (which can also be used as public baths) and to connect with a six-inch pipe to be laid along the main street with junctions at all the cross streets the estimated cost of which is, I believe, about £1200. If this idea is carried out the revenue derived from bathers in the baths should nearly pay the interest on the whole outlay, besides being a great boon to the town. Something of the sort must be done, and the sooner it is done the better. Should a fire break out in the township the settlers would look very foolish with the fire-engine and no supply of water to use.

1886 February, Our Town Board are having two tanks sunk in Host Caulton’s back yard, into which two artesian wells can flow, so that in case of need there will be a supply of water for the fire engine should a fire break out in that part of the town. This is only a temporary precaution until the Board have carried out their permanent scheme of water supply.

1886 February, HASTINGS TOWN BOARD -. Proposed by Mr Foreman and seconded by Mr Ellis “That the sum of £25 be voted towards the Hastings Fire Brigade.”

Page 128

[Photo]

1885, Heretaunga St looking sth at King St towards the racecourse distant with G. H. Roach shop on corner at right, shows H. O. Johnson Chemist – Druggist and Bank of Australia taken from St Matthew’s Church wooden twin towers on section 76. The church had now become too small for the increasing parisoners [parishioners] and the towers requiring maintenance. The purpose for taking this photo from the towers prior to their dismantling was to show the location of St Matthew’s Vicarage in the background – Mr James Reynolds house and wooded property where the new church was being built on King St sth, and not so much for the shops shown in the foreground.

1886 March, a new wooden St Matthew’s Church of England was built on a 2 acre block of Mr James Reynolds on the corner of King St sth and Lyndon Rd west designed by B. W. Mountford and son C. J. Mountford for 300, built of totara and rimu by Robert Holt of Napier, consecrated by the Bishop of Waipu [Waiapu]. A Parsonage was built nearby. The new curate was Rev John Hobbs later became Vicar, Rev John Hobbs born India, he served 20 years at Hastings.

[Photo]

St Matthew’s new Church of England on King St sth was consecrated in March 1886

[Photos]

Page 129

1890’s, Eastbourne St side of St Matthew’s Church of England and from Lyndon Rd west at King St sth corner with lych-gate and covered way entrance and street gas lantern on right

[Photo]

St Matthew’s new Church of England on King St sth – shows gas lantern at front entrance lych-gate and covered way that leads into the church with four children standing outside, by Frederick George Radcliffe. J. N. Williams and W. Beilby were elected the Churchwardens. W. Coates, R. Wellwood, FitzRoy, W. Killiean, Capt Russell, Vickerman and Rainbow were elected Vestrymen and W. O. McLeod was appointed auditor. Fund-raising began in earnest and in 1914 a new Anglican concrete extension was erected adjoining the church.

[Newspaper article]
The oldest landmark in Hastings is disappearing. The towers of old St. Matthew’s Church, which were to the town what the Reculver Towers are to Kent, are being demolished, as it was found too expensive to keep them in repair.

[Photo]

The twin towers of the old Church of England on Heretaunga St west were rotting and needed expensive maintenance, so they were demolished in July 1886, the remains of the old Church of England were renovated for a Sunday Schoolroom and Hall which was to be removed to their Eastbourne St west site next to the new school house in 1898 as accommodation for a Young Man’s Club. But the old St Matthew’s building was destroyed by fire in June 1898. The fire had commenced in the ladies dressing room on the left side of the entrance. Mr White was caretaker there for 21 years and had locked up. A strong wind was blowing sparks away from Mrs Hartshorn’s nearby house, but towards the roof of the Defiance Packing Company and that of the smithy J. Scott. Efforts were made to save the old church windows, Mr Marbrook’s piano, Sunday school library books, a harmonium and gymnasium were saved. The Volunteers had stored uniforms and some ammunition in the building valued at £35, the old church building was insured £300. A St Matthew’s Sunday School Hall behind the new church on Eastbourne St west still remained in 1970’s.

[Newspaper notice]
I HEREBY give notice that it is my intention to apply at the next meeting of the Hawke’s Bay County Council for a Slaughtering License on portion of Block No. 28, Heretaunga, Hastings, known as R. Wellwood’s Esq., Southland property.
JOSEPH WYATT,
Hastings.
March 1st, 1886

Page 130

1886 March, Joseph Wyatt prior to his partnership with McIvor at Hastings

[Newspaper notice]
NOTICE.
THE undersigned beg to announce that they have opened in their new Premises, opposite the Pacific Hotel, and hope by strict attention to business to receive a fair share of public support.
McIVOR & WYATT,
Butchers, Hastings.

[Advertisement]
Mcivor & WYATT,
RETAIL FAMILY BUTCHERS,
HASTINGS.
CUSTOMERS WAITED ON DAILY.
FAMILIES SUPPLIED on the MOST REASONABLE TERMS.

1886 April, James Emmett McIvor & Joseph Wyatt opposite the Pacific Hotel, Joseph Wyatt was married to Elizabeth, Joseph died January 1929 aged 66

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS.
W. R. KESSELL, Practical Gardener, Seedsman, and Florist, begs respectfully to intimate to the general public of Hastings that he has commenced business as Fruiterer, Greengrocer, and General Produce Dealer, and hopes by keeping a good and varied Stock, combined with reasonable prices and civility, to merit a measure of public support.
W. R. KESSELL,
Omahau [Omahu] -road, Hastings.

1886 April, W. R. Kessell commenced business on Omahu Rd

Page 131

[Survey plan – Locality Plan, Hastings]

1886c Land lots are to be sold by public auction at Napier by C. B. Hoadley& Co Auctioneers. Shows – The Park – (Tanner’s Queens Park) past The Park the Makirikiri creek continued, Park Terrace, Selwood Road. Louie Street, Ada Street, St Georges Street, with McIvor & Wyatt own land bordering Louie Street. The land lots are selling for around £250 for 8 acres.

The locality plan of Hastings included the area to be South West of Havelock North, before Hastings, around St Georges Road, North Road (Norton Rd) and Havelock Road with the Hop grounds bordering Havelock Road.

1886 July, A meeting of purchasers of the Riverslea estate was held at Mr F. D. Luckie’s office, Hastings to consider the advisableness of accepting Mr Tanner’s offer of taking over The Park, a section of land consisting of 44 acres 2 roods 5 perches, on the terms offered by Mr Tanner in the conditions of sale of the Riverslea estate – (Tanner’s Queens Park) Mr John Beatson eventually took it over.

1886 August, The Fisk Jubilee Singers performed at the Hastings Town Hall on Monday the 10th after their return from Gisborne.

1886 August, Mr L. Freedman, Hairdressing Tobacconist of Napier opened a branch at Hastings.

Page 132

[Survey plan]

Shows the Railway Hotel, with residence, hall and stable buildings on Sec 1, 2 & 3 and Hicks Sec 3 A and poss [possibly] Tickner’s narrow section on Station St, Pt, the Post Office section 5 at top

[Photos]

Loine Martin Schaeffer’s Boarding House on St Aubyn St west 1880’s with tall tree, he was a Cook, shows an array of patronage with Board & Lodging @ 16/- per wk [HBKB Louis Martin Schaeffer?]

Mr J. N. Williams had offered to sell some of his land for the new northern station, and under the Public Works Act further additional sections were acquired – Sec 54 & 55 land and 2 houses removed of Mackwood Smith; Sec 56 land & house removed of James Irvine & Thomas Bishop; Sec 57, 58 and 59 were Thomas Coldham Williams of Wellington; part of Sec 110 building land & 2 houses removed of Stuart Macdonald; part of Sec 111 building land & house removed of Frederick Benjamin Perrett; and part of Sec 108.

Mr J. N. William’s Riverslea property boundaries and other inner fences all consisted of large Gorse rows.

Page 133

[Photo]

Heretaunga St west looking towards Te Mata from Nelson St aprox 1885 with the Town Hall, shows G. H. Roach on corner further up, the trees on left are at King St by the old St Matthew’s Church site, without veranda on building near right, the first Oddfelow’s [Oddfellows] Hall was built on King St sth on sections 274 275

[Photo]

Heretaunga St west looking towards the Railway Reserve aprox 1886, with business well established, trees on the old St Matthew’s Anglican Church property and possibly the remnants of the shallow open drain that Hicks dug along his southern boundary from Nelson St. G. H. Roach opposite on King St corner, Polglase and Kingswell on left and McIverson with veranda near right, by National Photographic Company, A. A. Ryan, Manager

Page 134

[Photo]

1886, now shows son G. F. Roach on Heretaunga St west at King St looking east with Dunedin post office date stamp, also see the first Pacific Hotel with veranda behind horse & carriage right side.

The Hastings Railway Reserve

1886 January, The contractors have commenced the new store for Messrs Murray, Roberts and Co., near where the present railway station is – I say where the present railway station is because rumours are afloat that it will soon be shifted several hundred yards nearer Napier.

Hastings Railway yards were becoming the busy clearing-house for the districts vast amounts of produce – wool, grain, and fruit in season. Messrs Murray Roberts and Co and Williams and Kettle have made arrangements to carry all wool from the country between the gaps in the railway line fit for goods traffic, and also stores the reverse way. This will prevent any delay to settlers in getting produce away from their farms or in getting stores from Napier.

1886, Due to the inconvenience of shunting goods wagons causing delays across Heretaunga St, was when the Eastbourne St connection to Railway Rd was first suggested to alleviate the delays, but instead they eventually decided to move the new Hastings Railway Station a hundred yards further north, to Queen St.

[Survey plan]

The Hastings railway station and yards 1883 – shows required sections in green on old plan which still shows the Goods shed situated directly opposite. Also shows part B road to Heretaunga School later Nelson Park and Sec 107 – poss [possibly] L. M. Schaeffer’s big two storied boarding house on St Aubyn St west.

Private railway siding

Page 135

[Survey map]

Shows pencil northern Williams sidings left 1887 June, past extended northern Market St, the private school marked.

1886, Private siding at Hastings for J. Garnett.

James William Garnett was born 1856 at Kendal, Westmorland where he was educated at the Bluecoat School and served his apprenticeship to the cabinetmaking trade. James married Hannah Wilson in April 1883. Hannah was born 1857 They had four sons – Albert Garnett born about 1879, William J. Garnett, Ernest Whyte Garnett born 1889 [HBKB 1887] and Harold Wilson Garnett born 1896. They arrived in NZ 1884 and removed to Hastings 1886 where he operated a cabinetmaking, and ironmonger and undertaker business in the premises opposite the corner of the Bank of New South

Wales and later opened coal, firewood and timber yards with an up-to-date factory, adjoining the railway line in Eastbourne street east, which business he maintained to the time of his death.

1886 September, Hastings – amongst the largest of the many improvements lately made here by our Town Board is the lowering of the Omahu and Havelock road, between Warren-street and Willow Park-road, at the junction of Hastings Street where Mr Cullin’s bakery is situated. The road is lowered about three feet, and the smelling and odourous lagoon is bridged on both sides by large culverts. I understand that in a short time this lagoon, which is the depot of the Hastings rubbish, will be filled in. About sixteen chains of the Omahu and Havelock-road have to be lowered, which is expected to be completed in about three weeks’ time, and will greatly enhance the value of the properties on both sides of the road, as formerly the different buildings in the locality have been below the level of the road. In noting, the various building items that are on the board in and around the locality, may be mentioned the successful raising of our local observatory -“Baker’s Tower” which was completed in a very satisfactory manner last week by one of our local builders, Mr Donald McLeod. The tower is an object of veneration to the Hasting sites, as during the Russian scare the high altitude of the tower was very useful in watching the enemy’s men-o’-war in the bay. Last week, in my remarks on the progress of the Hastings drain, I inadvertently omitted to mention the clerk of the works, Mr E. Hallett, to whose energy and attention the progress of the Hastings drainage works is in a great measure due. The drain has been constructed according to Mr Hallett’s levels, and his attention has been unremitting in seeing the work properly carried out. ‘On enquiry, I am glad to learn that Mr Maddison’s little girl, who had her thigh broken lately by a runaway, is making very satisfactory progress towards recovery, under the skilled treatment of Drs Faulkner and Linney.

1886 September, The siding for the Hastings gas works is nearly finished. A ballast train makes a couple of trips during the day with metal. The workmen are laying the rails and the work will be completed in a short time, so the contractors for the erection of the works will have no difficulty in getting their plant on the ground.

1886 September, Mr Sam Tong, the successful contractor for the retort-house and fencing in connection with the Hastings gas works, expects to make a start at his job next week. He has nearly completed a new shop in Market-street, and the building promises to be a handsome addition to that street. Mr Salisbury, who has the erection of Mr Broughton’s “office on the Omahu and Havelock-road, has already made a start with his work, and expects to be finished early in November.

1886 October, after 2½ years the Town Board held its final meeting and the first meeting for the newly formed Hastings Borough Council – with R. Wellwood elected Mayor and John Collinge appointed treasurer and town clerk with a population of 1504.

1886 December, Mr J. MacDonald was the agent at Hastings for The Evening News and Hawke’s Bay Advertiser – printed by Thomas M. Murphy and published by J. T Marryat Hornsby at Napier.

Page 136

1887 January, Within the Hastings Borough boundaries there are at least ninety wells; and Mr J. N. Williams, Mr Coleman and Mr Tanner have fifty others between them – 140.

1887 February, Vernon Clay Bishop son of Elizabeth and Thomas Bishop died at Hastings aged 9 mths.

1887 February, a dog Tax was fixed, the fire bell was now erected and dust was removed from the Main Street and later metalled.

[Newspaper notice]
THE ACADEMY, HASTINGS.
MR. J. A. REARDEN, respectfully informs the parents of his Pupils that the duties will be resumed on MONDAY the 23rd inst.
Ample accommodation for Pupils and Boarders.
Terms apply.    J. A. REARDEN.

1887 February, John Aloysius Rearden a well known school teacher in Napier went bankrupt, his property was sold, and he moved to Hastings where he opened an Academy on Queen St.

[Advertisement]
D. HASTIE,
Fancy Bread and Biscuit Baker,
AND
CONFECTIONER,
MARKET STREET, HASTINGS.
Wedding, Christening, & Birthday Cakes
MADE TO ORDER.
CUSTOMERS WAITED ON DAILY.

David Hastie, bread, baker & confectioner on Market St – poss [possibly] old Somerville’s bakery, he settled in Taradale

[Newspaper notice]
SALE OF PATENTS.
FOR the convenience of Investors, Capitalists, and Manufacturers, the Undersigned has opened a REGISTER OF PATENTS, in which he will be happy to enter for Sale or License, Patents for inventions of bona fide utility and novelty. No others entertained. He has now on his Register several Patents worthy of the attention of manufacturers, or of capitalists seeking investments.
H. H. MURDOCH,
Patent Agent, HASTINGS, Hawke’s Bay.     

Hunter H. Murdoch

1887 April, Robert James Hislop was born at Hastings the son of John Hislop b: 1865 a Fireman for the Railways at Hastings and Mary Green Pickett b: 1865 – they were married in 1885. Later John Hislop was an engine driver and they resided in Warren St. John was possibly the son of John and Elizabeth Hislop sheepfarmer of Puketapu.

1887 May 17, William Beeby Baker resigns as Member of the Licensing Committee Hastings.

1887 June, Robert Wellwood considers sell-off his Sale Yards on Hastings St sth, between Eastbourne St and Lyndon Rd.

1887 July, The D. A. Wright and family moved up to Helensville where David was a farmer, Mr Arthur S. Pirani was now listed as the telegraphist at Hastings.

1887 July, 13, A. S. Pirani, Hastings sought govt authority to dispose of certain pencil drawings by Art Union.

1887 August, Tender accepted for forming and metalling Heretaunga St @ £12 for the formation and 10½ d a cubic yard for the mettalling.

Page 137

1887, the Borough Council were filling in the Makirikiri creek that ran across Hastings St sth near where the Methodist Hall stands and Mr Einar List got too near the edge of the new filling and he sank up to his neck before being rescued.

[Photo – Napier Gas Company]

1887 October, The Napier Gas Company established a gas works in Hastings on the corner of Southampton St east and Karamu Rd sth adjacent to the railway line with a plant from England and six gas lanterns on cast iron posts. There was much rivalry objection to the Napier Gas Company and its proposed Hastings works site – a petition signed by 70 people in July 1885 to it being too close to the school – the smell, school children inhaling gas fumes and the dirty environment. A later Council resolution in 1908 that a poll be taken, on the question of the Hastings municipality acquiring the Hastings gas works off the Napier Gas Company was lost. The staff photo taken in 1934 shows behind the group a horse and cart with the word ‘Coal’ written on the side. To the right are numerous drums, possibly containing gas by-products – coaltar etc. The staff are unidentified except for William Gigg who is seated in the front row, fourth from the left. Also shows on right – the old wooden Infants Classrooms of the Hastings District School, a large red lead painted steel tank and tall Norfolk pine distant. 

1887 November, Southamptom [Southampton] St east by the new Gas Works plant was opened for traffic access.

1887 September 13, Resignation of Acting Lt – John M. McDonald, Hastings Rifles.

1887 October 25, Resignation of Acting Lt – D. A. Wright, Hastings Rifles.

1887 November, An old identity who at one time was very well known in Napier and at the Spit as “Chips“ died suddenly in the early hours of yesterday morning. The deceased, who for some time past had been residing at the Waimarama pa, was on a visit at the time of his death to his son-in-law, Mr Stuart, who resides at the Spit. On Tuesday night he retired to rest apparently in good health, but was discovered in the morning lying dead upon the sofa on which he had slept. He was over 70 years of age at the time of his death. The body was taken out to the Karamu pa for burial. No inquest was held, probably because it was considered that deceased’s age sufficiently accounted for death.

1887 December 5, Election of Acting Lt – Otto Hansen, Hastings Rifles.

1887 December, Messrs Hoadley and Co, under instructions from the Registrar of the Supreme Court, will hold an important sale of properties on Thursday, at the firm’s auction mart. Among the properties submitted will be the Carlton Hotel, Hastings, which is well worth the attention of investors. Particulars of all the properties to be offered are published this morning, and those in search of town sites would do well to take note of the land to be offered on account of Mr J. A. Smith.

1887 December, Messrs Hoadley and Co announce that the Carlton Hotel and other Hastings properties in H. J. Thompson’s Estate are placed in their hands for sale.

Page 138

[Survey map]

1887 December 8, Land to be sold at public auction by C. B. Hoadley & Co – Land situated around Havelock Rd, Eastbourne St. The Carlton Hotel situated on the corner of Havelock Rd and Karamu Rd. Mr W. Y. Dennett may have bought the Carlton Hotel – he owned it in 1892.

Lot 1. THE CARLTON HOTEL, occupying the most central position in Hastings, situated corner of the Havelock and Karamu roads. This substantial and spacious Hotel was built in 1885; is one of the most convenient in the colony all the arrangements and outbuildings are of a perfect and modern description. Anyone interested in this class of investment should inspect the property prior to date of sale, as it must be disposed of irrespective of its prospective value, and at an upset figure, merely the amount required to satisfy the mortgage.

Lot 2. Section 3, adjoining the hotel, with a frontage to the main street of 37 links by a depth of 137 links. A most valuable site for a store or any kind of business.

LOT 3. Section 2, adjoining above, with a frontage of 51 links to main street by a depth of 233 links. On this section there are two good shops, with dwellings, occupying the very beat situation in the town.

Lot 4. Section 5, containing 13 perches with a frontage of 50 links to Karamu road. On this section there is a shop and dwelling, at present occupied by Mr Lys, Tailor.

Sections 6, 7, and 8, all excellent business sites, adjoining the above in Karamu road and each containing a little over 17 perches, with good frontages, will be offered separately.

Section 9, adjoining above, and situated in Eastbourne-street; contains 33 perches. A  valuable allotment for a Store.

Page 139

[Survey Plan – Willow Park – Havelock Roads]

1887 December, Land to be sold at public auction by C. B. Hoadley & Co – shows Section 16 Mr T. Foreman has property fronting Havelock Rd.

BEAUTIFUL SUBURBAN PROPERTY Situated corner of Havelock and Willowpark roads will be offered, subdivided as follows: – Sections 4, 5,6, 7, and 9. containing a little 1 over 19 perches each, fronting Willowpark road: all high, dry and most cheerful spot for cottage residences, and within five minutes’ walk from Railway Station. The Sections will be offered separately. Sections 13 and 14, to be offered separately, each containing 28 perches. Section 13 is a corner allotment, section 14 adjoining; both most desirable residential sites, fronting: Havelock-road. Section 12, adjoining above on Havelock road, containing 2 roods 6 perches, upon which is situated a perfect modem Villa, containing 8 rooms, bathroom, & c. ; fenced and planted

The circumstances which have necessitated this valuable estate being brought to the hammer should be sufficient inducement to attract investors’ attention, and as undoubtedly Hastings has a future as bright as any town in the colony this exceptional opportunity to secure some of the choicest allotments should be taken advantage of.

1887 December 8, C. B. HOADLEY & CO Have received instructions from Dr. Faulkner to offer on above date, at the HAWKES BAY LAND AUCTION MART, NAPIER.

SECTION 13, Block l, Hastings, Subdivided as under – Lot 1 – 41 feet frontage to Queen-street, Lot 2 – 41 feet frontage to Queen-street, lot 3 – 41 feet frontage to Queen-street. Lot 4 – 41 feet frontage to Queen street and Karamu road. Lot 1 – adjoins Mr Wellwood’s auction mart, and this valuable property, from its central position, should command the attention of commercial men, being eminently suitable for stores, shops, &c, 1 Terms – l cash, balance in 5 years bearing 6 per cent, interest, or the whole may be paid off.

Also, On account F. D. Luckie, Esq., SECTION 3, BLOCK 7, HASTINGS, Containing 6 Acres, Subdivided as follows – Lot 1 – 1 acre fronting Nelson street, Lot 2 -1 acre fronting Nelson street Lot 3 -1 acre, corner of Nelson street and Southland road Lot 4 – 2 acres fronting Southland road. This property is beautifully situated, adjoining the members’ carriage paddock of the Hawke’s Bay Jockey Club’s Racecourse: lies well to the sun, and is sheltered by plantations from the cold winds and being within six minutes’ walk of the Hastings Railway Station is eminently suitable for residential purposes.

Also – on another account Suburban section No 2 Hastings subdivided as follows – Lot 1 – corner of Havelock Road and Willowpark Rds[Road]. Lot 2 & 3 fronting Havelock Road. Lot 4 & 5 fronting Willowpark Rd. Terms – One quarter cash; balance in 1, 2 and 3 years. Being parts of Suburban Sections 28 and 31, East Hastings. Most suitable for Labourers homes, and to enable the working classes to secure these freeholds £5 cash merely will be required at time of sale, the balance on terms.

Land sale – There was a large attendance this afternoon at the land sale at Mr W. Y. Dennett’s auction mart, when the valuable sections between Karamu Road and Warren Street and facing St Aubyn Street were sold by order of the executors of the late Mr Thomas Wheat leads to the belief that there are a large number of people confident in the future of Hastings. All the sections were knocked down to Mr James Collins of Kaikora at very satisfactory prices. They are all quarter-acre in extent and there was a spirited bidding throughout. The following figures:- Lot No 6 £80 ; Lot 7 (corner section), £90; Lot 8 £42.10s; Lot 9 £45; and Lot 10 (corner section) £62.10.

Page 140

1887 December 10, The directors of the HB Woollen Manufacturing Company meet, but the factory never eventuated on the site.

[Photo]

Second mayor George Ellis from 1887.

1887 December 21, Captain Russell, Hastings Rifle Volunteers applies for six months leave of absence.

1888 April, Carl Hans Arvedsen advertised to have a cottage built on Willowpark Rd Sth where he had a Market Garden with a private road through, he also famed a section on Lumsden Rd, he and his wife Katrine were naturalised in August 1896. In 1903 he sold his dairy farm and equipment. His neighbours were W. Clark, R. Dillon, and M. Mason. Because Arvedsen St had stemmed from a private road – it was never a properly formed road and was later known as the worst street in Hastings where a derelict house was abandoned, the council renamed it French St around 1916.

1888 January, W. S. Shanly, a teacher of the violin and piano at Hastings.

[Newspaper notice]
Carriers.
P. BARRY
Begs to notify that he has taken into Partnership his Brother THOMAS, and from this date the CARRYING AND EXPRESS BUSINESS will be conducted under the style of
BARRY BROS.,
Who will thereafter undertake a general
PARCEL DELIVERY.
Arrivals and Departures of all trains attended, and Parcels forwarded to all parts of the TOWN AND SPIT, at the following REDUCED RATES, FOR CASH ON DELIVERY :-
UNDER 56LBS, 6D EACH
56LBS TO 2CWT., 1S EACH
BARRY BROTHERS
Will also collect and deliver SHOP OR OTHER PARCELS.
Delivery ONCE DAILY ON THE HILLS, and TWICE DAILY to all parts of the Town, and at the Spit.
The Public will therefore find it a special advantage to address Parcels to
CARE OF
BARRY BROS.
Arrival and Departure of Steamers attended.
Office – Market-Street, adjoining City Auction Mart, Tennyson-Street.
2130   TELEPHONE NO. 17.

[Advertisement]
Barry BROS.,
WOOD, COAL, AND GRAIN MERCHANTS,
CARRIERS, CUSTOMS, AND FORWARDING AGENTS.
TENNYSON STREET, NAPIER,
TELEPHONE No. 17.
WAGHORNE STREET, SPIT.
TELEPHONE No. 13.
MARKET STREET, HASTINGS.

1888 January, Thomas Barry joins his brother P. Barry operating as Barry Brothers with a branch in Market St Hastings

[Calling Card]
[A CARD]
A. C. LEWIS,
BARRISTER AND SOLICITOR,
HASTINGS.

1888 January, A. C. Lewis a Solicitor at Hastings

Page 141

[Newspaper notices]
Veterinary.
P. J. MURTAGH, M.R.C.V.S.D.
VETERINARY SURGEON,
HASTINGS.
Important Notice to the Public. – I undertake to cure the following Diseases in all classes of animals, viz.: Poll Evil, Cancer, Tumor, Fistula, Bone, Bog, or Bloodspavins, Curbs, Thoroughpins, Splints, Ringbones, Sidebones, and all impediments of the Limbs, all Internal and External Diseases in all Quadrupeds cured, Horses fired without blemish, Colts castrated, Cattle spayed. All cases entrusted to my care will receive proper attention, and quick despatch. Good Paddock and Loose Boxes.   1196

W. T. SABIN,
VETERINARY SURGEON,
[Member of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons, London],
KAIKORA, HAWKE’S BAY.
The Diseases of Horses and other Domesticated Animals treated on scientific principles; Medicines for the same supplied, and operations carefully performed. Embrocation, White Oils, Blistering Ointments, Physic and other Balls, Colic and Fever Drinks, &c., of the best quality at moderate charges.
W. T. S. visits Hastings every Saturday and may be consulted at Mr. W. Robertson’s Shoeing Forge there between 9 a.m. and 6 p.m.
Good Paddocks and Accommodation for horses placed in his care for treatment.  754

1888 January, P. J. Murtagh Vet Surgeon at Hastings and W. T. Sabin Vet Surgeon visits Hastings through William Robertson, a Blacksmith, he later settled in Hastings

[Advertisement]
W. T. SABIN,
VETERINARY SURGEON
(Member of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons, London),
HASTINGS, HAWKE’S BAY.
The Diseases of Horses and other Domesticated Animals treated on Scientific Principles, Medicines for the same supplied and operations carefully performed.
Embrocations, White Oils, Blistering Ointments, Physic and other Balls, Colic and Fever Drinks, &c., of best quality at moderate charges.

 W. T. Sabin Veterinary Surgeon his practice was on Karamu Rd next to the Carlton Hotel in 1894

[Newspaper notice]
PROSPECTUS
HAWKE’S BAY WOOLLEN MANUFACTURING COMPANY, LIMITED. To be registered under “The Companies Act, 1882,’ limiting the liability of Shareholders to the amount of their shares.
Capital… £50,000
In 10,000 shares of £5 each
First issue of shares to be 5000. This number to be placed before taking any steps in ordering Machinery, Buildings or otherwise.
Payable 2s 6d per share on application, 2s 6d on allotment, 5s before ordering machinery, and the balance by calls not exceeding 10s per share at intervals of not less than three months.
It is not proposed by the Directors to call up more than £15,000.
PROVISIONAL DIRECTORS:
J. D. Ormond, Esq, M. H. R., Chairman.
Beck, E. Esq
Chambers, J. Sen., Esq
Close, J. Esq
Ellis, G. Esq
Gaisford, H. Esq
Hoadley, C. B. Esq
Heslop, J. Esq
McLean, R. D. D. Esq
Capt. Russell M. H. R.
Sutton, F. Esq
Tanner, T. Esq
Williams, J. N. Esq
Wellwood, R. Esq
Couper, W. A. Esq
Bankers – Union Bank of Australia
Solicitors – Messrs. Sainsbury and Logan
Secretary pro. tem. – George Tod
Temporary Offices – Agricultural and Pastoral Society’s Room, Napier, and Mr. F. D. Luckie’s, Hastings.
Applications for shares to be made on or before October 16, at the Union Bank of Australia, Napier, and all its Branches in Hawke’s Bay, or to the Secretary,
G. TOD,
Hastings.

1888 January, Prospectus for the HB Woollen Manufacturing Company Ltd, 15 provisional directors, F. D. Luckie and George Tod – this business venture did not eventuate.

Page 142

1888 February, The Hastings Catholic bazaar was brought to a very successful termination on Saturday night. The Town Hall was crowded during the day and at night the throng was enormous. Where such an immense crowd came from would be hard to say. The attendants at the different stalls were kept hard at it until near 12 o’clock at night. A large quantity of various kinds of goods were sold or otherwise disposed of by raffles. The latter plan was the most favoured as the raffles were all in the hands of a number of good-looking young ladies, the results of which gave general satisfaction, especially to the lucky ones. The ladies who had charge of the stalls cannot be too highly complimented on the success of their exertions. “The Shamrock” as usual, kept up its reputation, and Mrs C. Hughes deserves a special meed of praise, as to that lady’s exertions the success of the bazaar was mainly due. Mrs Vickers worked hard at her stall and obtained very satisfactory results. Mrs MacNamara and Mrs O’Neill, who had charge of the refreshment stall, kept their many patrons in good humour by the excellence of the choice eatables that they supplied. I must not omit to congratulate the stall assistants – Mesdames McIvor, Rearden, Cullen, Lawless, Beattie, and Misses McIvor, Hewetson, Corbett (2), Conway, Bownan, Henn, Dennett, and McDonald (2) – for the satisfactory and charming manner in which they discharged their duties, and also the Hastings Band, which contributed greatly towards the entertainment. The goods that remain over will be disposed of by auction next week. I believe Father Smythe to show his appreciation of the services rendered by the assistants at the bazaar, is going to give them a treat in the shape of a picnic shortly. The result of the bazaar is considerably over £150.

1888 February, The sudden death of Mr John Aloysius Rearden at 11 o’clock that morning at Hastings. It appears that on Saturday night the deceased was proceeding towards his residence, when a cabman driving along asked him whether he would get in and be driven home. Deceased got into the carriage, but insisted upon getting out at the Pacific Hotel. On arriving there Mr Caulton, the proprietor, refused to serve deceased with any liquor, and assisted him back into the cab, and ho[he] was driven to his home. It was then [J] about 11 o’clock, and Mr Rearden on reaching his house went up the staircase, and into his bedroom, where he laid down on the bed without undressing. At about 2 a.m. he complained to Mrs Rearden of the heat, and he got up. He walked into the passage and opened the window; and then, by some means, he fell out on to the veranda, a distance of three feet, rolled over the sloping roof, and fell to the ground, a fourteen-foot drop. Mrs Rearden ran out, and her husband said he had broken his leg. The neighbours were soon roused, and medical assistance obtained, when it was discovered that the deceased had received a very bad compound fracture of the leg below the knee. Drs. Faulkner and Linney found it necessary to amputate the injured limb, and put the patient under chloroform. The operation was performed, but deceased never recovered consciousness, and died about 11 a.m. Mr Reardon was only 49 years of age. Arriving in the colony some seventeen years ago, The deceased gentleman leaves a widow, but no children, his only son having fallen a victim to a boat accident in the inner Napier harbor some few years ago.

1888, William J. Symonds opened a large Coach Factory & Cycle Depot workshop in Queen St east, with a show room where beautifully finished vehicles were on view. The workshops and smithies were large and fitted with the latest labour-saving machinery and tools, including an eight-horse power steam engine; the painting-room, to which the vehicles are raised by a steam lift, is sixty-six feet by thirty-three feet, and the whole premises occupy a floor space of 11,000 feet. Mr Symonds employed sixteen men, including painters, upholsterers, smiths, and body-builders. They manufactured landaus and high-class vehicles. The buggies, wagonettes, cabs and hansoms. Later these buildings burnt down 1906.

[Photo]

William Symonds two front buildings for his Coach Factory & Cycle Depot on Queen St east

Page 143

[Advertisement]
HASTINGS STEAM CARRIAGE AND WHEEL FACTORY.
W. J. SYMONDS,
Manufacturer of Vehicles of every Description
A LARGE AND VARIED STOCK ALWAYS ON HAND.
IN DRAWING attention to the fact that he has all the advantages of Powerful Steam Machinery in the Factory, W. J. SYMONDS begs to say that he is able to turn out work most efficiently and speedily, and that he can now compete in Style, Quality, and Price with Goods of American Manufacture to the great advantage of the Purchaser.
Repairs and Jobbing of all Kinds Expeditiously Executed.
W. J. SYMONDS, HASTINGS.

[Photo]

William Symonds b: London was married and had three sons

1888, Harry Ford a farmer of Hastings writes about the rabbit plague problem as with Australia.

1888 May, The Hastings rifles – Sergeant W. H. Northe, Holroyd, R. Sowersby, J. Smith, Sergeant Faulknor, S. T. Tong, W. Ellis retired, Watson, Nutall [Nuttall], Gilpin, Keith, Melville, Joll, D. McDonald, L. Ellis, Ken, Ross, Hill, S. Northe retired.

[Newspaper notice]
THE HASTINGS STORE, HASTINGS.
E. S. BENTLEY wishes to inform the residents of Hastings that, in order to supply his customers in and around the township, he has this day opened a Branch Store in Heretaunga and Omahu-road.
Every description of Stores and Goods as usual will be of the Best quality and at the Lowest rates.
Goods delivered daily in all parts of the township.
Families waited upon for orders.
Butter a speciality from the best Dairies.
E. S. BENTLEY,
FAMILY GROCER AND GENERAL MERCHANT,
HASTINGS STORE,
HERETAUNGA AND OMAHU ROAD, HASTINGS.

1888 May, E. S. Bentley opened a branch at the Hastings Store – poss [possibly] Somerville’s old store comer of Market St

1888 May 26, Thomas Bishop Stock & Commission Agent died at Hastings aged 46 buried at Havelock, and his youngest new born son Errol Le Roy Bishop died soon after.

[Newspaper notices]
The remains of the late Mr Thomas Bishop were interred in the Havelock cemetery yesterday at half-past two o’clock. The Rev. J. Townsend read the beautiful Church of England service over the grave in a feeling and impressive manner. A large number of settlers from all parts of the district were present to pay a last token of respect to one who was deservingly honoured and esteemed by all. Hastings and the surrounding district will lose in Mr Bishop a settler of the genuine type, one who was ever ready to lend a helping hand to assist his neighbours not only in a pecuniary manner but by sound advice. The greatest sympathy is felt by the residents for the family of deceased in their affliction.

ESTATE OF THE LATE THOMAS BISHOP, OF HASTINGS.
THE Executors in the Estate of Thomas Bishop, deceased, request that all Accounts against the Estate be rendered at the office of E. H. WILLIAMS, solicitor, Hastings, by the 11th day of June next, after which date they will not be recognised.
Dated this 28th day of May, 1888.
J. N. WILLIAMS
W. H. SMALL
Executors.

1888, Tenders are invited for the lease of the land lately in the occupation of the late Thomas Bishop

Page 144

Tanner erected the Borough Council Chambers on Heretaunga St in 1888 next to the Protestant Hall 1884 – near where the Power Board building was. Tanner then offered two Sections on further east on Heretaunga St east for Municipal Buildings if 6 of his own sections were also to have the Makirikiri creek filled in. Tanner also had a cottage outhouse on Warren St sth. Note – 1898 October, Mr J. Poppelwell wrote letters regarding Mr Tanner selling the in-filled creek sections to unsuspecting people with no mention of the old creek bed written on the plans with the Council subsequently laying drains through the creek bed properties.

[Photo]

1888, The Borough Council Chambers built on Heretaunga St east between Warren St and Hastings St £600, the Makirikiri creek ran by the left side of the building, Mr Robert Wellwood became the chairman of the Town Board and then the first Mayor 1886 then George Ellis from 1887.

Note – This building was later moved to the council’s property in Southampton St and in early 1916 and in September 1920 the question of dismantling the old Borough Council office building or turning it into housing was once again considered at a meeting of the Hastings Borough Council, but it was dismantled in December 1920 for the council sheds to be built in the yard.

[Photo]

Mr Robert Wellwood 1836 -1927

William Goodwin possibly returned to Hastings

1888 September, A lease made between William Goodwin and his son-in-law David Aitken Wright, and Williams & Kettle Ltd. The lease regards fourteen perches of land known as the Heretaunga Block, Section 9 on the plan of Hastings. The site is located on the corner of Railway and Queen Streets, Hastings – later the second Hastings Standard Office site and Telephone Exchange site opposite the Post Office. There is a small plan on the last page. Attached at the back is a deed between Frederic Wanklyn Williams and Nathaniel Kettle agreeing to pass over the land to Williams and Kettle Limited. Dated 13 July 1891.

1888 September, The Heathen Chince has made his appearance in our main street and set up a “notion ” shop. His name is Sing Lee-Sam.

Catholic school

1888 July, The contractors for the Catholic school – Messrs Adamson and Furness are progressing rapidly with their work and it will be completed next month. The building so far presents a very substantial appearance, and the workmanship is faithfully’ executed. The structure, when finished, will be a creditable addition to our l township.

1888 September, St Patrick’s catholic school opened on Heretaunga St east next to the first catholic church with a roll of 51 run by the 4 sisters of Samaria – it began with a large transcept hall / classroom building which had a stage and dressing rooms to either side for performers with a refreshment area at the rear,

Page 145

music and entertainment along with parish meetings and the children’s First Communion breakfasts were held.

[Photo]

St Patrick’s school children at the original Catholic Church on Heretaunga St east in the 1890’s with the Presbytery behind and Rev Father Smyth on right with and two nuns seated, boy sitting centre holding sign, taken on eastern side of the old Church on Heretaunga St east – poss [possibly] a fire helmet hanging bottom right corner?

[Photo]

Rev Farther [Father] Smyth

[Survey map]

Heretaunga and Eastbourne Streets.

Page 146

Survey map at bottom right shows a ‘Right of Way driveway from Willowpark Rd sth extending into St Patrick’s school yard at the rear of the Hall – there would also have been the gates on Heretaunga St.

The private school at the Market St extension near the St Aubyn St crossing was where the three Edward sisters from Shropshire opened a dames school for girls and boys, then Rev Hobbs sister bought the school, later it was sold 1895 to Miss A. M. Hodge – London educated, she advertised in 1896 – Hawke’s Bay Girls School, Miss Hodge, Woodford House, Hastings, then she moved out to Havelock Nth and set up second Woodford House.

[Survey map]

Shows the private school top right at the end of the extended Market St nth and Railway St nth past St Aubyn St, near Williams railway siding.

1888 October, A man named Angus Ross, in the employment of Mr Chambers, of Te Mata, fell from a ladder on Saturday morning, and broke his leg. The sufferer was immediately brought to the Railway Hotel, Hastings, when Dr. Davenport was promptly in attendance, and set the injured man’s leg.

1888 December, The prizes recently won by the Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade were displayed in the large front glass window if Beck’s store.

1888 December, Due to police complaints regarding the Salvation Army holding street prayer sessions that obstructed street traffic – a by-law was introduced by council to prevent this.

1889 May, FIRE AT HASTINGS – About twenty minutes to four o’clock this morning the furious ringing of the fire bell alarmed the townspeople, and brought dozens of sleepy residents out of doors. The glare of the fire soon directed the people to the echo of conflagration, which was the handsome residence of Mr T. Melville of Market St. It was soon seen that the fire had obtained such a hold of the building that nothing could save it, so when the Brigade arrived on the scene their efforts were directed to preventing the fire spreading to the out-buildings. Mrs Melville, the wife of the owner, was absent up country and Mr Melville, who was the only one that was sleeping on the premises, had a narrow escape from being burned to death. The cause of the fire is only surmised. Mr and Mrs Melville are very heavy losers, as the house contained a quantity of handsome furniture and many articles of value. The building was insured for £350 and the furniture for £250, both risks in the New Zealand office. I may mention the Brigade were very successful in saving the out-buildings, which only were distant from the house a few yards and came off with a slight scorching.

1889, Mr S. F. Haszard arrived as clerk and telegraphist at the Hastings Railway Station, there were four PO staff – the postmaster, a cadet, a letter carrier and a telegraph message boy. Haszard later became the Postmaster at Hastings in 1894.

1889, Allan McCorkindale opened his Jewellery store on Station St with a plate glass front.

Page 147

[Survey map – proposed allotments]

Plan shows the Hastings Railway Guards House with fence where David Wright lived with his wife Ellen Goodwin and Station St partially formed in December 1890. Blue type 1916 PO intending to lease Sec 5 & 6, names of neighbouring leasees [lessees] Mrs Hayes at Sec 4, 3 & 1 and Mr O’Reilly at Sec 2 in 1928

1889, Thomas Tanner had been in financial difficulties since October 1885 unable to pay his arrears and now his Riverslea Estate was sectioned and forced to be sold by the dept companies.

1889 April, The Riverslea estate is up for sale by auction, by order of the Registrar. Some interesting facts are disclosed in the auctioneer’s announcement. There is a little encumbrance of £84,158 15s 7d upon the property, which is of 2389 acres in extent, exclusive of the unsold portions of the 1000 acres previously put up for sale. There will also be offered for sale 147 Memoranda of Mortgage, representing £28,083 14s 8d which was the sum paid for the sections at the great land sales three years ago.

Mr Edward D. Collison a sheepfarmer at “Claremont” South Hastings. He was born at Leicester in 1844, he married Sarah in May 1863 at St John’s Church, Leicester before he leaving for New Zealand with shipmate Mr W. L. England by the ship Annie Wilson which was chartered by a band of Non-conformists with the object of founding a Settlement in Albert land, Auckland. They arrived in September 1863 after a passage of 113 days. Mrs Sarah Collision followed two months later. The Maori war had broken out just previously and shortly after landing Mr Collison came to Hawke’s Bay where he served in the Yeomanry Cavalry under Captain T. Tanner. Later he joined the militia and took part in the fight at Omaranui. They have two sons Edward and William both residents of Hastings and four daughters.

Mr W. L. England of Hastings a shipmate of Mr Edward Collison of Hastings arrived in the Annie Wilson at Auckland in September 1863. He served in the Maori War, being a member of the First Forest Ranger and taking part in engagement against Wiremu Tamihana at Oraku, Rangiriri and Te Awamutu when he was slightly wounded. Afterwards in 1867 Mr England afterwards came to Hawke’s Bay in search of land, but none was procurable, it being, he says, almost, a crime to buy land, in those days. Hastings was then unknown, Mr England describing the Heretaunga Plain as nothing else but a tussoeky [tussocky] swamp. He then went to Wanganui and was successful in getting land there, and as showing the difficulties of the pioneers of the early days, he had to work his way through the Seventy-mile Bush to the Manawatu on foot, there then being no road or track through the bush. He later settled in Hastings where his business W. L. England and Son’ grain store in Queen Street before retiring at Tauranga. Mrs Ellen England.

1889 June, Robert T. Proctor of Hastings married Emma Sarah Collison, eldest daughter of E. D. Collison, Claremont, Hastings at St. Mathews by the Rev. H. W. St. Hill.

1889 June, Mr H. P. Cohen will hold the first of regular sales of general merchandise, furniture, and produce in the premises lately in occupation of F. W. Williams and Kettle – on the corner of Eastbourne St and Railway Rd Hastings. Mr Hyman Phinieas [HBKB Phineas] Cohen of Napier

1889 June, Messrs G. E. G. Richardson, John Beatson, J. Hunter and Brown, who purchased the Riverslea estate for £86,000, includes purchase of mortgage amounting to £28.000 falling due in November 1890. They intend to have the property subdivided into small farm allotments and offered for sale at an early date. As the land at Riverslea is some of the finest in the colony, there will no doubt be a large demand for sections when they are offered.

Page 148

[Survey plan – sections to be sold in pink]

1889 August, Tanner’s Riverslea Estate sections still to be sold in pink, shows Railway Station moved north to Queen St top left, Fitzroy Esq on Karamu Rd nth – later Firths Concrete section

[Survey plan]

All the Riverslea Estate sections

1889 August, There was a large attendance at the Gaiety Theatre for the auction sale of the Riverslea estate by Mr C. B. Hoadley. Country visitors attended in good numbers. The auctioneer in referring to the sale, said the newspapers had been very good in advertising the property to he offered to-day, and the information supplied was about as complete as one could wish for. For the benefit of those gentlemen who were strangers amongst them, ho [he] referred to the exceptional character of the sale. Never before in Hawke’s Bay had such an area of very rich land been offered in the way they proposed to deal with to-day. He referred to the prospects of the colony and thought the time would shortly come when this province would be second to none in the colony, and Hastings would become the garden of the North Island.

1889 August, Block 8, Sections – Sec. 17, 22a. Or. 36p., £30 per acre – Jno Collinge; Sec. 18, 23a., £30 per acre – Jno Collinge; Sec 19 and 20, £15 each – E. Lyndon; Sec 25, £12 – Jno. Sweeney; Sec 39, £10 – McKeaseck [McKeesick]; Sec 42, £10 – Neal and Close; Sec 47 and 48, £13 each – E. H. Williams; Sec 54, £16 – F. Douglas; Sec 71, ¼a., £16 – W. Clark; Sec 72, ¼a., £16 – W. Clark; Sec. 76, ¼a., £11 – F. Russell; Sec 83 and 84, £19 each – McRae; Sec 86 to 91 and 198 to 112, £10 each, J. Collinge; Sec. 122, ¼a., £12 – E. H. Williams; Sec 183 to 187 and 228 to 282, £10 each, Futchley; Sec 236 and 237, £13 each, Russell; Secs 274 to 279 and 342 to 347, £10 each, Rev Father Smyth; Secs 517 to 521, 553 to 554, 559 to 560, and 592 to 597, £10 each, R. Sowerby; Secs 522 to 527, 551 and 552, 581 and 562, and 556 to 591, £10 each, R. Sowerby. Block 9, Sec. 3, ½a, £22 – T. Moore; Sec. 4, 1⁄2a, £22 – T. Moore; Sec 137 J. Coughlan; Sec 142 R. Sowerby; Sec 145 (block 9), 2r 36p, £35 – A. Percival; Sec 146, 2r 34p, £30 – R. Clark; Block 10, Section – 28 Garnett; Sec 35 Sinclair; Sec 68 Sinclair; Sec 65 Gihooly; Secs 52 to 56, ¼a. each, £10 each – A. J. Cotterill; Secs 77 to 85, ¼a. each, £10 each – C. Hughes and 86 to 94 Hughes; Sec. 110, 11a., £11 per acre – A. Percival; Sec 124, 125 M. Moat. Block 11, Sec. 10, 11a., £12, per acre – E. Lyndon; Secs 22 to 25 and 30 to 33 C. H. Arvedsen; Sec 122, £40 per acre – M. Cosgrove; Sec. 129, 5a. 1r. £40 per acre – M. T. Drower; Sec. 127, 5a. Ir, £35 10s per acre – G. N. Anderson; Sec 150, 6a. 3r. 21p. £32 per acre – J. Ryan; Sec. 154, 5a. 3r. 25p, £32 per acre – J. Ryan; Sec 151 D. Ryan; Sec 139, 5a.

Page 149

1r. 22p. £31.10s per acre – F. Christiansen; Secs 13, 14, 15, 16, £12 each W. Evison; Sec 17 (block 11) £30 – W. Evison. Block 12, Section – 2. C. Apperley; Sec. 21, 30a 3r 29p, £30 per acre – C. Watts. Sec. 2, 5a., £40 per acre – Chas. Apperley; Sec 28, ¼ a., £15 – W. Garnett; Sec 35, ¼a., £15 – W. St. Clair; Sec 68, ¼a., £14 W. St. Clair; Sec (block VIII.) ¼a., £15 – E. Lyndon; Sec 20, ¼a., £15 – E. Lyndon; Sec 54, ¼a., £10 – F. Douglas; Secs 108 to 112, ¼a each, £10 each – Jno. Collinge; Sec 236, ¼a, £13 – F. Russell; Sec 237, ¼a, £13 – F. Russell; Sec 137, 2a 1r 36p, £40 per acre – J. Coughlan; Secs 274 to 279, ¼a each, £10 each – C. Hughes; Secs 342 to 347, ¼a each, £10 each – C. Hughes.

[Survey map]

1889 August, Block 12 Riverslea estate, the plan shows North Road (Norton Rd) vertical up to the Hop Grounds top bordering the Havelock Road and St Georges Rd sth and St Andrews Rd west of Havelock. The property of Thomas Tanner to be sold by public auction at the Hawke’s Bay Land Mart, Napier by C B Hoadley & Co Auctioneers.

1889 September, Messrs C. B. Hoadley and Co have up to the present disposed of 814 acres of the Riverslea estate for £28,490, at prices ranging from £27 to £50, or an all-round average of £35 per acre – Buildings and Hop garden – 38 mature acres.

1889 October, Birth – Morgan. At the Railway Hotel Hastings on Thursday the 17th of October, the wife of T. Morgan, of a son.

1889 December 26th, The “City of the Plains” looked its best. The Hastings streets were thronged, the shops brilliantly lit, the veranda’s decorated with evergreens for the festive season. Mr Adamson had erected his gaily decorated merry-go-round, and lots of youngsters indulged in the giddy whirl. There was the band and an evening fireworks display.

[Photo]

Bernard Charles McCormick b: 1878 established a stables on Karamu Rd sth late 1890’s where he had an

Page 150

ambulance and Hurst carriage and dog carriages, later named the Albert Livery & Bait Stables –  Hastings to Napier, later owned by H. N. Eagle, C. H. Thompson 1909, and Joseph Satterwaite 1913 – building later bought by the Borough and exchanged for the Ross Dysart & McLean building for the Library and Civic Square, note the windmill behind – Warren St. Bernard married Annie Ellen Graham 1901 they had 2 sons and 1 daughter and lived at 207 east Lyndon Rd, Bernard died 1927 at Hastings

1889, Mrs Hulda Francis Elizabeth Price was appointed Hastings librarian – the Athenaeum on Section 259 Market St sth.

1889, Two big fires in Hastings – Mr N. M. McNeil’s house was destroyed and Dr Faulkner’s stables in Market St caught fire, but were save through the efforts of a bucket brigade.

Thomas Henry Brinson b: 1854 at Somerset was a Groom at Hastings m: Evalina Symons February 1885, Havelock North, they had 12 children two of which died as infants. They were early settlers in Hastings. 1886 Thomas Henry Brinson jnr – 1921 married Alma Rubina Bissett, 1886 Ellen Laura Brinson – 1909 married Edwin Frederick Fischer, 1887 Frederick George Brinson – 1909 married Ethel Rose Newrick. 1897 John Snoden [Souden/Sawdon/Sowdon] Brinson – 1921 married Clara Helen [Helena] Larson. Thomas Henry Brinson snr died December 1923 aged 68 and Evalina Brinson nee Symons of 703 Avenue Rd died July 1959.

1890 August, Messrs C. B. Hoadley and Co. report: – We have sold to Mr N. E. Beamish Mr W. J. Birch’s “Stonycroft [Stoneycroft]” property, consisting of house and 40 acres of ornamental grounds and paddocks, situated on the Omahu road Hastings, for the sum of £2600 sterling. We are effecting sales daily of the Riverslea property, and expect shortly to report having disposed of the whole of the remaining allotments.

1890 November, Mrs Moroney’s Hastings Swimming Baths Opened by the Mayor of Hastings (Mr W. F. Burnett) with Cr. Foreman, Dr. Faulkner, Messrs Braithwaite, Galway, Gilpin, Tipping and many other prominent residents. All expressed themselves greatly pleased with the bath and the means taken for the comfort of those attending them. Some of the visitors kindly pointed out ‘ slight additions that would increase the advantages of the establishment, if for instance a platform to dive from, and other details suggested by their experience, which, the proprietress intimated her intention of doing at once. The baths are erected in, Nelson Street, south, which it will be information to some to know is the street just beyond the Town Hall. The building itself runs parallel with the Omahu Road and is of course a prominent object. It is painted chocolate and has “Swimming Baths” in large white letters on it. On entering the baths from Nelson Street you find on your left a nicely furnished sitting room for the visitors, to the right the hot and cold private bath rooms. Opening a door the visitor at once finds himself in the main attraction, the swimming bath. The swimming bath has no roof, it being considered that by this means the water would be kept warmer both in summer and winter. The bath itself is of concrete, of which the sides and bottom are fifteen inches thick. The bottom is paddled under the concrete. The length of the bath is 60 feet and the width 20 feet. The depth of the shallowest part is 2 feet 6 inches, deepening to 6 feet. It is entered by concrete 3 steps and there is a chicken Judder for exit at the deep end. Down one side and the ends is a battened floor. The wood working by Messrs Stanley Bros, the well by Mr S. Libst and the concrete work by Mr Collins. A sufficient number of dressing rooms are provided in the enclosure and every convenience for the comfort of visitors. Although there is little chance of accidents, still provision is made for it. Coils of rope are hung about, and two life lines are stretched across the bath, and life buoys are ordered for it, so that there will not be the smallest danger even for tyros. Dr. Faulkner took a great deal of interest in the arrangements, and expressed his opinion that it would be a great boon to the place. On being requested by Mrs Moroney to declare the baths open – the Mayor standing on the edge of the bath said:- “Ladies and Gentlemen, – it is with great pleasure that I consented to take part in some sort of opening ceremony for these baths…It has been done entirely at the expense of Mrs Moroney and I am sure you will highly appreciate her action in the matter, for besides the pleasure and advantage of having a swimming bath in the town, you see before you the great protection it is to the town in case of fire in having a large supply of water always ready. This large supply of water is the result of only one well, although another will soon flow into it. The construction time was three months. Mr Caulton, of the Pacific Hotel, was the first to hand over the fee to Mrs Moroney.

[Newspaper notice]
HASTINGS PUBLIC BATHS.
NOW OPEN.
HOT, COLD, SHOWER AND SWIMMING BATHS,
NELSON STREET, HASTINGS.
Open daily from 5 a.m. till 8 p.m.
Sundays till Mid-day.
MRS MARONEY,
Proprietress.

Page 151

The Hastings Railway Reserve –

1883 April, The Railways first acquired the 3 acres on the corner of Station St and Queen St east – later PO site – Gazetted.

[Survey map]

Now shows the Railway Goods shed 60 x 30 first moved north to Queen St to part Sec 63 of G. E.

Sainsbury’s old Timber Yards, poss [possibly] for Mr Kettles siding he installed in late 1892 before his application was approved, but the Beck building was destroyed in the big February 1893 fire. The Station Masters residence and shed marked in black on the PO site directly opposite the Railway Station

1893 February – the big fire destroyed the entire block of Market St to the Railway Station

[Photo]

1893 February, Heretaunga St west an elevated view from the old Pacific Hotel balcony at Market St of the block fire scene looking east with a steam fire fighting engine brought from Napier foreground left, the site of old Beck’s store, the Boot & Shoe warehouse, BNZ, a Café, Bank of NSW. The Railway Station at its second site with Railway Guards house behind are visible through haze on left side as are the large Blue gum trees on Queen St east possibly planted by Tanner or Hicks.

Page 152

[Photo]

Following the big fire, Williams & Kettle moved their business into a large new building on Beck’s old site beside the Railway Reserve. Looking west 1906 – Heretaunga St, Williams & Kettle behind the tall fire bell tower with Maddison & Co in store frontage before the May 1907 fire. Shows the Hastings Hotel on left, Halls Bookstore, Roach Bros, old wooden Pacific Hotel and Princess Theatre / old Town Hall distant.

1894, The Hastings Railway Station and the Goods shed were moved north to opposite Avenue Rd

1894 March, On Saturday night and all the next day – the difficult task of moving the Railway Station north was successfully undertaken by the gangs of men without any damage to the building or interfering with traffic with credit to those who had charge of the operation. The platform at the new Railway Station was 600ft long.

[Photo]

1895, The Hastings Railway Station with new water tank now situated further north opposite Avenue Rd with some empty Station St sections behind, shows an A-type Pacific locomotive goods steam train heading south on the Railway Reserve, by Sorrell. Behind the engine shows the well-known large advertising pictorial hoarding fronting a store nearly opposite the station which was near Sullivan’s boarding house that burnt down in January 1896.

Page 153

[Photo]

1895, Station St looking nth with the new Railway Station and Goods shed now moved north opposite Avenue Rd – shows council workers filling in a trench along Station St near where the new wooden PO would be built on right edge for a water main, gas or sewer – in 1893 Mr Beecroft had urged the council for permission to connect his Railway Hotel cellar to the sewer on Station St.

With a railway running thought the middle of town and steam trains spewing smoke and cinders so close to wooden buildings could be the reason why the town was known for notorious blazes – wooden buildings along Station St were cheap and some caught fire five times in within two years – some building sites burnt down and were rebuilt three times, Nearby B. L. Knight’s coal & timber yards first sawmill & timberyard also burnt down later in May 1896 – possibly from an engine spark, but NZ Railways took no responsibility as Insurance covered most of the costs.

[Photo]

1896, Looking north west shows Cabs alongside the Carriers Stand on Station St – the men are from left to right: John Stack, Jim Brown, Jimmy O’Neill, Paddy Downes and Charlie Walters. The water tank behind was once close to the original Hastings Railway Station before a new Station was built further north in 1893. With small sheds left edge on the Reserve siding behind the water tank to Williams & Kettle’s big new store shed after the February 1893 fire, with vacant section to the old white Beck’s – Hastings Flour Mill behind by Queen St. Later became Williams and Kettle’s Flour Mill and was demolished in February 1908.

1898 February, Mr C. F. Hill was now Stationmaster in-charge at Hastings; he replaced Mr Parsons, while Mr Cooke was acting.

1902 July 3, THE PUBLIC SERVICE. New Zealand Tablet – HASTINGS, The following are the particular’s regarding employees in the Railways –

Page 154

Grade.   Salary or Wages.   Religion.
Stationmaster – £200 per annum, non-Catholic
Clerk – £180 per annum, non-Catholic
Clerk – £140 per annum, non-Catholic
Cadet – £40 per annum, non-Catholic
Guard – 7s 6d per day, non-Catholic
Porter – 7s 7d, per day, non-Catholic
Porter – 7s 0d per day, non-Catholic
Porter – 7s 0d per day, Catholic
Porter – 6s 6d per day, non-Catholic
Porter (junior) – 4s 0d per day, non-Catholic
Porter (junior) – 5s 6d per day, non-Catholic
Line Ganger – 8s 0d per day, Catholic
Platelayer – 6a 6d per day, Catholic
Platelayer – 6s 0d per day, non-Catholic

The Hastings Police Station and Courthouse –

[Photo]

1879, The Hastings Police station on Railway Rd, under Constable Raymond.

Constable Lawless from Wellington was sent to relieve Constable Raymond at Hastings and ended up staying; he was still there in 1893. There was a pathway from the Hastings Police Station section on Railway Rd sth which gave them quick direct access to Eastbourne St west.

1882 March, Constable Lawless claimed the fees from the County Council for killing an unregistered dog at Hastings.

1884 May 23, Application from Hastings Town Board to be allowed services of Constable Lawless; to pound stray horses, cattle etc, and to remunerate him for such services etc

1884 December 3, Hastings Town Board have appointed Constable Lawless; Inspector of Nuisances

1885 January 31, Petition from the residents of Hastings for increased police protection.

1885 June 8, Petition against the removal of Constable Lawless from Hastings

1885 October 8, Sureties of Constable Arthur Pickering as Clerk and Bailiff at Hastings

The erection of courthouse at Hastings with the appointment of clerk (Arthur Pickering) and petition of G. Balsillie and others, sittings of resident magistrates’ court

1886 March 1, Complains from John Cox of Hastings of the action of the police in regard to a quantity of lead handed over to them some two years ago, with a view of finding an owner for it.

Page 155

By June 1890 the desperate need for a Hastings Courthouse was raised with two petitions by the town’s businessmen – July 1890 and September 1891 sent to the Minister to request funding for a Courthouse and for it to be erected near the Hastings Police Station.

Section 240 part 8 next to the Police Station on Railway Rd was purchased from Mr Cohen in June 1891 in exchange for Section 18 on Avenue Rd east and by 1893 the new Hastings Courthouse was opened – but the newspaper reporters complained that there was no Reporters table available.

[Survey map]

Section 240 part 8 yellow beside the Police Station Reserve on Railway Rd, South Hastings was purchased from Mr Cohen in June 1891 in exchange for Section 18 yellow on Avenue Rd east North Hastings, shows the old red dividing lines along Havelock Rd and Karamu Rd

The small Hastings Police Station hut was moved to the rear of the police section on Railway Rd when a new sergeant’s house with office was built in front.

1890 April, Additions to Hastings Police Sergeants house were undertaken by James Garnett a carpenter of Hastings @ £98.00, with bond securities by Rev Charles Ernest Beecroft a Minister of Hastings and Thomas Freeman a Butcher of Hastings.

[Building plans]

The additions included a new office wing to the south side of present office with a front veranda and fireplace by A. E. Curd.

Page 156

1891, The Hastings Court House was created – it was a substantial wooden building on a concrete foundation and contained the Court room, the Magistrate’s office, a general public room, and a waiting room. Fortnightly court sittings were being held in 1908 by Mr Brabant stipendiary magistrate.

1892 February, Constable Wilson returned to his duties at Hastings

1893 February, Sergeant Arthur Pickering

1893 May, Constable Gordon up and about again and able to his duty, after a painful illness.

1894 October, a third constable was requested and a constable for night duty.

1895 August, Asphalting and cement was laid in front of the Hastings courthouse buildings and a park was formed at the side of the building to the back entrance and in December the blocked urinal overflowing into the yard was repaired when the Public Works Dept was superintending the erecting of the new Hastings PO.

1897 February, Sergeant Mitchell and family were farewelled – they left for Wellington, Constable T. C. Smith from Featherston was appointed in charge at Hastings, Constable Butler was currently in command and Constable Gordon was a temp at Hastings.

1898, Hastings Police Station now had a Sergeant and 2 Constables – Constable Potter

1902 July 3, THE PUBLIC SERVICE. New Zealand Tablet – HASTINGS, The following are the particular’s regarding employees in the Justice Departments – The sergeant and two constables at Hastings and the constable at Clive are non-Catholics. Of the four Catholics employed in the departments mentioned only one is a salaried officer, the others being wages men. The proportion of Catholics in the departmental is less than one in seven.

[Photo]

The Hastings Police section – looking east to Railway Rd and Eastbourne St west corner 1906 and the adjoining Murdock house and Cohen house – the Courthouse, shows the Sergeants residence with new office wing at the front south side and the little old Hastings Police Station at rear with chimney and with-in an enclosed rear cell yard, a stables, horse trough and outhouses, by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

[Photo]

Page 157

The original Hastings Police Station 1879 with chimney was extended over the rear of the Courthouse section after 1906 to form a larger Hastings Police Station for the constables at the rear of the sergeant’s house and office on Railway Rd

[Survey plan]

The Hastings Police Station section with artesian well and ram pump with front picket fence and hedge and adjoining courthouse with grounds, the bowling green fence left side

Mr Louis Philip Fearn who got a lawn mower in 1911 and was appointed courthouse groundsman at 4 shillings per month

[Photo]

The old Hastings Court House 1978 after it was moved from Railway Rd to the corner of Warren St sth and Lyndon Rd east, Note the three original windows left side

The Hastings Post Office –

1893, The Hastings Post Office was moved into separate temporary premises on Station St until the new wooden Post Office was erected.

1894 March, Lease of Mr W. Y. Dennett to Edward Henry Bold – premises on Station St, Hastings to be used as a temporary Post Office and Telegraph Office. The first telephone had started in 1895.

Page 158

1895 July, Construction of the new Hastings Post Office is now well under way. The carpenters for the job were selected yesterday, and this morning met Mr Louch, O.E., at the Courthouse to received instructions, and to sign the agreement Mr John Renouf has boon appointed clerk of works by the Public Works Department, six carpenters have been selected at present. The men subsequently selected Mr R. Sowersby foreman, and Mr Edward W. Furniss as trustee.

In 1885, Robert Sowersby b: 1860 a Joiner and Stock Dealer at Hastings married 1886 Margaret (Maggie) Ann Dempster, Robert died December 1932 aged 72 and Margaret died November 1956 aged 91. Robert had a property near Tomoana close to FitzRoy’s property.

1896 January 1st – The new wooden Hastings Post Office opened and in 1897 the first Hastings Telephone Exchange operated – it was later extended along Station St in 1902 to include an exchange above Joe Tos Fruit shop; an all night service began in April 1907.

[Photo]

1899, Station St shows the new wooden Hastings Post Office and the Hastings Standard newspaper staff & office on Station St corner of Queen St east, with A. Malkie driving the Havelock Bus behind, with James O’Neill carrier and W. Willis with his cab and a runaway goat. This Post Office site was near the previous site of Mr A. Tickner – the first Land Agent in 1885

[Photo]

Shows the new wooden Post Office on Station St decorated with flags and paper lanterns for King Edward VII Coronation and Queen Alexandra celebrations 26 June – 9 August 1902 – with man on ladder on left side of building under the German flag left side. The view looking along Queen St east towards Brathwaite & Tipping store on left and Beecroft’s, with four tall sentinel Bluegum trees at Karamu Rd possibly planted by

Page 159

Tanner opposite where the Tribune building was to be built also two wooden buildings behind the PO on Queen St possibly the later McCormick’s Stables building and a whare further down

1902 July, THE PUBLIC SERVICE. New Zealand Tablet – HASTINGS, The following are the particular’s regarding employees in the Post and Telegraph Department –

Grade.   Salary or Wages.   Religion.
Postmaster – £250 per annum, non-Catholic
Telegraphist – £200 per annum, non-Catholic
Telegraphist – £170 per annum, non-Catholic
2 Cadets – £66 per annum each, non-Catholic
Exchange clerk – £70 per annum, non-Catholic
Letter carrier – £125 per annum, Catholic
Letter carrier – £70 per annum, non-Catholic
Messenger – £34 „ per annum, non-Catholic
Messenger – £31 per annum, non-Catholic
Messenger – £26 per annum, non-Catholic

1904 September, PO Lease of Queen St east property with shed from Mrs Margaret Duggett for stacking telegraph poles

[Survey map]

1907, Railway Reserve leased sections on Station St given by Mr Hicks in 1873, shows the Post Office, Grand Hotel where once the Railway Hotel fronted along Heretaunga St east

[Photo]

Page 160

A postcard drawing from an earlier photograph of the Hastings wooden Post Office at the corner of Station St and Queen St before iron/wooden roof over middle entrance, with a gas lantern on telegraph pole and a motor car parked outside with the empty space where the Silver Gird restaurant was behind and A. H. Wilson & Harvey building in distance end, This wooden post office was later shifted around into Queen St east, by Muir and Moodie

[Survey maps]

1906 November, Lease of premises at Sec 9 & 10 from John Wright Gower on the corner of Queen St east and Station St opposite the PO for a Hastings Telephone exchange from 30 June 1907 – 30 June 1912 @ £65, show the private access ways

[Photo]

April, Hastings Telephone Exchange Morse key male operators, fitted with four 100 No Annunciators Westerner Electric Type

[Photo]

Hastings Telephone Exchange Morse key female operators

Page 161

The Hastings Railway yards –

1895 February – Mr Pim was the well-known booking-clerk at the Hastings Railway station.

[Photo]

1904, August 18th AWN supplement – A panoramic view down Station St taken from the Railway Station water tank – shows the four acres of land Mr Hicks gave the Government for a railway reserve and station. Queen St east & west side adjoining Williams & Kettle buildings right edge, the tall fire bell tower distant centre, the Flour Mill, to building next to Williams & Kettle large new white grain store and Daniel O’Reilly’s Hastings Hotel distant right with H. l. Tottenham building left shows man on ladder and large windmill above – poss [possibly] for Beecroft’s stables water supply. The facade at left where McGlashan’s brick building would be built, the old wooden Post Office further down Station St. Still shows the roof of the Railway Hotel distant left which had lost its licence in 1904 and was demolished. Messrs Williams and Kettle’s old Hastings Flour Mill was demolished in February 1908.

[Newspaper notice]
NAPIER.   293A
WILLIAMS & KETTLE
(LIMITED).
Directors:
J. H. COLEMAN, Esq.
CAPT. RUSSELL, M. H. R.
A. McHARDY, Esq.
Wm. NELSON, Esq.
RECHAB HARDING, Esq.
A. S. G. CARLON, Esq.
Managing Directors:
F. W. WILLIAMS.
N. KETTLE.
Stock and Station Agents,
WOOL BROKERS, GENERAL MERCHANTS.01
Head Office   NAPIER, HAWKE’S BAY.
Branches: PORT AHURIRI, HASTINGS, & GISBORNE.

1896, The Directors & the Managing Directors

Page 162

[Photo]

1904, Central Hastings – Williams & Kettle staff and Cracknell’s Waimarama bullock team on one of its regular trips to the Railway reserve with tall fire bell tower from the railway siding, Maddison & Co and the Piccadilly Tea Rooms front of Williams & Kettle’s building with Daniel O’Reilly’s Hastings Hotel looking south down Railway Road. Fire destroyed William01s & Kettle’s building in May 1907

[Photo]

Powdrell’s traction engine with trailers of grain at Williams & Kettles store on the Railway Reserve with the new building prior to the May 1907 fire, poss [possibly] the Fruitgrowers building and siding on right edge

[Photo – Railway Station, Hastings]

Page 163

1907, From the fire bell tower looking north over the Hastings Railway Reserve to the Railway Station and Goods shed distant, with water tanks at right, F. Cassin, land & estate agent across the road from the old wooden Post Office out of view with McGlashan’s Hastings Auction Mart brick building further up opposite the Railway Station with the Railway Goods shed moved further north again distant left

The Railway leased private sidings –

There were many leased private railway sidings at Hastings – the northern rail yard sidings were all part of the original J. N. Williams private sidings along King St nth sections.

1884, Private siding at Hastings for J. Garnett.

[Survey map]

Shows the SM – the second Station Masters residence fronting St Aubyn St from 1895 – possibly moved later across the road facing down Market St. A private school at the end of extended Market St nth past St Aubyn St and the extended Station St past St Aubyn St. The private school near the St Aubyn St crossing was where the three Edward sisters from Shropshire opened a dames school for girls and boys, then Rev Hobbs sister bought the school, later it was sold to Miss A. M. Hodge.

[Survey map]

The proposed railway lease siding for J. N. Williams was put in 1912 on land that he intends to subdivide, the branch-off from near the private school at the end of the extended Market St nth past St Aubyn St and the Engine shed.

Page 164

[Survey map]

1913, Proposed subdivision of Mr J. N. Williams land along railway, shows Nelson St drain

[Survey map]

King St nth sections were subdivided in 1913, these are all part of the J. N. Williams original private railway siding

1915 McLeod & Gardener Ltd Timber Merchants acquired the section 49 adjoining between J. N. Williams and Holts with siding No 1507.

Page 165

[Survey map]

Hastings Railway yards with Market St extension and Caroline Rd, Williams St (Holt Pl) and Russell St

There were two sidings at Tomoana, one at Longlands mainly for stock with side yards and one at Borthwicks freezing works at Paki Paki.

[Survey map]

[Photo]

1906 May, Thomas Borthwick and Son, Ltd, freezing works at Paki Paki, AWN

[Photos]

Page 166

Thomas Borthwick and Son, Ltd, freezing works at Paki Paki, five miles south from Hastings by the railway line. The works stood on a site of 300 acres, to which there were two entrances from Maraekakaho road and Havelock road.

Built of brick & concrete without reinforcing steel which collapsed in the 1931 Quake

Hastings northern rail yard sidings were all part of the original J. N. Williams private siding along King St nth.

[Survey map]

J. N. Williams private railway siding for Sec 43, 44 on King St nth 1937

[Survey map]

1943, Internal Marketing Dept and R. Holt & Sons Ltd on King St nth with siding to coal store and coal heap, with stables, coal bin and shed. The main wall of the stables building facing the IMD was at least 65 years old and was originally part of Holt’s timber mill when it was situated in Heretaunga St – on the site at present occupied by Westerman’s drapery shop. The building was removed from the Heretaunga St site to its present position around 1898.

1946 December – Grandfather Richard Burns lived in a batch attached to a large store-shed (old stables) next to the Internal Marketing Department building at R. Holts Wood and Coal yard his employer situated on King St nth. The old stables housing two Lorries caught fire and Richard Burns suffered heart failure in trying to douse the flames before the brigade arrived.

Page 167

[Survey maps]

Private siding access for White & Co on King St nth shows at top – 47 R. Holt & Sons, proposed road, 48 J. Wattie Canneries Ltd, 49 Messes White & Co, 51 Associated Motorists Petrol Co Ltd, 52 Atlantic Union Oil Co Ltd, 53 Vacuum Oil Co Pyt [Pty] Ltd, 40 The Texas Oil Co (Aust) Ltd.

The Hastings Hop grounds –

1883, Tanner acquired the services of Edwin James Whibley from Kent to begin and manage his hop garden and kiln drying. Mr Whibley born October 1848 at Sevenoaks Kent having been all his life hop farming in Kent where his family for generations back have nearly all been hop farmers is an authority on hop growing. (There were the Whibley Brothers at Ashurst [Ashhurst] who already grew hops from the early 1880’s and Edwin may have been related to them)

1884 November, Mr Tanner’s hop gardens on Riverslea estate along the northern side of Havelock Rd from past Norton Rd seen through a shelter belt of poplar and firs trees to protect the bines from both the westerly and southerly winds, which would otherwise be injured by high winds. The hops are very uncertain and twenty hours’ strong wind, or a small army of spiders, may ruin them. Mr Whibley laid out the ground and is in charge of it. There were eleven acres originally planted with hops and eventually the hop garden extended all the way to St Georges Rd.

[Survey map and photo]

Page 168

The hop gardens eventually extended St Georges Rd. The Riverslea drain ran across the hop garden from Arvedsens across Lumsden Rd to Norton Rd then via Apperley’s. The Havelock North to Hastings Coach approaching at right. There was a line of well grown trees on the left side and a drain from Hastings to Havelock Road of Tanner’s old Riverslea Estate before it was subdivided into sections for sale. Selwood Rd only went as far as Park Terrace.

Entering the Hop Gardens gate from the Havelock Rd opposite (Northe) Norton Rd along the rear of the Selwood Rd sections – to Tanner’s Oust House built around 1884 on Section 40, there are two brick hop kilns – 20 feet square. Connected with the kilns was the cool store room 20 by 50 feet and above it is a packing-floor room of the same size with a powerful hop press, all very substantially built of wood. There was also an inside hop garden track extending to St Georges Road along the line of trees on the Havelock Rd.

1884, Mr Whibley says he never saw hops of the same age looking so well. The hops are beginning to form and from appearances there should be a good crop for the first year. Mr Tanner was so satisfied with his last year’s experience in this line that he has greatly enlarged his plantation and now has 38 acres in hops. The different sorts are planted so that they will not all be fit for picking at the same time, but come on in rotation. The ground is kept in first-rate order, scarcely a weed to be seen in the whole garden. The bines, which are of only about four months growth, have run up to the top of the poles and are hanging down, many of them having a growth of twenty-six feet. The hop-plants clothing the poles to a height of eighteen foot, and heavy with “fruit.” The ground beneath, to which scarce a ray of sun can penetrate, so dense is the greenery above. There are 30,000 hills, and no less than 42,000 poles are in use. The hills are 7ft apart each way, with one pole to each hill. The poles alone had cost over £2000; the best poles were manuka and had been imported from Auckland, the next best were black birch which had been got from the Seventy-mile Bush; tawa and titoki were too brittle and did not last any time. Near the oust house there are a furnace and tar bath and the lower ends of all the poles were subjected to immersion in this for eleven hours. With this treatment a pole should last six years. In another part of the estate Mr Tanner is growing a plantation of blue gums from which a supply of poles in a year or two can for the future be obtained. The laying out of the ground, planting sets, preparing poles etc has given employment to a large number of persons, and necessitated a large expenditure of money may return a handsome percentage on the outlay. The hops will be ready for picking at the end of March where about 250 hop pickers were required; coaches were put on and doctors recommended hop picking as a medical positive for the ailing. The children of the district were looking forward to the hop-picking season to earn some spending money, the Hastings school did not reopen til the 29 March.

The Hawke’s Bay brewers have learned by experience that Mr Tanner’s hops are far stronger and of better quality than anything they can procure from Nelson, and that they are well worth the extra 5d per lb demanded for them. Mr Birch and Mr Ormond’s plantations along the Omahu Road were on a smaller scale.

Alfred Masters was born 1847 at Warehorn in Kent, he had married 1881 Alice Lydia Leeves born 1862. They immigrated to Napier in 1883 on the British Queen – not nominated – Alfred 34 was a Shepherd, Alice 22 and son Sydney 4. Tanner possible employed him from the Napier immigrants barracks.

1884, Alfred Masters, hop grower of Riverslea reports that he sent off by train to-day his first bale of hops consigned to Mr G. B. Swan, Napier. This is only an advance picking; the general crop will be ready for picking about the end of February.

1885 November, Riverslea Estate Land Sale – Mr E. J. Whibley bought Lot 77 for £100 and Lot 82 for £50.

[Newspaper notice]
APPLICATIONS for Hop-picking will be received by E. J. Whibley, Hastings.

1886, January advert – he needed around two hundred and fifty men, women and children.

The pay at three pence a bushel.

[Newspaper notice]
TO MERCHANTS AND STORE KEEPERS.
RIVERSLEA ½-POUND PACKET HOPS FOR SALE.
25lb EACH CASE.
ADDRESS: E. J. WHIBLEY, HASTINGS.
210

1890, Edwin James Whibley married Mrs Mary Jane Joll nee Ebbett, they had seven children. They had one son – Frederick Edwin Whibley 1891. In 1895 E. J. Whibley was on the Heretaunga Dairy Factory and the Hastings Farmers Association. They later moved over to Greenmeadows then to Woodville. 1908 April, Edwin James Whibley died on Easter Sunday at Pinfold road Woodville in his 60th year, late of Hastings and Greenmeadows, eldest son of the late Mr George Whibley, of Tudely, Cambridge, Kent. Edwin Whibley was previously working at Mr Masters’ hop gardens. Mary Jane Whibley nee Ebbett died July 1930 aged 80.

Page 169

Thomas Tanner was in serious debt and was not making much money from his Hop growing venture, so he first leased then eventually sold the 38 mature acres Hop garden and buildings to Alfred Masters in 1893.

1890 July, Riverslea Estate Land Sales – the unsold Riverslea sections – Block 9 – Section 75 – A. Masters £20; section 26 – Mrs Masters £10.

[Newspaper notice]
TENDERS will be received by the undersigned up to MONDAY, 24th instant, for Sinking Three Artesian Wells in Riverslea Hop Gardens.
ALFRED MASTERS,
Riverslea Hop Gardens,
Hastings.
November 19th, 1890.

1890 November, Alfred Masters, Riverslea Hop Gardens of 23½ acres wanted three artesian wells sunk.

1891 February, At the R.M. Court this morning, before Messrs Burnett and Tanner, John Walden and S. Speer were fined 5s and 7s costs each for allowing their cows to stray. Alfred Masters was charged with allowing three calves to wander. Mr Masters said he had no need to send them on the roads to graze, for he had an area of grass to every head of cattle he possessed, but the calves certainly were on the roads. Mr John Collinge said that he was aware that Mr Masters had sufficient food for his cattle. The Bench could not make any distinction, as the calves were admitted to be straying, but would only inflict the minimum penalty of 5s and 7s costs.

1891 September, The owners of Riverslea are arranging to cut up the well known hop gardens at Hastings for sale by auction. About 60 acres of land will be cut up into allotments varying from 3 to 5 acres, and each allotment will contain about 2 ½ acres of growing hops. This decision has been come to, not because that the hop industry is not a paying one, but because it is clear that the area now in hops is too much for one person to undertake, We understand that the average size of hop grounds in other parts of the colony is from 2 to 5 acres, and we have no doubt that there are many persons about Hastings who will be glad to take this opportunity of securing a bop garden of such an extent that it can be worked by one owner.

1891 September, Riverslea hop gardens sale – Each section contains several acres of hops, and with the prospect of the season should prove a good investment, especially to those with family labour. The use of the oust-house can be secured on reasonable terms for two seasons, and the hop poles will be obtained at considerably under cost price. Apart from the value of the hops and plantation those sections should commend themselves to those wishing to acquire residential and farming allotments, as these are the last of the Havelock-road site and should steadily improve in value.

1891 September, Riverslea hop gardens and other portions of the Riverslea estate. Section 41, containing 4 acres of hop gardens, was purchased by Mr A. Reid at £10 per acre; section 42, 4 acres, Mr J. Garnett at £42 10s per acre; section 48, 3 acres 2 roods 14 perches, Messrs Masters and Leeves at £40 per acre. Block 2. – Sections 17 and 18, containing 51 acres 36 perches Mr J. Watts at £30 per acre. The balance of the hop garden allotments is now open for sale privately at £40 per acre, a price that should ensure a speedy sale.

[Survey map of the Hop Gardens]

1891 September, Shows Hop grounds bordering Havelock Road between Selwood Rd (Windsor Ave) and St Georges Road, the Ouse House at the rear of Section 40, the Riverslea drain passing through sections 58 and 59

Page 170

1893 May, Riverslea Estate Land Sales – Block 9 – Sections 21, 22 and 23 to A. Masters £60. Block 11 – Hop Gardens -Section 40 with buildings – O’Reilly and Masters for £404.

1893 July, Riverslea Estate sale by C B. Hoadley and Co. Hop Grounds – Section No. 46 – C. Apperley £120.

1893 December, Mr A. Masters claimed that he had received further damage to the extent of £250 through defective drainage on the Havelock road. Mr Apperley also considered be had lost £50. Messrs Carlile and McLean wrote on their behalf.

1894 February, Council – The proposed drain from Norton road to the Makirikiri creek be abandoned and that in lieu thereof the old drain be opened up through Messrs Horne, Apperley and Halroyd’s sections, to the Heretaunga road and that the old line of drain through the hop gardens from Heretaunga road to the ‘wash pool’ be adopted.”

1895 June, Alfred Masters brought a successful court action against the Council for flooding his Hop Gardens due to the Makirikiri creek being diverted into the Southland drain which caused problems from insufficient outlet capacity. At the time of the flooding a ditch or drain in the charge of the Council ran in a straight line along the Havelock road through considerable part of the borough of Hastings in a southerly direction to the Ngaruroro river. The hop garden belonging to the respondent fronts on to the road. It lies in a low basin through which the Havelock road passes some thirty chains south of its junction with the Norton Road. In a state of nature this basin contained a lagoon rounded by raupo swamp, which, except at the end of very dry seasons, had water standing in it all the year round. Mr Tanner a former owner of the large estate comprising the plaintiff’s land, had dug a ditch through the basin, crossing the Havelock road and the hop garden and running in a south-easterly direction to the Makirikiri creek. This ditch, whilst it remained open, effectually drained the hop garden. On the sale of Mr Tanner’s property, McIvor and Watt the purchasers of the land lying below the plaintiff’s on the course of Tanner’s drain, they filled it up leaving the hop garden dependent for drainage on the Havelock road drain. The plaintiff’s land is lower than any of the town streets to the northwards. It is also lower than Taylor’s lagoon and the other large lagoons north of the Norton road.

1897, Mr Master’s upper Hop Kiln building was used by locals as a refuge during the big flood.

1898 February, advert – Hop Picking will commence on Monday 28th instant at 8am sharp. Alf Masters.

1903, Alfred Masters grew hops at Riverslea until the end of the Boer War in 1902 when his son Sydney returned from the war then planted fruit trees.

[Photo]

Looking north, taken from behind the entrance track from the Havelock Rd – opposite (North Rd) Norton Rd with access to Selwood Rd (Windsor Ave) by Masters residence. The People in the photo are: Alfred Masters on landing at left, Sydney Masters centre top, Frederick Masters right landing, Robert and Emily Masters on ground

Sections 21, 22 Selwood Rd had a cottage with an Artesian well at the rear boundary, between section 23 and 24 was a driveway access off Selwood road to the Hop Kilns – later 209 – 301 Windsor Ave.

1909 April, Alfred Masters ran for Council, they resided at 113 Selwood Rd. Another son George Masters b: 1890 at Hastings died September 1916 WW1 son of Alfred & Alice Masters of 207 Selwood Rd Hastings.

1910, Masters was on the Fruit growers committee and promoting the Jam making Industry for Hastings. Aprox 1914, all the hops plants were pulled out and replaced with fruit trees. The old Hop Kiln building was then used as a hall for public functions with access from Selwood Rd (Windsor Ave)

1913, Mr Fred Howard gifted from his Parkvale property 1 acre for a Parkvale School to be built, the HBEB [Hawke’s Bay Education Board] purchased additional land at a later sale. Section 33 Selwood Rd was made into Howard St entrance.

Page 171

1914 June, At Hastings the opportunity was taken to bid “God speed” to Mr George Masters, son of Mr and Mrs A. Masters of the Riverslea Hop Gardens, who is leaving for England next month to study for the Anglican ministry. Mr Masters was the son of two of St Matthew’s most respected parishioners.

1919 February, After a year of almost continuous effort on the part of the committee, elected by the residents of Hastings East, to further the interests of a school for that district, a side-school was opened temporarily in Mr Master’s Hop Kiln Hall last Tuesday. Thirty-nine children were enrolled the first morning, and the attendance is creeping up day by day, though only children up to Standard I. are being admitted.

1919 July, A social and dance to be held in Master’s Hop Kiln Hall on Friday evening is for the purpose of raising sufficient funds to purchase suitable flags for peace celebrations. The committee hope to see a good attendance.

1919 July, A very large and enthusiastic meeting of householders attended at the Hop Kiln Hall on Monday evening, to elect a committee for the school to be erected at Parkvale. Alfred Masters was on the Vestry Committee of St Matthews Anglican Church.

[Survey map- Block IV Te Mata S. D.]

Section 33 Selwood Rd was made as an entrance for Howard St and Parkvale school

1922 April, The upper story of the wooden Hop building was secured for the purpose of St Matthews Sunday School with 84 scholars, next they rented the lower floor for this purpose and at the same time to accept the generous offer of the Rev. J. Hobbs to take charge of that end of the Hastings parish. The picturesque disused hop kiln hall building with large brick square ends surrounded with pointed roofs – the portion between being of wood on an acre of ground off Selwood Road entrance was sold to the Anglican Church through the generous offer of the owner Mr Masters. A sum of over £100 was collected from friends of the parish and used for renovating and decorating, the electric light was installed, new furniture added, and a portion of the end of the building made into a beautiful Sanctuary. Mr Armstrong White deserves thanks for the time and labour he has given as architect and carpenter, and for enlisting the practical help of all in making the wonderful improvements to the whole building.

1922 October, The Mothers Union held their Hastings east meetings in the old Parkvale Hall.

1930 August, A dedication of St. Barnabas Mission Hall at Parkvale was the result of two years’ work in the Parkvale District by the Rev. John Hobbs. The two brick kilns at each end of the buildings were later destroyed by the 1931 earthquake, the kiln bricks were then used as a garden wall at the Gordon family’s Clifton Station homestead. The main building stood for another 21 years until 1952 when it was destroyed by a fire believed to have been caused by faulty electric wiring.

1935 May, The planting of trees and shrubs around the St. Barnabas Mission Hall boundary to mark Royal Jubilee.

Alfred Masters died 1937 at Hastings aged 90 and Alice Lydia Masters nee Leeves died in 1939 in Hastings aged 77. And Clarence Masters born May 1885 at Hastings, the son of Alfred and Alice Lydia Masters died 1978 at Auckland aged 93.

Page 172

Selwood Road was later named Windsor Ave in 1974, 3 flats were built at the rear section of the driveway leading from Windsor Ave to the Hop Kiln site.

The Frimley Canning Factory-

J. N. Williams planted the mile long Frimley Orchard as a co-operative venture to established the districts fruit-growing industry and the Frimley Cannery in his woolshed as an outlet for his produce – this woolshed was also the scene of some important early public meetings in 1871 for the Karamu Settlers – Heretaunga Road Board meetings.

[Photo]

The early Frimley Homestead 1876c

1903, Mr Basil Jones manager of the new canning factory at Frimley

1904, Mr Henry L. Gallien converted Mr Williams old woolshed into the Frimley Cannery factory.

[Photo]

An early view of the Frimley Canning Factory Hastings – The Frimley Orchard was a mile long and the factory was almost opposite the Hastings Memorial Hospital

1906 June, Much encouragement will be given to the fruit-growing and canning industries in New Zealand by the success that has been attained at the London Horticultural Society’s Show by the exhibits from Frimley (Hastings) and Nelson, which were awarded silver medals. In regard to the Frimley exhibits, the fruit from the well-known Hawke’s Bay orchard and factory is well-known on the New Zealand market for its general excellence. At Frimley, situated on the fertile Heretaunga Plains, about a quarter of an hour’s drive from Hastings, the canning factory employs a very large number of hands, as many as 175 (picking and earning) being on the books one month last season. A number of men will be employed during the winter making tins for next season’s output. Last season close upon 200,000 tins were made on the premises, and for next season about a quarter of a million tins will be required for canning the peaches, plums, pears, tomatoes, greengages, quinces, peas, etc., produced in the orchard. At Frimley during the last fruit season nearly 200

Page 173

acres were under peaches, and in three years’ time it is contemplated that the orchard will produce a thousand tons of this fruit alone, in 1908 it is hoped to have 280 acres in peaches at Frimley.

[Photos]

Inside the Frimley Canning Factory Hastings

[Photo]

1910c, The Frimley Canning Factory Hastings with motor car visitors.

[Newspaper article, with reference to above three photos]
THE CARS COMMAND ATTENTION, but the building background is of particular historical interest to the Fruitgrowers of Hawke’s Bay. The Frimley canning factory was part of the Frimley Orchard, once the centre of the fruit industry. The factory was situated almost opposite the Hastings Memorial Hospital, and the orchard was a mile long. It was planted in peach trees by Mr. J. N. Williams, who allowed anyone interested to purchase a certain area of the orchard. Disaster overtook the venture, all the trees were cut out and the factory closed. LEFT: An early store of the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers’ Company Ltd. about 1910. Mr Wattie, who forwarded this picture and that above, on a non-competitive basis, notes: “I am not sure where the company’s buildings were situated but believed at least one was in Market street, adjacent to the old railways goods shed.”

1913, The Frimley Cannery closed down – but due to the War needs a new enterprise began

1914 February, The Hawke’s Bay Fruit Canning Company, which was formed at Hastings recently to take up the industry of jam-making and fruit-canning, which seem likely to go out of existence owing to the Frimley works having closed down, is now an established fact (says the Tribune), and operations are in full swing. A satisfactory lease has

Page 174

been acquired of premises in Karamu Road, and preserving is being carried on with despatch. It is hoped that the efforts to conserve this important industry will meet with success.

1927, the Girl Guides got use of an old building in Frimley Park for a Den which they nicknamed the ‘Barn’

[Photo]

The later grand Frimley Homestead and the legacy of Frimley Park

The H.B. Fruitgrowers’ Association –

January 1899 the Railway Department continue to send the H.B. Fruitgrowers’ Association produce by the express train – forty-six tons of fruit leaves Hastings southwards by train for Wellington every week. 1899 September, a general meeting of the H.B. Fruitgrowers’ Association was held in the Building Society’s new building Market St, members – J. N. Williams (chairman) E. H. Williams, S. F. Anderson (Havelock) Wright (Havelock) Duncan, Fickling (Havelock) Webb, Alderman, Wilson and W. H. Smith (secretary) Mr W. G. Gould, FitzRoy and Taylor. 1903 HB Fruitgrowers Association petition the govt regarding Fruit Fly infestation on imported fruit with suggestions that all fruit trees on Napier Hill be destroyed.

1899 August, Mr J. N. Williams has become the purchaser of those extensive premises in Market Street known as White’s boarding house. It will be used in conjunction with the fruit business, for tinning, storing, etc. The proximity to the railway makes it especially suitable for the purpose. A siding will be made from the railway to the premises.

[Photo – H. B. Fruitgrowers Co Ltd.]

Page 175

1904, The early H B Fruitgrowers Co Ltd premises were first situated at 219 Market St nth from around 1899. Note the brick fire walling. 1904 January, three men are constantly employed until after ten o’clock every evening arranging for the shipment of the different consignments for the following morning. In January 1907 Mr E. H. Williams, asked to have a siding from opposite the Railway goods shed past the Fruitgrowers’ store and the farmers’ Co-operative building to Queen St. The latter will then be in a position to erect a platform and have use of the siding which will cover most of the ground occupied by the present stock yards and this should be the means of new yards being relocated.

1905 October, Mr J. Holt is the successful tender for making fruit boxes for the H.B. Fruitgrowers Association.

In August 1908, a 4 roomed cottage was removed from H.B. Fruitgrowers’ Company Ltd site to Queen St near Gray’s Rd. September 1908, the H.B. Fruitgrowers’ Company Ltd has nearly completed the additions to their premises in Market St. The new building which is constructed of brick and iron gives an additional floor space of 20 x 30 feet, making a total of 53 x 3O feet. In July 1908, the section opposite the H.B. Fruitgrowers Co premises in Market St, a 5-roomed house with outbuildings was sold for removal. Mr Wm. G. Gould was Secretary HB Fruitgrowers Association from around 1907-1913.

1910 April, at a meeting of the H.B. Fruitgrowers Association, the President (Mr W. H- Smith) intimated that Mr Norman R. Wellwood was in attendance by invitation to place before members a proposal for the establishment of a new industry in the district – towards a Jam Factory, Fruit Preserving, Archie Lowe introduced cold storage for fruit in his cold storage plant at Strortfort Lodge.

[Photo]

1911 August, Fighting the Fruitgrowers enemy’s – Government experts conducting a spraying demonstration in a Hastings Orchard, by W. H. Whitehead

1913, The H.B. Fruitgrowers Co was taken over by the new Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Company and they had acquired an acre of land on King St nth adjoining the railway yards where they built their new depot premises.

The Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Company had taken over the interests of H.B. Fruitgrowers Co in 1913, they acquired an acre of land on King St nth adjoining the railway yards and built their new depot premises designed by Mr Mitchell.

1913, Land agent Mr Charles Thomas Russell of Frederick St Hastings applied to lease land from the NZ Railways for the HB Fruit & Produce Cool Storage Co Ltd of Market St, Hastings.

[Advertisement]
HAWKES BAY
FRUIT, PRODUCE & COOL STORAGE CO.
(Limited)
HASTINGS, N.Z.
Auctioneers, Fruit, Produce and General Merchants,
Land, Insurance, Shipping and General Commission Agents.
Importers and Exporters of Fruit and Produce.
Consign your Produce to us and realize Best Prices.   Prompt Account Sales.
RECEIVING PORT   NAPIER
Hawkes Bay Fruit, Produce and Cool Storage Co. Ltd.
P.O. BOX 105, HASTINGS. N.Z.

Page 176

[Photo]

1914 March 5th Prime Minister W. F. Massey opening the new HB Fruit & Produce Exchange depot at Hastings situated off King St, by Rembrandt Studios AWN

[Photo]

1914, now the H B Fruit & Produce Exchange depot with steam train at the Hastings Railway siding, buildings possibly situated off King St nth just past Robert Holts wood & coal yard and before Watties factory. In those days the industry was scarcely beyond experimental stages but the Company had their own siding to minimise handling of fruit there were already cool storage facilities at this depot. This is near the old J. N. Williams private siding. Note the upper oval fanlight window.

[Survey map]

1915, The proposed of J. N. Williams siding access further along for The H B Fruit Company Ltd at 48, next

Page 177

to the proposed road from King St nth and Sec 49 now MacPherson’s NZ Home Builders Ltd with siding which was taken over by White & Co.

[Survey map]

Five railway leased sidings off the King St nth sections – J. N. Williams siding No 1384, the old McLeod & Gardener Ltd, Timber Merchants were at Sec 46 with siding No 1507 they terminated it in 1922 due to post war and drop in business. Holts extended siding No 1453 at Sec 47 next to the proposed road between HB Fruit Produce siding No 1489 and White & Co – William White & Walter James Michaelson were Wood & Coal Merchants with siding No 1583, later Frederick Samuel Northe took over the business around 1937. The Station, Goods shed and Engine shed pencilled-in, No Station Masters residence.

[Photo]

1917, Cases of fruit being delivered to the Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Co Ltd depot on King St nth. Note the upper oval fanlight window right side building.

Page 178

[Photo]

1917, Fruit being graded before going into cool chambers inside the Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Company depot on King St nth before the buildings caught fire in late April 1917 with a loss of 23,000 cases of fruit, a new building was later erected on the site.

In 1917 there was another fruit packing shed operating on St Aubyn St and Karamu Rd nth by Apsey & White Co Ltd, and there was the New Home of the Excelsior Brand.

1918, Pinus Insignis for Fruit Cases. A practical demonstration of the value of plantations of insignis pine (P. insignis or radiata) in relation to the fruit growing industry is now in progress near Hastings. The plantation in question was made between thirty or forty years ago by the late Mr Thomas Tanner an old settler in the district. It was recently purchased by Messrs. Apsey, White and Co. Ltd, of Hastings, in connection with their fruit-handling and cold storage business. The price of white-pine fruit-cases supplied by the ordinary timber-mills has been steadily advancing during the last few years, and now ranges about 1s. 1d. for the bushel size, or approximately 100 per cent, higher than in 1913. In order to test the position with a view to reducing costs, the firm named decided to undertake the local venture of milling and case-making on its own account. The plantation extended more or less irregularly over some 6 acres, and comprised about 800 mill-able trees. Although the plantation had not been raised specially for timber purposes the trees as a whole were well grown, many measuring 100ft. to 150ft. in height and 3ft. to 3ft. 6in. in diameter.

[Photo]

1917 April 27th After the fire at the Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Company depot on King St nth shows two men standing on the small platform right side, by Cliff & Co

Page 179

[Photo]

1917 April 27th After the fire at the Hawke’s Bay Fruit, Produce & Cool Storage Company depot on King St nth by Barcharm, AWN. Messrs Apsey, White and Co. had between £1000 and £2000 worth of fruit in the cool chambers. The bulk of the fruit has been damaged by fire, smoke and steam, by Cliff & Co. A new company arose after the fire called – The Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Limited

1917, The Hawke’s Bay Canning Company (Fairy Brand) and the Bluebell Jam Company made a brief appearance till 1934 when J. Watties Canneries opened in a small wooden building employing 28 people.

[Survey map]

J. N. Williams private railway siding for Sec 43, 44 on King St nth with the Engine shed and Station St

Page 180

[Survey map]

Shows R. Holt & Sons property’s on Sec 46 & 47 with H B Fruitgrowers Association Ltd on Sec 48 with building and Messes White & Co private railway siding on Sec 49 – the previous NZ Home Builders Ltd site.

Later sidings further north in 1928 were for the Atlantic Union Oil Co Ltd and the Vacuum Oil Co Ltd and later the Internal Marketing Dept [Department] siding and J. Wattie siding.

By 1922 J. N. Williams was now deceased and the estate successors – Mrs Lucy Frances Warren and Miss Anna Lydia Williams were the new lease owners of his railway siding lease.

1929 December, the HB Fruitgrowers Association after the 1917 fire still had a rail siding near the Hastings Railway Station yards which was too difficult to work because they had no fruit inspection grading shed. There were two proposals put forward by the NZ Fruitgrowers Federation to NZ Railways for a new grading shed with railway siding at Hastings for export purpose – one proposal was to obtain a lease on Railway Reserve off King St nth opposite Fitzroy Ave and erect a new grading shed with siding near the old J. N. Williams private siding on R. Holt & Sons property’s on King St nth and the other proposal was beside the old racecourse platform on Karamu Rd sth at the end of the Gas Works property.

[Survey map]

The first proposed new grading shed and railway siding in red on King St nth opposite Fitzroy Ave adjoining R. Holt & Sons property’s on Sec 46 & 47 with J. N. Williams old private railway siding. Mr Baker and Mr Wattie had their own private siding. The second proposal was on Karamu Rd sth

Page 181

[Survey map – Portion of Heretaunga Block]

Shows the racecourse sections of Guy Hamilton in 1883 occupied by the HB Agricultural & Pastoral Association that included the southern part of the Gas Works, which was originally a corner portion of the Heretaunga Block. The racecourse siding later became the New Zealand Fruitgrowers Federation Ltd site on the Railway Reserve on Karamu Rd sth, where there was a bridge crossing over the Makirikiri creek

[Survey map]

The second proposal beside the old racecourse platform and Railway Reserve on Karamu Rd sth at the southern end of the Gas Works property before the Hastings High School also shows Bridge No 20? at right for the old Makirikiri creek crossing

[Survey map]

The New Zealand Fruitgrowers Federation Ltd were approved a lease of the Reserve land and racecourse platform on Karamu Rd sth for a private railway siding and erected a narrow fruit grading shed 25ft wide by 47ft long with standing room for 33 – 40 wagons ready for the 1930 February start of the season. Trees were cut and the Morse wire moved. Karamu Rd sth was then 51ft wide. From its conception of the proposed Karamu Rd sth site in 1930 there were concerns of danger posed to passing school children. It was then suggested that Hastings St sth should be extended to provide school children with an alternative safe route to avoid the Fruitgrowers operations, although it was derelict for most of the year. The racecourse platform still gave a good view on racedays as the horses passed around the eastern side of the track. From 1930 and during its time there were many derailments at the siding due to the Fruitgrowers staff pushing wagons full of fruit and the staff not applying the brakes where the wagons rolled over the trap points.

Page 182

[Photo]

1930’s, Men pose on roadside loading dock doorway of the narrow grading shed at the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Federation rail siding on Karamu Rd sth, south of the Gas works near Well Rd later (Patterson St) Shows parked Ford trucks carrying crates of fruit to be loaded on rail wagons, large macrocarpa trees line fence between yard and street, by Henry Norford Whitehead.

[Photo]

1930’s, Looking south shows freight rail wagons alongside the narrow fruit grading shed platform at the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Federation siding on Karamu Rd sth past Well Rd later (Patterson St) A Railway worker standing beside wagon (blurred), bicycle leaning against shed and dog on shed platform. Ford trucks carrying wooden crates on left with a homestead and stables behind, with large pine/macrocarpa trees line the track, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1948, later aerial view of the homestead and stables next the Hastings High School, note the northern facing Bay window

Page 183

[Photos]

1930’s, Two views along dangerous unsealed 51ft wide Karamu Rd sth – shows man with camera on road and men unloading crates from Ford trucks parked beside grading shed at Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Federation siding, two 1920s cars parked, line of telephone poles along road and new footpath with hedge and row of large macrocarpa and Poplar trees opposite Hastings High School, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1930’s, looking north shows a group of workmen posing inside the narrow fruit grading shed (some in suit jackets and some in aprons) at the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Federation siding on Karamu Rd sth. Wooden fruit crates and conveyor rollers for loading crates on to rail wagons and old ford truck through doorway on right, by Henry Norford Whitehead

In 1954 the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Association incorporated offices at St Aubyn St had desires on creating new buildings at the old private J. N. Williams siding off King St nth on Sec 44 & 45 (113) next to R. Holt & Son Sec 46 & 47. Around 1962 the Hastings District Council was offered this Karamu Rd sth Railway

Page 184

Reserve leased land for economic reasons to road widening purposes for the safety of passing school children. The old fruit grading building and rail siding were demolished soon after. I vaguely recall seeing them from Railway Rd.

The Hastings State School and District High School –

1894 November, The annual Hastings School concert was held in the Princess Theatre.

Some children going to the State School would often cross through ‘Circus Paddock’ later rear of the Fire Station near Hastings St sth and Eastbourne St east.

[Photo]

1902 July, the Main State School on Southampton St with flag pole

1904, The first Hastings District High School arose through the Hastings Borough Council – with Mr J. A. Smith the first master and secondary teacher with 41 pupils in wooden buildings at the rear of the State School on Karamu Rd sth opposite the Gas works. It catered for secondary and largely commercial night classes in dressmaking, carpentry, and cabinetmaking classes, then shorthand, typewriting, book- keeping and cookery, later maturation, arithmetic, woodcarving, leatherwork, stencilling, wool-classing, drawing, and plumbing were instituted with a laboratory.

[Photo]

1906, Hastings looking south east over Railway line and Railway Rd and Southampton St, with the Main State Schools (established 1887) with the wooden Infants school 1897 opposite the gas works on Karamu Rd sth, poss [possibly] further south the Hastings District High School wooden building, taken from the Presbyterian Church steeple by Brown & Ross for NZ Cyclopaedia

Page 185

[Photo]

The teacher’s residence on corner of Southampton St and Karamu Rd with the Hastings main State School on left, with windmill and water tank behind, opposite the gas works

In 1907 Mr Leonard Francis Pegler, born England via Greymouth succeeded Smith and was appointed Headmaster of the Hastings District High School with J. T. O. Stephens secondary teacher.

[Photo]

1908, The new extended Hastings State School Hastings on Southampton St east with a large number of pupils and a small group of patriotic post-Boar [Boer] -War boy’s school cadet’s in uniform on the footpath, summer time with many windows open

Page 186

[Photo]

1908, The new extended Hastings State School on Southampton St east with a few pupils and new white fencing outside Drill Hall

[Floor plan]

Floor plan of the two main wings only

[Photo]

A later photo shows extra side windows added to the original building, by Lovell-Smith

In 1907, the schoolboys dug down 3ft for the first swimming pool with pick & shovel then barrow along planks

Page 187

to men awaiting with scoops and trays to cart it away. Pegler was largely institute in getting the first swimming baths funded and constructed in 1908, dedicated to the previous Chairman of the School Committee for 9 years and a member of the Hastings Borough Council for six years – Mr William Charles Maddison who died in office March 1908, his wife Mary Maria died January 1930.

[Photo]

1908 December 19th Opening of the Hastings State School Maddison Memorial swimming baths by the mayor T. J. Thompson, and G. F. Roach chairman, looking north shows the rear wing of the Infants school 1897 behind with the water tower and windmill. Later in 1919 a new swimming club was formed at the Maddison Baths named the Heretaunga Swimming & Life Saving Club, and then electric lights were installed and Learn to Swim classes.

The entrance door to the baths was smashed open by the Fire Brigade to get an emergency supply of water to fight nearby fires, later special emergency access was provided. The baths were later damaged in the 1931 earthquake and repaired.

[Photo]

The Hastings Gas Works (established 1887) shows on right edge the Central School Infants Classrooms 1897

Page 188

[Photo]

1908 May, Empire Day celebrations with Sir William Russell, Chairman of Hawke’s Bay Education Board, addressing the scholars at State Central School grounds and salute the flag opposite the Hastings Drill Hall (without date) on Southampton St east, shows a windmill behind a two-storied building on Warren St possibly the Manor Boarding House 28 rooms which burnt down Feb 1918, by Rembrandt Studio’s, Hastings of Poll & Rackman

[Photo]

1908 May, Empire Day celebrations His worship the Mayor of Hastings T. J. Thompson addressing the scholars with the Headmaster Mr L. Frank Pegler, B.A., the Chairman of the School Committee Mr G. F. Roach and members of the School Committee gathered, also shows the future Borough Council yards unfenced and Southampton St east, by Rembrandt Studio’s, Hastings of Poll & Rackham

Page 189

[Photo]

1908 Empire Day celebrations of school children at the State Central School grounds opposite the Hastings Drill Hall on Southampton St east at right now HDC, shows another windmill further up on Warren St above the Drill Hall lean-to and a two-storied building on Lyndon Rd east possibly Dr Thomas McKibbin’s residence – now Library grounds and cottage of Edwin Watkins a Saddler on Southampton St

[Photo]

1909, Patriotic post-Boar-war boy’s military school cadets on parade at the State Central School grounds opposite the Hastings Drill Hall (without date) on Southampton St east, the future Borough Council yards now with wooden fence, shows a windmill behind a two-storied building on Warren St possibly the Manor Boarding House 28 rooms which burnt down Feb 1918, and the distant Catholic Church steeple.

Page 190

[Plan – school]

Over a boundary fence there was the lower creek bed playground

[Photo]

Postcard photo of the new two-stored brick building erected and opened in March 1908 opposite the Gas Works on Karamu Rd sth for a separate secondary District High School.

Page 191

[Photo]

The Hastings District High School on Karamu Rd sth 1921, fence removed, front flag pole

1919 March, post WW1 around 92 secondary old boys served overseas with 16 dead, followed by the influenza epidemic. The District School roll was now around 900, Std VI were temporarily housed in the Kings Theatre now owned by the Borough for the proposed Civic Square. Mr G. F. Roach chairman HBEB urged the disestablishing of the Hastings Borough Council’s High School under Pegler and the establishment of a proper separate Education Board Technical High School, as the High School could not give the commercial, engineering and other courses of study the scope of other Technical Schools. First they had to raise subscriptions for the purchase of a site, because the department would only consider it if the district people were to provide a site with road frontage – being a necessary requisite, after that the department would erect a school. Land was given at the end of the Karamu Rd sth past Well Rd (Patterson St) at the end of the row of railway poplar trees – as far as Karamu Rd sth went then and extra land at Sec 38 was quickly obtained.

[Survey map]

In March 1920 an additional 9½ adjoining acres (Sec 41) were acquired through Mr Arthur Anderson – to total 20 acres – Sections 38, and 41. Karamu Rd was extended further south to reach Murdock Rd. Later Sec 41 and part of 39 was obtained. The front part of Sec 35 was the later racehorse stables. Section 32 was obtained for a new Intermediate School then part of Sec 35 and Hastings St sth was extended.

1922 October – Hastings primary State School name was changed to the Hastings Central School, while the adjoining Hastings District High School separated to form its own establishment. Pegler declined the Technical Headmaster – no remuneration and he resigned from the Hastings Central School in March 1924 succeeded by John A. Banks till 1932.

Page 192

1922 October, The Hastings High School became the Hastings Technical High School for Boys and Girls under the new headmaster – Mr WAG Penlington a distinguished Great War vet from Akaroa became while they were still being housed by Hastings Central School. Penlington introduced “Akina” – strike hard as the motto and the “Huia” as the emblem – a bird esteemed by Maori for its nobility and appropriate for co-ed school because they hunt in pairs.

1923 July, Most of the pupils at the Hastings High School study French and with a view to making that study more interesting for them, the headmaster Mr W. A. G. Penlington recently wrote to the headmaster of the high school at Lille, France, suggesting that French children studying English should correspond with some of the Hastings boys and girls.

[Photo]

1924, WAG centre with aprox 9 Staff and pupils outside front Hastings District High School with Akina emblem banner rear, this building was later damaged in the 1931 earthquake and demolished.

[Photo]

1920’s, Central School children’s metaphor [semaphore] practice, looking east towards Hastings St sth where the Makirikiri creek passed around, by Henry Norford Whitehead

The new Hastings Technical High Schools main building and two wings were built on Section 38 of Karamu Rd sth.

Page 193

[Photo]

The building of the new co-ed Hastings Technical High School in 1925

[Photo]s

The building of the Hastings Technical High School east wing and west wing with macrocarpa 1925

[Photo]

1926, the Hastings High School, shows the Main building of a Cape Dutch design with Doric pillars, with long grass in front.

1926 March, The new ‘Hastings Technical High School’ was officially opened by the Minister of Education Sir James Parr. There were 246 pupils, just over half were boys and the rolls steadily increased. The school now had 20 acres of grounds, new building and equipment costing £19,500, designed by Penlington’s brother George to the Cape Dutch design with Doric pillars and the Superintendent of Technical Education Mr W. S. La Trobe was also a competent architect, he resigned 1938.

Page 194

[Photo]

1926, the Hastings co-ed High School, shows entrance driveway and trees planted

1926, The ‘Technical’ part of the school name was dropped soon after opening in preference for the

Hastings High School.

[Photo]

1920’s, Hastings High School with the girls wearing Panama hats

[Photo]

1920’s, The Hastings High School taken from the gate shows the Main building of a Cape Dutch design with Doric pillars, the east wing and west wings, girls playing tennis and sapling trees planted and the extended Karamu Rd sth.

Page 195

[Photo]

1920’s, The Hastings High School frontage from the gate with trees planted

[Photo]

The Hastings High School frontage taken from the railway line

[Photo]

1928, Hastings High School with spectators at top left open window, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Page 196

1920’s, Hastings High School teachers and pupils, by Henry Norford Whitehead

While the boys were having their military cadet training at the rear, the girls would prance around doing folk dancing and singing on the front lawn.

[Photo]

1929, Cadets parade with the giant gum, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1929, Cadets parade with colours, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1920’s, Hastings High School with Officers dressed for Cadets, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1929, Reunion Hastings High School with the Akina flag depicting an extinct native female long beak huia and tree behind, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Page 197

[Photo]

1930’s, Hastings High School assembled with huia flag for dignitaries arrived by car, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1930’s, Hastings High School assembled with parents, summer umbrellas for dignitaries, the huia flag, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1930’s, The Hastings High School assembled with parents, summer umbrellas for dignitaries, the huia flag, by Henry Norford Whitehead

A horse-stop made of concrete and iron pipes was installed at the front gate – presumably WAG Penlington did not want the district kids riding their ponies up the main entrance to his headquarters! It was noted in many school histories – as in the Hastings Central School in the event of the 1931 quake – the kids still rode their ponies to school and the ponies all reared up and raced around the school paddocks at the Quake.
1931, The initiation of the third form boys by the older Bully Hastings High School boys was in progress at the horse trough near the Willow trees when the quake struck. Following the 1931 earthquake Penlington took strict control of the town from his headquarters at Drill Hall – he did not allow the visiting journalists much freedom. New classrooms and a laboratory were added

Page 198

[Photo]

1936 Tall cypress tree

[Photo]

1930’s, Looking south along the unsealed 51ft wide Karamu Rd sth towards Poplar trees distant and the Technical High School from the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Federation fruit grading shed and railway siding near Well Rd (Patterson Rd) shows telephone poles along both sides of the road with square school sign distant, a new footpath and hedge by Henry Norford Whitehead

From its conception of the proposed new Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Federation fruit grading shed and railway siding on Karamu Rd sth site in 1930 – there were concerns of the danger to passing school children. It was then suggested that Hastings St sth should be extended to provide school children with an alternative safe route to avoid the Fruitgrowers operations. The girls left for their own High School on Pakawhai Rd in 1956 and it became the Hastings Boys High School.

The Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade –

1886, Fire Bell, Cr. Tong moved that the Borough Council provide a firebell for the borough, the bell to be not less than two hundred pounds in weight. Seconded by Cr. Foreman. Cr. Ellis thought that the Council should be asked to provide only half the cost, the other half being raised by subscription. Cr. Foreman thought that Cr. Ellis had taken a miserable view of the case, as the whole cost would not exceed five-and-twenty pound? Cr. Ellis called Cr. Foreman to order. He objected to being called miserable. The Mayor ruled Cr. Foreman not out of order. Cr. Fitzroy would support Cr. Tong’s motion. He thought it very necessary to obtain a bell. Cr. Luckie would support Cr. Tong’s motion, even if a larger amount than named were required. Cr. Tanner proposed, and Cr. Luckie seconded, that Cr. Tong be authorised to obtain the necessary bell.

1886 April, Some time ago a subscription was started with the object of providing the town with a fire-bell, as it already had a Fire Brigade added to its local accessories, how much was subscribed I know not, but I do know that shortly afterwards a fire-bell was presented to the Brigade by a gentleman in Napier. The bell has ever since been stowed

Page 199

away in the engine-shed, or some other equally inaccessible place, instead of being, placed in position. Another list was started for the purpose of hanging the bell. What has become of the funds, if there were any; and if there were none, why is not an effort made to get the bell erected ‘ The site has been granted by the railway authorities, the bell has been obtained for nothing; surely the public can find the fittings and have it put up. Now that we have had evidence of its requirement in the fire at Dennett’s Albert Hotel, perhaps steps will be taken in the matter. Although this was a trifling fire, it would have been much worse had assistance not been at hand, and the fire occurred somewhat early in the evening.

1886 October, Superintendent Tong’s firm possibly built the first wooden tower erected at the Railway Reserve on Heretaunga St for the installation of the fire bell.

1886 September, Superintendent Tong of the Hastings Fire Brigade tells me that he expects the new outfit and gear for the Brigade to arrive at the end of this week, as the Tainui, that brings the fixings for the Brigade arrived at Port Chalmers last week. The order for the Brigade’s new gear has been executed by Messrs Merryweather and Sons, the celebrated engineers, which is a sufficient guarantee that the goods will be of the best description. All that is now wanting to make the Brigade appliances complete, is the building of the proposed tanks for the water supply.

[Photo]

Heretaunga St west 1890’s at the Railway crossing shows Beck’s store behind the first small fire bell tower with stop sign foreground and cat below

1886 October, Superintendent Tong rang the fire-bell for the first time since it was placed in the tower, and the members of the Brigade shortly after mustered in full force. The locality of the fire seemed to be in the direction of Riverslea house. Several of the Brigade procured horses and proceeded in the direction of the fire, but returned shortly afterwards, the fire being too far away to render any assistance. It was thought that the old mill on the Havelock-road was the scene of the conflagration. The debut of the fire-bell was not by any means a success. The anticipated deep tones were not heard; only a harsh crackled noise was produced by the praiseworthy exertions of Superintendent Tong. It is surmised that owing to the long inactivity of the bell, and the draughty state of the town, that the bell is suffering from a protracted cold.

1886 November, A special meeting of the Hastings Fire Brigade was held at Kelly’s Hotel at half past seven o’clock last night, for the purpose of considering the advisability of celebrating the anniversary of the Hastings Fire Brigade by having sports and a ball. There was a large attendance of the Brigade, S. T. Tong in the chair. Proposed by A. Faulknor, “That a Fire Brigade competition and sports be held to celebrate the anniversary of the Brigade.” Seconded by G. Goldsborough, and carried. A committee of seven members of the Brigade was appointed to carry out the details, viz.,

Messrs Faulknor, Brouche, Goldsborough, Stewart, George, Smith, and Keith. It was proposed and carried that the Hastings Brass Band be asked to perform on the day of the anniversary. The committee arranged to meet this evening at Kelly’s Hotel to arrange details for carrying out the programme for the sports. A vote of thanks to the chairman concluded the business.

1886 November, The Hastings Fire Brigade anniversary sports promise to be a great success. The Committee are going into the affair with a will; subscription-sheets have been distributed, and are getting a liberal response from the residents and tradespeople. It is the intention of the Secretary to apply to Mr Thomas Tanner for permission to use his Queen’s Park, which is an admirable place, being in close proximity to the town, and beautifully sheltered, a splendid spot for picnic parties.

1886 November, A team from the Hastings Volunteer Fire Brigade will enter for the competition at Farndon Park on the Prince of Wales’ Birthday and intend to do all they know to make things lively for the teams from Napier and the Spit that will enter.

Page 200

1886 December, The Fire Brigade had a full muster on Friday evening, and made a plentiful distribution of water in the vicinity of the bell tower in case of accident by lire from the pyrotechnic display which took place at about eight o’clock, Superintendent Tong being MC, and well did he carry out his duties by sending aloft at short intervals, rockets, bombs, squibs, and other sorts of fireworks, to illuminate the heavens, to the great delight of those assembled, particularly the crowds of juveniles who greeted the appearance and disappearance of each rocket with loud expressions of delight. The top stage of the Hastings firebell tower was the place where the fireworks wore let off from. The Hastings Band visited several parts of the town and played various well-selected pieces of music during the evening.

1887 January, HASTINGS FIRE BRIGADE ANNIVERSARY – The sports that were held in the Queen’s Park to celebrate the anniversary of the Hastings Fire Brigade were, as I predicted, as successful as anything of the kind that has been held in Hawke’s Bay. The Queen’s Park is situated about one mile from Hastings by road, and it can be reached in much less distance by taking a short cut across Mr Tanner’s paddocks. The place chosen for the sports was admirably selected, as it adjoined a large plantation and a fine view of the sports could be obtained without leaving the shade of the trees, which owing to the heat was a great advantage; A refreshment booth was erected under the shade of some large pine trees, and cooling and non-intoxicating drinks were supplied during the day at a moderate charge. Mr Kessell was judicious in his selection of an equally cool spot for the sale of a quantity of delicious ripe fruit; Mr R. Thayer also appropriated a shady place in the plantation where he had tables covered with all sorts of tempting eatables. The sports committee had tents erected for the convenience of those taking part in the events. Swings were also provided for those that chose to take a fly through the air. On the borders of one side of the plantation, ” Aunt Sally” held high jinks, and got knocked out occasionally, The rifle shootists had also an opportunity of displaying their accuracy and kept ” Sally ” company. Parties of men, women, and children camped under wide spreading trees, and enjoyed themselves and their lunch immensely. The Hastings Brass Band, as usual, formed one of the leading features of the day’s sports, and discoursed music at intervals to the great enjoyment of those present. “Kiss in the ring” as usual, was patronized; the “yum-yum” business has a special charm of its own; some of the actors must have laid in their winter supply of kisses. “Jolly Miller” was also in good demand, and afforded a lot of amusement. The arrival of the half-past eleven train from Napier brought a number of visitors, and also the members of the Spit Brigade that were to compete in the sports. At noon all Hastings were on the ground, besides a number of people from outlying places. In complimenting the committee that so successfully carried on all the details that made the Hastings fire Brigade anniversary sports so remarkably successful, I win not individualize anyone, suffice it to say that each and everyone that took part in arranging Saturdays sports may, without flattery, be deservedly congratulated on the termination of one of the most successful sports that has been held in Hawke’s Bay, and at the same time the most enjoyable days outing the Hastings folk have ever had. Not a single hitch occurred to mar the day’s enjoyment.

The following are the results of the different events: – Anniversary Handicap, of 150, 300, and 440 yds: 1st prize, £6 10s; 2nd, £2.10s; 3rd, £1. 1st heat; Buttler 1 Smith, 2; Lyons, 3 ‘ Engine practice; 5 men; 2 teams – Spit team, Luoas, Siddles, Barry, Connor, Labroon – Time 42 half secs; Hastings team, Smith, Goldsbrough, Hansen, Brouche, Keith – Time 36secs. 2nd heat Anniversary Handicap, 300yds. Butler, 1; Smith, 2; Lyons, 3; Vaulting with pole. – Macfarlane.1; Toto, (native), 2. ‘This was one of best events of the day, the vaulting being excellent.’ Boys’ Race. – P. Allen, 1st; C. Fritchley, Girls’ Race. – Ada Stubley, 1st; Lily Waldren, 2nd. Engine Practice for 1 man; open to all comers; dry – 3 men from each Brigade. – J. Smith, 38 sec.1; W. Keith and Barry 39 sec. (tie); in the runoff Keith, 37 .4-5 secs took second place, Barry, 39 4-5secs. 3rd. Maiden Race – F. Collins 1; O’Leary 2. ‘Throwing Cricket Ball’ – Nicolson, 96yrds 2ft .3in, 12 entries, Queen’s Park Handicap. – Siddles, 1; Brouche, 2; Coloquon, 3. Anniversary Handicap, 3rd heat 400yds – Butler, 1;.Smith, 2; Lyons, .3. One-Man Drill (Hastings Brigade only) – Smith, 33secs. 1; Stanley, 39secs 2; Goldsborough, 40secs., 3; Keith, 41secs. 4 The Hastings Fire Brigade won the tug of war. This event caused a lot of amusement, and a lot of strength was expended before the event was decided. The Greasy Pig was caught by a boy named Cheer. The pig was enlarged to a full field, but had a short run, as he was surrounded by the enemy.

1888 January, HASTINGS VOLUNTEER FIRE BRIGADE. The annual meeting of the brigade was held at Kelly’s Hotel on Friday evening, Superintendent Tong in the chair. The accounts showed a balance £4 16s 5d, and a balance of assets over liabilities of £219 8s 5d. The report and statement were received and adopted. The election of foremen and branchmen then took place and resulted as follows: – Foreman No. 1, Foreman Keith (re-elected: Foreman No.2; Fireman Goldsborough ranchman No. 1, Fireman Braousch; Branchman No. 2, Fireman Stuart. Fireman T. Waterworih [Waterworth] and A. Percy were elected us assistant branchmen. Mr Welsman was elected a member of the brigade. A gratifying ceremony then took place, Superintendent Tong presenting to Mr W. Beck a handsome gold medal, which had been subscribed for privately by the members of the brigade. Addressing Mr Beck, Mr Tong said that he had much pleasure in presenting the testimonial on behalf of the brigade, and that he hoped Mr Beck would accept it as a testimony of the esteem in which he was held by them. The Superintendent then pinned the medal on Mr Beck’s coat amid general applause. Mr Beck said that he was so taken by surprise that he could not find words to acknowledge the gift suitably, but he had always been very happy to do what he could for the brigade, and would have much pleasure in wearing the medal. He hoped that they would always continue to work together in harmony as they had hitherto done. (Applause). The medal was (like the other medals for the prizes) made by Mr Shanly, and certainly does him great credit. On one side is a fireman’s helmet with crossed axes, and on the reverse the following inscription: – “Presented to W. E. Beck, by the members of the H.V.F.B. as a token of esteem, 1888.” Mr George proposed a vote of thanks to the retiring officers, which was duly responded to. The next business was the distribution of the prizes won at the recent spoils: – One-man competition, first prize a silver medal C. Brausche; second prize a silver medal W. Keith; two special prizes, Goldsborough and Hansen. Single event, open to all comers, first prize, gold sleeve links presented by Mr H. O. Caulton, Foreman, Keith; second prize, glass flower vase presented by Mr Simon – J. Smith. Fireman’s race, first prize, a handsomely caved meerschaum pipe presented by Mr Dennett, fireman Smith; second prize a gold ring presented by Mr A. Fraser, Fireman Braousch [Brausch]. The second prize for the five men drill (a handsome vase presented by Mr H. Williams) was drawn for and was won by Foreman Keith. At the conclusion of the proceedings Mr Beck invited the company to

Page 201

“give it a name,” and the waiter having been instructed accordingly, all present drank the popular secretary’s health, which done, one of the reporters proposed “The health of the officers and men of the Hastings Fire Brigade,” stating that he hoped it would be long ere the town required their services, but that when it did he was sure they would be “all there.” Superintendent Tong, in responding, said that he had the satisfaction of knowing that none of his men were afraid of their work, and that they could torn out smartly when required, and he had no doubt they would always do their duty.

1888 September, A football match was played in Mr Rainbow’s paddock between the Hastings Fire Brigade and the Volunteers. After an evenly contested struggle the Salamanders won by two points. Mr Taiaroa was the captain of the brigade team and Mr L. Ellis was captain of the Volunteers. The new hose reel for the Fire Brigade (bought out of the proceeds of the fancy ball) is to arrive here

1888 December, In one of the large front windows of Beck’s store are displayed the prizes that have been presented to the Hastings Volunteer Fire Brigade for competition. The prizes comprise a large number of useful and ornamental things, which no doubt will cause keen competition. Hastings Volunteer Fire Brigade annual sports to be held at the racecourse again – The Egyptian horse race on the lake promises to be the most amusing item in the programme. There is a good depth of water in the racecourse pond, so there is no danger of the competitors in the swimming match sticking in the mud, as one unlucky starter did last year.

1889 June, A meeting of the Public Works Committee of the Hastings Borough Council was held last evening. Present – The Mayor, and Councillors Bennett, Wellwood, Foreman, Murdoch, and McEwan. The Mayor said that the meeting was called for the purpose of considering the report of the subcommittee re water supply, and the best means to adopt for the safety of the town in case of fire. The report was read, which suggested the forming of other tanks besides those already in use, and the sinking of another artesian well, the estimated cost of which was £85; also recommending the purchase  of a steam fire engine, with the necessary requirements, which was estimated to cost £560. The Mayor said that the cost, which would be altogether £635, was very little in comparison with the good it was likely to do in the way of saving property and in giving greater security to householders. They had an offer from the Invercargill Borough Council of a second-hand engine, capable of throwing 340 gallons per minute, but he would suggest obtaining one made by Shands, Mason and Co., which was calculated to throw 260 gallons per minute, which contained all the latest improvements’ and would, with the gear landed at Hastings, cost £550. He did not believe in second-hand goods. Mr Tong, Inspector of the Hastings Fire Brigade, who was present, was asked his opinion. He strongly advocated the Invercargill engine, which was one constructed by Merryweather and Sons, as he considered they were the best makers, and the engine was only being disposed of because they now had a high pressure water supply in the borough, and did not require the engine. Cr. Wellwood moved, seconded by Cr. Foreman, “That clause 1, which advised extra tanks and the water supply, be recommended to the Council.”- Carried. Cr. Foreman moved, and Cr. McEwan seconded, “That a steam fire engine as proposed be recommended.” Cr. Bennett thought that the tanks that were proposed would not be sufficient to feed a steam fire engine for more than a few minutes. Cr. Murdock pointed out that the whole of the benefit to be derived by the scheme would be by the town alone, and he thought that it would be unfair to tax the large outlying portion of the borough for what they could derive no benefit from. The Mayor pointed, out that the revenue derived from the Main Street of the town including hotel licenses was £337, and that the expenditure on the Main Street this year had only been £42. Cr. Wellwood did not think the borough were as yet in a position to go to the expense of a steam fire engine. He would be glad to see one here, but he thought they should first look to their roads, which would this winter require a lot of expenditure to keep them in good order. The Mayor thought he could show that they were in a position to go to the expense. They had within the last eighteen months reduced their overdraft by £1000, and had also reduced their rates from one shilling to ninepence. Cr. Foreman was strongly in favour of a steam fire engine, and would move “That it be recommended to the Council if at the next meeting the ways and means could be shown of obtaining it that were satisfactory to the Council.” This was seconded by Cr. Wellwood and carried.

The new Shand pump – one of the most powerful in the colony, bought at a time when Hastings was being called “a flame-be ridden town of Blazes” Later used as an emergency in the engine room of Tomoana Freezing Works.

There were three separate units to the Hastings Fire Brigade – The brigade members, the volunteers and the fire police.

1889 October, HASTINGS BOROUGH COUNCIL – HASTINGS FIRE BRIGADE. On this matter being called on Cr. Murdoch reported that a meeting of the committee appointed to consider the application of the fire brigade had been called for that evening, but that the only members of the committee who attended were Cr. Foreman and himself, and that having discussed the matter with Secretary W. Beck, who had been good enough to attend, they found that the brigade wanted 1000 feet of hose, two signal lamps, another street lamp at Faulkner’s corner, and a subsidy of £50 a year, and that they were of opinion that these should be granted. Cr. FitzRoy objected to the informality of the report, and moved “That it be an instruction to the committee to hold a meeting to consider the matter and report thereon to the next meeting of the Council.” The motion was seconded by Cr, Williams and carried.

1890 November, Mrs Moroney’s Swimming Baths opened in Nelson St, providing a large supply of water for emergencies.

1890 November, From the Hastings Fire Brigade, asking the Council to grant them a yearly allowance of £20 or £25, and stating that the Brigade had outstanding debts to pay.

Page 202

1890 December, HASTINGS BOROUGH COUNCIL – The report of the committee appointed to confer with the Hastings Fire Brigade was read and dealt with as follows : – Clause 1, recommending that a working allowance not exceeding £50 a year, beginning on the 1st January 1891 be granted to the brigade, was adopted.

1891 July, Fire Inspector S. Tong stated the Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade was disorganised – it disbanded and reformed under the direct control of the Borough Council.

1891 July, A meeting of the Hastings fire brigade was held last night at Mr Caulton’s hotel, when Mr W. Beck was unanimously elected by ballot to be captain, he is a capable and experienced man, and it is to be hoped that his appointment will be welcomed by nil parties as a solution of the recent difficulty.

1891, A dispute developed between Captain W. E. Beck and Superintendant S. Tong and a witness letter by Cr H. H. Murdock [Murdoch] – resulting in 3 officers leaving.

1891 September, Special Meeting of the town Council – Resolved, “That notice be sent to all members of the Hastings Volunteer Fire Brigade to deliver to the Town Clerk within seven days from the date of such notice all uniforms or other property belonging to the Council. And if such uniforms or other property be not delivered within the specified time, legal proceedings to be taken by the Council for the recovery of the dame.” Resolved unanimously, ” That the resolution of the 18th of August appointing Fire Inspector Tong to submit the names of persons willing to form a Brigade be rescinded. That with the view of an amicable settlement of the difficulty, Captain W. E. Beck be requested to confer with fire inspector Tong, and that they should jointly submit to the Council, at its next meeting, a list of persons willing to serve as a Volunteer Fire Brigade; and that, in case of any dispute arising between Captain Beck and Fire Inspector Tong as to the selection of the men, that His Worship the Mayor be requested to arbitrate between them.”

1892 January, A special meeting of the Hastings Fire Brigade was held last night at Jull’s Hotel. Present – Captain Beck, Lieutenant George, Messrs Goldsborough, J. L. Stuart, J. Oliver, T. Stewart, E. Humphry [Humphrey], L. Anderson, R. Jeffaries, A. Percy, H. Symonds, C. Brausche, and H. Gigg. An apology was received from Mr H. Stanley for his absence. Lieutenant A. A. George was requested to preside. The Chairman mentioned that the object of the meeting was to bid farewell to Captain Beck, and on the conclusion of an appropriate speech he presented him with a handsome clock. Captain Beck said that he accepted the handsome clock before him with the greatest possible pleasure, as affording him another proof of the cordial good feeling that existed, and had always existed, between himself and the Brigade. During the evening feeling reference was made to the absent members, one of whom (Mr A. A. Stanley) is dangerously ill with rheumatic fever, and others were attending him. During his illness one and sometimes two firemen have been sitting up with him, a fact that speaks for itself for the maternal feeling the members have for each other.

1892 February, The adjourned meeting of the Hastings Fire Brigade took place at Stuart’s Hotel last night, Lieut A. A. George in the chair. Notice of motion was given that the Association be recommended to take in consideration the adoption of the fireman’s half Wellington boot instead of the Blucher now in use. Lieut. George was appointed delegate to the Conference at Christchurch. The team for the competition will be selected during the month. Proposed by Fireman Percy, seconded by Fireman Stanley, “That the question of the election of Captain be postponed until the next monthly meeting.” It was resolved to ask Fireman Brausche to resume the duties of engine-keeper upon the same terms as formerly.

[Newspaper notice]
TO CARPENTERS
TENDERS are invited till SATURDAY NEXT, 12th August, for Alterations and Additions to the Hastings Fire Brigade Station. Plans and specifications can be seen at my Office, Karamu road, Hastings.
SAMUEL T. TONG

1893 August, Four tenders for additions to the Hastings Fire Brigade station were received. That of Mr Russell of Market Street was accepted, the amount being £76. The work includes the accommodation for the steam fire engine and the long desired and necessary meeting room for the brigade.

1893 October, The Hastings Fire brigade is entering upon a new phase in its career. The new premises are nearly, if not quite ready for occupation, Mr Russell having completed his contract. Besides accommodation on the ground floor for the steam and manual engine, there is upstairs a comfortable meeting room for the members of the Brigade. In anticipation of the arrival of the steamer, they have been having special practice this week.

1893 October, After a successful practice of the Hastings Fire Brigade yesterday a committee meeting was held, at which it was decided to obtain tenders for the gas and other fittings required for the more comfort able furnishing of the meeting-room.

1894 January, The following team has been selected to represent the Hastings Fire Brigade at the forthcoming competition in Napier – Captain Brausche, Foreman Keith, Branchmen Anderson and Chapman, Firemen Symonds and Catherall (emergency)

1894 January, The Hastings Fire Brigade’s new engine is on board the Duke of Sutherland which has arrived at Auckland, and it will be shipped to Napier as speedily as possible. It was suggested to the Hastings brigade that the engine should be given a trial here first before it was sent on, but the local men prefer to have the trial made at Hastings.

Page 203

[Photo]

Due to the increase of high buildings and township area of expanse a new taller and louder fire bell was required – shows the new tall fire bell tower on the Railway Reserve opposite the new Hastings Hotel presented by Mr H. Williams around 1895. The old small tower fire bell was put up for sale in January 1896.

1897 February, The old staging in Market St used for fire drill was blown away and was then carted away – the volunteers had not yet formed a camp but intend to do so, a site chosen being Mr W. Stock’s grounds at Stortford Lodge

1898 May, Hastings Fire Station was connected by telephone

[Photo]

1898, Heretaunga St west looking east towards the railway line from Market St – the Hastings Fire Brigade at practice with the Shand pump on the new Bank of New South Wales building with a Café, BNZ, Madisons & Co building of Williams & Kettle and the tall fire bell tower – both sides of this block were rebuilt following the 1893 fire and the left side again after the Williams & Kettles fire in 1907, the new Cafe above Maddison’s was then owned by J. W. Gower.

1899 March, A. A. George tendered his brigade resignation due to infighting.

1899 May, An alteration is to be made in the fire brigade station to allow of a permanent gas’ jet being placed for heating the water in the engine. In the meantime temporary fittings have been placed, and in the event of a fire Captain Brausche and Engineer A. Leipst consider that a saving of four or five minutes in the time for getting up steam will be effected, the water in the boiler being kept hot.

1899 December, A huge number of your Hastings readers will be sorry to hear that Mr John Williams is seriously ill, and acting on the advice of friendly has gone to the Napier Hospital. Mr Williams is an old and much respected resident of Hawke’s Bay, and has been for some year’s caretaker at the Fire Brigade station. We all hope to see him back amongst us at on early date fully restored to health.

The Hastings Fire Station was moved to Market St sth to the Athenaeum section, while the Fire Police took up quarters in the old premises in Eastbourne St east.

1900 May, During the time the Fire Brigade station is under repair the steamer has been removed to the brigade’s new premises.

Page 204

1900 July, By invitation of Captain Brausche, a representative of the newspaper made an inspection of the Fire Brigade station and was surprised at the splendid order and cleanliness which reigned, a state of affairs for which the new station keeper (Mr Fraser Martin) deserves every credit.

1901 September, Hastings Borough Council – Cr. Newbigin gave notice of motion That a concrete tank for fire prevention purposes, capable of holding 10,000 gallons water, with a fall into the sewer, be erected on the Athenaeum section at the rear of the fire brigade station, and that an artesian well be sunk to supply the water.

1902 February, Mr A. Leipst – the fire brigade engineer resigned.

1902 April, provision was made for sleeping quarters for two men at the Fire Station.

1902 October, Valedictory social at the Hastings Fire Station to entertain Lieutenant Keith who is leaving for South Africa.

1902 December, The Fire Committee recommended that the firebell and tower be removed from the present site and be erected on the Athenaeum section close to the Fire Brigade station, in such a position that the firebell can be rung from the footpath in Market Street. It was also recommended that the fire bell be raised six feet higher than it is at present. The report was adopted.

[Photo]

1903, Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade at their shed quarters in a two-storeyed wooden building in Market St sth at the Athenaeum section with H V F B written above the door including upstairs rooms

[Photo]

1905 March, members of the Hastings Voluntary Fire Brigade

1907, After the Williams & Kettle fire the removal of the tall fire bell tower to the new Fire Station on Market St.

1908, Hastings Borough Council agreed to transfer custody of the Fire Brigades assets – Machinery, Plant and Chattels over to Hastings Fire Board subject to belonging in Council buildings.

1909 May, Inspector Hugo, Superintendent of Fire Brigades under the Fire Board paid a visit to the Hastings Fire Station and his remarks upon it were nothing less than condemnation of the structure. The place is looked upon as totally unsuitable and unsafe for the accommodation of fire brigade plant. In connection

Page 205

with this matter an excellent site for a new station would be the land adjoining the new fire bell tower (Market St) There is plenty of room and the position most central. The question is one that will come up for discussion at the next meeting of the Hastings Fire Board.

1909 February, The narrow escape from a serious smash at the Hastings Fire Brigade Station on Thursday night, when the horses bolted with the steadier, calls for more than passing comment. The horses were harnessed to the engine, but before the driver was on the box they made off and galloped up Eastbourne street, turned the corner into Karamu road, where they got on to the footpath. They continued their career into Lyndon road and were caught by two firemen who were on their way to the Fire Brigade Station. It was more good luck than good management that no damage was done. Not long ago, at a meeting of the Brigade, Fireman W. Graham made the Assertion that the driver was not suitable for his position, and that the trouble given by the horses was due almost entirely to his want of knowledge as to how to manage them. At the time of an alarm it is invariably the rule that the driver mounts his seat and secures the reins. This is done with the object of preventing a mishap such as is reported above. In fairness to the public and to all concerned it will be well if Captain Brausche holds an inquiry into the matter, so that steps may be taken to prevent a repetition of such incidents as occurred.

1910, The Hastings Fire Brigade were now using the Hastings Borough Council water tanks and the old Fire Brigade Station was still listed in the 1910 Directory in Eastbourne St east – Brausche Superintendant Martin O’Neil a Linesman and Jos McIntyre a Driver.

[Photo]

1910 March, the Fire fighters National Conference was held in Hastings, shows a parade of Fire-fighters with the band heading westwards along Heretaunga St east at Karamu Rd from the Albert Hotel, AWN

The Municipal Electricity Power & Pumping Station building was erected there in 1912 – the engine providing a high water pressure supply, water is drawn from wells and the reservoir in the Havelock Hills with a 12 inch diameter water main along Heretaunga St and street fire hydrants at 250ft apart.

1911 July 5th Wednesday, a foundation stone was laid by the Mayor Mr J. A. Millar at an opening ceremony for the new Hastings Fire Board’s large brick station building on Market St sth. The new station contained a Boardroom, a Watch house, 3 bedrooms, 3 horse stalls with conveniences etc, on the first floor the married quarters for Caretaker and a Recreation room.

Page 206

[Photos]

1911c, the Hastings Fire Board was formed – a group photos of staff & family outside the first Hastings Fire Brigade station new premises with the donated automobile by Graham & Gebbie, the tower and belfry were also transferred to the new premises on Market St sth, with a fire alarm in window above cycle left, building later damaged in the earthquake

Page 207

[Photo]

1911c, The Hastings Fire Brigade station new premises on Market St sth, shows the old Shand pump

1912 August, Mr A. A. George requested funding to purchase a billiard table for the Hastings Fire Station as an incentive to induce the men to frequent the station – as permanent stations had table in recreation room. Mr A. A. George probably provided the Hastings Brigade with its letterhead stationery. Now named the – Hastings Fire Board

[Photo]

1914c, The Hastings Fire Board station in Market St sth, shows a new 3 man motor tender and the old Shand pump with a fire alarm next to the door left

Page 208

 [Photo]

1919c, Hastings Fire Board’s truck and firemen wearing old silver helmets, poss [possibly] taken at the rear of the new premises on Market St sth, or at some other fire station during a competition, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1927c, in front of Smith & McHutchon, Blacksmiths, Wheelwrights & Coachbuilders at 111 Tomoana Rd – who did the bodywork on the new Dennis fire engine for the Hastings Fire Board – instrumental in saving the town after the quake, the business partnership was established after Charles Ferguson McHutchon had returned from WW1, shows a house behind

Page 209

[Photo]

1927c, The Hastings Fire Board station new brick premises on Market St sth, shows the new Dennis fire engine

The Makirikiri creek

The Makirikiri (stony) creek was 6ft wide in places through Hastings with plenty of ells [eels] and introduced carp – gravel washed down into the swamp creek bed – it was a branch of the Ngaruroro River that broke off near Roys Hill then disappears and percolated underground through the shingle until it rose to the surface again at Kaiapo Rd, it went down Gordon St through the Ebbett Park water course to enter the racecourse lake.

[Photo]

The long Jubilee Lake 1900 at the H B Jockey Clubs racecourse

[Photo]

Jubilee Lake reflections at the H B Jockey Clubs racecourse, by Clapham postcard

Page 210

The Racecourse began in January 1879, The Hawke’s Bay Jockey Club. At the King Edward VII Coronation Day celebrations in August 1902, two large war canoes were floated on the racecourse lake, poi dances, canoe songs and a haka were performed in front of the grandstand – the lake was named Jubilee Lake. The Hastings Jockey Club secretary in 1901 was Mr Frederick D. Luckie, then Mr W. J. Stratton 1908 and Mr A. W. Knight 1912.

[Photo]

A hand coloured photographic postcard 1912c, by Muir and Moodie of the long Jubilee Lake at the H B Jockey Clubs racecourse

[Photo]

A later view of the last remnants of Jubilee Lake behind the H B Jockey Clubs grandstands, which ran parallel to Prospect Rd. Race day patrons could embark from the special trains via a platform by Karamu Rd sth opposite the racecourse and walk across to the meeting.

[Survey maps]

1872, Shows the Makirkiri [Makirikiri] Stream spelt – Makuikui creek with the road diversion of the new Railway Rd onto the Karamu Pathway with horizontal railway line in red and Karamu Pathway to Gascoigne St.

Page 211

[Survey map – Portion of Heretaunga Block]

Shows the Makirkiri [Makirikiri] creek marked in black crossing from the racecourse lake on sections of Guy Hamilton in 1883 occupied by the HB Agricultural & Pastoral Association over the Railway and Karamu Rd towards Patterson St (Well St) with Gascoigne St right edge which only went half way and another short street off Southland Rd. The HB Agricultural & Pastoral Association used this site until 1911 when they purchased the Tomoana grounds from Mr Nelson. A Mr Guy Hamilton a Sheep Farmer of Ormond Gisborne died in November 1879 aged 38. Thomas Tanner owner of the Akina sections – the later Intermediate School with Karamu Rd sth formed to High School.

[Survey map – Makirikiri creek]

Makirikiri creek from the Racecourse to Ellison Rd – there were several putrid hollows/lagoons complained of along the Makirikiri creeks course there were proposals in 1890’s to divert the racecourse lake into a drain along Railway Rd. Originally, Karamu Path Rd only started at Well Rd later renamed Patterson St, then it was extended south to the front gate of the Hastings High School, after it was extended further to Murdock [Murdoch] Rd, Poplar trees were planted opposite Hastings Boys High School.

From the Lake the creek travelled east beside section 503 Railway Rd – now under the long driveway of the Angus Hotel to cross under the railway and Karamu Rd sth into the back lower part of the State Central School grounds where the proposed H B Woollen Manufacturing Co factory was planned for in 1887 (I recall often riding my bike along the shortcut drive to the Small Bore Riffle Club behind the State Central School and down the little creek bank to pick up speed where the old Makirikiri creek once flowed) From there it crossed Hastings St, went behind the flats opposite the fire station, passed near the Methodist Church near the corner of Eastbourne St east over to the Power Board yard – Sects 158, 159, 160, the tarsealed creek bed still visible between the Theatre and Municipal Buildings Sects 153, 154 where a man once nearly drowned, it crossed Heretaunga St, and Hastings St to Queen St, Avenue Road bridge and out towards the end of Albert St to Beatson’s Park (later named Windsor Park 1935) and out towards Saint Georges Rd North outlet next to where Mr T. Tanners residence use to stand and his Riverslea Hop Gardens were established, there it flowed into the old Ngaruroro River Course opposite Flanders Rd. The Makirikiri creek was later diverted into the Southland Drain after a major flood occurred Easter 1897 and many houses at Pukahu were damaged. The Borough Council created a drain at Selwood Rd to end at the boundary – where it caused too much dampness from the town’s storm water for the Riverslea Hop Gardens and the hop vines died. Approximately two and a-half miles of the Makirikiri creek from Sylvan Rd to the outlet was tendered to be reopened in 1898.

Page 212

[Photo]

An early 1950’s aerial view of Eastbourne St, bottom, with the convergence of the Karamu Path sth towards Railway Rd at top behind the Gas Works (established 1887) at top left where the Makirikiri creek crossed over from the racecourse behind State Central School grounds, taken before the new library was built, shows Civic Square and the Hastings Bowling Club on the corner of Lyndon Rd and Railway Rd next to the Police Station, with Poplar trees line Karamu Rd sth opposite Hastings Boys High School at top

[Photo]

Looking east towards Hastings St sth where the Makirikiri creek traversed around the back of the State School, Central Hastings

[Photos]

Page 213

1929, Hastings St sth looking towards an old cottage on Eastbourne St east corner and a building behind on Chas Brausche – Hastings Timber & Joinery Co Ltd site, later Council yards with the Municipal Theatre’s Royal Cafe, Ice Cream & Soda by Evening Post and another later view with corner residence

[Photo]

1932, The rebuilt Methodist Church on Hastings St sth with a new building being erected on right side and the original wooden buildings further down to Eastbourne St east where the Makirikiri creek once flowed across the street to veer around the Municipal theatre, by Henry Norford Whitehead

Tanner’s shepherd – Watty Church lived in an early cottage just over the Makirikiri creek near where the new Methodist church stands to the right, and where Francis Hick’s shepherd’s cottage near the Convent site. In 1887 the Borough Council were filling in the Makirikiri creek that ran across Hastings St near where the Methodist Hall stands and Einar List got too near the edge of the new filling and he sank up to his neck before being rescued.

[Survey maps]

1936 plan shows an old house 1887 and small concrete building off Eastbourne St east next to the ‘Right of Way’ beside the later Power House built 1912 later extended, with the rear corner of the concrete Theatre building and Charles Apperley property on the Warren St side

Page 214

[Survey map]

1936, plan shows the brick Royal Cafe, Ice Cream & Soda building next to the concrete Municipal Theatre building the property extending back to the concrete Power House building – also shows a car washing shed and the adjoining property owners as Prentice Boys Loyal Orange Lodge where the Makirikiri creek once flowed around

[Photo]

1926c, The Municipal Theatre shows the dip down the alley where once the Makirikiri creek ran with sheds behind and the neon Pictures sign above.

Page 215

The Municipal Theatre reconstruction 1932 almost completed, taken from Hastings St sth looking north with Eastbourne St east intersecting. The Makirikiri creek once flowed across Hastings St into the now empty section and around the rear of Municipal Theatre which may have caused the damage, by Henry Norford Whitehead

[Photo]

1905, Heretaunga St east – a rise in the road can still be seen at Hastings St intersection where the old bank of the Makirikiri creek ran across the main road – just past the carriage on Warren St and past the Borough Council Chambers on right before Heretaunga St was levelled out

A deep running creek (Makirikiri) flowed across the site now occupied by the Municipal Buildings Mr Cullen recalled having swum and fished in the creek as a boy.

The Cullen Bakery and Residence buildings at 101 Hastings St nth (opposite the old Lilac Cafeteria, now New World carpark) stood on their own, skirting a Maori pa (Queen St) which extended over the area known as the old courthouse site and the Regent Theatre block. (1892 November 5th Hawke’s Bay Herald still mentions a creek near the Maori pa at Hastings) The next building was on the corner of Heretaunga and Warren streets and there was not another then until the Union Bank was reached.

Boxing Day 1894, a fire started at the bakehouse, a large number of willing helpers went in, and in the most orderly manner commenced to remove the flour and other stock to a place of safety. Luckily there had been recent rain and the large hole at the back of their property from the old Makirikiri creek had filled with water to douse the fire. Fortunately there was scarcely a breath of wind at the time, and there being a large willow tree between the house and the fire, the house was protected from it. The Willow pa was situated just east of Tomoana Rd and the Omahu pa was along Omahu Rd past the hospital. Behind the Blacksmiths corner shop in Heretaunga St east and Hastings St North – the Regent block there was a small Maori pa settlement in Queen Street situated by the then deep Makirikiri creek that flowed from under the current Municipal Theatre and Civic Buildings are across Heretaunga St then across Hastings St and Queen St.

[Photo]

The small Maori Pa on the bank of the Makirikiri creek behind the Regent block celebrated Queen Victoria’s Jubilee 3 rd June 1897 in cooking a bullock in a hungi [hangi] for the large gathering of Maori visitors staying there.

Page 216

The Sutherland family lived across the swamp at the back of the Municipal Library 1881. The Makirikiri creek was crossed by a small bridge close to the Municipal buildings. The kiddies used to go there to catch eels and bathe with the Maori children and Sutherland’s on Saturdays and holidays. There was a small Pa on its bank not far from the junction of Warren and Heretaunga Streets.

In November 1924, Sections 126, 127 of DP 83 on the corner of Hastings St nth and Queen St east were purchased from G. R. Beamish, H. E. Beamish and F. L. Barcroft for a new Hastings Courthouse, but in 1928 the old courthouse on Railway Rd was extensively renovated with additions, removing fireplace & chimneys, relocating water tank and stand to boundary, new strongroom, porch windows etc. In May 1937 it was suggested the empty sections on the corner of Hastings St nth and Queen St east should be sold, but they were not sold off until 1950 – Lot 1 & 2 to Anderson & Hansen Ltd and Lot 3 to Miss Norma Giorgi.

[Survey map]

This land where a Maori Pa was and the Makirikiri creek once flowed though was never used to build a courthouse and remained empty. Previous owners – T. Tanner, George Baillie, M. A. Baillie, W. M. Broughton, John Cullen, A. P. Pattison, Jane Cullen, Ellison & Duncan Ltd, T. J. Cullen, D. F. Scannell, and A. Cullen.

[Photo]

1931, Earthquake damaged cars parked on the empty sections purchased for a new Hastings Courthouse at the corner of Hastings St nth and Queen St east behind Cullen’s Bakery where once the Makirikiri creek crossed and a small Maori Pa was established across the road in the Regent block

Page 217

[Photo]

An early 1950’s aerial view of Hastings looking west up Heretaunga St, the Sacred Heart Church bottom left at Miller St and the Cullen two storied corner residence and shop with bakery building at Hastings St – the dirt pathway across the empty Courthouse sections behind would have followed the Makirikiri creek course from Municipal Buildings across Hastings St to Queen St

END OF THIS SECTION

Original digital file

BeckMJ1636_Hastings_TheDevelopment-December2016.pdf

Year published

December 2016

Format of the original

pdf

Creator / Author

  • Martin James Beck

Accession number

1636/1914/42665

Do you know something about this record?

Please note we cannot verify the accuracy of any information posted by the community.

Supporters and sponsors

We sincerely thank the following businesses and organisations for their support.